Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American InterContinental University

  • American InterContinental University Reviews

    Ranking: #42
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools

3.4
57 Reviews
5 17 
4 15 
3 9 
2 11 
1 5 
0 0 

American InterContinental University Reviews:

AIU Fair and Good School

BBA - May 4, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have 6 more classes to complete for my BBA with a Healthcare Concentration. Though it has been sometimes exhausting taking 2 classes every 5 weeks and trying to retain it all, I am excited that I had the help when needed and when I didn't need it. They don't just give you "A's" and you have to earn your grade just like in a classroom. I consider online learning more difficult than being in a room one day or two days a week. There is a lot of writing papers and research but it helps what you read and learn sink in. I have a 2.97 GPA which is about a B-. I was a B person in high school many years ago so I am ok with that. Passing is important to me and I am doing that. Financially I don't consider AIU any more expensive then an on campus school. I will be receiving my BBA in 2 years vs. 4 years with a debt of about 36,000.00. If you average that over 2 years, 13,000.00 a year. Not bad for your money at all. The teachers are knowledgeable and very encouraging. I have had one teacher that I could not stand who I thought did not explain themselves very well and who also gave me one of my lowest grades. Hey, I believe we have ALL had a teacher we didn't like so what makes that so different? I highly recommend AIU. They were extremely helpful with everything including my school loans. If I had one thing that I didn't like it would be not being able to have my books in hand for some of my classes. You have the ability to print some but on some classes it would have been nice to have the book in hand to highlight and refer back to. I used my Nook to read the book while writing and accomplishing the work online. Good luck to all the future students.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Great School

BBA - January 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I think the school is great if you apply yourself, it is an accredited school. All major colleges accept their credits. It does require organization and self application but the intellipath is great! Plus you have weekly live chats and the instructor is available for support when needed. So what exactly is the issue?

Was this review helpful?

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous

BBA - September 3, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read all of the reviews from students about how sub-standard the AIU instructors are, and I wanted to present the point of view of an experienced online instructor who also works for another online university. I wonder how many students know how much AIU pays their instructors. They have high demands via live time spent in the classroom, teaching qualifications and professional experience, but they pay McDonald's wages. Seriously. I am not kidding. If an instructor put in the number of hours that AIU asks for into his or her class, that person would be making less than minimum wage. The other university I teach for pays me three times the rate of AIU. It's the old adage, "you get what you pay for", when it comes to the engagement of the AIU instructors. The low wages make our efforts seem not worthwhile, no matter how committed we are to student success. I feel sorry for the students, of course, but we instructors are wearing ourselves out teaching students who will eventually end up in debt, with a worthless degree--or making four times the wage that we do. With AIU, everything is about the bottom line.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 24 people found the following review helpful

The Most Confusing I Ever Experienced

BBA - July 28, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just started this school like less than 2 weeks ago and Im already frustrated with it. the student portal is sooooo confusing to use. The teachers aren't really professional. the financial aid process is straight bullshit. I asked the financial aid office numerous times about the refund check. They still beat around the bush with the answer to my question. Most of the students who attend are ghetto as hell (I see why white people don't really attend). back to the financial aid. I don't care about an award letter. I know my education is paid. I just want to know the refund amount. Hell yea, I wanna know why? because Im using my tax information with my income. So yea, I have every goddamn right to know how much money Im getting back from financial aid. Im a broke college student too like the rest. That refund money is very help for students who are far away from home dealing with parents who have low income. Man... this school I tell ya. It has already pissed me off 'til the point I kinda want out.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Specialization in Healthcare

BBA - September 7, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently a student at AIU. I like the college and my experience has been positive overall but I am scared. I graduate in June 2014 now I am wondering if I should change colleges because I am afraid of the reputation AIU has. I really want a good job once I finish and I want to possibly continue on to my masters. I'd hate to waste my money and time on a college that employers shun. I do have healthcare experience but I still feel uncomfortable about actually saying I got a degree from AIU. What to do....?????

Was this review helpful?

