Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Argosy University

  • Argosy University Reviews

    Ranking: #79
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Argosy University is accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, California, 94501, http://www.wscuc.org).

2.4
269 Reviews
5 38 
4 55 
3 23 
2 51 
1 102 
0 0 

Argosy University Reviews:

Great on line experience!

Psych - May 25, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I earned my Masters degree in Human Services. I found all of the courses and instructors interesting and they helped me learn a lot.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Wish I never

Psych - June 13, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm being given that don't pertain to my field, I wish I never did this already up $ 33.0000 it's crazy I can't wait to get away from this school if you 50 plus years and slow learner like me think twice

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

should have just went to a REAL school

Psych - September 17, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended this school for a year now. It seems like they only answer the questions that they want to answer, rather than the ones I am asking. With all the money that I am spending for this school for one year, I could have put into a local college for 2. It's sad these are supposed to be "college level" classes, yet a family member who's only 8 can do my work with ease. I spend no time researching and doing my essays, yet pass with flying colors, unless it's late. THIS COLLEGE IS A SCAM. I'm stuck here until graduation and have no clue what I should do. You are better off buying a brand new sports car than going here, after all, the sports car costs less! NEVER AGAIN!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Have to Put In The Work!!!

Psych - June 12, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I read a few of the negative reviews from current and former students and I wondered if it is the same university. I have a GPA of 3.5 and I am a junior studying for a Bachelors in Psychology. I have had only ONE horrible Professor. Although, some have been very strict with course requirements. However, I have been very pleased so far. I have had a few personal and medical issues that caused me to withdraw from classes on two separate occasions. My Academic Counselor worked with me. I was checked on and given a coach. I have even received assistance from counseling services when necessary. Professors/Instructors have responded in a timely fashion. The courses are fast paced and require time, focus, and dedication. Because of the fast pace, there is a lot of reading. I have wanted to quit and on those occasions I reached out to my Academic Counselor. The tuition is a bit steep, but I do not know any university where it is not. Okay, my one issue I wish it was possible to keep the same Academic Counselor through graduation. I love my current Academic Counselor, Amy, and I hope she remains my Academic Counselor until graduation. I recommend Argosy Online. Also, how can a school be so poorly run and have an A+ rating with the BBB? YJ

Was this review helpful?

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Poor quality of education

Psych - June 4, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

During my entire educational experience with Argosy, I had three instructors who seemed to actually be interested in teaching. Most instructors did not bother to return emails or phone calls. Feedback on most assignments was nonexistent. The online lecture notes frequently used out of date material (many books were out of date as well). Christian counselors imposed religious values during education. The support system with Argosy's counselors was decent quality but frequently counselors did not return phone calls for several days. Argosy does not seem to care about education, the school cares about collecting tuition fees. Modern technology could be incorporated to include lectures from instructors instead of extremely limited module notes. The website constantly had technical issues. Teaching was inconsistent with APA style. Some instructors appeared to have skipped reading it. Instructor feedback is extremely important and is a major component of education that you will not receive from Argosy's online programs. Instructors are frequently not available during the few hours a week that they have office hours, do not provide adequate feedback, and truly do not seem to care about anything other than an easy paycheck. Ironically, the counselors claim that Argosy is one of the top online programs for psychology but when I applied for a job that I should have been qualified for, the employer said that the Argosy graduates he had experience with did not have the basic skills and knowledge that a person with an associate's degree would have. PsiChi will not allow Argosy to have a chapter. Some books that students pay to access online are only custom scaled-down versions (although they are the same price as the other electronic textbooks required). If you are looking for a piece of paper for a degree without an education, Argosy offers it. Just don't expect to be prepared to work in the psychology field with your degree (and I don't mean just because they are not APA accredited).

Was this review helpful?

