Argosy University : Master's Degree in Psychology with a Counseling specialty Reviews

Argosy University logo

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 13, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MACC or Clinical Psychology Program at Argosy University This is for Atlanta only, so let me make that clear from the outset. I am attending the program now, only because state laws increased the requirement from 48 hours to 60 hours which means 4 more classes and about $10,000 plus books ($500). That being said, here is my breakdown of the materials, teachers, the institution itself, support and overall value. Materials: Marginal at best. Most teachers copy a boiler plate syllabus, often you will even see another teacher's name on there by mistake, and it is not often correct. The syllabus ALWAYS requires you to buy one more book then you will ever need and chances are if there is a main textbook, the other 2-3 books are just a total waste of your money - do not buy them! A waste of space, money and time. Teachers: Wow, this runs the gamut but here goes. The large majority are DOCTORS, but hold the phone. Again, doctoral degrees are largely EDD's and not PhD's in the MACC programs. And if you look even closer, those with PhD's are not licensed psychologists. You can get a PhD from anywhere but if I am in a licensing program....I want you to be a licensed therapist, not a teacher. Student Teachers: Yes, some PhD's are tired from their day jobs so they pass the buck off and make the students teach. Some might argue, "This is how you learn!" B.S. If I am teaching a chapter or 9 chapters, you had better be paying me. I do not pay $2200.00 per class to teach it, but at Argosy Atlanta I have been in 3 of 12 required courses where this is now commonplace. They mask it by making it a group project or requiring a PPT presentation, but you are still doing the teacher's work while she does some assessments she should have been doing at the office. The Institution (PHYSICAL LOCATION and AMENITIES): Deplorable. There are 4 floors inside an office building and you would not even know it was a school unless you asked. A few signs adorn a garage when driving on a highway, a mini sign (like Kinko's with 8 other companies included) outside and a few badges inside. It is not the ARGOSY bldg, they lease the space. The STUDENT LOUNGE you ask? Well that is located on the 4th floor and consists of one couch, 3 tables, a soda machine and two vending machines (often at least 1 is out of order). Embarrassing. It is not your customary graduate lounge and there is only one lounge. IT: The IT department is on the 3rd floor and rents you video cameras on CD ROMS that are from 1992. Again, it is an embarrassment. The guys there are nice but they are mostly there to help inept teachers learn how to lower their screens for a PPT presentation or get sound. Otherwise, nothing. TECHNOLOGY: Wow, you have 3 computer rooms, although there are plenty of computers I will say, with about 2 printers per room. On a busy day, you might have 10 students per room but NEVER will there be more students than computers. The computers are relatively new (2-3 years old), but since it takes 30 screens to actually get to work, meaning password upon entry screen, upon password, etc. THEN, YES another THEN, the school just instituted a PRINT SCREEN wherein it will charge you if it deems that your work is not school related. This is new as of 2013-2014, so if you are trying to print out a large document and the computer deems it not ARgosy related, there is a screen that bills your account for the printing. Yup, like a KINKO'S!!! Are you kidding? This school gets $2200 per student, per class, per semester and has the gall to charge by the page? FEEL: Once on the floors, there are flatscreens that direct you to classes and show some promise of technology but it feels like a rent-a-school. For all the dough this school takes in, they nickel and dime every student and you almost get the feel that Corey and half the other textbook writers are getting a kickback for their books that haven't been updated since Freud was psychoanalyzing. SUPPORT: All MACC and Clinical Psychology students have an assigned advisor but nearly half have never seen or heard from them. If and when you do get their office hours, it might be once a semester or once a year. FACULTY: Almost all female, almost all African American. Of the full time, on campus professors, this flops a bit to be about 70/30 Caucasian which is fine, no racism going on from the school, but that leads me to the admission process. ADMISSIONS: Argosy does not require a GRE. They require an application, GPA and an interview. The interview is basically to see if your check will clear, nothing more. Never seen anyone turned away from the school once they get to the "interview." The reason I say this is because you fill out paperwork asking if you will be needing financial aid, how much, etc. AID: I have heard nightmares. While I am a pay as you go student, there are many who are not, probably 90%. Of those, nearly 100% admit to late payments, delays in payments, and typical red tape that goes on but far worse than most schools who have it together. GRADUATION: You have to finish classes, comps, practicum and internship before "aaplyuing" for graduation. From there, they "grade audit" you to ensure you have taken all the courses but this can take weeks, even months. DIPLOMA MILL: Well, not exactly. What do you get for all your hard work over 2-3 years, plus 10 months of interning when graduation comes around? NOTHING. I graduated from one of the largest schools in the entire country and when graduation was over, my name was on a diploma, correctly, with my degree and ready for framing. AFTER GRADUATION, the school takes 4-12 weeks to mail your diploma. Yes, I have seen people who "walked" in December get a degree in May. MAY! Why does it take so long? Terribly understaffed where needed, poorly staffed where not needed. OVERALL: The only reason you go to Argosy or any CACREP accredited program is to pass the comps and the NCE. If you do not pass comps or the NCE, there is not point in applying. So what is the unpublished passing rate? 76% in 2014. Yup, 1/4 of all students will fail the NCE when they graduate at Argosy Atlanta. Argosy Universities in other states are as high as 90% or higher. Why is Atlanta lower? You can take a guess, I do not know. STUDENT BODY: The student population is shockingly African-American. It is not that this is Atlanta Metro, but you would have to be a fool to not see some kind of pattern here. About 90% or higher of all MACC program students are AA. WHY? Unsure. Caucasians make up about 5%, other races 5%. Males are non-existent and I barely saw any while I was there. During my three years I never saw a single white male in the program. Not one! That is bizarre, but this is the environment if you wanted to know and have read this far down my review. CONCLUSION: Argosy will get you there, if you can put up with the rent-a-school feel, the poor lounge, the teach it yourself attitude and teachers who are not licensed professionals who practice. I would rather learn from a LPC or NCC than a EDD who spent 3 years on some teaching discipline which is basically unrelated to diagnostic impressions of clients. I called them DR. ED's - because they were talking horses and basically sat in class waiting for you to answer a book they did not even know was required. NCE: Well, you get what you put into or out of anything. If you study hard you could probably pass the NCE without the MA in psychology but it does not work that way. Now the law requires about 3 years of classes PLUS 10 months of interning without pay. You are basically a PhD in this program after investing 4 years of your life in it. PAY: Pay is tough to average. Believe it or not, a LAPC or LPC makes a hair under a psychologists' salary. You might start at $37,000-$45,000 and finish at $75,000. Once you are a full fledged LPC, it just depends on how good you are and how many repeat clients you can take. Few therapists who are ethical can take 10 clients a day, so make that closer to 6-7. At $80 (cash only) per client, that is $500 a day. Not bad. Take out taxes and that is more like $350 a day if you have all cash paying clients. Insurance will pay you about half that when you hang a shingle or work in a group. Expect to bill at $80 and collect at $55. After taxes, about $40 per hour while in private group practice. COST: This is relatively simple to figure out. Take 60 credits and multiply that by $2300 per 3 credits. So it is 20 classes, $2300 per class, or $46,000.00. Add in 5% inflation per year and that adds about $6,000-$8000. So for $54,000 plus books (gotta have your books) add $125 per class if you like new books, $50 per class for used. Go new, you will thank me for it. That is another $2000. So, your total out of pocket cost to get you from ZERO to LAPC/NCC (if you pass all your classes, comps and the NCE that is) is $56,000.00 (plus $3000 as you haven't applied yet and tuition increases 5% a year on average) So that is it from start to finish at ARGOSY of ATLANTA. It is not pretty, often not well taught, but you can do it. Some teachers are worth every penny, but that is very few in that jar. Your friends are you colleagues and they will literally save you from quitting and help you pass comps and the NCE. Get to know your colleagues and work with them, even if you do not like them - after all, you will be being taught by them 20% of the time.

