Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Ashford University

  • Ashford University Reviews

    Ranking: #40
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Ashford University is accredited by WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC), 985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, CA 94501, 510.748.9001, www.wascsenior.org.

3.4
540 Reviews
5 157 
4 179 
3 50 
2 55 
1 99 
0 0 

Ashford University Reviews:

Ashford is Not Easy--But Worth It!

Social Science/Education - January 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Studying at Ashford University was one of the best educational experiences of my life. It took me 4-1/2 years to get my BA starting from scratch. It was a long road but well worth it. Not sure about all the people complaining about lack of help, guidance, or instruction. I literally had no problems with financing, scheduling, or instruction. I worked my tail off and graduated with a 4.0. I stayed on top of all my reading and research on a daily basis. Plus, I always worked with my advisers to schedule all my correct classes. I can only imagine that the people who had trouble didn't put in the full effort that a college degree requires. If you put in (on average) 1-2 hours every day of the week, then you should have no problems EARNING your degree with honors. Social Science with Education Concentration was a very informative and challenging degree to earn. It prepared me to become a teacher. The only thing left is to take my teacher certification courses and student teaching--about a 6-month process. I wish you all the best luck and motivation for your education goals!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Some Great, some not so great moments

Social Science/Education - May 18, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I turned to Ashford for the convenience and the value. I have received a Bachelor of Science with Education Concentration from them, and am now working to complete my Masters in Education with a Specialization in Reading Literacy. The convenience is great! Many of the support staff are wonderful people. Most of the teachers are top-notch! The problems: You do not know what book you need (truly) until you gain access to your classroom, because the books they list in the library are not correct. The reason is to keep you from renting or buying elsewhere. My fantastic Academic Advisor gave me the sneak attack key to finding out ahead of time what the books will be, so I now know and rent to save $100's. Not everyone is privey to that info, with the exception of anyone in my classes. ;) As I said, the support people are great people, but uninformed people. If you are going for the BS with Concentration in Education, DO NOT do the Rio Salado sister school addition!! I REPEAT, DO NOT DO THE RIO SALADO ADDITION! Instead, see what your state has to offer in the way of an Alternative Certification Program. I saved 2 more years, and over $7,000. You can, too! The tuition at Ashford is fantastic, and I think you will find no other school that charges this little. Because the support staff is not informed like they should be at times, you might find them frustrating, but the school is really worthy of your time. Good luck!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

A Wonderful Experience

Social Science/Education - May 4, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just completed my BA in Organizational Management through Ashford University. It has been a great experience all the way through. There were some struggles with a couple of professors but they weren't any different than what I experienced at my prior brick and mortal school. When I see people complaining about this school, I really have to wonder if we attended the same one. I had two or three different academic advisors during my time there and they were all incredibly attentive, supportive and positive. They all somehow managed to make me feel like I was the only student they had. I only ever spoke to a financial aid person once. She was a bit curt, but my questions were answered. I do think it is to the school's credit that I only ever had to speak to financial aid once! Everything is done in accordance with their policies, so if you can read you know exactly what to expect. In the end, I'm very pleased with my decision to attend Ashford. If you're considering this school and are a reasonable adult who just wants to get credit for the work you do, don't let a couple of sour pusses put you off of what might be a really positive thing for you. I would recommend this school to anyone who was serious about completing a degree online.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford experience

Social Science/Education - April 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ashford while it is not perfect, it has grown on me. I think that how much you are committed to the program will determine how satisfied you will be. When I first began Ashford, I thought this was going to be hard, but after a few classes I got the hang of it, and for the most part everything is the same, in each class except maybe the subject. The format is easy to understand. I have been attending Ashford since august of 2009, while it has not been perfect, it has been a great learning process. I have had only two instructors that were lazy and did absolutely nothing to help in the class, however if you follow the guidelines that are set for you to handle those situations, and they did it in a timely manner. The cost has gone up, but the money I save when I get books is tremendous. I found that I can get book that are a few editions older, however they work for the 5 weeks I am in class and only cost about 5 buck so far. This has been an overall great experience, it all depends on how bad you want your degree as to whether or not you do well in any online setting.

