Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Military University

  • American Military University Reviews

    Ranking: #13
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association; Distance Education and Training Council

4.1
622 Reviews
5 298 
4 220 
3 49 
2 26 
1 29 
0 0 

American Military University Reviews:

A Challenging Educational Experience, If You Want It

Master of Arts in History - July 20, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I entered AMU to obtain my MA in History with a bit of skepticism, but I liked the idea of online study, as I still work full-time. No school in my area would offer me a similar experience to accommodate my work schedule and travel demands. My first course left me with a bit of doubt, as HIST500 was not particularly challenging. Then I encountered Historiography, and it changed my mind completely. I discovered that the course was well taught, and I was given a certain amount of independence with the ability to select the topic for my final paper. This occurred several more times, and it allowed me to explore areas of US History that captured my interest. It also prepared me well when it came time to select my thesis. The courses were mostly challenging--especially the Survey Course. Two of my professors were particularly outstanding--challenging with their questions and copious with their feedback--they made for the best courses. The forum interchange allowed for discussions between the students, some of these were great, but admittedly, some were perfunctory. Some classes had the occasional odd student who either wanted to be provocative for the sake of being provocative--or they were not quite stable. Overall, the experience was excellent, it was a bargain, and I did most of the work from the comfort of my own home--or TDY hotel room. Would recommend it to anyone with sufficient self-discipline to work on their own without a great deal of monitoring, as the physical reminders of having to walk into a class and face one's teacher is not present.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

A Good School and a Good Program

Master of Arts in History - May 27, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am about to submit my final thesis within the next 4 weeks. The school has been excellent and has exceeded my expectations. The courses were challenging. I never felt as though I was getting a grade for nothing. The professors were knowledgeable and helpful. I have always found the university staff to be helpful when I needed them. I have never had trouble getting through to any of the offices I needed. For the thesis class there were last minutes changes that needed to be made and the university handled it within a 24 hour time period. The school is a good, solid school The faculty are very good. The coursework advanced my knowledge in my field. All is in all, I have nothing negative to add here.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Great Teachers, Lousy Teachers, Lousy Course Content

Master of Arts in History - August 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had Dr. Mark Bowles for Historiography. Great Professor!! Not easy, but if you work hard and are willing to follow his instruction on the basics and mechanics, you will be rewarded. Pretty deep guy here, and reserved. He is wonderful in allowing tremendous academic freedom. Dr. Anne Venzon was my Historical Research Methods Professor. Very good professor. I wish I had kept better notes in this class. There is a lot covered that is applicable in any of the soft sciences. She is wonderful in her tolerance of viewpoints as well. Bowles and Venzon helped me formulate my initial impressions of online forums in an academic environment. I loved the challenge of being held responsible for what I said, and loved being able to say what I thought of what others said in an academic environment. This was great for me. Dr. John (Steve) Kreis was my World History Professor. He is a great professor as well!! He took a course that was not put together in a great way and made it highly worthwhile purely out of his tremendous background (His intellectual biography is truely fascinating.). I fundamentally disagree with him on most things, but our styles are compatible and being a student in his class is amazing. Not easy here either, but more than any other class I've ever had anywhere, he made the effort I put forth worth it. He never addressed the subject directly, but I was left with evidence and an even stronger impression that this guy was extremely tolerant in allowing all points of view. The forum under Kreis was better than anyone’s. My next class was History of Religion with Dr. James Newell as my professor. He was not a horrible professor. The course was laid out badly and I do not hold him responsible for that. AMU should consider revamping this course. Also, the course was intrusive personally in that I was required to discuss my personal religion. I was offended that I was required to do this. Also, I found Dr. Newell to be insulting and biased in the forum. He allowed his bias to go over into his grading, though my final grade was not affected. Dr Dawn Spring was horrible in the History of Technology course. The only good thing about her is her punctuality. She was great in that way. This course was laid out in a very bad way and text was horrible as well. When I objected to her bias and bigotry openly engaged in by others in the forum, I was graded down, and it did affect my final grade. I appealed what I viewed as outrageous to the History faculty, but they stood by her. She had a rule that degreed professionals from other disciplines were not allowed unless they were referred to by a historian, or unless they had views amenable to her personal bias. When I attempted to bring relevance to poorly thought out forum discussion questions, I was accused of not speaking to the question, even if I had spoken to the question too, such as it was. Major lack of academic freedom in this course overall. I had hoped that the History of Religion course would have been the worst course I was to have at AMU. I was greatly disappointed that the next course was considerably worse. I am not at all sure that I want to continue to give Global History a chance when in the last course was horrible in multiple ways. The instructors and AMU make all the difference, for good or bad. It would benefit nearly anyone to take courses with Kreis, Bowles, and Venzon whether they were pursuing a degree or not. But I want my money back. I should have looked closer at everything the first week. Now I know. I may change majors. I should not have to bear continuing to put up with courses as poor as the last one.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Not the Best, Not the Worst

