Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Ashford University

  • Ashford University Reviews

    Ranking: #40
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Ashford University is accredited by WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC), 985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, CA 94501, 510.748.9001, www.wascsenior.org.

3.4
540 Reviews
5 157 
4 179 
3 50 
2 55 
1 99 
0 0 

Ashford University Reviews:

Satisfied with my educational experience at Ashford

Business Administration - January 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I entered into getting my degree with Ashford in the Summer of 2012. I went to two vocational area schools and found that they wasted my time and my good money one of those institution is now being looked at for misleading students into entering their institution. I had read some of the reviews of Ashford and those that appeared negative seemed to only be concerned about the finances of attending the University. I myself only really care about the quality of my educational experience and thus far it has been a good one. I have had some difficulty I did not fair well when it came to my Algebra requirement and must take the second one over again but that is just a set back and not the fault of the University it is the fault of myself not getting the right tools to help me enhance the learning. As I said I read the reviews and when you want something of value to you cost should not be a factor what you put into your education is what you will get out of that education. Although I had little or no success in the vocational schools that I entered and completed I did get something out of it I learned even if it did not land me a job in the field that I wanted then but I have learned from all the experiences of this. The key to online education is time management if you don't have discipline then you should not attend an online learning institute if you are disciplined then this is the way to go. I can only speak of my experiences with Ashford but I can assure all that are considering in attending this institution you won't be disappointed in the education process that is if you are willing to put your time and talent into it will make always what you get out of it.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

observe those who complain then you will understand

Business Administration - December 20, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am reading some of those reviews and is having a hard time comprehending exactly what they are saying. Most of the complains are about money and some services. Those who complain about the education if you read through the complains its easy to understand why. I have been attending AU from 2012 and is presently completing my last class. My experience have been great and I cannot really complain beside once having an advisor who if you ask me was inexperience for the job. I was assign a new advisor and she is wonderful. Ashford is accredited and the tuition is affordable. The students who complain most of them do not put the necessary effort into they studies. I am a BA major with a 3.63 GPA, I spend plenty of hours studying and doing research. I take it one day at a time and manage my time wisely. If I am to give anyone any advice it would be; before deciding to attend AU be sure that you are ready to be committed to your studies. People with half a brain should have some sense in that half to know that if you're getting an education online it will be challenging in one way or another. I know this for sure, if you read the text and follow the directions it is possible to get passing grades. I am trying to decide whether or not to pursue my MBA at AU and most likely I will. I have and will recommend Ashford University to anyone who want to further their education. ASHFORD UNIVERSITY IS A GREAT UNIVERSITY AND I LOVE THE EXPERIENCE. We get what we put into it.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Stay Away From Ashford - They Will Lie To Get You In!

Business Administration - April 4, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was mislead from the start. Financial Aid does not cover all fees like they stated. I only attended four weeks of classes at Ashford. I stopped going the day I found out I had a balance with the school after only attending 4 weeks (Hundreds of dollars I now owe them, so they say). They did receive some money for me, however, not enough to cover all the fees. They lied about obtaining my transcripts from my old college that I told them was closed before enrolling. Overall, I attended for weeks of classes and now I owe them hundreds of dollars. I would have never enrolled knowing I would have another bill to pay being a single parent today.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 15 people found the following review helpful

A critical look at Ashford

Business Administration - July 2, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Let me start off by saying that there are several things that Ashford does very well. First, Ashford has an amazingly intuitive user interface. I am concurrently taking classes at a Cal State University and have yet to have had one online class be comparable in general ease of use. Second, Ashford's Constellation program (basically a better version of nook and kindle for desktop) is designed to make studying and note-taking a breeze. Third, the structure of the classes (clear course objectives and predictable assignment dates) makes learning while working simple. All that aside, Ashford is by far the worst scam I have ever seen. The classes are expensive, teachers are lacking in ability, and students are often on par with remedial-class high school freshman. Competent students truly can learn from their classes--the course materials are well written and the pre-approved assignments and discussion topics do lend themselves to creative thought and analysis--if the students are willing to put in the time and effort to teach themselves and monitor their own progress against learning objectives. However, the grading, interaction amongst students, and instructional feedback is a joke. I am so very disappointed with the caliber of writing that is accepted and praised by the staff. Discussions are often plagued with run-on sentences, half formed ideas, consistent misspellings; and that's just from the teachers. I know this is harsh and there are teachers who appear to be decent writers with respectable backgrounds and students who are legitimately attempting to learn, but the majority of the time, I just feel like I'm learning on my own. I know why I'm using Ashford; I need a fast degree to satisfy a job requirement. However, I wouldn't recommend Ashford to anyone else as a legitimate way to earn a respectable degree. If anyone from Ashford's administrative staff is reading this, please implement serious policies about quality of work and require more from your teaching staff. Quality over quantity; remember that short sighted planning equals failure in the long-run. Ashford has so much potential; the focus just needs to be shifted to improving quality of education rather than improving the size of profits.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Thoroughly a GOOD university.

Business Administration - May 2, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have read the reviews listed here and agree with a few but disagree with the majority. Yes, nothing is perfect and Ashford is considered the same--not perfect. Have I had problems and issues arise? Yes. However, I have ALWAYS had great support from the staff; my advisor is a GODSEND!! NO JOKE! Palmer, is his nickname, has been a tremendous help to me throughout the years--not just the first 5 weeks. He still after 3 years sends me emails to check in on me and see how I am doing, how things are going etc. The staff that represents Ashford may not all be this way; it is what that specific individual that represents Ashford wants to be. If you do not like your advisor CHANGE it and work with someone else--after all, you are spending all that money why not make it good for you?! I have also dealt with the financial aid department SEVERAL times and have ALWAYS been treated with the highest regard; they have gotten back to me sooner rather than later or not at all & have always provided me with the answers that I seek. I am 1/2 way through my Bach. Degree and have had a wide range of professors, instructors, and even Doctors for "teachers". Most have been very beneficial to me and my educational goals and only 1 or 2 I have not liked but still were good. I cannot imagine going somewhere else or giving up my dream. The world has become a different place of hard roads and difficult times where you need credentials to help get you anywhere worth going. I whole heartedly believe that ASHFORD IS ONE OF THE BEST, and stand by my decision to attend this school from start to finish. I have just over a year left and look forward to being able to start the next chapter in my life--my career. I recommend this university to everyone.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Decent School

