Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Argosy University

  • Argosy University Reviews

    Ranking: #79
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Argosy University is accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, California, 94501, http://www.wscuc.org).

2.4
269 Reviews
5 38 
4 55 
3 23 
2 51 
1 102 
0 0 

Argosy University Reviews:

So far, so good.

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - December 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in the online Counseling Psychology program. I have completed all of my course work and have passed the comp exams. I had resolved two serious incidents with this school. They even worked with me to erase the tuition of two courses. Thus far, my dissertation chair has been supportive. I am pleased with the education that I am receiving at Argosy. I do find the faculty responsive and interested in providing their students with a quality education. I did find the weekly posting of assignments and making two comments to the works submitted by my colleagues very annoying. I find not having CACREP accreditation very disappointing. However, I would recommend the online Counseling Program to anyone who enjoys working independently. That potential student should have a wide range of counseling experiences on master's degree level.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Dissertation Timeline

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - May 7, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am enroll in the Ed.D Pastoral Community Counseling program. I at this moment trying to reach the craziness timeline of Argosy and post every week or de kicked out of the program. I never heard of a University placing a weekly post from the student or having a unit timeline of work that needs to be done. I also never seen the craziness of the tuition as Argosy has. Its incredible that was one finish their degree, if finish, the student has to work their rest of there life paying student loans. Within the mentoring for advise, I never heard from the mentors to guide you on an issue that has to do with Argosy. I believe that Argosy needs to re-structure there entire programs and stop accepting every interested person in the program and seek better professional professors that can assist the students. Finally, if I can transfer my credits and obtain another degree from a non-profit school, I will do in a heart beat. People do your research. I believe that Argosy wants to pro-long the dissertation process to get more money from the students and pay off their debits. That is why Argosy has a 80% debitness and had to cut the pay on their professors. SAD....when one wants to progress in life and a school tries to scam you.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Diploma Mill

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - December 18, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

6+ years on a doctoral degree program with high GPA. APA accreditation promises with no outcome, unsupportive faculty in reference to finding practicum and internship sites. Due to lack of APA accreditation very limited placements. This program is not designed for mature students and the staff will not support you in the process of completion of the degree. I was told to leave the full time job in order to complete the degree. Tread very carefully, the ground here is not solid.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Failed Comprehensive Exam with High GPA

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - October 12, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending the Ed.D for Counseling Psychology at Argosy University Sarasota Campus since June 2009. I have maintained a 4.0 much to my surprise at first and now pride. My past GPA's have been in the 3.7 and 3.8 range. I completed the comprehensive exam twice now and have failed both times! I received a letter dated October 10, 2013 stating that I have failed the second attempt at the exam and have been dropped from the Ed.D. program. Their web site states that one can take the exam three times before being dropped from the program and I was dropped after two attempts. I do not understand how I can fail this exam twice with a 4.0 GPA. The exam is ambiguous at best. Some of the questions repeat themselves and others are vague in what they are asking for. And apparently the grading on the exam is more rigorous than the grading of the assignments completed for the classes. I have also learned in my research that if you complain about professors or Argosy during your studies with Argosy, that you will be "blacklisted" and they will fail you regardless of your GPA. This has apparently been the case on several campuses. I have had to make three complaints against professors since 2009 and I fear I may be on Dr. S?????a's black list and he may have something to do with my failing the exam twice. I have the "opportunity" to file an appeal to be reinstated into the program and take the test yet a third time. I am not sure if at this point I want to go through the process again. Because of the wording (who writes these exams?!) of the exam and vagueness it is a very stressful and tedious process lasting 7 days to complete and submit the exam. My question here is how do I go about filing a lawsuit against Argosy Sarasota? I don't want my $100,000 in student loans back, I want a passing grade on my comp exam and my dissertation. I know I did very well the second time I took it because two individuals (one who passed it the first time I (we) took the exam and a "high up" Argosy professor, (both shall remain anonymous to protect them) reviewed the exam before I submitted it the second time and both said I did very well and would probably pass it this time around. If these two credible individuals say I passed, what is wrong with the grading system of this exam? I may have to join one of these class action lawsuits or start another one on my own. Does anyone here have any suggestions as to who, where or how I go about filing a lawsuit or complaint against Argosy that will get their attention? Thank you very much!

Was this review helpful?

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Argosy University Online

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - August 7, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was in the ED.d Counseling Psychology Program and this school was the most horrible experience for me. Although I was receiving financial aid the school charged me for additional tuition fees up $6,300. The recruiting process was a fraud and they accept any and everyone into the program. These fees that have been assessed to me have been for classes that I withdrew from and never attend or registered for. This is ridiculous and I would not advise anyone to attend any of Argosy's program, it is a waste of time and money and it is by no means a quality education.THis fees has been placed on my credit report. THis is in my opinion criminal what Argosy and many of these on for profit and online programs are doing to students. THe government needs to do more to stop these practices

Was this review helpful?

