Ashford University Comments

Ashford University Reviews

Feb. 5, 2012, 4:11 a.m.
0 votes/
Not true. I still purchase my books from ebay and amazon.
May 2, 2011, 7:51 p.m.
+1 vote/
First of all i want to say that Ashford University is a great online school for those of us that have to work and take care of home.  I had no problems with registration, the advisors, or my classes.  Everything and everybody was pretty straightforward.  My thing is when you want to achieve something as an individual you have to work hard at it. I did.  I am 43 years old and i did the university thing coming out of highschool and its  no different.  As far as the financial part of it, if you are not making the grade, your money suffers.  i am a true witness. I have just finished in March 20ll with a BA in Psychology and because i failed a math class twice, i cannot receive my certificate or transcript because i owe a balance but that wasn't their fault, that was on me. So i am trying to find a job to pay them so i can get my papers.  Ashford is great!  I wished i could have been on the actual campus.  Please don't blame others for your failures!!!!!
April 27, 2011, 12:37 a.m.
+3 votes/
I am truly sorry to say this because I worked for Ashford, but my god get a grip if you think this place is even remotely legit.  From an employee's perspective the best way to put it is that you are waiting for Ashton Kuchar to come out of the woodwork and say you were being punked the entire time. Honestly, you want that to happen because it would make everything make sense.  Some(and truthfully most) of the coursework that gets submitted by students is at a grade school level.  It is a miracle that the government hasn't stepped in yet to squash this blatant robbery of their funds.
Aug. 30, 2011, 3:13 p.m.
+3 votes/
I agree. I recently just ended my employment with Ashford.
April 26, 2011, 1:37 a.m.
+2 votes/
All I can say is that the level of educational you will receive at Ashford is elementary at best.  It is definitely a way to get a degree and check the box on your resume but I honestly feel like I'm throwing my money away and wasting my freaking time and effort.  I'm seriously debating going back to UMUC.  I found the program much more challenging and you might not believe this but you actually have to take midterm and final exams.
April 22, 2011, 3:21 p.m.
-2 votes/
I think that some people have taken the word (SPOILED) TO A WHOLE NEW LEVEL...
April 16, 2011, 1:20 p.m.
0 votes/
It seems to me that those who want something for nothing have commented negatively about Ashford.  Welcome to reality; you have to WORK to get your degree.  It is NOT a degree mill, it is college.  The only difference if you were in a traditional brick-and-mortar campus is that that school wouldn't take you; you'd be too stupid to meet their enrollment requirements.  Maybe Ashford should review who it accepts into the school.  People who are serious about their education and want to learn should be the focus, not people who can't form a sentence and sit around drinking beer all weekend.
April 18, 2011, 12:16 a.m.
+4 votes/
Ashford will never reject free money from people that have no business getting a college degree.
April 13, 2011, 12:26 a.m.
+3 votes/
two weeks of BS training and somehow these EA's are qualified to advise prospective students on what route they should take with their educational goals.  lolololol.
April 8, 2011, 5:25 a.m.
-2 votes/
There are quite a few things that I disagree with for Ashford University. To be honest, I care not for "marketing" anything about Ashford. I was curious about the schools ratings. I found quite a bit, but for the most part, this one was the only one to grab my attention. I will soon be leaving my current job position to continue bettering my life actually :) . Once I do, I will gladly come back to this website and "exploit". Trust me, there's plenty to know about Ashford University and Xerox... A few other schools you might not be surprised about are Kaplan University and UTI. I will tell you guys good online schools though, The Rockies and Western Governors University. Financial Aid is smooth and easy, advisors contact you back as well. The system is ran correctly and the people are more friendly. "@Unknown", You seem to have a lot of built up anger towards the school. I feel for you honestly. Please don't think that I am a "plant". I'm sure if you called the financial aid department tomorrow, you would know when you are speaking with me :) .. I'm very straight forward and I actually try to help you guys.. and I mean that.. As for hiring people from Ashford, plenty of people do actually. Of course, where you get your degree matters, but so does the person. Unfortunately, a lot of the students that attend Ashford don't seem to apply themselves as best they can in life. I do recognize their desire to achieve in life, but there's a lot mroe to change than just earning a degree.
March 8, 2012, 5:13 p.m.
+1 vote/
What does applying yourself have to do with the school? I apply myself and my financial aid adviser is an idiot. Do you guy just hire anybody to work for you? Even if you do apply yourself, you don't get answers from anybody. Managers and Sups will not have answers to questions and transfer you to wrong department. It feels like all you guys care about is receiving your money and thats it! Its not my educational self worth that is the problem, its the SCHOOL! I  am spending a lot of money at this school and for them to not care is rude. Trust me, i care about my educational expenses and the degree I am receiving! You guys make excuses like oh people don't work for their grades, have you not read the comments on this page? it has nothing to do with that, it is about your department and how ridiculous you all are. This school has lied to me more than once on recording even! I had an adviser have to apologize because they were telling me wrong information! AN ACADEMIC ADVISER TELLING ME LIES! unacceptable. So whats your excuse for this?
April 8, 2011, 5:10 a.m.
+2 votes/
The funniest part i think about ashford university is that the enrollment counselors dont even have degrees.  They are trying to "motivate" you to get into class but yet they work there and "believe" in the product and have an opportunity to go to school for free through ashford but still dont. ANYONE can get into ashford, people who cant use a computer or even spell ashford go there.  And it is supposed to be equivalent to a brick and mortar state college/university? HA
April 8, 2011, 5:30 a.m.
+2 votes/
haha, This is true. I receive transfers from enrollment advisors on occasion and they sound like they live in a fantasy world, very chipper people. I ask them a question and they kinda just laugh it off.. kinda annoying actually....
April 7, 2011, 3:33 a.m.
+1 vote/
Search the Huffington Post for Ashford. Great article about this so called "college".
April 6, 2011, 5:52 a.m.
+2 votes/
Alright. I work with Ashford University. My name will not be discussed for obvious reasons, if you have any questions, just ask here. I'll touch on a few things. First, anyone who says Ashford "steals" money is an idiot. Seriously, if you think ashford "steals" money, you know nothing. Seriously, you know nothing. Ashford University is a title 4 school and they receive title 4 funding, aka loans from the government (direct loans). There are many many guidelines that Ashford MUST follow or it will LOSE title 4 funding and go down the drain since 75% of the students use financial aid. Duh? 