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful

No Empathy, No Care

Psych - March 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First off, let me say that the enrollment process was the easiest thing about this place. The first 2 instructors I had were great then everything went to hell. We were told in the beginning not to start another assignment unless the previous was finished. In my 3rd class A3 was due before A1 and I got a tardy mark on that assignment. I couldn't get in touch with the instructor. In another class, I made a mistake turning in A1 under the A2 tab so I sent an email to the instructor explaining what had happened and resent the assignment as A1, she recieved it and confirmed that she saw the mistake and it was graded.. When A2 was due, I sent it as A2 (that would have made 2 A2 assignments turned in) and I recieved an email saying that the A2 assignment was actually A1. No kidding, I thought I had told her that in an email. So now it's been almost 2 weeks and that assignment STILL hasn't been graded and I have heard NOTHING from the instructor. The same thing happened in a Composition I class as we were writing Argumentative Essays. Well, each weeks assignments were the steps in the essay (contents, abstract, thesis, conclusion) well the "parts" weren't being graded on time and no one could move forward until they knew that their thesis or abstract was correct or not. It was seriously frustrating. Now, I am moving to another state about 1,000 miles away. I asked for an assignment extension and I was denied. I was told that I need to do the best I can to get the assignment in on time and that I could use the mobile site. When I move I have to set up cable and internet again and the mobile site only allows for discussion boards. :/ I'm not happy and I am withdrawing from the school.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Pretty descent school

Psych - January 11, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I find it very welcoming .The staff is friendly and supportive overall I would prefer this school over schools like National Louis ,Phoenix or even west-wood College. Overall it is a pretty descent school and the downtown location is convenient and accessible dorm the union station.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Choose another school PLEASE!!!

Psych - January 9, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my BA in psychology, but I wish i never went there. I was told that I would graduate months before I was suppose to. Then I get told that i couldn't because I had a lot more other courses that i had to take. It cost to much and not worth it. Most teachers there are alumni students and i can teach a class better than they can. I had one teacher who actually taught a class to potential. Don't waste your time!!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Great Psychology Program at AU Online

Psych - December 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my BA in Psychology last month and I was so pleased with the education I received at Argosy Online that I decided to reenroll for my Masters! Their Psychology program is absolutely wonderful and I truly feel like I learned just as much if not more than I would have at a regular campus. After transfering to Argosy from from Ashford I felt a world of difference - the people and the support I got from my Admissions and Academic Counselors is wonderful. I really feel like they actually cared about ME and not just a paycheck. I had a terrible time getting my financial aid cleared with Ashford and when I came to Argosy it was done within one week. My professors were very nice and when my father passed and I missed a week of classes everyone was very understanding and helped me catch up. I would highly recommend Argosy online to anyone who is trying to make a decision between online schools.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Are they really serious?

Psych - November 21, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending Argosy University Online for a little over a year now. Shortly after starting, I began questioning the competency of my instructors. My admissions rep kept telling me that everyone was certified to teach the courses. Well, my current "instructor" is a parole officer who went to some unaccredited college out of Kenya. I started to dig deeper and found that the US Attorney's Office of western PA and the Department of Justice have filed court cases against Argosy for fraud. Seems they just take the money and run. They also misrepresent the courses. I have a 4.0 and have never even read the lecture notes or the text books online. I have turned in papers that I was sure I would get a low grade on. Not so. I keep receiving high grades for substandard work. I have even gone as far as deliberatley turning in shoddy work just to see what kind of grade I will get. Still all A's. Also it seems like I keep getting stuck in classes with people who have no conception of punctuation, spelling, or correct grammar. This is supposed to be a university and I have to read crap posted by 2nd graders. Wait, 2nd graders have better spelling and so forth. Even half of my instructors can't spell or use proper punctuation or grammar. I am done with this school at the end of this class on Dec. 20th. I have wasted enough time and money. Go to Argosy if you don't really want to learn and have no self respect. As for me, I am taking my loan money some place else. A place that is made for learning, not just out for profits.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

They sure know how to screw you over.