Was this review helpful?

broken promises

Social Science/Education - April 15, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My overall educational experience with Ashford was great. The online format was very convenient, the instructors were usually helpful and time seemed to fly by. It was quite affordable also. However, problems started popping up late in the degree program that stem from pretty much being duped by the enrolment advisor. I was told that I would finish the entire program in a little over two years. I guess they were leaving out the year and half I would spend at the transfer colloge. Ended up it didn't matter anyway because the degree they offered did not work in my state. That's right, an Ashford degree is not exceptable in NY. I probably could have spent my money better with an institution that would not promise me that their program would work for me without actually know that. At least I can say that the enrolment advisors are good sales people.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

finished degree

Social Science/Education - October 6, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just finished my degree with Ashford and for the most part it was a good experience. I did have many issues with contact with Advisors; one plus is there is no hidden expenses. I finished my AA with Kaplan and upon graduation was given a $700 tech fee and this had to be paid before I was given my "degree" even though I had earned it. This was a hidden fee, never mentioned before completing. Now I am using grand canyon university to finish out my masters.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford is a good choice

Social Science/Education - August 8, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from Ashford in June 2009 with a B.A.S.S.w/ed. I had some issues with the financial aid department just prior to graduation that were eventually resolved. The emphasis I want place here is that Ashford is not much different than any other university.The issues I had with them were not much different than problems that I ran into while physically attending a Big 12 school previously. The Big 12 school issue ended with my contacting my U.S. Senator and enlisting his help. It amazed me that the problem was resloved within 24 hours after his intervention. With Ashford it was just a matter of providing documentation and perservering and threatening to contact the BBB. As far as academics go Ashford is a worthwhile school and I have no complaints with them.

Was this review helpful?

Good school if you're willing to do the work

Social Science/Education - June 7, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When I first began at Ashford a year ago, I was excited to be back in college, but was very disappointed with the slow way their financial aid refund process worked (They have since revamped the process and it's a lot more efficient now). Based on my intro class, I also thought the classes were going to be too easy to be much of a challenge. However, I soon found out that not to be the case. Now a year in, I find the coursework has become more challenging, both because of the amount and content of the reading materials we have to complete each week. Just as with any university, the quality of the instructors vary, but thus far, the majority of my teachers hold doctorate degrees, and the rest hold master's--sometimes more than one. Some are more lenient, some are sticklers for the expectations they articulate through the new Classroom format. (BTW, Classroom is way better than the old Blackboard format.) Anyway, anyone who comes to Ashford thinking this school is another diploma mill will be sorry they enrolled. Ashford can kick your tail with the amount and quality of work you're expected to do within the brief 5 week period each class lasts. Still, if you're looking for the Harvard of online colleges, you may want to try Western Governors University, University of Maryland UC, or Regents. For me, a busy wife and mom of 3, Ashford coursework is challenging enough for me to have to put forth a lot of time and effort, but not so challenging that I am completely overwhelmed. After all, I working to earn my B.A., not a bunch of b.s.!

Was this review helpful?

9 - Outstanding and exceeded your expectations

Social Science/Education - May 25, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended Ashford for about 2 1/2 years. I transferred in credits, I wrote two Experiential Essays to earn credit on two classes, I doubled up, and did a Minor in Psychology. I was determined to get the degree done and as an older student, I felt I needed to hurry and catch up, educationally speaking. Ashford provided me with this opportunity with excellent guidance. I am considering getting a Master's with Ashford because the school is reputable and REGIONALLY ACCREDITED meaning I can go to a top tier school for my doctorate. The Master's program will allow me to get done in 15 months, much faster than other colleges (I have checked a ton of online schools) and I can double up if I feel I can handle it. I give Ashford a double thumbs up! The students who are bad mouthing Ashford on this string of comments may have legitimately had bad experiences, but my feeling is that these people are such a tiny voice of Ashford's online populous. Last time I asked, Ashford has at least 45,000 online students!! That is equivalent to a decent sized town. Another example of size is Ohio State has roughly 52,000 just on the Columbus campus. Do your homework and find out if Ashford will help you achieve what you want. I graduate soon and am so happy that I finally can say I earned this Bachelor's. I have learned so much new knowledge that I probably would not have taken the time to research any of it had I not decided to return to school. Something else to think about - a four-year degree is nothing these days so why not accelerate your degree with Ashford majoring in something that you are interested in and go to a top tier school for a Master's or a Doctorate? As long as you have a great GPA, write a great entrance essay, have great references, you have a great chance of getting accepted. Ashford is nationally recognized. FYI: There are a range of ages and educational levels that attend so you may read posts from a few students who do not write well or express themselves very well. That can be frustrating, but you do not know what their grades are so don't compare your grades to what you think they are getting. You should only concentrate on your grades, not theirs. You do not have to respond to people who are off the mark in their posts or that you know are plagiarizing. Another thing to remember is sometimes students have learning or physical disabilities and online education works in their lives so do not be judgmental - hats off to them for going to college!! Concentrate on YOU and be the best YOU can be! Your efforts will pay off. Good-luck and much success.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid Advisor lack Customer Service Skills

