Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Ashford University

  • Ashford University Reviews

    Ranking: #40
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Ashford University is accredited by WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC), 985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, CA 94501, 510.748.9001, www.wascsenior.org.

3.4
540 Reviews
5 157 
4 179 
3 50 
2 55 
1 99 
0 0 

Ashford University Reviews:

I love Ashford University

B.A. Early Childhood Education - January 6, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am now in my last year at Ashford University (I only had to attend two years because they accepted all of my credits from previous schools), and I must say that thus far, it has been a challenging but enjoyable journey. I have attended other on line schools as well as on campus schools, and I must say that what I have learned from them does not compare to what I have learned at Ashford University. This school has a rigorous curriculum, and you will not be able to just slide by. AU curriculum is research based, so you must have excellent research skills. If you attend this University, than you must work hard because if not, you will not succeed. I (and all of my fellow classmates) have to write 3 (course related) pages each week for each subject (Including Math) along with other assignments, and we have to write a 10 page research paper on the subject matter in the 5th week. For the most part, my Instructors were knowledgeable and their feedbacks on my submitted work aided me in understanding my courses better; priceless. There were times when I thought about quitting because of some of the reviews; but then I would think about all I that I have learned and I just cannot leave it; and having every last one of my credits excepted by AU, is a big deal as well. Also, I like that my student adviser places at least 10 future classes on my portal, and I am very excited about all my classes to come. Furthermore, I know of two people who have graduated from AU, and they both were able to find work in their fields. However, I must warn everyone, that if you attend AU, YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE TO DO A GREAT DEAL (UNDERSTATEMENT) AMOUNT OF RESEARCH AND LEARNING ON YOUR OWN. I capitalized this to emphasize that you must be dedicated and you must work hard to complete your course load. Furthermore, each class last exactly 5 weeks, and your next class will follow the next day after your previous class has ended. I hope this review was helpful, and I am looking forward to finishing my education and obtaining my BA from Ashford University.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Into my second year...

B.A. Early Childhood Education - February 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently into my second year at Ashford and I love it. I have been on the deans list for Winter and Fall 2011 and love the education I have recieved. I think Ashford is a great school.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful

plagiarism not enforced

B.A. Early Childhood Education - October 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I know one student who i reported almost two weeks ago for plagiarism. I sent them links to every discussion in two classes and concrete proof she plagiarized. Including links to the websites she copied from. She did it in about 8-10 discussions in two classes. I have a third class with her and she is doing it again. In fact she did it two weeks in a row. My friend reported her again this week. I am thinking about a class action lawsuit for discrimination and failure to uphold their end of the agreement. They are not offering a quality education or upholding the standards they propose in writing.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

ONLINE DEGREE AT ASHFORD

B.A. Early Childhood Education - May 8, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I FINISH MY BA IN EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION ONLINE. IT WASN'T A EASY TASK EITHER. I HAVE BEEN IN A CLASSROOM SETTING MANY TIMES BUT THIS IS MY FIRST ONLINE EXPERIENCE AND I FEEL LIKE IT IS HARDER ONLINE THAN SITTING IN A CLASSROOM. YOU REALLY HAVE TO READ A LOT AND WRITE A LOT. YOU READY HAVE TO BE DETERMINE TO COMPLETE A DEGREE ONLINE. I HAD PROBLEM WITH THE FIRST ENROLLMENT ADVISER I HAD. ONCE I DECIDED TO GO TO AU, SHE SOON DISAPPEARED AND WAS NEVER ABLE TO CONTACT AGAIN. EVERYONE ELSE WAS GREAT THOUGH. AS FOR THE FA DEPARTMENT, NO MATTER WHERE YOU GO TO SCHOOL AT, YOU GOING TO HAVE TROUBLE WITH THEM. I GOT MORE HELP WITH MY AID ADVIOR I HAD HERE AT AU THEN WHEN I WENT TO A TRADITIONAL SCHOOL AND SAT IN THE CLASSROOM WHERE I RECEIVED MY AS DEGREE. OVERALL, I LIKED THE SCHOOL. THERE IS ALWAYS ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT BUT THAT GOES FOR ANY SCHOOL.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

So far so good at Ashford

B.A. Early Childhood Education - September 15, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been attending Ashford for little over a month now and I see no problems thus far. My adviors are very attentive and contact me often. My instructor is very good. I enjoy my courses and dicussions with fellow classmates.. Like I said.. so far so good.. Having minor issues with the financial department but its nothing major and they are on top of things. Its a good schol overall.. People have issues with online college, mainly because they don't think its going to be as time consuming and challeging and on campus but it is. Ashford has a great online program.

Was this review helpful?

Would recommend Ashford to anyone!!!!

