American Military University Comments

American Military University Reviews

Dec. 17, 2012, 6:53 a.m.
-2 votes/
I have a question: how do online colleges offset the fact that its easier for people to cheat since there's no face to face contact and ways to manipulate answers?  If there is a way, do employers know this?
Dec. 16, 2012, midnight
0 votes/
how can i write problem statement of project student registration system?
Oct. 13, 2012, 3:30 p.m.
+2 votes/
I graduated in 2010 with an MA (Honors) in Emergency and Disaster Management. I chose this Online school because of its related curriculum which may not be found elsewhere. Even though in my military and civilian jobs I was Chief of Emergency Management Operations positions, including post 911 NYC operations, I learnt a lot from the program. 99% of the professors are enthusiastic, follow your assignments, are readily available even during their off-school time, were very willing to offer guidance and suggestions to research and this was also emotionally satisfying. The instructorship and the support system at AMU are highly commendable. I was encouraged and forced to work hard on various aspects of my courses and this was  very gratifying. Students must understand that at the graduate level, instructors set assignments and students must do the research and bring that product forth to the class. The onus of intensive research falls solely on the student and the instructor is then able to evaluate a student's ability to conduct adequate, indepth and intensive research, thereby showing the quality of the student's academic ability. This is a great university and I highly recommend it to anyone willing to accept it's challenges.  
Oct. 12, 2012, 4:43 p.m.
+1 vote/
Ironically, I found that attendance is much stricter at AMU than it was at the two brick and mortar universities I studied at before. While at the other ones you could skip lectures, never attend a class, and simply take the exam at the end, at AMU you HAVE to get engaged in conversations weekly, in order to get a grade at the end of each and every course. I've now completed almost 80 credits and this was the case in every one of them. 
I found the subject matter interesting, and I found most of the professors engaging. 

There were some instructors that gave me the feeling that they're simply putting the course on "autopilot" mode, and that they post topics and lectures for discussion weekly, and let the students do the rest. However, this was my impression at the other institutions I went to, and as I said, this was the minority at AMU. 

Most professors at AMU were very engaging.  

I also found administrative support very helpful. I'm taking my entire degree from outside the U.S., with half of it while working in the Middle East. Connectivity isn't always great on my end, but I have to say that AMU support staff are exceptional. I truly, really, cannot understand people who complain about THAT in this university. 
I mean, maybe some of the reviewers didn't like some professors, or didn't like the subject matter, and that would be a personal experience.
But the administration and support staff??? They're awesome! They agreed to jump through all the required hoops and help me with getting all my Canadian tax papers signed, so that I can file them on my annual return. I think it's no small feat for a bureaucracy to spring into action like AMU did, and go out of their way to deal with a completely new set of forms for me (which, I assume, was later helpful for them in dealing with other Canadian students and their taxes). 

I should also mention that I met personally with an AMU professor who was working in the Middle East, in the same country that I'm working in, before I enrolled. Top notch guy. 

And I should also give this example: 
I took the Arabic 1 course. As part of that, there is an oral quiz that's conducted over the phone. Taking it was another chance for me to talk to a professor. He was a former US Navy Intelligence officer. I talked to him in English of course, but then we chatted in Russian and Arabic. Neither he nor I are native Arabic or Russian speakers, but I've learned enough throughout my career to assess this man as an extremely professional individual, to be a US born intelligence officer, who speaks Arabic and Russian the way he did. 

So... In closing, my experience was great up until now, with little hiccups here and there.

That's it. Long-winded, but detailed and supported by my impressions of actual facts. 