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 13, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Just beginning on line with argosy-best so far I have just started researching online master's programs and wow some of the recruiters can be too pushy. But not so with Argosy, that is why I am writing this review. So far no pushy recruiter calling five times a day plus email. Just a nice person who has answered my calls and emails as well as answered all of my questions. I am really considering this university.

Aesop123 (In Progress) on January 4, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Very responsive staff Argosy, San Diego. No comments on the other sections yet as I am just starting. From the admissions counselor, financial aid, dean, and academic adviser - they have all been helpful throughout my application process and answered my questions. My start experience has been great as I am just beginning the program for the MACP (licensing requirements have been toughened in CA -LPCC -and it is now a 60-unit program- 3 years). I have researched this school and their passing rate for first time takers is above 80% (per CA BBS). They have garnered 3 spots for the CA mental health stipend out of the allocated 6 for San Diego. Looking at the curriculum and textbooks - they do expect you to study and master the material. A lot of rich and diverse choices for practicum. I am very satisfied with the school and their results are evidenced based from what I have researched so far.

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 27, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Counseling - Illinois I love the program. It was a lot of hard work. I did half of the work online. The other half was in class nights and weekends. Yes, you fail if you don't do the work, don't show up, or don't post, but it's a masters degree. Just because it's online, doesn't mean it will be easy. The teachers were very helpful with assignments, but firm with deadlines. Each class was either 7.5 weeks or 15 weeks. I love the program. Currently finishing my last class. I feel well prepared for a career in the field and will not have a problem finding a job. Most people that complain are the one's that don't want to put forth the effort...Do the work, you get the grades that you want.

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 17, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Cannot recommend due to my experiences. If I had known when I started the Counseling program at Argosy Seattle what I know now, I would have NEVER enrolled in this school. By the time you attend for 2 or 3 semesters and the apathy and passive-aggressiveness of the professors and staff becomes apparent, you have already invested so much time and money in the program that you feel like it's too late to start over elsewhere. I echo the other comments that the Director of Training is a bully. He is arrogant and thoughtless; ironically the picture of a classic narcissist. He thinks he is God at this campus and that his word is law. He lords his power over students and is petty and retaliatory towards the slightest perceived disagreement. What an awful, sad man. As long as he is around, websites like this will continue to rack up negative comments about him and the school. Financial Aid at this school is a freaking nightmare. "Disorganized" is a gross understatement. The Financial Aid officer brings incompetence to a new low. She is noncommunicative and if she does miraculously answer your questions, beware - her information is often incorrect. You have been warned. The quality of education you receive will depend entirely on two things: 1)Which instructor you get; some are competent and some are not. Instructor turnover is high so you never know if you are getting a good teacher or someone with no clue how to teach. -and- 2) What you put into your education; you will probably learn something if you take responsibility for educating yourself and not depend on the classes for information. Read books outside of class. Take advantage of your Practicum placement to talk with other professionals. Overall, I would NOT recommend this school to anyone. Poor business practices and political in-fighting between instructors that trickles down to students and affects quality are the norm here.