Master of Arts in History - June 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed the MA in US History a few years back and have had a mixed bag of feelings about it. To start off I chose AMU, simply because at the time it was one of only a few fully online based MA programs I could find. Several of the universities that were in my state had online programs, but you had to be on campus one or two times a semester for most classes, which was not going to work with my schedule. So I chose AMU, because of cost and ability to do it entirely online (now this is very common). The classes I took were interesting and several of the professors were fantastic and truly were very good at what they did, but not all. Some of the classes were very simple and some were difficult. The class discussions were very similar depending on the quality of the participants. Many students were fun to enter into debates with about whatever the topic was, others did the bare minimum. My biggest complaint about the academics come from my thesis writing class. I felt there was little to no assistance and the timeline for completing the thesis was not nearly long enough to do an adequate job. Several areas of the thesis writing process had little to no explanation and cost me dearly in my final grade. After completing my MA, I did look at a few places for my Phd, and they were willing to accept my MA from AMU. All in all, you get what you put into it. It is easy to pass the classes, but if you want the A, you need to work hard. If you are engaged with your professors they can be great to work with.

Was this review helpful?

MA in History - a TRUE History Curriculum

Master of Arts in History - June 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Part of why I chose to earn a MA in history at AMU was the convenience of an online program. Another part was that they waived the ridiculous requirement of having to take the GRE - when I already possessed a doctorate and had over 15 years of higher education teaching experience at the time. The main thing that swung me to AMU, however, was the curriculum. I wanted to study American history and I did just that. Historiography, Historical Research Methods, and other foundatiional courses that other institutions have cast aside because of their obsession to include courses that would satisfy the politically correct crowd (you know, those who view Howard Zinn as a preeminent historical scholar). If you want to learn about American history from a suberb faculty who love their country more than their own egos, AMU is the place for you.

Was this review helpful?

Don't go here if you can possible avoid it.

Master of Arts in History - January 28, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was provided with the essentials for my degree, but just barely. Just about the only good thing I can say about it is that it is accredited by a regional accreditation organization recognized by the United States Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation. I verified that on the DoE Web site. You get nothing beyond the bare minimum, however. Faculty clearly do not coordinate with one another and that is a huge problem. I even got a 98 on a thesis proposal in the Writing a Thesis Proposal Class and then got a 0 on that exact same proposal in the master's thesis class. I don't know what happened but it was extremely unprofessional. Some of my classmates seemed mentally unbalanced and there was a lot of flaming in the forums (which in no way approximate class discussions in other graduate courses I have taken). Others were completely unprepared for graduate studies and not capable of contributing to group work and discussions, even in the final (master's thesis) course. It worked for me because I already had a master's degree so I knew how to educate myself through independent research and reading (I had to find historical documentaries to substitute for lectures) and because I have a government job so just having a second master's is enough to get that box checked when promotion time comes around. Do not go to this or any other for-profit university. There are plenty of public and non-profit private universities with totally online programs.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 24 people found the following review helpful