If anyone wants to ask me more, feel free to email me.  
Oct. 4, 2012, 10:51 p.m.
+1 vote/
This is a great school. I earned my MA in Humanities after a lot of hard work.  Like most regionally accredited schools, students take away what they put into the program.  It is not for everyone, but I needed the self-paced, after hours curriculum in order to keep working while finishing the degree.  I earned another Masters years ago at a state university and found the work at AMU equally demanding.  Interactions with the professors was as frequent and as in-depth as I required.  The on-line format means students have to be able to work with minimal supervision, be self-motivated and critique their own work thoroughly before submission for credit.  This process follows journal article preparation which makes it both a challenge to the unprepared as well as good practice for an academic career.
Oct. 4, 2012, 3:42 a.m.
+1 vote/
I think AMU is great.  I started with AMU in 2005 while I was on active duty, and I was able to move all around with the Navy while completing my MA degree by 2009.  I retired from the Navy and started Troops to Teachers, and at that time I started a new degree plan in the Teaching and Instructional Leadership ME degree.  AMU has always offered all the resources for my educational goals!  AMU's guidance is great.  I am currently substitute teaching in northwest Ohio, and I plan to complete my local teaching cohort along with AMU's Environmental Science concentration.
Oct. 3, 2012, 2:29 a.m.
+1 vote/
This university is a 5 star institution. In advance, forgive my fragmented sentences-this will only allow me 3344 characters. I attended the online courses to get my Master's in Homeland Security/Global Studies  concentration in Counter-Terrorism studies. You will only get out of it what you put into it. It is title 4 recognized, which basically means you can get a Department of Education Subsidized or Unsubsidized loan. Just about anyone can get a loan. Low rates, a 6 months deferred loan until after you graduate and that is for all the non-military folks seeking a quality education for an affordable education. Military T.A and G.I bills are the best way for military svc mbrs. The degree plans are flexible and internet friendly. So, if you read any negatives here, think about this-Go online in advance and check out your professors, see their credentials, their commendations, their contribution to military or other civil service. Check out the variety of degrees this university offers. Check their tuition costs compared to the rest-do they meet or exceed the industry standard? After attending I would say firsthand yes...without a doubt. You can be deployed and in the middle of Afghanistan on your laptop, netpad or notebook, in any other country or right here in the United States sitting in your comfy clothes working at home, on your desktop and finish your degree. Lastly, let me say this final note-if you think it is still may be a second rate university...wait until you graduate, fly to the Washington D.C. area, meet the professors and staff, walk through a ceremony. When I graduated in 2012 I did just that. I stayed at the Gaylord Resort and Convention Center and did the whole ceremony thing to include the group photo's. Folks-there is nothing, I repeat nothing second rate about this university. No, I am not a Professor or staff member-I am simply a graduate of the 2012 class. If you experience any problems with any aspect to include the Financial Aid department (Like I have seen mentioned most here) then work through it like you would any other university. This university like all the others that soar with an evergrowing student enrollment annually will experience some growth issues and they too, will work past them as they become one of the largest online universities. Every university has some problem somewhere that is the nature of business but rest assured-this university works to correct areas of concern. Don't listen just to the negative, truly concentrate on the positive and what really matters most to you to find if it is the best fit for you. Do your research, take your time and most of all get the facts before you make your decision. After all, no one can really tell you what's best for you-they can only lay out the facts for you and let you decide for yourself. Good luck in your search for the very best, most successful path to the right education crafted just for you. 
Oct. 2, 2012, 7 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am completing my final course for a Master's in Homeland Security.  I was able to utilize the Post 9/11 GI bill to offset the cost and AMU was very proactive with assiting with processing the financial aid with teh VA every month.  I have been very impressed with the course material, books and assoicated readings as well as the highly qualified instructors.  I plan on applying to be an instructor in the future and give back to AMU all it gave me.
Oct. 2, 2012, 4:24 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am just two classes away from graduating with a degree in Intelligence from American Military University.  You can't go wrong with AMU; they don't hand out "A's" unless you earn them - anyone expecting an easy ride should be glad AMU isn't one, because a degree from them COUNTS!  I gather that more members of the U.S. military take college classes at AMU than at any other university.

I should add that I'm finishing a degree I started decades ago.  I'm not easily fooled by fake colleges - I worked for NBC Network News and ABC Network News for over two decades and have two national Emmy awards.  If you want a great college, AMU is it.  Put in the work, and you will not be sorry.
Oct. 2, 2012, 4:23 p.m.
+1 vote/
AMU made completing my Masters a pleasure. The Admissions Staff was extremely professional and helpful, and the Faculty is top notch. I can heartily recommend AMU to military and public safety professionals.
Sept. 30, 2012, 12:42 p.m.
0 votes/
(Graduate) BA RETAIL MANAGEMENT

I have been in both types of schools for the last several years. Both types meaning traditional and online, and I have to say that online is much tougher. It takes a dedicated amount of time each day to complete all the necessary work especially if you take 12 hours like I did for the past 2 years. It was tough, but fair. Although my grades were majority "A's", I don't feel as if they were just handed out to me as some have claimed. I worked for those grades and put forth much more effort that I had when I attended University of Mary Hardin Baylor. As far as being reputable, I have never heard from anybody that it is not. I had the same experience with others as far as professors go; some good and some bad, but for the most part, all my professors had a job in the field that I was working towards in my degree plan. They were very knowledgeable. I would recommend this school to anybody if they really want a challenge. 
Sept. 18, 2012, 3:13 p.m.
+1 vote/
HOMELAND SECURITY DEGREE.

