Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Military University

  • American Military University Reviews

    Ranking: #13
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association; Distance Education and Training Council

4.1
622 Reviews
5 298 
4 220 
3 49 
2 26 
1 29 
0 0 

American Military University Reviews:

Couldn't Have Done It Without AMU!!!

Environmental Studies - May 12, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished a Bachelors on Intelligence Studies, and now I am pursuing a bachelors on Environmental Sciences. I can honestly tell you, I couldn't have progress in my military career as much as I have without AMU. The AMU degree instantly opened doors for me in my military career, and in the private sector after I retired. Now with this new degree in Environmental Science, I hope to dedicate the next 40 years of my life to another passion of mine: Nature. AMU curriculum is top notch. AMU professors are truly people who work the field, not just merely teach. One of my professors works in genetics for a renowned university in addition to teach here at AMU! This guys are for real! Classes are challenging, but the support you get from the professors and your classmates cannot be replicated in a classroom environment. In conclusion, AMU was the best decision I've ever made. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

AWESOME!!

Environmental Studies - April 5, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my degree with a focus in Wildlife Management. Going into this school I was already familiar with online college courses as I had completed an associates as well as the majority of a Bachelor degree in Liberal Studies online. I would say that the experience with AMU was far better than all of the other schools I attended online. The Professors were very knowledgeable since the majority of them had spent many years working in the field they are teaching. The courses are setup in a manner that allows you to focus on assignments throughout the weeks as well as having time to complete your 9-5 job. This is a positive since I am still an Active Duty Soldier. I am truly thankful for my friend having seen the degree I was looking for and then directing me to this University. Good luck in your studies!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Good Experience Overall

Environmental Studies - October 1, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I took undergraduate courses. I already have a master degree. It was the first time I took classes on line. It was an adjustment. Overall, I have not been disappointed, and learned a lot. I had to find my way around of doing things, and my typing improved much. The course had much writing and research, more than what I thought, but these are college courses, and I was there to learn; therefore, I am not complaining. The professors were very helpful. I had many good feedback. I fussed about multiple choices, and filing the blanks quizzes because it took me back to high school. I like essay questions that really can test your knowledge. But again, by filling in those blanks, it sharpened my reading skills. I liked the 8 weeks courses. I am not seeking a degree, but if I did, I sure would continue with AMU. I have a suggestion for improvement. It is to make finding the course books a little easier. I had to ask for help many times as I was getting confused as to where my course books were. The helps at the library and bookstore were very nice, and helpful.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

AMU: BS in Environmental Science

Environmental Studies - June 28, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would say that almost everything is going digital and taking courses online is one of the digital migration initiatives. Taking a course online is not only a new fad for working class individuals and even some students but also a wonderful experience that gives ad hoc knowledge to every individual who pursues courses using this platform. Apart from excellent experience, the course puts little pressure, if any, on the students, it is flexible, develops individual instruction, provides networking opportunities, provides site convenience, comfort and it is generally cheaper compared to traditional classes. I highly recommend American Military University to anybody in the military service who needs to advance their career goal or to be able to qualify for promotion. Personally, it has been a challenging experience for me and now that it is my senior year-1 term away from getting my BS in Environmental Science, I could say that the quality of education you’ll get from AMU is very high.

Was this review helpful?

Outstanding for Servicemembers

Environmental Studies - December 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU is an outstanding school. As a 14 year member of the USAF, either CONUS/OCONUS/deployed, I have never had a problem taking my classes. The faculty have always been relentlessly helpful with any of my special circumstances. If you are a member of the military, I will say that you will be hard pressed to find a better on-line school.

Was this review helpful?

