Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Military University

  • American Military University Reviews

    Ranking: #13
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association; Distance Education and Training Council

4.1
622 Reviews
5 298 
4 220 
3 49 
2 26 
1 29 
0 0 

American Military University Reviews:

B.S. Criminal Justice/ B.A. Criminal Justice

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - May 24, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The instructors in the Criminal Justice programs are amazing. They have a great educational background and a wealth of professional experience that they apply to their courses. They are supportive and make the online distance learning experience interesting so that you desire to go above and beyond while researching your weekly forum discussions. I have attended another online university, but it could NEVER compare when you are given the opportunity to learn from the best of the best! I highly recommend this University over any other ditance learning university any day!

Was this review helpful?

Great School!

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - May 23, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The most important thing to look at when choosing an online school is their accreditation. AMU is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (same as Ohio State University); which is a respected regional accrediting agency. Many people are hesitant about obtaining a college degree from a school that isn't well known like most other colleges. However, I work for a two year college in Alabama; they could care less about the name of the school as long as it is accredited. For instance, I have a coworker who has a Bachelors from a brick and mortar school (Columbia Southern), but due to the fact they aren't accredited his degree isn't worth the paper its printed on. Due to the obtaining of my BA in CJ, I will be receiving a 10,000 dollar raise! AMU was a challenging school, but manageable at the same time. If you put the time and effort into assignments, you will do just fine. Nothing is handed out! Professors were knowledgeable and the online format was easy to navigate. I have no regrets about attending AMU!

Was this review helpful?

AMU BA in Criminal Justice

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - July 1, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I really enjoyed my experience with AMU for my BA in Criminal Justice. The professors were professional in their teaching as well as providing real life examples. The course objectives were relative to the CJ field and I truly felt confident in the knowledge I gained. The on-line support, materials, and live chat were fantastic and really was the cherry on the top during the tougher classes. I especially enjoyed the independent work, the interaction with other students and the professors, and truly felt that my opinion and critical thinking based on factual information were received well and appreciated. Debates with other students were professional and encouraged me to look more in depth on topics I was passionate about, or which broadened my horizon. My favorite classes were the law based classes, i.e. criminal law, constitutional law, etc. EXCELLENT! I would definitely recommend AMU for a Bachelor Degree Program.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - July 8, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I selected AMU for the fact that I am a Veteran and have been an active Police Officer for the past 20 years. Several major Law Enforcement programs were big supports of AMU so I thought it would be a good place to look into. After looking into it and several others, I found AMU to be the best fit. It was just as expensive as many traditional school minus the books, but the program was great. Once you learned how to navigate AMU's site and use all the tools they provided it was very convenient. I liked the overall structure of the classes and found most to be challenging and not a walk in in the park. The professors were great, and the Library was outstanding. My professors were very willing to help and quick to respond to any questions or issues I may have had. I found them to grade fairly and if you had a question they were good about providing you an explanation. I also like that I could work ahead and at my pace (Within set parameters). Technical support and registration were good, registration was tricky but I blame that on being old. Over all I found my classes well managed and the classes challenging, I had a great experience and highly recommend American Military University.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Great School

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - December 9, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU is not a bad school yes some of the instructors do not have the rapid response like many people want but that is in a normal classroom. AMU has made the online experience very enjoyable and free flowing. Much of online learning comes from what your peers say about your thought process, understanding and depth innate nature for learning. We can all give a myriad number of reasons why its bad. It is not by serendipity that many graduate with ease. AMU is a great school for people that do not need face to face or instint feedback. Great school and I plan to complete my MS in Trans and Log Management.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

School Assessment

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - December 9, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU is not a bad school yes some of the instructors do not have the rapid response like many people want but that is in a normal classroom. AMU has made the online experience very enjoyable and free flowing. Much of online learning comes from what your peers say about your thought process, understanding and depth innate nature for learning. We can all give a myriad number of reasons why its bad. It is not by serendipity that many graduate with ease. AMU is a great school for people that do not need face to face or instint feedback. Great school and I plan to complete my MS in Trans and Log Management.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