AMU was both challenging and rewarding. I have attended two colleges and two universities. Two have been on line and AMU is the only university that gave me any decent credit for my military experience of 21 years. I started my B.A. in Homeland Security while overseas in Iraq and completed it in July 2012. Every professor I experienced brought some great expertise and knowledge to the course and some demanded more than others. This was not an easy degree to obtain but you take away what you put into it. As far as on line universities go, AMU was my best school ever. I will definitely pursue my M.A. with AMU as soon as I get situated in my new career. I most definitely recommend AMU for any veteran wanting a great education.
Sept. 11, 2012, 6:59 p.m.
+1 vote/
My time with AMU was both challenging and rewarding. The challenge comes with the lack of a teacher standing over you daily to remind you to do your work. There is not easy day here. This program required discipline and determination. The material is not always easy either. The myth that a distance program is somehow less involved will not hold water at AMU. The teachers will push your limits with the work and in the end you will be thankful. The reward is easy, when you hold that degree, whatever level, in your hand, and you look back over all it took to get there, family time, work, deployments, life events, you will feel a sense of pride unmatched. I cannot recommend this program enough!
Sept. 11, 2012, 4:53 p.m.
+1 vote/
My time with the AMU was well worth while.If you require a good grounding in military history at a distance learning level the AMU is the palce to be!
July 5, 2012, 6:03 p.m.
+1 vote/
Good school and getting better all the time, very qualified and respected faculty.
June 1, 2012, 5:37 p.m.
-2 votes/
This is a fine school.  They allowed me provisional entrance into their Master of Intelligence program while finishing up my Bachelors degree in political science. This allowed me to acheive my goals at a much more rapid pace and not lose time by having to wait unecessarily. I am cureently at the end f two master degrees onne with OU and one with AMU both fine and reputable institutions that I highly recommend.
May 22, 2012, 5:40 p.m.
0 votes/
Ernie,
Anyone who has the funding and education can take classes at AMU. They do not discriminate based on your nationality. You might have to Apostille or translate your transcripts from the Phillipines if you have any, but you should be able to enroll. I suggest you email an Admissions Representative and ask him/her any questions you may have about enrolling. Good luck.
Feb. 3, 2012, 4:28 a.m.
0 votes/
I am license criminologist of the Philippines and presently working as security supervisor in Japan Gasoline Corporation  Barzan Onshore Project Ras Laffan Industrial City, Qatar.  I just want to know if I am illegible to enroll online Security Management or any of the security courses? 
Jan. 27, 2012, 1:22 a.m.
-9 votes/
AMU is a second rate school whos site is always down. You always get outdated material and the professors always refer to the book and tell you to figure t out like your an idiot. Go to this school if you have no ambition of being successful. 
Oct. 2, 2012, 4:31 p.m.
+2 votes/
Just plain wrong.  Did you ever take a class?  AMU's site is never down, the material in my intelligence classes was terrific, and the instructors were world class.  Heck, one of my professors is an assistant to the Joint Chiefs of Staff.  I purposely read every professor's bio before signing up for class.  Most of them have credentials that put me in awe.  I'm sorry, from what you wrote I'm guessing you flunked out.  No offense intended; it just sounds that way.
Jan. 13, 2012, 6:49 a.m.
-1 vote/
Alright people, especially to those who says professors at brick and stone colleges does a good job at teaching- I don't know what you're talking about and I want to laugh.  I attended the University of Connecticut, New England's #1 ranked public, tradition, brick and mortar university, and this is hearing from me and at least a handful of other students that I know, that professors at UConn CANNOT teach for scheiss.  I have taken the same exact high school physics course and took it again at UConn, guess what, the quality in my high school was much higher.  The advanced courses are taught with the same crappy professors.  I've had my professors read off from a projection screen of bad notes and poor handwriting, manuals written in a paragraph that could be written in a sentence and plain English.  I've also had professors who would talk off topic and rant about non relevant tangent for the entire class then expect you to answer questions.  The classes are set, and most people skip them.  Professors "curve" the grades so that people get good grades even though most people failed them.  It was so dissapointing.  I was so dissapointed with UConn's education.  also many people graduating from UConn can't even find jobs.  For those of you think you can get better teachers in traditional B&M schools, get your head out of your asses and actually attend one like I did, seriously.
Feb. 17, 2012, 4:08 a.m.
+3 votes/
I had the same exact experience at UMASS that you had at UCONN.  I recently went back to school at AMU for my MBA and have found the learning experience to be much better than when I was at UMASS.  This school is not for everyone though, it is best for people who like to work independently. There is interaction with other students and the professors, but for the most part you will learn from doing a lot of research. 
Jan. 6, 2012, 7:56 p.m.
+2 votes/
I have attended this school for three terms now, and I would say it is a far cry from a degree mill. I have attended two local community colleges, and in terms of comparable course work this schools demands are much higher. For example in my international relations class I was turning in a 3-5 page essay per week, plus reading on average 100 pages of material per week. This is on top of the forum discussions (500 word minimum with two 250 word responses to other classmates) and 20-50 question tests every few weeks, including midterms and finals. AND as a final kicker, a 7 page research paper (not including title and reference pages) due the final week. This was just one class of my four that term and all were similar. I am not sure how the typical universities coursework stacks up to this, but I can tell you from personal experience it is no walk in the park. The material covered is very modern, with some of my books being published within the last six months, giving me the most up to date knowledge available. The ability to walk into anywhere with internet access and my own thumb drive and work on school is a huge benefit as well, as I am often traveling. 

My only concern for getting a degree from this school is how well it will be received by employers. It is probably not a well known school, and as such may detract from the value of the degree. However, with over 100,000 students currently enrolled, it is clearly gaining popularity and hopefully this will make it more well known in the world. 

For credentials, my last professor in my business 101 class had her P.h. D. from University of Texas, had two books out, was the state assistant attorney general for over 6 years, and had a slew of other credentials of similar caliber to back her name. There are many very highly qualified instructors at this university and I find the level of engagement between faculty and students to be as high or higher than that of the traditional schools I have attended. 

The ONLY downside I have had while taking these courses is the turn around time on asking questions. They are required to respond within 48 hours to all emails, and they do, however if a test or paper is due within two days, and you can't start the work until you get a question answered (this problem arose in my math class, when I was having trouble understanding a concept 24 hours before a test was due, which ultimately resulted in me turning in the test late for reduced credit) then it can be a problem. So this factor is something to consider when choosing between online education and traditional courses. But this will also be an issue at most online schools you go to, so it is not specific to this university.

Hopefully this helps someone make their decision! 
Dec. 22, 2011, 1:05 p.m.
-1 vote/
I attended AMU for one class at the masters level. I do not think the education is subpar. I was expected to complete the work and read. I believe the school is at a great cost. What is lacking is the support. Most support is done by email this includes finacial. I found there were alot of rules, that made getting easy routine out of class business done. I think this is due to the low amount of support staff (but this is probaly why the tuition remains affordable) i think this school is an excellent buy.  But if you need more support staff to help you along you may find you are doing your own leg work. If this is important to you, you are going to pay more. There are lots of schools that take care of the little things for you with just one phone call.  In the end it is a personal choice. 
Nov. 6, 2011, 12:24 p.m.
+4 votes/
I am or should i say was a current  student.the fsa dept waited to tell me of an error on my fasfa 3days before classes.I submitted the original fasfa 2months ahead!
Nov. 2, 2011, 4:01 a.m.
0 votes/
I have had no problems with AMU. I have had quick responses either online or by phone. I am not graduated yet, but everything seems to be working out very well. The instructors are knowledgeable and have a desire to assist each student. Even the advisors are apt to helping students out. I am changing my degree concentration and they are very helpful.
Nov. 1, 2011, 7:45 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am currently enrolled and far from satisfied. The school is a degree mill. The instructors are not very literate, nor do they seem to have even a minimum of practical experience in their subject matter.  I am on the "honors list" but feel as if I have not learned anything in the last 6 months.
 If you have questions about a subject, it is hit and miss if you will get a response. On the off chance you get a response, but still have questions based on a different viewpoint, the teacher may launch into a personal attack rather than respond to the question.
Contacted my student adviser for assistance with possibly changing my major and was given the brush off. 