Ngocvan425 (Graduate) on August 9, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Argosy University, Seattle, Washington I attended Argosy/Seattle Campus for a few years and completed my Master's degree in Mental Health Counseling. I have learned so much from most professors, the ones that helped me through all the bumps and curves were Drs. Roedel and Moore. I feel it is important to have professors that would be willing to push and challenge students so that they can succeed in life. I owe my graditude to Dr. Bill Roedel and Dr. David Moore. Without them, I would not be where I am. I am grateful for everyone at works at Argosy/Seattle. All I want to say is, the school and everyone is doing the best that they can... I have attended and graduated there so my words are from first hand experience. Thank you!

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 2, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Please Don't attempt to go to this school I began my MA at Argosy 3 years ago and have been battling them ever since. The program is poorly run with know commonality between any of the professors in terms of what is being taught within the classroom settings. Teachers are allowed to pick and choose what they teacher depending on there own personal values not based on what should be known generally within the field. Diagnostic materials was taught poorly, teacher were late with no penalty and overall education provided was horrendous. Teachers don't reply back to e-mails and/or phone calls. When you are asked to do Practicum and the end you are evaluated by a panel and they are to determine if you pass/fail your entire masters program. So basically all your classes don't count for anything really just the final PCE paper you are asked to write on presenting a case and clt. You get completely torn apart and based off there own theoretical orientation your clt. is destroyed as well. The makes claims about your clt. that are completely unethical from them to do. But it all depends on who is evaluating you. Once again nothing is ever consistent at this school. Please be smart before entering this program, try try try to find another school. This will be nothing but pain and an uphill battle ending with a lot of money wasted with a poor education something that is valuable in working in the profession we are looking to enter. Hope this helps!

Kodriscoll10 (Graduate) on December 2, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Retaliation, Discrmination and Fraud First and foremost, the BEST place to complain about Argosy is The Board of Education – The Office of Civil Rights. Most people don’t realize that this Federal Agency exists. Here is the link: http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/publications.html Click Related Topics then How to file a complaint I’ve read all the reviews on this web site and felt compelled to tell my story. I read many entries about the other Argosy campuses and wanted to lend a supportive word or two. The same issues of discrimination, sexual harassment, retaliation and fraud occur at the Argosy campus in Chicagoland/Schaumburg all the time despite dozens of students complaining. I was enrolled in the Counseling program (with a 3.8 GPA) and have witnessed and had first-hand conversations with over 70 students who have witnessed discrimination against: anyone who complains about anything at the school, women, women of color, pregnant women, Parkinson’s disease, physical disabilities and more. I am one who complained about statements the Department Chair made stating, “If you want to pass this program, you WILL NOT get pregnant during it because we will not help you in any way and you will be dropped from the program”. Over 40 other students witnessed the same behavior. He also actually dropped three pregnant women out of the program and their internships because they were pregnant. Yes, it REALLY happened. What’s worse is that it doesn’t end there. This man (and his cronies) has had screaming matches with students and professors and has been discriminatory in so many ways I wouldn’t have enough space to write it all down here. Then, when a student like me complains, the retaliation is so harsh, unethical and illegal that you can’t imagine. FOR NO REASON, I was dragged through every conduct committee the school has after I complained, told to place my medical records in writing for the school to assess me as having some sort of problem, bombarded with horrible false allegations about me, defamed my character, followed me down hallways and cornered in elevators, and that’s just scratching the surface. When I escalated the complaint to the highest person at the school, (Craig Swenson), he claimed the paperwork from my complaint suddenly disappeared and the HR director who interviewed me was somehow “no longer with the company”. Then, after I involved The Department of Education and The Office of Civil Rights, the retaliation became even worse. Now, I have completed all the course requirements, including 750+ hours more internship hours than any other student, have paid 100% of the entire program cost, have a 3.7/4.0 GPA, have rave reviews from my internships and they dismissed me from the school. To avoid being sued, their staff turns over extremely fast. Argosy has committed a serious set of crimes against me. I’m hoping the Federal Government with force them to give my earned degree to me. The best advice I can give to anyone considering ANY of the Argosy campuses is: IT DOESN’T MATTER WHICH CAMPUS YOU ARE AT, THE PROBLEM IS NATIONWIDE AND IS NOT CHANGING DESPITE COMPLAINTS AND LAWSUITS. DO NOT ATTEND ARGOSY ANYWHERE.