AMU Criminal Justice Degree

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - December 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started taking classes at AMU following a few years off from pursing my degree from the traditional brick and mortar school. After taking my first few classes I knew I'd made the right choice in AMU and for online distance learning. The classes at AMU are geared towards the individuals needs. Given there are still requirements that need to be met, but the classes allow for you to structure and manage your time accordingly. The criminal justice program is also very current and up to date, not only with the books and resources they introduce, but also with topics and subject matter (I have been a police officer for 8 years). This aspect in and of itself is a benefit to any prospective student, since the criminal justice field changes so quickly. The instructors, are all very knowledgeable with many of them being active in their respective career field, this too offers perspective outside of the books and valuable insight to any topic. The forum posts and class discussions provide for good conversations and sometimes debate, which personally I have found very conducive to learning the material. Last but not least the school makes it incredibly easy to use G.I. bill benefits, as everything is completed through their website and confirmed by them as well. I have not second guessed my decision to attend AMU at all, and will most likely pursue my master through them as well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Means to an End

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - December 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ok, so in the interest of full disclosure I chose AMU for three reasons, they accept TA, they accepted my CCAFs for credit, and I can could work and assume class loads based on my comfort. While I would’ve liked a traditional brick-n-mortar class room, AMU served as a means to an end…I needed a degree to be competitive for promotion and for a post-retirement career. Now that the BA is out of the way, I can pursue a Master’s that suits my interest versus rushing to “check a box”. As far as the academic work, you get out of it what you put in to it. I had one or two instructors who were a bit of a “douche”, but otherwise the majority had a positive attitude and were supportive of the students.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Choice for Online Learning

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - October 9, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU was an excellent experience for me. I graduated with a BA in Criminal Justice, with Honors, in August 2013. I transferred into AMU after doing two years at University of Phoenix's online program and the difference was night and day. Unlike UOP, assignments are done at AMU on your own and without team groups. I believe working in groups is good, but not in a distance learning environment. You are beholden to partners who live in other countries, have other life schedules, and can ruin your grade by not completing their portion of the work. AMU does away with this by making each assignment your own. Prepare to write a lot of papers! The ability to work at my own pace throughout the class and not have to worry about attending a physical class room at a given time was essential for me to finish college because of my work schedule. Most of the instructors were top-notch and acted as coaches, mentors, and supporting staff as well as class room instructors. I did have a few "bad apples" for instructors but I think you will find those everywhere. If you are considering an online college I would definitely invest time at looking at AMU. The cost per class is over 50% less than a UOP class, and all books are free for Bachelor's programs through a Federal book grant. Most of the class books were online PDF and ranged drastically in quality, and about 50% of the books mailed to you were excellent quality while the rest were not so much, but you can't complain too much when its free. The biggest critique I have for the college is the lack of human administrative contact. They want you to use email for just about all contact, and even their live web support gives email addresses. Getting a phone number to talk to someone is as easy as pulling teeth and most of the time it just goes to a voice mail. With that in mind, if I had to do college all over again I would still immediately choose AMU.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

BA Criminal Justice

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - July 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In comparing my BA with a local University that offered an online Criminal Justice course, AMU was more cost effective. Having the books in the undergrad provided online for free saves time and money, and once you understand how to effectively use the online materials, library, and classroom, the courses flow easily. I enjoyed the professors from both the Major and General Education requirements, and felt satisfied with the amount of credits that were applied to my program from my AS and previous courses. I look forward to completing my MEd at APUS.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Time well spent

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - June 28, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It took me three years to get my BA and it was well worth it. Two of those years I was deployed to active duty. The classes were well structured and I enjoyed the online interaction I had with my classmates. I would recomend online or distance learning to those who has to budget their time between work and family.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Great Program

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - January 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my B.A. in criminal justice last year. I was a little skeptical about the school at first, but I decided to give it a shot, and I'm glad I did. A majority of the professors were great to deal with, any issues I had with the clerical staff was cleared up quickly. After graduation, I was accepted into grad school at a state university without any problems.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Great School!!

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - December 20, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am very fortunate that a military leader of mine referred me to American Military University. I completed an Associates degree in 2010 and recently completed a BA in Criminal Justice from this outstanding institution. I am an active duty soldier so I have not had the opprotunity to attend a traditional brick and mortar school but I can certainly say that I have learned so much from the amount of research that AMU students are require to conduct! Without a doubt, I would certainly recommend this academic institution to anyone who wishes to expand their knowledge at an affordable price.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Excellent experience!!!!

