Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Ashford University

  • Ashford University Reviews

    Ranking: #40
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Ashford University is accredited by WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC), 985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, CA 94501, 510.748.9001, www.wascsenior.org.

3.4
540 Reviews
5 157 
4 179 
3 50 
2 55 
1 99 
0 0 

Ashford University Reviews:

Enjoyed My learning experience

Social and Criminal Justice - August 31, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enjoyed my experience at Ashford and found the school to be challenging and fun. I took classes with many of the same people. Having received a Bachelor's on-line at Troy University I can compare the academics to say that Ashford was just as qualified and challenging as Troy was. The only issue I had at Ashford was that your financial aid doesn't help pay for books and you have to buy them cash.

Was this review helpful?

MUST READ: Ashford is slowly becoming a joke and it’s sad

Social and Criminal Justice - October 31, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am an active duty member that has been attending AU since 2011, I am majoring in Criminal Justice, and I graduate next year. This review is based on what I know and what I have experienced and some might relate to what I have to put on here. When I started to attend the school I was welcomed very well and the student support was there and they even checked on me like a baby in ICU. Through the years I have had about two instructors that were worthless and cared less what you had to tell them and one actually gave me an "F" for one of my classes, Julius Moses (POL 303), steer clear from this guy, funny that after retaking the class with the same material I received a "B". Some would ask, "Did you submit a grade appeal?" Oh, I sure did and it was as good as not submitting anything at all. The grade appeal did nothing and at the end of the day they have made their decision and they will just tell you to retake the class--more money for them. Finance department is just as bad as the Social Security office for people collecting social security. These guys are rude and disrespectful and will talk to you like you work for them and they own you since you were born--trust me I am far from a sensitive individual. My recent issue is my current stipend that I received a few weeks ago (Oct 2014). A few months ago I asked them if they had any stipend and they said NO and they gave me some back woods excuse and I left it at that. A few weeks ago I received my stipend which was weird, after receiving the stipend it even got weirder. My stipend was dated for school year 2012-2013 and I am currently sitting on school year 2014, but they told me I had no stipend. This is one of a few more incidents that I have come across with the finance dept. Student advisors are hit and miss. I have actually come across some that are super and they work with you like a good lawyer willing to fight for their client. At the same time you will get some rotten apple advisors that will not even answer your emails, they will not return your phone calls, etc. I have also noticed that the school likes to change advisors without notifying you and it sucks when you have a good advisor. Re-entry depart is the latest department that I have come to deal with. So I was out of class for more than 45 days due to military requirements and when I came back, which wasn't a problem (thank God), but I was later met with some D-bags. Classes begin on Tuesdays in AU and they open the class on Monday. So I posted my introduction on Monday and the two discussions are due on Thursday. So on Tuesday I receive a phone call stating that I need to login. One Wednesday I returned their call and the guy on the other end is no so polite and I told him it's not my first class and I have already logged in Thank you!! An hour later I receive yet another phone call from the same retarded dept. requesting the same thing. Yes, my patience is running low here, I called back and I spoke to (Eunice Perkins) who I thought would help me, but not surprising at all she didn't and she actually told me"...I can't promise you that we won't stop calling" remember folks, these phone calls were not to remind me to pay or I am overdue for tuition, these were phone calls to harass me about logging in to the class. Wait there is more, yesterday 30 Oct I receive yet another phone call from Retard Dept. aka Re-entry; same script, different rep, and no patience on my end. I understand the guy was doing his job, but he can use some common sense, I finally requested to talk to a supervisor. Erin Walter comes to the phone and she is worse than I expected, you have a better chance talking to a dead cow than talking to her. She was rude, not willing to accept my request not to call me anymore, she refused to email me per my request, and lastly she hanged up the phone on me. This is what the school has down too these days folks. CONCLUSION: Since Ashford has gone mainstream (TV ads, YouTube, bill boards, etc.) they have taken the trend of big corporate companies; to not care anymore and worry about money. The school is ok if you want to complete your degree fast. However, you have to put in work to get results. You have to have discipline for online classes; meaning you have to manage your time accordingly and complete your assignments. The school is accredited (Western Association of Schools and Colleges, Senior College and University Commission) and you can verify with the Dept. of Education (federal) websites. Most employers and even the federal government hire people with degrees, but most importantly from schools that are accredited. Ashford needs to clean themselves up and start treating the students like humans not like we are nothing to the. Lastly I would recommend that you conduct all discussions on email and not on the phone, if you need to conduct anything through the phone make sure you ask for a follow up email.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Education Material

Social and Criminal Justice - May 26, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am having a few problems with Ashford University for the simple fact over matter. If I have a scholarship that offers to pay for my materials then why can I not receive my material by mail. I know that I am an online student and the College and personnel may think that it is good to read our assignments online but three to four chapters then testing without the book? Please when a student pays for their college of decision then why can't they have their books? Doesn't the students goals of academics mean anything? Elma D Smith BA Social and Criminal Justice

Was this review helpful?