Good School Once...Now Just Another University of Phoenix

Master of Arts in History - December 7, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Sadly,what used to be a good deal has become a paper mill. Do not enroll in their History MA program if you want to pursue a PhD later or expect to find employment in the field. This used to be named AMU--American Military University. For the most part,it served troops both deployed and back in the USA--as well as government employees.It was a non-profit operation at the time,and--although it only paid teachers $150 per student--many stellar faculty taught there as adjuncts as a way of supporting the troops. Today,it has become a for-profit operation with over 100,000 students,the majority not in the military. It uses fast-food syllabi designed to keep the students busy but minimize time invested by the professors since their pay has not changed. You spend your time writing on the forums about subject matter of which you know little--as the reading is minimal. Essentially,you chat with your fellow students,read little,and have no significant communication with your professor.It may be a month or more before you receive feedback on some assignments.The reading required is far below that of graduate work.The open admission to anyone with an undergraduate degree of any kind from anywhere means that the caliber of the students is far below the level enountered at more reputable graduate schools. Many of the students have no prior knowledge of the subject and manifest writing skills that would struggle to pass a freshman 101 comp class. Many of the professors now teach classes that are outside their area of expertise--most commonly,you have American History professors with expertise in the Civil War teaching classes like the Roman Republic. This program simply cannot compare to an equivalent one at a brick and mortar school. It would surprise me if APUS kept its accreditation.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Naval History

Master of Arts in History - December 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU is an outstanding university and I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in getting a degree in military history. I started out desiring a MA in History with an emphasis in U.S. Naval History but after only taking 3 semesters, the school eliminated this strict area of study and changed my program of emphasis to world naval history. I was disappointed at first but soon found myself enjoying learning how naval history has developed from the ancient Greeks to the modern times and how this impacted how the United States developed its naval service. Overall, the instructors were very engaged in each class that I was a part of and posed questions that were challenging and expanded one's own knowledge. Each course requires extensive writing so this is not for the average student that is lazy and wants to "just get by." The required text books are current and ones that any naval enthusiast would want to keep in his/her library. The school administration works closely with you if you need to take a leave of absence from the program (As I had)and helps you get right back on track when you return. Working full-time in the military, taking this program on line fit me perfectly. I would choose AMU again if I desired additional education in my future.

Was this review helpful?

A program not for everyone

Master of Arts in History - July 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Though it's a great school it is a poor business. Technical errors in exams (not content but how the tool is put together) are annoying and in some cases frustrating. Finishing an exam only to have the web site go down is not a great way to teach, and that happened to me at least twice. The best part about AMU is the overall cost: cheap at twice the price. The worst part is that it is not for the faint of heart: If you are frustrated by technical glitches, or instructors who don't get your e-mail because the interface failed, AMU is not for you. If you can put up with that AMU is at least on par with nearly any other school.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

AMU - A Terrific School!

Master of Arts in History - June 28, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently received my MA in American History from AMU. I chose AMU because, after researching the school, I learned of its accreditation, accomplished and well-credentialed faculty, extensive on-line library (that also loans books through the mail), affordability, and flexibility. AMU, not being a degree mill propped up by an accreditation mill, offers a MA in American History program that is extremely no-nonsense and stringent. If you are not willing to invest your time with hard work or are incapable of Masters-level academics, this is NOT the school for you. My assignments, research papers, weekly postings ("forums"), and so on were graded on content, quality, synthesis of information, mastery of material, and writing proficiency (i.e., ability, spelling, grammar, and sentence structure). Since much independent research is required, some courses will necessitate that you have access to nearby libraries of university-level stature as well as historical societies and archives. Regarding the faculty and staff, with some exceptions as can be found at any school, they are terrific. Communication with faculty is accomplished via on-line discussion(s), campus e-mail, and portals in addition to direct telephone contact as indicated in each course syllabus. AMU is also VERY interested in and supportive of its students. All through my academic progression not only was I employed, but was also dealing with a chronic and life-threatening illness. AMU staff and faculty were ALWAYS there to assist and encourage me. For this, I will always be grateful. Lastly, when AMU confers you with a MA in American History, you will have a sense of tremendous accomplishment.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