There are others, stationed with me who love this school for the very reasons why I will be transferring .  It does not challenge (or teach)you.  It is a very easy way to get a meaningless degree.
Oct. 12, 2011, 1:17 a.m.
+3 votes/
I couldn't get ANYONE from this "University" to return phone calls or answer e-mails to help me enroll.  This appears to be just another degree mill that only wants your money.  Given that I spend almost a month trying to become a student and got nowhere I'm off to find another path.  The people at UMUC are very helpful as are the folks at Capella, for what it's worth.
Oct. 1, 2011, 11:28 a.m.
-4 votes/
I am studing mba at finance. It is a great program and one of the best online University in the USA.  I LOVE AMU very much.

MOHAMMAD TOHA
ID= 4099562
Sept. 30, 2011, 1:12 a.m.
0 votes/
Is it true that AMU dropped its graduate intelligence program and made students take MBA courses? I'm reading this on one of the reviews. 
July 19, 2011, 9:29 p.m.
+3 votes/
Ladies and Gentlemen, you do not make a great case for AMU when you reply with all lowercase text, sentence fragments, and misspelled words.  Nevertheless, I know that AMU is a quality institution, just as many other for-profit(gasp!)schools are.

It may not be appropriate for everyone, but for those who are spewing hate and discontent on this site in the direction of AMU, it definitely isn't for you.  Stick with the brick and mortar grind and mommy and daddy's money.




Nov. 1, 2011, 7:53 p.m.
+5 votes/
My parents are dead.  I am 45 years old and currently enlisted. I chose this school due to the fact that I was overseas and there were others taking classes with AMU stating how great it was.  I have since found out it is only great if you are lazy and illiterate. My fellow soldiers have stated this over and over to me.  They like it because it is so easy.
Oddly enough, there are some of us in the world who would like to learn while at school, regardless of the grade we receive.
You pointed out the low level of communicative skills shown by others but then ignored that and said you "know" it is a good school. Online communication relies on positive writing skills. You cannot have it both ways.
Sept. 14, 2011, 12:13 a.m.
-2 votes/
Question, when I see comments like this I often wonder what type of University you attended. Did you attend a brick & mortar or another online University? If you were a full time worker that wanted to get their degree and only had time for an online degree, where would you go? just a thought.
June 25, 2011, 12:40 p.m.
0 votes/
Forget the North Central Association, StevenNO is now the new regional accrediting authority..
June 15, 2011, 2:20 p.m.
+4 votes/
It's stupid to compare a school like AMU which is meant for working adults and deployed military with some traditional super-expensive brick & mortar. Two different animals. But both provide you with a legit degree at the end. If you want to quit your job and move in with your mother to attend full-time at a B&M then be my guest. AMU is fully accredited and fills a need. Stop drinking the haterade..
June 12, 2011, 5:16 a.m.
-7 votes/
AMU is a for-profit online program like University of Phoenix and Kaplan. Not exactly where Rhodes scholars and the cream of the crop reside both at the student and instructor level. Think of two soldiers with Ranger tabs. One has taken the full Benning course the other did his on the weekends near his home with barely minimal entrance requirments. That's the difference between an AMU degree and a college degree from a traditional school. 

