Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Argosy University

  • Argosy University Reviews

    Ranking: #79
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Argosy University is accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, California, 94501, http://www.wscuc.org).

2.4
269 Reviews
5 38 
4 55 
3 23 
2 51 
1 102 
0 0 

Argosy University Reviews:

Good Experience

Clinical Psycology - January 31, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience: I began the Argosy/Phoenix Psy.D. program in January 2003 and by May of 2006 I had completed my classes, practicums, CCE, and CRP. I matched with my first choice for a neuropsychology internship in Toronto, and in the fall of 2007 received my Psy.D. I passed the EPPP on my first try, became licensed in Ontario, and now make 140k. As with any graduate program, some parts were quite difficult and not everything was fair. My placements could have been better, but I got what I needed--an accredited degree--in a very short period of time. I came to this program with an MSW and 19 years of clinical experience. Academically, I found Argosy Phoenix to have a well-organized curriculum with explicit objectives at each step along the way. However, they should tell students up front that they might fail the CCE and inform them of the consequences if that were to happen. I agree that the CCE can be daunting, and the decisions that come out of these evaluations are not always easily understood. The brightest student in our cohort (you take your classes with the same group of persons so you figure it out) was a young woman who failed her CCE. BUT, the reason was she became anxious and "choked." She repeated it a year later, passed, and later graduated. I almost blew my CCE due to anxiety but managed to pull through. I felt that I was always treated fair; that Argosy delivered what they promised. Yes it cost a LOT, but the Psy.D. model really made sense for me, a middle-aged, mid-career student who wanted to get through ASAP with no interest in teaching or research. I have NEVER encountered discrimination as a result of my degree. People don't really care where you were trained. They care about CAN YOU DO THE JOB. Argosy trained me well and I have had a number of opportunities. I am now at my dream job in a small-town family health team. Argosy did an excellent job of preparing me for work as a clinical psychologist. I would do it all over again. I can offer a bit of advice for surviving a graduate program. My advice is: be cordial and professional, avoid conflict, do not call attention to yourself, avoid focusing on negatives. Like it or not, in a Psy.D. program your behaviour is being evaluated. My mantra during my time at Argosy (and other graduate programs) was simple: "Keep your head down, your mouth shut, and perform." I believe part of the reason I was treated fairly at Argosy was because of this. I saw others who were more "reactive" and they got caught up in dramas. Not always their fault, either. A good attitude is, "I am going to take what I need from this experience; the rest I can leave behind."

Was this review helpful?

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Clinical PsyD Program

Clinical Psycology - April 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Argosy's Clinical doctoral program. Most of my classmates who graduates were unable to land jobs due to the program's reputation and many are unable to get licensed. The biggest secret is that the majority of the students complete unaccredited internships and are therefore not eligible for licensure in many states. 250K for a useless degree. RUN AWAY.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

The eve of graduation and suddenly the school has another class for me to take

Clinical Psycology - April 25, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

While the teachers are incredible, honestly it is really not worth it to deal with the administrative side of things. The administration is incredibly disorganized and inept when it comes to the course loads. If you do happen to go here prepare yourself for struggles every semester with scheduling, financial aid mistakes and administration who are bull-headed and not willing to listen to it's students. To be paying the amount students do there is NO WAY there should be the kind of administrative mistakes which occur.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

HIGHLY OVERPRICED FOR THE VALUE

Clinical Psycology - April 23, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

RIDICULIOUSLY EXPENSIVE - MOST PSYD GRADUATES COME OUT WITH 200,000+ IN LOANS. THE AVERAGE CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY SALARY AFTER COMPLETION OF THIS PROGRAM IS $45,000 - HOW IS THIS FAIR/REASONABLE? LITTLE SUPPORT FROM EACH DEPARTMENT AT ARGOSY; PROFESSORS DO NOT PROVIDE INDIVIDUAL ATTENTION OR SUPPORT. QUALITY OF THE PROGRAM IS AVERAGE AT BEST - CERTAINLY NOT WORTH WHAT THEY CHARGE.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Argosydc graduate