A Leader in Online Learning and an Inspiring Degree Program

Master of Arts in History - June 28, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Excellent university system and inspiring degree program. The courses comprising of a Masters of Arts in History forces students to digest materials through weekly participation and fair classroom assignments. Because of the distance learning limitations, 95% of work is written. That should go without saying in an online university, but its worth reminding. Grading is completely fair, as professors seem to operate under the statement "you get what you put in". Every course offers a concrete syllabus with grading matrixes which if followed guarantee a high passing grade. And mostly all professors prove their knowledge breadth through classroom feedback, so you know you are receving professional instruction. Problems with the learning environment are few: (1) sometimes required resources in addition to course materials are not available on the online library (Ebrary), and therefore require purchasing; (2) also, in some classes it's tempting to skim only the bare minimum over absorbing all the text due to the structure of the syllabus; (3) and thirdly, if this is an issue to you, its very easy to skate by and not become familiar with fellow students, instead focusing all on academics rather than interaction (but this comes with the terriotry in E-learning). All in all, by the end of this program you will become very well read and versed in the world of historical study, as well as acquire new skills to apply to real world avenues in the topic.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

MA American History

Master of Arts in History - February 14, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed in MA in American History in November. The course work was enjoyable as well as challenging. As with any school, some professors are better than others, but all were at least good, and a few were outstanding. These are not gimmee classes. If you put the work in you will come out with a good education.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Great education at your convenience

Master of Arts in History - January 25, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just completed my Masters in European History at AMU. I found the experience to be enjoyable, challenging and satisfying. All my professors were top notch; many had published books I had already read. One had been a graduate student at University of Missouri-Columbia, when I was an undergrad there and we had many of the same professors. The discussions were enlightening and sometimes fierce. I noticed my fellow students seemed as serious about getting a good education as I was. Those that were not soon dropped the class. The online interface was sometimes a bit clunky, but soon smoothed out as I got used to working with it. I would highly recommend AMU and its history program to anyone that was interested in a excellent on-line education.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

MA in History

Master of Arts in History - January 23, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU was one of the first colleges to offer a regionally-accredited online MA in history. Online asynchronous instruction allows greater flexibility, because of occasionally unpredictable time commitments for employment. In the college's online library, research can be conducted at any time during the day or night. The reference librarians responded to my queries within a reasonable period of time. The professors encouraged me to identify complex and interesting topics for my research essays. I have been motivated to continue research in some of these topics after graduation. The results of each student's research can be shared with other students in discussion boards, as an asynchronous analogy to seminar courses in brick and mortar graduate schools. In online education, one is motivated to rapidly perfect outstanding grammar, because it enhances one's credibility in discussion posts.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

MA in American History

Master of Arts in History - October 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I chose AMU because, as a working professional educator, I wanted the flexibility of an online program. Living in Northern California I considered UC Davis, UC Berkeley and Sacramento State, but the cost, drive time, and inflexible schedule caused me to chose AMU. Like others, I was nervous about a fully online institution, but both AMU's accreditation and their long history were reassuring. I particularly enjoyed learning from professors whose background, while academically excellent, was not limited to academics. Nearly all my professors had amazing leadership careers in the military, government, and/or private institutions. This real world experience contributed immensely to the richness of their discussions. This was also true of my fellow students. An unexpected benefit was that I was learning with, and often from, fellow students located around the world and who brought insights reflective of their diverse and rich life experiences.

Was this review helpful?