On the other hand if you're in the military and overseas somewhere or in a situation you can't go to a traditional school then it fills a need. The admission requirements for master's level programs at AMU are almost non-existent relative to most grad programs that require letters from academics, a respectable GRE score and an undergrad GPA average of some merit. 
July 20, 2012, 6:01 p.m.
+3 votes/
To enter ANY Masters program at AMU you need a B average minimum...stop putting wrong info on these sites.
May 8, 2011, 6:15 p.m.
-1 vote/
hi guys, i want to study B.A in intelligence studies , any one there can share his experience, because i cant take chance...
May 5, 2011, 3:02 p.m.
+1 vote/
I've been with AMU since 2002 and takin' my sweet time with my MA in Emergency Preparedness & Disaster Management via my Post 9-11 GI Bill. The Only problem I have is that they raised the tuition, making it harder to provide your co-pay. I also question the poor customer service reps who work the VA aspect of the students who apply the GI Bill. I got a letter from them but it did NOT address the lack of professionalism of their staff nor were they apologetic.
May 3, 2011, 6:11 p.m.
0 votes/
First AMU was slammed by some unknowing individuals because they were not RA. Then they achieved RA and these same individuals now proclaim they are not brick and mortar. So, if AMU were ever to have classes in a building other than the student's homes (what diff?), what would they say? They are (horrors) for-profit. So then AMU becomes public..then what..oh dear they're not Ivy League..there is no satisfying nitwits like this. In the meantime those of us with brains and actual experience know that AMU is a great school.
April 30, 2011, 1:45 p.m.
+1 vote/
Some of these posts are ridiculous. AMU is regionally and nationally accredited. The Dean of their Science and Technology department is NASA astronaut. Famous alumni include Air Force Thunderbird pilots. I am enrolling in their MSIT program and will be proud to call myself a student of AMU.
April 24, 2011, 3:10 p.m.
0 votes/
To all the nay-sayers: DO YOUR RESEARCH. This is a legit and accredited institution. I recently started an MS program at Capitol College (a B&M school). They gave me nine credits towards their MS in Information Assurance degree from my AMU MBA. Oh yeah, that's online program too...
April 19, 2011, 1:38 a.m.
-2 votes/
The classwork can be demanding as a lot is asked of someone who may also be working full time. I have a doctorate already and find the level of work for this masters adequately demanding.  As with any education, you get out what you put in.  I'm getting a lot out of this program as this knowledge is directly applicable to my workplace. 
April 17, 2011, 12:59 p.m.
+1 vote/
Just landed a private sector job in Atlanta with my MSIT from AMU, they looked at their accreditation and that was that. I have to admit I had a few concerns due to rumors about online/for-profit/etc schools, and I am relieved to know that they were unfounded. Proper accreditation is the main issue with employers, AMU has it. My big complaint about AMU is with their finance dept, they screwed up more than a few things along the way, don't know if they're overworked or what due to rapid growth, but they need to get a new system or better training or something.
April 10, 2011, 3 p.m.
0 votes/
The thing about these review sites, anybody can post anything. The truth about AMU is that they are both regionally and nationally accredited. In fact, they are regionally accredited by the same accrediting council as Ohio State and many other state universities: The Higher Learning Commission, North Central Association. THOSE ARE THE FACTS. This information is publicly available, do your own rsearch. Don't listen to dweebs on open chat forums who like to spread lies for some twisted reason.
April 6, 2011, 8:41 a.m.
-2 votes/
What a joke. Though the curriculum may be comparable to traditional universities, the delivery is not. Therefore I would compare this education to a GED. Notice the last poster, who has a master's degree, can't spell the word knowledgeable. Lol. 
So what should you do? Go elsewhere...the human brain doesn't work this way.    
Jan. 30, 2011, 10:30 a.m.
-1 vote/
I received my MA in Management from AMU in Sep 2010.  The curriculum was very comparible to the three public universities I attended - Columbus State, Franklin, and Ohio State.  I found the courses to be quite challenging in many fashions.  The course work was challenging and the professors were extremely knowledgable and demanding.  For the price you can't beat their graduate programs.  If you want a solid valuable degree, AMU is the perfect fit.  
Jan. 19, 2011, 9:26 p.m.
-2 votes/
I think AMU is the worst of the worst. I attended recently and can tell you it is a waste of time and money. They will rob you with fees and the instructors I dealt with were not interested in teaching at all. Here is the crappy work, go do it. Some were worse than others but none were great. Now I owe almost $5,000.00 have three classes complete and my knowledge is no greater for having made an A in each class. I have left the school and never intend to return. Listen carefully, this is one of those schools that once they get your money that really don't care about you. They are very pleasant and helpful up until they have secured your money.
Jan. 15, 2011, 3:33 a.m.
+1 vote/
I am almost finished with my degree at AMU and I have been impressed with the quality of the teachers and the tech support staff.  I have had very few tech issues and one call and they have fixed them.  Flexibility with time management is the key here.  Because some of the courses are eight weeks long they can really be tiring but the benefit of having the class finished in half the time makes up for it.    
Jan. 6, 2011, 2:19 p.m.
0 votes/
I am thinking of enrolling in the International Relations program for my BA. Have anyone had any experiences with this program at how was it? Would like to have some general feedback from current/former students in this undergraduate program.
Dec. 31, 2010, 5:46 a.m.
+4 votes/
  I have attended American Military University (AMU) since 2007 and have zero regrets.  The school is nationally and regionally accredited and I know many co-workers who went on to get great jobs after military service in the federal government.  The instructors work very well with military students even if deployed.  The undergraduate programs also offer book grants so TA will fully fund six classes a year.  The course work will require at times more reading than you expect but no more than other colleges.  Ensure if you apply to completely apply yourself to course work and your studies will be fun and rewarding reflecting a high GPA.  I am three classes from a BA in Security Management and would rate them a 9 of 10. Go AMU!!
Dec. 28, 2010, 10:21 p.m.
+1 vote/
Deidra L.

You should post your question regarding the BA International Relations program on AMU's Facebook page. You should have better luck with your question.
Dec. 26, 2010, 8:56 p.m.
+4 votes/
According to "Seriously", if you didn't get your degree right after high school at a b&m there is no hope for you, don't bother pursuing a degree at all, ever. What a sad outlook for us who made the mistake of having to go to work or joining the military or simply couldn't afford it at the time, only his degree is meaningful. Thanks for enlightening us O Great One. Oh by the way OGO, Harvard now has online degree programs, as do many other b&m
schools. I suppose they are useless too? Tell you what, you make a "valid school" list for us so that we don't make any more horrible mistakes, OK? Thanks OGO.
Btw, I LOVE AMU!
Dec. 26, 2010, 7:35 p.m.
-1 vote/
For all the "this is a joke" naysayers out there, some facts for you: AMU is accredited by the same commission as Notre Dame, and an ex-astronaut is dean of their technology dept. I'm a grad student and I can tell you first hand, this is a serious school. So keep your uninformed/disgruntled opinions to yourselves.
June 12, 2011, 5:23 a.m.
+1 vote/
So what, the same commission that accredits Harvard also accredits kindergarten programs. Accreditation is merely a minimum requirement not a statement of quality beyond that. 
Dec. 25, 2010, 6:46 a.m.
-1 vote/
Hello,

I am thinking of enrolling in the International Relations program for my BA. Have anyone had any experiences with this program at APU/AMU? and how was it? Would like to have some general feedback from current/former students in this undergraduate program.