6 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Business

BBA - July 19, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is great for those who don't need any support and who can deal with probably the worst instructors I have met in my educational life. The requirements to pass a class are minimal as long as you scribble something together on time each week. I am changing schools because I have been asking many employers about the AIU degree and everyone one of them in my field would not take this degree serious. Like many have posted on this site. The school work is not challenging and many employers don't take this degree serious at all. All the accreditation in the world will not make a difference when your employer doesn't understand that they are a highly accredited school. I would say this school is bad for this country. Poor instructors, terrible student advisors, and very costly. If you don't believe me look at their reviews on other websites.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 24 people found the following review helpful

Regret enrolling and wasting so much time

BBA - July 12, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The new and improved virtual campus is just plain terrible. Email notifications do not work, it's slow, and half the time a error page pops up when you click on something. I will admit that I've been with them for about a year now and my GPA is 3.96, however, I've found their group projects to be the most frustrating part of my educational experience. What AIU fails to realize or understand is that they are lumping students who care in with people who don't care for group projects. You can't make people communicate or participate which adds a huge burden on to those who do actively participate. Our of 3 group projects, I've been moved to a different group one time due to no one else participating, had to complete a group project with one other student and as I type this I'm faced with having no one else participating in my group. I'll probably end up taking a F and passing the class with a B because I'm sick of always being stressed and trying to get people to do work. I will also say that I've had no communication from faculty and the only time I hear from anyone is when I make contact with them. When I first enrolled I was told by my admissions adviser that she will be in contact frequently. However, I have yet to hear back from her. I would strongly urge anyone thinking about attending this college to look at other options first and explore all your opportunities. I would strongly suggest attending somewhere that does not participate in group projects, especially if you value controlling your own grades and not being at the mercy of whatever bunch of people your instructor dumps you with.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 20 people found the following review helpful

AIU charges students a fortune to teach themselves

BBA - March 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently attending AIU, and I am trying to find out which CEC schools are in danger of losing accreditation or closing. I would not recommend this school to anyone. I have yet to have an assignment that has anything to do with my e-books, I get all of my information off the internet. I am teaching myself. I also agree with the many comments about classmates who sound illiterate, and don't know what spellcheck, or grammar check is. And, I too have had terrible experiences with group projects. Unless you are bored and like researching and writting, there's not much this school does for you, besides cost you a fortune to teach yourself.

Was this review helpful?

21 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Health Administration

BBA - January 17, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently attanding AIU Online, But I don't think everyone gets an A. I have B's C' and even D.F. You would have to try very hard to get an A.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful

GREAT SCHOOL

BBA - August 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended AIU for my Bachelor in Business Administration and it was great. The courses were very challenging but I made it. As for financial Aid, I had no problem, infact they helped me when I ran into some difficulties. The professors I had were good and bad as you find in any other college. I really think AIU is better than the university I am going to right now for my Master's in many ways and I enrolled in another university because I just wanted another school for my graduate degree. Finally, these students who go to school for the wrong reason and not doing there work just complaint and cannot see that the problem lay with them. In other words, they need to find something better to do because every college has their ups and downs.

Was this review helpful?

26 of 30 people found the following review helpful

This school is for forward thinkers and take-charge personalities

BBA - August 21, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AIU gives you the opportunity to get your hands on to a college degree with a lot of flexibility. In order to do well, you've got to read twice as much materials in one week than you usually would have to in a regular University. If you are in it to barely pass, this is NOT the University for you. The information is practical and applicable to the real world. If you don't put all of your effort into your studies, just like anywhere else, you're not going to be learning very much. What makes this University unique is that it integrates different ways to learn, instead of just reading. You get a program called M.U.S.E. which gives you the opportunity to watch videos, interactive media, and audio which adapts to your individual learning style. This University is the most proactive, progressive and ahead of its game. In the brick and mortar Universities it's quite the opposite A.K.A: beaurocracy. Change is this University's language; it is very comfortable with change, which is extremely rare in any University (You get no red tape). Advisors and teachers in AIU, 3 times out of 4 have been outstading in their work and their behavior towards me.It is for entrepreneur-minded people, not to for students waiting to be baby sat. Every term, students fill a survey which lets the University know what things it needs to change and whether it should fire bad teachers. You've got to work hard and need to have a very strong drive to succeed. It really depends on how much effort you put into it. If you wear AIU with pride the school will be well regarded. I'm commited to this school, knowing that through my success the school will look amazing, because it is amazing. When somethings is "different" or "new" most people don't accept it, it takes time, and if you are ok with putting up with that responsibility, go for it. This is America, the land where you get to choose how you learn. God bless us all. I'm a 4.0 student, majoring in International Business, and have attended for a year and a half.

Was this review helpful?