Business Administration - February 15, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been pursuing my BA of Business Administration since February of 2011. So far, I have successfully completed each course (22 courses total) I have taken earning grades of A's and B's with nothing lower than a B-. I am currently working on my major-specific courses. I need to complete 7 more major-specific courses and then I will only need to complete elective courses. I am currently in my 23rd course, which an accounting course (ACC-206). In the past, I had never had issues with any of my assignments until I began the accounting courses (ACC-205 & ACC-206). I did end up passing the ACC-205 course with an overall grade of a B, however, the updated syllabus and new course material (digital book) did not seem to complement each other which is the same issue I am having in my current course (ACC-206). I am currently in my second week of the class and I do not have any issues with completing the discussions, the final paper, or the journals, but the weekly exercise assignments are problematic which is quite frustrating and stressful since these exercise assignments happen to be worth 50% of my grade. The subject of accounting has never been an issue for me in the past, but I have found that a lot of the information required in order to successfully complete these exercise assignments is not thoroughly explained in the course material/book. I have actually ended up hiring a CPA to tutor me specifically for these 5 assignments. I feel that I should not need to hire a tutor and that more information needs to be included in the course resource area. This has been on of my biggest problems so far since attending Ashford University. All of my previous courses were not a problem and I feel I learned a lot of useful information as well as information that I will probably never need in the future. I have given the materials a rating of 10. Almost all of the required course text books are digital copies and always cost $75, which is conveniently taken out of my financial aid loans/grants automatically (all required course text books for each of my previous classes were digital copies). The digital course text books include helpful features, such as highlighting to make notes, being able to easily select chapters and chapter sections to browse, and my personal favorite which is the search tool to search for any words or phrases within the entire book. This makes it very simple and fast to find definitions for key terms. I have honestly always preferred having a hard copy of text book materials, but Ashford University's cost-friendly and convenient course material/digital text book set-up has made me completely comfortable with digital copies. Almost all of my instructors have been decent instructors. I can only point out a few that were not helpful. I do wish that instructors would be more engaged with the students and provide more information than what is simply required of them. A few of my previous instructors would post helpful links to websites, articles, quotes, tools, etc. for the students to use and it definitely made the whole course experience much better. I wish more instructors would be like this. I have read both positive and negative reviews about Ashford University all across the internet. The reason I chose to attend Ashford University is the fact that my step-father had just recently received his Bachelor's Degree in Psychology from Ashford University and had a pleasant educational experience. He has since continued furthering his education in the Psychology field but has transferred to a different University (not for any negative reasons relating to Ashford). Ashford University is one of the most affordable online colleges, which is another excellent quality of this institution. The few news articles I have found speaking negatively of Ashford University have made me somewhat skeptical, which is why I am not giving the Institution a rating of 10. I am rating support as a 3 specifically because of the people who work in the financial aid department answering phone calls. The reason for this low rating is because I have been straight up lied to by people working in the financial aid department on numerous occasions which was quite frustrating and unprofessional. There have been a couple ladies who were very helpful, but the fact that I have been lied to so much by people working in this department has made me lose respect for Ashford University. Ashford's financial aid department needed a simple document from me to be completed in August 2012 in order to process my next financial aid disbursement for my new academic year, yet failed to inform me of this missing document until September of 2012 when I happened to e-mail my advisor asking about my next financial aid disbursement. I promptly completed and faxed the document the same day I found out they needed it. A few days later, I called the financial aid department to make sure they received the document and processed it. I was told they did receive it and that it was sufficient. I was told no further action was needed. A couple weeks went by and I decided to call again just for an update. The person I spoke with informed me that the document I sent was actually not good enough and that they needed me to add some information to it. I did exactly what this person said and included all the information they told me to add and faxed it to them that same day. I called a few days later to make sure it was good enough, was told by another person that it was perfect. Again, a few weeks went by and I decided to call again just to be safe. Once again, I had to make changes to the document because it was not good enough and again I fixed it and faxed it that same day. This was the third time I had to fix the simple document after being told on several occasions that the document was sufficient. All of the times these people lied to me became quite frustrating. Like I stated before, my financial aid was supposed to be processed and disbursed by September of 2012. It was not processed until JANUARY 26th of 2013!!! The document they needed by the way was only 4 sentences of information; it was not some big complicated document so there is no excuse for them taking so long to process this information and there is certainly no excuse for me being lied to so many times by people working in the financial aid department. The only reason I did not give the support rating a 1 is the fact that each time I have e-mailed an instructor or advisor, I received a response within a reasonable amount of time (usually within 24 hours). The value rating is an 8 because I feel the information I have learned and degree I will earn will be useful in my future and although it is expensive, Ashford University is still one of the cheapest online colleges. The use of technology is an easy rating of 10. Everything is very basic and user-friendly. Overall, I would say Ashford University is definitely a great online college with many great courses but they do need to make improvements in some areas.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

A great experience!

Business Administration - July 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience with Ashford University was a great online experience! I received my MBA in Human Resources Management in the Spring of 2010 and I am currently working in my field. I believe that with my enhanced degree, it has helped me tremendously to grow within my field of HR. I recall everything went smoothly, such as with my financial aid, purchasing books, the instructors assistance, the lectures and homework, etc. In the end, my Husband even accompanied me and flew up there for my graduation and it was an amazing experience to actually attend the university and walk across that stage with pride. I have even recommended this university to other friends and they are as equally pleased with the university as I am. I just want to overall say "Thanks" to the university and the staff that helped make it possible for my career growth!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Not Harvard, but not a scam either

Business Administration - July 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I hope my review is helpful because I read some that are so off-base, I felt it necessary to provide a personal note. Where do I begin? OK, for starters, this is not Harvard, Yale or the University of Chicago; but you will get a quality education, if you are truly committed to higher education. If you are seeking an education that is practical and valuable, then you should consider attending Ashford University. It is noticeable that complaints about this school are for the most part, related to financial aid. I have attended this school since 2010 and when I had a problem, it was quickly resolved as my FA kept me informed until its resolution. I believe that one problem is those who complain are not ready for an online learning platform because such a platform requires a prospective student to conduct proper due diligence before attending the school. The assignments are research driven, so if you are not motivated to conduct a lot of online research, then an online learning platform is not conducive to your goals. One issue to address is Ashford, as a for-profit institution, offers everyone an opportunity to earn a degree. That is not the best philosphy, but consider the people that run the college answer to shareholders. Therefore, it is important for the school to consistently earn income. On the other hand, they do not get the respect they seek to earn and that is unfortunate. I must emphasize this school is not a diploma mill. Some instructors are easier than others as in any college. But the tough ones can be very demanding. So,imagine the take-way of a prospective student who just wants to have a college degree and is told "you can learn at your own pace". You know, "hit the books when you are darn good and ready". Well, that person may incorrectly assume they can truly "learn at their own pace". This is not true, because the classes move quicker than you may anticipate and multiple written assignments are due every single week. If you care to learn to write, this is a heck of a good place. Initially, you will notice that the written skills of many new students are less than impressive. However, once you progress in the system, you will notice the skills of those who by the time they have completed their sixth or seventh course are much more efficient, as some instructors will take issue with your skills. The good news is the admonishments are, for the most part,done individually and not in view of classmates. Incidentally the school follows the APA style. Watch for plagiarism, it could land you in a heap of trouble. Finally, I believe that if a person can not follow-up on their financial aid and is simply seeking hand-holding and an income, that person will be disappointed regardless of which school is involved. Not only will their financial aid move slowly, so will their classwork and learning progress. You reap what you sow. Stay on top of your business and blame no one else if you do not. Follow-up is the key to the achievement of any life-long goal. Best wishes in attaining your goals, G

Was this review helpful?

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful

How are these people in business?

Business Administration - June 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended many schools. This is the worst. This school caused a major financial hit for me simply through disinformation in order to make a sale. I was signed up and classes were paid for at a local college with guaranteed class transfers to the local universities. I was told by ashford that they do all the legwork as far as contacting my old colleges as far as transferring courses. I have been to 5 colleges and the idea of someone doing the transfers for me was beneficial. I contacted ashford to see how much post 9/11 I would be paid per month (at a local school, I would receive 2000 a month), they told me I would receive 3/4 of full time pay (that means 1500 a month to me). I also asked if I could receive the summer pell I was scheduled to receive at the local college (2750 for full time summer school, 2 courses over 9 weeks), I was told yes no problem. I also asked if my classes would transfer, I was told ashford was regionally accredited. After the first full month of courses, I received my post 911 payment. I called the school to inquire why it was only 600 dollars. They told me I receive 3/4 pay...but ah..new information... But at half the national avg rate! Woops that's a 2000 dollar hit for me. I ask about my pell, apparently I have to take 4 classes to receive it (as opposed to two) and they have to be consecutive. At 5 weeks at a time that's 5 months (as opposed to 9 weeks) to receive my pell (you cannot take more than one class at a time without a special waiver. So that's another 2750 hit. Then I decided screw this school I will finish out my class and go to a local university. Called all the local schools...surprise! Nobody accepts ashford Credits! So essentially I wasted 5 weeks of my post 9/11 and lost thousands of potential dollars as well as an entire summer of classes I could have transferred. Also I failed to mention the financial dep dropped the ball on my paperwork 4 times even while applying to the school. Long story short...DO NOT GO HERE

Was this review helpful?