An Accomodating School & A Serious MA Program

Master of Arts in History - September 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I commenced my path toward a Master of Arts in American History with AMU in 2007. This is a very serious and rigorous program as grades are NOT simply given away (as in a "diploma mill"); you WILL work for your grades. The professors, in my opinion, are first rate. Of course, as in any institution, there are some that fall below expectations. Most important to me was that AMU's administration and professors have been both accomodating and supportive of me while in pursuit of my Master's Degree while at the same time dealing with a serious chronic illness. I highly recommend AMU!!!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

The Good and Bad

Master of Arts in History - August 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed an AA in History at Palo Alto College; an AAS in UAV maintenance with Cochise College; and a BA in History at Texas A&M San-Antonio. All of these were Brick and Mortar schools, but I did take a few online and hybrid classes while attending. Personally, I would not advise taking getting a Bachelors Degree online, because I feel that the in-classroom socialization process is an important part college education. For a Masters, I feel that the socialization is less important unless a student has not experienced it while obtaining a Bachelors. I was a little wary about attending an online for profit school, but my military schedule and frequent travel wouldn't allow me to attend a traditional school. I finally decided an online Masters was better than no Masters. Several schools offered online degrees, but the numbers thinned drastically for Grad-schools and even more for History Grad Programs. I've completed two classes and am working on two more. So far I have been impressed with the quality of instruction and the motivation level of my classmates. The Good: *The enrollment process was easy. *My instructors have been excellent both in terms of their knowledge and their willingness to help students. *AMU has a good variety of MA History Programs. *Classes start every month, rather than two or three times a year. *The school works well with my military schedule. *The classes are academically demanding, not fluff or diploma mill stuff. The Bad: *Weird GPA grading scale. In most colleges A=4.0, B=3.0, C=2.0, D=1.0; At AMU A+=4.0, A=3.7, A-=3.4, B+=3.0, B=2.7, B-=2.4....and so one. I don't like for two reasons. First Army Tuition Assistance requires a 3.0 in Grad Level course, so in effect I could lose my TA for anything less than a B+ or 87%. Secondly, employers won't know about AMU's weird grading scale. With an online degree, I'm at a disadvantage already. Having a low GPA for making the same grades as students at other school could really hurt me in the job market. *For Grad Students, text books aren't free. On an upside, the text books are reasonably priced and very relevant to the courses. *For Grad Students, the tuition exceeds the Army TA cap. Meaning, I usually pay about $100 out of pocket per class. *AMU has been doing a lot of web advertising, like University of Phoenix, Ashford, Devry and other unreputable online schools. I am concerned that I'm might really hurt its reputation and with it; the value of my degree.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

AMU- Good Choice

Master of Arts in History - May 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Graduate Student in History finishing my fourth class. You may not believe this but I am also doing a Master's in Public Administration at a regular college that I attend every Tuesday. AMU is much harder and the other college took 9 transfer credits towards my Public Administration Degree. Secondly, I am using the work and research papers from AMU towards my other degree for elective courses because they are more demanding. By December I will have completed the first year of graduate school at both universities and expect to graduate June of 2013 with two degrees. AMU is much harder than my two classes that I have to attend on Tuesdays and almost costs double, thank god for tuition assistance. Sure some classes may be easy but that's in all schools, I have two bachelor degree's and I had tough and easy classes. Now you need a Master's Degree just to get an interview for a job or managerial position. No employer has ever asked me for the transcripts, only if I have a degree to meet the qualifications. Too many people put too much emphasis on degrees and forget the other parts such as internships, experience, networking and work ethics. My advice is to stay here and finish the degree, especially with tuition nationwide going up 70% in ten years! Best of Luck.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

AMU Endorsement

Master of Arts in History - April 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a graduate student at AMU pursuing a Masters in International Relations. So far, I have been pleased with the course content, strength of curriculum, and the interaction with both fellow students and the faculty. Each instructor I have had over the last year has been challenging and responded to questions quickly and given thorough gradings of submitted assignments. I have and will continue to reccommend AMU to peers as a graduate school.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Good program, terrible institutional support

