Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Military University

  • American Military University Reviews

    Ranking: #13
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association; Distance Education and Training Council

4.1
622 Reviews
5 298 
4 220 
3 49 
2 26 
1 29 
0 0 

American Military University Reviews:

Excellent educational experience

Homeland Security - May 26, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently (May 2017) completed the Masters program in Homeland Security at AMU. The curriculum was challenging and the online presentation required a disciplined approach in order to keep up with assigned readings and papers. If you are considering attending this institution, be prepared for a significant amount of writing and online research. The instructors were all very capable, experienced professionals who were able to provide useful guidance when questions arose. Each class had a research paper requirement that was very manageable as long as the weekly assignments were properly completed. Regarding value, this was one of the least expensive options I could find for a graduate degree. Many other institutions, both online and traditional, were significantly more expensive. I would recommend this university to anyone interested in pursuing an advanced degree in Homeland Security studies.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Pleased with my experience

Homeland Security - May 25, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am completely pleased with my experience at AMU and the courses that I took there. At the time they had one of the more robust curriculum for my degree and I chose them largely on this fact. This was my second masters, I have pursued education in all three modalities of face-to-face, blended, and online. I have also instructed classes in all of these modalities (not for AMU). I largely contribute the degree I received at AMU along with my other experience in helping me enter the Emergency Management profession and transition to a second career after the military. Hopefully this will help you make your decision as you move forward in pursuit of your education.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Challenging Academics at an affordable price

Homeland Security - May 24, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It is almost impossible to give out an excellent rating to something that you have nothing else to compare it with. I spent a year at the University of the South Pacific in Fiji doing a certification on GIS program then I moved on to University of Technology in Lae, Papua New Guniea. They were tough school but it was a classroom environment. I first started AMU back in 2010 doing AA in Anti-Terrorism Studies. I learned real quick that online class requires time management and dedication. Being a father, soldier, and a student makes it very difficult to have a stable timeline. I had a lot of late-night/early wake up routine but I knew that in life, you enjoy the rewards after the hard work you put in. I did at times sacrifice my efforts by skipping small items in order to have enough time to go after big ones. I would skip the required forums in order to complete an assignment. Because of my time management, I had to do that sometimes in order to walk away with a desired end state. Professors are very helpful and they critic my work in a way that helped me to grow professionally. I can honestly say that my research and writing style has improved significantly because of the evaluation techniques that is being applied. The course materials to include the online library and the guidelines on how to utilize them made me self-sufficient. A lot of things with this academic quest were challenging because of the analytical process that is based on current issues rather than text book content. I am happy that I have completed my BS in Homeland Security and will start a dual Mastery program that combines both Homeland Security and Emergency and Disaster Management. I am truly grateful for AMU/APU, academic advisors, admission and financial aid, the professors, as well as the students that I interacted with for making this journey demanding, challenging, but possible, and allowed me to achieve this unforgettable milestone that I will forever cherish.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

BA Homeland Security

Homeland Security - August 10, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started working on my BA back in 2003. I finally finished it in 2013. I am active duty, so my time is valuable. With AMU you get what you put into the program; on average I spent up to 16 hours per week reading and writing (2 Classes at a time), which you will do plenty of at this College. If one is looking to be spoon fed, have everything handed to them with little to no effort on your part, this school is not for you. For those that have little time, but do desire to put forth the effort to obtain a degree, then this might be the school for you. For those that say this is a degree Mil, I would respectfully disagree with. I have many friends who went to a brick and mortar school (including my son who attends Virginia Tech), and the only difference between going here or going there is the motivational factor. To be successful at AMU you have to be a self-starter, fully capable of researching any questions you have on your own. Some Professors do use Adobe connect for face to face time (which more professors should do) but overall you will have to figure out much of what is required, which makes this some what more difficult. However, overall I am very satisfied with AMU and proud to say this is where I received my degree. Currently, I am working towards my Masters with them and still am pleased with the school. As for the professors, as with any college some are good and are involved, while others not so much. I would recommend this school to any one that wants a challenge.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Military student experience

