Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Argosy University

  • Argosy University Reviews

    Ranking: #79
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Argosy University is accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, California, 94501, http://www.wscuc.org).

2.4
269 Reviews
5 38 
4 55 
3 23 
2 51 
1 102 
0 0 

Argosy University Reviews:

Great

School Psychology - November 18, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been enrolled at Argosy Online for almost 2 years. My GPA is great. As others have mentioned the turn-over for counselors happens, but I have only had 2 academic and 2 finance counselors so far. My academic counselor is great! He calls every 2-4 weeks just to check in and make sure everything is going well. If he sees a change in my grades he also calls. As for the education experience, it is up to you to do the learning. You have to do all the readings and lectures on your own! If you don't you will not learn. As for anyone failing or not learning I believe it is because of laziness. I have ran into some really hard instructors and some that were just flat out lazy. But, overall, I have had a great experience. I don't like campus schools and I have 2 children at home and do not wish to put them into daycare to pursue an education. So, Argosy was a great option for me. I also knew before enrolling that I wanted a psychology degree. Make sure you know what you are getting into beforehand.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

BA psychology/forensic psychology

School Psychology - June 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For the most part I enjoyed some of the classes to a certain degree. Like other reviewers have stated, you do change academic counselors quite often. Getting contacted by your counselor is slim to none and trying to contact them is impossible. If you attend this school be prepared to ride on your own. My math experience was horrible. But from time to time you do get some good instructors. The technology is great compared to other schools I have experienced. Would I do it again most likely no.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL!!!

School Psychology - June 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is the worst school EVER!!! DO NOT attend this school. Like the others below, I have had a couple of different Financial Advisors, who are absolutely horrible!!! I was also told I would have enough financial aid and I was told that my graduation date would be May of 2013, until today I found out otherwise. I had 105 credit hours and they only took 55. The cost is outrageous and they will screw you at any and every chance they get! STAY AWAY from this school!!!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Psychology

School Psychology - May 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I really enjoy the classes, but the administration or financial aid sucks. You can never reach anyone and each semester there is a different person dealing with your financial aid and a new academic counsler. In the beginning of my learning I was told that I would have enough financial aid to cover my entire education there at Argosy. However, this is no longer the case because they never explained the process of the loans to me in order for me to know that you are only entitled to a certain amount of federal aid and now here I am almost completed with no way of finsihing after 3 years. I am pissed and I am about to write the President and anyone else that has to do with education because they go up each semester on tuition without first informing the students and this has happened each semester which leads to me having less money towards my classes.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful

DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL

School Psychology - March 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This has been the absolute WORSE time in my education. The instructors are less educated than the incoming students. They have repeatedly mixed up my records/grades with those of other students and I'm looking into suing the school for reimbursement of my full tuition. Argosy is the worst school I have ever seen.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Worst experience of my life!!! DO NOT attend this "school"

