Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

American Military University

  • American Military University Reviews

    Ranking: #13
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association; Distance Education and Training Council

4.1
622 Reviews
5 298 
4 220 
3 49 
2 26 
1 29 
0 0 

American Military University Reviews:

Perfect For Me

Business Administration - July 7, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I jus completed my degree and I am very well pleased with AMU from start to finish. I received the help I needed when I needed it, the resources are available. The professors seemed to genuinely care for me. When I had military training and I notified the professors ahead of time they always provided me with extra time. I have read negative comments but I honestly can say my experience was a great one. I would definitely recommend this university. Paula

Was this review helpful?

Great School, Perfect for Military

Business Administration - June 24, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Bottom line upfront, the school is great for military schedules and TA use, the professors are understanding of our unique "issues" and random deployments and the school works getting you max transfer credits! It is Internet heavy which can hurt those with slower or no Internet connectivity. I have been with AMU for about 3 years now. I transferred from another school for the accreditation. The process was easy and AMU gave me max credits from my military experience, previous college courses and CLEPs. My academic plan is easy to understand, registering for courses and completing in-course assignments. I will say that the courses are Internet and technology intensive, so if you're deployed or deployable, connectivity will hinder you. On the same note, I have been out on mission during several courses and the professors were very understanding and worked with me to complete assignments with minimal hassle. Many times it was when you can, others were before you leave if possible. The TA process is seamless and the books are free; online versions. The only gripe I have is the APUS online library is not always the best tool to use because it canvasses the web and can return options that are no longer available so much of your time on the library is shifting through perfect resources that no longer exist. It can be frustrating so I don't use it. Absolutely worth it attending AMU!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great format for Soldiers

Business Administration - December 11, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The format used by AMU is great for those that normally do not perform well with online college. The weekly assignments and forums make the classes interesting and fun. They are very user friendly for those that are not computer savvy and affordable to use with DoD TA. I just completed my Associate's and will begin my Bachelor's program after the new year. I recommend this institution to all my Soldiers and peers.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

AMU Review

Business Administration - December 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

AMU is an accredited institution. I attended AMU for 3 years from 2011 - 2014. In the beginning things were okay, instructors responded to emails, took part in student discussions, etc. I believe AMU grew to big without having the necessary resources to support it. The financial aid department is absolutely horrible. You have to call financial aid on a daily basis and tell them how to do their jobs. They don't respond to emails, voice messages, etc. When speaking to financial aid representatives they often don't know what's going on and will often give you the response that they will have to get back to you after speaking to their manager. AMU uses turnitin.com to check the similarity of research papers submitted. This website is horrible. Turnitin.com penalizes you for having the same title, references of other research papers. Regarding the virtual career fair, I participated in a few of them. I never received correspondence/emails from any of the employers. I considered it a waste. AMU is very convenient in the sense that classes start every month and are compressed into 8 & 16 week schedules. Some instructors at AMU cared while others were just there collecting a paycheck. If someone were to ask me whether I would attend AMU again, I would tell them to research other online institutions and only attend AMU if it were a last resort.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Friends don't let friends...

Business Administration - October 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Friends DO NOT let friends attend American Military University or any other school that uses things such as turnitin.com to grade papers. I recently got stuck with paying back $750 in tuition assitance because I received a ZERO grade on a writing assignment about MY OWN LIFE! WTF! This shit website decided that my paper was 32% too similar to other students. That exceeded the school's allowable standard of 20%, so I got shafted. God forbid that some people have things in common when it comes to life goals, experiences, etc. I'll bet if I were one of those retards that didn't know how to use punctuation or grammar, I would have received an A+. Tag, tweet, post and repost the hell out of this so no one else suffers my fate.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 28 people found the following review helpful

AMU Was a Great Experience

Business Administration - October 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently completed my BBA in International Business Management and I have to say that my experience was great, so much so that I am continuing on and starting to take classes for my MBA in IT Project Management. I had teachers who had relevant experience to the classes they were instructing and the course material was up to date. The only area that required a little patience was dealing with support services. They are knowledgeable in their subject area, but they want most, if not all, communication to be through email so as to have proper records in the event of an audit. My wife graduated from Saint Louis University and her opinion of the amount of coursework was that it was more than she had. Overall, I did not have any issues to speak of and felt as though I received an educational experiencce on par with higher performing traditional universities.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

AMU is a great school!!!

