Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Military University

  • American Military University Reviews

    Ranking: #13
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association; Distance Education and Training Council

4.1
622 Reviews
5 298 
4 220 
3 49 
2 26 
1 29 
0 0 

American Military University Reviews:

MA Military History - Challenging

Military History - August 10, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In my experience I have found AMU to be both challenging and rigorous. It is challenging in that the professors have developed courses that make you think more deeply about the matter at hand than a cursory reading will give you. As a retired military member I thought I knew about the military and it's history. Since starting at AMU I have thought about things and wrestled with questions I knew had conceived of before. It is rigorous in that history is essentially reading and writing, and that is what you do. The volume of work demanded is considerable. The professors push us to produce good quality work. This program is everything I expected. It is worth the time and money to earn your degree here.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Better than I could have asked for...

Military History - July 24, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When I made the decision tor return to school for my Masters I knew two things. #1 With my schedule I would have to try and find a online program, and #2 I was wary of spending so much time and money on an online degree program. I did a lot of research and eventually ended up going with AMU. It was the best decision I made in my academic career. The program was one that challenged me in many ways, but in the end I actually felt like it taught me something, which is rare in this world. The faculty is made up of some of the best instructors I have ever had. I was lucky enough to have one professor for 4 courses, by the time I graduated he and I knew each worked well with each other, and were happy to be rid of each other! Look, there are programs out there that will take your money and had you a piece of paper and send you on your way. AMU and APUS in general are not like that. You get to be part of a community that spans the globe. You get to be a part of something greater. I never felt that way when I attend my brick & mortar school. If you are here trying to figure out if this is where you should be, the answer is yes.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

APUS BA in Military History

Military History - July 3, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have almost completed my Bachelors degree with AMU in Military History with a concentration in Early European Studies. The school and the majority of my courses as well as the instructors have been outstanding. Some of the early general education courses were a bit easy, and on rare occasions I have attended a course with an instructor that I felt was not doing a great job. However, once I started taking history classes I have had nothing but great experiences with this school. I highly recommend APUS, and if you start with this school and have any regrets I can only say to stick it out, because once your core and concentration courses start, it just becomes such a great learning experience. Just for clarification AMU American Military University and APU American Public University are both part of APUS American Public University System.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Very Happy So Far

Military History - February 26, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm now over halfway through with my MA program in American Military History. I was a little skeptical of an online program, but no school near me had what I wanted. I have to say that I've been very pleasantly surprised. The graduate faculty has, so far, been top notch and I have enjoyed every class. I've been challenged, but my hard work has been rewarded and I think the program has already gone beyond my expectations. I have seen other reviews complaining about the financial aid department, but I have had no problems at all. Nor did I have any problems with my undergrad transcripts being accepted. Everything has gone very smoothly. Even the library sends me the books I need in a timely manner and the librarians are very helpful. As I said before, my professors have just been excellent. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

MA Military History

Military History - October 10, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This degree was everything I needed and wanted in a graduate program. As a working adult I could not attend a "traditional" campus in AZ, AMU allowed me to achieve a life-long goal online. The staff was very supportive and the faculty I had were very knowledgeable and taught me a great deal from start to finish! I would highly recommend this institution to anyone looking to further a career or achieve a goal of obtaining a graduate degree like myself.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Average University (One of the better "for-profit institutions" but not respected In academia)

Military History - March 17, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed a Master's degree here, and I have to be honest, it was pretty easy. My undergrad courses in History were harder than these courses. I don't know if I am a genius or just really savvy when it comes to BSing on assignments, but I didn't put much effort into this degree, and I still graduated with honors. I don't care about graduating with honors, if being challenged and actually taught research methods and tools for becoming a historian meant that I graduated without honors, I would prefer that. It's a good thing I paid for it out of my own pockets, because this degree will not be going on my resume and I will probably have to utilize federal aid to pay for a real Masters degree at a more respected university. Since there is alot of snobbery in academia when it comes to for-profit degrees at the graduate level, I would recommend that those who wish to enter academia, do not attend AMU/APUS unless you are sure that certain universities will accept you. E-mail graduate admissions, and ask if they will accept AMU Master's for entry into their PHD programs. Don't just assume that they will because the degree is regionally accredited. Many universities have no problems throwing an application with a for-profit graduate degree in the trash, despite it's RA status. They only want the best and the brightest, and for-profit does not fit into that image. Employers will throw your resume in the trash as well. This degree is really only good for those who are already in their careers, who need ANY degree for a quick promotion or people close to retirement who want to collect degrees for the hell of it. The perception is that you are given a degree/good grades just because you paid money and the more happy students AMU/APUS has, the more they profit. And unfortunately, I don't know if I disagree. Of course the students are happy and elated once they receive their degrees, many with honors, but will they be able to find jobs in their fields? Not likely. By then, it's too late and money has been paid. I don't know if it was just the professors that taught courses in my particular concentration, but the professors (if you want to call them that) did not participate in the courses at all. Some were missing in action for a few weeks. They said "Nice work" and that was it. I read books, but I felt I could have read books (and better books) on my own time. If they are just going to be graders with PHDs, why don't they just call them that, instead of fooling others? When writing my thesis, I had no support from my mentor, just "Yes, this looks great." Would I bet on my life that the thesis was great when she couldn't even write more than a few sentences about my draft or final product? No.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 24 people found the following review helpful

AMU so far so good!!!

