B.A. Psychology

Level: Bachelor
Language: English

(69 reviews)



Get More Information About the B.A. Psychology Program


Recent Reviews

It's worth the work if it's accredited in your state.
June 22, 2016
I agree with the person who said it is up to you. I'm not the sharpest tool in the shed and I'm pulling an 3.85 GPA. I'm almost finished with the bachelors program. The financial department is a train wreck and it definitely is a business. The recruiters are kind of misleading, so save all your emails or phone conversations. It costs a little more than other private schools, but has very minimal math requirements ...

Ahsford is a good school
June 4, 2015
I have nearly completed my BA in psychology with Ashford and as a military student I will graduate debt free with the help of Pell Grant. I have three classes left and I am considering a MA of Psychology with Ashford. I will say that online course are challenging because it is much easier for professors to express expectations verbally than with a few paragraphs online. Some professors at Ashford will express their expectations by ...

liars
October 21, 2014
Ok, where do I begin. Number one, most of there BA programs require specific certifications (which they do not offer), therefore even if you do graduate from this school, you may not be able to get a job in your field anyway! Secondly, they are not respected at all! Good luck getting a job with a degree from Ashford! But ok, lets be fair any human being with even a smidge of intelligence knows that ...

SCAM UNIVERSITY REVIEW 2014
October 4, 2014
My second review for this university. This is relevant in that everyone knows if you make the finance department angry they will drop your grade for no reason and thats what happened in my case. I'm an all A and B student and in my last class I passed the final exam and had a grade point average of 85%. The final paper I did was accurate and correct as well in correct format and ...

Stay away from Ashford University
August 18, 2013
I enrolled in Ashford University online because I was a single parent who had to work full time but desired an education in order to find a job to help ends meet. I was mislead by advisors, had a financial representative who changed my fafsa information that caused me to lose my grant and constantly double charged me among other terrible issues. I worked hard for my grades and degrees only to find out that ...

Depends on the people
July 5, 2013
I originally looked for a school that offered history as an online degree. I was originally told I could take History and organizational management so this is what I started with. I can say that although I have seen some reviews and people say that after they are initially enrolled the advisors just drop them. My advisor was a student herself and not only could I contact her with any academic problems such as having ...

It's up to you.
June 6, 2013
An education like all else in life is what you as an individual make of it. Bridgpoint, (which own's Ashford) has plenty of issues/growing pains, but the instructors are by and large very good. Dealing with Bridgepoint is infuriating, I beleive mainly because they have many unqualified people working there, students perhaps? Remember also that Bridgepoint is a business first and foremost, which obviously means that profits come before anything else; (including your education or ...

Read all 69 B.A. Psychology reviews

You can help by Writing a review


Get More Information

Looking for more information about the B.A. Psychology program? Simply complete this information request form and their admissions office will contact you to answer any questions you may have.


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

Feb. 24, 2012, 4:21 p.m.
0 votes/
I agree with the other poster. In one course I had ZERO interactions with my "instructor", and only one or two in other courses.

They have also given me the run around on Financial Aid, and issue I have seen others have had also. This is truly the worst experience I have ever had at an online college.

Anyone seeking an online school, I would recommend either Phoenix or Grand Canyon. I loved U of P, but left because they are expensive. GCU is excellent, professional and the instructors are involved.
June 15, 2011, 3:53 p.m.
0 votes/
I've been attending Ashford for 2 years and will be graduating at the end of July, 2011.  I have thoroughly enjoyed my experience with Ashford and highly recommend it to anyone who has the determination to advance their education.  Just because others did not do well, does not mean that it is not a great school.  It requires dedication and hard work, but it is well worth it!  And, no, I'm not affiliated with the school, other than being a student.
May 12, 2011, 9:56 p.m.
0 votes/
Hi everyone, 
I was wondering if anyone out there has enrolled with Ashford with the intentions of using life experience as credits.  What was it like for you?  Please, any experience you had with this at Ashford will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks 
March 10, 2011, 1:41 a.m.
0 votes/
I am sorry to those of you who had or are having a bad experience with Ashford.  I am half way finished with my BA in Psychology.  I have loved every minute of learning at Ashford.  I look at school like I do a diet pill.  It only works if you put your all into it.  The diet pill is not some magical pill that will make you thin, just as Ashford is not some magical place that will give you a career.  You have to eat right and exercise in order to benefit from any diet plan or pill.  You have to do the work to benefit from any college.  

