Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Military University

  • American Military University Reviews

    Ranking: #13
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association; Distance Education and Training Council

4.1
622 Reviews
5 298 
4 220 
3 49 
2 26 
1 29 
0 0 

American Military University Reviews:

University Review

Transportation and Logistics Management - February 14, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My journey stated 5 years ago with this university. I really appreciate the professors at AMU. Their knowledge and commitment to my success has exceeded beyond my expectations. The cost is reasonable, classroom access to matierals and assignments was open with minimum online disruption. The only downfall is there's no doctoral level classes available. I encourage everyone to check out the university.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Trans & LOG Management

Transportation and Logistics Management - April 8, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started at AMU in 2009. I took a break from 2013-2015 due to work and deployments. I returned at the beginning of 2016 and things have changed quite a bit...for the better! Prior to taking time off I had some pretty unengaged Professors, and very dry curriculum. So far this year I’ve taken three courses and the changes are pretty remarkable. Professors and Instructors are far more engaged now than in previous courses I’ve taken. Understandably that has more to do with the individual rather than the institution. The curriculum now is challenging and gives testament that online college is just as challenging as brick and mortar institutions. Course material that was once dry, is made bearable by the efforts put forth from the Instructors of the course. AMU was my choice after multiple searches for various reasons. One, the tuition is very reasonable, and I was able to apply for scholarships that helped reduce the cost. Keeping your grades up also pays off as AMU awards an Undergraduate scholarship for academic performance. Second, the degrees offered at this school are not offered at all online schools. I wanted a degree that closely matched my current position in the military, which would be applicable in the civilian sector after I retired. I found that with a BA in Transportation and Logistics Management, I could use my twenty years of experience paired with this degree for a real chance at finding a good paying job. If you are looking for an education that is easy and requires little to no work, then you are not going to find that at AMU. It is an accredited school which delivers a top notch education.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Not respected by employers

Transportation and Logistics Management - April 5, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Employers do not respect a degree from AMU/APU. Over the past 2 years, I have applied for at least 100 jobs, and no one is interested. I am employed right now, but not using my degree. I would not reccommend this school to anyone. Please, please, heed my warning and choose a reputable school that looks good on a resume. I am a peon that works for people that all went to good schools. AMU/APU will not prepare you for the business world. I'm a TLMT grad, and I pack freight for a living.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Great Program

Transportation and Logistics Management - July 7, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience with AMU is nothing short of OUTSTANDING. I am a service member, husband and father. I found the time to do my work. My week was full with reading, assignments, and term papers! I spent approximately 21 hours a week for every class and truly learned a lot! An MA in TLMT will certainly give me an advantage with career mobility. I chose AMU for its online access and the ability to log into the classroom anytime I wanted. Sure there were times when the instructors didn't answer my questions in a timely manner, but, they did pull through. I have completed 70% of the program and am so motivated to finish by next year. The sacrifices I have made were worth it! When I complete this program, I can't wait to see what doors open for me!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great Classes

Transportation and Logistics Management - June 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, the classes were very interesting. I enjoyed the reading assignments and homework that was assigned. There was one professor I would rather not have to deal with again, but it's been a while and I can't recall what his name was. Getting my Bachelor's degree in Transportation and Logistics Management was the best thing I have ever done. The course curriculum was interesting and I actually wanted to take more of the courses than what was needed to complete my degree. I was able to complete the classes at my own pace and was overall very satisfied with the end result. The majority of the professors were very engaging and I enjoyed dealing with them and enjoyed their feedback; it was very constructive. I've considered going back to AMU to get my Master's degree.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

APUS-AMU -

Transportation and Logistics Management - October 2, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

APUS-AMU Master Degree Program in Transportation and Logistics Management exceeded my expectations with military and civilian students from all over the United States and around the world. This regionally accredited institution provides excellent value for upper level college classes at just $300.00 dollars per graduate credit or about $1000.00 per graduate three credit course with book. The whole program start to finish costs me $13,000. The registration process and online classroom is very user friendly. Be prepared to do your work in this program forum, research, projects, power points, research writing, and real world scenarios. Just remember APA (son of a citation machine) always cite and never self-plagiarize. In addition, perla paper a paid site is an excellent paper format tool. ***I advise to take research methods in transportation and logistics as your first course** This course is the foundation of writing for the entire program. Keep all your books for comprehensive exam you will need them. Get the best professors you can for this course. Some excellent professors in this program were Dr. Hedgepeth, Dr. Valkoni, and Dr. Natoli. Good luck

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Get in, Get on, Get Educated!