Ok, verification. Again, blame the Dept of Ed please? It's not Ashford. The Dept of Ed selects 30-40% of all completed FAFSA for a "random" process called "verification". It's pretty much to weed out all the lazy people who want to sign up for 5-6 classes and take the money. I'll even tell you how. When you complete 60% of your courses in an award year, you have earned 100% of your financial aid. So basically, if you were packaged for the "full" amount of Financial aid, you're going to get about $15,004. 5500 in PELL, $3500 in Sub loans and 6000 in UNSUB loans. Direct loans has fees which is why the number is what it is. 

Processing. All of your faxes go into a fax server. They need to. The reason is because we receive around 5,000 or more faxes a week. Emails: sometimes some idiot "archives" all the messages and poof... 250 messages gone like that. So if you call and say "I sent it 3 times already!" .. yup.. some idiot deleted a ton of emails. We usually fish them out, which is why a month later, some students have the same file like 9 times. It's getting better. I will admit, some people, I'm not sure why they hire and don't fire because there are a lot of lazy-ass people who will just feed you crap so they can get off the phone. What do you expect though with 600 employees? Every once in a while you'll get a bad egg. 

Last thing for today, PWD's.. post withdrawal disbursements, people say "I left and I havn't received my money that I earned". Well, again, it's not our fault. Partly, but not fully. When you leave the school, the school has 30 days to complete your R2T4 (return to title 4 lenders). This is when they determine if you earned any money or not. Again, there is no "stealing money" here. There are guidelines that you MUST meet. They're not just gonna give someone who finished one class and got an F, remaining funds. You EARN that money. PELL funds have to be paid and again, DOE requirements, HAVE TO BE PAID within 45 days of the  date of determination. After so many screw ups they lose title 4 funding. LOANS however, can take up to 180 days for you to receive any funds. That is both Ashford's and the Direct loans program AND the DOE deal. Okay, well that's it for now. Hope that helped!
April 4, 2011, 1:38 a.m.
-1 vote/
This school is such a business. All it wants to do is to sell you classes forever. Grades and education are meaningless.
March 30, 2011, 5:12 p.m.
+2 votes/
I read all the reviews and some are true, while others are dramatized. True: Advisors do change frequently. Initially, my advisor changed with each course, so I decided to complain. After my complaint, I continued with the same advisor until I completed the master's degree program. Though, the advisors changed often, each one was pleasant and concerned about the progress I was making. I just got tired of speaking to different people.  I had no financial aid problems, as I did as I was instructed.  I even postponed a couple classes because of family emergencies.  My financial aid was not affected because I followed the instructions of the financial aid counselor.  The classes were intense and not for the lazy. I did homework, posts, reading and wrote papers each week. It was way more than I anticipated as a full time employee. Overall, I would attend Ashford again. I have no complaints about my education or the online MPA program.
March 14, 2011, 2:58 a.m.
+2 votes/
Ashford does the exact same thing.  Ashford has a separate division for the enrollment of military personnel.  When you really think about it, it should make anybody want to vomit.  It is the very worst part of the human makeup that allows for crap like this to happen.  It is astonishing that the government hasn't put a stop to it yet.