I think most of the bad experiences here are due to something you guys did.  Accept responsiblity and move forward without bitterness.  Maybe Ashford is just not right for you, but there are plenty of us out there that are perfectly happy.  I am not a paid employee.  I am a mother of two who loves to learn.  I have enjoyed the professors, the courses and my class mates.  I have met some highly intelligent people.  People go to school to learn, so excuse them if they have a hard time at first.  

Okay, I am done.  I hope I helped a little.  
Jan. 9, 2011, 7:30 a.m.
0 votes/
I am in contact with the shareholdersfoundation.com over my personal experience with Ashford. I figured it would be the same A+ rating in Iowa on BBB I found when looking them up in general. 

They misfiled paperwork and are trying to make me pay it (they admitted it was their fault). Now I am being told that if I take them up on their alumni grant and choose a different master's program (one they have), I could easily take care of those costs using the extra loans. This definitely feels like an unethical sales trick.  

I was proud at first to be getting my BA with Ashford. Halfway through my BA program I faced a disturbing trend. At least half of every class wrote, read, and participated like they should still be in high school courses. An anxiety attack came when I realized I was already 10k in debt and these were my peers.

I felt stuck for it though, 10k in loans, might as well go for that piece of paper.  Now it is being held ransom for 1.5k. However, as a "Customer service gesture" they told me I could have one copy of my transcript for job hunting after I make payment arrangements complete with an initial payment.

I went from being treated like a favorite with straight A's and one B (I didn't turn in a few assignments in favor of being with family) to being treated like a greedy delinquent who just wants to cheat this college out of its money. 

They recently quoted the founder saying people like me only complain because I am hoping to profit from it. Sounds to me like one of us is spewing nonsense in the hopes of more profit.  I think it is the man making 20m a year rather than a stay-at-home mother who wants Ashford to follow its own mission statement regarding "accountability" rather than force her to pay an extra 1.5k, separate and due before the student loan debt it should have disappeared into.

I don't want a profit, I just want to scrape even.  I hope Ashford falls flat on its face and I end up with loan forgiveness.  Barring that, I want them to stand by their mission statement.

Don't consider this school.

If you do sign up with them, be rigorous and try to keep contact with them to emails only.  I found out that phone conversations fall under "failure to prove."  Also, be forewarned that communication between departments is awful.

You will have to be the vigilant one.  Never assume that because you told the EA you needed such and such and he says you'll get it that FA will actually do it.  Never assume because you are contesting something that they will let their collections department know it either. They started sending me FINAL notices while I was in grievance (my account was supposed to be on hold).

If you go with them, be vigilant, and expect to teach yourself.  I taught myself, read diligently and widely in extra material through the wonderful online library resource.  I won't say I actually learned anything from the courses, but my knowledge of things I'm interested in was enhanced, but only through my own efforts.  
Nov. 24, 2010, 3:45 a.m.
-2 votes/
Awh Lakisha, I am pretty sure you were in two of my classes. I could pull what you posted in our classes and then we can see why you failed. You do not understand much of what is being talked about in class. Secondly if you are the Lakisha from my classes you dropped the ball and left many discussions inconsistent. I suggest you start at a regular Community College where you can receive one on one. You did understand that there is plenty of help from Ashford in the writing center. They are definitely not handing out degrees at Ashford. Yes, just like any other school there are those instructors who are more willing to go the extra mile than others.
Sept. 10, 2010, 7:18 p.m.
0 votes/
P.S.  Some classes have 50+ students enrolled, who are divided into 3 discussion groups. The students think they are in a class with 16-20 students, but in reality they are in a much bigger class. The instructors are not paid for 3 courses, they are paid to instruct 1.
Sept. 10, 2010, 6:44 p.m.
0 votes/
I teach at Ashford Online. Instructors are treated like cattle, have no say whatsoever as to what schedule they receive. There is no department, no Dean, and no regular person we work with. There are schedulers who send us emails when we have been assigned a course. Then, we are monitored by someone who has been assignment the course. This person changes each session. I have rarely been monitored by the same person twice. If we make a mistake, those are tallied, and if we make a certain number of mistakes we are written up. There is no normal communication between faculty and department head, chair or dean. I have never dealt with an academic administration at Ashford. I have no idea who my dean might be, nor do I know what department I work for. We are told to not contact the schedulers, they will contact us.
Aug. 26, 2010, 5:24 p.m.
+1 vote/
Not only does Bridepoint defraud people who hope for a brighter future -they may be defrauding their own shareholders.

