Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Argosy University

  • Argosy University Reviews

    Ranking: #79
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Argosy University is accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, California, 94501, http://www.wscuc.org).

2.4
269 Reviews
5 38 
4 55 
3 23 
2 51 
1 102 
0 0 

Argosy University Reviews:

non-licensure for ALL online programs

MA of Forensic Psychology - July 3, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As an older student, I am going to be truthful here; I had one very bad experience with an instructor who would not communicate in a timely manner for a project, this caused delays and then I could not finish it on time and she would not give me more time even though it was in her discretion to do so, right in the middle of me travelling to see my son graduate from basic training in the Army. For this failed class, I tried to file a complaint on the instructor, which I had a right to, but process seemed too rigorous so I opted to not file a complaint. I continued and I have 3 more classes. I just found out that my program is a non licensure program which I assumed there was some other option to do forensic counseling because all the class examples involve counselling. Yet in this state, you must be licensed to do counseling. So I asked for a call from my advisor which took 2 weeks, which he called and I found out that any licensure programs in this state, must have as on-campus for the program. So, all this course/class work on counselling and I can never use it! I totally misunderstood the details of what Masters level psychologists can do. I got it now. I'll finish my program and go to a licensure program elsewhere. So now add some more money and time to the $60,000 I owe to the student loans I have already.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 16 people found the following review helpful

How is this place getting APA accredited? Ugh!

MA of Forensic Psychology - September 20, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Argosy was such an awful experience, which was mostly due to the professors who were obviously there to collect a part time job paycheck and that was it. One professor sent out a bizarre rambling email that he was high on painkillers among other ramblings. There was no support and no mentoring. It was such a negative experience compared to my undergrad experience. I'd never consider Argosy for a doctoral program. Among the policies on top of policies that change with the winds, the two worst? The entire forensic psychology program was changed without a word of it to students. The treatment and assessment programs were merged together. There were so many assessment courses, I almost quit. Secondly, they do not refund or credit you if you have a medical emergency and are hospitalized while in the middle of a class. They suggest appealing the policy and trying to get your money back. This hope is dismal at best. And, this is the place teaching me ethics? What a big fat joke. Stealing from sick people is wrong.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Critical thinkers only apply

MA of Forensic Psychology - August 21, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I already had a graduate degree before I enrolled in the MAFP program. I wanted to further my knowledge. If you do your research, an MA in Forensic Psychology does little but enhance your credentials for a job you may already have in the field. This can mean understanding the interaction of psychology and the law and legal precedents that impact the field. This said I left the program with an intense understanding of the nexus between psychology and the law. One of my colleagues who is Harvard educated was amazed at how much I got out of the program. The majority of the complaints I see here seem to be based on consumerist expectations and not the investment in knowledge building. Graduate school is not a space for hand holding. You do most of your work in the library and research. When I was working on my PHD, our classes essentially discussed our research and got feedback. Not every professor is stellar. I went to a world class research institution and studied / worked with a famous scholar who was the WORST professor ever and I had left my life to move out of state. Grad school isn't for everyone and more often than not the student weeds himself out. The faculty that taught me in this program were stellar. I researched them all and made my decisions based on their work. Not all were stellar but as a professional I wrote them outside the context of the assignments to gain knowledge they were excited to impart. I was was probably the jerk in the program that reported plagiarism because I wanted this MA to at least mean something. You get what you invest in the program and yourself.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Use As A Last Resort Only

MA of Forensic Psychology - December 31, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have no doubt this school, like many, tracks negative online reviews of their programs and attempts to identify the student if still enrolled-the agenda of which is to harm the student, not address the issues the student has. Because of that I am unwilling to provide specifics, but my experience with this school has so far been that it should be an absolute last resort for anyone seeking a degree in any of their offered fields of study-as it was for me, and as it should be with any for profit private educational corporation. All of them are scams, and I can only hope that the homework I did when looking into this school will pay off in the end, but whatever you do, don't get talked into getting a degree what doesn't have an outside accreditation-the admissions "counselors" will make it sound as if accreditation is almost a bad thing, which should make one wonder in and of itself-or get an undergraduate degree from this school. I am not often one to voice complaints, since I believe we make our own beds in this life, but my experience at Argosy has been such that I feel totally within my rights to warn others that this really is a last resort for an education, and even then only at a graduate level in an accredited program, such as the APA approved PsyD programs, but never for one that is not accredited by an outside body and never for an undergraduate degree. In a good job market those degrees will be meaningless, in today's job market they will be seen as a joke.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Angry Student