what I am about to say is fact......and should make any prospective student of Ashford University want shyte down the collective throats of Bridgepoint Education.  I was once taking a poop on the ground floor of Bridgepoint's Sunroad location. There was a meeting for divisional leaders on the ground floor at the time.  Sure enough two divisional guys that shall remain nameless come in to the bathroom to take a piss.  they were discussing how badly they needed to piss as well as sharing some details about their sales figures for the month(of course by that I mean how many student applications they had thus far for the month.)  "man I got like 880 or something like that, I can't enroll anything lately."(I guess 880 was bad).  I will never forget what I heard next.  word for word, "It seems like it is harder to find chumps these days, and without chumps we a f-ed."
March 13, 2011, 2:51 a.m.
+1 vote/
I might be missing something Angela, but if not, you are coming off very incoherent.  I think if you allow yourself to take a broader view on things perhaps things will start making sense.
March 13, 2011, 12:15 a.m.
-1 vote/
I have enjoyed Ashford. I am a transfer student from Idaho State University. I did do many of my labs at Idaho State and I am able to finish my degree through Ashford. The price is the same as Idaho State University and many people need to just have the patients with instructors. The counselors are easily replaced and after your first 7 classes they know you are serious about attending. So if you have issues keep riding them like Sea Biscuit. They will respond to you if not go to their higher up. I know I have done it. NO your degree is not easy to earn. That is why you earn it.
March 11, 2011, 8:45 p.m.
+4 votes/
Do a query on the internet for America's top ten greediest men of 2010.  Andrew Clark (CEO of Bridgepoint Education, Ashford University's parent company) was at the top of the list.  Literally the greediest man in the United States.  Do you want him as your principal/university president? effectively he is exactly that if you attend Ashford.  Working at Ashford is so bizarre and just low class that you are seriously waiting for candid camera to come out at any moment.  It almost can't be real that so many capable individuals in the San Diego area waste their time working there.  I would call Ashford a joke, but stealing money from the American people providing false hope to those that need hope the most just isn't funny.
March 11, 2011, 1:39 a.m.
-2 votes/
Funny I see the same post on a few schools on this board. It is obvious that you have something against online education.  
March 9, 2011, 7:58 p.m.
+1 vote/
here is the hierarchy

-high school grad
-Ashford University grad(Phoenix,Kaplan,doesn't matter)
-community college grad
-state college grad
-private university grad
-blue chip private university grad(Ivey league, Stanford, MIT etc.)


if you graduate with your bachelors from Ashford you are entering the job market as a step ahead of high school grads, but behind everybody else.  with the amount of fierce competition for the best jobs there is your Ashford degree is virtually worthless.  In fact one could go a step further and say that if you present an Ashford Univerity degree to any employer you are basically communicating to the employer that you are a sucker.  If your resume sits in a pile with 10+ others then you literally have no shot unless you have significant work experience in whatever field you are trying to get into.    

