Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Argosy University

  • Argosy University Reviews

    Ranking: #79
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Argosy University is accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, California, 94501, http://www.wscuc.org).

2.4
269 Reviews
5 38 
4 55 
3 23 
2 51 
1 102 
0 0 

Argosy University Reviews:

Wouldn't let A level w/Masters Clinical Psy continue to Doctorate

Doctor of Psychology - November 28, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Our daughter entered Argosy at Honolulu and was told that she could complete the program's leading to Doctor of Clinical Psychology. Upon completion or her Masters in Clinical Psychology and application to enter the Doctorate studies and having paid $65,000 to complete the Masters she was told that she had insufficient experience to enter the Doctoate program. Why was she told that she could complete all studies for the Doctorate then rejected when she applied? Now she has a $65,000 burden hanging around her neck.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Do not enroll. Seek a competant program.

Doctor of Psychology - April 5, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Students are forced to swallow incompetent, unethical, and unprofessional "consultations" from professors that amount to no more than bullying and name calling. Having shared my experiences with a number of licensed professionals in the field, I have received the following feedback regarding my experience: Professors have no competence in the area of religious diversity; Professors are unable to manage their counter-transference responses to students; Professors intentionally create environments that are coercive of therapeutic relationships, which should be considered an ethics violation; TAs are not given an appropriate level of "supervision" for the "interventions" to which students are subjugated. If given the option to enroll again, I would not, because I do not believe that I should be subjected to shame and humiliation in order to complete a graduate program. When I graduate, I will not look back on my experiences with fondness, but will remember the hatred which students must endure at your institution. I look forward to never having to think about ever having attended this program in the future. I hope that the APA shuts Argosy Chicago down so that other students will never have to endure what I did.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Very good education

Doctor of Psychology - March 25, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my Psy.D. from Argosy/Phoenix in 2007. While not perfect, they certainly delivered what they said they would. Their training allowed me to get my first pick for internship, ace the EPPP, and I now have an interesting, well- paying job. I cannot address the experience at other campuses, but Phoenix provided quality and value.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

how long can this school continue it's abusive ways?????

Doctor of Psychology - June 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It appears that the same complaints have been filed by Argosy stidents for more than two yrs running. The ones that I am most knowledgable about are the lack or should I rephase as no support for students by the administation that is running these schools. E-mails or voice messages are never returned a student must hunt down the person and request a meeting with them for the simplist of concerns.Even students with the best GPA's will be persecuted by this school! They except you as a student sting you along for 2,3,4 or 5 yrs then almost always find some way to bring this student who has displayed excellent grades and work ethics before a disapplenary board. Ask yourself why???? So that they can make double the money other schools are for the same degree. By this time you have so much money and time invested you have no other choose but to stay and finish at no matter the cost because you would have to start almost all over again at another school. Most other school won't except to many of your credits and Argosy knows this thats how they keep getting your money!!!! SO IF YOU GET EXCEPTED TO ARGOSY ASK YOUR SELF WAS IT AN EASY EXCEPTANCE PROCESS? MAYBE TO EASY NO GRE'S REQUIRED MORE THAN 40 STUDENTS EXCEPTED TO SAME PROGRAM AS YOU FOR SUCH A SMALL SCHOOL! WHY DO MOST WELL KNOW COLLEGES ONLY EXCEPT HALF THE NUMBER THAT ARGOSY DOES? I'LL TELL YOU WHY ARGOSY IS ALL ABOUT MAKING MONEY THAYS WHY THEY ARE A FOR-PROFIT SCHOOL THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT SUPPORTING THEIR STUDENTS OR EVEN GRADUATING THEM ALL THEY WANT IS YOUR MONEY!!!! I WRITE THIS TO HELP INFORM ANYONE CONSIDERING ATTENDING ARGOSY IT MAY TAKE YOU LONGER TO BE EXCEPTED BY A BIGGER NAMED UNIVERSITY BUT ITS WELL WORTH THE WAIT!!! YOU WILL BE TREATED WITH THE RESPECT YOU DESERVE NOT LIKE A SECOND RATE CITIZEN WHICH ARGOSY DOES TO ITS STUDENTS. VISIT THE SCHOOL TALK TO THE STUDENTS IN THE HALLWAYS AND PARKIONG LOTS BEFORE YOU MAKE YOUR DECISION THE RECRUITERS MAKE IT LOOK GREAT THATS THEIR JOB TALK TO THE STUDENT!!!! PLEASE BR MORE CAREFUL THAN I WAs!!!! also check out HAMIL vs. ARGOSY.com See for your self how Argosy persecutes even the best of the best BEWARE!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful