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - October 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I first enrolled in AMU during my deployment to Iraq in 2004. Upon my return, I completed my BA in Criminal Justice one class at a time since I was working and have a family. My experience with AMU was excellent. The professors were all experienced in the field and classes they taught. They all responded quickly to my e-mails and questions except for one and he was the CJ department head, so he had many other things to do besides teach my class. He still responded but was a little later than his other professors. The school staff was very helpful, especially during my deployments. I especially liked the way I could read the bios of the professors for the classes I was choosing and wasn't just assigned one. I feel this made for a better learning environment since I had an understanding of the professor's background and where they came from when dealing with the students. I also liked the way (for my undergrad degree) that the tuition was a flat rate that included everything instead of having a lower tuition but separate fees and that my books were automatically sent to me after I registered for a class. It made life so much easier while working and caring for a family. I will also say I have had friends that have used the online programs from other schools that have had terrible experiences, even with big name, traditional schools. As a result, I'm still leaning towards to AMU for my Master's degree. Thanks

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

A Road Worth Taking...

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - October 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

While I was active duty military I took many classes through multiple Universities and COmmunity Colleges to finish my Associates Degree in Criminal Justice. Three years later I worked into my schedule time nough to start my Bachelor's degree. Numerous co-workers thrived on how good AMU was and how the school worked for their rigorous military schedule. I enrolled and was admitted and never looked back for another school! AMU has everything anyone is looking for. I have been extremely satisfied with the staff, counselors, and teachers (with exception of two). Many people have written reviews stating you have to be self-motivated to take online course. I couldn't agree more! Once you begin and nunderstand the process of the courses, interact with other students and faculty, AMU really is a top-nootch school to attend. The workload is no differneet then formally attending classes, but all within the comfort of your home. What works well is that (depending on your job) the government work place and supervisors I had allowed some time during the work day to complete school work or research...and many topics you are able to write on can pertain to your job itself! AMU is the way to go for online studies!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

American Military University

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - September 19, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU for the money, ability to attend a college and eventually get a degree...WELL WORTH IT!!! As with an college, there are instructors that are better than others and some that are just a pain; overall, they are more than willing to assist with the material. I would recommend AMU!!!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Gov Acquisition....Keep looking

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - April 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been messaging the teacher for weeks and recieving very littel to any response. My items are graded with no feedback whatsoever. If you have not been to another school before you start here DO NOT waste your time. You are expected to show up here ready to graduate with you B.A. You better show up knowing all the 5 writing styles and have written at least 5 college papers before. The staff at the school will give you "canned" generic answers to any issue. I have complained about the teachers non response and I have not even been written back an e-mail much less anything been done. Just for fun I actually started asking if the staff I was dealing with had taken courses at AMU, turns out the 6th person I asked was the first to have taken any classes here. Most of the staff has never been in the site themselves but they will tell you how "a lot of staffers here take classes" just don't ask to speak to one they cannot find them all. This school is known by nobody and the degree carries almost no weight while the workload is very heavy, in one week we had 3 book chapters 2 250 word papers and 2 600 word papers fand a open book research the answer online quiz for example. There are better places and there are other schools that teach Gov Acq you just have to look for them. As for me I do not have 8-10 hours a week to invest in one class so Ill move on. You could never take 2 or 3 classes here unless you could do it full time.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Choose another institution

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - February 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended AMU and graduated in 2004 with a Criminal Justice Bachelors Degree w/honors. Since then, I have been an Adjunct Professor at two colleges and earned a commission in the Army. This was all due to my completion of my bachelor's degree. In the beginning, I would tell my students and peers about AMU. It was a very good institution until what I have learned now. Late 2011, I was informed of several negative issues that were occuring with AMU. The instructors were teaching from the wrong syllabi, giving tests that were not part of the assigned reading or cirriculum, student aid dept. was not helping students, but were providing misguided and wrong information that caused students to lose taking classes because of their constant mistakes, accessing e-material has become a major issue for students, the webpages designed for easy and quick access will constantly give an "error" message only for the student to start all over again, not allowing students to proceed with their classes due to constant website errors produced by AMU, lack of communication between the students and administrators by changing school policies without informing students which ultimately affects their grades. I contacted the school and spoke with Nicole Wolf. She said these issues have been brought up before and she would contact the students I referred to resolve the problems. It has been three months and she nor AMU has resolved any issues. They haven't contacted anyone! This school is not worth what you put into it and I would strongly encourage others seeking a legitimate degree go to a more reputable educational institution who will take care of their responsibilities and the more important issue, the students. I gave the total value of AMU as a five, why, because having a degree is better than not having one, but to constantly be sucked in by the lackluster performances of AMU should not negatively affect any student; the way AMU has handled business in the past year is unacceptable as they have not moved an inch to solve multiple student issues and I don't see that being improved anytime soon.