10 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Good School, Self Learners

Business Administration - March 31, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending Ashford University for just over a year now and I am very satisfied. Like any business (All schools try and make money) you will have good employee's and bad employee's. That is why all of our experiences are different. I attended a brick and mortar school after I graduated High School. The Prof. that I had didn't care about me any more or less than Ashford Prof. I recomend before you enroll in any school you take a learning style test to determine if online school is right for you. The early classes were easy and as I have progressed up the levels they have gotten progresively harder. I have noticed that the quality of students taking the higher level courses is great. As for financial Aid, I have had no issues. Many times the actions of the school are dictated by how your paperwork is filled out. Also most of the financial Aid paperwork is filled out online and automaticaly submitted. If something is missing it would seem to be the students fault for not completeing or submitting it. Overall a very positive experience.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 14 people found the following review helpful

This Place is FRAUDULENT and a SCAM

Business Administration - March 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wish I can rate them as zero. OK here it is, Im going to tell you the truth, only cause Im losing sleep over it. I am an Admissions Counselor employee at Ashford. This place is so un-ethical and full of fake people its disgusting. So here's the deal. We pretend to care about you, like the snake that puts on a fake smile and stabs you in the back. An Admission Counselor's job is to "hold your hand" for the 1st 5 weeks. These are actual words used in training class. For new employees, you think you are about to enter into a career and the world is great. For old employees, its the "whoever pays me" and "puts food on the table" ideology that they are loyal to. I cant blame them in this economy, because a job is hard to come by.. but for they all know deep down inside what they are doing, but block it off or ignore it for the undeniable strong fact that Ashford pays, and they pay well. So we "care" for the 1st 5 weeks, WHY? well let's break it down as simple as possible shall we.. each unit is $390, making 1 class $1170. the technology service fee is $1290, there are many other fees but lets just start there to make it simple. so $1,170.00 + $1290.00= $2460. Financial Aid will give "ANYBODY", i mean ANYBODY, thats any US citizen, or legal resident with a GED or diploma who wants to enroll in college full time $9500 in loans and sometimes up to $5550.00 in Pell grants. Each class is only 5 weeks long, and Financial Aid takes about 5-7 weeks to process, so once you finish your 1st class (which a 5th grader can pass), they are already got you for $2500.00+. Drop out or change your mind if you want, this is now their money from the Financial Aid and now you owe the government. You feel so smart now so you enter your 2nd class, which is also a breeze.. by the 2nd week of your 2nd class, your charge for the technology service fee is $1290 is now in stone and unrefundable. Assuming your a genius and you finish your 2nd class, so now you owe $3670. so my job was to take care of you and make sure you show up and finish your 1st college course (what a joke), and once you finish, I hand you over to an Academic Advisor that is in chargeo of 400-600 students. WOW! get the picture yet? But what's really genius is the CEO. Damn, what a mastermind... GENIUS! What they are selling is the dream.. the dream that your dumbass can graduate college. They mainly target the South, because they know these are poor areas and if we can only get somebody on the phone, we tell them to close their eyes, and picture getting the degree. will it change your life? get you that high paying job you see in the movies? Sure you can, why not? Jimmy down the street graduated, so can you. All you have to do is click "APPLY NOW". Sure, these online programs will work for those who REALLY need this service, but notice the below 30% graduation rate? lol.. All the counselors here know what they are doing, we discuss it during lunch, after work, over the weekends etc... We all speak amongst ourselves how this place is a joke and its sad what we are doing to innocent dreamers but we do it anyway cause nobody is really hiring out there. We all know the deal, but we all turn away because he who feeds you has REAL control. OK, now lets look at the BIGGER PICTURE and what this is doing to America. They are selling debt to hardworking Americans. A debt that they wont get out of because school loans are forever, even if you file for bankruptcy. I used to have that attitude, that if they're dumb enough to sign up, I get paid. and gettin paid comes 1st, its the American way. That is after 1 year into the job, and I decided to call back most of the students Ive enrolled. Out of over 50 students, only about 2 made it past the 3rd class. So I checked up on them and all of them are now in debt. Some have newborn kids and no support system whatsoever. Some of my students were the sweetest and nicest people youll ever meet, but they're so nice that they get suckered by snakes like me with the gift of gab of "painting a picture" in your head. OK, im done, you can figure the rest out on your own. So much bullshit and politics in one building.. you have entry level employees who get promoted into managers, directors, and HR, who's EGO's suddenly got a lot bigger since theyre new role. Last year, they were square JOE who had no friends coming in, after the promotion, they all of a sudden have all the balls in the world since they basically determine the future of you being employed or unemployed. promotion, attitudes and egos... I get enough drama from this place that I dont even watch TV anymore. they should make a reality show about this place.

Was this review helpful?

133 of 159 people found the following review helpful

Happy so far..............

Business Administration - December 4, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending Ashford for almost a year now, finishing my BA in Accounting. So far I have been happy. You may have to contact FA a few times if there is a glitch, but if you are persistent, it gets taken care of. The academic advisers call about once a month to check on you AND they always have returned my calls. The coursework can be challenging as you advance, well at least in accounting. The couple of beginning classes you take can seem a bit simple, and you must pass those with a C or better to stay in, but if you can not pass these classes with a C or better, maybe you should rethink your goal of attending college. I transferred out of another online college which was a freaking nightmare and wish I would have went here first. Everything is spelled out for you when you begin, IF YOU READ THE PAPERWORK THEY SEND YOU! Financial aid is somewhat your responsibility, but if you eligible, you will get what your ELIGIBLE for here, well at least I did. The professors will NOT hold your hand and spoon feed you, but if you complete the work assigned and put effort into it, you will be successful. I am looking forward to graduating, and actually considering them for a masters if I choose to continue, though it would be a MBA, and I would rather have a masters in accounting. If your a busy person, or have some other issues that make attending college difficult, this is a great place to go.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

A Good Program

Business Administration - November 4, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, Ashford University was a positive experience. The education was sound with substance. I appreciated the interaction I had with the staff (from my counselor to Financial Aid). Everyone was supportive and worked hard to give me a sense of support. The value overall is good and the advancement and technology is first class. Ashford University is a good school.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

I worked for me...

Business Administration - September 5, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a current student at Ashford. It has been a relatively good experience for me. I don't know if there is another format I could have functioned as well within as a single father working full-time. I have had some bad professors, but most of them have been effective and supportive. I agree with some of the other reviews in that I question the caliber of some of our student peers. I graduate next month and I have come to the conclusion that many professional organizations will question the value of my education at Ashford. I fear that the value of my degree will not stand on its own. Therefore, I feel that I must get a Masters from an alternate school in order to legitimize my degree from Ashford. I think the best feedback I can give is that you will get what you want out of it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Do your research on the school

Business Administration - August 12, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a former student of Ashford University, just having left the school in May 2011 to transfer into Bellevue, University. I will neither say that the school is outstanding or horrible, but this school does have its issues. The reasoning behind my leaving the school was because of the lack of professionalism on the staff's part as a whole, to include the degree auditing department, business office, and the financial aid department. The auditing department continuously lost my transcripts and then gave me credit that belonged to someone else. The business office as well kept loosing my documents and I had to resend documents to them. Now the financial aid department is a whole different story. Now being that I am in military, TA pays for part of my tuition up to $4500.00 and my GI Bill pays for the portion TA doesn't cover, so there is never a lapse in payment for my classes. My classes are always paid for approximately two weeks after my grade has been sent out by Ashford University, and I have always maintained a zero balance, I checked this daily. However, I got a bill from Ashford University for $1050.00 and they couldn't explain how this happened and said it had to be paid. I paid the bill, but this is also the straw that broke camels back, and is when I decided to transfer to Bellevue, University which is a more reputable school, that is private and non-profit. In closing, I would advise everyone not to just use these post as your sole deciding factor on whether a school is good or bad, but research the college navigator web-site I have listed below, to get informaiton on perspective colleges before making a decision to attend a particular school. This web-site will give you a wealth of information, about student default rates, graduation and retention rates, accreditation status and many other things. http://nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator/

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Not a Typical University

Business Administration - July 12, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just applied a few days ago. Like most universities, this would mean I wouldn't be starting until the winter like I intended since I applied so late. My plan was to go back to community college and get a lot of the general electives out of the way (history, math, economics) for a semester before going to Ashford for financial reasons. My "guidance counselor" (aka a sales woman) called me literally an hour after I submitted my application. Since then, my phone and e-mail has been blown up with messages. I explained my financial situation, seeing as a class at my school costs about 300 dollars, and I'd have to pay 2,000 for my first class at Ashford and wanted to make the most of my Pelle grant. They took 51/62 credits, which I had no issues with. However, the woman went from telling me transferring classes from my transcript was no problem and how they take 89 credits to telling me how "dangerous" it was to continue at a community college for basic classes accepted every where (US History and Intermediate Alegebra, for example). Soon I had 3 different people (a "manager", a financial aid advisor, and my guidance counselor) calling me each once a day and getting frustrated because they would call me at strange times while I was at work when I've told them time and time again I'm not coming until winter and didn't expect to be pressured into signing up the same day that I submitted my application. Basically, it's very clear that they work off of commission and after being borderline harassed for over a week now..I'm so turned off by coming to this school that I don't even care if it's a great school or not. Perhaps your institution should be a little more friendly and less obvious that you're just working to get your credit on your pay check instead of helping people get an education.