Social Science/Education - May 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Whomever had previously stated that the Financial Aid staff 'sucks' couldn't have said it better! Numerous times, I have emailed my "financial advisor",(male), and he didn't even have the decentsy to email me back, and returning calls, forget it! Do they realize that these things are important to us students? If we had all the answers to our own questions, we would have no use for them, yet they are getting paid to "do a job". Maybe student needs are not part of their 'job'?? Yes, it seems that financial aid dept. has a problem releasing the funds that we are going to have to pay back now that we have completed our degrees. They are a total mess! Someone from FASFA needs to send someone to check on these people, and quick before none of us are able to get our funds!

Was this review helpful?

Mixed Emotions

Social Science/Education - April 10, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm not an impulsive person so my research prior to enrollment was intense and I generally don't allow myself to be victimized. Ashford is no different than any other University in requiring tuition and fees. One must pay for an education, yes this is true, you can't get something for nothing. My professors were enlightening, engaging and informative. It's work but life requires work. So now, here's my complaint. Their Financial Aid Dept. leaves a lot to the imagination. Every time a refund was due to be issued it never made it to my home. Always, lost in the mail and getting it re-issued well now that was another month or so. So if your intention is to apply for Student Loans to cover expenses just know that you will repay you Student Loan and interest long before you ever receive your refund from the school. Quality everywhere else but the Financial Aid Department. It's not surprising that someone could mistaken them for Organized Crime because if you ever attended the school and had the experience than you could understand. I will not leave the school because I believe in making companies/institutions accountable and responsible. I want be degree from Ashford which I why I enrolled their and to think that I would leave because they hold on to funds that don't belong to them is cowardly of me. Once again, the staff is great. The Advisors are as informative as the questions you ask them. The professors I think are of high quality and my Enrollment Advisor was neither rude nor pushy. He gave me the space I needed to make my decision and as a result a really good friend of mines has also enrolled. Regardless of the issues that I've experienced I will always recommend them because they have a great program, however, their administration should be just a little more concerned and alarmed over the Accounting/Financial Aid Department. Who doesn't know that you can't handle peoples funds inappropriately without consequence. I'm pleased, I just would like to receive my refund.

Was this review helpful?

Could of have been better

Social Science/Education - January 12, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished my degree in DEC 2009. For those who are seeking a Bachelors Degree quick, easy and affordable.. Then Ashford is the way to go.. Beware of the professors and their deadlines... there is absolutely no room for life situations or error with professors. Each one is different so be sure when you start your class each time to make contact with your professor and see what type of response you receive will tell you what he/she will be like for the 5 weeks. Financial Aid is a nightmare.. the operate compeltely different than other University...dont expect much from your FA rep.. they never return email calls and its very hard to get process done. As far as instructors also go - you will be grade on your discussion questions and never given feedback when graded low.. if if you ask..Papers ehh feedback is given only if asked from professors.. Be sure to order books in advance.. its your repsonsibility.. there is no room from professors to late book arrivals..they dont care. Ask me if I learned anything.. hmm some but i know how to write in APA format perfectly now. I am glad I am done .. I am going to start my Masters but doing it through Univ. of Phoenix.. like I should have in the beginning...

Was this review helpful?

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS COLLEGE!!!!!!!