Was this review helpful?

32 of 70 people found the following review helpful

Solid Education

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - January 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed both my Bachelor's and Master's Degree in Criminal Justice at AMU. The material was challenging and relevant to my job in law enforcement. Online learning is a great thing, but you must be self motivated and disciplined to suceed. I have recommended AMU to my friends in both the military and civilian law enforcement.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Okay

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - December 8, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've attended multiple schools and feel that AMU is about "middle of the pack". Enrollment is very easy and the pace and schedule is very accomodating to a working adult. I found the support staff to be less than helpful unless trying to deal with a funding issue, in which case they quickly bent over backwards to make sure that AMU did what they had to do to get the money. Also found most teachers to be less than helpful in addressing issues, concerns and questions. Also, the University's fees to request an official transcript are pretty high. Due to the lack of support I've gotten from the staff & teachers I am going back to a local "brick and mortar" school which also offers all their classes on-line.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

My Time at AMU

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - May 15, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed two degrees at AMU. both in the Criminal Justice Feild. I have no problems with this school at all. My professor's contacted me in a timely manner when there was an issue. There were a few glitches here and there but we worked them out. Had a very good time, I am pursuing my masters at a different school and must say the work I did at AMU on my BA was harder. I read the reveiws and most are very good. Some however seem to have been written by some whining little kids, who as one person stated "need their hand held." There are other schools if AMU does not cater to what you think you should be getting.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great School

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - May 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Amu was a great school! It is difficult in the beginning to transition to online learning. However, I enjoy the solitude. I received my AA at a local community college and hated going to class. I learned a great deal more through this method. I would (and have) recommend this school to others.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

AMU is worth the price

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - December 14, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my AA in Personnel Administration and am currently enrolled in the BA Criminal Justice program at AMU. As a law enforcement professional and Army Guard soldier, I was concerned with having the time to go to school and not having time for my family. Not to mention getting a quality education online. My brother graduated from AMU with his MA in Sports management and recommended AMU to me. I have found the entire AMU experience to be positive. Enrollment, financial aid, educational advisors, etc. have all been prompt and efficient when dealing with any issues I have had. The flexibility of the online delivery has eased my concerns on being able to manage all of my time committments. The instructors have been very good and for the most part easy to get along with. As with any organization, there will be an instructor or two that a person just does not care for, however that is not indicative of the institution. I have found the coursework challenging and insightful, as well being able to utilize real world scenarios to apply the concepts being presented. Instructors do a solid job of facilitating discussion amongst the class via the discussion threads. I am extremely happy with AMU and would recommend it to anyone, especially adult learners, who are trying to earn a college degree. With AMU being regionally and nationally accredited, a degree from AMU is worth the price of admission.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience /Excellent School

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - January 16, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a graduate of AMU with a BA in Criminal Justice. The coursework was heavy at times but the support from staff was excellent on preparing me for exams. The option to select either 8 or 16 week courses helped me set myself for success based on my strengths and weaknesses. This is an excellent school with great instructors. I have referred over 30 fellow Airmen and all seem thoroughly pleased as well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great School

Bachelors of Arts in Criminal Justice - October 6, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just completed my degree with AMU. I have no complaints. I decided to attend AMU due to their terrorism courses which really wern't offered by another school. Although I was hesitant becuase I started while they were still trying to achieve RA status, I quickly realized that it was good quality. I liked the fact that they accepted all of my junior college credits as well as my SMART transcripts. I knocked out a full year just from the military. THe quality of the instructors and the free books really made this school stand out. One of my terrorism courses was taught by a retired Detla Force Master SGT who had experience. It wasn't all theory, it was relevant, current practices in the field. Great information! I am currently trying to get hired on with a couple different Federal Law Enforcement Agencies. If I get hired or not, I will try to remeber to post here again with the results because I am as curious as the rest as to weather or not this degree will be looked at legitimate regardless of the RA.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Military University in any way.