Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Ashford University

  • Ashford University Reviews

    Ranking: #40
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Ashford University is accredited by WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC), 985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, CA 94501, 510.748.9001, www.wascsenior.org.

3.4
540 Reviews
5 157 
4 179 
3 50 
2 55 
1 99 
0 0 

Ashford University Reviews:

Ashford University's Online Degree Program

Bachelor of Arts, Accounting - February 23, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I and am new to the online degree program and college. I am 47 and had a very easy FAFSA process but right before my first course my computer was used to download a few undesirable programs. Long story short my computer was infected with terminal MALWARE and Trojans which equals a laptop that was trash and not salvageable. Course drop. I buy a new computer, purchase Microsoft Office again and I have everything downloaded as far as required technology for Ashford and I opt for Mozilla Firefox instead of Google Chrome, MALWARE-TROJANS, second course drop. Through all of this disappointment my Student Counselor was wonderfully supportive and had great advice. He went above and beyond, with nothing less than impeccable phone etiquette and friendliness, we formed a friendship that has been very comforting. I am now in my third course and love it. If the cost is an issue pay attention to the paperwork. I am here for quality and you get what you pay for. I have read far too many reviews by individuals who seem to complain about credit transfers and/or Ashford not being accredited, Instructors are not competent, too expensive, and these people seem disgruntled, angry, unhappy, miserable, and/or not getting the grades THEY feel they deserve. I want to say TRANSFER and stop trying to make your complaining the authority on Ashford's credibility, ruin others chance to attend a fabulous college. I did my research and find nothing lacking in my expectations, in fact Ashford has exceeded my expectations. I am very happy and enjoy every minute of my Online Degree Program. I am here to learn and build a career outside of my lifestyle career. I wish luck to all who want to learn from the best.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Current Accounting Student

Bachelor of Arts, Accounting - February 9, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently double majoring in Accounting and Business Administration through Ashford. This school has been great. I have had 3 different Academic Advisors, but 2 changes were due to changing degrees. My current Advisor calls me regularly on a set up date and time. The classes are challenging and productive towards the class. The discussions however, not so much. As stated before, there are sometimes issues about commenting on someones post when there is no real relevance to the topic. The instructors give feedback, some more than others. They do tend to work with you when you have a family emergency or just need a break in between classes. I really havent had any problems with this school. I really enjoy my classes, professors, and advisors.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Overall Ashford experience from a graduate.

Bachelor of Arts, Accounting - September 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After reviewing other online education formats, Ashford seemed to be not the worst choice; however, there were issues with misinformation and the time it took for some to return phone calls or answer messages. They are awarded a 48 hour turn around for returning phone calls or messages, but that does not apply if it is a weekend or happens to occur on their allotted days off (which can turn easily into 4 days). When a class is only 5 weeks long, a 4 day turn around is unacceptable. I also found many of the instructors to be disinterested in the course work, and were even told by some of them about the minimal requirements they had to abide by. I did not qualify for any governmental aid, so all of my classes were paid through student loans that I am responsible for. My largest complaint is the lack of interest the educators have and I was paying at least as much as a standard university (brick and mortar) but was basically required to teach myself through text readings and research for many of my classes. For those of you who do not have the time or money to do this, I would recommend researching other venues, or actually attending a traditional format. It will still end up taking the same amount of time, and you are not at the mercy of Ashford's lackluster commitment to its students. I found many of the advisors (which are constantly changing) to be inconsiderate and condescending, and it is very difficult to get an answer from anyone. They are great at brushing the student off. I did graduate from here with highest honors (summa cum laude), so this review has nothing to do with grading. I worked many hours of every day reading and researching to learn and earn my grades. Overall, I would not recommend this school to anyone who has to pay out-of-pocket. If it is a free education, and you don't care about being treated with respect, go for it.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Current accounting student

Bachelor of Arts, Accounting - January 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been a student at Ashford for over a year now, and have learned a lot. My academic and financial advisor contacts me at regular intervals, and my teachers have all been knowledgeable in their fields. I agree that sometimes there are students that do not seem to belong in the class, and am sure their grades reflect this, as in all schools. There is also an issue with Ashford specific books and materials that is a little irritating, but that is getting easier. Overall, I am happy with my educational experience, my financial aid process, and my degree progress. I think this is a great program for people who need to work, but also need an education.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Current Accounting Student

Bachelor of Arts, Accounting - August 15, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I also have not had any of the issues that I seem to be reading a lot of. My advisor & financial aid person are the same, and she is very professional and accessible. The professors are very good; all of mine have been quick to answer questions and offer feedback. My only complaint is the majority of my classmates are not at a college level. I am in 300 level classes, and 3/4 of the students are using terrible grammar, lack organization in their thoughts, and are just generally bad. It is really hindering my learning, because I have a difficult time trying to respond to posts that are completely off topic and have no real content. I love the setup that Ashford has. They have given me the opportunity to complete my education, and I really thought that I had missed my opportunity. I just wish that there were a little bit more discrepancy in accepting students. Some of these people need more help than a professor in an online setting can truthfully give.

Was this review helpful?

Great school

Bachelor of Arts, Accounting - July 14, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I don't understand why all of these persons are having such a rough/difficult time with Ashford. I graduated Salutitorian from my High School, received an Associates at a local community college, attempted to receive a Bachelor's from our local university and could not work full-time and go to class at night. Most courses are scheduled for those non-workers. It would have taken me forever to do two classes a semester, etc. I began researching schools, looked at their degree accreditation, looked into financial aid, called multiple persons, did many weeks of research and found Ashford to be the best suited school for my needs. I was hesitant at first to complete an application, but after talking with the enrollment advisor was very at ease adn did so..Best choice ever. I am less than four months away from graduation. Would have been completed except due to time, etc I did not do as well as wanted. So.. for anyone whom says they did not learn anything..That is their own fault.. Read the text. If oyu are confused ask your classmates..ask your professor..For financial aid, etc.. Ask questions..Do research...If something seems off..ask again.. I just can't beleive these people that expect everyone else to do stuff for them and b/c of little things they just get angry and 'hate'. But Ashford has been an amazing experience for me...

Was this review helpful?

i recomend this Ashford University

Bachelor of Arts, Accounting - September 12, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am getting my Bachelors of Arts in Sociology at Ashford University. I lThe instructors I love the online class.The instructors I have had have helped me so much. I agree with everything AU has to offer that i have got my sister, mother, and best friend all taking classes online with Ashford. I have not had any of the problems that some others say they have....I think they are all false.

Was this review helpful?

Current Student

Bachelor of Arts, Accounting - April 17, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled at Ashford University. Contrary to some of the reviews listed here, this school is not a diploma mill. It is regionally accredited not nationally accredited which most diploma mills are. I have had no problems with the staff or teachers. In fact, my academic and enrollment advisors call me at regular intervals. Sometimes the caliber of student seems to be a little low, but you find that in colleges across the country. I am very happy with my decision to attend Ashford. I have had no problems with Financial Aid or grades with instructors. The grades I have been given I have earned. The instructors do not hand out A's and they Do provide feedback on all written assignments. They only draw back is the amount of custom books required for the classes. This school provides a good education as long as you are willing to apply yourself.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Ashford University in any way.