Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Ashford University

  • Ashford University Reviews

    Ranking: #40
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Ashford University is accredited by WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC), 985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, CA 94501, 510.748.9001, www.wascsenior.org.

3.4
540 Reviews
5 157 
4 179 
3 50 
2 55 
1 99 
0 0 

Ashford University Reviews:

Worthless degrees shady financial aid

Teaching and Learning with Technology - May 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Don't waste your at this school. Financial aid office is a bunch of con artist and liars. They kept promising my financial aid would be processed 6-8 weeks and then 8-12 weeks. Finally, they said there was some type of "glitch" with department of education which was a total lie. I spoke with doe and they said Ashford was dragging their feet not sending appropriate documentation. All the while they have you taking classes and getting more and more nervous while your bill grows bigger and bigger. Need a manager? They will have a "supervisor call you back the next day or later in the week" Professors are absent minded invisible people who clearly are not grading the work properly. Moreover, the school is not accredited worth a crap so your education is worthless and you will do yourself a favor by going to another university as fast as you can.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 24 people found the following review helpful

Very Satisfied!

Teaching and Learning with Technology - July 15, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am 1/3 through my Masters Degree and find the instructors and curriculum challenging! The curriculum is relative and the classroom website is very user friendly! I researched many colleges before starting my Masters program and am very satisfied with Ashfords professionalism, student support, and decision to attend! I would recommend this University to anyone wanting to complete an online degree!!

Was this review helpful?

no challenge, no instructors

Teaching and Learning with Technology - November 17, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated with their Masters in Teaching and Learning with Technology and to tell you the truth its not worth much. I understand that online instruction is supposed to be more self learning than anything else, but D#*M. Most of the time you couldn't find any one to help with problems. The most used phrase in the instructors use is "you'll have to contact your student adviser about that", when they answer you at all. Get this! After completing the courses, I took some of my research papers that I had written to another university to prepare for more education. they laughed at me and said the papers were written by a junior high student. if grading the papers, they would have given me an F. The instructors at Ashford gave me A's. Makes me wonder if Junior high student are grading the papers. I am very disappointed with the quality of education I received for the money I spent.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

MA Teaching & Learning with Technology

Teaching and Learning with Technology - October 25, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my Masters degree with little trouble. The information I learned was valuable and helpful in my field of education. Online learning takes dedication and perseverance (you have got to want to learn the material). There is no babysitter to make sure you learn the material, being proactive is definetly a requirement. I would use the material as I learned it to support my own comprehension and understanding in my field of study. Like with any learning institution, you have your ups and downs with financial aid, academic advisors, and instructors.Overall I give this school an A+ and I would recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful?

Graduating in 6 weeks

Teaching and Learning with Technology - June 23, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I began this supposedly asynchronous program a year ago, and to date, I have not seen the value for my money. In the beginning, I put forth maximum effort and received high grades. As time went on, I put forth little effort and received high grades. I'm in classes with people who cannot grasp the basic concepts of grammar, yet they are making straight A's. I do not understand that. I am a teacher, and what I have rated as "A" level, graduate work is a joke. I have learned to use some new technological tools, but I could have taught myself to use them. If had had to go back, I would NEVER have gone here, nor will I recommend it to anyone. After battling the school over its false advertising of asynchronous classes that turned into group/cohorts, the school removed that piece from their advertising. Thankfully, I am employed and I know my subject area. I just needed an advanced degree. If I were to teach others based on what I learned at Ashford, I fear we'd all be lost.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

False Advertising

Teaching and Learning with Technology - January 26, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am very disappointed with Ashford. I was sold an online program that was supposed to be asynchronous-students working on their own. Everything was fine for my first 5 classes. Then, the 6th class suddenly has team/group work and projects every week! It was very unorganized, the teacher wasn't ready, was not responding to emails or posts and nobody knew what to do. We organized ourselves, worked into the wee hours of the morning to meet the due date and had a project to turn in already when the teacher emailed us the day before it's due to say she will be putting us in teams by area code and extending the due date! It has been one painful experience after another with many people complaining to advisors. They all have different answers, mine acknowledged that we shouldn't have team work and it is STATED ON THEIR WEBSITE!! Talk about bait and switch! It is very difficult to find any names of anyone in administration to complain to. They don't seem to be listed on the website. I feel that the school is letting us down and in fact I can't imagine that this is even legal! If you are thinking of going to this school, think again. The stress this is putting on me and my classmates is enormous. I am very disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

A Big Disappointment

Teaching and Learning with Technology - September 8, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The admissions representative gives a RaRaRa! speech and is available all the time. Once you start classes, all staff disappears. Be aware that you cannot take off in between classes - not even a week. The advisor will tell you that you can, but the school automatically enrolls you in the next class. I was told that I would be able to take my pre-planned and paid-for vacation after my 1st class was over. WRONG! The 1st class ended on Monday and the 2nd class began Tuesday. When I asked why I was enrolled in the 2nd class on that date, I was told that if I took 1 day off, I would loose my funding. Bye bye Ashford.

