Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Military University

  • American Military University Reviews

    Ranking: #13
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association; Distance Education and Training Council

4.1
622 Reviews
5 298 
4 220 
3 49 
2 26 
1 29 
0 0 

American Military University Reviews:

B.A. Security Management, General Ed

Security Management - August 31, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attended AMU a while ago and just got back into attending full time. It has been a great experience and the school has really progressed over the past 7 years. The courses are very challenging and unlike a college where you physically attend, your grade is 100% up to you. The responsibility is all yours. You are responsible for your readings and studying and it's challenging. I have been to both types of colleges (physical & online) and by far, AMU is more difficult because it all depends on you and you can't rely on others. Along with getting an education you also learn responsibility if you graduate. As an employer, you should see a diploma from AMU, especially with a high GPA as the person is responsible.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Great Courses

Security Management - August 9, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a student re-discovering college, AMU provided me with an excellent choice of degree programs, knowledgeable instructors, and the ease of completing classes on my own time. The instructors have been understanding if problems (work or home) have interfered, allowing me time extra time to finish assignments, if needed. I had to brush up on my AMA writing again, but other than that grading is fair and the open forum format is an excellent way to discuss what the courses are covering. I am still working on my B.S. in Security Management, and thus far have earned a spot on the Dean's list! Eight more classes to finish for my degree and I am excited to earn my B.S. from American Military University!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

An excellent educational choice.

Security Management - December 12, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

There are many reviews on this webpage, so, I will keep this brief. This school was the absolute best choice for me to achieve my educational goals. Sure, as a working professional, I sometimes found the workload a little daunting, however, backward planning and self-discipline kept it manageable. The cost of the graduate program was the best that I found during my school selection, to include the brick and mortar institutions in the surrounding geographical area. Do not walk into these graduate programs unprepared. AMU will make you work for your grades, but, is that not why we challenge ourselves?

Was this review helpful?

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful

BA in Security Management

Security Management - December 10, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU is a great,affordable on-line university that offers a quality education matched by few. The classes are engaging and challenging as well. You would have a hard time getting a more quality on-line education for the price you pay at AMU.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Best Experience Ever

Security Management - December 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is by far, the best online education experience I've ever had. Every single thing you need for each class in a Bachelor program is right in the class. There is no extra site to go to for homework, no extra searching debacles for the text; it's literally in the class when you sign in. All telephonic support has been nothing short of outstanding. All email conversations I've had have all been extremely helpful and replied to in a timely manner. There has been a COUPLE of professors I've had that I felt were very disorganized, but, the other 95% were on top of it. Classes are very structured, making it very easy to know what to expect for the next week's assignments. All professors are very established in their fields, not leaving you feeling like somehow you're unintentionally participating in an online degree mill, but, instead actually earning your grades. There is a ton of writing (at least in this degree program), but, it's extremely worth it. This school also makes it very easy to schedule classes to where they start and end in a perpetual cycle, which for fast movers like me can get in and out while having a fulltime job and still finish a degree in much shorter time spans.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

AMU Review

Security Management - November 20, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm currently a sophomore with AMU, and have had next to no issues with staff, financial aid, classmates, or professors. The courses have a fairly uniform structure: Read a handful of chapters of the course text(s) a week, write a weekly discussion posting, reply to other students, and a variety of tests, essays, and papers. With my experience thus far, there are more essays and papers than tests. Aside from a few low level general education courses, the essays range from three to six pages and the papers range from five to fifteen. It should go without saying that these are pages of content, and don't include cover pages, abstracts, or references. The pattern has been fairly obvious as well: (a) multiple essays, no tests or term papers; (b) multiple tests with a term paper; or (c) 50/50 split of essays and tests. It is self directed learning. You are told what needs to be done, the deadlines, and you are left on your own to accomplish them. If you have questions, you can email the professor or any of your classmates. If reading and writing are not your strong points, I would recommend choosing a different university; the university as a whole is reading and writing intensive. No one will hold your hand through your coursework, and no one will remind you to submit assignments. In a lot of respects, it is all on your shoulders - sink or swim, it is up to you. My only real complaint is the lack of admissions criterion for both the undergraduate and graduate degrees. Because of this, the quality of classmates range from fantastic to pathetic. However, the latter students generally don't stick around too long. I would recommend basic admissions test such as the ACT, SAT, GRE, and/or the Accuplacer, but that isn't likely to be implemented. All in all, you get out of it what you put in. You can end up having either a fantastic or horrid learning experience. As for my personal academic background: I was an IBMYP student for four years, my ITED (national, 10th grade) was in the top 5% with top 1% in science, and my ACT (national, June 2013) composite was 27. My current GPA is >3.9, and I will be a junior within the next semester or so.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

My Review of AMU (non-military, employed full time)

