Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Argosy University

  • Argosy University Reviews

    Ranking: #79
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Argosy University is accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, California, 94501, http://www.wscuc.org).

2.4
269 Reviews
5 38 
4 55 
3 23 
2 51 
1 102 
0 0 

Argosy University Reviews:

Doctoral Organizational Leadership Candidate

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - January 4, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a doctoral candidate in the College of Business at Argosy Online. I started the program in 01/2014 and will be final defending in the next week or so. Even though I am right at the finish line, I still have some very serious concerns about the institution. One is they are not student centered. Meaning that the University puts their needs before the students, an example if you make it to dissertation, you have to hold them accountable for TIMELY feedback and support. The blocks currently are 15 week, but they have changed them to 7.5 week blocks now - and that is going to be a disaster for students, because feedback is not timely in any area. The IRB process cost students many unnecessary weeks, and I believe it is on purpose to force students into extension courses that cost $3,000 each. If you do not meet the deliverables for a block - you must be enrolled in an extension. Most of the time it is not the student that is the problem - but the school and the committee, either not communicating, disappearing, or taking over 2 to 3 weeks to respond to your submitted work. The financial aid process needs a complete overhaul - nothing is timely there either. You have to fight the entire time through this program to hold THEM accountable for what THEY are supposed to be doing to assist YOU in graduating from the program. At times, it seems like they want the students to fail or at least pay for courses over and over through extensions to increase their revenue. Even though I am at the finish line - I am still holding my breath - because I do not trust the University at all. Until I have a conferred degree on my transcript and and one in my hand along with the degree - I will not rest easy. I was able to attend this University as an employee benefit when I worked for an EDMC school, that is why I took advantage of it - but could I recommend this school to others...................I could not due to their lack of transparency and serious lack of a student centered focus. The entire dissertation process has been an absolute nightmare and it should not have been this way - but due to the lack of organization on the part of the University and their lack of attention to Professor obligations at their school and others, the students get shafted. If you do pick Argosy, just be prepared for a bunch of crap, because you will have to deal with it each and every day.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Earned my degree!

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - December 27, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I worked diligently and earned my degree. I am now a full professor and proud of my academic accomplishments. Argosy is expensive, but provided me with a quality education that supported my career goals.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Organizational Leadership Doctorate and Argosy University Issues

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - November 18, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently at Argosy Online working on the Ed.D degree in Organizational Leadership. The course work was not a challenge for me - but the real challenge is trying to keep this school from stealing from you. What do I mean? Well, when ou make it to the dissertation block - they all of a sudden have a increased response time and waste a lot of time in your 15 week block in an effort to cause the students to go through extensions. If you appeal, they try to find every reason to not refund your money when it is the institution and its faculty that are the problem. It is an absolute nightmare of lies, disorganization and lack of responsibility on the part of Argosy. I am currently writing chapter 4 and 5 and hope to final defend in December 2016. However, I don't know because I don't trust them at all. I cannot recommend this school to anyone - and if you do enroll, you are doing so at your own risk. I plan on filing a formal complaint with the department of education once I finish. The current program chair of Argosy COBM is a Dr. Mancini and he is ineffective in his role and not helpful at all when issues are presented to him about what is going on in the College of Business and Management. I have never been so disappointed in an institution that should be student centered - but they are organizational centered with the prime objective of getting as much money out of you as possible by using inefficient faculty and poor operational procedures - all designed to e a disadvantage for the student. I WILL SAY IT AGAIN - I WILL NOT AND CANNOT RECOMMEND ARGOSY TO ANY PROSPECTIVE STUDENT! It will be the worst and most costly decision you will ever make if you enroll.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Dont waste your time or your money