MA of Forensic Psychology - December 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school took money from my VA benefits and refuses to apply them to my account even with proof they were paid! The instructors are unprofessional; they will insult and harass you. If you ask them for help be prepared to be docked on points on ALL of your assignments! I graduated my last 2 schools with honors and know how much work and applying yourself goes into good grades. If you report the instructors, you get laughed at. And forget about trying to withdraw because they wont let you. I am on 9 weeks of waiting to get a phone call back! I was told in writing that the online EdD program WAS APA accredited due to the fact that the residency can be done at an APA accredited school. I was also pushed through enrollment with the "we will call you back on that" to never get a call back. Now my student loans need to be signed for and they refuse to allow me to withdraw from school and are trying to get students loans without my signature or approval!! I wish I found this before experiencing such a nightmare. I have worked with several advisors and their managers and the response is always the same - leave weeks of voicemails and their little people will say "they will call you back, I am sending them an email". They will NEVER call you back unless they are getting money out of it! I am totally disgusted with this school! I have been trying to figure out how to report them since I requested to withdraw BEFORE this term started and they went so far as to have the instructor call to let me know my assignmnet is late! To which I had to explain that I requested to withdraw and they enrolled me regardless in class because they wont return any of my messages. They last 3 times I spoke with somebody I got "disconnected" in the process of "getting things handled". If anybody has any advice on how I can get out of this school, stop them from taking student loans out, and I have written proof of requesting to withdraw BEFORE this term but they are charging me for the ENTIRE year up front with NO refund as they have said... please let me know?!?!?!

Was this review helpful?

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Graduated 2012 Not Supported but Challenged

MA of Forensic Psychology - November 4, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have graduated and while I understand it is a terminal degree with very little in the way of real world meaning. I do believe that you get out of it what you put into it. I didn't do it for licensure, I did it to improve my understanding in a variety of areas. While the education was expensive, there are no programs like this in Kansas so I didn't have a lot of choice. I rated the program high overall because the work was challenging if you took it seriously as was the comprehensive evaluation which many of my classmates didn't pass. Also, while I had a few teachers who were distant and unresponsive, for the most part I had excellent teachers with a lot of experience to share. However as previously stated they facilitate discussions and not so much teach, as that is more self guided. However this is something I liked because I would rather read the information. As for support from the academic advisors and financial advisors, there is none, and the turnover is ridiculous. I only rated them a two because they were prompt in calling back. The only administrator I had good luck with was the individual who did my admission and I kept in touch with her all the way through. While they are a for-profit and some things are certainly questionable, I had a positive experience class wise but I would suggest knowing what your goals are at the end as that could certainly effect if Argosy is the program for you. Just remember you get what you put into it! I will decide going forward what I want to do but I know for me Argosy allowed me to accomplish what I intended to do.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Huge Deception

MA of Forensic Psychology - August 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have an MA in Forensic Psychology from this school. I graduated with a 4.0. I was one of the few who actually researched the assignments, did not plagiarize, and traveled to meet with the various assigned persons. When I was unable to find a job, and head over heels in debt, I finally learned the facts. There is no recognized degree in Psychology at the masters level. A forensic degree is generally attained after both completing an APA accredited program, receiving an exemplary PHD, and either accomplishing a great deal in the field or pursuing lengthy studies. The school is neck deep in law suits. These include one by the Department of Justice seeking repayment of 12 Billion dollars in loans fraudulently extracted from students. The school is being investigated by several accreditation agencies. Enroll at your own risk, but you need only search this web under the parent company name EDMC to find out for yourself. For me, well I have that doctorate now, I also have a masters from a real school. Nobody would accept my credits for transfer and nobody would recognize the degree. When I was able to take forensic courses (electives at the end of a long road to my PHD) I found that I did not even have the basics and the materials I had been taught were either obsolete or had no value in the field. Good luck, but try to find a real school, where you interface with real professors, real students, and get to use a real library.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful

negative experience with online experience

MA of Forensic Psychology - August 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently half way though the Forensic Psychology (MA) program. I would say it's really hit or miss with instructors. I have had good and bad. I attend the Sarasota campus and have had a great experience there overall. Unfortunately,time restraints don't always allow me to commit to on-campus courses and the 100% online courses tend to be were I find the issues. With Argosy being somewhat of alternative for many adults, the many online only instructors lack empathy. Late work is graded very unfair. If submitted more then 3 days late in my last course you received a letter grade "F". Recently, I took a research course and I had a terminally ill family member (sister) the instructor showed no empathy even with my updated communication. Also, the attendance policy has changed and you are required to be in a course every session or you will be dropped and you are charged for courses regardless of registering for courses...a flat fee minimum per term. I would only recommend this program to someone who has no other option and can attend the blended only courses. The Sarasota program has been positive.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Ridiculous

MA of Forensic Psychology - July 31, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Not only did I have a teacher harrassing me and showed proof, but then she turned around and turned me in. I thought...GREAT! They've already seen my documentation. Nothing happend to her and I got punished not once, BUT TWICE as it was taken HIGHER UP! I was astonished. How is it that the Professors can make statements and tell students that their grade depended on a book, then in the library the book was not even there! I had proof! At any rate. RIGHT after, I left Argosy and my financial aid explained to me IN AN EMAIL THAT I HAVE, that I am complete, everything is fine and not to worry. Since then, I keep recieveing bills from them stateing that I owe money, EVEN AFTER submitting my email FROM finanacial aid! I would not use this school if it was the ONLY school left on the planet!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Argosy is a nightmare

MA of Forensic Psychology - July 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school has the most INCOMPETENT professors, academic and fianancial aid advisors. Also, if you file a complaint againt a professor, they'll retaliate and file an erroneous one on you!! This school is a joke - and just wants your money, most of the professor can't or don't want to teach, we're told we'll get E-books, and then have to BUY additional books out of pocket. They decide to raise tuition rates right around the time stipends are due, and then try to gyp you out of a portion of your stipeneds. Happened to me TWICE. The turnover is unreal - and they're always hiring. As of 7/27/12 I'm in a class with only 3 others. A lot of lawsuits they've tried to cover up, and they won't allow student lounges anymore. Certainly not purusing my doctorate here!!!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid

MA of Forensic Psychology - July 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Started Summer Session May 7, 2012 it is now July 23rd and still have not received financial aid

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Argosy Forensic Psych M.A...good Program, relatively challenging.

MA of Forensic Psychology - July 1, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been relatively satisfied with my degree program thus far. I am finishing up my third course with Argosy and the material has been very interesting. I have been able to apply some of the aspects I have learned in the courses to my professional life in law enforcement and have gained perspective in my viewpoint towards mental illness. I understand those who have asperations to enter the psychology field being frustrated with this program, because it does not allow them the option to obtain any professional licensure towards a forensic position. If you are well situated in a career path and wish to enrich yourself in the subject matter than this program is for you. If you plan on teaching or becoming a psychologist, you should probably go to a brick and mortar institution and NOT specialize in the forensic track. As for the professors, I have been very happy with them. I have had two thus far (one I've had twice) and both were Doctors of Psychology (PsyD.) currently working in the forensic field. I would rate the support a little low because as Argosy is a for profit school, the academic counselors are a little "fake" and sound more like telemarketers than counselors...they don't sound like they truly care about your concerns. However, I am a pretty independent guy and don't need the counselors, so I don't really care that much about their disposition on the phone. I am doing this program simply to learn more about the field for my own self-edification and also to make myself a little more competitive for promotion at work...that's it! I do plan on teaching one day, but I will be seeking another masters at the George Washington University in about two years to meet that aspect of my plans. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Completed MA Forensic Psychology Program