Transportation and Logistics Management - October 10, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began my degree while deployed to Iraq in 2008-2009. I heard about AMU from fellow Marines and figured I should take a look at it and renew my education goals. The online format and ability to work at my own pace helped me out exponentially with completing my degree in May 2013. As a Logistics Chief in the Marine Corps my degree has expanded upon my already 10 years of experience with deployment systems and processes. The knowledge that not only the courses of study provide but also the professor base and student body possess is beyond comparison. Often times working with subject matter experts rather than some kid fresh out of high school allowed the course to flow and information to be retained easier as well as keep the relevancy high. Real life situational awareness in the subject's provided an inside glimpse that typical college course could not offer. I would not trade my experience at AMU for anything in the world. I have established a great network of logistics professionals throughout my time and continue to correspond with them regarding issues in the field. The value provided by AMU is in keeping with the honor and dedication that our military members serve with pride. I was able to utilize Tuition Assistance (TA) for all but two classes in my degree plan which will allow me to utilize my GI bill for other educational opportunities. If you are considering an online education, in fact any continuation of your education, I would highly recommend the AMU/APUS team. I will be coming back to AMU after my break in order to complete my Master’s Degree based solely on my BA experience and input from others about their programs. Get in, Get on, Get Educated! Semper Fidelis.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Quality Choice

Transportation and Logistics Management - July 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am an active duty Marine who chose American Military University for its flexibility. I was very impressed with the challanges that were presented while completing courses at AMU. If you are on active duty, I strongly sugggest that you consider this University because they understand the challanges that active duty assignements present and will facilitate your needs. In addition, they are regionally accredited and is gaining noteriaty for online education. I have also experienced good communication with professors who listens when thye are presented wth ideas that could improve your educational experieence. My major was Transportation and Logistics Management which is a program that not a lot of schools have and I did some homework and presented information to one of my professors who in turn acted on it. The result was that this program is now waviered for certification as a "Professional Designation in Logistics and Supply Chain Management" (PLS). I have recently decided to continue my graduate education with AMU because of the great experience that I have had with them.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Bachelors and Masters Degree

Transportation and Logistics Management - June 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed both my Bachelor’s and Master’s degree at AMU. When I was searching for a university, I asked what colleges had the most complains and which one did not. AMU has one of the lowest complaints records I have seen with good reason. That is why I did both degrees here, for it was the best deal for the buck with no games or complaints. My degree is transferable to every brick and mortar school I checked into and when I transferred to my PhD school, my degree was honored and accepted with open arms.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Bachelor and Masters Degree Transportation and Logistics

Transportation and Logistics Management - May 4, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my Bachelor’s and Master’s degree at AMU and had a great experience with the school. This school is not for the person who thinks they can just sail by. You will have to work to earn this degree. The faculty will assist you in any way possible to succeed, but it is still up to the student to complete the program, the assignments and the papers. I have found that my education credits are good pretty much anywhere. I have had offers from University of North Dakota, University of Rhode Island and Colorado State University. The cost is very reasonable as well. The down side is that many people do not know who the school is (YET). Online education is the new thing and the school has not gained the notoriety that DeVry or Walden has gotten. AMU does not have the problems that DeVry or Walden have either. If you are looking for a great online school and the credits will transfer then AMU will be that school. This is not a diploma mill, you will have to earn this education!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Be prepared for writing