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 24, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Horrible Experience I can only speak as a student at Argosy University-Los Angeles. Attending this school for the past 3 years, has been the most horrible experience of my life. Every semester the administrations places some type of curve ball in front of the students. Recently students were scheduled into a 7.5 week course in the middle of the semester. They were not told when the class would be scheduled until the week the class would begin. Whether it's Financial Aid mishaps and changes, moving to another city (Santa Monica-Los Angeles) without consulting with students, or scheduling issues. There is always a stressor that students must suffer through in order to continue their education at Argosy University-L.A. Several of my fellow students have stopped attending Argosy because of unfair enrollment policies, inadequate teaching for important courses, unclear coursework, incredible tuition increases and the overall money hungry, careless attitude of the school as a whole. Most students in my program just want to get done and be finished with Argosy asap.

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 15, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
This school is unethical to say the least... This school is terrible. I had a 3.8 GPA entering my Practicum Internship in the Fall of 2010. I was removed from my internship before I completed the Practicum part of the Internship and was accused of violating a Professional and ethical code of ethics. There was no proof or evidence to support these claims. I was then dismissed from the school after having to go through their unethical and unprofessional committees. My dismissal was supposedly overturned, but I have to wait two years from the time I originally started the Practicum Internship to start again. That's 5 years to complete a Masters degree that should have been completed in 2 years and 10 months. Please stay away from any of these for profit schools.

Anonymous (Graduate) on September 11, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not a good school. The strong point is many of the professors. The chairs do not care. The support is non existent. It was a means to an end, but I am sure there are many better alternatives out there. I jumped at this school, honestly, because they said, "yes" to me. That's the embarrassing truth. This institution should be ashamed at the way they run themselves, and the turnover in the staff, and presidents reflect that poor leadership. Ask who was in charge, and when, while interviewing. Remember; YOU are interviewing the school as well. Do not be desperate like I was and accept the first thing that comes along... If I were to do it all over again, I would have taken my straight As after my first semester, and transferred to a REAL school. By the time the honeymoon wore off, it was too late.

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 23, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Argosy Seattle I am currently seeking an Attorney to represent me for the problems I have encountered with Argosy University Seattle. I passed all my courses, my practicum, and was scheduled to graduate. A couple weeks before graduation my practicum grade was changed to a fail and I was told to complete another 600 hours of internship and re-take all the practicum course. I have been attempting to appeal this decision for one year and i continue to be lied to and ignored by the faculty. If anyone has information that will assist in a lawsuit or would like to join me in this fight, please email me at flirtieboarder@hotmail.com.

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 11, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Program run with no professors- MHC Tampa Campus Where to start? Enrollment- me & about 30 other students enrolled at the same time were lied to by our professor and our enrollment advisor about the status of our school & becoming CACREP accredited. So we were all lied to during the admissions process. NOW that there is a lawsuit regarding this the president is trying to cover herself by claiming the CACREP accreditation was wall a "rumor." Since I have started the program 5 full time faculty member have quit abruptly without notice. Where does this leave us? We have NO DEPARTMENT CHAIR, NO DIRECTOR OF TRAINING & the 2 remaining full time faculty members are not trained in mental health counseling they are of school counseling background. Actually one of them is even still a student! I literally attended a group counseling’s course taught by a professor who had never attended a group session or ran one, therefore the entire class was taught by a student who had more experience than the professor. My current professor quit in the middle of the semester and his replacement has no idea what is going on, the class again is being run by students... AND THIS SCHOOL IS NOT CHEAP! A handful of students cannot begin field work based on the loss of faculty, so their program will be extended 6 months. This university is currently facing a law suit which ironically no one knows what it is about??? I have a couple guesses. We pay an idiotic amount of money to attend a school that owns the rights to little to no journal articles and the school website is a mess, most professors won’t even use it. The stress all of this has placed on the students is making them physically ill, when the last professor left I watched 8 classmates sob, what is going to become of my 2 years of work and my thousands of dollars? I am begging someone please help us! We are doing the work! We wanted this degree! Please someone hear our cry and end this injustice! Give us our hard earned degrees, our money back & please shut this school down so no one else has to face these conditions and wrong doing. My advice to new students, transfer or dropout it will save your health and money in the long run. This school is a travesty.

Mgray (In Progress) on July 14, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
The worst experience of my life I am currently a student at Argosy University Seattle's Masters of Counseling Program. I do not recommend this program to ANYONE. The recruiting program at Argosy is top notch, but their follow through is atrocious. Throughout the two-years of my program I have learned very little, and when I have asked for assistance in broadening my understanding I have been dismissed. The faculty is apathetic at best, and abusive at worst. While some of the teachers shine above the rest, the core faculty are severely lacking in any semblance of professionalism. The Director of Practicum is a chief concern amidst this process. If you do not pass the practicum portion of the program you do not graduate. Part of that program is finding sites to get professional experience at. Argosy has admitted students for placement at sites that were unlicensed to practice mental health, or did not have mental health programs. When students expressed these concerns they were dismissed from the practicum, after their tution was taken. The only option left is to pay tuition again for the course. This is a deplorable money grubbing scheme with little, if any, educational value. For more information look up the numerous lawsuits taking place against Argosy nationwide. In addition, they advertise that their counseling instructors all work as counselors in addition to teaching, this is false. Some of their teachers are ONLY teachers, some are not licensed to practice in the states they live in, and others work in non-counseling fields related to psychology.