Psych - November 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I went to Argosy for about a year. I was pressured into going to school online. I had just had a baby and going to a campus school was really hard for me at the time, because I was not working and could not pay for daycare. I did a little research, and found Argosy. At first, it seemed like a pretty good school. After a few months, I decided that I wanted to go back to a campus. My son was a little older, and I was working so I could pay for daycare. I spoke with my academic advisor and HINTED at transferring...and that's when all the BS began. They started withdrawing me from my class without my permission. Mind you, I had not completed any official withdrawal paperwork with the school. So, I had to call the school, explain to them that I HAD not yet withdrawn, and to let me finish the class. They fixed the problem and I was able to access the class again, but after a few days, I was withdrawn from the class again without my permission. So, I made another phone call and they let me access the class forum again. Then, they withdrew me a THIRD TIME without my permission!!!! After the third time, I said screw Argosy and let it happen. BIG MISTAKE. Argosy is now claiming that I asked to be withdrawn and since I had I now owe them $1,290. When all this mess was their fault in the first place! I refuse to pay it...because I was attending my class. I never did an official withdrawl, and everytime I called to complain, they said that I had to have documents from my conversations with the people I spoke to at Argosy about them withdrawing me (how the hell am I supposed to get transcripts of a conversation????) So, now I am trying to transfer to a school in my hometown that is an actual non-profit university, and can't because of the INCOMPETENT MORONS at Argosy. DO NOT waste your time, money, or energy with this school. Go somewhere else for an online program. Trust me, you'll be better off in the long run. Because once you hint at moving to a new school, they'll figure out ways to screw you three ways from Sunday. Thanks Argosy "University". You all suck at life.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

not recommended

Psych - November 9, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I cannot imagine a school with lower academic standards. I had two great professors, two who were so-so, three bad, and two HORRIBLE, useless instructors. This is the lowest quality education you will find. They change to a five-week class schedule in Fall 2012, which was a terrible idea and I never would have enrolled in a school that only spent five weeks on a subject. If you want to skate through classes taught by incompetent instructors and be awarded a degree without learning anything, then by all means, enroll at argosy. If you want a degree that you can be proud of, go somewhere else. Do not waste your time or money at this school.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Horrible Admissions-LIES

Psych - October 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I contacted this school to potentially complete my Bachelors. I have a ton of units and was comparing schools to see what would be best and take the most of my units. The admissions rep Cindy told me to bring my transcripts and she would get them evaluated and tell me exactly what will transfer. My fiance and I went in, wasted 2 hours for her to just walk out and walk back in and say oh, you will have 60 easy transfer according to her supervisor, no worries. Didnt take it to get evaluated properly. When I asked for that proper eval she promissed, she said they dont do that. Then while on the tour, someone in that department said "oh, you should have your transcripts evaluated to see what will transfer". But again, back in her office, "we dont do that". WOW. Can you smell BAIT AND SWITCH. And than, we hardly learned anything about the school, but more about who Cindy has worked for, who she cant stand, how bad the OC campus is.. blah blah blah. I had to interupt her to get her back on track to tell me about the SCHOOL! HORRIBLE! WHAT A WASTE.. Then try and call to speak to someone and try to GET good info... its laughable! I WONT be attending this school, they eliminated themselves!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Year 2 Right College for me Yess!!

Psych - September 22, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I transfer from another school the end of last year, and I have to say that every single class I have taken so far I'm either dealing with that situation or I just came out of situation where I have grown!. I am loving Argosy!! Even when I began to struggle a little the whole team was patient and understanding! Because of this my GPA is rising to the top, and begin a 40 yrs old mother of 3 grown sons...I have to say I still got it and Argosy is helping me make it happen! Blessed Student! A.Taylor

Was this review helpful?