School Psychology - August 21, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just completed my BA in Psychology Degree through Argosy Online University. The last four years were the worst of my life. I do not wish this experience on anyone. Argosy calls themselves a "higher learning institution". Now I see that from the moment I contacted this school, they were a facade, a sick ruse. They used all of their sales pitches and made promises, and sold me on the bells and whistles of the prestige of this university. I was told that the instructors are professional and interactive, that I will be in a user-friendly classroom and learn from "seasoned faculty members who provide personalized attention in a small class setting." Students are also told that the student advisor will "monitor academic performance, assist students in becoming self-directed learners, and clarify institutional policies and procedures. Simply stated, academic counselors are full-time student advocates." NONE OF THIS WAS MY EXPERIENCE AT ARGOSY! IT IS ALL LIES! My professors were often no where to be found in the classroom, they were rude, not interactive, our assignments sat in our outbox ungraded for weeks, and emails and message went unanswered. To this day, I have emails to professors and academic advisors that have never been answered. Questions that have been ignored. Concerns that have been discarded. My academic advisor changed constantly. In my 4 years at Argosy I must have had 6 or 7 academic advisors switch on me, often times without notice. I write to my advisors with questions and concerns only to receive NO replies at all. I oftentimes have to write them two or three times before they respond. Oftentimes I have to call and complain, only then do they respond. My current academic advisor starts off her emails with "Sorry for the delay in response..." I was deceived and lied to about the program, the class-room experience, and the student support system. The classroom is horrible and NOT user-friendly. It is an archaic clunky program with many glitches. Additionally, if you write to someone for help expect a response in 3-4 days if you are lucky, or none at all. Assignments are a joke and the school actually uses Wikipedia in their lecture references!!! What "higher learning institution" who charges high "private" school fees have the gall to use Wikipedia in their lectures!?! As a university do they not have any access to REAL academic literature and research that they provide the students with crap off the internet! What am I paying for then? Additionally, the texts are all digital. You get no paper text books. And the Virtual Bookshelf that they use is horrible. I contacted that service once because I couldn't access my book, and they told me they'd have a tech respond to me within 24 hours. I received an email 3 weeks later! I was also manipulated and lied to about the student financial aid process. The student financial services were a nightmare throughout my stay at Argosy. Argosy asked for MORE money from my FAFSA than needed, so at the end my loan will be for many thousand dollars more than I had anticipated or agreed to. I only found this out during my last semester. This school is a fraud. They may look like a "real" school on the outside, but this online program is a complete hoax. You will learn very little, get no support, go without interaction or responses from professors and advisors, as well as endure the most stressful and frustrating experience of your life. This institution is UNETHICAL in their practices. They will reel you in, and then abandon you. Turn back. Do not let this place take your money and lure you into their lies! I have NO idea how this online program ever got accredited.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

The WORST experience of my life.

School Psychology - May 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in the Argosy Online Bachelor's in Psychology Degree with an emphasis in Criminal Justice. Every moment of the last LONG 4 years has been a disappointment. I am angered and emotionally exhausted with this so-called "institution of higher learning". Both my Financial and Academic advisor have switched countless times in my four years. Academic Advisors DO NOT keep in contact. They do not answer or return phone calls. They do not respond to multiple emails. I have had to call several times to talk to somebody higher, each time getting an apology, but never getting any better. Instructors do not check into classrooms as they state. They do no respond to phone calls or emails, or discussion posts. Many do not provide substantial postings, if at all. Work goes ungraded for weeks, and grades do not get posted regularly. Papers get graded with NO FEEDBACK, making me wonder if they read it at all. There are "lecture notes" however, these are a JOKE! This school uses WIKIPEDIA and ANSWERS.COM as references!!! I have called and written to complain about this. You mean to tell me that a private university has NO other educational matter to link or reference to other than Wikipedia of all things (which is forbidden to use by students)? It is embarrassing that while reading my lecture notes, I click on the "learn more here" link, and it directs me to a Wikipedia, Yahoo, or Answers.com page. What the heck?!?! The "educational materials" are of little value. Additionally, the assignments do not match up with the reading, there are several errors and type-o's, and mis-information in each course. Stated due dates are not consistent with the teacher's syllabus, and many of the essay topics do not coincide with the weekly reading. Several instructors have apologized for the classroom errors, but they say their hands are tied because it's outside "classroom developers" that set it up. Additionally, I believe that the application, financial, and academic areas are fraudulent. I have been lied to and misled, and ONE CLASS short of my graduation, I may not be able to complete my degree due to several errors, and some classes not posting properly. I found that my course track was not making sense, and when I called and finally got through to an advisory, I was told that not only will they need to add one more extra class because there was a mistake in credits, but now my financial aid will not cover this class as I have used up my financial package. So I will have to pay for my last class out of pocket, or withdraw from the school ONE CLASS short of graduating with my degree!! POTENTIAL STUDENTS BEWARE! THIS "SCHOOL" IS NOT A "SCHOOL". It is a for-profit company. The staff (advisors and instructors) are NOT ACCESSIBLE, nor do they care about you or your work. DO YOUR RESEARCH AND TURN BACK. I WISH I WOULD HAVE READ ALL THESE REVIEWS 4 YEARS AGO.... They were unfortunately right. =(

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Argosy University in any way.