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 23, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Argosy Seattle-terrible I have a 3.8 GPA and passed all my courses in August of 2010. In october my final grade was changed and i was told i failed my PCE. I am still in an appeals proccess and feel that i am getting no support from the school officials. I wish i could contact the person who posted about several lawsuits on this site because i would like the support of other students who are in a similar situation. To anyone who is considering this school....read all the reviews first. I would not reccomend this school because it seems they chose a few students to fail each year and this failure is NOT based on grades.

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 9, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Experience - almost done! I'm more than two years into my Masters in school counseling degree. It's sad to read poor reviews about Argosy because it has been such a positive experience for me as a student. My teachers are so passionate about helping students and putting together the best curriculum to help change the school counseling profession. I am in my internship now and feel more than prepared to work as a professional school counselor. I can see how students can get lost because there is a huge responsibility to do you work on time. Your hand will not get held here - you must must be an adult and accountable for you success. I am proud of my program and the reputation is has with the community for counseling. I attended a state school in NY for my bachelors which was a very good experience but this has been a different approach where I've learned so much more from professors who are extremely qualified and passionate about changing the education system for the better. Can't wait to graduate!

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 12, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
No Support 1)I was given no support in finding a suitable practicum sight. (2) little emphasis on actually learning counseling theory and skills. (3) Adjunct professors had absolutely no knowledge or understanding in school policy. I assume faculty and administration have very little if any cross-training, or communicating with the other. (4) administration create an atmosphere of fear and intimidation when challenged or held to accountability for the quality of the program. (5) Some excellent instructors, but without the autonomy to be effective.(6)No personal touch or perceived concern for the academic integrity of the program, just sign up more students.

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 8, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Discrimination, retaliation and fraud First and foremost, the BEST place to complain about Argosy is The Board of Education – The Office of Civil Rights. Most people don’t realize that this Federal Agency exists. Here is the link: http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/publications.html Click Related Topics then How to file a complaint I’ve read all the reviews on this web site and felt compelled to tell my story. I read many entries about the Seattle and Tampa based Argosy campuses and wanted to lend a supportive word or two. The same issues of discrimination, sexual harassment, retaliation and fraud occur at the Argosy campus in Chicagoland all the time despite dozens of students complaining. I’m currently enrolled in the Counseling program (with a 3.8 GPA) and have witnessed and had first-hand conversations with over 70 students who have witnessed discrimination against: anyone who complains about anything at the school, women, women of color, pregnant women, Parkinson’s disease, physical disabilities and more. I am one who complained about statements the Department Chair made stating, “If you want to pass this program, you WILL NOT get pregnant during it because we will not help you in any way and you will be dropped from the program”. Over 40 other students witnessed the same behavior. He also actually dropped three pregnant women out of the program and their internships because they were pregnant. Yes, it REALLY happened. What’s worse is that it doesn’t end there. This man (and his cronies) has had screaming matches with students and professors and has been discriminatory in so many ways I wouldn’t have enough space to write it all down here. Then, when a student like me complains, the retaliation is so harsh, unethical and illegal that you can’t imagine. FOR NO REASON, I was dragged through every conduct committee the school has after I complained, told to place my medical records in writing for the school to assess me as having some sort of problem, bombarded with horrible false allegations about me, defamed my character, followed me down hallways and cornered in elevators, and that’s just scratching the surface. When I escalated the complaint to the highest person at the school, he claimed the paperwork from my complaint suddenly disappeared and the HR director who interviewed me was somehow “no longer with the company”. I had to hire an attorney and many more of us have done the same. The best advice I can give to anyone considering ANY of the Argosy campuses is: IT DOESN’T MATTER WHICH CAMPUS YOU ARE AT, THE PROBLEM IS NATIONWIDE AND IS NOT CHANGING DESPITE COMPLAINTS AND LAWSUITS. DO NOT ATTEND ARGOSY ANYWHERE.

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 24, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Beware of Tampa campus! I have worked very hard to get where I am today. I attended 2 good colleges in Pa where I obtained my AA with honors and my BA with good grades. I moved to Florida and was so excited about starting my Masters and becoming a counselor. A few weeks ago I was removed from my practicum. The charges they have against me are totally false but they have the power to do what they want. I have done nothing wrong. I passed all my courses and my comps. I was almost done. Now I must face the board and most likely will be dismissed. I have been saying for the past year to my friends and family that Argosy fully intends to get rid of me. It was just their attitude toward me, yelling at me in class and constant nitpicking. For the past year I had to defend every little thing I said and did. I saw other students make the same mistakes as I did as a practicum student but they were not treated poorly like I was. I am heartbroken over this. I really think the trouble started when I wrote a letter of complaint years ago about my advisor. This is the same person that just removed me. Did I mention I am a disabled student? This is another story. I did my practicum counseling the chronically mentally ill. I have worked in this field ten years now. Argosy is saying I am too unstable to work with clients and I broke some type of ethical rule. It makes no sense! I work at a mental hospital. I serve on the state advocacy committee. I am not on any psych meds. I am not suffereing any mental health issues. I am not clinically depressed. My clients on my job have already liked an respected me. Argosy has destroyed my dreams. I curse the day I set foot into their admissons office.

