Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Military University

  • American Military University Reviews

    Ranking: #13
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association; Distance Education and Training Council

4.1
622 Reviews
5 298 
4 220 
3 49 
2 26 
1 29 
0 0 

American Military University Reviews:

Excellent classes and materials

Information Technology Management - April 6, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a Chief Information Officer and have worked in the technology field for 28 years. I finally had the opportunity to attend college and obtain my B.S. AMU made the entire process of being a successful student very easy. In fact, it was so easy that I was able to focus all of my efforts on being a successful student and work a full time job at the same time. The staff a faculty are great and I have the highest of praises for everyone at AMU. So proud to be an AMU Undergraduate alumnus and soon to be a proud graduate alumnus with AMU!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Exactly what I needed

Information Technology Management - April 5, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU was nothing but pleasant in my experience. Classes starting every month made my degree plan flexible. If I needed to take a break for anything, I did so without worry. I transferred a ton of CCAF credits and they were applied to my degree program with no hassle. Not once did I have an issue with finance. Military Tuition Assistance paid for the entire degree - I had 0 out of pocket expense. Coursework held my interest and was presented in an understandable format. Online labs for network security were great. I had my worries about an online or smaller name school and how well it would be received. I'm now working on a masters degree at USC, and I couldn't have done it without AMU!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Better for the Experience

Information Technology Management - December 6, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU was great for me, but I also do not mind sitting in front of a computer. I enjoyed learning with many of my fellow service members (active duty, prior service, reserve and retired). An environment with so many experienced leaders is present in most student interactions. I also believe that with military students the goal is less about proving what you can do. It is about learning that leads to a recognized destination. That destination may be a certificate or degree. The point being that military members already have work experience and often have already completed top tier screening and training to qualify for their occupational specialty. AMU is a good place to bring the military and academic experiences together to reach the student's destination. AMU is a good fit for confident self-starters that require very little reassurance about being on the correct route. I'm really trying to make the point that successful military types will do well in this environment. If a perspective student has doubts about AMU or online learning they should seek the traditional campus experience with live faculty, students, security guards vending machines, parking permits and public restrooms. I am enjoying a successful career in part because of my AMU, BS degree in Information Technology Management. I also give equal credit for my success to years of experience gained working with people and technology in the military.

Was this review helpful?

Great school!

Information Technology Management - July 31, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my final course for the program and I feel that AMU was well worth the time and money. I am in the military and an online school is best because of their flexibility and AMU lived up to the standard in that regard. Most of the courses that I took were based around information; this is fine in some aspect, but I would have loved to take part in online training for the security and database courses. My courses normally required me to log in and make an initial forum post of 350 words, then two replies by Sunday of 150 words apiece. Some classes would require me to take quizzes every two weeks, and only one course had a test every week (environmental science). The majority of my courses also required an outline due in week 2, and normally a 15 page paper in APA format by week 8 of the course. If I had the opportunity to a brick and mortar school, then I would have, but AMU is a very good alternative if that is not feasible. One additional note, all books are included in the tuition rate, but all of the books are online, and some in a very inconvenient format.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Great Professors - Financial Aid Department Sucks

Information Technology Management - January 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I love the professors at AMU, but I have to say their financial aid department SUCKS!!!! I have had so many errors with my financial aid paperwork. I am sick and tired of telling AMU how to do their job! I am a student on the presidents list maintaining a 4.0 GPA. I have only had problems with 2 of my professors. I dropped from a class because of it. It would be nice if they had more videos that explain some of the workbook as well. They are recently began not accepting phone calls. Now you have to call in and leave a message in order to receive a call back and sometimes they just don't return your call. I have considered transferring to another university for these reasons.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Good Online Learning Community

Information Technology Management - October 3, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I entered AMU after 23 years in the Marine Corps. A former Commandant of the Marine Corps is a member of the board of trustees, and I respect the fidelity of anyone that held that office. I was concerned about how an online degree would be received by the Aerospace industry. My concerns were eased when I received a promotion to the next technical grade upon receiving my BS in Information Technology Management. I was impressed with AMU's instructors. They were challenging and their resume's had the education and industry experience that I would liked to have seen on my former full-time brick and mortar instructor's resumes. AMU is a great environment for learning and expressing your knowledge through written communication.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Highly recommend for online newbies and veterans

Information Technology Management - January 21, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am an active duty USAF member completing my last two courses toward a B.S. in IT Mgmt. I've had experience with traditional schools (U. of S. Miss., Macon State College, Chapman U., U. of Maryland) and online courses (Macon State College, U. of Maryland, AMU). I can honestly say, with regards to online learning, my experience with AMU is phenomenal! The courses are well developed, standardized, and easy to use. They are designed to be accessible all the time and therefore do not impose time constraints on students for when they need to attend class or log in (with the exception of weekly suspenses for work, exams, etc.) The instructors are well versed in their specialties, open to feedback, responsive and engaged with students/classes. Collaboration with other students is positive, engaging, helpful and fun. Most classes are 8-weeks long with some as long as 16 weeks. Although tuition for military members is much easier than civilians, I suspect the rates are as good, if not better than most schools, considering what you get for the price. I would recommend AMU for anyone who is not experienced or confident with online learning as well as veterans of distance learning. I've really enjoyed my time with AMU as they have made university-level learning fun and engaging. AMU has exceeded my expectations to the point that I hope to continue taking courses just for the fun of it!