Was this review helpful?

HORRIBLE Experience...They avoid telling you what your Financial status in but sucker you into enrollment!!!

Business Administration - June 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is full of crap! After being overwhelmed with calls each day and harrassed by the enrollment guy to get started I enrolled and got started with my first classes Adult Psychology. After the first 2 weeks, I never heard back from Financial aid and when I did it was automatic emails that told me forms were incomplete...huh well why would you enroll me to begin. This continued on until I completed the first 5 wks and when I called Financial AID each day to follow up on my financial aid status no one called me back or attempted to help me until I escalated the call to the supervisor level. However during this whole ordeal the advisor keep enrolling me in my second class and even when I told him I would not take another class until my financial aid was completed and I knew what the status...they refused to drop the 2nd class. After the 2nd week of the 2nd class it was finally drop when I demanded the phone number to their ombudsman to file a complaint on the school. This school still charged me the one time technology fee along with the half of the 2nd class and the full cost on the first class. They set you up and if you aren't proactive they will make sure they get your pell grant money and also charge you the ridiculous costs and fees. I WOULD NEVER TELL ANY ONE TO GO TO THIS SCHOOL FOR THEIR GRADs program because it is a waste of money. I still end up coming out of pocket for $1600 and only spent 7wks in there program. Therefore it is not cheaper to go to an online university vs to an local university that make sure your financial aid is approved prior to starting any classes! Please THINK TWICE and don't be fooled by ASHFORD!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

How good is Ashford University?

Business Administration - May 19, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I will be graduating this month from MBA Project Management program. Started Ashford University September of 2009. From the first day until today Ashford has provided me with a first class administrative and academic support and excellent means of communication. The quality of courses and professors has been outstanding. Teachers and advisors have always been available to answer questions and solve problems. I have not had any problems with Ashford’s support system. I would certainly recommend Ashford University to people who are seeking the opportunity to receive their education online. People who can study and learn independently. Students who know what their goals are, and are willing to work very hard are excellent candidates for Online education especially at graduate level. Online education takes lots of initiatives and determination. Teachers are not there to comfort the student. Their job is to facilitate the learning experience and point the student at the right direction. If you need teacher’s guidance every step of the way, need constant counseling, and are not able to pick up the ball and run with it, then please attend classes in person and not online. I hope these comments would help people to choose wisely.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Your Focus = Your Reality

Business Administration - May 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Institutions differentiate themselves to provide value to various markets. Traditional schools focus on students just starting out who need a well-rounded foundation to get started in their working life. Online schools focus on working adults who need to earn their degree to advance in their careers, but have little ability to schedule classroom face-time. Reading these reviews is instructional. Note that those with primarily positive comments tend to write well, understand how to research information for themselves, and don't expect somebody from the school to "tell you the fine prints" (nperkins36, 2010, para 1). In short, if it confuses you that the University is located in Clinton, Iowa and its employees call you from San Diego, CA, this program may not be right for you. If it upsets you that the school uses one edition of APA rather than another, you may not have the temperament needed for college. If you do not understand that most college work involves "teaching yourself" then do yourself a favor and do not apply to *any* college or university. Try a vocational technical program instead. There is no shame in this - just go to the kind of school where your needs are best met. Overall, after 30 years in my field I found that earning my MBA/IS confirmed a great deal that I experienced in my working life, and expanded my horizons in the way I looked at a number of issues. I learned a lot. This is because I read a lot, researched a lot, communicated with others in my class a lot, and participated in the discussions a lot. I liked some instructors better than others, but I reminded myself frequently that these are human beings who each have their own views and preferences just like I do. I did not attend their classes to enjoy myself. However, in most cases I did enjoy my classes. The Ashford experience was totally different from my (early life) bachelor's pursuit, where I attended a brick-and-mortar campus. Nobody cared about my educational career more at that school than at Ashford. That isn't their job. This is college - not a K-12 cradle school. The reason the first campus experience was different is because the focus was different. I didn't know much of anything as a young person, and I tended to focus more on memorization, trying to learn processes and understand how things work. When you're a working adult, you tend to focus more on learning new ways of doing what you already know how to do, so you can do them better. Ask yourself what your focus is, then find a school that will best meet your needs and help you make your educational goals a reality. If all you want is somebody to hold your hand and walk you through your education, you will be disappointed with Ashford's educational offerings. Personally, I was very happy in my experience with Ashford, and I earned the degree I expected to receive as a result of my extensive research. No more, no less. I was satisfied with the service my counselors provided because I didn't expect more from these front-line workers than they could provide. If you find yourself angry (not just about school, but about anything in life) remember this. What angers us most in others is often what we dislike most about ourselves... we just don't want to admit it. As another wrote, do your homework and take personal responsibility before you sign any contractual agreements and you'll be okay. Personally, I loved Ashford and selected the school because my research proved it offered the greatest value at the lowest price of any other MBA program, including those offered at state-run institutions. As another reviewer wrote, you are not likely to become a Fortune 500 CEO after earning your MBA here because the institution is not accredited by AACSB and does not have a GMAT requirement. You get what you pay for. Govern yourself accordingly.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Ashford is just Ok...but not horrible.

Business Administration - May 11, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ashford dropped me from classes due to my having to travel for my job. I tried to express this to my academic councellor but it was brought to my attention that they changed my AC without notifying me. Ashford is a decent University and I'm sure there are folks that have had a good experience there. My experience there was better than I expected going in. Overall, I think they need to quit hiring students to work as advisors. They are not mature enough to handle the issues that working adults experience. I have chosen to transfer to Bellevue University.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

A college is a college, you wil learn if you choose

Business Administration - March 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The negative comments must be taken at face value; the rhetoric written is typical of online raving. AU allows students who choose to learn an opportunity to do so. There are many degree holders from other regioanlly accredited institutions who are clueless about what they learned in lecture halls. At AU, you can opt to sleepwalk and probably earn a degree, guess what? You can do so in any school in this country. However, why not choose to learn and get credit for your knowledge? I am certain that some critics encountered problems and that happens in every school, we deal with humans after all; make no mistake, the respopnsibilities of earning income or credit for education lies with each of us. AU can be an educational experience for those who make it that! Some derogatory comments actually are useful as the administration has continued to make positive changes, especially in light of Federal demands. AU, as most other RA online colleges, will raise the bar on admissions. Finally, I must comment that my nephew graduated from a top ten college and told me that tuition at his school has been raised by 100 percent, all schools do at some point. I am not happy about it either. I am in my 6th class and attended an IVY league school many years ago. Guess what, you get what you put into anything that is worthwhile in this life. Time management and total dedication to learning is the key at this school. Do not enroll if you are not willing to learn independently, in fact, skip the entire "college experience", for most schools will soon offer most courses online.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Not bad once you weed through the "not so smart" advisors

Business Administration - February 23, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is the college I went too, and one of my favorites. The only thing that I did not like was the transferability of credits. When I went to Embry Riddle, they accepted all of my Army schools into all of my electives, as well as Central Texas College. Ashford only gave me 9 credits and told me that they will continually evaluate my annual evalutations. When I call my advisor and tell him I need to send in an evaluation, he does not know what I am talking about. I am tired of having to explain everytime I call, and then still, I only have 9 credits transfered. The support is not great, everything else is cool, I would recommend this college.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

POOR!!!!

Business Administration - February 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had the WORST time contacting Ashford, they never answer my calls, and because of that they dropped me out of the school because i never got ahold of them! The are a JOKE! DONT enroll in this school!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Rude teachers

Business Administration - February 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Please feel free to go here if you wanted to get treated rudely by the teachers, also if you want to get ignored by the academic advisors. I tried for two weeks to get a hold of my academic advisor once and now i am being charged for the class in which the teacher treated me like i was scum on the bottom of her shoe. And forget about talking to the dean cause it is like classified information that they wont give out so you can make an appointment to talk to the dean.