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Bad

Psych - September 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been attending Argosy under my POST 9/11 G.I. Bill. The school is not military friendly AT ALL. Normally the classes are 5 weeks long but I had to take a 15 week course in order to get my fulkl benefits. I did not mind this but what was bad about it was that I was in the class all by myself. It was awkward and I did not learn anything. Most of my classes had 3 or 4 people in it and only 1 or 2 would show up to class at a time. This school is not good for military.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Worst school ever due to poor Business practices

Psych - May 19, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I thought that so long as I knew what I was doing their reputation for poor business practices wouldn't affect me. I was completely wrong! I have no problem with them being for profit, but when they utilize deceitful practices for their profit at the expense of the students... I'm done. I should have gotten the clue when they kept losing documents - official documents including my taxes - but I tried to have faith. My mistake. I am taking my education dollars elsewhere and will complete my degree at a college that is respectable.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

BA in Psychology with minor in substance abuse

Psych - May 3, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had trouble transfering credits from auo to PSU. Besides that this college was great and I am glad that I stayed!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Glad I figured it out early -- all about the $$$$

Psych - March 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was concerned almost immediately when it became apparent that the majority of the students in my classes had a very poor grasp on basic spelling and grammar. The instructor was also a student there, and I had to correct him after he incorrectly graded a paper. It's called 'blended learning' but the actual on campus classes were a waste of time. I haven't attended long enough to review the school for the most part, but I do feel like the admissions rep I dealt with was a bit like a used car salesman. I was told not to worry about my concerns with math (I've always had difficulties with math). Now I'm being told that I can't schedule classes for the next semester until I pass the Math Accuplacer, which I knew would be a problem. "Don't worry! We'll help you and make sure you succeed" I was told. Now it seems I'll have to take an additional class or two that I wasn't expecting, at a tuition rate that is ridiculous. 3 weeks in and I'm applying to a local university that costs half as much. I'm kicking myself for ever even starting here.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful

BA psych program

Psych - February 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I read the reviews among numerous colleges and I see the same comments. I have 5 classes left to obtain by BA in psychology at Argosy. I knew what field I will be doing after I graduate, so I decided to pursue the educational institute that will train me into the field I am pursuing. This is step one-knowing exactly what you want to do before spending thousands of dollars. Basically, it comes down to this, we were taught in highschool and those that did not listen, are screwed when it comes time to college. All colleges facilitate, they dont teach. We use the knowledge we were taught in highschool and apply in college. While you are in college, you are learning to be creative, independent, and mature. This is what separates those from needing their hands held to those that can think abstractly on their own. As I read the reviews about Argosy, I cannot help to think that the negative comments people wrote about were becasue they probably showed immaturaty, needed their hands held because in real life, they could not figure things out on their own, or are just plain lazy, then decided to blame something else (typical human behavior). The facilitators in the BA Psych program at Argosy are PHD, PsyD level instructors or facilitators who uphold certain acedemic requirments. Please note: they were expected to uphold the same acedemic requirments. They also work in the field of psychology during the day. I have seen students argue about failing their papers, those students are no longer at the school, but one could see them digging ditches (to pay back for the wasted money they spent) for roads to be made so other educated people can peacefully go to work in a nice cool air conditioned car while it is 110 degrees outside. Get the point! If you do not conform or do what is necessary to conform to the acedemic standards that Argosy strictly enforces, you are screwed. So those that did conform, we will see you digging those ditches in the hot, humid temperatures. On a side note, my girlfriend is an MBA graduate of the University of Chicago, and she is amazed at some of the cognitive complexities that is involved with figuring out the assignments at Argosy. They are challenging, time consuming, and require strict acedemic policies. I appreciate this at Argosy and I get along with all the instructors. I have had a wonderful experience and I am motived to become what they are training me to be and I show it. This is what they want to see. Thanks and good luck!

Was this review helpful?

25 of 29 people found the following review helpful

So Far, So Good

Psych - February 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Well, to be honest here: I am a VERY old fashioned student. I enjoy the simple times when we could use pencil and paper to write an essay in place of silly internet sources. However, the school as been AMAZING with communication and assistance. I came from a silly Community College that didn't help at all. I have been amazed with the amount of support the Admin has given.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Second year and I love it!