Social Science/Education - August 12, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I HAVE BEEN ATTENDING ASHFORD FOR THREE YEARS NOW AND I STILL LOVE IT. OF COURSE IT HAS ITS BAD POINTS AS WITH ANY COLLEGE. I FOUND THE SUPPORT ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. THEY RESPOND ALMOST IMMEDIATELY. MY LOCAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE NEAR ME WOULD NEVER EVEN RETURN MY CALLS OR EMAILS. I AM DISABLED AND COULD NOT CONTINUE GOING ON CAMPUS TO A COLLEGE BECAUSE OF MY HEALTH. THIS COLLEGE HAS MAD IT POSSIBLE TO ACHIEVE WHAT WOULD HAVE BEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE. I CAN NOT TAKE TEST BECAUSE OF SEVERE ANXIETY BUT AT ASHFORD, THEY HAVE A PROGRAM THAT DOES NOT MAKE ME TAKE TEST OR FINAL TEST. STUDENTS HAVE TO WRITE ESSAYS INSTEAD OF STUDYING FOR FINALS. IT HAS ELLIMINATED MY ANXIETY PROBLEM. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COLLEGE, BUT ONLY IF YOU ARE WILLING TO REALLY LEARN HOW TO WRITE. THEIR EXPECTATIONS CAN BE HIGH WHEN WRITING ESSAYS. THERE ARE AT LEAST TWO PAPERS IN EVERY CLASS BUT NO FINAL TESTS TO CRAM FOR. THANKS GOD. LOL. I AGREE THAT THE LOAN PROCESS IS VERY SLOW BUT IF YOU ARE AWARE OF THIS, YOU CAN EASILY MAKE IT WORK. I BUY ALL MY BOOKS USED AND HAVE ONLY BOUGHT ONE BOOK NEW IN THREE YEARS. MY AVERAGE COST PER BOOK IS HALF THE PRICE OF THE NEW BOOKSTORE PRICES. IF YOU WANT MY ADVICE, AND WANT TO LEARN TO BE A GOOD WRITER, THEN ENROLL IN THIS COLLEGE. I PLAN TO STAY AT ASHFORD WHEN I GRADUATE WITH MY BA AND GET MY MASTERS WITH THEM. THIS COLLEGE MAY OR MAY NOT FIT YOUR NEEDS AS WITH ANY COLLEGE. SO DO YOUR HOMEWORK. LOOK AT THEIR EXAMPLE CLASSES ON BLACKBOARD. ASK MANY QUESTIONS AND YOU SHOULD MAKE THE RIGHT DECISION ABOUT WHICH COLLEGE TO ATTEND. THIS COLLEGE IS NOT FOR EVERYONE AS WITH ANYTHING IN LIFE. GOD BLESS, COLLEGE MOM

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Ashford University--3 years, about to graduate.

Social Science/Education - July 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled at Ashford in mid-2006. The bottom dropped out of my home life less than a year in, but my academic advisor was very helpful, and after having to take one of my allowed leaves of absence I got back on track rather quickly. I have only purchased ONE text through the campus bookstore--cheaper alternatives are not hard to find if you look,and in all of the courses I've had I have never encountered a problem with the off-"campus" textbooks. I have no serious complaints about any of the courses in my degree program save one (a Phonics course for which I had to purchase a set of commercially available phonics CDs and workbooks). It's important to remember that the difference between this type of classroom and traditional, brick & mortar types is that everyone sees everyone else's work & the class average grade. The quality of YOUR education is what YOU put into it, not how what you do compares against someone else, and just because YOU think someone shouldn't pass a course doesn't mean that student hasn't met the required standards for a C-. As far as financial aid goes, I haven't had any issues but I had experience with it from my previous stint on a traditional campus. If you don't know what you're signing DON'T SIGN ANY FORM until you sit down with someone who does understand! Or...reject the aid package (you do have that right) and withdraw. In order to become federal Title IV financial aid eligible, Ashford had to comply with the same standards as any other traditional institution of higher education. And, AU is accredited by the Better Business Bureau. These things I learned from my own research before officially enrolling. Know what you're getting into BEFORE you get into it. I've enjoyed AU, and will probably pursue an MA online--though most likely not with Ashford, as they don't offer my program of choice.

Was this review helpful?

Disappointed

Social Science/Education - July 27, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended Ashford for the last year. I found their curriculum to be extremely predictable and it offered no challenge whatsoever. If you like writing papers, this is the school for you because this is just about all you will do. The work assigned throughout each course offered me no real value. I do not believe that I would have been prepared to go out into the workforce upon graduation if I continued with Ashford. Their financial aid dept. is awful to work with. They are very rude and ignore emails. They have a rule of dispersing out funds in a 30/70 manner. In other words, if you need your excess funds for books....you are going to have to wait. They "issue" out 30% of your excess funds only after 7 weeks of successful attendance, then after another 7 weeks, you get the remaining 70%. And 'round and 'round it goes. If you are looking for a quality education with involved instructors this is not the college for you. I have had many classes where the instructors communicated with students very minimally. I do not think that this college is a scam, however, I do think that it is not a college that will do anybody much justice if you really want to learn new things that will be helpful to you and your career choice.

Was this review helpful?