MA of Forensic Psychology - May 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall the score is downgraded due to a lack of real world career options with this degree. I have a Master of Arts degree, but what value does it add to me professionaly? The materials were good and in some cases will be reference texts I keep forever. The professors were all over the page. I had one professor three times and she was a little worse each time. Complaining to the Argosy university staff was a watse of time. They seemed much more interested in payment and much less interested in quality of professor or actually following the grading rubric. The comprehensive exam is challenging and requires a great deal of writing. Not everyone who takes it passes and retrospectively, I feel lucky I did. Support is almost non existent. The value is low as the cost is high and the professional value limited. There is no real career path for this degree in psychology and unless you are a law enforcement officer, probably not much in the way of possible career progression.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

No empathy expressed at Argosy University

MA of Forensic Psychology - April 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This has been the worst experience ever. The Professor's are unprofessional, unhelpful, and rude. I have been enrolled for 2 years in the MA Forensic Psychology program, and I have only had about 3 professors that were actually helpful. My last professor, named Nicole Williams, completely made me feel as though I should have never enrolled. I complained about her numerous times, because of her grading system. I asked her twice what was expected in order for me to obtain full credit on the discussion boards, because she would always find something wrong with all of my work, and the first response was brash and she basically disregarded what I asked her. Once I complained to my advisor about her, she emailed me back with a more elaborate response. The University stated how flexible they were before I started, however since then I am on a late shift at work now, and have kids and a husband, and would find myself staying up until 2 am, finishing homework, falling asleep behind the wheel to drive to work in the morning,and then having to wake up again to go to work all over again at 5:30 am. I would email her to advise that I would be turning in my assignment late due to this, but when she would grade me, the quality of my work which was A+, would be outweighed by the late point deductions. I won't be doing my MA program now, but my Bachelor instead because I am not seeming to get anywhere. I work hard, but if my work is a day or 2 late because of me having to make a living, why is there a late policy in place if the deduction is going to be half of the grade? Never again, and I won't suggest to anyone to enroll in this University.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Do not enroll here

MA of Forensic Psychology - March 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started attending the Argosy campus in Atlanta in October in 2011 and it has been the worst experience ever. I decided to pursue a 2nd masters at the school since the time of enrollment my financial aid is never correct, I had an additional $1600 fee that was a struggle to get removed. I am a VA student that receives full tuition yet my school account states I still owe $500. I spent the entire semester trying to resolve the issue and the VA rep has not resolved the issue yet and no one in the financial aid office seems to know what they are doing. The professors are wonderful and the use of technology is great but administration of the school is terrible.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful

Good experience, elevent education, but job prospects?

MA of Forensic Psychology - January 1, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MA in forensic psychology program offered by Argosy University online is challeging and requires initiative as well as dilligence to complete. I am one class away from graduation and have found many of the professors to be outstanding scholars in psychology. However, there are a few who seem disinterested and unmotivated. On more than one occurence I have received a reply similar to, I did not design the course, I facilitate the course, I don't know what that means. Currently, the job prospects seem somewhat dismal. I have a BS in Criminal Justice and have been a professional in that field for over two decades, but am not truly seeing a professional calling for persons with an MA in forensic psychology. My outlook is optimistic, but also realistic. The counselors seem more interested in you completing the program than providing counsel and assisting with job opportuities or suggestions. Again, the program is enlightening and provides many opportuities for students to learn and grow, but it is a terminal degree as there is no PhD offered with a concentration in forensic psychology. I wish everyone good luck and I hope we all find our goals accomplished by furthing and capitalizing on our education.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

You get what you put into it!

MA of Forensic Psychology - October 26, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Your degree is what you make of it. I had excellent internship opportunities while at Argosy and the name is becoming more well known in the Atlanta area. Sure, there are and have been lawsuits, but the same exist at every college in the country. As far as what you get for your $35,000 in a Forensic Psychology degree, you get what you put in. It is a terminal degree meaning it DOES NOT lead to licensure, but you are told this up front and on the site. However, if you want to pursue this degree, you will write and learn more than you ever have in the subject. Expect to write about 150 papers, pass a comprehensive exam and successfully complete your practicum (200 hours) before graduating. I completed the program in 21 months, about as fast as you can do it. The University DOES give "C's" which do not count as a passing grade, so whatever people are saying about diploma mills is wrong. I personally know of students who were taking the same class for the 3rd time. They are also making it mandatory for LPC students to pass exams before they graduate. I got what I put in: good grades, good opportunities and most of the students found work thru their internships. STOP BLAMING THE WORLD FOR YOUR MISTAKES. Nobody hands you anything in this world, so get out there and do it.