Homeland Security - April 14, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I will share this review considering that, at the time of enrollment, I was an active duty member of the United States Army. Being active duty puts unique demands on personal time and time in general to pursue other interests like, in this case, education. I decided to enroll based on the recommendations of two of one of my supervisors and a fellow soldier and also because I was scheduled to deploy months later that same year. My experience with the college in general was great, most of the professors were prior military so there was an immediate connection of familiarity. Many times I had to ask for extensions and for more time on assignments based on military time constraints and was always met with a yes and with support from the professors. The support I received from the campus in general was a great experience, I was always answered promptly and with good, understandable information. Thanks to this college's support I was able to finish my bachelors degree in homeland security amidst a nine month deployment, many late nights at work, being married, and field exercises. I highly recommend this online college, it was a great and supportive experience for me and I'm sure it will be the same for you, whether you are active duty military or a busy individual.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Overall Program

Homeland Security - April 5, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Currently I am enrolled in the Masters Program for Homeland Security with an emphasis in Emergency Management. Already completed a BA in the same program, so I have over a decade of experience with AMU. Overall the college is a great college to attend; You have to have the ability to manage your time effectively, and success will follow. However, as with all Colleges, you have great professors who do not care about the grade but about what the student learns, you have the professors that meet the letter of the law and seem to not care as long as you meet the course syllabus requirements, then you have professors who seem to not care, but I suppose you will find that at any higher educational institution. The main issue I have with some AMU courses is as follows; In any given week you have to submit a 500 word short essay about the lesson for that particular week by Thursday, reply two at least 2 other classmates with at least one substantive 250 word response, generally coupled with 5-10 page report due at the end of some weeks (ie...generally week 2, 4 and 8). If you are taking more than one class at a time it is impossible to do the amount of reading required coupled with the weekly assignment and the classroom interaction. I would suggest to the school to get rid of the mandatory word length on the classroom interaction to place more impetus on the reports and final products then classroom interaction; unless these classroom interactions become Video Tele-conference (VTC) sessions. The only other item that is an issue (more of an opinion); is some class syllabus do not match the classroom setup. The professor should ensure the syllabus matches exactly what is in the lessons inside the classroom, it can get confusing when they do not match or complement each other. As a last note, AMU is a great college and can be a great experience, but as with everything in life its what you make of it. Cheers!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

AMU Masters Program

Homeland Security - June 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Every one has a different collegiate experience; either on campus or on line. Each professor I had differed in views on how they assessed my work. At first it was a problem however, as the course progressed I could see what their expectations were. Believe me it was a rough start when I began working on my Masters in Homeland Security. One thing I did enjoy is that each one would work with a student at the personal level; I only had one professor among all of them that was a tad difficult. I would say that the Registrar, Ms. Lynn Geer, is the epitome of a professional and a caring human being. I was in and out of the hospital for a little over a year and she worked with me so I would not be dropped. Through her efforts I was able to complete my studies. My only regret was I didn't walk up to her and thank her when I graduated. The comprehensive exam is a killer and I had to prepare for it in ways that I did not think I would have to. One taking this exam has to create their own system on retrieving information to prepare and submit their responses. By no means was it easy and during the exam there were moments that I just wanted to quit. But in the end it was worth the frustration. As I looked at some of the students enrolled in my classes and could tell which ones were serious about the class and the others who where there just to check a block. This was the most frustrating part as I would have classified their contributions to the learning experience as just being there. I just hoped the professors saw this and graded them accordingly. In all of my classes all the students were working full time jobs yet the vast majority of them really applied themselves. It was not easy for any of us to work full time, travel for work, study, submit papers, and have a personal life. However, this is a choice we all made. I believe it was up to me on what kind of learning experience I wanted which was based on how much I applied myself and no one else. I immersed myself in the classes wanting to get the absolute maximum and my professors provided me the tools; what I did with those tools was in my control. AMU expects its students to have self discipline and commitment when they enroll; that's something they cannot give you. You get what you put into it. If I were asked to provide an area where they could improve I would look at the feed back from the professors on the submission of papers. I know I spent at least five hours, Monday through Friday, nightly doing my work; using Saturday to finalize my paper to submit it on Sunday. Every night was a study night and usually I hit the sack about 0100 only to have to get up and go to work. I found it frustrating when I got my paper back and the only comment was "Good Job." Some of my other professors did provide feedback and I took it to heart as I viewed it as a challenge to be a better student and researcher. Like I said earlier, it's all what one makes it. AMU, Ms. Geer, and some of my good professors I would like to thank you for a good experience.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

