Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Military University

  • American Military University Reviews

    Ranking: #13
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association; Distance Education and Training Council

4.1
622 Reviews
5 298 
4 220 
3 49 
2 26 
1 29 
0 0 

American Military University Reviews:

Masters In Military History

Master of Arts In Military Studies - September 29, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It was not very easy to find an online University that offered a Master's Degree in Military History, so my choices were limited when I decided on American Public University. However, I am halfway through my degree program, and am pleased to report that I am more than satisfied with my experience here. Many of the classes are either 8 wks or 16wk long, but cover the same material. I have found that I enjoy the fast, intensive pace of the 8 wks class, but if I also had a full time job while taking the class, the 16 wk course would probably work into my time schedule better. I have found that most of the instructors are very willing to "put in the extra effort" as long as the student is also just as involved, but like anything else--you get out of the classes what you put into it. You can go the extra mile and have your grades reflect it, or you can do the minimum and just get by. Unlike a campus based program, you have particular assignments due on a particular day, and you can work rest of the week at your own pace. I would heartily recommend APUS to anyone that was interested in a Master's Degree in Military History--the tuition is much less than other Universities, but the education I have received, thus far, is top notch!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Not the best, but good bang for the buck

Master of Arts In Military Studies - July 20, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed a MA in Military Studies between 2010 and 2014. I chose AMU because of a decent reputation among peers, low cost and flexibility. The flexibility was a must since my initial classes were accomplished while deployed. The professors were a mixed bag between those who treated the class as an afterthought for whatever was going on in their lives and those who were genuinely excellent and thought-provoking. The quality of the education obviously falls between these two extremes and the instances of incompetence do indeed leave glaring marks on the institution. I had one teacher who I could have sworn had a Chinese child write his forum responses...I eventually decided against this theory since most Chinese schoolchildren with even an passing interest in english will likely do better. On the whole however, writing skills were improved and I learned what I expected to learn. This is a program where it might be possible to BS through a few papers and forum posts with some professors who don't care, but you are still presented with quality info and topics. In this sense you get out what you put in, making the school a good value even for its low cost. I graduated with honors, but it is a nagging question in my mind what my 3.93 GPA might have looked like at a traditional institution. My guess is around a 3.4. If you can swing a brick and mortar and the cost is acceptable, that is likely a better bet. If you are globetrotting and still need an accredited degree in a short time period, AMU is an option you should explore.

Was this review helpful?

Hard work but worth it

Master of Arts In Military Studies - July 9, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a teacher, I had always told my students to recognize their talents and take them as far as they can go. When it was pointed out to me that my talent was scholastic ability and I had only a bachelors degree, I investigated several schools that offered Masters programs. I chose AMU because of my interest in the Civil War and because of the online program. I had always been an excellent student without ever studying. This changed quite a bit at AMU. I was challenged by each professor and in each course. There were many times that I wanted to give up, but I earned my Masters Degree in Military Studies in 2000. I found about 90% of my professors extremely helpful and they gave great feedback. I feel that my work at AMU enabled me to be a better writer, a better thinker, a harder worker, and a better leader. The proudest day of my life was the day I walked across that stage to receive my diploma. If you are looking for an easy ride, this is not it. If you are looking to work and learn and if you are willing and able to dedicate ample amounts of time, AMU should work for you.

Was this review helpful?

AMU's Military Studies Program

Master of Arts In Military Studies - December 7, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After retiring from the Air Force, I used my remaining VA education benefits to complete a second master's degree, this on in Military Studies. All of the professors were outstanding. Access to the virtual classroom was great. The classroom platform was relatively to learn to use and maneuver around. The assignments were fair and very educational. Tech support was always responsive and effective. Overall, a great educational experience! Highly recommend to anyone interested in a quality program in military studies.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Top Rated MA in Unconventional Warfare

Master of Arts In Military Studies - March 25, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I first began my MA in Unconventional Warfare in 2002 and soon was applying what I was learning in real world operations for OIF 2003-04. The professors I had taught me to write effectively and gave me analytical skills that Fort Hauchuca couldn't. The Defense industry knows about AMU/APUS and the degrees earned there are taken seriously. I did a world of good because of my masters degree, saved lives, and disrupted insurgent activities because my head was properly informed! I finished in 2007 while on my 4th tour in Iraq. I plan on returning soon to complete a certificate in computer forensics to further enhance my skill set. This is a great online university and I wouldn't go to any other!!!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Generally positive

Master of Arts In Military Studies - November 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am about half way through this program. Initially, the courses were 16 weeks in length which was a fantastic pace. However, a few months ago the courses were cut to 8 weeks in length which significantly reduced the amount of information that can be gleaned from the program. The plus side is that it makes it easier to get the program done sooner but if you are interested in learning, this was a move in the wrong direction. I have found the instructors to be very knowledgeable and the course content to be generally fulfilling. The other students tend to be largely military professionals and bring a lot of real life examples to highlight the lessons. Overall, I'm glad I'm working on this program and have recommend it to some of my peers. As they still talk to me, I can only assume they like it too.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Masters Degrees