Was this review helpful?

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful

Good Experience Graduated from Argosy University Oct 2011

MA of Forensic Psychology - October 25, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Argosy online MA Forensic Psy program Oct 2011. It was torugh. The work was overwhelming. The comprehensive exam was tough too. It was a case study. However it covered every component of what you sudied. I have friends who took comp exams at traditional colleges it they said it was similar. The education is expensive. You can get similar degrees for less money. However, there were only two schools in Illiois that offered Forensic Psy and Argosy was one of the. The professors or instructors dont teach they faciliate conversation, they critique your work. Its tough because you learn on your own. I looked into other programs as I was completing Argosy's, we had basically the same courses. I think to compete this program online you need some knowlege of psychology or criminal justice. I have worked in a residential treatment center for 19 years. My work experience and BA in criminal justice came in handy. I was told inthe begining in Argosy and other programs I investigated that my work experience and educational background would be valuable. Lastly, I felt that many students were unprepared for the program. Reading their posts in class, somethings I felt I was in the wrong class or subject. Reading the many reviews it appears that some people are not ready for online studies and would be better off in a traditional school setting. I enjoyed the online experience. I graduated and was highed at a major institution in Chicago, Illinois working with ex-offenders with emotional/behavior/mental issues. My last job was paying me $55,750 my new job is paying me $77,124. I posted my resume on a website in Chicago that 99% of all non-profits use. They say my experience and was impresed with the fact I had a MA in Forensic Psychology. My degree is what really caught their eye. within three weeks I had employers emailing me about job openings they had which included, Northwestern University Law Center, Juvenile Justice Program; Hektoen Institute; and the Isaac Ray Center, Inc. These are leading institutions in Chicago working with ex-offenders and or individuals currently incarcerated.

Was this review helpful?

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful

MA, Forensic Psychology. It is what it is.

MA of Forensic Psychology - October 19, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my MA in Forensic Psychology. That fact means very little in the real world. Most legitimate forensic positions require some sort of license, and a license requires job hours. Before I was half way through my program, I spoke to the former program head and to my advisor, they both assured me that I could and would get a job with the degree. Since that conversation, many of my professors, program heads and advisors have left the university. The administrative staff is horrendous. A financial employee left before he could be fired due to 'mishandling' of certain tuition dollars, including my own. The admissions staff members I worked with were incentive driven and unprofessional. When I applied to a second graduate program, they pressured me to repeatedly contact a reference, then became rude when I refused, and reported that they 'no longer had my emails.' Thank goodness for Bcc. Several professors were quite good, with professional experience that was interesting and added to the learning experience. Others were distant, unresponsive, and I rated them accordingly. Many of those lesser professors have not continued at Argosy. It is important to understand that this degree is pretty much useless. You will need a counseling degree of some sort to obtain licensure, and to get a decent job, a Ph or PsyD with a forensic concentration. I am now in a position where I may have to go BACK to school to get another degree. I will not be choosing Argosy for that second degree.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Man oh man, where do I start?