Was this review helpful?

This College is a Joke

Business Administration - January 7, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This College is not a place to earn a degree. At first yeah them seem okay. But then they screw you over and take your money. The Financial Aid department is a bunch of uneducated people that have no idea what they are doing. They messed my husbands account up they sent all of his financial aid back to the government and gave themselves a refund check which was his pell grant and then sent him a $700 check that was suppose to be used for his classes. By the time they screwed all this up they he owed them over $3000 dollars for classes. We tried to let them know that they screwed up and they said they would fix it and he would have a 0 balance and be good to start classes again. So its been 6 months and they still haven't fixed it. They almost did the same thing to me but thank God I got out of that situation. This college is terrible they have poor communication and they do not know how to treat their students.I would call and leave messages and even email them to have them get in contact with me and it would take a month sometimes to be able to speak to them. Every time I would talk to someone from the college they would speak to me as if I was a child. My Finance Counselor was a very rude individual. She needs to go back to school and take a communications class and learn how to speak to a person and to treat them like a human being. The nicest person there was my Enrollment counselor Julia. She was super nice. Hmm maybe they use the nice people to get you sucked into their college of lies and scams. Maybe that is what they train there employees to be are scam artist. Every time I got a call from someone at the college it says the call is from out of California. I thought Ashford was in Iowa. Seems kind of funny to me that I am suppose to be going to a college in Iowa and receive a call from a person in California that is with Ashford. I hate this college and I can not believe I have wasted my money and life at this institute of hell. Thanks a lot for nothing Ashford University.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Be Very Carefull

Business Administration - December 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I advice any student to be very careful at Ashford. If you have taken out student loans then dropped a class ,check with your loan company to make sure it was returned. Ashford has the right to turn the money over to you or the loan company. This is their decision, my loan company sent me a note saying that they are in charge of said money but they do not have the right to hold onto it until they feel the money has drawn enough money for them, maybe you will get lucky and it is returned. Please check with your loan company. I am on day 65 and my loan has neither been repaid or returned to me. I dropped my class on Sept the 29th. I had to ask four differen6t people to help me, no one seemed to know how a student drops a class. I received a e mail saying my money had been returned to the loan company. I called it hadn’t. Now I am scared about the other loans that I had and if they have been cancelled or returned. Just be very careful.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Grow up

Business Administration - November 11, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As a graduate of both the BA in Business Administration and MA in Organizational Management programs I can honestly say that I am overall satisfied with my experience as a student at AU. What I don't understand however is the barrage of negative comments by reviewers who must live in la-la land because the issues you encounter at AU are no different than any other college or university you attend; ground or online. We are all adult learners so please review the following before making a decision about taking courses online with AU or any school for that matter: 1. If you need your hand held or need to be coddled like a child then don't go to an online school period. There is no such thing as getting your way with the snap of your fingers. 2. If you can't invest time in yourself to take on learning new things independently then don't go to an online school. I had to learn the finer points of the APA format through researching on my own time. 3. If you are coming to school because you want financial aid checks, then please do us all a favor and don't bother coming. You should be here for an education not extra money. If you can't afford books out of pocket then consider going to a school where books are included in tuition. When I got my AA, I had no extra money for books so I went to AIU where books were included. Did I spend way more for my AA? Yes but my goal was getting a degree not getting a check. 4. Don't sign on the dotted line or e-sign until you read and understand what you are getting yourself into. Ignorance is not bliss and you can't blame anyone but yourself if you jump into something you are not ready tackle. Even though you don't see the costs immediately, you are paying probably at least $1,000 PER COURSE. It is a great investment if you are ready to complete your degree but it is also unnecessary debt if you are not committed to the decision. I encourage everyone to finish school and get a college degree, it is a great feeling once you have achieved your goal. Just be realistic and be smart about your choices.

Was this review helpful?

I Loved Ashford

Business Administration - October 31, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I think Ashford is a great college. I am graduating with my BA in Business Administration and will soon begin my MA in Teaching with Technology. I have had a great experience. The financial aid department needs to get a better grip but other than that I have no major complaints. It is just like any other university you get some Profs that are wonderful others not so much. Online is very hard, you have to be really determined to succeed at it. I think that the people who trashed the University were jut not cut out to do it. As far as cost, hay all school charge a ton of money for you education. Ashford gets an A from me!

Was this review helpful?

Please consider Ashford

Business Administration - October 30, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I personally found the classes to be easy; however, I attended private primary schools and completed my secondary education at two college preparatory schools; so I was well-prepared for college-level work. For personal reasons, I never completed my college degree, but I did attend various junior colleges. At 41, I returned to school. I am now 43 and I graduate in 50 days. I believe my educational experiences have afforded me a different perspective from most people. I consider Ashford's curriculum to be on par with most “traditional” universities. I have done the research and read numerous reviews. For the record – “Ashford University is a regionally accredited institution and their credits transfer to other regionally accredited institutions. They are recognized by the Higher Learning Commission which is a member of the North Central Association of colleges and schools” (watsonlisa15, 2009, August 10). Furthermore, “This university has received Quality Matters(TM) Recognition for two years in a row--which acknowledges Ashford's commitment in assuring its courses are based on rigorous, research-based standards” (watsonlisa15, 2009, August 10). This is all verifiable. It is not just an “online school” – it has a real campus folks. In fact, as a previous reviewer also noted, President Obama delivered a speech at its campus when he was still a senator. You can read about it here: http://www.nytimes.com/2007/09/13/us/politics/13obama.html. You can get financial aid – it’s called Stafford loans. I have invested thousands into obtaining my degree – but it’s far less than I would have paid at U.T., Austin, I can promise you. Do I have to pay it back? Of course I do. Higher education is not free. I empathize with anyone who experienced difficulties during the financial aid process. However, please remember that like every major purchase you make in life, you must do the research and educate yourself. Do not rely solely on others to guide you every step of the way. Like the saying goes, “You can lead a horse to water, but you cannot make him drink.” People must be responsible for their own decisions and actions. There are plenty of resources to educate you in the financial aid process. I started here: http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/ I hope it will offer perspective students additional “food for thought” about Ashford University while deciding on which school to attend. Please research all the facts on a school before you make your selection – whether it’s this school or another – just do your “homework” before walking on campus or signing-on for the first time. As someone with a 3.95 major GPA, and a 3.97 cumulative undergraduate GPA, I have received exactly what I put into it – a solid education. Like the other reviewer, I too will proudly accept my BBA degree from Ashford University. They offer a decent education at an affordable price. I wish all of you the best in your future endeavors. Eva Marie

Was this review helpful?

Kids....

Business Administration - October 30, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It seems 99% of the reviews are posted by angry little kids who were spoon fed for the past 20 years. I am former ARMY and currently contracting in Afghanistan, so my options for schooling are pretty limited. I have taken five classes so far, and have since doubled my course load (6 credits every 5 weeks). If you are military/former military books are free and tuition is discounted. This is an affordable option for myself and other vets, and on that note I cannot speak about the financial aid department that seems to be the number one complaint here. Almost all of my science/math classes transferred over, as well as some military education courses. It seems everyone here cries about not having there hand held at all times. All I can say to that is good luck in life, maybe get mummy and daddy to work through your issues for the rest of your life. It is an accelerated program which works for me. I had 70+ credits from a brick and mortar school, and there is little difference between sitting in a desk and staring at the wall or sitting in my hooch and staring at my lap top. I think the classes are easy at Ashford, and felt all of my science and math classes I completed before were easy as well. You get the syllabus, you do the work, suck it up, drive on. Yes, the enrollment advisors try their hardest to get you into school. Does that mean you cannot do the slightest bit of research on your own? Absolutely not, but I know how hard www.tryasearchengine.com can be to use. My financial advisor is quick to respond and post my information through VA so I get reimbursed for my classes. My academic advisor responds to my emails within hours - I write a message in Afghan and get a response the next day (same day for her). Issues with the cost of tuition? Research other schools... all expensive. A college degree is not cheap. Join the ARMY, see the world, get a college degree. For half of the people ranting on this board, it would probably do you some good. Will this degree help me on the outside? I do not know. But I imagine having a degree and at least showing my future employer I have the motivation to better myself and work for things will get me somewhere. The caliber of student? Yes, there seems to be quite a few people who struggle to write a halfway decent sentence, let alone put a thought down on BlackBoard. Is it the same sitting in a lecture hall? Yes. Is it the same in life? Yes. I am satisfied with Ashford, and honestly have no complaints. I could cry about the delivery of my books and the fact I have not received them yet, but I am in Afghanistan after all. Once I post this I will jump on USPS and post some angry hate mail for them. You can't be miserable all of your life young buck!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

good enough but room for improvement

Business Administration - October 12, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have had an overall safistory experience at Ashford I just graduated in September with my B.B.A in Business Adminstration. My Accdemic Advisor was very good helpful,understandinding and she cared. The instructors were good with the exception of a couple. The only area that I think need some improvements is the financial aid department most of the advisors are clueless don't know their jobs each time you call and ask a they always a q uestion different answer to the same question and they often advoid telling you about your financial aid and how it will be disburse. overall this sxhool is good I learned alot.