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - November 18, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Argosy in Tampa is in a beautiful building in Tampa, good location. Teachers are terrible, generic posting and no real engagement. Required to do two gull weekend days of residency regardless if you have 2 or 22 people in class no real education going on here. I had one professor that told us about how Crown Royal and a cigar was the highlight of his day and how he could wait to get home to his. The big kicker here is how they use veterans using their GI Bill, they will re certify you for an entire year of these expensive non learning courses then overcharge you for "digital " books you never use, h and with all these campuses they have no internal bursar so any bill you do incur (although using %100 Gi Bill you shouldn't) they send it directly to a credit collection agency. I got a call from a collection agency before I got a bill from argosy. Dont do it!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

cheated

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - January 12, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had a good experience at Argosy while completing by classwork but when I was working on my Proposal for my Dissertation it became a nightmare. I was assigned to a Chairperson who did not know what she was doing and that was for over a year. Then they reassigned me and the committee kept jerking me around with change after change after change...no one could agree. With a 3.83 average I had thought I would do it simply. After two years of this and then getting to the point of Defending my Proposal the school called me and told me I had too many credits and had to drop out...I was devastated and my family was appalled. A month later they called me again and reported that I could return to school. Can you even imagine what I told them....Bad experience, really bad!! Do not even consider Argosy U as you will most likely end up disappointed as I did.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Argosy--OD (Washington DC Campus)

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - November 3, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Washington, DC campus is outstanding! Excellent instructors and class mates. I am in the dissertation phase and love every moment. Thank you Dr. Klinefelter and team for your leadership and guidance.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Used to be a great school

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - January 31, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Twin Cities Campus was the jewel of the corporation. Once Goldman Sacs came in after I graduated and got a controlling interest in the public shares it has gone downhill. Most of the good instructors have left, the school is forcing blended and electronic books on the students and the bad admission publicity has hurt the degree of competent students who worked hard to have something of value. They are overpriced for what they offer and I am sorry to have attended there given the events of the past few years. That said, my dissertation chair was challenging and the department chair very competent. I was able to turn in a very substantial dissertation unfortunately the other campuses are run poorly and consequently students of any merit are now avoiding this school. It is a shame to see this happen to decent for profits as they serve a need and provide a great alternative if they are playing by the rules and not mistreating staff and learners.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

All Argosy wants is your money

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - May 1, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am working on my dissertation, after four frustrating years of coursework on my doctorate. There have been countless turnovers in personnel, and lots of instability in leadership at Argosy. There is basically nothing special or value given for the very high tuition rates. Rules and policies change often, without regard to the students or what it will do to them. Argosy's structure for dissertation is designed to get maximum money out of the students. If you don't meet their expectations every 15 weeks, they charge you another $3000 for an extension. Of course, they only allow you two extensions and then kick you out after your many years of work. This is not a structure that benefits or supports students. They don't care about you or your situation or challenges, only about getting as much money as possible from each student. Unfortunately, although I will receive my degree from Argosy, I would not and could not in good conscience recommend the school to anyone else. They do not deliver on what they promise, and you will regret the decision to attend this institution.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

OMG

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - July 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am so out done! I went on the word of a friend that Argosy University was ok. Well, I have had an experience of my life. This is my second class for the campus in Atlanta and I have not been award my financial aid package. This is pathetic! I pray I do not end up like some of the other reviewers and get shafted out of my refund. I have attended another Atlanta University and thought they were bad in financial aid but this takes the cake. The worst part of it is that Administration has address the issue once in May and no other update has been announce. Now it is July second class and till no information. Just think my first class was COMMUNICATION;it should be a requirement that the staff goes through this class maybe it will help. ARGOSY UNIVERSITY IS UNPROFESSIONAL BY NOT KEEPING THEIR STUDENTS INFORMED OF THEIR FINANCIAL AID.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful

STEER CLEAR OF THIS SCHOOL!

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - May 2, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I spent thousands of dollars at this school (Org. Leadership)and received very good grades throughout the matriculation only to be dismissed from the program when I was suppose to start my dissertation process. I should have saw the tell-tell signs ¾ of the way through the program for I started to read negative reports about what students were experiencing. However, I had some major life changes, and still kept a really good GPA. I went through the appeals (hear what you have to say, but they done care) process and was denied to finish the LAST PROCESS of my DEGREE!! STEER CLEAR OF THIS SCAM OF A SCHOOL.UNBELIEVABLE!