Psych - December 2, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm in my second year at Argosy and have had a great experience all around. When a problem has came up the advisers were right on it. The professors have been out standing and willing to help when needed. I would recommend This University to others in a heart beat.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Really? No alternatives?

Psych - August 24, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My problem with this school is versatility. You would think because the school focuses on Psychology, Education, and Business they would realize that not everyone is the same. I have dyscalculia which is a math learning disability. I had great difficulty with the beginning review math class, and somehow passed by mostly guessing, and help of friends and family. I now have Quantitative Literacy math class, I'm having extreme difficulties with this class because of my dyscalculia. I emailed my academic counselor and asked for her assistance. Apparently this school doesn't offer alternative classes, so basically if a class is too difficult for you, you're out of luck and fail. I try my very hardest, spending hours before and after work on my assignments until the very last second it can be turned in. I feel discriminated against, just because I have a learning disability doesn't make me stupid or unworthy of continuing my education. I was told to go to limited after school tutoring, call my teacher, or youtube how to do my homework, like I havn't tried that and I'm just some lazy piece of crap looking for a free ride through college. This is ridiculous that there isn't an easier math class for those who are slower in math or who have a learning disability. This is not my fault, I didn't ask for this.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Argosy is all about the money and not the student

Psych - March 7, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am Currently attending the Argosy campus in Orange California. When i first entered this University i was excited about the decision i have made. Now i am regreting it . From Financial Aid to the Intake process to Transcripts sent over from other institutions. Argosy University took all of my money in the past Year and a half and im not even half way thru my degree program. I personally could of attended another Universtity and at least had some of my Major classes toward my degree out of the way. Argosy campus of orange had me takeing courses that was not even discussed in the intake process. I was told that once i enter i could begin takeing my classes toward my bachlors degree in psychology I had to take 3 additional math classes and now im in a stats class. i feel like i have spent all my time on going no where. Other experience include no so much support from Members in the student service center very discourageing .

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Love it!

Psych - March 1, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am suprised at the reviews I have read here. I think that often students don't complete the work, don't follow the guidelines and then blame the institution. I have done ver well here at Argosy and I graduate with my BA in Psych next month. I have found my classes challenging and interesting and my teachers supportive and informative. I have nothing bad to say and would definately recommend Argosy to other students!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Argosy Online Division- I love it!

Psych - January 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I love this school, I don't know what everyone else is talking about.. I've only had one bad experience, the professor was a dick. The only problem I've been having is due to my finance aid because my dad is now refusing to sign it, Argosy is doing their best trying to help me out even though they really don't have to.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful

So Far So Good!

Psych - October 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently a student at Argosy, and I have had a great experience thus far. My academic adviser calls me at least once a week to make sure I have no questions. The facilitators have been very easy to understand and helpful with any questions. Anyone I email or call about a question I may have responds within 48 hours of the question with an answer and explanation. I am so glad that I decided to go with Argosy!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great if you can't think for yourself