AMU REVIEW

Homeland Security - June 24, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

THE LEARNING MATERIALS ARE GOOD. HOWEVER THERE ARE NO LECTURES OR TEACHINGS FROM THE PROFESSOR. I LIKED THE TYPES OF CLASSES AS IT FOCUSED IN MY MILITARY CAREER AS TO MOST COLLEGES DO NOT OFFER THESE TYPES OF COURSES. THERE WASNT VERY MUCH INPUT FROM PROFESSORS AND IS KIND OF A SELF LEARNING TYPE OF FORMAT. THE FINANCIAL AID SCREWED ME OVER BECAUSE I CONTACTED THE VA REGARDING HOW MANY FUNDS I HAD LEFT FOR MY GI BILL AND THEY TOLD ME I HAD 2 CLASSES REMAINING AND SAID THEY WOULD LPAY FOR THEM AND THEN THEY DIDNT AND I GOT STUCK WITH 2000 DOLLARS IN WHICH I OWED THE UNIVERSITY. THE VA AT AMU WASNT HELPFUL AND NOW I GET STUCK PAYING THEM 2000 DOLLARS. AND NOW AND I CANNOT TAKE CLASSES UNTIL IT GETS PAID OFF.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful

AMU Online

Homeland Security - December 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My professors challenged me to go beyond my comfort zone. Classes were tough and demanding, but the professors were there to provide guidance.

Was this review helpful?

Just completed degree

Homeland Security - December 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my bachelors in Homeland Security and was very pleased and impressed with AMU. The best attribute was the unbelievable quality of the instructors. Several were published and renowned in their fields, while others were Commanding Officers at military installations. Nearly every single one of them was currently working in the military, law enforcement or emergency management professions. The worst aspect of this degree was how much of it was self-taught. This is not necessarily a knock against AMU as much as it is an observation about online degrees in general. The course and professors give you all the tools you need to excel in this environment, but it is up to you to do the work and research to be successful. It worked very well for me, but I can also see the advantages to a classroom setting. I must add that the value of AMU was also wonderful and I was very glad to see halfway through my degree the U.S. News review of American Public University System.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Experience

Homeland Security - December 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Homeland Security program not only helped become better at my current career in the military, but has well prepared me for my future career in this field. The instructors are very knowledgeable and are experts in this field of study. Instead of only having an academic background, these instructors are practitioners in security studies. I highly recommend this university to anyone wanting to start a career in homeland security.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Extreme acts of misconduct by professors

Homeland Security - May 16, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I originally selected AMU because it was the only school I could find which would take all of my transfer credit and didn't set some unfair limit on how much credit it would accept as a way to force you to spend more money. In that sense, I can still praise AMU for giving me about half a degree worth of transfer credit that many other schools would have tried to cheat me out of. Sadly, where AMU falls flat is the quality of the "professors" who instruct the courses. Most of them are just lazy, interacting as little as possible with the students and giving little or nor feedback on graded assignments. Honestly, I just laugh at the lazy ones, because I skate through their courses feeling like I'm just interacting with a primitive robot programmed to knock 5% of each of my assignments because of some randomly selected reason. If I pass a class with 95% because the robot didn't care to spend any more time looking at my work, that is entirely fine with me. The "professors" I really have a problem with are the ones who don't keep their comments to themselves. A very small number of these are actually somewhat good instructors who interact with the class and give realistic feedback. Most however an obnoxious nitpicks who will constantly hassle you via private messages and insist that you revise assignments you submitted weeks prior because they didn't like your format or thought you didn't answer the question the way they wanted it answered. If you try to argue with them or simply ask them to grade your work as it is submitted without nitpicking every last detail, they will retaliate by sending blatant lies about you to the university administration to get you in trouble. My experiences at this school have shown me why some people consider it a degree mill. Personally, I don't care if it happens to be a degree mill, because all I want is to get a degree so that jobs which require one can't reject me for not having one. I do however feel that I am a paying customer and I should be treated with some basic respect. "Professors" who blatantly lie and harass their students are a hassle I don't need to deal with.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 27 people found the following review helpful