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Good school, but do your homework!

Social and Criminal Justice - June 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I transferred about 2 years' worth of credits to Ashford and (not counting over a year spent deployed overseas) took a little over 2 years more to finish my Bachelor's degree. A few things to note: 1. Their accreditation is regional, not national. Some businesses and schools will care a great deal about this, but many will not. Check out a school's current standing as far as their accreditation goes before you commit to pursuing a degree through them. 2. Unless you're transferring to a school in the same university system or community college system, you will almost never see all of your credits transfer over. Sometimes this is because of differences in accreditation, but more so it it because of profit motives. Ashford has a residency requirement of 30 credits, meaning 30 of them must be completed at Ashford regardless of how many you have. Yes, they're a legitimate university, but they're also a business. 3. They're very military-friendly, and most of my courses cost no more than my military tuition assistance. It might seem like they're taking a loss on that, but they more than make up for it in volume. It's a guaranteed revenue stream. 4. In the past couple of years the coursework has gotten more difficult, but there are standards which must be met to maintain accreditation. 5. It is YOUR responsibility to make sure your assignments are turned in on time and your records are straight. Check your financial stats and degree progress regularly, and be proactive if you think there is a problem. Likewise, have a backup plan for times when you find yourself without Internet access or your computer suddenly crashes. Communicate regularly with your instructors, and let one of your advisors know if there is a problem such as instructors not responding to your questions. 6. When it comes to education, you get out of it what you put into it. You don't have to like every single course (I barely skated through two or three, but passed) but you'll see at the end how they all tie together. Plan ahead and think about how you can build on each experience and each course. You will need to be computer-literate, and take extra effort to stay afloat, such as online tutoring sites, if you're struggling in a course. 7. Overall, I'd rate my experience as mostly good, and would recommend Ashford University to my friends with the above-mentioned caveats.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Is there really a law that won't let me take a 30 day break?

Social and Criminal Justice - August 20, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was told today by my student advisor that the California Department of Education requires I sign a form if I am NOT IN A CLASS for more than 30 days. "Just fill out the form" I am told. No mention of a penalty, just fill it out, a suddle threat of something larger which is not explained. Really, the State of California requires I do that? Funny, I never had to do that at Folsom Lake or U.C Davis and I took classes there intermittently. Too much pressure for their financial benefit. I want to take 5 weeks off not 4. Are you going to put me in jail?

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

THE RUDEST PEOPLE I EVER MET.....

Social and Criminal Justice - July 16, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had nothing but problems at this school. The councilors never call you back and the teachers are unprofessional. The financial aid dept is unorganized and they keep your stipend, to collect interest (that's called sitting on the money) and they have been investigated for sitting on money owed to students. When you drop or withdraw they HAVE UP TO 45 DAYS TO REFUND YOUR MONEY, and will wait the full 45 days BEWARE!Doug the financial aide officer is beast...he is nasty, rude and talks to you like you are an idiot. Stephanie the school rep acts like she is as sweet as sugar,,,in till her quota is made.If you want a real education, go to a real school...People laugh at Ashford University. You can get the same amount back for your stipend at a community college. These people caused me so much stress and anxiety I hope the government investigates them again and closes them down as 99% of their funding is from the government and these people are snakes.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Great school if you're willing to do the work.