Business Administration - October 4, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been a student with AMU for over 2 years now and I am extremely satisfied with both my progress and the functionality of the school. My professors are knowledgeable and in tune with the students. I have never had a bad experience in any of my classes and instructors were always willing to lend extra support. The value of this school is parallel to the likes of any traditional brick and mortar school and I would recommend that students looking for a degree or certificate program from a reputable university take a look into American Military University.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Two Thumbs Up

Business Administration - April 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had no problems with AMU and believe it was a great value. The work was harder than my brick and mortar classes and I feel that I learned just as much if not more. I would recommend them to students who willing and able to work hard on their own.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Convenient and cost-effective!

Business Administration - January 2, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm about 5 classes short of completing a BS in BA. I've only been enrolled at AMU for a year, but in that time, I've managed to complete 8 courses while in the active-duty Army. For the most part, the classes have been engaging and challenging with responsive instructors who are willing to give you the benefit of the doubt concerning any issues/problems that arise in a course. For instance, some of the exams are time-sensitive and once "opened" online, cannot be "reopened" for completion, basically giving the student one opportunity to finish a test. On a couple of occasions, I inadvertently and prematurely closed an exam to my detriment. A short email to the instructor explaining the circumstances enabled the exam to be reset for another shot at completion. The most challenging classes I've had so far have been general education courses such as History 101 and 102 as well as a 16 week literature course. These courses required extensive reading and writing requirements. Within a week or two of most of these 8-week long courses, a student will be able to grasp exactly what a particular instructor requires to obtain a decent grade. Needless to say as well, a student's work contributions within the initial few weeks of instruction also gives the instructor a better grasp of a student's capabilities. In the end, AMU isn't Harvard or MIT, but for most, getting a degree with minimal debt, if any at all, and in a format that works well with a full-time work schedule is all that matters!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

My experience at AMU

Business Administration - August 25, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

To all, I just earned my BBA with AMU and have enjoyed my experience here. I am starting my MBA program in October and am ready to fulfill another chapter in my life. The professors, advisors and staff have really kept close, making this experience the best it can be. In order to learn in this setting, you have to take your work seriously and study on your own. Many believe they have to be in a traditional setting to "feel" like its credible. This is far from the truth but MUST be said by those who need their hands held to higher their education. Again, I enjoyed my time and will be furthering my education with them and highly recommend them to working class adults!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

-

Business Administration - April 12, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Like anything in life you get out of something what you put into it. Most of the negative comments seem to revolve around students who needs their hand held at every turn. I have found the work to be very challenging and rewarding. I have a BA degree from a very difficult school from Minneapolis which I took in a traditional classroom setting. This course is more difficult than my original degree. I fully expected on line learning to be a little easier. I was not looking for a "junk degree" and certainly don't feel like I am getting one at AMU. To read the negative comments tells me that some out there are looking for an instructor to spoon feed them. My message to all of you is that AMU/APUS is designed for adults only.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

More challenging than I thought...

Business Administration - March 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've only taken 4 courses at AMU towards a Bachelor's in Business Administration and I have to say I'm pleasantly surprised with the program so far. I previously attended NYU back in the 1990s and I have to say that the level of work is on par with what one would find in a traditional college setting (other than the face to face time). The condensed coursework spread out over 8 weeks instead of the usual 12 to 16 weeks generally makes for a lot of reading and writing so much emphasis is placed on time management as assignments are due each week. The fact that accredited online institutions like AMU even exist are a great help to full time military personnel who would otherwise have to wait until departing the service to commence their studies. I expect to finish my degree within a year and will then move on to their MBA program. For what the military pays in tuition assistance towards programs like these that basically accept TA for full payment towards classes (limited to 6 per year based on current rates), anyone in the military would be foolish to not begin working towards a degree while serving in uniform.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with American Military University in any way.