Psych - April 8, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Like many others, I was very excited to start at Argosy but I quickly became very disenchanted with the quality of the education. I had several transfer credits, many of which were classes that I would need to take to complete my bachelors and was told that they would count towards my gen ed, as they were 200 level and the ones offered at Argosy were in the 400 level. Imagine my surprise when I was told by several profs that I had a better grasp of much of the material than they did...and better yet the abnormal psych class that I was promised that as a 400 class would challenge me instead proved to be one of the biggest wastes of time in my educational career. In most classes I didn't read the books and only briefly skimmed the online lectures and had no problem with the assignments. Yes, everyone enjoys a class or two that are easy A's, that way you can take them with something more challenging and know that you will have a great semester; but do you really want to pay for a class where you end up correcting the teacher on the basics of a subject that they are supposed experts at? (And yes, they did have to admit in class that they were wrong...great job guys!) In the year that I have been here I have had only one teacher that believed in pushing one's boundaries and his words of advice and support will be the one positive thing that I will carry forward. He made a statement about one of my papers, that it was what is normally expected from a grad student was both greatly appreciated and also a bit sad. I guess that I expected more out of the school and my fellow classmates, as I never would have considered my work to be more than what was expected. Scenarios given for discussion were many times stereotypical, missing needed information to make a clear clinical decision, or completely out of date and for someone who wants to be pushed this is just not acceptable. If you are the type of person who is highly intelligent, tends to be analytical, will question authority when they are wrong, and has the ability to think beyond the written word and see the big picture, then Argosy is not for you. I am done with Argosy at the end of this month and am moving on to working on my Masters elsewhere, but I will carry the feeling that I wasted a year of loan money and time on a year of lower than average education.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Wonder why complainers don't give their names!

Psych - April 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my third semester for a BA in psychology. I have had some issues with support, but you are going to have issues anywhere you go. I have had a problem with one teacher over grades, but that happens everywhere too! Things do not always run smoothly for any institution. To those who complain, I wonder why you are keeping it anonymous? I find the educational content challenging and I find the freedom of scheduling my own pace wonderful. And thank you for the person who also did the homework and found Argosy accredited for this degree.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Very Displeased

Psych - March 28, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was psyched when I became a student at Argosy University-Online. Until I found out they didn't accept all of the transfer credits they said they would. Instead of going in as a junior, almost senior, they had me as a sophomore. Then, when I asked for help on making an appeal for my transfer credits, I got none. Although I had one exceptional teacher, my psych teacher was horrible. She was unwilling to help me with any concerns, changed guidelines after assignments were turned in, and was not encouraging. I agree with other comments here that Argosy seems more worried about getting money than teaching students. Never will I advise others to attend AU.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Respond to Lower Education

Psych - February 24, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

To the person who said that argosy was not accredited by the APA you are dead wrong, check the apa website, they are. For the psychology world (not talking about any other programs at the school) it is a good school (used to be known and the professional school of psychology). Argosy Educators are professionals actually work in the field they are teaching now. They already have jobs doing what people are going to school for. Also the statistics of internships for those who have graduated in the last year is over 90%. Seriously do some research...of your own!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

So far so good

Psych - November 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When other schools just tried to get my money, the staff and teachers at Argosy University really know who I am and want me to have a successful future. I am very thankful for the opportunity they have given me to represent their school. I know alot of people aren't happy but my experience has been great and I really enjoy my classes.

Was this review helpful?

Great!!!

Psych - October 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my degree yesterday and I couldn't be more pleased. I went from a well known private college to Argosy with high expectations. I am a mother of three small children and I work full time. This program was very challenging and I spent many hundred hours completing course work over the course of the degree. Each person will have a different expereince but for me it was the perfect match. As far as standards are concered, I already worked for the State Department of Behavioral Health and all of the instruction I received was very relevant to the field!!

Was this review helpful?

Not so good

Psych - July 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have to agree with Copurnikus, the instructors for the most part are really great, however support is non existent in my experience. For example, in April, Argosy changed it's campus of record. However they neglected to change the school code in a timely manner. This was disclosed to me by someone at Sally Mae. Their mistake was then taken out on the students, as Argosy had to cancel all the loans and resubmit them. As a result we did not receive our stipends when promised, as per the announcement on their web page. After changing the disbursement date numerous times, without ever notifying the students, other than changing the date on the web page, Argosy then took the bulk of the student loans to pay present and future tuition and made the students wait an extra two months for the Pell Grants to come in. I really feel that as a consumer, I am held responsible when I break a financial commitment,and I believe that Argosy should be held responsible as well. In addition they have just raised their tuition by 30.00 per credit for the second time this year. I believe this makes them one of the most expensive online schools out there at 510.00 per credit for a BA in psychology......ridiculous!

Was this review helpful?