No Career AUD

Doctor of Psychology - February 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The profs are extremely friendly until you get near the end. They will not answer email nor schedule important defense dates. After AUD gets your money and all you have left in the CRP and internship, they could careless if your graduate. They promised that they would be APA accredited by the time we graduated. I received my degree, I got licensed by the state, and I can't get a job because I did not graduate from an APA accredited program. Because they did everything to purposely delay students, I spent $100,000+ for a degree that is worthless. And if you are a foreign student, they will screw up your paperwork, so they will send you back home.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Challenging and Professional

Doctor of Psychology - November 4, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently in the final Seminar Class for my master's degree in forensic psychology. Each class has been an enriching challenge, and while some professors have provided more feedback than others, I have made valuable progress through contact with all of them. One of the differences between a professional school like Argosy and a state university (I have attended both) is that a professional school focuses on integrating you into the local professional community as early in the program as possible. We were encouraged to do local interviews to supplement various assignments throughout the program and I cannot overemphasize how important this has been to helping me internalize the academic material. I'm a strong believer in the adage that you gain from education only what you put into it. I have worked very hard in this program, and I would not trade the experience for any other.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Beyond Horrendous

Doctor of Psychology - August 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

A letter of warning to anyone considering the PsyD program at Tampa - as parents of a former student we can only say that the we have witnessed our son/daughter go through a horrendous experience. Why post here? Because the same theme is repeated by differents posters - Bullying, intimidation, retaliation, especially toward students that speak up - a true nightmare -

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

if u don't get it..

Doctor of Psychology - May 25, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Yeah, I went. I paid the dues and the ridiculous money. I watched people I could not respect matriculate through the b.s. program and I kinda lost hope, passion and respect for the profession. Really, a decade down the drain. in my first semester in the program a very ill-equipped instructor told the class "if u don't get it F U" after poor mid-term reviews. Next term she got full-time status. Lovely. Just one of the chinks in the chain. At my APA internship I observed abuses but was intimidated into shutting up by some stellar ISPP grads who run the program. I found a job outside the field and never bothered to sit for boards. It's really embarrassing. Recently at a play group I me a woman who quit Argosy disgusted they admitted an abusive alchoholic and streamlined this dysfunctional student through despite her bad bx. Wish I stuck with DePaul. Could have for less time and cash.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Devastating Experience at Argosy

Doctor of Psychology - July 30, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you are considering Argosy University go to www.magerlawyers.com and review Hamel V Argosy. This case is in progress. Argosy Parent

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Clinical psych program

Doctor of Psychology - March 12, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am enrolled in the clinical psych program at argosy. I got my MA and am almost done with the psyd. I am do not know if ppl on this site are aware of the history of how argosy was formed. Argosy was originally individual state schools of profesional psychology. ISPP, the illinois school of proffesional psych was the first profesional school of psych that existed period. Ask ppl in the field, psychologists, they will tell you that ISPP has a good reputation. during the 90's the psych schools and the u in sarasota and a medical school in mn, i think, formed together and made "agrosy unuversity" (If I messed up some small detail in describing this dont crucify me.) The PSYCHOLOGY PSYD program is in a different league then the rest of the stuff going on at argosy. The Psyd at argosy is based on a very solid and reputable program that has been around since the APA created the Psyd degree. I know a number (about 5 or 6) graduates of ISPP (argosy) who are very gainfully employed, you can do your own google search, instead of typing in argosy, type in ISPP and you wil find many gainfully employed respected psychologists. That being said, I am in the program now, and I know the ups and downs of it. we just had match day for internship a bit over a month ago, and on my campus the match rate was 96%. We only have one student now without a site and that is bec of her geographic limitation. What are the negatives of the PsyD program here? 1- It is very competitive to get practicum sites, keep in mind you need 2 or 3 of them b4 internship. 2- Argosy does not have their own counseling site. 3- Tuition is out of control I think argosy is trying to piggyback business and education programs off of the Psych programs good record, and that is not fair to us psych students who work off our tails and hear that other students are getting an easy ride from argosy.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Argosy University in any way.