Thanks
Dec. 28, 2010, 10:23 p.m.
0 votes/
Try AMU's Facebook page to see if you can find better luck with your concern about the International Relations program.
Nov. 23, 2010, 7:33 p.m.
-1 vote/
1CAV,

Get a Life! You're ruining the blog for perspective students. No one cares what you have to say you, childish moron. Why don't you go harrass someone else. You sure do have the mind of a kid.
Nov. 23, 2010, 4:07 p.m.
+1 vote/
I think you two (1CAV and To Seriously, an online degree) need to grow up.

Who in here is in the Philosophy program? I'm interested in the program.
Nov. 23, 2010, 3:48 p.m.
0 votes/
1Cav,

You're the biggest. You have the nerve to come here and talk trash? I think you should go on your way and scram. You're a waste of time on arguing on here. Do you really have anything else to do, besides talk trash on here?

I don't have time to argue, I'm here to find other alumni who share how their experience was with AMU?
Nov. 23, 2010, 2:52 a.m.
0 votes/
Ok the original comment was meant for "seriously, an online degree?" I will say to "to seriously , an online degree" you are obviosly an employee of AMU and there is no need for that if the school is legit it will stand on its owned merits, canned answers do not fool anyone and since this is a blog I will "bash" who I wish to.
Nov. 23, 2010, 12:18 a.m.
-1 vote/
1CAV,

I graduated from AMU with a degree in International Relations(Latin American Studies Concentration). I'm not a big idiot if that's what you're aiming at? If you're trying to bash me for defending this school, don't bother because I admire what this school has to offer. I'm starting to apply to various Law Schools and Graduate Schools with my AMU degree.

If you want to bash someone on this blog, you've got the wrong person, buddy. Unless, You're trying to bash "Seriously, an online degree?"
Nov. 23, 2010, 10:43 a.m.
-3 votes/
To Seriously, and online degree?

I think you are a bigger dumbass!
Nov. 23, 2010, 6:03 a.m.
-1 vote/
1CAV,

I have to agree with "To Seriously, an online degree?" I don't work for AMU either. But, I'am fed up people trying to bash this just because it's online. I've had the privilege to know people who went into ABA-approved Law Schools, and one person even went to HARVARD for Graduate School, using their AMU degrees to accomplish their career goals either in the Military, or public sector, even private sector.  

I, too, will defend my right to represent AMU as my Alma Mater, I worked my butt off to earn my grades. Unlike, Brick-n-mortar schools that give you time to turn-in your assignments, I had to turn-in weekly assignments at AMU in a 8-week course period. And, at times I had submit either an exam or a research paper.
Nov. 23, 2010, 5:42 a.m.
0 votes/
1CAV, 

You're really dumbass! I don't work for the school, I actually did graduate from the school. You don't need to be working in-order to have pride in representing the school your degree was conferred.
Nov. 22, 2010, 4:06 p.m.
+1 vote/
To Seriously, an online degree?
Could you please tell us what school you got your degree from so I can avoid it, because if they graduated you wow! You are most certainly the biggest idiot on this blog.
Nov. 18, 2010, 11:25 p.m.
+1 vote/
If you earned an degree from a reputable university, why are you wasting your time on here talking trash about this school. Surely, the school is for-profit and maybe shady when it comes to its business practices, but they target a group that brick-n-mortar schools lack and that is WORKING ADULTS! 

IF brick-n-mortar schools didn't cry about losing enrollment and funds, WHY DIDN'T THEY JUMP ON THE ONLINE EDUCATION WAGON?? Their wouldn've been a UOP,AMU, or Kaplan, if lousy schools like Ohio State, San Diego State, George Mason, Could at offered a BA in History, BA in Intelligence STudies, a BS in Legal Studies.
Nov. 15, 2010, 6:27 p.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone taken their science courses..like Anatomy and Physiology and Chemistry?
Nov. 16, 2010, 2:02 a.m.
-1 vote/
On a more serious note, I have military friends enrolled in online (military/security-studies related) programs; and every last one of them, I'm sure to let them know how useless their degree is, and how they are wasting free money on courses they'll never have paid for by their service again. In fact, I made one come to tears because 3 years into their BA program with an online school, I revealed to them the error of their ways and the uselessness of their degree during a major intelligence recruiting event at a brick & mortar university.
Nov. 16, 2010, 1:57 a.m.
0 votes/
I have a degree from a real university that carries real weight anywhere in the world with any employing party. Those of you with fake online degrees should be ashamed. The truth can be hard to swallow, just let it happen...like warm molasses running down your inner throat parts.
Nov. 16, 2010, 2:04 a.m.
-2 votes/
Continued from above...

Those intelligence recruiters made it clear that the individual should immediately try to have as many online credits transferred to that brick and mortar university and complete their degree through them...

Don't be that guy who needs to wake up and smell the folder's in their cup, because I can give you a phone call tomorrow morning
Nov. 16, 2010, 2:09 a.m.
-2 votes/
Many of you should have made better decisions early-on in life like beginning college instead of putting it off so long - especially the military crowd. You talk about serving your country and all this nonsense, and in most cases, college wasn't a priority, only to find years later (many years later) you are back or starting college as an adult.