Social and Criminal Justice - July 6, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled at Ashford last September and I'm just about to finish up my first year. I can say that this school definitely exceeded my expectations on so many levels. I had an awesome enrollment adviser. He helped me through my FAFSA application, the application for the school, the application to request my Army transcripts, and my first class. We talked just about everyday leading up to my first day of class. If i sent him an email or called I usually got an answer by the end of the day or first thing in the morning. I definitely felt like I was a priority. The only reason he stopped talking to me everyday throughout my first class is that I felt confident in what I was doing and did not request his help as much. I got an email every week for the first class and if I didn't answer right away he would call just to check up on me. I have to admit, I was worried about financial aid a little bit because of reading so many negative reviews about it, but I haven't had one issue with it. Any question I've had has been answered with 24 hours. My AA and my FA have been sincerely honest and know what they are talking about. I also took a short 2 week break for vacation last April and I expected some hiccups but everything went smoothly. My first couple of classes were exceptionally easy as I figured they would be. It can be frustrating to sit through them but you have to remember that they are meant to introduce you to the online learning environment. Some of your classmates may not have the same level of computer competency as you and may have been out of school for DECADES. They classes do get harder as you go and normally your classmates will either learn and improve from other classes or drop out because they can not meet the standards Ashford holds everyone accountable for. That being said, Ashford is not a diploma mill and you should not expect to receive easy grades. I've worked very hard to keep my GPA as high as it is (3.96). I've also been selected for the Dean's List and I was invited to join an honor society. If you aren't an independent learner or willing to be then Ashford is not for you and you are probably better off going to a brick and mortar school. Also, you should not expect unrealistic things from your instructors. Many of them have second jobs and a family on top of instructing your class. My current TA is also TA for 3 or 4 other classes. That's a lot of papers to grade and questions to answer. You have to be patient. The quality of the classes blew my mind. After the initial "starter" classes, they quality of the materials and of the instructors were exceptional. I haven't had one serious gripe about my instructors or the TA's. The only class I really had an issue with was my Anthropology class. The quizzes seem like they are based off a different textbook and it was really hard to answer some of the questions correctly. However, I still received an A- in the class so no worries. When I was in high school I was very bored with the classes I was taking because I didn't feel like I was learning anything I didn't already know. High school was more of a "memorize and repeat" type of environment, where Ashford seems to be more "learn and apply". The instructors I've had have all been awesome! I had one that gave me extra credit for pointing out a mistake on a quiz. Many of my instructors have read and replied to my discussion posts and have asked me really thought provoking questions. My current TA even wrote a recommendation for my LinkedIn profile without me even asking. All in all I have to say that Ashford has provided me with an education I am proud of. I recognize that this type of learning is not for everyone, but I have no serious complaints and I can not wait to walk across that stage and receive my diploma in 2014. On a side note, my boyfriend has also just started his BA with Ashford and though he has had some issues with FA, it has not been with the school, it has been with getting the right paperwork from the IRS regarding his taxes last year. He's really enjoying the school so far and is about to start his second class.

Was this review helpful?

Study, look around before you pick this school.

Social and Criminal Justice - March 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm going to be completely honest, I am a current student with Ashford. I am not one of the angry people complaining about financial aid, how my advisor never helps me when I should be helping myself, or how I failed my class and it's the institutions fault. It's essentially because of this. http://help.senate.gov/newsroom/press/release/?id=02ada3a9-907a-4758-b8e7-30868dce6926 If that's where you want the degree you put on your resume then by all means. Me personally I'm transferring out.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding University-From a Active Duty Military Student

Social and Criminal Justice - March 18, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current Active Duty USAF student and I can honestly say I have attended 3 big name universities in my career and AU has by been the best. The Negative-A with any school or place where humans are involved you will fingd those that do not mesh with yourself. 1.My academic advisor is hard to get a hold of, she admitted she does not check her voicemails at her desk. I like to give the benefit of the doubt so I take it is that she is busy with her duties. 2. Ebooks are not my favorite reference for when I am studying, I am constantly gone on work related duties and sometimes I do not have internet access to read my book, but I take the time and print out my Ebook and carry with me wherever I go. 3. The teachers post graded assignments a little late for my liking but when you have as many students as I have seen in my classes with multiple pages of work to grade, I am sure it can take awhile to give honest and constructive feedback. 4. Having tuition assistance I have had to not worry about alternate means of financing, but they do charge military the maximum allowable cap under TA which is $250 per credit hour. Recently I received a mass email from the univeristy that rates will be increased BUT this did not apply to military. I believe to offset the credit hour cost they include free textbooks as a incentive. The Postive-Since I am AD military I have tuition assistance and free books so I have NOT HAD one issue with the Financial aspect of AU. 1. I completed my USAF CCAF AA degree last year, in doing so I completed CLEP tests and went through 2 other "brick and mortar" colleges to complete the CCAF requirements. After all of my transcripts were evaluated AU accpeted 71 of my credits and applied them to my degree plan in Criminal Justice. I only have 49 credits remaining before I get my BA in CJ. 2. My enrollment advisor was absolutely marvelous, she answered ALL of my questions the same day I asked. She was always polite and caring and if she didn't know the answer she foudn it out and got back at the close of buisness the same day. She made my enrollment and starting my classes an outstanding experience. 3. The teachers have a background in what they are teaching, I have had nothing but positive things to say about their knowledge and feedback of my work. 4. They are TRUELY MILITARY FRIEDNLY and come through on their promises they commit to. Bottom Line-As others have said on here before you can get good grades without ever having to read the book. I have had to do it during crunch times. But if you read the material and hinestly put forth an effort into your work the teachers (and students) will notice it and comment appropriately. AU is a for-profit institution BUT they have a physical campus in Iowa and are regionally accreditted. I haven't had one negative experience worth mentioning like others have posted here. To me AU is a wonderful university and I have and will continue to recommend to others that want to seriously pursue their education.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Excellent school at a FAIR price!