I am about to seek a lawyer and report to news

Psych - May 14, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I can't believe that I got into this school I am not just thinking but in a week or two getting a lawyer to get my money back and then ake this to an ethics commitee and supreme court they get your money and ascrew yoiu into the ground the really sad part is that I was an honor student at my high school a real extra curricular activity girl and planned on becoming a child psychologist or teacher, this woman name starts with an S called and basically talked me into going man swear it on my lips PLEASE DO NOT COME HERE I AM GOING TO SUE THIS SCHOOL. I HAVE HAD ENOUGH OF GETTING SCREWED OVER. I REMEMBER THE DAYS WHEN EVERY UNIVERSITY WAS WORTH THE DEGREE I SINCERLY HOPE THIS SCHOOL GETS SHUT DOWN AND I WILL BE SO HAPPY.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Doctoral

Psych - May 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just started my Doctoral of Business at Argosy and have not had any issues with them. I'm also taking classes online so I can set my schedule as needed as there are other things going on right now in my professional life. Because I am an academic scholar, it was important to find a university that could meet my needs. Ultimately, it took a review of four universities before making the choice to attend Argosy for my Doctorate. I just started my second class for my Doctorate and I have been able to use my prior skills and experience from my executive and technical career. I look forward to starting the next research class and continuing my dissertation writing as I will be continuing my technical research. On a final note, to the student that complained against Argosy, they may want to read their FASFA contract as if they are under federal aid they have take a specific amount of credit hours otherwise their federal aid will be voided. Regards, S. Elvins, MBA BA, BSMIS

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

BA Psych Argosy Orange County Campus

Psych - May 5, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Argosy University is TERRIBLE. The classes are crappy and a total rip off. I was new in my BA for Psychology, and I was workign a lot, so I called the school to find out if I could take less classes without it affecting my financial aid, and they said yes and not to worry about it. Two months later I was billed for the class I did take plus the class I did not take- over $3,000. The staff who had advised me that I could drop an extra class had gotten fired... as everyone does at Argosy. From the year that I went to Argosy, my account went through so many different people. One of my classes even consisted of watching a movie and writing which character I liked best. AS IF WE"RE IN MIDDLE SCHOOL! They over charged me for books and tution as well. I even wrote a letter to the school about an issue I was having an never recieved anything back from them. They dont care about the education the student recieve nor the well being of their students. DO NOT ATTEND ARGOSY!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Academic Dishonesty Running Rampant

Psych - March 3, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been extensively plagiarized by three other students on three separate occasions. I've only been in two classes so far. The students have been allowed to remain in the class and pass the course. The assistant dean and my advisor have made a show of concern but have made it clear they are not responsible for policy. This is a master's program and a few of the students cannot even form a sentence much less make an articulate argument. Most schools have a zero tolerance policy. I guess money is more important than integrity.

Was this review helpful?

Poor

Psych - March 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

not impressed with the overall culture at the school. There is little to no support from the administration.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Feeling Cheated

Psych - February 9, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wish I could give a positive review about my overall experience because I did have such a wonderful interaction with the teachers and I also enjoyed the course work. Yet, six months into my program, I have decided to withdraw because of the unethical sales practices that got me here. My admissions advisor confirmed that Argosy would accept my transfer credits because I made it very clear that I would not enroll if they didn't. Over two months later, I found out they wouldn't. In six months I have enjoyed all of my courses - I have a 3.9 GPA, but now I find that I will have to take three years of classes as if I don't have a degree already. What's worse is I now find out that both colleges are owned by the same company. In accounting we call that taking money out of your left pocket and putting it in your right. I won't say that Argosy is worthless for everyone, but I will say that they should probably take a business ethics class before they should be able to teach one. I do however intend to follow the Arbitration process. Argosy outlines in their own handbook that the arbitration clause shall remain even after you leave the school. I think all of the students who have been burned should contact the Dept. of Education.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Argosy University in any way.