Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Military University

  • American Military University Reviews

    Ranking: #13
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association; Distance Education and Training Council

4.1
622 Reviews
5 298 
4 220 
3 49 
2 26 
1 29 
0 0 

American Military University Reviews:

Great University / Under appreciated.

Legal Studies - May 12, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

American Military University was my choice, because I wanted a great quality school, with an opportunity to stay home and raise my children. I am a disabled veteran of the US. Army, and with my limitations, I thought that my chances of finishing school were slim to none. My wife introduced me to the university back in December 2012. I was able to receive my AS in Paralegal Studies within 1 1/2 years, and then my BS in Legal Studies almost 2 years later. That is nearly impossible for someone who attends a brick and mortar school, let alone someone who attends a university online at the average rate of classes,and without taking classes overtime the entire time. With the exception of some of the professors, My entire journey was extremely supported. I would definitely recommend this university to someone else. A lot of people would like to trash this school, but I only think it is because they are completely ignorant to how it works. FC C/O '16

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

AMU Pre-Law

Legal Studies - September 16, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great Program. Laid the foundation for me to be accepted into the Master's Program University of Houston (Criminology) and continue on later to law school. Don't pass this up great instructors and courses to aid you in the field of law.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Horrible Finanical Aid Scam at this school

Legal Studies - December 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed all but my last 2 classes at this school, only to find myself wondering how did I fail for this scam. I paid for my classes, then was informed I got financial aid. After they switched my payment method over they continued with obstacle after obstacle about why the financial aid was on hold. I was blocked from my classes until the last two days of class! When I contacted them and said I needed more time, all I got was more excuses! When I asked for a review they said it was all my fault and that I still owed the school for the last two classes that I was unable to complete. No matter who I emailed, phoned (voicemail only as you cant actually talk to someone live), and even wrote- all I got was excuse after excuse on why the school could not help me. They simply want your money and could care less about you or working with you. PLEASE THINK TWICE ABOUT GOING TO AMU. As a military member for 23 years this is the worst I have ever seen.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Nothing but good things....

Legal Studies - June 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just graduated in May 2013 with my Bachelor's in Legal Studies. The instructors that I had for my major courses were helpful, informative and were dedicated in making sure that I got the most out of the class. My general education instructors were lacking the motivation to get everyone involved. My math instructor never emailed back or answered phone calls and this was the class that I struggled with the most. I also contacted my adviser to see what I could do about the lack of response from him. My adviser didn't give me any advice on who to contact or what to do. I passed my math class, but thought that the class was abandoned by the instructor since he never interacted with any of the class. All in all though, the school has a great support system, competent staff and hire individuals that generally care about your future. The school is a great way to balance your life, work and education and is very affordable compared to other online school systems. They are also regionally accredited. I wouldn't have the degree that I have now if it wasn't for the professionalism of AMU.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Best balance of school, work, and life

Legal Studies - May 23, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just completed my BS in Legal Studies and am continuing on with AMU for my MBA. Like many who attend AMU I did so while mostly on active duty and constantly on the move, AMU provided a great “college” experience without actually stepping foot on campus. Before AMU I went to a standard brick and mortar University and also tried University of Phoenix online and in both cases AMU was an overall better experience and best value. Some people complain about the lack of interaction when completing your academics online but I can tell you my first year at a standard University was not anymore involving or interactive then my time at AMU. AMU’s online classroom’s technology and professors are far more superior then that of UofPHX. While I cannot speak for all the classes at AMU my degree plan was no walk in the park and it demanded my complete attention and dedication to complete. I hope that AMU will continue to strive for an overall high expectation from its students and continue to build a strong reputation throughout academia.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Great

Legal Studies - July 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I loved my time at AMU. I mainly wanted to write a review to let people know that this is not a diploma mill school. My first class was History 101 with Dr. Barry Shollenberger. You will work your butt off to pass his class. I have had instructors from University of Chicago Law School, and Harvard who "moonlight" at AMU, so it is not always a cake walk just because it is an online school. My legal classes were all taught by professors with a J.D. You get out of it what you put into it.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

great experience

Legal Studies - January 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm having an excellent learning experience at apu. I've read through many of these posts. I can't get over the negative ones! The majority of their complaints are because the school won't refund their money because they dropped a course, or, I'm having problems with financial aid. The policies were in place before you signed up. I find it very, very hard to believe that someone who does very well at this school, would go back and post something on the internet about how easy it was, how they got a 4.0, how its such a joke. It makes absolutely no sense. Do excellent at a school, whether online or brick and mortar, then immediately go onto the internet and write a complaint about how easy it was. You would be hurting yourself as much as the University, and simply would not do it if you were an intelligent person.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Unrivaled!

Legal Studies - September 8, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently graduated with my B.S. (3.0 GPA) and I would recommend AMU to anyone who is serious about their education. Several individuals wrote that the school is a diploma mill and it is not worth your time. If you are considering attending AMU, please do not listen to a few frustrated individuals who probably were looking for a diploma mill. Oh, they are also Regionally Accredited; that is the highest accredation any college/university can have. I am currently enrolled in the Homeland Security program (MA) and I highly recommend AMU.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Military University in any way.