BA in Homeland Security

Homeland Security - May 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU has put together a world class online learning environment. The Homeland Security degree sets up an individual for success. The professors and a lot of the students are working professionals within the field and I could not be happier with my experiences. Highly recommended for those working professionals that are looking for a career within DHS or other security related fields.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Getting your degree

Homeland Security - February 26, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When choosing a degree plan you must understand that it will change before you complete your degree. Whether you add a area of concentration of you take away one that you put in place. You path will change. You often find yourself in turmoil over the choices. Best advice I have for someoen pursuing a degree, choose something you enjoy reading and writing about. If you do not enjoy it or find a little pleasure in 65 percent of the work chances are you will not finish that particuliar degree. Before you beat yourself up about what degree, locate all the degree types that are on your path. You will be much more successful, if you concentrate on what the degree gives you in the end rather then the work it will take to get there. The professors at AMU/APUS have been there and they know what it takes and that is what makes them so special. They understand the challenges you will face and the setbacks that some of you will come across. Just know they are there to support and help you, not watch you fail. Best of luck to you all in your pursuit of that ultimate degree, may you have nothing but success in your future. Regards, Kim Byers Class of 2012/13 Go Eagles!!!!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

AMU-BA in Homeland Security

Homeland Security - January 23, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have enjoyed every moment of my degree experience. I was led towards AMU through several of my co-workers, and this was the best decision I ever made. Not only was I continuing my education, I was able to getting involved with some volunteer programs. Now I am a University Ambassador and loving every minute. What are you waiting for?

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Much better than UMUC

Homeland Security - January 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I transferred to American Military University from University of Maryland University College because there aren't very many schools that have Homeland Security degrees, and unlike UMUC, AMU promised to take my credit from the FEMA Independent Study Program. Overall, my experience with AMU has been vastly improved over my experience at UMUC. AMU have given me more transfer credit and more credit for CELP exams than UMUC did. Most of my transfer credit which didn't get taken was due to UMUC being a poor school and not writing their class descriptions in a way that would allow them to be accepted for credit anywhere else. One negative point is that I am still fighting with AMU to get them to accept my credit from the FEMA Independent Study Program. They won't accept it as transfer credit from any other school, nor will they accept the certificates that FEMA gave to me directly. They will only take a transcript directly from FEMA, and for some reason they are taking FOREVER to actually review this transcript now that they have received it. After six months of being enrolled at this school, I shouldn't still be fighting them to finish my Transfer Credit Evaluation without screwing something up. However, the teachers, the classes, and the curriculum have been an immense improvement over the nightmare I had to deal with at UMUC, so I suspect I'll be sticking with AMU once I get everything settled with them.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Great way to earn your degree

Homeland Security - October 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Like any institution, some of the professors are better than others, but the material available for study is amazing. I work full time am a single mom of a four year old and have just completed my Master's!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

AMU Review

Homeland Security - October 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in the Military and currently taking courses online. Most of my classes are relevant to my profession so i do not have much difficulty in them. Other classes i do find difficult, but not impossible. I enjoy the classmates and instructr viewpoints.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

AMU

Homeland Security - September 12, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Completed AMU's MA graduate program in Homeland Security 2 years ago. Overall the program was challenging and added signficantly to my knowledge, skills, and abilities in that area of study. Most of the instructors were highly qualified, offered more than cursory feedback and were engaged with their students. Support staff was very helpful and professional. The only criticism of note is the apparent usual practice of awarding a very high number of high grades where performance did not necessarily merit those grades and reflects poorly when comparing this institution to traditional non-online institutions or those that are not for profit.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Security Management

Homeland Security - May 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been in the Security Management BA program for 8 months and I have nothing but good things to say about the teachers and the support staff. I have a long history of L.E and Security work in my resume, but I have still learned a great deal from this course program. The instructors and the support staff have always been exceedingly helpful and responsive to any problems I had while in their classes. I would recommend AMU to anyone who has a desire to go to school, it has been and still is a great experience.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Great School for Active duty military

