Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Military University

  • American Military University Reviews

    Ranking: #13
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association; Distance Education and Training Council

4.1
622 Reviews
5 298 
4 220 
3 49 
2 26 
1 29 
0 0 

American Military University Reviews:

Conflict resolution

International Relations - June 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It was a major undertaking. You have to be disciplined and able to work on your own. The challenge is technology, if your network goes down you will be in trouble if you waited for the last minute. The responsibility for completing assignments on time relies solely on you. If you have not done so I recommend you brush up on English grammar. Spell check alone will not work, instructors are not going to hold your hand. I am glad that I did it, it was a great sense of accomplishment. You have to work for it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

IR degree in Globalization and Human Security

International Relations - December 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This course took me approximately two years to complete once I had knocked out my gen ed course. The content of the degree was rigorous and required about 4-8 hours a week of involvement with each class I was taking at one given time. As an active duty Marine every class I took with this degree had direct impact on my ability to be a bette warfighter. I understood the environments in which I operated having a better understanding of battlefield, and the other non-combat missions that we conduct around the globe. With this degree and my cultural and combat expertise, I am more marketable.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent Faculty, Wide Range of Programs

International Relations - July 22, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU offers working adults an ideal way to complete a college degree - in my case, the only way I could do so. The number and frequency of courses offers considerable flexibility; and I have always been impressed with the faculty - although there are, of course, significant differences in course diligence and responsiveness. But in general, I have been very pleasantly surprised at the dedication of the professors that I have been fortunate enough to work with. The one area that lets the college down, in my opinion, is the quality of the online interface. "Sakai" is cumbersome and antiquated; and does not meet my expectations at $250 per credit hour. Nevertheless, it serves its purpose. I would not hesitate to recommend AMU to others seeking an online degree.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Very Decent Education

International Relations - June 18, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a great program for those who are willing to put forth some effort and learn. Online education is not for everyone and it sure isn't for the lazy or faint of heart. The instructors/Professors are excellent, thorough and some are globally recognized leaders in their professions, this shows when you are in class and given some of the assignments you will need to accomplish, they are not easy, nor are they get done in a weekend type of assignments. Choose AMU if you need flexibility, cost effectiveness and a quality education that is driven by your own desire to learn and succeed.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Good school, not a degree mill.

International Relations - December 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished my A.A. at a traditional school and then started deploying. I knew I would never finish college taking classes between deployments. I switched to AMU while I was in Afghanistan (the first time) and have not looked back. I completed a B.A. in International Relations (IR); now trying to finish my Masters in the same discpline. All of my peers that attend AMU are happy with the school and are suprised that the college was more challenging than their expectations. I was talking to a student that attends George Washington (for Int. Affairs) about IR theories and I could not believe how farther ahead of him I was in competence. I recommend AMU to anyone that does not want to listen to lectures in class, but has the discpline to read the material and write. At AMU you will do a lot of writing, it is all earned!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Int'l Relations Degree

International Relations - October 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I rate AMU as outstanding! I was pushed to work harder than at a traditional school. I completed my B.A. in International Relations at AMU after compiling credits at various schools that are members of the SOC - Serviceman's Opportunity College system. Tranfer credits were rigurously screened; don't expect to get a free ride on non-pertinent classes! Many of my Profs were literally world class, several are subject matter experts you will see on the History Channel, etc. However, all Profs were engaged and responsive; most were PhD's. The reading load, as advertised beforehand, was heavy. All my classroom work submissions were required to be in academic format (cite sources, etc.) not something you would find in normal classroom discussion/interaction. That made me a MUCH better writer and researcher. A word to the wise, time management is critical for an online degree. If you can't balance work, social life and recreation with online classwork you'd be better off in a brick and mortar school on a regular schedule. I highly recommend AMU, especially for military personnel. Oohrah, Semper Fi.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Introductory Program

International Relations - September 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had an extensive background in Strategic Studies when I enrolled at AMU and so was not expecting to be challenged as much as I was. The professors were, without exception, highly qualified and took their role seriously, pushing their students to excellence. The texts were appropriate and the workload somewhat heavy. I obtained an A "With Distinction" for my Comprehensive Exam and an MA With Honors--and I worked for both. I recommend this school without hesitation for anyone seeking to broaden their background in International Relations and Conflict resolution.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Overall a Solid Program - Effort In, Results Out