WOW 

8-18-2010


An investigation on behalf of investors in Bridgepoint Education, Inc. (NYSE:BPI) concerning possible federal securities laws by issuing false and misleading statements to its shareholders
was announced.

If you are an investor in Bridgepoint Education, Inc. (NYSE:BPI) shares, and/or have information relating the investigation, you have certain options and you should contact the Shareholders Foundation, Inc by email mail@shareholdersfoundation 


Bridgepoint Education, Inc. San Diego, California, is a accredited provider of postsecondary education services. Through the acquisition of two regionally accredited universities
, Ashford University and University of the Rockies, Bridgepoint Education provides access to Associate's, Bachelor's, Master's and Doctorate programs.
On August 4, 2010, the Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee conducted a hearing on for-profit education firms, where Government Accountability Office representative, George Kutz, presented the findings of report GAO-10-948T, "For-Profit Colleges: Undercover Testing Finds Colleges Encouraged Fraud in Deceptive and Questionable Marketing Practices." The report detailed undercover investigations into 15 for-profit schools that uncovered misconduct by school staff. According to this GAO study, the college personnel at schools may have encouraged applicants to falsify their financial aid forms to qualify for federal aid and pressured applicants to sign a contract for enrollment prior to allowing them to speak to a financial advisor.

Bridgepoint Education’ revenue went from $28.62million in 2006 to $85.71million in 2007, to $218.29million in 2008, and to $454.32million in 2009. Its Net Income rose from a Net Loss in 2006 of $5.15million to a Net Income of $47.10million in 2009.

The investigation by a law firm on behalf of investors in BPI shares concerns whether also Bridgepoint Education, Inc. has violated federal securities laws by issuing false and misleading statements to its shareholder in connection with the report by the U. S. Government Accountability Office.

Shares of Bridgepoint Education, Inc. traded recently at $12.78 per share, down from its 52weekHigh of $27.50 per share.

Those who are investors in Bridgepoint Education, Inc. (Public, NYSE:BPI) shares, and/or have information relating the investigation, have certain options and should contact the Shareholders Foundation.
Aug. 26, 2010, 5:19 p.m.
0 votes/
***Sorry Bridgepoint Education inc owns Ashford University. 


The report shows that between 2005 and 2009, the Department of Education’s Office of Inspector General probed this company’s major operation, Ashford University. Bottom line: Bridgepoint openly expects that the government will find that the company may have been seriously out of compliance with regulations, and the penalties could be quite severe – threatening the company’s major source of funding, which is the federal government.

Other homework could have been done. Ashford has a C-minus rating, and no accreditation, from the Better Business Bureau in Iowa, where the tiny school is based. (Bridgepoint and Ashford have A-plus ratings in San Diego, and the BBB is checking the discrepancy.) Also, online operations such as consumeraffairs dot com are full of complaints about Ashford.
Aug. 26, 2010, 5:10 p.m.
0 votes/
Hmmm. A company that spends more on advertising than on their education department wouldn't spam boards with wonderful things to say about Ashford, would they?

Beware of the positive spammers. Ashford's counselors are sales people and their goals are to clinch the sale and move on to the next victim. In ten years this is going to be the next collapse. 

Have people no shame.
Aug. 26, 2010, 5:05 p.m.
0 votes/
The reason Ashford University is regionally accredited is because they bought out a struggling private Catholic college, in turn, buying the accreditation and "1908" history. LOL

That is how all the "Diploma Mill" for profit universities get their start.