Homeland Security - April 21, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my BA in Homeland Security and have to say that the school is challenging, but not impossible. The classwork is sufficient and will keep the average full time worker busy throughout the weekend. But it is all called about sacrifice, and if a student has the will to stay dedicated and conduct research on his own, then this is the school for him/her. It is regionally accredited, and for service members, training can be converted into credits, so there is minimal reason not to attend this school

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Good Master's Program

Homeland Security - March 12, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After obtaining my Associate's degree and Bachelor's degree from a "brick and mortar" school, I was skeptical about pursuing my Master's on-line. I honestly can say that I have learned more taking online classes than sitting in a class room. There was a technological problem last year do to a system upgrade that did not go as planned and this has since been corrected. I am enrolled in the Homeland Security program and have enjoyed every class I've taken. I would highly recommend this school!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

My niche`

Homeland Security - January 26, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In my short time with AMU, I have found the professors are brilliant and experienced, the support staff is phenomenol. I enjoy being surrounded in courses with all of my heroes and their thoughts and willingness to share their personal experiences. Thank you for allowing me to be a part of this wonderful school

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

AMU is as good as B&M colleges

Homeland Security - August 16, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am 15 weeks from my BA in Homeland Security and previously attended two exclusive, private brick and mortar colleges. Although you cannot always talk to an instructor at a certain time, you also cannot at traditional colleges. In this online method there is much more writing than a b&m college and the student is required to be mature enough to learn without hand holding. Material is relevant and for the most part the instructors are timely with ffedback. The administration part could use a little improvement, but that can be expected of any college that deals with many students.

Was this review helpful?

My experience so far Master's in Homeland Security

Homeland Security - February 11, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began my work towards a Master's in Homeland Security in the fall of '09. I had to withdraw from my first course due to work conflicts and where I was physically located. I ran in to considerable issues with the registrar's office and even had contact with an individual (I believe he was the VP of Student Services or something similar) after voicing my concerns over the schools apparent lack of interest in you or your issues if you are not military. This VP individual assisted me through my issues though and I have come back to once again pursue my degree. I am on my third class now and can already see the light at the end of the tunnel. Like most things in life, this program is very much based on the individual. You will only get from it what you put into it. Sure, you can skate by and claim it was easy and all of that. If you are serious about learning your chosen subject matter however, there is plenty here to keep you busy and engaged. My so-so ratings are based on my over-all experience thus far. Dealing with the Registrar's office was a real let down. They came off as being extremely dismissive. My instructor's have been helpful, responsive and have chosen very relevant materials as well as included outside materials and current events to supplement the courses. To me, this all makes sense with this sort of medium (on-line learning). I will continue to update as my degree progresses. Good luck to all. C.S.'09

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Homeland Security

Homeland Security - January 8, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my BA in Homeland Security with AMU and do not regret it an instant. I thought the books and other material were excellent quality. I was also very impressed with many of my instructors. Most having military backgrounds were understanding if situations came up (due to military life) that made perhaps completing a test and homework in on time highly unlikely. Excellent for anyone deployed I would say. I have read many of the reviews concerning the school. Most of the negative one come from people who have completed less than four classes. I have had a few encounters with instructors that seemed distant or their syllabus were confusing. However overall a great experience.

Was this review helpful?

Professor Lists need Scrubbing

Homeland Security - December 9, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Perhaps not a diploma mill, but AMU/APUS has a long way to go with regards to weeding through its professors. Many use a standard program throughout each semester and do not involve themselves in the processes at all. They expect you to self-learn without feedback. I understand the differences between traditional learning and online, however online professors also need to be involved in each session. If I wanted to be completely self-taught I could have saved a lot of money and done it on my own instead of paying a fortune for someone to used standard tests to assess what I've read. Four out of every five professors I've had so far have all been the same. Sure many have some impressive credentials, but that certainly does not mean that they are capable of preparing students for a future in the field. I recommend that AMU/APUS take some serious looks into how classes are being taught and how involved the instructors really are. If you don't want to learn, AMU is the place to whiz by and essentially pay for a degree. I haven't picked up a book in three semesters there other than to whip through a quiz at the end of a week or a final exam. I haven't read jack and am sitting with a 4.0 GPA THIS IS A FREAKIN' JOKE. I would have loved to actually be taught something, not teach myself...that is not online learning ... that is online scamming. $750/class is outrageous for this service. Get some real instructors or shut your doors. Positive posts about AMU here are by the ill-educated or by AMU staffers ... guaranteed ... I email my classmates and the vast majority have stated that they are very disappointed but staying with it because the government pays and they get a easy degree.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Solid school even when compared to a Big 10 Campus