International Relations - December 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed an M.A. in International Relations with a focus on International & Transnational Security Issues in about 2.5 years. Overall, it was a solid program that required honest hard work, sound writing skills, and a reasonable amount of time and effort. It would have been easy to do less work, but as a professional and a military officer that was not an option. Cons: Instructors are hard to vet and most did not put in the effort to build any rapport with the students. Unfortunately, neither did many of the students. This doesn't mean that they were bad teachers, rather they just were not very good with the people side of an online community. I was also very disappointed with several of my peers' writing abilities. I guess there's a reason for the GRE. Also, after several honest, and occasionally scathing, course reviews I never heard back from the school or the instructors. While all this sounds very negative I also experienced a couple above average prof's and one utterly fantastic prof from whom I took three classes (out of twelve). Pros: The course work and topics were interesting and relevant. (My projects and papers were normally on something that made me smarter at work as well.) The technology used by AMU is bomb-proof and the online library was adequate. One of the biggest draws to AMU for me was the frequency of the courses in my program and the flexibility with which I could enroll or disenroll if work picked-up and it looked like I needed a break. (You can drop a course in the first week after reviewing the syllabus without penalty.) I had some trouble with the grading of my comp exam, but after laying out my case to the instructor and his boss they fixed their error, but even then the comp exam was fair and challenging. Again, overall I think AMU is a sound investment of your funds & your time. Like most endeavors in life you will get out of it what you put into it.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

MA International Relations

International Relations - June 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed three courses so far towards my M.A. in International Relations and Conflict Resolution. When I was trying to decide on what school I'd like to get my Master's in, I chose AMU because it fit with my budget, using military Tuition Assistance and my schedule on active duty. I was very cautious about a school that didn't need an entrance exam or minimum GPA, but I decided to take a couple classes and see how it goes. After all, if you are not capable of completed your degree, it shouldn't matter what requirements there are to get in - only graudates are those who represents the degree. I got my BA in Political Science from a B&M school and I feel that the subject material I've had so far is an appropriate step up from a Bachelor's program. You are expected to have prior knowledge and experience with the issues. I did take a year of online courses through my B&M school and AMU is far more organized and feedback is much more helpful and specific. My only concern about AMU is the reputation it has. I would like to consider continuing my education at a Ph.D level at a B&M school when get out of the military, but I'm afraid I will not be competitive or schools simply might not accept a degree from AMU. When speaking to a representative, they told me they couldn't guarantee acceptance to a Ph.D program. I plan on going to law school regardless, so an extremely cheap Master's degree (after TA) only improves my knowledge and credentials on a subject I have a lot of passion in. Another issue I had with them was trying to get them to sign my form to defer my federal student loans I took out for my undergrad degree. I still havn't resolved this issue, and while I have no problem continuing to pay my loans off, I feel that I have a right to deferrment as a part-time grad student. Overall, my professors have been very good. I am enjoying a smaller class size tha my undergrad classes and the attention it brings. I feel like I'm getting to know other students in my classes because we seem to be in the same program and taking the same classes. If you're looking for a professor to tell you what to think or if you need your hand held, the online format is not for you in general. With that said, AMU has done a great job with the online format.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

If you want quality, go elsewhere

International Relations - May 18, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU is largely hit and miss... If you have an instructor who is teaching at a traditional school while teaching at AMU on the side, chances are you're going to get the short end of the stick when it comes to attention because they are more concerned with their work with "real" students. Check the instructor bios; if they only teach at AMU, that's a good indication you'll get the attention you deserve. However, students must remember that the curriculum is NOT set by the instructors, it is set by the school; thus, the curriculum you are required to complete is often out of synch with the text you are required to read. That is, if you are lucky enough to get a textbook. In order to cut costs, AMU will often require students in the United States to use E-text; in other words, you have to read off the computer. I don’t know many people who prefer this, and unless you have an iPad or something, it is very inconvenient. The instructors, on a whole, were generally well meaning, but without the ability to set the curriculum they are teaching, their impact is minimal. Of course, it could be worse, and it is. In some classes, you aren’t given a text at all. Instead, you utilize materials online. While much of the materials used in this way are relevant to what you are studying, they are often excerpts from various textbooks and do not provide students an opportunity to develop continuity of the information they are learning. Online materials can be valuable, but they should be used in addition to a text, not instead of one. This would not be too bad if it were for an introductory 100 level class, but when I saw AMU doing this for complex 400 level classes, I decided it was time to go. Sure, AMU is accredited. Sure, you’ll get a degree. But the education you receive will be of low quality, and being that AMU is a for-profit school, your degree will be viewed in the same light as those from University of Phoenix and the like. AMU can be useful. Take classes that are difficult for you here since you are not subject to proctored exams. Also, with 8 week semesters, this is a good school to use to get those pesky general education requirements out of the way quick, then jump back to a real school to finish the core requirements and actually learn something. Overall, the education to be had at AMU is of very low quality, and I could not in good conscious recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Update stay away ....to GREAT