Lets talk about some of the inside stuff that goes on at Ashford University, as I am a former employee.  I just could not stand waking up every day and lying for a living.  Pretty good living too, made $72,000 a year duping some of the country's most gullible people into taking on tens of thousands of dollars in student loans for a virtually worthless degree.  
-first off Ashford only gives a shyte if the student passes their first class, it is at that point they get to keep the loan money.  because of that fact they make the first class insanely easy and mandatory to take.
-Ashford employees are instructed to "get at the pain" of prospective students.  this basically means to show them how much their life sucks professionally and convince them an Ashford degree will make a difference.
-you have a GED and are not in default on a previous student loan you are in.  It can get a little more complicated then that at times, but basically that is it.
-the more students you enroll as an enrollment advisor, the more you get paid......of course they will tell you to enroll quality students, but in reality they do not care as long as the student is a warm body.
-extremely juvenile business model in general, as if eighth graders are running the place.
-It is flat out mis-representation to claim that they are a traditional campus school with an online program.  the campus has 1,000 students while the online program has 70,000+ at this point.  The students that go to the physical campus pay nothing to go to school if they maintain a 3.5 or better, and 80% off tuition if they maintain a 3.0 or better.  Bridgepoint makes nothing off of them, they are their only to maintain the appearance of a physical campus.
-in short, Ashford's financial aid department is TERRIBLE. absolute trash.  not to mention purposefully un-ethical.
-Ashford is nothing more then corporate U.  their mascot should be a man in a business suit.
-you have to realize that the purpose of a business is to make as much money as possible. thats it.  Just imagine how much greed and corporate bureaucratic shyte play a huge role in everything that is Ashford.  
March 4, 2011, 8:24 a.m.
+1 vote/
I have been attending Ashford University since March of 2010 and will be graduating with my Master's in April 2011.  I haven't had any problems with any departments.  It has been a smooth ride...
March 3, 2011, 11:10 p.m.
+1 vote/
For those that seriously think you can complete a semesters worth of learning in 5 and a half weeks, think again.