Transportation and Logistics Management - January 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, AMU/APUS is excellent. I do not believe the on-line school experience is for everyone. I find my professional experiences play a large part in my success. High school graduates with no "life experience" seem to have a hard time keeping up with the pack. Many of the course books are available free through the school library (at the for the undergrad program). I am "old school" and find it challenging to read and digest textbooks on a computer screen. I wish they had a system in place to download the book to an ipad or some other e-reader for mobility and access. The materials are top quality and I am developing a lot of professional relationships in my field The instructors have a minimum of a Masters in their field, many hold a doctorates as well as a decorated, well documented career. Some of the instructors are extremely interactive while others just assign work and grade it. Sometimes I find that the grading is not completed which is very stressful. If you are way off base in Week 1 and you are not told until Week 4, you have little room to correct your thinking in an 8 week program. These issues have come up in 2 or 3 classes out of 30. The institution is excellent once you find the right person to talk to. Although they encourage email, any time I use a gmail account the email is returned as undelivered. I had to set up a separate email under a different service provider just to be in a position to communicate. When I started my degree program, I was using financial aid. I received a promotion, the school refunded me a couple of thousand dollars and with tax credits, I wanted to eliminate financial aid Year 2 and pay for classes in cash. The school would not allow me to change that status. You have to be diligent about sending the money back to the student loan folks as soon as you receive it and just consider the interest incurred part of the education costs. When I lost my job, I transitioned to full time status and relied on financial aid. With 5 classes until graduation, my financial aid was suddenly denied. Financial aid has tried to make me take a 1 month break because I was moving too quickly, but you have to tell them you don't want the break and they will unblock you from registration of new classes. Best way to deal with them is by phone or Live chat sessions, email has never really answered a problem. Career Services reviewed my resume, gave me a few pointers and they stay on their employment partners to keep the lines of communications open with their applicants. When I do not hear back from an employer, they intervene and get the feedback. The school has a contract through college recruiting and the featured employers will at least provide a courtesy interview. I was matched with an internship that is developing relationship marketing skills and writing web content as well as managing social media. The unpaid internship is in no way related to my degree path. I am disappointed with that, however, the internship is a tele-work situation and I am using the lessons learned to develop independent content in my field and grow my personal network in Linked In.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

BA Trans and Logistics, Great Program

Transportation and Logistics Management - January 21, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am an experienced transportation professional and needed a degree to further my career. AMU/APU turned out to be a great choice. Less expensive than other schools, and the support and technology are fantastic! This is a good program, my degree was the base BA in TLMT. 20+ Years in transportation, and I learned a great deal here. Note: You will read a TON!!!! Stay focused.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Working full time and earning a degree.

Transportation and Logistics Management - January 19, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For those who are taking care of families and working full time, an online degree is my recommendation. I have been attending AMU over the last two years, working full time for large family, attending college and still have sufficient time to relax. Most of my fellow students are full time workers and earning a bachelor’s degree. Most classes are only eight weeks long so many students will attend two classes at a time. Here is my review of seven key topics. Most of the materials (books) are electronic and don’t require a high speed computer. The institution is very professional and provides a vast of information for utilizing your degree and advice for questions. Each student is assigned a counselor from the beginning of enrollment and very helpful. The use of technology, for Transportation and Logistics Management BA, is very basic and required a basic form of Microsoft Office. Most of the instructors are “Down to Earth” professionals with challenging principles of instructions to enable students to be competitive in the job market. Overall, AMU has been superb and exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Great school, great flexibility, great value

Transportation and Logistics Management - November 4, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Attending school with AMU was the best decision I could have made. I completed my bachelors degree in Transportation and Logistics Management in 2010. I'm currently about halfway through my masters degree in the same major. The instructors were/are great and have tons of experience. The course books are very current. There could be a greater variety of course materials such as actual lecture videos. To be fair, some course do include some sort of video media. I do not really see too much of difference in course workload between traditional schools and AMU. I've attended many many traditional classes with a local community college and a four year school and the amount of work was pretty close to the same between the two with maybe a slight increase of reading and writing with AMU. The availability of classes related to the degree start monthly, so waiting to register for what you would like to take is a non-issue. The experience has been great up to this point. Every aspect in my opinion from enrollment to degree completion was pretty smooth.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Master of Arts Degree in Transportation and Logistics Management

Transportation and Logistics Management - October 30, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My degree now is a Master of Arts degree in Transportation and Logistics Management. I completed my undergraduate degree with AMU and have to say it was not easy. The Professors make sure you work for your grade nothing is given and that is what I like about AMU mostly because I know I am learning and will be competitive once my degree is complete I really appreciate all my professors do to help me learn and better my writing skills and knowledge base on any given subject. Like in the Army you do not bring a Soldier home by letting them do what they want every day. You bring them home from a combat zone by keeping them fit as you possibly could. Same thing with education if you do not work for it you may not be successful or competitive once graduated. AMU Professors make sure we work for our education nothing is given. I do have to say it has not been easy half way through my Master degree but I feel an accomplishment because I know I worked for it. I wish AMU had a doctern degree program I would continue to work with AMU for this degree program when I plan on starting. In summary overall I am very pleased with the concern the Professors have for us as students. Maybe one day AMU could work on expanding their degree programs.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

I hope you like writing papers!