Master of Arts in History - March 16, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Like many of the other people writing reviews I was a bit wary about attending an entirely online university, in particular one that I had never heard of. I picked AMU for a two reasons: they offered one of the few online graduate programs in History that I had found, they were regionally accredited. The ease of application was nice, but still worried me. It felt like anyone could get in if they had a bachelor's degree. The classes were what finally sold me on the program. I've had to work hard to keep up with school while working. I've learned a lot and the teachers seem very knowledgeable. I feel like I'm getting a good value for my degree. Materials: They provide a decent and relevant reading list for each semester. The texts are your primary vehicle for learning. The online discussions are barely more than a weekly response paper where everyone is focused on their own opinion and finding a way to chime in on two other student's posts before each other for another week. That said, the teachers typically respond to your post and ask follow-up questions that require additional research and if they take the time to really grade your posts they're a good teaching tool. Teachers: Like anywhere, some were good some were bad. None were great in my experience. Institution/Support: That's where I was really disappointed. The signup process was pretty easy, but when it came time to re-enroll and I was having trouble finding the classes I needed it was almost impossible to get anyone on the phone and their email responses would consistently come from a different person each time often restating their first form response without any indication they were reading my question or trying to address my concern. Seriously, i can't wait to graduate and be done with this school. They also don't pay for access to all of JSTOR, so often when you're researching a paper I had to drive to a local university and bribe a student to print the paper I was looking for. Value: I learned a lot, but no one I talk to has ever heard of this school. For the purpose of my job (I'm a federal employee) they'll accept it at face value because it's from a regionally accredited school but they're going to have to market themselves a lot better before I'd say the degree is valuable beyond the lessons I learned obtaining it.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Just Got 10 More Years of Regional Acceditation

Master of Arts in History - July 20, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a fairly new graduate student at APUS but I am very impressed. I wish they had a stronger lecture component - but otherwise it is probably how school should be done - lot's of writing, writing, writing and reading. I'm in a class right now that has 5 required books. Also, many students possess one or two masters already or even a Ph.D. I am telling you from real world experience that that is NOT common in the brick and mortars. Oh - the staff - - talk about accomplished people - I never had a professor write books before until I started at AMU - now I've had 4! One wrote 10 books. And online learning? Harvard Exten. School has an online program with a 15% or so residency requirement - - and they don't discriminate between online or on-campus on the transcript. Online is the real deal folks - - just make sure you get a regionally accredited school. APU/AMU were just renewed regional accreditation for 10 years (through 2021). And have you see the costs here? Unbeatable. And free books for undergrads... What's not to love?

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Good school

Master of Arts in History - November 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am enrolled in American Public University. I have mostly positive comments to say about the school. The quality of people who attend the university are amazing. People who already have other Masters and PHDs, people who are teachers, doctors, lawyers, work for NASA, the government, etc, all attend this school. That speaks highly of the school. I have zero issues with admin or the VA people at the school. This school is for adults, who are self starters, and can comprehend learning somewhat on their own, An online professor can only do so much. So if you want one on one attention eveytime you are in class then go to a brick and mortar school. I can gurantee you that even there you won't get the one on one attention you think you will get. Do what you feel comfrtable with. This school is highly accreditied with the same profesors you would find at any major college or university (same skill sets). You will work hard at this university. If you have no inititaive and are still a baby don't attend. If you are disciplined, need flexibility, and want a challenge, then enroll. Statistics show that online learning will grow in the next decade with 50% of all graduates in America earning an online degree. That number will increase and the brick and mortar schools of the past will fade into obscurity in the next 50 to 100 years. I have learned more online than I ever learned sitting in a classroom because it forces me to do research and go through the website, etc. Mike O'Neil

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great Degree For Bragging Rights Or Not?