Clinical Psycology - November 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a 2009 graduate of Argosydc PsyD program. I can say from reading the horror stories and from witnessing personally alot of what has been said is true. However, the program itself is excellent. I was able to pass the EPPP on the first try and I was licensed fully last year. I am still hitting the grind trying to make my education work for me and it has been tough. But,I did have some horrendous experiences with training sites, staff and egomaniac professors but I soldiered on. It can be done. A bit of advice...Be determined, keep your stuff tight (grades, behavior, ect.)never give them a reason to disqualify you and most important, document everything! It's funny how people back off when you pull out a date book recording everything that has taken place. Keep the faith and remember it can be done.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

4th year PsyD program DC

Clinical Psycology - November 3, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a 4th year PyD student at the DC campus. I did not know there were entire programs online (???? as there should not be for a doctorate program)… but I know that I am getting a great education at Argosy. Our DC campus is ranked 12th in the country for passing the EPPP. George Washington University PsyD program is not even ranked in the top 50. You have to work hard to do well. Thats why its a doctorate. "If it was easy anyone would do it."

Was this review helpful?

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful

True, Argosy is a tough school.

Clinical Psycology - March 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

True, Argosy is a tough school. I would not want a degree from an easy school or a diploma mill as they are referred to. Most of the people I hear complaining at school are the one's who start falling behind and have trouble keeping up. By no means can you coast through most classes and maintain a good G.P.A. However, I agree, financial aid and student services could use improvement; and the cost is a little steep, but the education cannot be as intense as anywhere. I am assuming that there grading has to be tough to maintain their APA accredidation.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Not worth the money.

Clinical Psycology - January 2, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The Clinical Psychology program (Phoenix Campus) has good instructors can offer a good education. Clinical training placements can be good, but can not sustain the enormous number of students EDMC/Goldman Sachs (Parents of Argosy) enrolls in the program; so they keep bad training sites to accommodate the large numbers of students. It seems to be a "wait to fail" model, rather than not enrolling unqualified students they let you in and take your money for a few years until you fail your comp exams. Getting an internship is very competitive and there is backlash toward for-profit schools like Argosy. I was warned to not go to a for profit PsyD program and wish I would have listened. I am too far in debt to ever pay it back. Attending Argosy might be the worst decision I have ever made.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

License

Clinical Psycology - August 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am writing this review with the hope of creating a solid debate. I have read bad reviews about argosy; however, my experience with argosy has been great. I am half way through the psy.d. program. the program is challenging, and i have learned great clinical skills.i know several argosy graduates that have obtained their state license and are will respected psychologists. remember: its not where you get your degree, its what you do with it.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Phoenix Review

Clinical Psycology - July 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Here are my justifications for the relatively low numeric-responses I have given to Argosy Phoenix and the associated "support-staff". First, I must state why I have choosen to remain anonymous throughout my review. Because I have fled from one Argosy campus to attend another in the hope that my experience will be better, I realize that: going against the grain at any graduate program can be very very dangerous, the family of landed graduate programs (programs at real universities)is amazingly networked, and that the crediability of my testament will suffer accordingly due to my anonymity. Secondly, Argosy is a chance for those who don't have a better chance elsewhere to get into a graduate program and get a double-priced degree. I'll admit it. I didn't have great grades when accepted into the M.A. program at Phoenix, but money seems to heal all wounds( note: plus excellent recommendations). Thirdly, research Lies Lies Lies. [ Following taken from cheap old Wikipedia, but check your facts, did you know she(the professor)now works at another Argosy university] http://www.suntimes.com/news/metro/719701,CST-NWS-plagiarist31.article Plagiarism controversy Argosy Chicago received attention within academia for its handling of a plagiarism incident that began in early 2006 when a student accused an Argosy University professor of plagiarizing Charles Ford's book Lies! Lies!! Lies!!! in the professor's 2000 Doctor of Psychology (Psy.D.) thesis at Argosy. Initially, the school found "no merit" in the accusations, and scolded the accuser, noting her accusation in her academic record.[9] Later, however, the university reversed its position, fired the professor and rescinded her doctoral degree.[10] A year later, Argosy reinstated her doctoral degree after she completed and defended a new Clinical Research Project (CRP). Finally, I hope to tranfer as soon as possible. I sacrifice my units to get into a real program, but am also prepared to suffer the consequences of a low undergraduate GPA. Keep your eyes open and one hand on your gun and you should be alright. You might have to waste 2 semesters at Argosy to attend a UC school, or have to do a M.A. from hell, but the prize is the Ph.D or PsyD from a landed university. Good Luck.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