MA of Forensic Psychology - October 15, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed everything, but am waiting for the grading of the final comprehensive exam and I feel like I wasted so much money. First I want to say that the program is not that easy. It was a lot of work and effort. I wish however, the support was available. And, I wish that this degree had use. There are no forensic positions available for those with a Masters degree. The comp exam is basically a case study. Not that at this level one will ever use that knowledge. I will say that the academic adviser was amazing and on the ball. I think one instructor was really involved but the rest of the staff and faculty were not much to look forward to. It is not an easy program, but it leaves a lot to be desired!!! If they would be more like a real university (such as USC, NSU or UF) I think things would be a lot better.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

STAY AWAY MONEY HUNGRY HORRENDOUS EXPERIENCE

MA of Forensic Psychology - October 7, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Wow if their admissions process is like this, I would never want to attend class there. I applied to one of the doctoral programs and they forced me to apply for a start date that I did not want to apply for. On top of that they require you to fill out an MPN before they accept you into the program. Thats unheard of. Usually at a brick and mortar school, you'll be offered a fin aid package and then you accept the award and sign an MPN. Not here, they are completely backwards. They just want the students financial aid loan money. What kind of school requires you to sign an MPN before you're even accepted into the program!? The admissions officer rushes you to get in all these forms. Mind you I applied like last week and I told the admissions coun I'd need more time to get the forms in. He goes," well it only takes 5 min to sign a form." How crass! They are so hungry for money if you don't stay away from Arfloozy online you are really asking for it. The admissions process was so unprofessional and uncomfortable, I didn't even want to bother applying to the program. Get this, they even offer to contact your recommenders for you. What school does that?! That's pretty ridiculous! They are so hungry for money they will do any and everything to get your loan money. DO NOT GO THERE!!! RUNNN AWAY FROM ARFLOOZY!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Hindsight is 20/20

MA of Forensic Psychology - October 3, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Clearly, as shown by the rating, their score is not favorable. I scored Argosy a "2" in the support category, only because my Academic Advisor would always respond within 24 hours to my phone call or email. The books were, well, laughable. The textbooks I utilized while attaining my BA were more intense and challenging. The digital books Argosy chooses read more at a high school level. And, so many of the courses utilize the exact material with very little deviation. Quite ridiculous. There were 3 professors whom I admired a great deal, but those three challenged us - not just facilitated the classroom. The others? A joke. Pure and simple. One such professor's responses to the DQ board almost required an interpreter; no punctuation, atrocious grammar, and lack of any sentence structure. Yes, this is what I pay tuition for - illiterate professors. Nice. Of course I wish to transfer, but unfortunately the process of starting all over again is not something I wish to undertake (I have 3 classes until graduation) and is simply out of the question - other universities will not transfer credits earned while attending Argosy. I simply dread the application process for my Doctorate. In addition, for those that state students attending colleges such as Argosy are 'rejects' (could not get in to any other college), that statement simply is not true. I am not a 'reject" - I graduated from Ohio University (3 Bachelor degrees received concurrently), on the Dean's List, and the President's List. I chose an online university simply because I worked three jobs and commuting was not an option.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

threatening my son

MA of Forensic Psychology - September 6, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This Argosy unversity manager threatening my son to close his file and then he tried convince him not to go to different colleges and second when my husband spoke to FBI Headquarters in Virginia what is the requirement for FBI they says at least Master Degree level or some kind forensic psychology. This person name James derdock the Admission counselor it says that my son can't work in FBI agent at least some kind of experience maybe they were talking about FBI SWAT at least 5 years experience in Law Enforcement Tactical SWAT and 5 years in High Risk Entry Team I don't know what's there problem the manager from Argosy University called here and make threat to my son and I spoke to the Argosy University Manager if you contact at my home something going to happen to your work. My husband work in national security and then he never called ever since

Was this review helpful?

5 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Current Chicago On-line Student

MA of Forensic Psychology - December 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current student at Argosy University Online in the Forensic Psychology program. I am surprised and shocked at what I am hearing. I am 4 classes from completing the program. I googled all of my professors. So far, all were Ph.D. from major educational institutions with extensive experience in their fields. I will say there was not a lot of support. There’s really no instruction. The program has been rigorous and challenging. You really need to be a self started, motivated and have some educational background in forensics, psychology or criminal justice to keep up. The homework assignments can be overwhelming. The books and other material, I thought were good. I received my BA from Loyola University in Chicago in Criminal Justice. Overall I did not see a difference in the content of the material from Loyola and Argosy. The professors facilitate they do not teach. They critique but do not explain anything. I had problems with that. But I know I have learned a lot about forensic psychology and I am confident I will be competitive when I complete the program.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Argosy University in any way.