Fun Curriculum

Environmental Studies - October 13, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read some of the existing reviews and I concede that the program may be difficult in relation to its amount of prestige. However, in my perspective the staff and faculty have been helpful so far. I have just my capstone, my last fourteen classes to complete before I receive my degree. I had attended two different colleges over the years prior and AMU generously gave me transfer credits at face-value for many of my prior classes. For someone working full time, it may be tough to attain a bachelor's degree within the 10-year deadline if starting from scratch. However, AMU is regionally and nationally accredited. I take one class at a time in order to focus on good grades. In every class I experience a challenge and learn plenty. In order to get the most out of it, however, I believe that I student needs a lot of self-motivation. However, the best thing about AMU is that the faculty rewards me for thinking outside the box, rather than simply telling me that I am wrong.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Excellent School

Environmental Studies - July 28, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Like any online education it takes self discipline and motivation to stay on top of your studies. What I have read in most of the negative posts is that the reader most likely didn't read the syllabus before taking the class or didn't read the financial aid policy. Too bad. This school has helped me significantly professionally with a change in career, promotion and the knowledge to stay in school. With a degree from AMU I was able to apply and be accepted into the MFAS graduate program at UF where I will most likely finish my PhD. Great school!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Serving in the Military and attending AMU

Environmental Studies - July 2, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Choosing a school while serving in the military can be challenging. Choosing an Environmental Science school can be even harder. I chose AMU for the military-friendly policies the school has adopted. From my experience, I would recommend AMU to anyone in the military. I have tested their policies for deployment and contingencies and found the school to be true to their word. Extensions for these events are easy to get and the school will work with you to ensure your success. Several of my instructors were prior military members themselves. Also, with a family I found the flexibility with studying in my own time to be great. There are no set times you must log in, only that you complete your work by the date due. Completing your degree is a wonderful feeling and AMU is a great choice for reaching that goal.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Success

Environmental Studies - March 7, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have earned my Bachelors of Science in Environmental Science and I could have not been happier. The flexibility was what drew me in as well as the sincere support for the military. I couldn't stop smiling throughout the admissions process and remember it like it was yesterday. Its important to understand reading and comprehension and as most classes will require you to do lots of reading (and you can't cheat with your pal or have someone read it to you and not learn like another school). The materials were free and I have a fantastic bookshelf with some great books (some new and updated). You may have to create your own layout for studying but that was best for me. It was very affordable and it may not be a State University or Community College but as long as it was accredited and had a great reputation I was hooked. Some of my professors didn't engage with me more than the lesson provided but I was doing well and didn't need any guidance. But they are there if you want to chat :) Some of my professors had some of the most amazing professional experience that included intelligence operations, military experience and were involved in the Gulf Coast oil spill. If you like being in a classroom and engaging with humans directly this will not work. But if earning your degree is whats most important I recommend AMU.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

good program

Environmental Studies - February 15, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

World class program director in Dr Carol Polio. The other professors were very knowledgable too. Plan on learning, relearning and perfecting APA style. The experience left me with a lot of knowledge and the ability to write much more clearly and concisely.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

B.S. in Environmental Science

Environmental Studies - January 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've finished four classes at AMU and I'm quickly on my way to graduation. I love how the whole system works and that they work with you on getting your degree paid for. Overall, AMU is a wonderful school that would recommend to everyone!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Goods and Bads...

Environmental Studies - January 5, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am about halfway thrugh my BS in Environmental Science due to all of my electives being completed with transfer credit as well as some of my general req's from colleges attended previously at brick & mortar schools (during highschool and then a semester afterwards). I have now done about 6 or 7 courses with AMU and the teachers can be really great or really not. Some classes will slam you with reading and others won't. I think the overriding impression I have of this school is that you will get as much of an education as you wish to from it. It is very possible to "ride" through it doing a very bare minimum and still get decent grades... I got busy while doing two 8 week science courses with labs simultaneously while working full time and stopped reading the material all-together. I was still able to get A's on the timed exams by having all the course PDF's open and proficient use of the 'search' function in pdf. I give this example to show that this school can frequently be attended with a very lax' effort. On the other hand, not all classes are based on these multiple choice exams. Many are not... A good portion of them are more geared towards written assignments.. ALL so far include at least one forum "duscussion" post every week where the teacher gives a 'prompt' for you to post a response to then you have to post responses to at least two (sometimes three or four) of your classmates. These posts are usually 250 or 300 words initial and 100 for your responses..... Overall, I'd say this can be an excellent education if you dedicate to it. If you read the material and put yourself into the assignments this will be on par with any brick and mortar school.. I loved the flexibility of choosing when to do my work and being able to do it from my home. I do, however, miss the interaction with teachers and classmates a "real" school gives you, and especially wish they would require AMU teachers to do video lectures every week... I get the impression that many of these teachers are putting even less efort into this than many of the students. If they made video lectures or even a very good written lecture mandatory this would make this DRASTICALLY better, in my opinion. Many of the weekly "lessons" of the teachers are a very short list of learning objectives and don't include a real lecture, at all. Also, it seems that the teachers often aren't engaging in the forum discussuions, but some are much better about that... One disclaimer at the end of this: I have only done one course in my core/concentration requirements and it was an intro course. So, there is a possibility that the upper level courses, especially in the 300+ range that I have not experienced, will be much better.. And, this is tru of most brick and mortar schools. The 100, and often even 200, series courses are slammed with 600 students in a lecture hall and the text is a black-the-dot multiple scantron. So, time will tell.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