Transportation and Logistics Management - October 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished my degree in January of this year. I would like to thank those that helped me along the way, not just instructors but the administration as well. My experience was mostly positive, but there were issues along the way. The feed back from some of the instructors at times took weeks. One class was going into its fourth week before I got anything graded. This makes it pretty hard to gauge how you are doing and if what you are providing is what the instructor wants. The instruction was often lacking and consisted of pick a topic from this weeks material and provide three to four page paper. I went to a traditional brick and mortar university for a while and this was not the norm there. Is this how online education works? If so AMU is spot on, though I do not have any others to compare it to as this is the only online university I have ever dealt with.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Great School / Oustanding Trans & Logistics Program

Transportation and Logistics Management - October 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My first On-line learning experience and it could not have gone better. Scheduling availability, class flexibility and instructor support all combine at AMU to help the student get the most out of the experience. Retiring from the military with 30 years trans/logistics experience; I decided it was time to document my expertise and training by obtaining a degree in the field. The AMU program course work is focused on teaching real theories and skills employed in today's industry and the instructors are comitted to enabling each student's comprehension of the material. The classroom discussion format further enhances learning by stimulating an honest and frank exchange of ideas among fellow students and instructors. Along with years of experience, my degree from AMU helped me secure a well paying position in the logistics field. I am proud to be an AMU Golden Eagle alumni!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Logistics/ Transportation Program

Transportation and Logistics Management - September 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After completing two and a half years of college at a traditonal university (Middle Tennessee), AMU was a great school to pick back up and complete my degree. The instructors are very knowledgeable as most work in the fields they teach. Also, the class room discussion boards are very lively and provide very thought provoking conversations as the vast majority of your student peers are working adults serving in the armed forces all over the world. The insight that they provided into discussions was awesome. I know there are opponents of online degrees who argue that they are worthless but I can honestly tell you from experience that getting a college degree is about more than the name of the university printed on the diploma. You get out of it what you put into it, whether u attend traditional classes or complete an accredited online program. Personally, I got a lot out of my educational experience at AMU and have continued to advance my career in logistics and tranportation management. As someone with approximately 8 years of log/tran mgmt experience I currently make $75k a year and am now close to completing my MBA at a local university. Give AMU a try; I challenge you to find a better online university experience.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

AMU is Outstanding, glad I decided to attend this University

Transportation and Logistics Management - June 2, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my BA in 2010 and after completing 26 years in the military within the logistics field.... my degree not only was a perfect fit for me but relly keep my interest during the entire process. I am currenlty enrolled in the Master's program and look forward to completing my degree. After reading a prior comment, guess you can't please everyone.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Trans & Logistic Management

Transportation and Logistics Management - January 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have 8 course remaining for my BA in Trans & Logistics Management. I have enjoyed everything about my experience. I would love to share some aspect that I do not like, but the truth is that I do not have any about this university. The Trans & Logistics degree does focus more on the supply side. Other than that it is great.

Was this review helpful?

AMU - Transportation & Log Mgmt Bachelor's Degre

Transportation and Logistics Management - October 26, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I got my degree done (19) classes from January 2010 - October 2010. It was extremely challenging. Some teachers seemed out there, others were really good (Scott Brown, Bob Jaffin, Jennifer Batchelor, Roxie Ostlund, Craig Magee) Were a few that really stood out for me. I read a lot of negative reviews before I started, but if you really need the 1 on 1, you need to go to an IN CLASS classroom. To me the online degree was harder to get because you had to motivate yourself, and there was a massive amount of reading. If you are deployed, or simply don't have enough time to take classes actually in class, go AMU. This was perfect for me.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

student

Transportation and Logistics Management - August 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is awesome! You can tell because when you apply to the school they don't try to sell the school to you like phoenix or aiu. When you start they mail your books. The classes are very informative. The teachers help you with whatever you need. the admin people take care of you when ever you have an issue. If you fail or have a problem you probably have bad time management skills. All in all this is a great school and its the best decision I've ever made and its affordable since text books are included and judging from other reviews a lot of people are happy with the choice.

Was this review helpful?

Come on people!