Social and Criminal Justice - December 9, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

First off Ashford University is a physical college based out of Clinton, Iowa. Just like any other college you have to pay for your books, and you may be qualified for Student Loans and/or grants. If not, your Financial Advisor will discuss this with you. If you are approved for a student loan you will not be required to pay back this loan until 6 months post grad. If you receive grants, you are not required to pay those back. Some students may received an overpayment check which can be used towards your electric bill, books, and/or internet fees. No college, University, or business school comes without fees; if they do then they are not a true school. I am a third year Social and Criminal Justice student at Ashford along with my husband. We have had a wonderful experience with our school, and it hurts me to hear people say negative things about it. Penn State University Online Courses cost around $80,000...and that is just for an Associates Degree; a Bachelors Degree at Ashford is only $46,000; I will let you do the math. If you have a problem with the school, the only fault lies in your belligerence in handling the situation.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great school

Social and Criminal Justice - November 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a great university to attend. The education I will have recieved here after I graduate rivals any other university in the country. I have attended 2 other schools, one was private and one was state supported.Ashford University has afforded me a great education. Some people have complained about the cost for the books, but I have had books at other schools that were alot more.

Was this review helpful?

I love It

Social and Criminal Justice - September 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have not had any problems so far with AU. I personal have worked for a University in the past who offered both online and on campus degrees and to be honest, I do see any difference. With any institution regardless of its nature there is always the good and the bad. That you will find any where you go in any business field. As for me personally I have enjoyed my time at AU and I am due to graduate soon and can't say that I have any complaints.

Was this review helpful?

DO NOT GO HERE

Social and Criminal Justice - September 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

SCAM. SCAM. SCAM. SCAM. SCAM. SCAM. SCAM. SCAM. SCAM. SCAM. I have had nothing but trouble since day 1. I should have dropped out before my first course but I decided to overlook the first problem. Now I am up to 3 lies I have been told. They are refusing to disburse MY student loan money that is in MY name. I have no idea who my lender is, the college tells me they are giving me a receipt to show proof of my loan paying my class but now they are telling me there is no receipt. I can't get tuition reimbursement from work until the school generates a receipt for me. I am livid with this college. They financial advisor assigned to me doesn't call or email me back. I am dropping this class I am in now before I can't get my money back and before I am charged the technology fee. I am done with this place. The course material for the first class was $75. NOT WORTH IT. The class was EXP105. The material was published without being proofread. There are so many mistakes with spelling and run on sentences. I can go on and on and on. JUST DON'T ATTEND THIS COLLEGE! IT'S A SCAM!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great School but.....

Social and Criminal Justice - August 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I loved going to this school, but could not afford the books. I got both financial aid and loans to go here but yet neither covered the cost of my books. I didn't understand this. But either way I had to drop out after receiving 24 credit hours because I just could not afford the books :( So I am on the look for a better university. But have yet to find one. I wish anyone the best of luck going to this school. It is very easy and you learn alot but the books are pricey.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding school

Social and Criminal Justice - August 17, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a member of Ashford University's class of 2010, I found my experience to be outstanding. All facets of the program from enrollment to FA and being an alumnus continues to be excellent. Education is what you make of it and if the individual student is willing to be dilligent, connect with the professors and their classmates they will feel the same as being in a tradition brick and mortal school. I thank Ashford U. and their staff for propelling my career goals and aspirations. BA. Social and Criminal Justice w/ Distinction Go Saints

Was this review helpful?

Highly Recommended!

Social and Criminal Justice - July 26, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is a great school! I am a third year student and I am getting great grades. The classes are the same as Cal-State Bakersfield for the Sociology major. Classes do make sense with your major. Classes tend to get harder as time goes on. The advanced classes that I have been taking; require three papers per 5-week courses. They aren't hard but time-consuming. Ashford is expensive, but still achievable. When the price of gas, child-care, and other expenses are considered; it's not so bad. My car was broken down for about 6 months and I was still able to attend. There are loans and grants that are available.

Was this review helpful?

Horrible School

Social and Criminal Justice - June 15, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

THIS SCHOOL IS THE WORST RIP-OFF IN THE WORLD PLEASE RESEARCH BEFORE YOU SIGN UP i WISH I WOULD HAVE NOW I AM STUCK I WANT TO DROP OUT SO BAD. tHEY CHARGE FOR THE STUPIDEST THINGS AND THEN 1 CLASS IS ALMOST 1200 THEY CHARGE YOU PER CREDIT. THEN THEY HAVE THIS RIDICULOUS TECHNOLOGY FEE THAT IS 1000 THEY MAKE YOU ORDER THE BOOKS THEN RIGHT BEFORE THE CLASS STARTS THE DECIDE THEY WANT YOU TO USE AN ELECTRONIC BOOK THEY THEY JUST CHARGE YOU FOR WITHOUT WARNING. THE ADVISORS ARE DIGRACEFUL THE TEACHERS ARENT TO BRIGHT EITHER THEY WILL TRY TO GRADE YOU ON A STUPID COMMA BUT THEN THEY MISSPELL SIMPLE WORDS. i AM SO ASHAMED I EVEN SIGEND UP I WISH THERE WAS A WAY OUT I WOULD TAKE IT

Was this review helpful?