Another portion of you should probably practice safe kids (more than you can afford) and stop having kids so soon without exercising personal responsibility and common sense. If you can't afford college or make an executive decision to bust your butt and knock out your degree the right way in the first place, you wouldn't be working a low-paying job worried about obtaining an online degree that is taking you 20 years to complete.
April 12, 2012, 1:28 a.m.
0 votes/
I do not agree with a single thing that you said. Get off this page and stop talking down on online degree's and people serving their country because I can tell you right now that I am serving my country, got an online degree and now I am getting picked up by a government agency so if you don't know what your talking about then don't talk. Just for the record I came into the military with college as my priority. Someone should have put YOU into tears for the nonsense that comes out of your mouth. Thanks.
Oct. 28, 2010, 7:01 p.m.
0 votes/
Has anyone been been accepted into a A.A.C.S.B. MBA program using their AMU B.B.A. degree? I'd like to hear which schools they were.
Oct. 27, 2010, 6:32 a.m.
0 votes/
To receive more information about the programs offered by American Military University, simply click the button and complete the form. The requested information will be sent to you as soon as possible.
Oct. 17, 2010, 3:39 a.m.
+1 vote/
AMU's MBA program is not even accredited by the ACBSP, which is like the easiest accreditation among Business schools to have. Employers won't recognize a MBA from this school, and even assuming that they won't look at the accreditation issue, AMU doesn't have much of a reputation in the civilian world. I would look somewhere for a MBA. Just because a university is regionally accredited, does not mean that a particular degree program is accredited. In the case of a business degree, having the proper accreditation is crucial especially if you want to transfer credits.
Oct. 12, 2010, 4:52 a.m.
-2 votes/
I don't see why everyone is trashing for-profit schools. All profits do is prevent the misappropriations of funds.

I guess it's an Age of Obama, government good, business bad type of mentality.
Sept. 28, 2010, 11:32 p.m.
+1 vote/
For-profit schools are under much scrutiny these days.  Be very careful on choosing one, if at all.  The DoD is reviewing its policy... TA may be at stake, not to mention gov loans and grants.  Hopefully the institutions in question will begin providing much more detailed info on their practices.  There are online institutions who are not For-Profit, FYI, maybe do some research.
Sept. 20, 2010, 4:09 a.m.
0 votes/
To Anonymous,

Yes its true, being in a classroom is the past, you only learn from books compared to online schools that teach you how to get hands-on information through research by your own, not depending the professors to tell you what to read and what they want.
Sept. 20, 2010, 4:06 a.m.
0 votes/
Jeanie,

People have gone on to law school. I know of one person who went to St. Louis University school of Law, another went to Texas Tech Law School. Another is planning on going to apply to Arizona St. and University of Denver. 

I plan on applying to brick-n-mortar schools for graduate studies and law school.
Sept. 18, 2010, 2:17 a.m.
0 votes/
"Five Stars Don't",

It is worth to get an MBA online but from a brick-n-mortar school that is approved by AACSB. There are plenty of brick-n-mortar schools have MBA programs online. It is worth it and the reality is that traditional class meetings are being a blast of the past. It's too outdated.
Sept. 17, 2010, 8:07 p.m.
+1 vote/
Don't get a MBA from AMU. Go to a traditional brick and mortar for that sort of thing. Online study is okay in certain fields. Getting a MBA online is not good.
Sept. 17, 2010, 2 a.m.
-1 vote/
Im interested in getting a MBA at AMU starting in January. Im currently finishing up my bachelors at Kent State in Kent Ohio. My question is will employers turn their nose up at me for having a MBA from an online school? I just want to know what people's experiences were like applying for a job with an online degree. Ive been working part time for years and its time for a full time job because money is getting tight and I see online as the only way for me. Thanks!
Aug. 29, 2010, 3:48 a.m.
+2 votes/
Why would someone get two Master degrees from AMU? One worthless degree is bad enough.
Aug. 27, 2010, 8:49 p.m.
+1 vote/
I have to say, that although I have two Masters degrees from AMU (4.0 in both), it is NOT respected in the civilian world. I am in the military, so it really doesn't matter, but I have spoken to friends both in the academic community and the recruiting community, and outside of contractor gigs, the prospects are slim. Also, trying to get into  Phd program is proving tough as well. Just some heads up for you guys.
Sept. 19, 2010, 3:01 a.m.
0 votes/
Jim,
"It is worth it and the reality is that traditional class meetings are being a blast of the past. It's too outdated."

Is this some kind of joke? 

Jennie,
"Has anyone gone on from AMU to a Law School?" 

Just contact "Student Services" and ask if anyone has gone on from AMU to a Law School. Of course, this question has already been addressed throughout this thread.
Sept. 19, 2010, 1:48 a.m.
0 votes/
Hello, my husband is active duty and I am having a lot of trouble deciding on what type of college to go with. We move around quite often so online would work best for me. The problem is that I have heard A LOT of negative things about online schools and I plan to attend Law School once I have a degree or two. I am worried that I will go with an online school and have the admissions dept. of a Law School laugh at my application. Has anyone gone on from AMU to a Law School?
Dec. 17, 2010, 4:37 a.m.
+3 votes/
Jennie, 

I asked the admissions department at St. Mary's University Law School in San Antonio if they in particular discriminate against individuals with online degrees. The representative told me no, just as long as the degree is regionally accredited. She said that some of the professors have reservations about students with online degrees but not because they don't feel the students have a grasp of subject knowledge. They worry students may not succeed going from an online learning environment to a traditional one. It really is going to depend on the school. Typically law schools look at the whole package. Degree, GPA, the person, LSAT scores, etc...