Master of Arts in History - September 7, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a "Graduate" student at AMU. I don't plan to use this degree for employment purposes, as the value of this degree doesn't appear to be very high, so this is more like a hobby. The personal value I have for this degree is enormous, and I plan to show others my degree with pride. AMU has done right by me. No problems with my financial aid so far. The instructors are professional and appear to be among the best in their respective fields. The material is challenging and relevant. The classroom technology is annoying, but they have plans to change it. This university is geared towards military, and people who need a quick degree to get a promotion. Graduate students are not treated as budding academics and there is very little support given to students who wish to pursue a PHD. Students who have a poor idea of what pursuing a PHD entails are looking for AMU/APUS to start a PHD in History online program. They will probably be waiting forever. My advice is... if you want to eventually get a PHD, you are better off going to a traditional university. There are teaching, research and funding opportunities there and you won't have to worry about whether a PHD program will accept your M.A. or not. Overall, AMU is good for those who like to earn degrees for fun. It is an excellent value if you are able to get your employer or Army to pay for it. I wouldn't pay more than $10,000 for a degree from here. For those looking into the institution's professional programs, beware of the accreditation of the program. The university may be regionally accredited but it may not have the actual accreditation for that profession.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

AMU is no "free ride"

Master of Arts in History - September 4, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my BA in History from Excelsior College and while working towards it, I took classes at a half dozen schools (online and in person) and transfered credit to Excelsior. I just started with AMU and am working towards an MA in History. Comparing the two History classes that I took at AMU versus Excelsior, U of Idaho, Cal State Northridge, U of Texas at Arlington and Brigham Young, the classes at AMU were (hands down) the most challenging - academically and the challenge posed by the professors. Idaho was a close second. I can say this: the online classes were harder than a class I sat in at the Cal State schools. The Excelsior classes were easier than AMU and the Brigham Young were mid-way but required more discipline as they were "at your own pace" classes. The AMU classes not only required a lot of writing, the STANDARD was very HIGH in that no amateurish work was allowed. Each paper had to be to standard: documentation, thesis, logical and FLOWING argument, punctuation, etc. AMU is no "easy way" out - really, the only advantage in going the AMU route versus your local "brick and mortar" school is the 8 week class length & the ability to work from home (or in my case, Afghanistan). You aren't getting a "free ride" by going to AMU and I can't imagine ANY school or entity not taking the degree seriously if they know the crucible that the student must pass to finish a course. Oh, and 8 week classes are no joke; expect 200% the work load of a 4 month class. And only take 1 at a time; I took two once and it was near academic suicide. Typical AMU 8 week course consists of reading 3+ textbooks cover to cover, writing at least one 4 page paper + a ten page research report, weekly discussion boards (and no "simple" posts - you are required to post a 250+ word argument that is backed up by documentation and reference to the texts and/or outside sources), TWO answers to other students that also require documentation and reference to the texts, a mid-term - usually a term paper), a final exam (another paper), bi-weekly quizes, etc. Yeah, its a lot of work. You should expect to spend 10 to 12 hours OR MORE in front of your computer each week. Its like having a part time job.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Education that is Well Earned

Master of Arts in History - December 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU is Top-Notch school that delivers its promises. I enjoy being challenged to learn from Professional Teachers. The books are well rated and correspond to the subject matter itself. I will say that there are a lot of Poor Students who say that AMU is terrible, but they are just quitters who never gave this school a chance. All in all, if you value a high quality education and value hard work in achieving those goals, then AMU is right for you.

Was this review helpful?

great school but other depts are awful!