Watch Frontline's College Inc and all will be explained.

You will graduate with a useless diploma and tons of federal debt. Did you know that you can never escape Federal loan debt. They will garnish your wages, your Federal tax returns and you are not eligible for social security. 

Guess who loves Ashford's parent company Bridgeport Inc?

Wall Street! 

All that yummy federal loan money to play with. 

Bridgeport/Ashford spends more on advertising d than on their education department.

BEWARE 

Google Frontline's College Inc and Watch the program. It will turn your stomach.
Aug. 24, 2010, 10:21 p.m.
-1 vote/
Notice most of the people with complaint can't make a complete sentence.  Hmmmm.
Aug. 24, 2010, 8:32 p.m.
0 votes/
How much did they pay you people to write that they were a good school? That's okay because when I sue them for what they have done to me believe me it will be on the news! So everybody will know how they really are.
Aug. 24, 2010, 1:05 a.m.
0 votes/
LOOK IT UP PEOPLE!  THIS SCHOOL IS FRAUD!  I AM COMPLETELY SCREWED!  I HAVE BEEN A STUDENT FOR 2YRS!  AND NOW I HAVE TO TRANSFER.  THEY STEAL YOUR SOCIAL SEC #'S AND THAT'S WHY THEY LIE ABOUT YOU GETTING YOUR MONEY ALL OF THE TIME.  I HAVE ATLEAST 10 EMAILS IN MY EMAILSAVE WHERE THEY GAVE ME EXCUSE AFTER EXCUSE ABOUT WHY I HADN'T RECIEVED MY STIPEND PAYMENTS!  THIS IS COMPLETELY TRUE,  I LIVE IN VIRGINIA AND GO TO ASHFORD UNIVERSITY ONLINE OUT OF CLINTON, IOWA!  PLEASE PEOPLE LOOK IT UP DON'T GET SCREWED LIKE I DID!  MY MOTHER IS A POLICE OFFICER AND I HAVE TO CHANGE EVERYTHING MY SOCIAL SECURITY # WILL EVEN HAVE TO BE CHANGED!
July 3, 2010, 3:48 a.m.
-1 vote/
This school for one is regionally accredited, so if you plan on getting a degree in any major just go for it and don't listen to the losers who are still procrastinating. Go to the _______.edu and click the link for accreditation for the school if it says regional your in luck. If it has National accreditations or specialized your in even more luck. Pay the money, study, and for sure finish so you are one step ahead of everyone else. I think some Masters program will take you eventually.
STUDY and do what you will love doing.
July 1, 2010, 11:27 p.m.
-1 vote/
I am in my third year at Ashford and have loved every class I have taken. I would recommend the university to anyone with limited time yet still wants to achieve a college education. To all of the bad mouthers, I would like to point out the fact that perhaps you are dissapointed with the university because you had your facts wrong. Any college degree is going to cost money and as long as you complete the degree you are working toward it is just as "real" as any other college degree. It will cost a lot more to keep switching schools or dropping out all together?! There are two well known universities in my home town and I did extensive reasearch on whether my Ashford online degree would be accepted when I attend their schools for my master's degree. Currently I am working toward my Bachelor's in Psychology and I was told from both univerities that "any bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, containing one stat's class, is as good as any college degree" (I would like to also point out that the psychology degree at Ashford (which is an accredited university) requires not one, but two stat's classes, going over and beyond the necessary requirements! Keep up the great work Ashford and I appreciate all that I am getting out of my education!!!
May 11, 2010, 12:53 p.m.
-1 vote/
I am an Ashford University graduate. I chose Ashford mainly because they accepted more transfer credits than anyone else, 90 to be specific. I was originally going to attend ASU (Arizona) online program in liberal arts, but they would only accept 60 credits. Ashford kept me from having to attend two more years, and I finished my degree with them in one year. And because Ashford is regionally accredited, all schools will accept the degree. To me, that was a big concern when looking for an online BA program. Plus, the degree being psychology versus liberal arts, gives me more extensive knowledge when I choose to pursue clinical based work.