Was this review helpful?

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Leadership

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - April 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Please do not register for this school. I worked for EDMC (Education Management Corporation, the parent company) as a Finance Counselor for over a year. The students are completely screwed out of money and the system is designed to make the student spend thousands of dollars on classes and the degree is worthless. They schedule a mandatory post for classes online 2-3 times a week and if you do not sign in you will be dismissed from class, you will fail the class and owe the school money because your financial aid will not go through in time by the time you do not meet attendance. Do yourself a favor and start at a local community college then transfer to a ground school. You will thank me later because I just saved you about $25,000-$35,000 thousand dollars (depending on how many classes you would've failed). Go to a non-profit university. This is a for profit school. They make money from you failing classes and the scholarships they say they offer are rarely given because the finance counselor is too busy with approximately 150-300 students on their workload on any given day.

Was this review helpful?

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful

I Love Argosy

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - August 25, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Argosy has challenged me, and with the assistance from the Professors I know that I will finish my program. Since attending Argosy I have learned a lot about leadership. All the classes have been informative and I'm a better leader since attending Argosy. I have not had any problems contacting the professors. I'm 3/4 through my doctorate program course work and I have and will continue to recommend Argosy to friends. If you want to learn and grow Argosy is the place. In addition, Argosy University President Craig Swenson, Ph.D. announced that Argosy University has been granted another seven years of regional accreditation through 2014-2015 from the Higher Learning Commission.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Worthwhile, Even if Expensive

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - June 29, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I can't speak for the DBA or PsyD programs, but the EdD program is about what I expected. The workload is similar to that of colleagues who earned doctorates at traditional institutions (you have to write LOTS of papers in APA style). It's not for everyone. You have to be pretty self-motivated -- no one's going to hold your hand. Regional accreditation means that my employer will recognize my degree, and I will enjoy a nice salary bump upon completion. Like all private for-profits, it isn't cheap, but the financial aid folks are food at their jobs. They'll get the financing you need. You'll just want to make sure that your higher earnings will justify taking out the student loans.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Argosy ain't about nothing.

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - June 21, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Please don't go to this school it ain't about crap!!! I was removed from my internship and then the school. I am still trying to appeal the decision. I can't stand these con artist. I don't know about all the other online schools. This one had a campus and all they are is a for profit and if you question anything thesy say or do as it relates to their policies or the internship they will remove you. They just dirty scums like that. One day I will get me a lawyer and sue the school for their unfair treatment of me and everyone who was involved with removing me. They will pay and their accreditation will be no more.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Decent program

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - June 20, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm about half way through my course work and I'm impressed with my experience thus far and how it compares to my previous experience getting on PhD from a brick-and-mortar institution. Everything is relatively comparable except with the amount of support the university provides is a bit above-and-beyond for this level of academics. I get the feeling like not many people make it through the degree and given the academic magnitude of completing a doctorate, I'm not surprised. The professors are hit-or-miss but that seems about right for any academic institution. I found the first residency especially informative and while the questions in the lectures don't always directly align to the readings, they do provide valuable insight into the field. All in all, it's been a pretty good experience.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Ed.D Educational Leadership

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - December 18, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Since the announcements regarding the problems at Argosy most of the best Instructors have resigned and left the college leaving some really bad instructors. I spend almost 2900 per class. They make us buy the ebook whether we want it or not for 96 per book. They do not run the classes they ask us to take therefore stretching out our graduation, they never tell us the instructor until last minute for the class and many of them I don't want ever again. I am so disappointed in this school. I tried to move to another school and they would not accept any credits from this school. There are some great students in these classes but they are being taking advantage of financially. We are not getting our moneys worth. This classes are CRAPL><