International Relations - August 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Update on stay away. APU/AMU took care of the problem. Just spoke to the wrong person. Since then APU/AMU has been great. Financial aid, services, and everything spot on! I was very hesitant, but am glad I checked back!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

STAY AWAY

International Relations - July 11, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great, up until you pay the TCE Fee. You are then locked in a system that is unflexible. The advisors will tell you what you want to hear, even if it's not the "Official APU policy." When you call to seek a solution (after you pay the TCE fee) you will get voicemail. So you then send an email to a nameless advisor supervisor. You will ultimately receive a "Gee sorry, I'll talk to the advisor that gave you the wrong information." This will by email of course. The closing portion will say, " this is the policy found on page 265, that MUST be followed" ........So sorry our agent gave you the wrong information, but this is the policy. Stay away unless you read the small print, before you speak with an advisor. Good luck.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Recent Graduate

International Relations - May 8, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently completed my degree requirements for a BA in International Relations, and thought I'd write a little about my experiences at AMU and the program itself. In terms of support, I have no complaints. During my three years at AMU, I never had any difficulty communicating with my student adviser or program director. Additionally, I was able to utilize my TA, MGIB, and Financial Aid without any problems. Naturally there's a process I had to go through to get my funding 'online'. However, I was able to accomplish everything I needed through email and phone - calls and questions were returned promptly, and the entire process was painless. Tuition. At 250 per credit hour, it's cheaper than most 'for-profit' educational institutions, but keep in mind that 750 a class adds up - even with the help of TA & MGIB. If you follow APUS President W. Boston's blog, you'll know that the current tuition rates are likely to remain unchanged. Professors at AMU: Some are good, some are great, some I didn't like at all. Over the course of three years I found most professors to be engaging and demanding. Creativity, discussion and feedback are major components you'll come across in your academic plan. Overall, most online classes are writing intensive, and typical coarse loads included major research projects (15+ papers), 7-8 pg papers & LOTS of reading. Lower level classes typically demand multiple 4-5 pg papers, multiple question & essay exams. Now, did a few instructors run on 'autopilot'? Sure, I've come across two or three. Although, I should note that the university system is constantly providing opportunity for students to submit online assessment surveys & feedback - in fact one is available for each course you complete. If someone is dissatisfied with a course, they should annotate that dissatisfaction on a survey, or write the program director/school dean. Too easy. Overall, I found my time at AMU to be rewarding and challenging. Although still relatively unknown in the civilian sector, APUS has become highly regarded within the military and federal government - A fact which underlines the value of AMU's School of Security and Global Studies.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Exceptional school / great experience

International Relations - October 6, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just completed my degree at AMU and wanted to write a review on some of the outstanding support and instruction I received. In my 3 year experience my course materials never arrived late, my professors proved to be engaging and insightful, and I learned A LOT. As with most online universities, there was much reading and research to be done at AMU, however I found all the course materials to be relevant to my program. It's no secret that this school is geared toward the government / public safety sector in the job market, thus the value of my education received here stands out above the rest. I would recommend AMU to any potential online student, as my degree has helped me get into GWU.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great Online School

International Relations - October 1, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I found the American Military University while I was looking for online degrees for International Relations. And, I was completely shocked when I actually found a school where I could obtain this degree 100% online. Even foreign language classes are done online, they use Rosetta Stone. A person will not become fluent but will have a good handle on the language. The only down side is, as another poster complained about, the required "Intro to learning" course. I had taken similiar courses at two other places, but the one at AMU is by far the best one out the bunch. It is not the funnest or most interesting class but it does give a new student a solid base. The course work is a reasonable amount and also challenging. But, if you have the will, you can do it. I have a full time job, two children, and a husband, and was able to take 3 courses at the same time and made A's and B's. The best advice is:If there is a will, there is a way. Don't expect it to be easy, but do expect a wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great program, great school

International Relations - September 29, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience at AMU has exceeded my expectations by far. Coming from CCSU, I was new to the online learning environment, and as a consequence I carried some unease at the start of my academic program. However the staff and faculty at AMU have turned me into a believer. I am receiving a top notch education here, and will have my B.A. completed by this December. AMU has given me a lot of options - from internships to grad schools. I would recommend this school to anyone looking to pursue their academic goals online.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Military University in any way.