Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Military University

  • American Military University Reviews

    Ranking: #13
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association; Distance Education and Training Council

4.1
622 Reviews
5 298 
4 220 
3 49 
2 26 
1 29 
0 0 

American Military University Reviews:

Satisfied

BS Business Management and Leadership - August 30, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall I am very satisfied with my degree. I've attended a traditional college before AMU and have found online learning to be more my style. Walking or running to class in sub zero temperatures is for the birds! Online is so flexible and convenient, I couldn't imagine going back to a classroom/lecture setting. Being able to choose when I want to focus on my material is great. Some parts of the day I am more attentive and ready to get after it than others, so I took every advantage of that. I never would have had that option at a traditional college. In response to the coursework, some courses were easier than others, but some were tough indeed! My wife has an MBA from a traditional college and she noted that I had to write more papers than both her four year and MBA courses combined! If a person has good time management skills than this is a great route to go while you are still employed. Put the time in, do your work and check off the degree box when you are done! Momentum is huge when taking courses, find your groove and ride it out until you are completed.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

AMU finally helped me finish my degree!

BS Business Management and Leadership - April 10, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had been to three other leading online for profit universities and found them to be difficult administratively and hard to use TA or GI bill. Also the classes were not very interactive and they had not really polished the way async work was completed. At AMU i found it was by far the easiest administrative and financial process of any university i had been to. Literally a couple of clicks and a credit card and i am enrolled in my next class. Also they degree map that shows you what classes you have taken and which ones are left help you ensure you do not take a class that is unnecessary for your degree. It also was really important to me as it was a constant road map to graduation. Overall online learning is all the same unless they are using new systems like 2U or updated blackboard, however what AMU did for me was make it easy to use MGI bill, go to school and learn, never made me wait for a class and ensured the teachers were knowledgeable about their areas. Also as an added bonus there are so many active duty and veterans that it helps with networking and the teachers make accommodation as best as possible when you are in other time zones. I am extremely grateful they exist as AMU was literally my class school before i dropped out entirely. I strongly recommend going to AMU if you are a part time student and absolutely recommend if you are going to use your GI bill. Edward M West,BABM, PMP, LSSBB, CQA AMU Alumni

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Good value priced school

BS Business Management and Leadership - March 7, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have to laugh at some of these reviews when people say you can just buy your degree from AMU. I'm in my 3rd year now with AMU and it's not getting any easier. Sure, I've had a couple easy classes that I didn't have to work real hard to get an A in but you get that at a traditional college as well. For the most part, my classes have been very challenging and the work time consuming. I currently have a 3.23 grade average so no, teachers do not just give everyone A's for logging in. Overall I would recommend AMU to anyone looking at pursuing an online degree.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

AMU-Online vs. Traditional

BS Business Management and Leadership - August 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read the reviews of some of the people who say that AMU gives out degrees. That the classes are easy. That most students graduate with a 4.0. Well, those people have not done their research. Online studies are different than traditional class rooms. The mode and method of study is completely different. They both have value but I would say (my own opinion) that online course have more value. The reason is I say this is because traditional courses rely on theory, where online courses rely on the real world experiences of the students and the professor. At AMU, all the professors have worked in their field of study. When I was taking course at my traditional university, I only remember one of my professors who ever had a job outside of teaching. Some of the course may at times seem easier than in my traditional course, but I realized that I was learning more than my traditional course even though it was easier. Why was it easier? It just seem that way because it was made personal by using real examples from my work and those of the my classmates. I ask for my fellow AMU classmate who wrote "if you want to get a piece of paper (degree) without the work" to try this: Take the same course at AMU as your local University and tell me which one you learned the most from and was practical for your occupation. I also would like to end by saying that not all professors at AMU are stellar performers. That is true at any university. In fact, that is true in any field. Do not judge an entire system because you had one or two lazy or bad apples.

Was this review helpful?

AMU

BS Business Management and Leadership - June 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently attending AMU persuing a BA in Human Resources Management. Overall, AMU is a very good school. It is convenient and I am able to log-in to my classrooms at anytime. Some 'online' classes requires the student to logg on during a specified time/date, but AMU is all at your own time. It is really good. The only feedback I have is that I wish the school would actually mail a hardcopy of the books needed for the classes rather than an e-copy. Personally, I can't still and stare at a computer screen to read all the time - a book is my preference.