$165,000 and no degree

Clinical Psycology - October 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started at Argosy back in 2001 when they first went online. The concept was great, distance learning. I was in my mid 30's have 3 kids and a full time job. I went for my doctorate of pyschology. I am still enrolled in the program and six years later is has been a living hell. After failing multiple reviews despite a 4.0 GPA and multiple internships the Department heads have no mercy. If you are currently enrolled now, transfer and cut your losses. If you are considering Argosy, take your money and invest it into the stock market, you will probably do better. The professors are mostly graduates of Argosy and that contributes to the sub-par quality of education.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Really?!

Clinical Psycology - April 15, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in the fifth year of my doctoral program in clinical psychology at Argosy University. I have finished all of my courses with my lowest grades being 2 B+'s. During the course of my time at Argosy, I have had several referrals to the schools internal "ethics" committee, which placed me 2 years behind schedule for my upcoming practicums. The remediation process, being long and drawn out, as there are 1/3 of the professors that the establishment would require considering the amount of students enrolled, required more remediation than would realistically be expected. After failing 2 of my CCE-D's, I have been dismissed from the program. $150,000.00 in student loans, 5 years of my life, with not even a Master's degree to show for it. How is it possible that I was able to pass all of my classes, pass my comp exams, but fail 2 CCE-D's?? AND it took them 3 semesters to place me onto a practicum, during which I was paying for my seminars "just in case" they were able to find a place for me. Do the math: 40+ students accepted EVERY year....less than 20 go out on Internship every year. What happened to the other 20 people?? Oh. I know. They found some way to dismiss them after they had collected over a hundred thousand dollars from them. Lawyers are afraid to touch the school because the schools legal team has made it nearly impossible to fight given the policies are stated straight up in all of the manuals. However, being a student, one does expect to be treated fairly. have never felt so bullied, intimidated, beat down, and horrible about myself as I do after being in this program. I was suicidal at one point during my time there. Shows how well they foster a healing and accepting environment, right?

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

attempting to be unbiased yet informative

Clinical Psycology - March 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently working on a Psy-D and have been thrilled with my program. This has all been as a result of strictly looking at the glass half-full. I have had some excellent professors and experiences. I am in my fourth year. I would not however, recommend this program to anyone who has a sensitive heart and cannot withstand being pruned or ripped apart in the process. I have heard of people being taken advantage of, reports of being lied to by faculty and frankly, bad treatment. I have only had one experience like this personally with a professor who showed up for half of the class and told us about his personal problems- but I know that most of the students are not happy at the school. Frankly, everyone hates it. I never have heard a positive comment from my classmates except from me. The students are livid with their treatment and have an air of being abused. I don't love big universities but I believe there are more rules imposed on the management and perhaps because Argosy is so small, they are allowed to get away with more. I do know that while I have been there we have had more than 3 president leave and I have been there for three years. I chose this school because it was one of two Psy-D programs in the state. I don't know if I would have chose this path if I know what I know now.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Not satisfied

Clinical Psycology - March 16, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have not been impressed with the faculty or the institution as a whole. There is little to no support, if anything there is an "us vs. them" mentality at this school (faculty vs. students). The professor to student ratio is probably about 40 to 1 if not greater.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Argosy University in any way.