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 3, 2010

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
At least I learned where NOT to go to school I feel it is necessary to inform other people out there how horrible my experience has been with the school. Unfortunately I am NOT the only one currently spending more time in conflict with the school than actually learning anything. Students work in the school and have access to all information. My personal experience has revealed that the whole concept of confidentiality is wasted on them AND the faculty. It's a huge mind game and worse than hell time spent in high school. PLEASE go to a school that actually cares about you and your education!

Loverabbits2 (In Progress) on May 18, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Graduate Student I am a current student at Argosy University working towards my Master Degree. I also did my undergraduate studies at Argosy University. My expereince with this school has been wonderful. I have learned so much and I am please to be a part of this University. Sure, I had one professor who was a nightmare, (online instructor). Howver, she is no longer at this University. I have always had the support of the school and that was important to me. My race was never an issues (I am a black bi-racial female). And this school has treated me with the utmost respect. I have met with others of different races and realized we as human being have a lot in common. One of the major problem is, there are students who wants an on campus babysitter and that is not what a professor does. Overall, I plan to continue my Education and I am hoping it will be at Argosy. You must keep in mind you need to do the work and learn how to be an adult. My name is Pamela B, most people call me PAMPAM. I am not afraid to say who I am. I am a graduate student in the Counseling Department. Argosy University has been an excellent place for me to be!

Wbsahm (Graduate) on April 6, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Several Lawsuits Currently Happening This school was a huge disappointment. I completed the program with a really good GPA 3.9. I had filed 2 complaints against the Director of Training Dr. Roedel, which mysteriously disappeared after they failed me based on the completely subjective PCE. They completely re-vamped their program the year after I left and the professor who taught the class was only there one quarter after I left. I was lied to by the recruiter, whom they later fired for lying to prospective students (but they chose not to tell any of the students who she lied to that they had been lied to). It was common for professors to leave mid term. From my start date to my end date (I did a 3 year program) the faculty had a complete change including 3 presidents. The only staff that were there when I left was the Director of Training (which several students had filed complaints against due to his behavior and attitude) and the Counseling Dept. Head. The Director of Training had been previously fired from Bastyr University due to his treatment of students. When I protested the failing of the program, even though I had a good GPA, great reviews from my internship supervisor and rave reviews from my professor in class, I was told sorry nothing we can do you need to repeat your internship. The head of the Department even claimed that she had reviewed all 4+ pounds of the documentation in only a couple of hours then issued her decision. The Seattle Campus President implied during a meeting with him that my previous professors had been dumbing down the curriculum for the classes which is why I was doing so well up until the final evaluation. The Counseling Dept Head filed charges against me with the Ethics Committee and when I went up and explained the situation they flat out asked me “We don’t understand why these charges were filed.” All charges were dismissed. While many of my professors were full of knowledge and appreciated, the administration sucks as did many other professors. There are just too many uncertainties with the Seattle Campus. I highly recommend that you go elsewhere. Oh yeah, they also invited me to enter into their Doctoral program before they failed me. Makes you wonder.

Toniw46 (In Progress) on December 22, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Psychology Program,j Santa Moncia I am currently enrolled in the Ed.D Program, Counseling Psychology and it is a joke, minus the humor. Do not waste your time or money. If you decide to attend that particular program, get everything that they tell you in writing, whether the information povided is from te registrar's office, advisors or the department chair. I have had to deal with way too many inconsistencies in terms of information. I enrolled in the same program as another student who attended the same school previously before enrolling at Argosy and that student was allowed to have credits waived. It took me almost 2 years to get credits waived for the same program. I received little, if not any cooperation from the department chairs and finally filed a complaint with the main campus. In terms of the "attendance policy", instructors are not consistent and the "so-called policy" appears based more on favoritism and instructor preference. Therefore, a student may miss 3 classes and not be failed by one instructor and and another student may miss 3 classes and receive a fail in the class. The latter experience happened to me.

Anonymous (Graduate) on November 21, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
This school is morally bankrupt and way overpriced This school does not care about anything but getting your money. The staff turnover is outrageous. I went to class one weekend to come for the 2nd half of class to find out I had a new professor who made derogatory statements about the first professor and the class assignments assigned through her but graded by him. The program "leadership" is lacking. Their Director of Training was fired from his previous employment due to his treatment of students. He has had many complaints against him here too but nothing has been done to fix the situation. I have discovered that the school's reputation amongst employers is not good and have been told by many of my classmates that they are having difficulties finding jobs because of this.

Rrrarf (In Progress) on October 29, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Unethical. Terrible Education. Don't waste your precious time and money. They don't care about you.

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 6, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Argosy ATlanta is no better!!! I just started at this school and I already feel that I have made a bad decision. They talk you into getting into their programs, but then there is no organization. We have been in school a month and I have not received my financial aid. They posted my info on another students profile. Then i have changed my major a couple weeks ago and still no one has got back to me in regards to my new classes. I am like you dont have a footbal team or basketball team so where the hell is our tuition going? you cant get an organized staff to make the school run efficiently? I am ready to leave and I will transfer in January. This was a big damn mistake but hey I wanted to get back into school and further my education. Argosy is a business not an educational institution. I am going to Keller at least they have been around and made a positive reputation for themselves. The majority of Argosy university students have had negative reviews, do your own research and you will see; its all over the country.