Was this review helpful?

UOP VS AMU

BS Business Management and Leadership - May 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I actually transferred to AMU from the University of Phoenix in Sept 2008. My experience has been different from UOP. First, I must admit that at UOP I never read my books I just read enough to complete the assignments. There were discussion questions, shorts papers, and power point presentations and that was it. I passed every class with an A, which was about 16 classes. Now imagine passing a class without reading and completely comprehending the reading materials. My professors provided the same feedback “Excellent work” “great job” etc…I was expecting concise feedback in reference to content, critical thinking etc… However, at AMU is slightly more challenging I actually received A’s B’s and C’s. This is mainly because they have quizzes and exams and if you do not know the answer or if you are not able to find the answer than you are SOL. Also, some of the exams are timed and require a proctor. Overall, an online degree is easier than the traditional school as I have attended traditional college as well but it just depends on the individual. In other words, my degree is not going to get me a job because I already have a career but it will be nice to say that I have one and I can say that I have learned a lot from my courses at AMU and I would be able to hold a conversation with someone who graduated from a traditional school.

Was this review helpful?

American Military University

BS Business Management and Leadership - April 8, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I found the classes at AMU to be of a very high quality with degrees in many unusual fields. I have found my classes in Military History to be challenging. My Professors have been of a high quality which I did not find in the regular University I attended before. They had real life experience in the subjects they taught and seemed very interested in the subject matter. The one thing that I have had to get use to is the amount of writing I have had to do for my classes. I have had to write essays on every text we have read in a class plus the addition of a major paper at the end of each class. I feel as someone who is beyond the normal college age that this university is for those of us with active lives or those who are in the service who can use the flexibility of the online classroom to their advantage.

Was this review helpful?

AMU gave me the best education, not easy!

BS Business Management and Leadership - April 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have tried other online colleges (Ashworth College) and they just didn't have what American Military University does. Professors that work in the field of your study. Courses that are in your career field or potential career field. The curriculum was top notch. Can't say that it was easy, online learning is not for everyone. It takes motivation and discipline, something not everyone has. Reading, research and writing! Lots of all three. But if you want a challenging to get the best education you can, then AMU is the best for you. You get to choose what your course load is, and whether you want it in a 8 or 16 week pace. The staff is there to help at anytime and the Professors are great. I have had questions in which I have spoken to them via phone and email at all hours, they avail themselves to all their students. American Public University and American Military University rival any four-year University out there.

Was this review helpful?

The easiest 4 year degree you'll find

BS Business Management and Leadership - March 30, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Current student here. I've taken 7 courses with AMU. If you want a degree fast, aren't very smart, or don't want to really try, AMU is for you. The classes are easy. The required involvement is minimal. The instructors regularly "phone it in". If you are looking for an education with some value, try a community college and then transfer to a real university. If you just want a piece of paper, buy one with AMU. For those that give AMU a high rating, what was/is your GPA? I guarantee that the average final GPA for all AMU students hovers at 4.0. Why? Is it because AMU students are geniuses? Or maybe the curriculum is somewhat less than demanding... Hmmmm..... Regardless, I only have time for an online degree and I'm only looking for a piece of paper. Hurray for mediocrity!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Can't complain

BS Business Management and Leadership - December 10, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my third class with Capella and everything has been absolutely smooth from the advisors, counselors, and financial depatrtmnent helping me along to the actual classroom experience. This is my first online college experience. It does take a lot of time as I expected, but the great part is that I can do it at my own pace and not totally have to be away from my family. I am a mother of two young children and I am a wife. I work full time too so this is the best option for my situation if I really want to obtain a degree plus it has been a great way to enhance my professional skills at work. I transferred all of my credits from 2 traditional colleges and I was able to start off at Capella pretty much where I left off from the last school. I would recommend this school to anyone who is not ready to give up on pursuing their education. No online school is perfect. Research other schools and check out other school reviews. I did and I also spoke with some Capella alumni who currently work in my organization (a major HMO) and these people hold senior positions. It took me a while to decide, but I kept coming back to Capella. I have no regrets.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Military University in any way.