Master of Arts In Military Studies - September 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The AMU is a very unique college for all students thinking of pursuing their Education. The combination of technology and online support from the faculty place the student firmly in charge of their time management and ultimate progress through the course. I have no hesitation in urging prospective students to review the ever expanding number of courses. Peter G Gibbons (Class of '06) Dublin Ireland.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Excellent if you put in the work

Master of Arts In Military Studies - May 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am six months away from completing an MA in Military Studies. I have a full time job that is very demanding, I live in Europe and I am not a US citizen. I have had fantastic exchanges with fellow students and it has been a great learning experience. It all depends how much work you expect to put in. I have had a couple of not so great instructors and I have regularly filled in feedback surveys and corresponded with administration if I felt that there was something amiss. The support has been excellent, the librarians very helpful, the tech support responds within a day as does the student advisor. The materials that I have had to read, research and study have been outstanding. People who complain about the programme have presumably not taken the effort to actually put in the work. It's demanding, it's tough and it's a real graduate programme. Those that think it will be a pushover need not apply.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Master of Arts in Military Studies

Master of Arts In Military Studies - October 25, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my MA in Military Studies several years ago through AMU. As a military officer, I looked at several other acedemic programs but decided that AMU was the best choice for me overall. I was not disappointed. The courses were both interesting and challenging. The instructors were superb. The flexible schedule was critical after 9/11 and the cost was in-line with military tuition assistance. I know I worked as hard and learned as much as my "cubicle-mate", who chose a nights and weekends path. I would take this degree program again.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

AMU is a modern and top-notch learning institutio

Master of Arts In Military Studies - November 12, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU's flexibility must be not be misconstrued as "inferior quality". In fact, the institution must be credited for its superb efforts to assist many military professionals whose demanding schedules prohibits them from attending "traditional" institutions. My professors have impeccable resume and were very knowledgeable in their respective field of expertise. I experienced working on my thesis and electronically submitting it from a remote internet cafe somewhere in Southeast Asia wearing flip flops; peppered with mosquito bites; sun-burned skin; and long hair in order to meet standards.

Was this review helpful?

Challenging curriculum, good service

Master of Arts In Military Studies - February 5, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The curriculum was much more challenging than I thought it would be - yet it was interesting and unique from what I saw offered in other history-oriented master's degrees. The faculty really brought the subjects alive - even topics I would have typically found boring. The staff were prompt and courteous, my financing and student loans were on time, and when I had to withdraw from a course they did not penalize me since it was related to work. I'm going to go here for another degree level if they ever start a PhD in Security Studies.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent School

Master of Arts In Military Studies - June 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a military officer who elected to complete my Masters with AMU because of the flexibility of the program. It best fits my schedule, and my concentration in strategy makes sense for my career. I attended Boston University for my bachelors degree, gained admission to Brandeis University for grad school (but did not attend) and completed one graduate course at Saint Mary’s University of San Antonio. AMU better fit my needs for graduate school, offering the courses I needed when I could take them, and maintaining an electronic campus I could access from anywhere. The work is almost all research and writing, and the professors definitely challenge students. The caliber of my classmates is almost universally excellent, and I learned as much from interactions on class discussion boards as I have from assigned readings and my own research. The three best aspects of AMU as a distance learning experience are the faculty, its accreditation status and its affordability: Faculty: I have studied under ten different professors at American Military University. Eight held PhDs: Duke, UNC-Chapel Hill, Notre Dame, and the University of Alabama for those who studied in the United States, University of Manitoba, York University, and the University of New Brunswick for the Canadians; and Bosphorus University. The two who were not PhDs held masters degrees from the Naval Post Graduate School and Duke respectively. Three were published authors of academic books, while all have engaged in preparing published articles and studies. Professionally, seven served as officers in the American, Canadian and Turkish armed forces; including service in combat. Five have taught at the University level in a variety of “brick and mortar” institutions including UW-Bothell, USMA, and USAFA. In contrast to my undergraduate experience, of which I can recall no significant interaction with professors, I have had significant contact with, and support from, all of my AMU professors. Accreditation: Accredited through the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) of the North Central Association, the same accrediting body for schools such as Ohio State. This means it is a legitimate school, despite being relatively unknown. AMU is no diploma mill. Affordabilty: $275 a credit hour for graduate students is the best price for an accredited school of which I am aware. With tuition assistance and inter-library loan, I paid less than $800 out of pocket for my entire degree. Bottom line: There is no “better” school available for the distance learner than AMU in my opinion. There are many “better name” schools with distance learning programs out there today, but they cost a lot more, and I doubt the extra cost means anything in terms of a better education. I highly recommend AMU.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Military University in any way.