26 of 33 people found the following review helpful

Offer materials and support to meet different learning styles but it's not cheap

BBA - August 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience at AIU – Online has been great up to this point. In my opinion the Pros and Cons are as follows: Pros: The staff is very supportive and knowledgeable. As in most schools, some of the teachers are more engaged then others. However, all of the teachers up to this point have been available when necessary. They offer tons of content on their library which is extremely helpful when doing assignments. The support they provide for each weekly assignment is fantastic. They try to meet everyone’s learning style…they provide an overview of key learning’s via short videos, audio and PDF documents…this is a big deal for me. Most of the books for each class are provided online which for me is helpful when trying to search for certain topics. Lastly, they offer weekly tutoring sessions for all classes. It’s up to the student to choose if they want to participate. Cons: The biggest is the price. They charge double what most schools charge. Most classes can be taken at others schools for ½ the price. Also, they can be pushy at the beginning. They will call you 24/7 until you make a decision about attending…once they get an answer they become less pushy. Overall, it’s about what you want to put into the school…I think this is the same for any school you attend. The more time you put in the more successful you will be at the school. The reason I was willing to pay more for this school is because of the support they provide and their willingness to provide information to meet different learning styles. I found other online schools give you a book to read but do not provide any videos or online tutorials to support what you are learning.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful

It is not a diploma mill

BBA - September 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently in this college. It is a great place for the parent who isnt able to attend a traditional college. Those who say its not hard or who state that it is not a good place to go and they dont learn anyting are just being pompous jerks. frankly if you didnt learn anything its your own fault for not trying. Furthermore, if you thought it was easy your sorley mistaken. It is far more challenging than a regular college as it is harder to do projects and group work and the db's are tough. you dont have one on one with a teacher to fall back on as in most regular colleges. I found it very tough at times and i am far from stupid. Those who put down this school are just pissed because now us stay at home mothers and single parents can be someone with a career instead of listening to the cruel words that come from the mouths of ignorent jerks that put us down. AIU Online is a great school and i for one have learned much here and will continue with my bachelors in Janurary. I will soon thereafter open my own business and i have learned a lot of what i need already to do that. I had decided i needed a degree and more learning to use what i already know into today's workforce. I can only say if you have thought that AIU wasn't a good place to get a degree or that it was too easy than maybe you should have been open minded rather than open mouthed and you might have learned. Why go some place to learn if you think you already know it all anyway. That's not trying to learn thats trying to toot your own horn. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK AIU! There may be teacher you dont agree with at times , ive had my share but thats with any school not just an online one.

Was this review helpful?

24 of 27 people found the following review helpful

BBA

BBA - January 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have finished my BBA at AIU online and am currently in the process of following through with my MBA. I have mixed feelings about the school for a few reasons. Most of the reasons have already been addressed in the forums. The teachers are really hit or miss. You can tell that some of the teachers actually care about the work that they do and others don't. For example, some teachers don't even have the decency to hook up the microphone to do their online lessons. Not to say that they are all this way, but it is extremely irritating when I go into a classroom and it is like being in an online chat instead of going to school. The school is EXPENSIVE! I am not playing around! The amount of money that it takes to finish to complete a degree is probably comprable to completing a degree at a state university. On the flip-side. AIU enables the students to complete a degree in a very short amount of time which is a great deal for a working adult, like myself. This has obvous advantages and setbacks. The learning retention of an accelerated learning classroom environment is not the same as a drawn out two year program. The classes are 5 weeks long. So, it feels like you are just getting onto the class and then it is finished. Which is good and bad i suppose. The books are included in the tuition. So there is not really any additional costs. It all comes in one package. But either way, you are paying for it. The school itself is a business, there are a lot of people on here saying that they are pushing the students hard to continually pursue their education.....no sh**. Every school does that. The people that you will be in class with are typically not A students. The people that were still enrolled during some of the last classes I was particularly surprised at their poor work ethic. It could have ben that they had "senioritis". However, there were a fairly good amount of people that put forth a genuine interest in the quality of their work. Getting an A, is not necessarily an easy thing depending on the teacher. There were a few that I didn't have to work at though. Group projects are a complete disaster. The lack of communication between the groups. If you are lucky you will partake in a functioning group. If you are unlucky you will end up doing the entire project yourself. Which happened to me a couple times. People will come in at the last minute and expect to gain full points for piss poor participation. Part of the reason that I continued to stay with the school is because I am already familiar with it. I already have the student mindset and am geared toward further enhancement of my career potential. After all, a higher degree is just a check in a box.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Awsome

BBA - December 18, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Its amazing how this instutition can do what other colleges cant do. I attended two other collges before attending AIU and have been very satisfied on everything AIU does for the students. As in life, nothing is free and life is what you put into it. AIU gives you the tools to accomplish your goals and as part of that, you have to be pro active to accomplish your learning abilities. Great job AIU.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Mixed Feelings ...