B.A. Early Childhood Education - August 24, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I wrote another review but wanted to add information about this particular major. I just graduated with my BA in Early Childhood Ed. from Ashford! I am currently applying everything I learned in a large (250 children) Child Development Center as an Assistant Director. I am really prepared to run this large center and use the knowledge to help the teachers effectively run their classrooms. Ashford is a great school with many professors that want to prepare you for success. I especially found support from the Early Childhood professors. The support, guidance and knowledge I gained from Ashford was excellent. I would recommend the school to anyone!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Ashford has been good to me....

B.A. Early Childhood Education - June 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am from Guam and so far....I have been very blessed. would like to make the dean's list soon so I am working very hard at it. I am in my forties have a family of 5 kids and 2 grand children. my like is busy. but because this is online. I have the flexibility of being and prioritizing my time. Every ad visor that I have interacted with has been very helpful.Thank you Ashford!! Patricia Elaine Fejeran

Was this review helpful?

My experience with ASU

B.A. Early Childhood Education - June 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started attending Ashford University in January with the estimated graduation date of December of 2014. I am currently taking my pre-requisites for my B.A. in Early Childhood Education. I am so far satified with the school. I had my financial aid situation already set up from a previous school so all I had to do is add the Ashford School code to the financial. My enrollment advisor is excellent. I like being prepared and ready anyhow, so I didn't find her pushy at all. I believe I called and emailed her more than she did me :) Financial aid went through smoothly..wait except when they lost my papers through the fax and I had to send them again. Other than that everything else was fine. Just this week my lasts set of transcripts came in and now my new estimated graduation date is November of 2012. I basically shaved 2 years off just with transferr units alone. My classes are good, I feel that the teachers that I have had so far are very prepared and really pay attention and show concern in what they are teaching. I pray that as I go further in my education it continues to stay the same. Now my academic adviosr wasn't very helpful, I would have to speak to a "available" one everytime I tried to reach her, that was annoying as heck. I have sense been assigned a new academic advisor so I hope she can stay connected. I am looking forward to graduating in 2012

Was this review helpful?

I see nothing wrong with Ashford

B.A. Early Childhood Education - May 27, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been a school hopper for 5 years now with no real direction in what I wanted to do in life. My last school was a technical school were it seemed like they let you fall through the cracks. One instructor would not let me do that. He noticed I read - a lot! I go through three books a day. Plus he noticed I utilized his materials and took things in his course seriously. He asked me if really liked the degree I was in and I said no. He then suggested going into English and Literature. He encouraged me through the duration of the semester, and while I got less then perfect grades in my other courses, I shined in his. He then told me to find a university that teaches English and is affordable at the same time. I chose Ashford. I'm a critical thinker thanks to him and if you want to succeed you have to look into what your going into before you apply - the English program is perfect - it teaches everything I need to learn to become a English teacher. I have a great enrollment advisor - who even called me when he was sick to see how I was doing with the enrollment process. My Financial advisor is pretty good as well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

CAUTION

B.A. Early Childhood Education - April 24, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Caution to all the honest har-working people out there trying to Though the staff at Ashford may seem like the nicest people on earth, they are only out for your money. They have no real concern for your well-being. As long as you are sending them money they are great. But as soon as a financial problem arises, they do a 180. To start the $55 fee that they assure you won't be charged to your account, will be charged to your account the very next day. Don't believe me.... check your account. In the beginning of the process I was contacted on a daily(some times several times a day) basis to see if I had any more questions or concerns. They had an answer for every question I had. But when I had my doubts and brought up that I had found a better option to get my degree, EVERYTHING CHANGED! They no longer had any answers for any questions I had. When I informed them that I no longer wished to continue with Ashford, the games started. They refused to hear what I was saying. All they did was talk me in circles and pass me to the next person on the phone. They are just out to get your money and meet their quotas, nothing else. They became down right rude with me over the phone. They are not paid to support you, they are paid to reel you in and take in as much of your money as possible. I am a honest, hard working women, just trying to better my life. All I got in return was disappointment. Please don't let them get you! There are other options out there. Look for other goverment programs. T.E.A.C.H is amazing program that actually cares about childcare workers, and they will go out of their way to help you. Save your time and money and tell Ashford to shove it. You can get the same or a better degree through T.E.A.C.H for a fourth of the prices, and with alot more rewards. I hope that this helps whoever comes across it. I don't think anyone should be taken adantage of(especially those who are trying to further their education and help teach the youth of our world), and that is all Ashford is about. So run! Best wishes!

Was this review helpful?

REELED IN..THEN FORGOTTEN

B.A. Early Childhood Education - April 18, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Ashford reels you in with all this good talk, and constant communication until after you start the class and then all of a sudden you post or email a question about your asignment and the teacher aide nor the instruction gets back to you for 2 days, that is after several attempts to get an answer from them. First class they require is a $1200 joke and 5 weeks long wasted. You are better looking somewhere else for your education. Their only interest is MONEY!

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Ashford University in any way.