Military History - January 20, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

So far my experience in gaining a degree in Military History with a concentration Early European Studies has been excellent. Every once in awhile there is a technical glitch but it has always been resolved promptly when brought to the attention of the professor. Most of the time everything goes smoothly and so far it has been a pleasure. Another year to go and I can not wait to attain my degree. I would highly recommend AMU to anyone and everyone.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Maters in Military History

Military History - October 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Earning a Masters degree should be a challenge, and this one is no exception. Fortunately, this program is also highly informative--not a single moment is wasted. Each of my courses here has studied, in great detail, all aspects of a conflict in military history, whether it be particular to a certain country (such as Vietnam) or part of a broad theme (decolonization, counterinsurgency, etc.). The questions posed by the professors force us to think objectively about each aspect of military history, from the conflicts themselves to the sources we use to learn about them. It isn't an easy education, but it certainly is a good one.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Hard work, but worth it

Military History - September 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went to a brick and mortar college for my undergraduate degree. I never had to study, although it was a good school. American Military University pushed me to my limits of academic talent. They expected exceptional work and a lot of it. I studied every night and worked harder than I ever thought I could. It was difficult, but I was never more proud than when I walked across that stage to receive my diploma. This school is for people who want to work hard and stand up to challenges.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Civil War History

Military History - January 25, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU is a great school to study for a Master's degree online. I started my degree in South Korea and have continued it back here in the USA. The classes are challenging, most instructors interact well with the students and its a very convenient way to study. I also love the fact that I can study Military History online. Most online programs do not offer the amount of options in Military History that AMU does. Overall, AMU is a great school with a solid History program and if anyone wants more information on the Military History program, they can contact me at corvus37@yahoo.com.

Was this review helpful?

Better than most brick and mortar schools

Military History - October 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

One can play the system in a bricks and mortar school the same as in an online distance learning school. Or one can experience great educational opportunities in each. The difference at AMU is I get the same quality of instruction, better resources, no hidden costs, and super technological support for my classes. When in a pinch I've even participated in discussions with professors and students around the world using my iPhone! I've learned more in my MA Military History program than I would ever imagine. The AMU system is just fantastic.

Was this review helpful?

Not for the average student

Military History - March 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from AMU in 2006 and to this day I do not regret getting my degree from them. If you need hand-holding DO NOT go here! I worked by backside off for 4 years to get my master's degree. I have many friends that went to a b & m school and did much less work than I did foe their masters degree. AMU is about learning; you read, reflect and write. My professors alway had relevent comments to make and even though I already had a good grounding in my subject I learned a hell of a lot more. If you are a self-directed learner, willing to work go for it. If not find some other place that will coddle you and hold your hand.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

A lot of bitter, petty reviews

Military History - September 3, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am working towards a MA in Military History, and I have had a challenging and rewarding experience with AMU. I have not had any of the problems the minority (complaints) have cited, and it seems that many are merely being petty based on what seem like relatively minor points. I can only speak as to the graduate level courses, but people do not simply coast through with a 4.00. I was kept off of the President's List because I had two A-, but my GPA is not representative of the whole. Of those I have taken classes with, I have only seen one other make the Dean's or President's Lists. If everyone was skirting through with 4.00's or close to it, shouldn't we all be on the list? I have had relatively few problems with financial aid, and no more than I have had with other schools. It seems a few bitter reviews revolve around some minor mistake, or they couldn't get transfer credit for "life experience." Most schools that will give you such credit are diploma mills. I also have not had professors that completely checked out. They have taken part in discussions, have given content-specific feedback on papers, etc. I have not agreed with or been chums with all of my professors, but my grades never suffered because of their personal biases, etc. I will also say that AMU is most assuredly not a diploma mill. I write more papers in one semester than most other people that I know write in a year at B&M schools. Also, the person that said accreditation does not matter because AMU is private is a moron. All accreditation is done privately by the regional organizations. In reality, anyone could argue that the entire system is bollocks, but it is what we operate under. AMU is accredited under the APUS by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools Higher Learning Commission, which accredits some of the best universities in the US. AMU may not be on par with the University of Michigan, but they have to meet the same standards to be accredited by the HLC. Most of the negative reviews appear to be petty, bitter, and full of misinformation.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Fantastic

Military History - August 5, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For the busy professional. Instructors have legitimate experience / credentials. You get out of it what you put into it. Worth every penny.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Military University in any way.