Homeland Security - December 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have an M.S. in Criminal Justice from Michigan State and a B.S. from Ferris State. I just finished an M.S. in Homeland Security from AMUS and I believe the quality of education that I received from American Military was very comparable. I found my professors to be very well educated and taught very relevant material. I enjoyed my time with American Military and who heartily recommend it to other military members.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Good school with great instructors!

Homeland Security - September 14, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a new Navy vet of 4 years and previously attended a 4 year liberal arts college. I am a 28 yr old father of two. I am currently 12 credits shy of my Masters in Homeland Security. I am now working for a DHS contractor at the National Operations Center in D.C. I will offer two perspectives. First, I found the workload and types of materials challenging. My current Masters studies involve more time management than my undergraduate studies on a traditional residential campus. There are distractions, kids, military assignments, and AMU strives to make education in that atmosphere conveinant. Secondly, I would give AMU professors a good to great rating. For the most part they strive to assist you with scheduling conflicts and personal matters that can sometimes get in the way of the books and papers. Although it is an online forum you still have to assume a level of responsibility of being a college or graduate student. Deadlines are deadlines and extensions can only extend so long. For the amount of money you pay for courses I see the professors as people of great value.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

What the hell!!!

Homeland Security - July 27, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just finish my third class with AMU, and I got mix feelings. My first and second classes, sometimes I seems that the profesors were not there, ONLY to get and attitude about a paper and to reply, "This is Grad School". My last teacher, swears up and down that he is this and that, BUT his instructions are misguiding, the class references are a bit old, and if you don't write the way HE wanted, well, he will flunk you. Last time I check, GRAD school papers were done either APA, or MLA style!!! Well, can't complaint too much, I only pay the difference of the TA and books...Good luck everyone.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Not Entirely A Diploma Mill

Homeland Security - July 22, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Good if you want an easy way to get a VERY cheap & easy degree to add to your resume; however, if you are actually looking to learn anything - move on.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

AMU Review

Homeland Security - July 14, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended AMU for the past 4 years. Overall an outstanding school. Several things drew me towards AMU -- online flexibility, doesn't exceed TA reimbursement, undergraduate book grant, and regional accreditation. My experience with instructors has varied from excellent to fair. However, I have also attended other colleges as a resident (not online), and found the same issues with instructors. As for faculty support, I have had success and good, accurate answers. The majority of my classes have had hard copy books. Once AMU receives TA payment, the book order goes to the book provider. Since I am in an undergraduate program, the books are paid for. How can I ask for more than the military to pay 100% TA and the college covers books? For me, a huge selling point. A person will only get out of a school what they put into a school. In other words, if you don't want to do the research, reading, etc then I don't know what you are going to get out of it. I would recommend AMU to my fellow military brethren. I enjoy th flexibility of classes (8 weeks only), the book grant, and the education I am getting through AMU.

Was this review helpful?

Better Than Average

Homeland Security - December 10, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been to several colleges and universities, and American Military University is one of the best in the business. The accredidation is the same as the major university I attended and I recieve more student teacher interaction. AMU accepted all of my CCAF credits and some of my credits from a local community college. AMU is way more than a "Pay your fee, recieve a "B"" university. The one thing I don't like is they use a lot of online books and online books are not good for math courses and the classes are kind of expensive although you can take 6 undergrad courses per year with your military TA.

Was this review helpful?