So far it's ok!

Social and Criminal Justice - June 9, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I haven't had any problems with AU so far, I will say that I am very pleased so far! I feel that if you address your problems with courtesy and respect, you will get the same response in return! if you attack the advisers verbally to get your business corrected, then you will get that response in return as well! I must say that the financial aid department is slow, but if you are truly here to learn, then that shouldn't stand in your way! if you harass the financial aid adviser to get your money, then he/she has the power to hold it that much longer..show them understanding and patience, and you will get so much more accomplished!

Was this review helpful?

Just as Good as Any Other School

Social and Criminal Justice - June 9, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I see all the mixed reviews for Ashford. I just completed my bachelors degree and I share many of the opinions of other reviewers. There were good and bad courses, good and bad teachers, and good and bad reps. If you do not enjoy writing paper after paper, I suggest going somewhere else. I never wrote so many papers in my life, even for my math class. Most of my teachers demonstrated they read the discussions and papers, while some made it very obvious that they were there for a paycheck. But remember this is with almost any college. I enjoyed my time and am glad to be finished. One last thing, if you have a school nearby that you can fit in your schedule, it might be cheaper. Ashford was quite expensive compared to other in-state schools, but then again you have to go to an actual campus and class (even for some of their "online" classes). Good luck whatever you choose.

Was this review helpful?

Go to Park University if you must do it online.

Social and Criminal Justice - January 16, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I enrolled in Ashford's online program last August mainly because they paid for my books since I'm active duty military. Four classes later and I feel like I have made a mistake. Needless to say the classes are so easy they require barely any effort. I could handle three of these classes at a time and be done with my degree sooner but the school does not allow it. Most professors barely pay any attention to what is going on in the classroom and sometimes are not very knowledgeable on the subject. The part that bothers me the most about Ashford is how anyone is allowed to enroll. Most students cannot post an assignment that is properly spelled and researched. Plagiarism is a huge issue and the school or instructors do not care. I have reported several instances of blatant plagiarism and the students were allowed to remain in the course even though their policies are to fail the student or expel them. These instances were not just forgetting to cite. These students completely copied word by word pages on the internet and posted it to the discussions. To me that says a lot about the integrity of the institution and the validity of this degree. I took several courses with Park University and their courses are quite challenging and their professors qualified and will actually participate in the student discussions. Park University is also more affordable. Unfortunately I am almost done with my degree at this point. I will, however, not complete my Master's with Ashford and will not recommend to anyone. I am very dissappointed with this university and I don't think I will be proud to display this diploma. I would advise at all costs to avoid an online school, but if you're like me and serve in the military then you probably don't have much of a choice.

Was this review helpful?

Great

Social and Criminal Justice - November 9, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is my first year at Ashford University and I am very satisfied. It was easy to get started, I love my classes, they are challenging but not overwhelming. I am learning a lot, especially in terms of writing papers. My enollement advisor and academic advisor is great. My only complaint would be that there was a mess up with my student loan amount. I ended up being shorted and everytime I called Sallie Mae or Ashford, I recieved a different story. My financial advisor was not quick to respond. However, it did just finally get resolved. I am sure situations like this happen at all universities. I think sometimes it is harder if you cant go visit the financial aid office in person to settle an issue. Anyway, I like Ashford. I am happy i am attending. It is great for my schedule too. I work full time and have two kids. It would be impossible for me to have to show up to school at a particular time.

Was this review helpful?

10 th class

Social and Criminal Justice - October 26, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This was my problem. I asked Mr. Robison, my professor at the time, if he could elaborate on the assignment due dates. His response was, "not everything in life is easy". I thought to myself maybe this teacher is a joker or something. I emailed him again with the same question. He responded back a week and half later, telling me there's nothing can do. "Assignments are due on Tuesday and Thursday." I replied thanks I suppose every teacher at Ashford has their own teaching styles. Ever since that day I nothing but problems. blackboard was down one day. So I called tech support. They told me their having diffulties but they will note in my record, just tell the instructor. Which I did through email. Explaining that my paper and posting are going to be late because the systems down. This instructor gives me a 0%, then after I complained he revised it and gave me a 80% because it was submitted late. I told my acedemic advisor and she told me all instructor have the discretion of accepting a paper late or not even if there is a tech problem. My beef is that is wasn't my tech problem it was the schools. It's like going to school the day of your test and the school is closed because of a bomb threat. then the teacher gives you a 0% or late points. Totally not fair.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford University review

Social and Criminal Justice - October 4, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After having attended this univeristy and performing extensive research into other academic venues,I found this University to be ideal for the working adult who needs to obtain a viable degree. I genuinley worked for this degree although, I had over twenty five years of law enforcement experince, which made it easier to comprehend. The course reports were just long enough to make you think but short enough not to exhaust you mentally. This program was a great experience for me, and for those of you who have adult life experince this is a ideal avenue to get an accredited degree, as I am now in law school because of getting this degree. Good Luck with your reserach

Was this review helpful?