Was this review helpful?

Good education, Hard course work

Business Administration - September 6, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ashford has been a great experience for me so far. I am only seven classes away from graduating with a BA in Human Resource Management. I have never had a problem with my counselors; if I needed information they call me back in a timely manner. I to read all of the angry post about Ashford and saw, the only thing people where upset about are the technology fee and financial aid. (Cheep books: Amazon, I have never bought a book from Ashford directly, not even the one they claim is custom for the class) Having attended state junior colleges, I can tell you that all schools have problems with financial aid and they too have their own special fees. Anyone who wants a true hard earned education then this is the school for you. One more note on Books, you can always look up the class book weeks before the class starts and buy the book from other web site that is how my $125 Ashford “custom” books becomes $15. Always used and always a month before the class starts.

Was this review helpful?

Dishonested School

Business Administration - August 28, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school has a great sales pitch to get you into the school but do not tell you the fine prints. The enrollment counslers gave me false information and I was very upset the didn't tell you you had to maintain a C average they did not tell you that the classes fee change and you have to take an additional loan to pay for classes when you have pell grants and student loans avaliable. Financial Aid sucks also you pay for classes. Listen very carefully to salea pitch. I got SCAMMED!!!!Hate the School!!!!

Was this review helpful?

Love it here!

Business Administration - August 24, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduate next year with Ashford and I am so excited to say that! I may be staying longer and working on another degree but for now I have to say I am really pleased with their school. It targets military families a lot and I am just though, a stay at home mom and Army wife so I do travel a lot as well as stay home a lot raising my family. I previously had enrolled with AIU and QUICKLY realized that would have been the biggest mistake ever, such a scam. With this college I can do classwork from anywhere, and get a hold of people at almost any time. I never have to wait long and I get email replies no later than 2 days after I sent my initial one. I have heard that it doesn't challenge you enough but I feel like Ashford's main focus is understanding people have lives outside of college and their best advantage is giving you the freedom and time to discipline yourself and get your work taken care of. I feel any online college is more of a disciplinary thing though because you aren't required to go to class in person every single day. The help you get form Ashford is AWESOME!!! I have had to stop and start classes so many times because of our crazy life that you would think they would just drop me already but instead they email regularly and give me calls making sure I am ready to continue on again and they applaud me for slowing down when I need to and getting on with it when it is most convenient for me. I really think Ashford University is one of those colleges that will maintain a good price and always be available for help. Kind of like Southwest Airlines... lol! I wish I had the extra cash to buy an Ashford hoody!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

Attending Ashford since 2007

Business Administration - August 12, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been a student at Ashford since 2007 and the only problems I have had are those with Financial Aid. I have problems with them letting me know BEFORE I owe money for a class so that I can prepare for the money I will owe. My student loans do not cover nearly enough of the funds and so I must find other means of paying. The Financial Aid is the only tough part about Ashford. I have enjoyed Ashford and feel that as I continue to attend the classes are becoming more challenging. I will graduate in 2011 with my Bachelors and I will go on to receive my Masters.... more likely from Ashford. My mother received her Masters from Ashford and my husband is graduating with his Bachelors in September. We have all had pretty good experiences. Books are pretty expensive.

Was this review helpful?

A little more than okay

Business Administration - July 20, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I found the classes to be fairly easy. They are strict about receiving their funds. But like any school, you can't attend unless you have the money to pay for it! Some teachers are more involved than others (as with all schools) I attend my local college as well, which supposedly is an excellent school, and I consider the material I learned there to be equal to Ashford's. Online means you pay for convenience, which of course means higher tuition and what not. I'll be graduating this year, really have no complaints. As long as you have a plan as to how you're going to pay, there should be no problem. You won't be "dropped" from your classes or what not. And as far as people complaining about the books, go to any school's bookstore and see how much the books are. Ashford DOES NOT make custom books, they only say ASHFORD UNIVERSITY on it. You can get the same book on eBay for $10.00 without ASHFORD on it and it is the same exact book for class. I have paid between $8.00 - 45.00 for my books on eBay. I don't know if I will stay for my B.A. I will be doing research on other schools, but it's a good school for your A.A.

Was this review helpful?

Just started and Love it

Business Administration - July 7, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It is funny to me that I read posts of poor reviews regarding technology fees. I have now taken part in3 online programs, and all of them have charged technology fees. I just began my education with Ashford after transferring from another online university. The program set up they have is wonderful. I really enjoy the one class at a time atmosphere, which allows me to pace my education and meet other responsiblities in my life. The advisors and teachers have been outstanding. I love the personable approach they have to their students. They even sent me an email on my birthday...this was awesome! It's they little things they do for their students...which they don't necessarily have to, but do, that make the big difference. All the negative reviews on here....I see some people have a hard time accepting responsibility for their actions. Hope they learn in the future.

Was this review helpful?

DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL!!!

Business Administration - July 1, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Hi, My co-worker and I were attending this school, everything sounded great when we were talking to the recruiter. I was told my work Verizon Wireless would cover most of the cost the school charges minus the books. This made me very excited to attend this online college. I ask my advisor/recruiter about any other fees, he said there was this technology fee which is $1000 that he has never had a problem waiving this fee for employees of Verizon Wireless. Well 2 months into the school they hit me with this $1000 dollar fee I can't afford to pay. I call them and they say this fee is impossible to waive, so the cut me off in the middle of my class because of non payment for the tech fee. Remember this is an online school, how bogus is a tech fee I am not even physically attending a school. Long story short I was cut from classes and now threatened to get thrown into collections. I will never attend this school and my co-worker and I will continue to demote this school to everyone we know. Please do not feed into this schools lies, make sure you do your research and deal over email instead of the phone just to leave a paper trail.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

My Ashford Experience

Business Administration - June 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been a student at Ashford for about a year and a half and will graduate with a BA in Business Admin in about 4 months. Overall my experience has been great and I have been challenged in classes. I had only nine classes left at a traditional college and of course lost a few classes during the transfer. For the most part, the teachers have been great and very helpful. One in particular, Professor Stern was online every night available to chat about assignments and post. Of course there are a few who tend to have "canned responses" for posts but the majority of the online faculty challenged me. I think the online format would be greatly improved by some sort of chat room to discuss issues with classmates LIVE as opposed to by email. I do feel the online environment is more of a challenge than traditional schools as you must have a bit more self motivation and often have to solve things yourself that would be easily answered during a normal face to face classroom experience. Great school for me.

Was this review helpful?

poor

Business Administration - March 17, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

the people that are your advisors and FA advisors really dont have a clue what they are doing and need to be replaced. They messed up all my FA paperwork and i had to drop out of school. So be extremely careful what school you choose to attend. Check and Check there background.

Was this review helpful?