Terrible experience

Homeland Security - September 29, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Shortly after beginning my graduate coursework for a degree in Homeland Security (first course!), I was called away for work for a couple of weeks. Unfortunately I was unable to receive the internet where I was and with the equipment that I had available to me. Due to these unforeseen circumstances, I fell behind in my on-line class. When I returned, I contacted the school and explained what had happened. I was told by one department that I would receive 50% of my pre-paid tuition for the course back. I was then transfered to the Appeals Dept. Their reply was that since I was in the 5th week of an 8 week course I would not receive any reimbursement of my payment. In addition to that, I also needed to pay an extra $100.00 withdrawal fee. My problem is that what I was asking for was to be allowed to transfer any funds to the same course beginning the next semester. I explained to the person in the Appeals Dept. that the $100.00 may be the last dollar they get from me as they were making it very difficult for me to even want to continue in their program. I only wanted to retake the same course. They would not budge one iota and now I am left with the decision of returning to this program and doing it all over again. This was my first course at this school. They don't seem to have any appreciation for a private citizen who doesn't have the Government bankrolling their education. The course was $825.00. So all in all, for ONE course I will pay $1,750.00? Not likely.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

For The Love Of God GO ELSEWHERE!!!

Homeland Security - April 22, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had nothing but problems with AMU since before I even got into this fine"university" (SNICKER SNICKER!)I was bumped from a Dec. start to a Jan. start to a MARCH start due to dealing with the combined ineptitude of the tech system and the petty bureaucrat functionaries whose customer service training was obviously from Bulgaria !(Cold,wrong answers,and often rude!)The readings were not current at all(many from BEFORE 9/11!!)and the books were definitely NOT written for a graduate-level course!Professors did not return e-mails or give any insight as to what they expect in papers and discussion board postings,thus making the learning process nearly impossible.Luckily,I am only two courses in and will NOT be returning after these are done.DO NOT GO HERE!!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Awesome

Homeland Security - November 8, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

What an awesome school! I have spent many years in the military...along with many schools, both online and in residence, and AMU is defitely at the very top of my list. The courses give the right balance of giving you a great education and realizing you have other priorities. One of the greatest things about AMU is the support staff. They have been extremely supportive. I live in FL and there is a representative that meets with online students down here and has returned my email questions within minutes, even when it was late at night. I would HIGHLY recommend this university to anyone!

Was this review helpful?

Faculty problem

Homeland Security - October 31, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First the positives. I would say that the online class was easy to navigate. Overall the system AMU uses is good. Now the negative. The faculty is very unresponsive. I already had 90 credit hours (3.8 GPA) towered my BA degree when I signed up with AMU. My first class at AMU was a mandatory “intro to learning” kind of thing. I made the mistake of mentioning that I really did not feel this type of class was all that useful for a 32 year old student like myself, a 19 year old maybe - but if I don’t know how to learn at 32, then I will never know. The professor then proceeded to give me low grades on all the work I turned in after that. My academic advisor was helpful enough to push me off on another faculty member, who simply said that the professor was right and I was wrong. Now I have a D- in a class I never wanted to take and I will have to pay back tuition assistance for the class. I can’t see by looking at the syllabus and adding my grades how I got a D- (even with the professor’s bias). Several times during the course the Professor would not accept work in one of the formats that the syllabus said was acceptable. Some of the online assignments had directions that the teacher seemed to be unaware of.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Excellent

Homeland Security - July 18, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had the same instructors as the previous poster, and I must say that they are excellent. A long with the dept. chair and other instructors. I have attended other online universities, private colleges, community colleges, and even Ohio State and have found AMU the most difficult and most rewarding of all 6 colleges I have attended. I have learned more at AMU in their respective classes than any other University.

Was this review helpful?

Homeland Security

Homeland Security - March 5, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great program with outstanding instructors. Instructors have real-world experience (for example I had the Fire Chief of Tampa-St Petersburg, the head of the UN Anti-Terrorism branch, etc, as instructors) comapred to individuals just teaching from the "book". As an active duty military member I appreciated the flexible schedule, and the willingness of the staff to accomodate military duties and deployments. Additionally, my military tution assistance covered the entire cost of my degree, books are included in tuition. Only out of pocket expense was internet access and a PC. Great program, great books, and great staff. Worth looking into.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Military University in any way.