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Education good: financial policy of delaying students' progress to make them pay more money for extensions is unethical.

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - April 8, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been a doctoral student in the Counseling Psychology program since 2009. The instructors overall were great and I learned quite a bit, except for one class in which the instructor didn't give any feedback on assignments until after half the class was over (4 weeks out of 8). I was very pleased with the education and passed my comps. THEN I started my dissertation and that is when my positive experience has turned into a disaster. I was assigned a chair (I had no say in the process) and at first I was completing assignments agead of schedule, because my chair was not involved. Once assignments required my chair's interaction everything slowed down and I am in the same place I was a semester ago. Mostly its due to waiting on getting feedback from my chair; and then when he does give feedback its cryptic (its in the wrong format ... nearly three months later I discovered that meant a mis-checked box on a form). I have requested a new chair but who knows if that will happen. The education is good; the financial policy of stringing you out financially is unethical. Oh, and one more thing: for dissertation blocks Argosy charges you for FUTURE semesters. I have a collector calling at 5am demanding tuition for the May and Sept 2013 dissertation blocks and it is only April.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Don't enroll in this horrible school

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - December 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The California Argosy-Inland Empire Chief of the school of psychology is the worst. She has even enlisted employees and TAs that are only there to destroy the lives of students and staff at her will. She leads attacks against students and staff members. If you complain, you are blacklisted and set outside of employment or any other chances of advancement. They have the highest turnover of staff and students in history. She is the pastor of a church in Yucaipa, CA and has a fearful, good number of the students in her congregation but fights against any other pastors that enroll accusing them of "making others attend their churches". She is cruel, greedy, selfish and leads unnecessary attacks against good, well-meaning staff and students. She encourages silly gossip, punishing behaviors on the part of whatever staff she can draw to help her destroy others. The President seemingly has absolutely NO clue about her destructive behaviors. Some have gotten through to talk to the president but this has not worked to help matters so far. She has the director of placements and other cohorts along with her in destroying others. Then they smile and say, "God bless you" while plotting to rip more students and staff apart by blacklisting and calling other schools to help in their demise. DON'T GO TO ARGOSY. INFORM OTHERS TO LEAVE AND/OR NOT GO.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Extremely Disappointed in this Program (and I got my MA in Counseling from Argosy!)

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - June 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Currently, I am taking an online "national course" which is the only one available. My own campus this summer does not even offer either an online, face to face or blended course. Let me say that I've had to deal with many an adjunct instructor, who is usually too busy with their full-time day jobs to really focus on student learning, but these national courses are even worse! The national courses are "canned" courses where even the instructor, who is more like a facilitator, doesn't get to create the course, doesn't know what the assignments are and hasn't read the book. (Sadly, I know that the instructor is dealing with pressures from Argosy, because I taught one of these national courses, but at the undergrad level. It is the same format.) This current instructor teaching Survey Techniques is more concerned with grammar and APA. She doesn't even know here stuff even in that area. I had to show her in the APA manual that she was wrong!....and she has her PhD. I suggest avoiding Argosy altogether. It's a for profit school. Check out The Chicago School, which has lots of campuses all over the country but it is a non-profjt school and they truly care for students. (I went there too.)

Was this review helpful?

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Choose Another School

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - April 4, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is a nightmare. Beginning with fact that I have a master's degree and I could have taught 90% of my classes better than the Ph.D. instructors did. I have been attempting to finish my dissertation for 2 years now and I have gotten nothing but roadblock after roadblock. If considering this program, you should also know that you cannot miss a week of class without being completely dropped from your program. Ridiculous especially considering the cost of tuition is $1350 per unit. The administration is completely apathetic, incompetent, and truly don't care about the students enrolled in this university. The financial aid department has made mistake after mistake, they have actually told me that I qualify for subisdized loans, processed the loan, applied to my account and then told me "oops we made an error, please return all the money to the school immediately". That is not a joke, it literally happened to me twice. Further, the professors are ill equipped for teaching and lack dedication. So much so that I have actually been in courses in which instructors don't check in for 3-4 weeks and we were assigned new professors. This also is not a joke and happened twice. Requirements for degree completion include passing a comprehensive exam that you are not prepared for in advance to move on to doctoral candidacy. Once a doctoral candidate you start writing your dissertation and you are pretty much on your own. The only time you will hear from your chair is when they tell you that you have to change your work. On top of that there are 8 dissertation units that are 7.5 weeks long and specific dissertation goals have to be met during each session. If you don't meet the goals, no matter what the reason is, or if it is your fault or not you will receive a no credit (NC). After two NCs you are dropped from the program altogether, again no matter if it is yorur fault or not if you didn't meet goals. In addition, no matter what extenuating circumstances you have, you may not take any time off from school. You will be disenrolled from the program altogether. Death of family member, major illness, surgery...it doesn't matter, you cannot take any time off. This is just a really poorly run school. My advice to anyone would be to think long and hard before entering this program because the school's main priority is not ensuring its students graduate. If I had known how this program would be, I never would have enrolled.