Was this review helpful?

Beware!!!

Teaching and Learning with Technology - December 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

All I can say is, very decieving. They promise setting up financial aid and never do. The idea is to get you started as soon as possible and get you through as many courses as they can before they tell you that there is a problem with the financial aid. You are then stuck with a bill that they will then demand immediate payment for. I know what you are thinking...disgruntled student that failed out and couldn't cut it. No, I don't think so. I had two A's in the first two classes I took. You will get ripped off!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Current Grad Student

Teaching and Learning with Technology - October 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my 7th course at Ashford. The experience has been more challenging than a standard on campus program. I have only had one instructor that did not meet my expectations. The courses, text books, and discussions have been relevant. Given my current work demands, the online program works well with my schedule. All questions regarding financial aid are answered. Any questions for my instructors are answered. Technical support is available 24/7 and I have used them 4 times during my educational experience at Ashford. I communicate with my enrollment counselor on a regular basis via email and by phone. Education is what you make of it. I am committed and demand the same from Ahsford.

Was this review helpful?

You can buy your degree

Teaching and Learning with Technology - August 6, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Many of the students who remained and graduated were already in positions at their perspective school and basically paid for Master's in order to increase their pay. Student that are trying for a new career change or trying to get a new job. If you are trying to learn in order to perform at a job. FOTGET! Posting three times a week and writing a paper is not going to get it. The staff support is horrible. Like I said you can buy your degee to increase your salary, you will be happy. Just don't plan on learning anything.

Was this review helpful?

Disgruntle Student

Teaching and Learning with Technology - June 4, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After six weeks, they still don't have answers to anything. Where is my money? Don't know. Where is my academic advisor? Don't know? What books do I need? Don't know. How much will I receive after you deduct for three classes ? Don't know. When will I return ? Never. When will you guys return my telephone calls? Never Well do you need to hear more? Cause I,ve got more, but I am in the process of looking for another school . Have a Blessed day.!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Once you begin to take classes...staff disappears

Teaching and Learning with Technology - May 6, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I know what you think when you normally read these poor reviews...disgruntled student that failed out. First class- 98%...second- 88%. Poor communication by staff. They do not return calls. When I say they do not return calls, I mean never! They will get you enrolled as quickly as possible by using the "assume the sale" tactics and tell you not to worry, financial aid will cover your classes. Go ahead. Enroll and try it. By the way, the "online classes" you take go through San Diego, NOT CLINTON, IA, as they deceive you into believing. BEWARE!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Wonderful School

Teaching and Learning with Technology - April 7, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ashford is a wonderful school! I agree totally that the fact that it is online makes for a thorough educational experience. When you are responsible for passing those exams (without looking at your student's paper) and not getting help from study groups: this absolutely makes for a competitive and challenging environement that puts you to a test -- this school is far more better than any other school I've attended with a campus. Here at Ashford, you will walk away with a valuable education and knowledge that you will be able to integrate in just about every instance of your real life! This is a great school and I'd recommend it to anyone looking to challenge themselves, advance themselves and truly be ALL THAT YOU CAN BE!!!

Was this review helpful?

Financial Thieves

Teaching and Learning with Technology - December 6, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Got my master's from Ashford. It was insanely easy & not slightly challenging. I think the professors were housewives working part time. The books were nothing special. The blackboard sessions were laughably simple. Wouldn't have finished it if I wanted a challenge, but needed the degree to get certified. Why else did I rate the school so insanely low? Their financial aid department is insanely inept and shady. Shady!!! They've been avoiding reimbursing my lender the money they received that I didn't use. I've been calling them and arguing with them for months. One of the women who work there actually told me to call the ombudsman and report them. These were the words of an employee!!! I've reported them to the feds and I'm still paying student loan payments that are more than double what they should be. Stay away unless you're desperate for a degree and want an easy one, but pay in cash.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Education

Teaching and Learning with Technology - December 5, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The first two weeks of class was a testimony to any online learning format. My class began with 33 students and only 12 students graduated. It is humorous to see the comments about the format and school from those who left the program. My education was facilitated by excellent instructors(only one was questionable, but that could be the same on a ground campus)and the content was challenging. The discussion forums were difficult to keep up with, but that is the nature of education. I am a firm believer in programs that are learner-centered and not teacher-centered. Overall, my experience was phenomonal and the knowledge I was exposed to was invaluable. If you are self-motivated and ready for an endeavor as or more difficult then a traditional undergrad program, I would highly suggest you look into Ashford University online.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Ashford University in any way.