The teachers at Ashford are hit or miss, just like with any school. One teacher may be more lenient about the discussion posts, while another can be fairly hard core. I started out with a couple of lenient teachers, and then was in a class with a hard core one. Each post had to have sources and citations just like an actual paper. And there were set word count limits and everything. So again, it depends on the teacher.

No I have not been able to find a job with the degree. I have put in several resumes for case manager positions in my area, but with no luck. I believe it is because my work experience thus far is all computers related and I presently have a job in said field. But like another poster stated, the master’s degree is what really matters, if you plan to pursue it. I am hoping to get into a master’s program this fall or winter in social work.
May 5, 2010, 4:37 a.m.
0 votes/
I am a student at Asfhord. I just completed my first year, and I am thrilled. I haven't had a single issue. There are no hidden fees, the instructors are great, and I have been able to review each instructor after completing the classes. The classes are challenging and require real work, I have learned a lot. I am going for a BA degree in Social Science with a concentration in education. After completing my degree, I will sign up for the credential program at the State University here in California. I have looked into this, and the transition should be seamless! This is a good school, regionally accredited, and an overall positive experience. I have 62 units left to obtian my degree, and I cannot wait!
Feb. 25, 2010, 2:23 p.m.
0 votes/
I forgot to point out that the 1600. and 1100. are cost per class.
Feb. 25, 2010, 2:21 p.m.
-1 vote/
To everyone who complain about the hidden fees, such as books and tech fee of 990.00. Books can be purchased at Amazon.com used and around 10.00-15.00. The tech fee is taken out of student loan, not from your pocket. These fees are not hidden. When you fill out the application, there are links towards the end to read before signing. One of these links lists all fees for the school. It seems that it would be your responsibility to read this before signing, right? Ashford is still less compared to University of Phoenix. The Bachelor program at Phoenix is 1600.00 plus without books compared to Ashford 1100.00 plus without books. The one time tech fee still is not more than the overall cost of Phoenix. Phoenix charges more than what the government allows for student loans. Therefore, all in all the Ashford is much less and the fees are not hidden if you read your contract. :o
Jan. 30, 2010, 6:38 a.m.
0 votes/
This is the worst school I ever went to talk about my financial aid I got that after three months of starting class they gave me the run a round so bad. I failed my second class because I did not have the money to pay for my books. My enrollment advisor lied to me about the 100.00 dollor book voucher it only coved one book the was over priced and he told me that was not his problem how to get my book money. This online college is to expensive with their hidden fees there is a 990.00 technology fee for black board that they don't tell you about and others. you have to pay for your own books which are rather very expensive including shipping and handling fees.I have financial aid but I still had to take out a student loan. I did get out before anymore money is sent to them. I would advise anyone please do not to attend this college you won't be happy.
Dec. 3, 2009, 9:16 p.m.
-1 vote/
hi there, i like their classess. This is the best way to maanage full time work, and being a full time mom.  I have a GPA of 3.93, the highest i have ever had.  I do however, don't like the issues w/my credit balance.  I have over $4000.00 of money there that they won't release back to me until my stipend date.  It's ridiculous. I am single divorced mother struggling and wiht holiday, i need that money right now.  its mine and yes, i do have to pay a loan back, but i's my money and I can't have it.??
Nov. 30, 2009, 11:59 p.m.
0 votes/
I enrolled in Ashford not to long ago and it has been so far so good.  All of the negative comments I have read about them seem to stem from incidences that have happened in mostly isolated cases.  I have been ripped off by schools before and I did lots and lots of research on this school before I even called.  Online degrees are very useful in the real world and more and more people are acquiring them.  They are for people who can't go to a regular school and don't have time for a campus who want to do something with their lives. So who ever has questions about online degrees do the research and don't listen to people who don't know you your situation or your resources.
Nov. 6, 2009, 12:04 a.m.
0 votes/
Nice site. Thank you.,
Nov. 4, 2009, 4:57 a.m.
0 votes/
Nice site. Thank you.,
Nov. 3, 2009, 8:47 a.m.
0 votes/
Nice site. Thank you.,
Nov. 3, 2009, 5:45 a.m.
0 votes/
Very good site. Thanks!,
Oct. 19, 2009, 3:23 a.m.
0 votes/
CampusGal why do you say they are worthless?  Have you personally not been given a job because you have an online degree? I am in the process of deciding to do this or not.  I am a mom of 2 little boys and I work full time.  My community college is 30 minutes away.  Universities are too expensive and time consuming.  I need classes on my time.  You are going to have debt from college no matter where you go aren't you.  More so if you attend a traditional university, right?!? What is actually that bad about it?
Sept. 22, 2009, 12:55 a.m.
0 votes/
Hi All, PLEASE do not go to Ashford. Their psych degree (as well as all of their other degrees) are worthless in the real world. Yes, you are probably a very smart person and great student...so go to a real university. Put in the time and effort and give yourself what you deserve. I am a college counselor who knows better! An Ashford degree will not help you in the long run. An online degree from Ashford will only give you huge student debt, a worthless piece of paper, and false hopes.
July 27, 2009, 2:37 p.m.
0 votes/
You might want to look up the differences in why someone would go for a BA instead of a BS in psychology. If your focus is research based, you would need a BS if you want to be a therapist in a clinical setting, most people recieve a BA. Either way you have to go on to get your Masters to do anything in psychology and by the time you recieve that, no employer is going to care what your bacholers focus was, they will only look at the fact that you have a masters. Plenty of psychologists only recieved a BA for their bacholers and have had no problems getting a job.
July 5, 2009, 2:39 p.m.
0 votes/
I am an online student at Ashford and I an in my second class. I wish that I had did some research on this school. bbefore I enrolled. but how can you when you have the enrollment advisor constantly calling and don't know how to take a hint. So here I am. I want to concentrate on substance abuse which they don't have so he enroll me in social science then I researched with the boards in my state what I needed to have as far as hours of different classes. which is something that ashford doesn't have, so I decided to change my major to psychology and still the problem is the same.so I'm going to finish this course and another then get the hell out and go to my community college and then transfer over to So journor douglas. 