Was this review helpful?

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful

I was enrolled without my knoledge

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - December 25, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Jeff was sweet as pie when I began talking him. I told him from the first time we spoke that I was school shopping, I hadn't decided on school. He told me to change school on FAFSA so they could access my information.2 dys later my student adviser called me and i told him the same thing. I could't contact Jeff, voice-mail or any other way. So I left message with whoever answered call. The next day I got Email form financial department, ( Kim) telling me about award, I hadn't spoken to anyone about classes,tuition, cost, nothng, and I got email telling me I was enrolled and classes set up. I had no control over my experience. When I finally talked to Jeff , I told him I had changed my mind, and he went off on me, if these conversations are recorde you can hear ir for yourseld, he told me ai was stupid for changing schools, and how i would'nt do wee, and i would regret it, then he called me a liar. He said if I had'nt been so dihonest, they wouldn;t have wasted their time and expense to get my awars to gether. He was rude, he even brought up the last time I applied,cause my loans were in defeulat, he critizied me for that. Im mu opinion, he is pushy,rude, overpeowering and pushy.the tells you your dumb if you change your mind, i wa s still considering Argosy, till this. Pleas check it out. Kris wells, Carpenter

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Don't do it!

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - November 3, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Staff and department chair (no longer there) misrepresented APA accreditation process. Misrepresented support. My degree will not be worth much. They should have at least advised me to go into the PsyD program when I told them I was there for counseling licensure. Used to praise the three excellent instructors there and it gave e hope for the program but then they went over to the dark side and now-for me- with lack of internship and especially the access to one without APA, CAPIC and 2 needed practicums...it is not looking good. The new chair is unprofessional, extremely belligerent and threatening, so little help there.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Argosy is a rip off

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - December 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled, but learned that the University is not CACREP accreditated as they had told me. Also was told that their disertation process was very easy and nobody has ever had problems with their review board. I don't want an easy degree, I want a degree that is worth something. Good luck getting a job. This school also has a 100% acceptance rate, that should tell you something. Tells me they take anyone as long as that federal money is commin gin.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Respnsibility lies with the informed consumer.

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - September 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I hold a Masters degree as well as my undergraduate degree from a pretty good public university (The one with the really good football team; hint, 3 out of 4 top NFL draft picks this year came from this school and more merit scholars attend there than any other public university) I am a non-traditional student whose financial responsibilities preclude the ability of taking another four years out of the job market to do a brick and mortar doctorate. I did a lot of study on this matter and I am more than satisfied with the level of support, faculty and level of education that I am receiving. I came into the program highly motivated and with a very good graduate GPA. I knew coming in that licensure through the state would be coming through my 60+ postgraduate hours during my work on my MHR at that other University. That is the requirement for state licensure as an LPC and to qualify to test on a national level. My master's program had the unpaid practicum that is required for licensure. I knew this going in that I would not be eligible for licensure as a clinical psychologist. I need the Ed.D. to teach at the master' level at my alma mater so to make sure that it would work, I took the curriculum and course subject matter to the Department Chair of my alma mater for her approval. She did not have a problem with the program. I will be an LPC (Licensed Professional Counselor) who has obtained a terminal degree in Counseling Psychology with an emphasis on Counselor Education and Supervision. Counseling requires supervised practice (3000 hours of it by a board approved supervisor) for the LPC. You do not get that from an on-line program. No where in the information promises it either.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Poor excuse for online education

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - April 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The only positive thing to say is that the books are great due to the fact that everything is self taught. They are quick to get you enrolled but once your in your pretty much in trouble. I got through my first session where one instructor droped off of the face of the earth and the other one has only graded 3 of my 30 assignments (note: I finished last week). If you are transferring credits from a University out of the U.S, please be careful for they will make you responsable for obtaining the transcript and having it transferred by one of their websites. It will cost a minimum of 130.00 on top of all their other fees. I'm trying to stick with this so that I don't lose any more money or waste any more time however; I'm not sure if this is the best choice. Beware of those friendly bubbly phone calls you get from the shark advisors who just want to get you in so they can make their monthly numbers. I wonder what sacs thinks about them?

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Apathetic Faculty Attitude and Overpriced

Ed.D. in Counseling Psychology - January 20, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

While the Tampa curriculum and lectures are good overall the school's administration and faculty neglect of students makes this a poor choice for a Masters or Doctoral program. Faculty support of students is far below the requirements for a student's success. Many instructors have no time to counsel students seeking assistance. There are far too many student grievances filed against faculty members considering its size. Additionally, the code of ethics engenders false allegations and dismissal of too many students for such a small institution. The school is very overpriced. Advise against seeking admission.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Argosy University in any way.