Master of Arts in History - October 14, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have almost completed my Masters in History. AMU is nowhere near a "diploma mill" or a scam (like former posters have said) - they are regionally accredited and the instructors have top notch credentials. Regionally accredited means the credits are the same as you would get a any normal University and they transfer with no question. However, the other departments are not really that great. I have had a couple of complaints about certain instructors and they fall on deaf ears. Oh, they say the right things but that is it. But my biggest complaint is with the financial aid department. I have attended several Universities and so have my children. None of them..let me stress that...NONE of them wait 30 days before even getting a person’s financial aid...then if you are lucky they will actually process it in 14 days. They have no way for you to see your own student account so you could get an idea of what is going on with your disbursement. Most Universities have direct deposit of refunds for students but AMU is not even close to that. For all the professionalism of the rest of the school - the financial department runs like a diploma mill place - If they would establish a way for students to see their account it would eliminate hundreds of phone calls to the office and then maybe they could actually do some processing. For a place that has as many students as they do, all over the World, you would think they would get an updated financial aid system that benefits them and the department. I know the employees are working with what they have but they are so stressed that they do not seem to care about the students. Your financial aid department is an important part of your school experience and in this area AMU fails miserably. In fact, they come real close to violating the federal rules of distributing financial aid.

Was this review helpful?

Great Online School

Master of Arts in History - October 5, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went to AMU for the past 2 years, and recently got my MA in American History. I had a few reservations at first with going to a 100% online school, but the professors and expectations were great. Plus, most "regular" Universities have already started offering online, distance education courses. Cinncinati, UCSB, UCLA, etc., all offer some degrees online. AMU is one of the best because they offer many programs. All I know is this: I'm a teacher and the last thing my district wants to do (especially right now) is pay more money for a MA degree. My district verified that the credits earned at AMU were legit and no different than my credits at a "brick and mortar" university, and I got a pay raise. As far as I'm concerned, that's all the confirmation I need that AMU is a great school!!!! (That and the quality of the courses as well...)

Was this review helpful?

Great School

Master of Arts in History - July 14, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have no complaints about AMU. One day this school will be known for its quality. And, no I don't work for AMU. I work in the entertainment industry and I just love history. I hope they get their PhD program one day. My only wish is that I wouldn't have screwed up my GI Bill and paid into it when I was a LT. Go AMU!

Was this review helpful?

WWII History

Master of Arts in History - November 17, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU is a great school. I am studying for my master's degree in Military History and the courses are great. AMU does not require most of the stumbling blocks that Brick and Mortar Universities do. AMU has great professors and the discussions are excellent. The workload is alot, but if you want a reliable degree, then AMU is the right school for you. I just hope someday they will offer PHD programs in History.

Was this review helpful?

Great

Master of Arts in History - May 22, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great program. I love it. I have enjoyed my time there.

Was this review helpful?

Solid School

Master of Arts in History - November 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Their faculty in military history is truly unique and outstanding. Nowhere else can you go for Civil War or European Military History and find courses and faculty like this one - and it's online. They need a Ph.D. in Security Studies to top it off.

Was this review helpful?

Civil War History

Master of Arts in History - August 20, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was very please with my AMU experience. Very hard work, but well worth it. Professors were uniformly excellent and demanded your best. I am looking at taking additional CEU courses, as I am very pleased with the variety of courses - many of which are not found anywhere else.

Was this review helpful?

AMU IS EXCELLENT

Master of Arts in History - July 18, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I did my research for a year. AMU is without question the finest online institution, frankly I was planning to attend the Harvard Extension but they do not offer 100% distance learning therefore I decided to distance learn via American Military University. I did an Audit class at the Graduate level at AMU and it was the finest experience I had in a college setting (AMU was my first online college.) The instruction was superior, far beyond what I ever experienced via a 'regular' college. AMU is highly recommended across the board and holds both regional and national accreditations, and trains the military. AMU is the ticket if you want to avoid children and lengthy slow pace learning. It is simply a terrific institution. If you are planning to go to Graduate school and must complete your Bachelors, AMU is the ticket.

Was this review helpful?

I'm happy with AMU

Master of Arts in History - February 20, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have to say AMU is a solid school. I have done hours of research on distance learning and think AMU is the best. If you have a GI-BILL or use active duty TA your school is free. Books are included and they even buy most of them back from you when your done. The customer support such as financial aide office, and academic advisor's are solid people.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Military University in any way.