Security Management - July 24, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am an actual graduate of AMU, with a BA in Security Management (InfoSec concentrate). I work full time as an IT manager, so I needed an educational program that would work around my demanding schedule. I tried other schools (local brick and mortar, WGU, Charter Oak) before AMU. I self funded a subset of my classes, and I used financial aid for the rest. I found the matriculation and financial aid process very easy and automated. I found the staff at AMU/APUS very professional and helpful. I found the online campus easy to navigate and understand. My course objectives were clear and concise: I knew what to read, what to write, and when assignments were due. Over-all, I found the reading material interesting and accurate from an IT perspective. The Security Management focus was a bit orthogonal to my current career, but I enjoyed learning something different; and I better understand the synergy between physical and logical security. I treated my peers with respect (most of them are or were in the military) and in return I was treated with respect. Like everything in life, you will get out of your experience with AMU/APUS what you put into it. AMU fit my schedule, fit my budget, and fit my temperament. Simply put, AMU worked for me.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Degree Review

Security Management - June 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The master's program was I took was highly challenging and rewarding, and and working with military personnel I highly recoomend take your future learning from American Military University. I want to take this time and express my true gratitude to the teachers and support staff at AMU. This master's degree that I just completed May of 2013 was a true value and has lifted my career opportunities. All throughout the learning process it was guided and crafted for another to be successful if one lesson and was part of the overall course instruct leadership set up and guided by the instructors and my fellow students. The support received from each instructor was exemplary and the overall assistance from the fellow classmate was beyond questions. I looked at other colleges, and the cost, ease of access to the course schools website finding things was really easy, and the support was beyond reproach. Again the value, cost and worth of the master's program I took was by far the most bang for the buck. Michael Madigan

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

So far very good

Security Management - January 18, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am just at the beginning stages of my Bachelors degree in Security Management. I've completed 61/121 credits needed so far. I have had nothing but good experiences so far with American Military University. I am experiencing good support from the academic advisory department and all other facets of this university up to now. I am very pleased with the teachers and curriculum and even though I'm starting back to school after a VERY long break (I last attended college level classes more than 30 years ago) I am having very little difficulty so far with the courses or the faculty. In fact, because of my age, I have gotten greater respect from everyone at AMU. Overall, I would give AMU at least a 9 and probably a 10 for their performance up to now. If anything changes drastically, I'll be sure to update this posting.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Security Management

Security Management - October 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a Security Professional working for the federal government I found the course material to be of very high value. Working for the Department of Defense you have your own flavor for security which differs from the civilian world - the knowledge I gained from my Professors was a perfect complement to the courses I had completed and gave me a leg up in my field.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Master of Arts in Security Management

Security Management - October 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After retiring from the Air Force I began searching for a Master's program that fit my professional development needs while allowing me to maintain my busy travel schedule. AMU proved to be the perfect fit for me. The classes and coursework applied directly to my job as a security specialist and the professors were skilled professionals, either presently working in the security field or with previous experience. I believe that earning a Master's degree in Security Management prepared me for my current leadership position and opened the doors for future advancement.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Non-US goes for a Master in 2010

Security Management - October 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a non-US student I've completed my Master in Security Management in 2,5 years (Class of 2010). I've had prof. Fowler and Baker as instructors and they're the best in their field. This MA has pushed me up the ranks, so ... thanks you AMU !!! Ed Posthumus MA MSc CPP - The Netherlands

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

You get what you put in

Security Management - March 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am taking the Master of Arts in Security Management. first of all I want to point out that I obtained my BA from a traditional school, and prior to that I had taken several courses from other traditional schools. There is no way to "get by" in this school, or with the current coursework. This is a self starter, self motivated type of program. If you don't put the work forward, you will not do well. I have learned more in this program about research, writing, and my current field than anywhere else. The learning is up to the student. I gave the value an 8 because the tuition went up this year, which I was not thrilled about, however it is still a decent price. I have definitely learned quite a bit through the reading materials, textbooks and my own research. This is no degree mill by far. To those that say it is, I challenge you to take a 500 level class, or two and find out for yourselves.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

AMU Rocks

Security Management - August 23, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished my MA in Security Management. Being on Active Duty I had to move around alot and the folks at AMU were always there even when deployed to Iraq.

Was this review helpful?

Security Management

Security Management - July 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I highly recommend this school. I have a BS in Criminal Justice from Roger Williams in RI, a very well known school. I was pursuing a Masters at Salve Regina and dropped them. (and ate some courses in the process) I have learned far more, and worked harder than I expected. The instructors are int eh field of Security Management and are excellent support.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent Program!

Security Management - January 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm in my sixth class with AMU leading to a Masters in Security Management. The professors have real-world experience along with fine academic credentials. I've learned more than I expected in this program, and that comes from someone with 25 years in the field. I'm VERY pleased with the speed of feedback I'm getting from all the professors (my B.A. is from St. Leo Univ., completed on-line, where half the professors disappear for weeks at a time...). So far, AMU is EXACTLY what I was hoping to find!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

AMU

Security Management - September 15, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

American Military University is a excellent school. The monthly semesters with either 8 week or 16 week courses gives great flexibility. I have completed 15 credits in graduate level Security Management and Homeland Security Courses. In the Security and Homeland Security courses, a significant percentage of students are serving in the military but many are not. Most of those who are not in the military are in security management, law enforcement, or emergency services careers. The professors have a lot of practical experience to ehnance their academic credentials. All of the professors I have had for class worked in their fields while completing their degrees. That gives a good perspective on what most online learners are going through. Almost everyone in the classes has had a full-time career while attending classes. Many were even completing courses while deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq. The courses are very writing intensive which I suppose is typical for online courses.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Military University in any way.