Just about Finished

Social and Criminal Justice - September 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I really believe people just like to give bad ratings and there is real no merit behind those ratings. I have been at Ashford for over 2 years now and it has worked out well with my job and family. The classes were good and there was alot of work. Make sure you stay on top of the work because you can get behind real fast. I have had two family emergencies during the two years and both times my academic advisor was there to help. I have one class left to go and then I am done, Sure its no Harvard or MIT but it is still a great college and I am proud to say I will graduate from Ashford.

Was this review helpful?

Do your homework!!

Social and Criminal Justice - June 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read several of teh complaints and must say the ones that are compaining about being able to transfer their credits did not do their homework. My sister is a financial aid advisor at a school in Los Angeles and recommended before I enrolled to research the accreditation. Ashford is accredited, but regionally not nationally. Meaning that your credits will only be transferrable in the region for which they are accredited. Just like any other university you are advised to contact the college you plan to transfer to prior to taking a class to ensure it will be accepted. This is advice for online and off line students. For instance, although I completed my AA in Los Angeles Community College District not all State of California Universities would transfer them. Also if you look at their webiste it has a list of achools that they are partners with. Once again do your homework!!!

Was this review helpful?

Good, becareful, as you would anywhere

Social and Criminal Justice - June 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As long as you don't fall into the trap of believing everything you are told upfront, then I don't think you will be disappointed. The blackboard (BB) is no different here, than anywhere that uses it or a similar software. One post here says they don't credit you if the BB is down. I imagine that it is up to the instructor, but I have yet to have one not credit me if the BB was down. I have noticed many people who post things late in the BB. An assignment due date is there for a reason, so if you are going to be late, don't complain. I have 5 classes under my belt here and I won't complaint about the education I am rec'g, compared to the standard on campus education I have rec'd. The financial aid issues are the same everywhere. I do think the advisors and enrollment people are less than qualified sometimes. They also acted as though my associates degree would full transfer, but only about 70% did. That was disappointing. Ashford is worth it though. They are accredited and I have found the instructors are serious about their topics. The Admin and books are what I question....

Was this review helpful?

Good as any

Social and Criminal Justice - June 1, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am midway through Criminal Justice, and I find it very satisfactory. I have attended both a traditional accreditated community college and a state university, and I don't see the big difference, other than the convenience of doing it online. Some students are just malcontents. I have gotten prompt and ample support every time I've asked, but I haven't had to ask frequently. It's not cheap, but it is no worse than other reputable online colleges. The textbooks are the same as other universities. The five week format is great as far as I'm concerned, and contrary to someone else's assertion, they are NOT all identical.

Was this review helpful?

Seeking out another University

Social and Criminal Justice - March 30, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My initial contact with AU was quite pleasant, my enrollment advisor kept in contact until I was settled in my class. And she did follow-up after being in class awhile. My advisors has changed about three times and financial advisor twice. All of this essay writing is absurb. English I understand but, the rest of these classes unnecessary. This is my 5th class and I have yet to take a class that is remotely close to my major. Lastely, they are now dictating how and when you receive your loan disbursements. 30% after 7 weeks and the remainder in 14 weeks. There claim is if you have to withdraw then you will not be liable for the amount you have spent. Who signed the loan agreement? It sure wasn't Ashford, so what gives. The books thats another issue - I thought I was finished. The buyback is a joke and too expensive for paperback. Why not just continue to post the chapters and read from the computer. $900.00 for technical support, RIP OFF!!!!!! If anyone knows of another University that is pretty descent let me know.

Was this review helpful?

I like this school!