The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly

Business Administration - March 8, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended the University of Utah. Ashford's courses are just as challenging. As you get higher up in the degree program, class sizes get smaller and more focused, just like they do at the brick and mortar colleges. The drawbacks of online learning; facetime and the chance to work through solutions. My current textbook was a rush job. There are 'self-study' questions after the learning objective is covered, but the solutions are at the back of the chapter, so you have to flip back and forth to work the problems. Far better to put the solution to the problem there, then several variations with references back to the learning objectives to reinforce the concept. Then go on to the next objective, then the problems at the back of the chapter. This way, you have the reasoning down. I also had to protest my grade when my first accounting professor was yelling at me in caps. Then he downgraded my course work. I turned it in on time, properly cited and it was the equal (if not better due to spelling and grammar) of the rest of the students. He gave me a zero on my final paper. I documented each and every contact with him; did not use email (he never responded) and when I protested my grade, Ashford saw it my way. They have a grievance process just like any other university, and they resolved the issue. My grade went from a C- to an A. I filled out the survey for him as well. Here is the good part: During the time that Ashford was evaluating my grade, they released the Dean's list. I wasn't on it because of the evaluation, and they weren't going to put me on it. HELLO? I EARNED that bloody A, and I EARNED IT in the time frame of consideration for said list. They revised the list. Thank you. That was all I asked for. Would I use Ashford for my Master's? No. I think I got a solid education that will stand me in good stead. I got out of it what I am putting into it. Their tutorial service is a JOKE. Not only that, the tutoring service uses people from other countries who do NOT speak English (spare me the righteous indignation of your outraged offense), do NOT get in contact with you and then the chalkboard is totally user unfriendly. As someone who is paying BIG BUCKS for this, I want that portion of my tuition refunded so I can go to the online tutoring center of choice and get better instruction for the problem. Is this unique to Ashford? Nope. I submit you will have similar problems. You just have to fight for your grade after you have studied and worked for it.

Was this review helpful?

Rought Start, but Worth the Wait!

Business Administration - October 26, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ok, I've been in my program since June, and I am finishing up my 4th class. I had a VERY VERY rough start dealing with financial aid. Unfortunately, it took 5 months for my financial aid to get processed due to errors on my part and miscommunications from AU's financial aid office, however, I can say that it's worth the wait. They have a generous transfer credit policy which helps you graduate sooner. Although I had a headache trying to get through the financial aid process, and many times it was difficult trying to reach people to talk to (enrollment counselor, financial services advisor, academic advisor), but I will say this: IF you can get through the headache of miscommunication, waiting to hear from someone, trying to reach people and can't sometimes, you'll be satisfied with the school overall afterwards. I think the only complaint I really have is that it would take days for a return call back or email from my enrollment counselor, academic advisor and financial services advisor, which often got on my nerves. HOWEVER, I look forward to becoming an AU alumni...this is my honest opinion, and I don't have any other complaints about MY INSTITUION OF HIGHER LEARNING!!! GO SAINTS!!! :-)

Was this review helpful?

non compliance professor

Business Administration - October 6, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently finished my 8th class at Ashford,I know that the people in Iowa are a bit slow so I never made a big deal of it. I had a death in my family which I fully made my professor aware of and after emailing her to get a due date on my final paper, SHE never replied so I email her again today and she turned in the grades today. I submitted my paper just a couple of hours ago. She responded to my 2nd email. I failed the class .. Wow , my GPA just took a dip like the stockmarket. where do I go from here....?

Was this review helpful?

financial aide

Business Administration - September 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am enjoying my classes,but the financial aide office need to improve greatly.They are rude and don't know ther job mvery well.

Was this review helpful?

Good School!!!!

Business Administration - August 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I will say that I used to work for Ashford as an Admissions Manager, and while I didn't agree with policies and procedures there or feel that I didn't get treated fairly, I would have to say that Ashford is a great school! Faculty and other university staff show they are dedicated and all about the student. I am not going to let my work experience there come into my overall rating of Ashford, everyone cares about students there and that's all the makes the difference. I will be graduating soon and I am very proud to have come this far.

Was this review helpful?

~Cont ~ Previous Post

Business Administration - August 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I find it hard to believe that the President of the United States would deliver a major national policy speech at Ashford if this school was not known for its quality educational practices. This school is great and hopefully students will start attending at least 3 courses before they post remarks that are completely unreliable. Ashford University is a regionally accredited institution and their credits transfer to other regionally accredited institutions. They are recognized by the Higher Learning Commission which is a member of the North Central Association of colleges and schools. Only 30 percent of all educational institutions have business programs that are accredited by AACSB--and Ashford is not one of them. Ashford is one of the 70 percent majority not AACSB accredited. This does not mean that their business degrees are not valuable in the workforce, but it does mean that if you plan on becoming a top CEO on the Board at one of fortune 500's largest and most profitable corporations, you need to have an MBA from an AACSB accredited institution that requires the GMAT at enrollment. I have known many colleagues and business professionals who have received business degrees from regionally accredited institutions whom are faring rather well in their careers. If you are rich and you can afford to pay top dollar to attend a school that is AACSB accredited (which is the gold standard of business degree programs) then I would recommend you do so. But if you are like the majority of Americans who are looking for a way to supplement their income but don't have the funds to attend an advanced business school, then Ashford is a great place to pursue your professional goals. Ashford is a well-respected university that offers an up-to-date curriculum. This university has received Quality Matters(TM) Recognition for two years in a row--which acknowledges Ashford's commitment in assuring its courses are based on rigorous, research-based standards. They also allow you to attend your classes' commencement ceremony when you graduate. At graduation, I will walk across that stage and proudly accept my Ashford University degree. ~God Bless You All, Lisa (I am a double major pursuing a Bachelor of Arts in Business Administration and Business Economics).

Was this review helpful?

Ashford is Awesome

Business Administration - August 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ashford University is a prestigious school in which Democratic President Barack Obama (then president elect) delivered a major speech at in September of 2007. This school is notorious for its quality educational practices. I am in my 18th course and I am thoroughly enjoying my experience at Ashford. When I enrolled at Ashford 2 years ago, sure there were a few students (out of 20-25 students) in the discussions who were struggling with English because it was a second language, but those same students ended up dropping out by the third class because they couldn't keep up with the curriculum. If you stick around to at least the end of your second course/beginning of your third, you will find a host of incredibly experienced classmates who are well-versed and very intelligent. People who enroll and only complete one class are the ones who complain about the use of language from foreigners who are attempting to complete their education--but unfortunately they end up dropping out because they have a hard time reading their weekly assignments and posting their relative responses in the discussion board. I think it is just ludicrous how impatient and rude some people can be to foreigners who are trying to learn an extremely hard language and who are trying to better themselves. The reason why they end up dropping out is because people look down upon them instead of encouraging them to keep trying.

Was this review helpful?

Great Experience

Business Administration - July 30, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This has been a great experience for me. I am currently in my 13th course at Ashford and I will graduate 09/2011. The only downfall is that some of Ashford's custom textbooks are very expensive. My BUS 330 Principles of Marketing course textbook was $196 and I have had a couple others that were between $140 and $150. The average cost of textbooks for previous courses has been between $65 and $90. If you buy all your textbooks when you receive your stipend, you should be fine...but if you don't, you may become frustrated with the cost of your books. The staff and professors have been excellent and the curriculum is top notch. Just keep in mind that just about every course requires an 8-16 page research paper for your final grade. This grade counts for 25-30 percent of your course grade--you pretty much have to spend most of your course time planning for your final. In week 3 of every course, you have to either complete a rough draft of your final or submit a 3-5 page essay on an instructed topic. The discussion forums are really neat and I enjoy getting to analyze my classmate's thoughts on the discussion topics. The weekly readings are usually 2-3 chapters long. To truly get the most out of this experience, it is imperative to keep up with the assigned readings. The topics in the discussion forum are relative to the weekly readings. There are objective assessments due at the end of each week--but if you read the assigned readings, they are a breeze. If you do not read, it is extremely hard to find the answers hidden within the chapters. Overall, this has been an awesome experience and I am very proud of the quality education I am receiving. I would highly recommend Ashford to prospective students.

Was this review helpful?

Love classes but Financial Aid are RUDE

Business Administration - July 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I love Ashford classes and I love the flexiability but financial aid are rude and don't care. I called financial aid and they are giving my different dates on when I am suppose to be receiving my stepid check. I spoke to one finacial aid rep and he was very rude and was laughing at my questions. I even called his manager to leave a message and have yet to receive a returning phone call. Their financial aid department is so unorganized and not customer service like. I e-mailed my financial aid rep and have not received a response as well. Ashford needs to understand that it is hard trying to buy books. Why can't they be like other colleges and just give book vochers and people would not have to be struggling to buy books. Ashford financial aid department gets mad when you call them about your stepid check like it's their money and like they are the ones that is paying for your loan. But overall I love the classes I had so far but financial aid needs to get a makeover and stop hiring high school rude people.