Transportation and Logistics Management - April 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had no issues with AMU yet. I have gone to multiple colleges (due to military moves) and it’s the same across the board. If you read the information given and pay attention, you will take away what you put into it. I attended a community college as well as larger more well known schools, like Columbia College of Missouri. I have assisted more than a few friends with attaining their degrees as well and they went to different schools i.e. Park University, University of Maryland, and Central Texas College etc…that is how I know that most have the same curriculum. If you expect the degree to get you where you need to be in life, then you have already missed the bus. The degree does not dictate your ability; it simply means that you met the requirements of what was asked of you to show a level of proficiency in certain areas. I do not have a degree completed as of yet and I am a hell of a lot sharper in different areas than a bunch of my colleagues. I hate to say it but its true and many of them are 15 to 20 years my elder. It is the individual which dictates where they will end up and what they will achieve in life. I have heard more than a few times from the people who have attended great schools that did drugs and drank all the way through and received a degree. People, you need to create realistic goals for yourselves and choose the best path for you with the degree being a supporting document rather than a definition of your ability.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great Choice for an Online School

Transportation and Logistics Management - June 22, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began APU (the non-military part of AMU) in October 2008 for a Master's degree in Transportation & Logistics Management. I earned my BA at a brick & mortar school about 8 years ago and decided to head back to school for a career change. I looked into other schools such as the University of Phoenix, but after seeing the cost of tuition and reading some very very bad reviews I decided to give APU a try. I have no complaints about this school. In fact I cant remember the last time I learned so much in school. Sure, there can be a lot of work involved, and there is usually some type of paper due each week, but is fun material and isn't that hard, IF your willing to put the time into it. I think one of the biggest problems for online schools and their bad reviews is that people just are disciplined to do the work. I learned real fast that you have to stay on top of the assigned work and you can not slack off. Again I have no complaints about APU / AMU and would recommend it to anyone who was looking into an Online program. Mike

Was this review helpful?

THIS SCHOOL HAS CHANGED MY LIFE AND MADE ME RICH

Transportation and Logistics Management - June 11, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

THE INSTRUCTORS ARE AMAZING BUT INTIMIDATING. THEY ARE SO HIGHLY ACCOMPLISHED, SO IT IS SOMEWHAT CHALLENGING. A GREAT SCHOOL BY ALL MEASURES BUT YOU MUST BE DEDICATED AND MENTALLY CAPABLE BECAUSE IT IS NOT A UNIVERSITY MADE FOR EVERYONE. THOSE THAT WANT EASIER SCHOOLS BUT LESS PRESTIGE SHOULD STICK WITH THE PHOENIX, TROY, DREXEL STYLE SCHOOLS. SINCE ATTENDING I HAVE HAD THE BIGGEST COMPANIES OFFER ME JOBS AND COUNTLESS GOVERNMENT ENTITIES CONTACT WITH JOB OFFERS. IT HAS BEEN HARD WORK BUT I AM SO GLAD I HUNG IN THERE. I HAVE HAD SCHOOLS THAT OFFER DOCTORATES ACCEPT MY APPLICATIONS I JUST CANT FIGURE OUT WHERE TO DO MY DOCTORATE BUT THEY HAVE ALL ACCEPTED AMU TRANSCRIPTS. ALL AND ALL IF YOU HAVE THE SMARTS AND THE ABILITY TO GIVE YOUR ALL THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU

Was this review helpful?

Profs Unresponsive. Classes on Autopilot?

Transportation and Logistics Management - April 14, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I don't think any of the graduate profs at AMU actually TEACH. They post an outdated syllabus and canned questions, then sit back and grade papers. That's IT. They don't participate in discussions, or even tell students if they are on the right track, barking up the wrong tree, etc. You are on your own. Literally! To ask a question, you must email the prof. The books says they have 24 hours to respond, but I have had to send followups days later just to get an answer. And although the department head says papers will be graded within 7 days, I personally have had to wait three weeks to get a paper graded. Study groups are not allowed. You are basically getting your degree completely on your own. No teacher, no classmates. In one class, there is actually NO BOOK required. The prof posts the questions along with "key terms for web surfing" (I'm not kidding) and you have to Google your way to the answers. The materials they do distribute are outdated (many before 9/11), and are full of typos and grammatical errors. The profs are sticklers for using APA format, but then contradict the examples in their own syllabus and mark papers down. I kept thinking it was "just this professor" and things would get better. It hasn't. If I wasn't so many classes into my masters, I would quit.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

AMU is Great!

Transportation and Logistics Management - April 24, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Have been taking classes with AMU for 2 years and have had an excellent experiance. Any issues have been resolved quickly. I am suprised that a few have had problems. The classes and profs have been great and the reginal accred. puts the issues of a real/not real degree to rest. For a working adult, this is a great university!

Was this review helpful?

Highly Recommended

Transportation and Logistics Management - February 27, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you work in the Transportation & Logistics field, this program is an awesome way to increase your knowledge and expand your horizons. I was impressed with the experience and knowledge of the professors, as well as how closely this field of study related to my position in the Transportation field working for the Federal Government.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Military University in any way.