BBA - December 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have mixed feelings about the AIU program. Overall, you get out what you put in, as with anything else in life. A student could coast through this with a "C" average pretty easily, but that is no different than most state and community programs. I have a pretty broad perspective,as I have completed coursework at a brick-and-mortar community college, a b&m private university, Axia College, University of Phoenix, and now AIU. What they all have in common, for the serious student, is the lack of competition for admissions and grades. What I mean is, if you are a reasonably intelligent and dedicated student, you will be competing with yourself for grades, not your peers. My one big problem with the program is the hit-or-miss faculty. Again, this is not a major difference from the other programs I have attended. What the online programs in general, and AIU in particular, suffer from is the lack of choice. On two occassions, I requested transfers out of courses. One was granted, and one was not. So, I was forced to take a class that I was looking forward to with an instructor that brought nothing to the table, and in fact made serious errors on fundamental topics. The University deserves credit for trying to fix the problem, but also must take the blame for hiring a well-educated know-nothing. In summary, I would rate AIU above the other online programs I tried, and about on par with the "real" schools I've attended. I fit the "busy working adult" model to a tee, and therefore have no alternative. For me, AIU was the right choice, if an imperfect one.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

bachelors criminal justice

BBA - August 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

i completed my associates here. I don't agree with the other reviewer. If everyone got an A, there would be LOTS more on the Deans list. I am a 4.0 student and work hard and feel like I deserve what I get. There has only been one instructor on here (Psychology) who never lectured.. just sat in there for questions.. but even HE didn't detour me from choosing AIU to further my degree. I love AIU and would reccommend it. It is a little pricey but it allows you to finish early.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Great school

BBA - August 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is for busy people who have careers, but little time to attend a traditional university. I would not recommend this school for those just out of high school. It is fully accredited. I have been attending AIU Online for the past 6 months, and I am very satisfied. I am a husband and a father of 2, and also a business professional. This school has a curriculum tailored to people like me. I have also been able to apply what I have learned into my work.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Too expensive.

BBA - May 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Everyone gets an A. Illiterate morons get an A. EVERYONE gets an A in this school. It's laughable and way too expensive. Only 1 of my 6 or so teachers responded at a reasonable adult level on the bulletin boards - the rest were 1 sentence responses, if anything. If you're thinking about getting a BA \ AA at this school, make sure you flesh it out with supplementary certifications appropriate to your career. As far as getting a BA, and expecting to go to a reputable graduate program somewhere, you'd absolutely have to do amazing on your GRE. Otherwise forget it. Oh yeah, wayyy too expensive.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 10 people found the following review helpful

AIU good review

BBA - October 30, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

To people who say the school doesn't have anything to offer. Like the person who said they went through the IT and has been doing it for ten years already. What do you expect, maybe if you ask questions about what they have to offer instead of just signing up and assuming (DUH) you would have saved yourself some money. I've been installing shower enclosures for 8 years,"hey boss send me to Ohio to that shower door company who teaches you to install them, and pay for the air fare and hotel room for a week" Oh wait I already know everything their teaching,maybe I should have called and asked them what they have to offer first!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Good

BBA - October 29, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school was great, the teachers did a good job of presenting concepts and material. Out of the 18 months that I attended the University I only had one professor that was unreasonable in regards to grading and communication, and her class review reflected that. My only complaint with the school, which I knew going into it, was with the cost. I was attending Fresno State University before this at a cost of 5-7k for my degree vs. AIU for 30k. What you are paying for is the convience obviously, and if I couldn't finish classes online I wouldn't have been able to graduate, so thank you AIU. I am now attending American Military University for my grad studies, which I do enjoy more than AIU and the price is much more reasonable.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

OUTSTANDING

BBA - September 9, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am about to finish with my degree in BA and am going on to my MED! I love the school! Yes there are some professors who do not respond well to comments but I have found more of them that give detailed information. Also I have had a few that will give you their home number to contact them with questions! I was even allowed to go back and correct a paper after I had turned it in! I loved my classes and felt I learned alot! What really irritates me is the fact that many people believe it is not a real college yet it is accredited. Yes the classes are fast and some more challenging than the others yet worth every penny I have invested! My Masters admission advisor has been beyond helpful in every aspect by providing me with information I had no idea existed! I feel important and have felt that way since the begining! I would do this again anytime!!! The only sad part is not being able to walk the stage~

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American InterContinental University in any way.