Anonymous (Graduate) on April 10, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not worth it. There are better quality schools I am a former student at the Seattle Campus. I found out toward the end of my program that there was a common practice of the recruiters to lie to the students that they are trying to get enrolled. Of course the school (when they find this happening) fires the recruiter but then fails to tell the student that they were lied to. When the student finds out they have invested so much time and money into the program they are typically stuck. The behavior of faculty is horrid. The Director of Training treats students like they are beneath him. He is rude, condascending, and mean. He has on several occasions brought his students to tears. This has been reported to the administration but nothing has been done. There is no support. My faculty advisor changed 5 times during my program and I was never told. I found out when I would try to schedule an appointment. There has been mass staff turnover during my time and from what I hear its continuing. Faculty tends to stay for a few quarters to a year then leave. There is no consistency.

Anonymous (Graduate) on April 9, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Don't Do It. Horrible School - Seattle Campus I attended the Seattle Campus and it's horrible. I have filed complaints against one staff member as have many of my fellow students only to have them swept under the carpet. The turnover rate is horrid in their staff. The recruiters have been known to and fired for lying to potential students however the school fails to notify the students that were lied to so by the time they find out its to late to transfer to another school given the time and money they've already invested. You are provided no support by the majority of the faculty and are looked upon and belittled by your professors when you ask for clarification. If you’re not already in therapy you will be by the time you end this program. All I can say is Stay away from the Seattle Campus.

Valerie.Wolowski (In Progress) on April 4, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Truth About Argosy University Orange County C.A. I'm in the Master's in Counseling Marriage and Family Therapy program at the Argosy Orange County California campus, and I recieved my B.A. Bachelor's of Arts in Psychology from Cal State University, Long Beach in California.I'm very happy to say that I've had great experiences at Argosy University Orange County California campus so far. They ARE regionally accredited BY the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) and is a member of the North Central Association (NCA), and approved by the BBS BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES and they DO have several Master's programs and the infamous Clinical Psychology PsyD(Therapy oriented not research oriented programs)that ARE APA AMERICAN PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION. IF YOU WANT A RESEARCH DEGREE THEN GET A PH.D BECAUSE A PsyD is for people who WANT to learn the necessary knowledge to help others through therapy. If you need to confirm that they are approved by the BBS BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES THEN GO TO THEIR WEBSITE AND SEE FOR YOURSELF:http://www.bbs.ca.gov/app-reg/mft_appr_schools.shtml Regionally Accredited AT:http://www.ncahlc.org/ APA Accredited AT:http://www.apa.org/ce/ Argosy University is a NEW University, so shame on some of you for bashing the new university. Its NEW,small,and private, so no wonder not many people have heard of it! Argosy University is owned by Education Management Corporation and was formed in September 2001 from the merger of the American School of Professional Psychology, the University of Sarasota, and the Medical Institute of Minnesota.[2] The American School of Professional Psychology was founded in the early 1970s by a group of psychologists, educators, and other professionals who called for a clinical psychology degree that emphasized teaching and practical training over the research-oriented approach of the traditional PhD degree. Furthermore,I can understand that some of you may have had some bad experiences there, but putting it on some online review site is pathetic. If you TRULY had such an horrendous time at Argosy then go to court, and let me know all the FACTS in writing before whining all over the internet. By the way, I've had much worse experiences at Cal State University, Long Beach in California that don't even compare to anything that I've experienced at Argosy University. YOU ALL SHOULD SEEK OUT THE FACTS THROUGH DOING YOUR OWN RESEARCH. If YOU think that by solely reading onlinedegreereviews.org is the truth then you're only seeing A LOT or misrepresented information. Go to the Board of Behavioral Sciences website, go to the website for where they're regionally accredited BY the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) and is a member of the North Central Association (NCA), and go to the APA American Psychological Association website. The APA doesn't joke around, and they would not accredite Argosy University's programs if they weren't rigorous and stellar.

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 4, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Perhaps I'm a Positivist I have had a good experience at Argosy. I like that the class sizes are small. You really get a lot of attention - that is, if you want it. Those who sit and do nothing are welcome as well - which brings me to the fact that, yes I agree, admissions standards are incredibly low. Sometimes I am shocked and appauled by those who have made it into the program... I wonder, where did they get their Bachelor's degree and HOW? Bottom line is, it is an "easy" education if you are willing to spend the time. Going for a counseling degree you don't have to be good with numbers or memorize much information. You do, however, have to have a desire to help people and you have to ENJOY being around them. I have learned a great deal about myself while in the program. The discussions we have in class can facillitate transformation amongst students and eye-opening, insight into a bigger world for psychotherapists outside an academic setting. I just transferred to Sarasota from Tampa, so although I am attending Sarasota currently, the majority of this pertains to Tampa.... Sarasota have some communications errors that they deserpately need detangled. No one returns, calls, e-mails, pleas for help, etc. Anyway, I am not here to say bad things about Argosy for they have taken me to the next, necessary level in my academic career and for that I am grateful. I am sorry to those of you who have suffered bad experience. I hope you have found exactly what you were looking for! :) Good luck to all.