Social and Criminal Justice - March 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been at Ashford for almost one year and I love it there. I like their online format, no group projects, no 'scheduled' times to be online...it's been a wonderful experience for me. The classes are great, most of the instructors are great, but it can be hit-or-miss. Sometimes you get instructors who are more 'hands-on' which is what I prefer. I've worked my butt off to maintain a GPA, and these classes aren't 'cake' by any means. You do have to work, you write two papers for each class, you have discussion prompts that really make you think... I've not had a problem with my financial aid (knock on wood) but it has only been a year. I've never had a hard time getting in touch with anyone at the university, be it financial aid people, my academic advisor, or even my enrollment advisor. I do look elsewhere for books, mainly Amazon or half.com, but there is also a blog put together by a lovely lady where people post what they want or need for VERY good prices. Blackboard is neat, also. There was a period where it was out for an unexpectedly long time and extra time was given after Blackboard was fixed to turn in assignments. I've never had a problem with Blackboard going out that hasn't either been quickly fixed or that I haven't been given additional time to turn in my assignments. So far, I have not had a problem at all with Ashford. The classes have been tough, but not to the point where they are impossible to pass, just enough to challenge you. I would recommend Ashford and I have. I've never been bothered for referrals, either.

Was this review helpful?

Ok, but listen good and take ur time

Social and Criminal Justice - February 6, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently completing my degree. My advice is to listen good to the recuiter you speak with. They say things in a way that sound "concrete", but don't work out that way. E.G. Transfer of credits was disappointing, as she told me all of my credits would transfer, but then only about 60% did. She made it sound like doing the PLA/Life Experience credits was a breeze, but I am currently finding it is not. As someone who has attended a standard classroom at a university, I will say the course materials are on par and the instructors are like you would like in any university. Some will be better than others. I do think Ashford is worth the time and effort, if you don't allow the recruiters to mislead you.

Was this review helpful?

Give me a break!!!

Social and Criminal Justice - February 3, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, the classes and instructors have been good. I enjoy my classes at AU. I have worked my tail off and have a 3.93 GPA, so I have no complaints on that part of the Institution. I am not sure I would recommend people to Ashford simply because of the problems I have encountered in other areas. My main complaint about this school is the process of receiving financial aid. Frankly I don't care what some other students have done, I have four kids to feed and put a roof over their heads. I waited my 14 weeks and I did receive a portion of my financial aid, but they are still holding $1600(about a 1/3) of my money. My tuition is paid for through the military...so why? By the way, my 14 weeks was up in November....still nothing. I was told they will hold 2 classes worth, and then as the military pays they will issue me a check. Military has paid and I still have nothing. They do not send invoices out in a timely manner, and when they do finally get them out, they loose the paperwork that was returned and say it was the military's delay. Not true, because they are furious over this, constantly resending vouchers to Ashford, and sending immediate payment as the invoices come in. I work, along with going to school and do not feel that I should have to hold Ashford's hand through-out this process, that is supposed to be their job. I have attended other brick and mortar schools, taking their online classes and have never had this amount of problem with payments and receiving financial aid. I did notice that even though they only update my account activity once every 2 or so weeks (including attendance) tuition is immediately updated the day class starts. At least someone is on the ball in the billing department! I have called numerous times and have gotten the run-around. Every single time I have asked to speak with a supervisor they are "in a meeting". I have left several messages on the supervisor's voicemail to return my call, if they ever give her a break from all those "meetings" (are they holding her hostage..should I call 911?)and she has not once called back. Policy is supposed to be 24 hours for a return call. For those of you that are having similar problems, you can contact the College Student Aid Commission for Iowa, the number is fairly easy to locate. That will be my next phone call as I am growing tired of having to deal with this issue.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford is a rip-off

Social and Criminal Justice - January 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It is important to know that Ashford will never EVER do what they say they will- your transcripts will take months to get reviewed, you will never know how much financial aid you have to borrow until it is too late. They stole $2000.00 of my financial aid and I am now responsible for that loan when I never even got to finish a class! They don't return your calls in financial aid and they are very rude. I advise you strongly do not enroll in this program! There are other reputable schools that actually communicate with their students in a timely manner. By the way, the blackboard is always going down, but they hold you accountable for your work, even though you can't log in. They are doing unethical things with financial aid, they tell you the first class is free (online program) as well as the books and then they charge you. Don't fall for it!

Was this review helpful?

Ashford is a Good School

Social and Criminal Justice - January 6, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience with Ashford has been mostly positive, yes there are schools out there that are cheaper and there are schools out there that are more expensive but overall the value has been worth it. Ashford has the same challenges that any school that promotes online has. There are challenges with communication and staff, if one does their homework on online schools before signing up you will know that it is common. I find it interesting that some people are quick to point out the negatives with Ashford and claim that they've been to strenuous and prestigious schools. Yale, Harvard and Stanford have online classes, why not go there if you're not happy with the quality of student that is at Ashford? Trust me Ashford is better than most online schools

Was this review helpful?