My time in Environmental Studies

Environmental Studies - September 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently on my fourth class at AMU and I am happy with the way it is going. The classes are very well constructed. I was a little worried at first about the credability and some of the reviews. There were quite a few bad reviews but after reading them the post that I read didn't make any sense. The positive reviews however reinforced my views with online learning.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Its a joke with effort!!

Environmental Studies - January 6, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Well first of all the classes were easy, it is what you make of it I completed my AA in General Studies, when I was taking Anatomy and Physiology on line I googled one of the questions on a test and I found an online test from another instructor that had no connection with my , he posted the answers online my Instructor was using the same test in the same order with the same answers as the test online. WOW what type of crap they must think that people in the military are a BUNCH of Idiots and that we would not find out that the Instructor are full of it. My credit were regionally accredited so that was good, if you are using Tuition Assistance go for it, but do not pay out of pocket for this education!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Environmental Studies

Environmental Studies - December 5, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was a little worried about an online environmental studies program. I did not think I would get the experience I would need to find a job in the field. I just finished my first session, and it was great. One of my professors had a Phd, and the classes were challenging. I have decided to continue on, and will until I graduate. I am not so worried about finding a job anymore, and I feel I will be just as prepared as anyone from a brick and mortar university. If anyone is considering AMU, I would highly recommend it. I have attended a community college, and I also attended another online program at a traditional school. AMU had proven to be the best so far. They do provide a quality education. I was impressed that they use Rosetta Stone for language courses, and for lab courses they send you a lab kit containing everything you need. Great school that I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

It worked for me

Environmental Studies - July 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have no complaints. I found the program delivery excellent, and as a result learned a lot. In my opinion, online learning is a bit harder that what I found in the traditional classroom setting. You really have to apply yourself here.

Was this review helpful?

Tuition Issues

Environmental Studies - May 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

At first I was impressed at how quickly AMU (APUS) processed my application and how easy the system was to sign up for my first classes. Any positive impressions I may have had originally have been overshadowed by the incredibly poor quality of service I've received when trying to get a refund for two courses I needed to drop. I dropped the two courses one week prior to their start date. I've been informed that it takes 30 days for them to refund my tuition to my credit card. An email to the registrar was answered "Refunds are processed by our student accounts department and generally take 30 days." The student accounts department responded "Refunds have a turnaround time of 30 days." I would NOT recommend AMU/APUS to anyone who may have a need to withdraw from a course. I get the feeling that their primary goal is not taking care of the student but rather maintaining a revenue stream.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful

21st century Top Rated

Environmental Studies - October 14, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a student at American Military University and I've attended other private and public institutions. I can tell you from first hand experience that AMU holds its own as the finest online university in the country. Among all top-five major traditional universities who have realized this is the 21st century, and as a technology age, are offering distance learning including Harvard University but AMU stands alone in this field because AMU teaches military and government personnel, and has prepared people for careers in the military, CIA and NSA. It may still be an insider thing but that is how well this school holds up in smart circles! The teaching is top rate by instructors with top grade top level credentials many from Ivy League schools. The value is still amazing. AMU started primarily for military/government training and what it now sees is a vast number of smart non-military students who have chosen to attend AMU over other traditional programs.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Military University in any way.