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 21, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
HORRIBLE SCHOOL SCREWED, CHEATED, INTIMIDATED & BULLIED - THE SCHOOL AND ITS FACULTY ARE UNETHICAL HYPOCRITES WHO LITERALLY CONTRADICT THEMSELVES IN THE SAME SENTENCE, THEY ARE COMPLETELY UNFAIR AND SHOW FAVORITISM IN GRADING BOTH IN CLASSES AND IN THE COMP EXAM, E.G., 2 GRADERS GIVING GRADES THAT DIFFER BY 1 POINT FROM ONE ANOTHER ON A 3 POINT SCALE - HOW VALID OR RELIABLE IS THAT?, THEY ARE RACIST, ARE CULTURALLY INSENSITIVE AND JUST CONSISTS OF A BUNCH OF LIARS WHO ARE NOT EMPATHETIC AND INSTEAD WILL TRY TO OUTDO ANY DIFFICULTIES YOU ARE HAVING IN LIFE. OVERALL A VERY BAD SCHOOL WHO PICKS ON ITS STUDENTS, ESPECIALLY THE MORE TRUSTING / NAIVE. IN MY TIME THERE ANY PROFESSORS THAT I RESPECTED LEFT THE SCHOOL WITHIN A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME - LITERALLY TIME FRAME OF: TEACHING 1 CLASS - 1.5 YEARS. EVEN THE HEAD OF THE FACULTY LEFT! THE WRITING IS ON THE WALL / DON'T IGNORE THE PINK ELEPHANT IN THE ROOM - THIS IS NOT THE SCHOOL TO GO TO - DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME, MONEY OR ANY EMOTIONS ON THIS SCHOOL - TAKE IT FROM SOMEONE WHO KNOWS AND IS SPEAKING FROM BOTH MY OWN EXPERIENCES AND THE EXPERIENCES OF MY COHORT!

Pacorulz (In Progress) on March 13, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Did They Lie to You? I attend Argosy University-Orange County. When I applied I was told very clearly that if I started out in the MACP program and wanted to get my PsyD after I finished, I would be able to transfer 38 units into that program and complete my doctorate in just two more years. Now, after five hellish years trying to get out of this trap of a school, I have come to find out that it was a bold faced lie. Only nine of the units will transfer, if I am lucky, and it will be at least another four years before I would be able to finish. There is now no way financially that I will be able to get my PsyD due to the unethical practices of their admission counselors. I am wondering how many others out there have had any kind of similar experience with this school. Please be vocal about it, because the more of us that are, the more likely it is that they will have to change their practices.

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 7, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Don't Do It - Find another School This program is in no way what it is said to be. The staff and Head of the Department seem to be afraid of the Director of Training, who is severely disliked by the mass majority of the student population. Your skills are compeltely overlooked for the one time review of your abilities in a very confrontational way. I cannot recommend this program. I was lied to, never told I was doing a bad job, have a 3.95 GPA and still failed based on the one time review, who made it obvious that he had very strong feelings about my chosen theoretical orientation.

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 29, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Keep your $$$$$$$ I attended Argosy University Tampa Campus for two semesters. While attending I decided to change my degree track from Mental Health Counseling to School Counseling. My so called advisor informed me that she “would not let me change.” She provided me no explanation and told me if I try to drop she can “promise me that I will have to pay”. This university is the pits. If you think for yourself or question administration you will not survive. By the way my “advisor” did not lie I got an unexplained bill in the mail last week. However, I have 200 friends and family members prepared to do a protest if Argosy cannot resolve this matter. I will be at every open house warning prospective students about this cult like university.

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 29, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I'm not alone! I was dissapointed several times by Argosy in Florida. The first time was when APA pursuit was promised for the PsyD program and then a mass e-mail was sent stating that all in the program should jump to plan B. No phone call...no anticipatory notice...nothing-an e-mail. The second time was after transferring into another program, submitting my final paper, and then getting an e-mail stating that I was set to fail the course because it was never recieved. Thank God I had carbon copied it. No communication on behalf of my professor! Unfortunately it is a "them" (the students) and "us" (professors/administration) mentality. I must say, the professors who were good...were outstanding and I LEARNED so much from them. The professors who were lax were lax to a T. You never knew what you were gonna get until you were immersed in the class.

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 7, 2008

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Go to another universtiy Please do yourself a favor and find another school. This school is owned by Goldman Sachs. Goldman Sachs is a leading global investment banking, securities and investment management firm that provides a wide range of services worldwide to a substantial and diversified client base that includes corporations, financial institutions, governments and high-net-worth individuals. (http://www2.goldmansachs.com/our-firm/about-us/index.html) The first question you should ask is why would a huge investment firm own a university with locations around the U.S.? If you can't guess the answer just wait until you see what you get for your money. I graduated in October, 2007, after transferring from Elmhurst College. Argosy, Schaumburg, IL, was the worst academic experience I have had. The turn over rate for teaching staff and administrators is mind boggling. Support for students is zero for advising, etc. It’s May 7, 2008 and I still don’t have my diploma! Classes are sub par and taught by graduate students from Argosy, many of which don't have teaching experience of knowledge of the subject matter. There are serious problems with placement of graduate psychology students for practicums. You also should check the APA’s accreditation and renewal for this school.

You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Argosy University