this online college is to expensive with there hidden fee their is a 990.00 technology fee for black board that they don't tell you about and others. you have to pay for your own books which are rather expensive including shipping and handling fees.I have financial aid but I still had to take out a student loan. I'm going to get out before anymore money is sent to then. I would advise anyone not to attend .
Feb. 26, 2009, 9:40 p.m.
0 votes/
I have been enrolled at Ashford since '06 and have enjoyed every minute.  I do not agree with Mr. ThinkAboutIt stating that it does not mean anything to employers.  Especially if you are going to continue your education in Grad School, the BA in Psychology is a great first step.  Do a search for jobs for BAs in psychology and you'll find careers out there.  Obviously, you'll get more after you receive an advanced degree.  Stick to your goals and you'll go far.
Feb. 12, 2009, 3:27 p.m.
0 votes/
I am a single mom with two teenagers on their way to college in the next few years. I was laid off in November and have made a very sincere to find employment but so far I am hitting a brick wall.  I think I could or should look at this unemployment time as a gift that I should take advantage of  and to show my girls how to make lemonaid out of lemons.  I have been employed as a executive assistant or as an executive secretary with a salary under $40,000.  My choose of schools is Ashford's on line program and my goal is to a earn a BA in psychology. My question is for anyone out there, with a BA in psychology from Ashford --Were you able to find employment? What is the salary range and in what field? Also do you feel an online degree is concidered, by employers, less than a tradition university degree?
Feb. 9, 2009, 8:48 p.m.
0 votes/
If you are serious about entering the field of psychology, then a BA in Psychology from Ashford is not going to get you far.  For one, most careers in Psychology require a BS in Psychology--that means the degree is SCIENCE-based. Take a look at your state universities and you'll see that all of their Psychology programs are for BS degrees--not BA's.  Because Ashford does not offer real science or math classes, they can only offer BA's.  Yes the degree is accredited, but that doesn't mean much to an employer if you haven't received an education relevant to the work you're pursuing.
Jan. 28, 2009, 2:34 p.m.
0 votes/
I am in my 3rd year at Ashford University and it has been a very interesting experience. Meeting new people and discovering new challenges have been great. My advisor is the best and she sends me my class schedule for 6 months at a time. I love it!

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Ashford University in any way.