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

I wish I Had Read These Reviews Before I Started

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - October 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The grading system here is set up for failure. I saw where someone else posted the reason for that is to make your stay with the institution longer, therefore, drawing out more money. Now I see what that person meant. So far the assignments I have been doing are not as meaningful as my Master's assignments were. They are tedious, busy work assignments. The teachers are not helpful, they just nit pick at everything. I thank God I only have 6 credits in this program. As soon as I finish this term, the next thing they'll receive from me are transfer papers from another institution.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Favortism in Grading

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - March 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Argosy University, located in San Bernardino, California. My second seven week session the professor lacked teaching strategies and graded gave grades to five students and four students did not receive a grade. I e-mailed and faxed the president of the school and she never responded. My third seven week session, I worked hard to get a grade, I went to tutoring and worked with a study group on take home exam. But, when I went to check my grade, I had not received a grade nor did the class show up on the transcript. For students who want an education go to a real school and not a warehouse.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Lower Education

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - February 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This 'university' is a diploma mill, and I feel like a sucker for attending. I was explicitly told by my current employer that they do not recognize Argosy degrees, since they aren't accredited by the APA or CACREP. I've since found two different lawsuits filed in 2009 by people who paid tuition, were promised accreditation was in process, and then graduated with a worthless degree. Graduates from Argosy are in on the scam, and this school is a joke. If you haven't enrolled yet: don't waste your time. If you're already registered: Drop out now before you waste more of your money. No employer will pay you anything extra for a fake degree, and you'll waste a LOT of time and money in the process. Argosy is a laughingstock, and you will be too if you get a worthless degree from them.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

So Far So-So

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - October 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my fifth course at Argosy University Online in the EdD in Organizational Leadership program. The online program has not been around very long. I cannot speak for ground courses. Some of the online faculty are such good, caring people who really are experts. But some faculty are on autopilot. They grade on autopilot, they do not know me. The administration is almost non-responsive to online students - they have been to me. The online courses are very poorly designed. The readings sometimes do not relate to the assignments at all. Course assignments are included in the course that are either tossed out by the instructor or too much for students to complete in the time allocated. Some of the courses are not well grounded in peer-reviewed research. Books are sometimes latest editions - but the original research is often ten years older or older. I think the faculty really do care they are simply overwhelmed. Online learning courses require a great deal more work than ground courses. These online courses are not inspired by any stretch of the imagination. The school uses a small fraction of what is available on the market and for the price we're paying I'm extremely disappointed at the quality.

Was this review helpful?

Tough but worth it!

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - July 13, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in the early stages but the support has been great, the classes are very intense and thought provoking. The students are from various places and it is a very good program so far. There is a LOT of work to do weekly with the readings, writing and online classroom participation, but it is worth it. My professors are great, critique every detail of writing and are solid leaders in their field. I am not sure about the degree not holding up since I know quite a few professors that received degrees from Argosy and they are thriving in private practice and well known research institutions.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent Program

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - April 13, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am almost finished with the coursework portion. I have a lot of admiration for most of my teachers, especially my advisor (Schaumburg Campus). I have been given a lot of attention, recognition, and feedback to help my professional development. With the completion of my coursework I have more knowledge to move up the ladder in the corporate world because of my ability to research and apply critical thinking to real life issues. I would highly recommend this school. As a bonus I have made many high level friends to network with in the corporate world.

Was this review helpful?

Please be careful

Ed.D Organizational Leadership - April 8, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a student at Argosy University in Atlanta. I have been in the doctoral program for Education Leadership for more than 5 years. I've had more than 4 chairs to leave during the dissertation phase. So, I'm starting over with a new one. I've contacted this chair on a weekly basis since January 23, 2008. I've received one feedback response since that time. Please be careful when choosing an online university. We were told that we would be able to get administrative certification in a "few months" and that has not happened in 5 years either. I honestly believe tha tI could have done better in a state supported school or perhaps another online university. I'm too close to quit, but I really would like for others to research the programs and really check in to the quality that you are going to receive.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Argosy University in any way.