Was this review helpful?

So far so good

Business Administration - July 22, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been enrolled in Ashford since February and have not had a problem with them at all. I have had good experiences with enrollment, financial aid, classes, and instructors. I had 40 credits transfer from my previous college which I thought was great that was 1/3 of my required credits. The only frustration I had was my state aid which was my fault not Ashfords, I put my application in too late, so I didn't get it but the Pell grant paid for a majority of everything so far and I did get Stafford Loans but that was only because I could really use the left over financial aid that they send back to me. So overall I am satisfied with the flexibility of it all since I have social anxiety it is great for me I don't have to leave my house.

Was this review helpful?

A Proud Ashford University Student

Business Administration - July 21, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

In my opinion, choosing to go for my BA in Business Administration at Ashford University back in April 2009 was one of the very best choices I ever made. As of today, I currently hold a very well deserved 3.65 GPA for the very first time ever. I was late one day in submitting an initial post because of the Blackboard system going down and my previous post not making it as the result. However, the instructor still gave me full credit for the initial post after I honestly explained the whole truth on why it was a day late. It may seem challenging at first to squeeze a whole courseload in 5 short weeks, but I do have faith that it can be done. My only regret would be not pursuing a wonderful opportunity like this earlier.

Was this review helpful?

Get Over Your Issues

Business Administration - July 11, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started out paying cash for my course, but after my 3rd class, I decided to apply for finanicial aid. It only took about 1.5 weeks to apply and get approved. It is true some of the academic advisors and financial aid reps are just as ignorant and the people posting bad remarks. You have to be smart enough to know what you want and how to obtain it. This is a great online program which doesn't rely on anyone but you to complete. When you do enroll and you start reading your the required postings, you will see there are definately people who don't belong in a college course. I think some of these people are the one typing these negative reviews. In summary, if you want to obtain your degree and you do not have the time to attend a traditional university, this is the best online program. The other popular online programs do not allow you to apply to any masters programs expect for their own.

Was this review helpful?

Run around

Business Administration - July 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I contacted this school as an inquiry. Robert is a smooth talker. I continually asked him ALL through the inquiry if this was obligating me. He continually answered no and pressured me into apply for financial aid to see if I would qualify. Before I knew it, I was enrolled and plagued with phone calls and e-mails. I can't seem to get ANY help getting off the enrollment. They seem to ignore those calls. Do not do an inqury of this school unless you are ready for an e-mail and phone nightmare!!!!

Was this review helpful?

absolutely not worth the time

Business Administration - May 31, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am writing this on behalf of my step-sister. She separated from the US Navy last year and wanted to get her college degree. When she asked me for my input, I suggested she research her options very carefully. Nearly one week later, she informed me a local online consortium had contacted her and offered to accept her military training as a substitute for nearly ALL of her prerequisite 100 and 200-level credentials. Having spent several years working alongside a colleague who later became the president of a very well reputed corporation, I decided to inquire about the bona fides of an online university in today's business world. Sadly, her response was what I feared most-she told me to tell my sibling, "absolutely not worth her time." Unfortunately, my sister did not listen. She paid her enrollment fee and expected classes to provide her the necessary instruction to permit her to find suitable employment in the business community. Almost six months later, my sister had her BBA in marketing. To date, she is yet to find a job paying more than $28,650. Her total bill for materials and instruction: more than $50,000. Several potential employers have suggested she transfer her units to an accredited university, like USD or National. To my sister's disgust, these schools will NOT accept any of her upper division work, and few of her accredited transfer credits from the US Navy. SDSU told her she would likely have to start at the Freshman level, if they admitted her at all in lieu of her attendance/degree completion at another university.

Was this review helpful?

BAD BAD BAD BAD BAD

Business Administration - May 19, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CAREFULL I TRIED TO CANCEL MY CLASSES AS OF THE THIRD WEEK BY LOGGING IN AND AND SEEING HOW TO DO IT DUE TO I DIDN'T WANT TO ATTEND THAT SCHOOL IN I GOT STUCK PAYING 801.00 SO THEN I SET UP A PAYMENT PLAIN WITH THEM AND WOW THE TOOK MY CHECKS AT ASHFROD AND CASHED THEM , BUT THEY ALSO TURNED ME IN TO A COLLECTION AGENCY'S.. SO BE CARE FULL THEY REALLY DON'T CARE ABOUT YOU JUST YOUR MONEY OVERPRICED ON LINE SCHOOL.!!!!!!!THESE PEOPLE ARE BAD

Was this review helpful?

Think carefully before wasting your student loan $

Business Administration - May 16, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I made the choice to enroll at Ashford to complete my degree in Business. My first class was great but my second class was taught by a professor who ruled with an iron fist, had control issues, didn't communicate clearly unless it benefited him, and quite frankly was terse with words and rude. I got my first grade from him and I immediately withdrew. In state tuition here costs 1/3 of what Ashford was charging me for an overrated professor who didn't care "1" ounce about me. I hope they enjoy the thousand bucks I spent because it will be the last dime they ever get from me.

Was this review helpful?

Ashford University is WONDERFUL!

Business Administration - April 19, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I dont understand all the negative review, but then I sat down and thought about it. Online schooling is not for everyone. There's a lot of people that really need to have a phyiscal school to go to, just like there's people out there that cannot work from home. They need that structure and for someone to tell them what to do and when to do it. I am now in my 6th class at Ashford and it's not at all easy. I currently have a 3.93 average and it's really hard to continue that. Everything is not as easy as people may think. Yes, the tests are open book, great, but the written assignments arent just given to you, neither is the discussion posts. I noticed that most people on here that are complaining were only with the school for like a month or so. I havent had a problem at all with my financial aid. I receive my stip-end exactly when I am supposed to with no problem. I have been very pleased with this school and once I am done with my Associates Degree I am going on to my Bachlors and my Masters. I really enjoy this school.

Was this review helpful?

Don't Waste Your Money!

Business Administration - April 3, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I found this to be a complete waste of time and money. I felt the classes were useless and extremely expensive in proportion to what was taught. It wouldn't be so bad if I felt I had learned something meaningful. Honestly, how much can you expect to learn with a semester crammed into 5 weeks, minimal instructor feedback and sub-standard learning materials. The constant 10 page term paper writing was tedious and worthless. Don't get me wrong - I have nothing against putting forth effort for my education but a term paper every five weeks even for an Information Technologies class is ridiculous. When I decided to downgrade my program from a Bachelor's in BA to an Associate's, they tried to get me to take a class almost identical to one I had already finished. It was simply named differently but the synopsis was virtually the same. I had to petition the registrar to get it transferred. The approved it but after all that they never did change my degree program. An administrative oversight apparently. It was at this point that I started to feel that I was being shammed. Their customer service is mediocre at best and somewhat juvenile. Getting questions answered or problems solved can take weeks. Their financial aid department is a joke. Ashford University is a business - not a place for higher learning. They are in it strictly for the money! Don't waste your time or get into debt with financial aid and have nothing meaningful to show for it. Take the time and go to your local j.c. or university. You'll be a much better person for it!

Was this review helpful?

Could be worse!

Business Administration - March 20, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been at Ashford since October 2007. I am 40 credit into my degree with another 80 to go. There are positives and negatives to the school. I like that it is online. I like that some of the instructors are willing to work with deadlines when you show you are willing to work hard. The negatives are that some of the books are a bit pricey and the buyback is usually not worth it. The other negative is that you basically have to write an 8-10 page paper for the "final" in each class. I would much rather take a test then write a paper for some of these classes. I understand having to write a paper in an English class, but in an environmental science class a test would be sufficient! Some classes have more instructor interaction then other. I can totally respect that since most of the instructors have families and full time jobs just like the students. I haven't had too much interaction with my advisors, so I can't say if they are good or bad. The few times i've emailed my financial advisor she has gotten back to me within 24 hours which is acceptable to me. So far everything that has happened was exactly what I expected and what they promised. After being rejected the prior year by Colorado Technical University because I couldn't get any student loans, it was nice to find a place that would work with me to help me obtain the dream of a degree.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Ashford University in any way.