My Experince with Ashford

Social Science/Education - July 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled into Ashford in March 2009. I love this school! Anytime I have emailed or called, about a question with my homework, finical aide. or the blackboard; I receive a phone call or email within 24 hours. They are very supportive, understanding & helpful! Going to any school is stressful. But, my advisors have ALWAYS been there to help me, always! I would highly recommend this school to anyone who has a busy life & does want to go back to school. I do wish they had more variety on the degrees but who knows they might later on. I am really excited to get my bachelors degree. I don't know about any of the other advisors but I have already helped enroll 3 friends and they love it as much as I do. I also have other friends & family who are trying to get enrolled. So all the bad reviews IDK why or how you got to where you are but I know how I got to where I am. I checked my emails did all the info my advisor told me fill out. I made sure I got things done on time for class. You walk through the blackboard with your advisor or you have an option of a 24.7 800# that will help you if you get stuck. I love this school & I know you will too, if you are willing to do the work & by the rules, not what is best for you. It's the same rules for everyone! Tuesdays you start your week first day of the class your have your INTRO due, next 4 weeks you wont have anything due on Tuesdays for that class. Thursdays is day 3 where you have to do the blackboard discussion assignment, then depending on the teacher & assignment you will have a written paper due Sunday day 6, then on Monday you have to make sure you respond to 2-3 people in your class about the discussion you wrote on Thursday & agree or dissagree with what they wrote. It's all about communication! They say you only have to sign in 2x out the week but honestly to keep above a 3.0 it's going to take you *tues, thurs, sun & mon* these are just my feelings & how I have been able to keep my grades so high. 3 to 4 days to get those A's =0} good luck to whatever you choose. I just now started my 3rd week of my 4th class & have completed 3 classes giving me a total of 9 credits so far, and my gpa is 3.33. Out of my four teachers so far only one was hard to understand. But they all are so helpful in the end I would never want to go to any of the previous colleges like ENMUR online or AIU. I love the Ashford staff they rock! If you want to go back & speak to I did get where I am call my advisor because I can speak that he is 100% dedicated to helping you come back to school. Also, I like that if you don't want to come back or go with Ashford my Advisor is very understanding & not a jerk like some of the other schools that pressure you or put you down or harass you. Thanks & I hope this helps, Felicity

Was this review helpful?

My recent experience

Social Science/Education - June 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I thought I was one of the few exceptions to the rule when I enrolled in this school and things went so smoothly, my academic advisor couldnt call me enough, then the sh*t hit the fan, I was failed from a class after being promised to be given time to hand in assignments (while 2 other students were given full credit for handing it in after I did), Financial aid people are a joke, they dont call back, and whenthey do they have an attitude, i requested to be withdrawn from this school and here i am 3 months later still having issues. Do your homework, plus my first and second class were passed without purchasing a single book (they averge 100+, per class) not to mention that if you think your getting excess funds to buy books, NOT happening, they hit you with the Technology fee as soon as your account reflects excess funds, they have your go thru a huge rigamorole to request special permission to have your own money released to you then when you are approved, they charge you the technology fee so that there are no funds left over, plus the fact that they tell you that you can only get approval once, so any excess funds from consecutive disbursements are in limbo?? these people are full of malarchy, they are out to get whatever they can and in the process give you a "mediocre" education that no one values.... too much money for so little return.

Was this review helpful?

Satisfied Student at Ashford

Social Science/Education - May 13, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending Ashford University since last August. I love it and anyone who says negative things about this school needs to try another option. It is perfect for someone who works full time as you can work at your own pace as long as you get the assignments. I will graduate next March with my Bachelor's degree and plan on getting my Master's after that. When I first enrolled, my advisor was very helpful. She walked me through the process step by step. She was available for questions at anytime I needed. The professors I have had have been very helpful and understanding about life's issues. I would recommend Ashford University to anyone who was thinking about attending online classes. I am absolutely 100% satisfied with Ashford.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford University 3 units in 5 weeks

Social Science/Education - April 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended Pepperdine University, Cal State Northridge, U.C. Santa Cruz, Pasadena City College, and Cal Tech. Ashford is selling degrees without really teaching a whole lot. I pay about $400 per unit and finish 3 units every 5 weeks. The work that I put into it is minimal (less than 20 total hours per class)and I have gotten all A's and one B+. You have to by the textbooks printed for Ashford. Academically, this university is a joke but I will have my degree soon and they did accept all my old units towards my general ed. requirements. I had a problem with the weekly quizzes and getting answers wrong even when I showed my teacher the textbook answer. One teacher changed my score and another teacher said no. I called to complain and suddenly no one was calling me (enrollment advisers call a lot when you first enroll) back. I tried leaving messages and emails and after 3 weeks I finally found out how to complain. For the money that I am paying, I don't think that I am getting a very good education but at this point in my life (46 years old) I don't care. I just want my degree ASAP. Many colleagues don't even know what colleagues mean.