Ashford University

Social and Criminal Justice - January 5, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I would strongly discourage anyone considering Ashford University from doing so. I am receiving my BA in psychology from Ashford and have completed all required hours, however after being told by my academic advisor and the registrars office that my degree completion transcript should be on its way, I am now informed that I have to complete 3 more hours of upper division credits. I have no problems in doing this if I did not believe I had already graduated. I have 30 hours in electives from another campus, and they will not substitute. I was hired at a mental health clinic pending my transcript (which I was told was in the mail), and now I am without employment due to turning in my two weeks notice to my previous job. I would have never made such a move, but was congratulated on my graduation, or the lie of such. I have been a champ with Ashford, My house was demolished in May 2008, due to an EF-4 tornado. I contacted my instructors and told them what happened and was given an "I" for incomplete. I contacted Ashford and informed them that I could not login to my classes, and one week later I was dropped and the "I"'s became "F". So yes I had to pay again and retake those classes. Ashford has been a headache and it is on you if you decide to go with Ashford. I would find a State University and pick an online format with them. I can not speak for Clintons campus, but the Online experience is horrible.

Was this review helpful?

Degree vs Experience

Social and Criminal Justice - December 18, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I work as a law enforcement officer in the military. Ashford stated they will take in lots of military credits but they didn't. I have schooling in the military as an investigator/forensics. They couldn't even grant me those credits towards their courses. How can my military schools and experience compare to an online investigator/forensics course. It can't even compare. They are a bunch of bull. I don't recommend this school to any military personnel.

Was this review helpful?

It's OK!

Social and Criminal Justice - December 16, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am at the end of my 9th class and all is good so far some classes better than others same with the instructors, some great some suck and do nothing. I have found out that if the bookstore says 6th edition Ashford, a person can get edition 5 and it will be word for word and I have gotten some of the books for $1.50 compared to Ashford’s $75-$100. As far as the F.A. new policies go on the stipend, if it sneaks up on you like it did me all you have to do is tell them it’s not cool you need the money for school stuff they will give it to you the first time than the second time it will be the 7 and 14 week way. Overall it’s pretty good I don’t feel dumb for going. I been in for a year and the same lady (K.M.) that signed me up for the school still calls me and emails me just to see how I am doing. If you like it you like it a lot if you hate it you hate it a lot. And if you don’t get the answers you want from someone there keep calling and asking for someone else, it may take a little time but you will find the right person that will help with what you need THEY ARE THERE! You just have to find them.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford University

Social and Criminal Justice - October 20, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

An Ashford education is a joke. The classes are designed so that anyone with a junior high education can pass. Their so-called "Enrollment Advisors" are actually telemarketers, many of whom are NOT college grads. Their job is to get you in school at all costs. If they don't enroll a specific number of students per week, they get fired. So as you can imagine, Ashford's bottom line is more important than your education; they are a for-profit school. The quality of your education there is questionable. If they are condensing an entire semester into five weeks, how much are you really learning? Or better yet, how much are you NOT learning? They make the classes easy so you won't drop out and take your student loan dollars with you. Once you are in, expect to be treated like royalty...during your first class. The Enrollment Advisor doesn't get credit for enrolling you until you finish your first class, so they check in with you constantly to see how you are, help you with problems, etc. After you finish your first class, don't expect to hear from her again. Now you're on your own. Their support system sucks. It takes weeks to get an answer to any questions. And they will bug you to DEATH for referrals. They don't want to spend any money on marketing or advertising, so they ask you constantly for names and numbers for your friends so they can be put on the call list.

Was this review helpful?

So far, so good

Social and Criminal Justice - September 26, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

So far, my experience at Ashford University has been a pleasant one. My enrollment advisor scheduled "call times" so that we could discuss how I was doing and if I had any questions. He checked in on me quite often throughout my first two classes. Kudos to John Basso. Then I was given an academic advisor who has been nothing but helpful. Anytime I have had a question, she has been there to help me, or to direct me to the person who has the answers, so thanks Brianna. Financial aid was a hassle in the beginning. They didn't receive my faxes, or needed more information, or something, but once everything was straightened out, it was fine. I have already received my aid for my academic year, and am awaiting my award letter for my next academic year. My financial aid advisor was changed during the first go-around, which I am sure contributed to the mishaps, however, I have had no problems since being assigned my new advisor, Carly. Also, the first few classes, I was shocked to see some of the students responses, however, now that I am in my sixth class, there are very few, if any, people with those previous communication skills. Anyone who has a HS diploma or GED can attend college (and attaining those are quite easy). I noticed students dropping out of classes, or the teachers writing announements regarding poor communication skills. The books are quite expensive, in my opinion. I just received my book for my next class, SOC-120 (I believe), and it was quite expensive. $55 for a 119 page book. But so far, I have learned a lot and have attained knowledge I would have otherwise not known. Trying to keep my 4.0 GPA has really been a challenge, so I would NOT say they are a Degree Mill by any means. All in all, I find Ashford University to be a very good school. And I've checked out the Accredidations, they are legit.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Ashford University in any way.