Hope this helps.
Aug. 25, 2010, 1:20 a.m.
+1 vote/
duck,
Actually, this school is very attentive toward new students; it's just that once you're in the system you'll be treated like any other cash cow...expect to be milked as long as you're flowing. Good luck!
Aug. 24, 2010, 5:33 p.m.
-1 vote/
Recently was accepted at AMU, waiting over 30 days and the transfer credit department has not even registered my documentation, let alone obtain my transcripts. But they did cash my check. Reading between the lines, admissions seems to know this is a problem. not sue why they aren't more attentive to new students.
Aug. 22, 2010, 12:27 a.m.
-1 vote/
I don't understand the complaints regarding AMU.  Everybody has to realize that it's a for profit organization but it does have regional and national accreditation.  Saying that, it means your degree will be accepted anywhere for employment or future programs.  

I have been a student at AMU for over a year now and the quality of students vary.  It is what you make of it.  Some students fly by doing the bare minimum.  Students can do the same at any other school as well.  The students that take the time and effort to understand what is being taught will benefit greatly.  

I am completing my Legal Studies degree program and most of my teachers are lawyers with JDs.  Sure there are times when teachers are all over the place but again, it's about the student and the time and energy they put forth.  

Considering AMU as school of choice, it is a good one, especially for military.  It never exceeds TA for the semester hour ($50 extra for graduate programs) and it allows personal development in any situation.  This has been different from other online schools I have attended.  I had to use my GI Bill to pay for classes becuase of the additional semester hour costs.  AMU isn't greedy and I admire that.  Of course and once again they are a for profit organization so money is an interest but I haven't seen an interference in the integrity of the programs offered.
Aug. 18, 2010, 8:56 a.m.
0 votes/
Question: Has anyone successfully transfered AMU credits to another university? Was it online or B&M?
Aug. 16, 2010, 10:30 p.m.
0 votes/
Hey Im a new grad student at AMU, thinking about the public health masters. Are there any PH grad students who are almost finished with their degree? I know there is a practicum, but does this major involve writing a thesis? I have been seeing alot of reviews about AMU/APUS, but the majority of them are good. I have had no problems with them so far. As far as the financial aid dept goes, as long as you are knowledgable of what you want to get done, and dont expect them to hold your hand, like HS or undergrad-then you should get the attention you need from them. The professors seem very seasoned and I am very excited about Sept. I have gone to both B&M schools for HS and undergrad and I feel that AMU/APUS fits my needs for distance learning while trying to balance a career.
Aug. 13, 2010, 6:49 p.m.
+1 vote/
Malia,

Environmental Studies vs Environmental Engineering - it is kind of like the difference between a Psychologist and a Psychiatrist.  If you have a degree in Environmental Engineering, it means you took the mandatory courses required for an engineering degree such as lots math and sciences (calculus, chemistry, physics..etc).  Environmental Studies probably cover much of the same environmental core courses without alot of the science and math.  It usually depends the person's background and work experience but an engineering degree can open many more doors than a "studies" degree.  Just like psychiatrist are pretty much psychologist in most respects but not vice versa as the latter is not a medical doctor.  People with a "Environmental Studies" degree can work as a technician and in management but it is the engineers who normally put the rubber stamp on things like designs, analysis studies...etc.   There are exceptions of course depending on the person's knowledge level and experience. I am not positive but it is probably a little hard (if at all) to get a credible engineering degree online.  If you can find a program and complete it, you are a very smart person indeed. Hope that helps.
Aug. 11, 2010, 1:52 p.m.
-1 vote/
I'm looking into the Environmental Studies degree at APU. Has anyone taken this? Furthermore, how does the Environmental Studies degree vary from a Environmental Engineering degree in?
Aug. 5, 2010, 11:53 p.m.
0 votes/
Jacob,
If I remember correctly, you can transfer up to 90 credits for a bachelor's degree. However, the same 90 credits would have to satisfy the requirements of whatever program you choose.
Aug. 5, 2010, 8:55 p.m.
+1 vote/
Hello, I'm looking for a little information.  Does anyone know how many credits I actually have to complete at AMU to get a degree?  I know that most schools require somewhere between 25% and 50% of their credits to be completed at their institution and 75% to 50% can be transfer credits.  Is this true for AMU as well? Thanks!
Aug. 3, 2010, 6:13 a.m.
-1 vote/
Somehow all the negative responses on this board seems to be filled 95% of recycled bias responses against online collages, 95% of people who cannot muster any motivation to take any initiative and solve their own problems expecting everything to be done for them, including learning, and 95% of the negative responses are people who were probably swindled by other online colleges and did not bother to do any research on this school, bouncing from forum to forum, mad at the world, because they themselves failed to do any research before they jumped into a program. 

The bottom line is it does not matter what school you choose, you should do your research. These forums are great to get a feel for a how a college is viewed, but be thorough in your research. Compared to other colleges on this site, AMU is on of the highest rated overall and it one of the few colleges on this site that has over 100 reviews. As far as online college vs. traditional colleges, the gap is closing and online colleges are no longer shunned, like it was in past. Online colleges are great for people who do have the luxury of time. These are my 2 yen (with the exchange rates, yens are worth more).
Aug. 2, 2010, 3:08 p.m.
+1 vote/
Somehow this board seems to be filled with 95% recruiters with the  scripted responses. Same goes for the college people posing as "Alumni" and the 5% misguided people getting swindled for an online degree which is inferior to a college degree obtained from a proper university. Want to get a descent job? get military experience..then join government. My 2 cents
July 17, 2010, 9:25 p.m.
0 votes/
Jay,
Perhaps you should contact an advisor at Penn State. That way, the information you need will have more credibility and serve you directly. However, because you're not a registered student there, I would give them a call - first, since it might take forever to get an answer by email.