Was this review helpful?

I guess even reviews have yeng and yang

Social Science/Education - February 18, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been reading the other reviews and I just want to go on the record as saying that so far Ashford has been a pleasant experience. I have had no more trouble with financial aid than I did with the b&m school I attended and transitioning from one class to another is a breeze. You order your books in a timely manner and start. And to the individuals that said that no one would return their calls all I can say is that I have never had that problem. As far as the Blackboard going down....hasn't happened yet(except for scheduled times) My advisors and teachers have been very accessable. I think some of the people writing the reviews are either bitter because something didn't go their way or they think they might get something for free if they yell loud enough. For me Ashford is as perfect as any large institution can get.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford Has Been an Excellent Experience

Social Science/Education - January 25, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am very satisfied with my experience at Ashford University thus far. I have completed 3 classes and will be done with my 4th next week. The online experience is very valuable for working adults especially those like me, who have chldren. As far as my financial aid, I qualified for it, was never harassed by Ashford to pay anything before my aid was approved and I also received a stipend right before Christmas. I love the flexibility and freedom when logging into post assignments. My children enjoy seeing me so involved in getting my degree and their response to me is quite rewarding as well. All in all I will say Ashford is a great school to consider. Also, I highly recommend Tonya Rego, my student enrollment advisor. She was outstanding as far as communication, encouragement and explaining the requirements mandated by Ashford. She probably played the largest role in my decision to enroll at Ashford. Oh my GPA is 4.0

Was this review helpful?

Frustrated and Disappointed

Social Science/Education - December 10, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been extremely unhappy with my experience with Ashford. I felt I was very thorough in my research and questioning before I enrolled, but quickly found out that it was not an institution to be trusted. It all began the first week of my first class. My instructor was impossible. I emailed numerous times with a problem/question during my first week. She never answered. Then, when grades came out, she flunked that assignment. When asked why, I was told I didn't do it. It took me 6 weeks to get an answer to my week 1 problem and a explanation of my grade- which was eventually corrected only after I filed complaint after complaint. When I filed the complaint on the instructor, I was told there was no legitimate reason for any action! My academic advisor told me that I could add a minor to my degree- that turned out to be false. He also told me all my credits (109) would transfer and I would only have to take 5-7 classes to graduate. I am now lined up for 11! No one returns calls in a timely mannor or gives straight answers. I have been jerked around the entire time. The rules change in the middle. I am now wondering, if I do finish with Ashford, will I have a legitimate degree? Or, will I have wasted a lot of time and money?

Was this review helpful?

BE WARNED!!!!!!!!!

Social Science/Education - December 2, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wished I never heard of Ashford. The enrollment advisors will say anything to get you to enroll at Ashford. When I signed up for Ashford the enrollment advisor told me how great Ashford was and that if I needed anything they would always be here to help. Well "NOT TRUE"! For one I started school at the beginning of July and it took them three months to send me my first refund. Second you have to pay for books out of your on pocket which averages out to be around $200.00 a month, and even though you get grants and loans they will not take out money from that to help pay for your books. You also have to invest in Microsoft Word because that is the only doc. file that most of the teachers use. Finally they changed the way you get your refund back. Even if you have been in school for a year you now have to wait at least five weeks to get only 30% of your refund back and another nine to ten weeks to get 70% back.The reason they are doing this is that they don't want to see students fail. That is the reason the school gave to me. Also you pay $1000.00 for blackboard to get into group discussions and to turn in home work and in return blackboard is always down. I'm sorry but I feel like as long as I am going to school and passing with a high B average in all of the classes, why should I be punished for others wrong doings.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent perks for military

Social Science/Education - October 12, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am on my third course with Ashford and I have taken other online courses at AIU when I was in the military and let me tell you Ashford hands down is the best. My academic advisor and enrollment advisor are always there when I need them. They are a bit pricey, but they have some excellent perks for military, military spouses and veterans. Free books, free shipping, discounted courses, I can't tell you how much that saves me! They even transfered the majority of my other credits so only about a year and I should have my degree! So, far so good!

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Ashford University in any way.