Was this review helpful?

APU Student

Information Technology Management - July 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently a student at APU. I am still in my first semester but the classes have been moderately challenging from the get go. I was doing 4 classes this semester and I do not remember ever having a break from studying,reading or writing so the classes keep you very busy. Most of the Professors have been great. Before I choose my Professor I usually look them up on ratemyprofessor.com. Unfortunately there a few things I have noticed that could use some improvement. I must say that I have noticed that there are not as many resources on the APU online campus as on the AMU campus. I also noticed that most of the workshops are for AMU students. Also the customer service is not the greatest. I recently had to request some paperwork directly from APU because the paperwork that is on the online campus is not acceptable to my employer because it does not have a signature therefore they did not believe I was attending an accredited college. No one at the school was willing to fax the papers over. Well it took several emails and calls to finally get someone to fax the papers to my employer. This really raised some concerns and doubts about this school. I am planning on looking into other online schools for the next semester

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

0651/0656 Marine AMU Transfer Credit

Information Technology Management - March 11, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just wanted to help out Marines that have an MOS of 0651/0656 and are thinking of attending AMU. I couldn't find any information about how many credits are earned via SMART Transcript with my MOS so i figured i would post here, where i found the most information about AMU. I recieved a total of 17 credit hours with my SMART. 11 credits were from being a basic Marine that attended boot camp and MCT. 6 credit hours were for my MOS. One was a networking class and the other was introduction to computer science. I just started at AMU and am taking 2 classes. I am taking Foundations of Online Learning and Sociology. So far I have learned a lot. I recieved my books for free which I didnt know about before I enrolled. I know most people think online colleges are diploma mills but so far I have realized that online colleges force you to learn! You HAVE to read the assigned readings and HAVE to do the assignments. When I was attending a local community college I just payed attention when it was review time and didnt retain much course knowlege. The only thing i did like better about the community college is ONE teacher that I had that taught us a lot that was not on the syllabus. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful?

AMU BS in Information Technology Management

Information Technology Management - December 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently completed my BS in Information Technology Management. The classroom experience was awesome and very flexible. I was able to learn on my terms. All undergraduate books are sent to you in the mail and included in tuition. I would have perferred more use or streaming video, CBTs, WBTs, and audio streams, though overall the use of technology was fine. Classes start every month and you have your choice of 8 week or 16 weeks courses.

Was this review helpful?

Very pleased so far

Information Technology Management - June 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was looking for a shcool that would fit my frequent military travels and that would be able to answer tuition assistance and GI Bill questions. I first looked at U fo Pheonix, they gave me the run around about my tuition assistance. A friend at the base recommended AMU. I am currently halfway through my program and I am very pleased with everything. Most of the profs work or have worked in their respected fields and are very knowledgable and quick to answer questions. If you are looking for an online degree program that you can just slack around and finish your degree, I wouldn't recommend AMU. Most courses I have taken are challenging. If you put forth the effort, you will get what you pay for, a quality education.

Was this review helpful?

First choice for online University

Information Technology Management - May 18, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed the BS in IT Management at AMU. I would recommend this University and degree to anyone that is looking into adult learning options. I took several classes online at University of Phoenix before transferring to AMU. AMU is far, far better than UOP. First it costs half as much to go to AMU, based on each 3 credit class AMU was $750 and UOP was $1500 and increasing. AMU also does not have team based assignments. You might have to review a posting by someone else but that is it, there are no 10 page papers that you have to coordinate with someone else like you do at UOP. I thought the AMU evaluation of transfer credits was very fair. At most Universities it seems like they do anything they can to exclude your credits for whatever reason, but at AMU I felt like they tried to do the opposite and include my previous work wherever they could.

Was this review helpful?

AMU is simply excellent

Information Technology Management - December 19, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

From my understanding, AMU is also about to start the process for a Ph.d program and is also working on several secondary business type accredidations such as AACSB, CPEH, etc. This school is truely second to none when it come to distance learning and is well respected in government, military, law enforcement, and other communities. Every traditional college institution I've spoken with in regards to AMU is either highly impressed or have never heard of the it. Once the ones who had never heard of it research it, they are very impressed afterwards. Keep up the good work and hurry with the Ph.d program!

Was this review helpful?

Good School

Information Technology Management - November 1, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just finished my MS in IT Management and I have to say that overall the school really shows how to get it done in regards to distance leaning. I have taken classes from multiple Brick and Mortar schools, and they could not compare to AMU. Another review had an issue with a professor but you will find that anywhere. Tuition is low, especially since all books are included at the undergrad level, technology is top notch, and customer service blows everyone else away.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Military University in any way.