It is so accelerated and so high level, it's a joke.  Here's your money (wink wink), here is your degree (wink, wink)
March 2, 2011, 3:34 a.m.
+2 votes/
Wow!! All the mixed reviews here. I am currently a student (online). I have had my problems with them, mostly finacial aid. I would agree with just about all of the negatives that I have read about that department.If you don't mind hounding folks in a polite/rude way then you can get answers.  However, I have also read how it is supper easy and eventuallybooks are not needed. Sure for some classes, it was common sense stuff, as with any college there are easy classes and hard classes, instructors who are there to teach and instructors who just want to get paid. That being said I have had my share of all of them. I can't say that I have learned a great deal, I am not a naive 18 year old either. I didn't expect to learn from all the classes, because of life experience. I did however, learn many things from the major courses I took. Ashford will be what you make of it, there is much you can learn if you want. Online classes are for the self-motivated so if you are not willing or able to put in the time to learn then you wont. You may still be able to pass the classes but in the end thats all you have done and Ashford is not to blame. If you want the education you can get it, if you just want the paper well you can get that too, just like many have done at many other colleges that are deemed "good".
March 1, 2011, 6:55 p.m.
+1 vote/
I Graduated from Ashford University in June 2010.  My experience was GREAT. I would advise others to attend this school....
Feb. 24, 2011, 1:14 a.m.
0 votes/
I am enrolled in Ashford University now and I received a phone call from my sister telling me I need to get away from this school. Does anyone know of any way out of this situation? Reading through everyone's posts on this page and others I have researched I am becoming very uncomfortable with being enrolled in their school. I am worried I am going to owe a lot of money and I cannot afford it. Can anyone give me anymore information? Am I in more trouble than I think? I need help and I need to figure things out now before I end up owing for the rest of my life. HELP!
March 13, 2011, 12:23 a.m.
-1 vote/
What are you studying. It is the the same everywhere just because you study a subject doesn't mean you will be able to work in that field. Or some schools do not accept other schools transcripts. We have that issue in Idaho. As for Utah if the school is in Utah all the credits are interchangeable. It depends on what you are doing and how much you borrow.
Feb. 14, 2011, 5:17 a.m.
+1 vote/
Sorry, if you're not getting As at a school like this, then that just proves they let ANYONE in. As are the norm. You are basically 'failing' if you're getting Bs or Cs. Sorry its the truth. And they are briefed to give As. The business side wins always with for profits. Hence the nickname for profit. It's not 'for-education' it's 'for-profit'. No wonder the DOE is relooking and federal funds for these businesses.
Feb. 12, 2011, 6:29 a.m.
-2 votes/
That is not true!!  Most universities are state schools. Every state has a portion of taxes that are paid by their citizens that go directly to state colleges.  That is why it costs more for an out-of-state student to go to a school...they nor their parents have not paid any taxes to go to a school in the state that they do pay taxes in to. These schools are NOT for profit.  They are truly institutions for higher learning.  So, as a receipent of a MSN from The University of Iowa...I'm sorry to tell you that you are wrong.
Feb. 9, 2011, 6:02 p.m.
+1 vote/
I want to clear up one point I made in my previous comment as to be completely beyond reproach.  Ashford will proudly boast being founded in 1918, thus making them 93 years old.  Most "Admissions Counselors" will generalize and say 100 years, but the better ones don't.  Most of the people within the organization are decent people, and some are actually pretty impressive.  The unfortunate truth is the business model Bridgepoint employs encourages so much juvinile behavior.  The company virtually forces bright people to act un-ethically in order to "succeed".  The company operates as if a grade school bully set the guidelines.  It is absolutely standard behavior to hear "managers" scream at the top of their lungs that one of their "Admissions Counselors" is "on the board."  Meaning that they convinced someone(prospective student) to take out federal loans to attend Ashford.  REST ASSURED if you enroll two people it is better then one, and who cares about two if you can enroll three, three is old news if you can enroll four, and so on and so on.  The best Ashford can say is that they are in compliance with the laws that govern them.  Boy scouts they are not.  The real shame of it is the students they serve.  They are nothing more then a point on the board, and they get nothing but mediocrity from their university.  It is so hit and miss, with the Admissions Counselors, financial aid representatives, academic advisors etc.  One student can deal with a series of competent people, while the next student is stuck with a nightmare experience.  With regards to the "admissions counselors" the content of their calls are USUALLY respectful and not harassing in nature, but the fact that they call so often even after the prospective student has tried to politely say they are not interested is highly harassing.  In almost all cases it is not the Admissions Counselor him/her self, it is the business model they are forced to adhere to.
Feb. 9, 2011, 4:40 a.m.
+1 vote/
Bridgepoint Education knowingly Mis-represents their "Ashford University."  A failing distressed property was purchased in 2005 in Clinton, Iowa.  Andrew S. Clark along with Warburg Pincus Investments misrepresent this property as Ashford University.  Ashford has been around for less then a decade while they will gladly tell you they are over 100 years old.  The campus has about 1000 students while the online division has upwards of 70,000 students at this point.  Andrew S. Clark is selling 1 million dollars of stock every month.  The University is only interested in enrolling as many students as humanly possible.  Ashford University is an elaborate scam in the highest order.  The degrees are indeed accredited, but beyond that believe nothing.  The "admissions counselors" get two weeks of training before becoming tasked with advising students on what is right for them.  If these "counselors" do not enroll enough students they get fired.  In Short, the for profit nature of Bridgepoint comes at a HUGE detriment to the students they serve.  As a former employee it is actually very comical how they try to position themselves as anything more then a money making juggernaut.  They exist in this country as a siphon for title four funding from the government.  Their doors are closed the same day the government says enough is enough.  The degrees are virtually worthless in the real world and will almost certainly be associated with fraud in the near future.  Very commonly myself and many of my fellow "Admissions Counselors" were referred to as "garbage" because we didn't enroll enough students.  The atmosphere as an employee is incredibly sophomoric, and un-necessarily high pressured.  It is commonplace for an "Admissions Counselor" to finish what sounds like a great conversation on the phone with a student only to laugh at them afterwards, gloating about the fact that they enrolled a "dumbass."  Any prospective student must never believe the sincerity of Ashford University.  Some of their "Admissions Counselors" get paid six figures because they are so good at making people believe the sincerity of th university.  How many legit operations call prospective clients upwards of 15 times a day until they literally need to put themselves on an official DO NOT CALL list............none.
Feb. 8, 2011, 10:29 p.m.
+1 vote/
Shareholders Foundation (an consumer advocacy group) is currently investigating Bridgepoint Education (which is the parent compnay of Ashford University) for fraud. All current and former students are encouraged to contact them at mail@shareholdersfoundation.com. You can go to their website click on investigations and find Bridgepoint Education for more information
Feb. 3, 2011, 10:45 a.m.
+1 vote/
To Easy A Jazzy your statement is completely fallicious.  My husband also attends Ashford puts in his hard work and he is a B sometimes C student.  To even make a statement like that is absurd.  Sure some professors are easier than other but to say the school gives out A's is completely false.  The bottom line is you have to work to get good grades.  
Feb. 3, 2011, 10:40 a.m.
+3 votes/
I am astounded at many of the comments I see here saying Ashford is not a legitimate school, a joke, etc.  I have been attending Ashford since 2009.  My husband and I live overseas, so online college is really my only option to finish my degree.  After speaking with several universities I chose Ashford, A. because they are accredited, B. because they are a Private school, and C. because they also offer MBA in my chosen field of study Organizational Management. To anyone who thinks Ashford is a joke--yes you can pass the classes with little effort.  However, I attended both another private university before Ashford as well as community college.  Essentially the education is the same except you are not sitting in the classroom.  You get what you put into it.  I do not have the ability to sit in a classroom and learn.  Nor was I ever one to excel in classroom learning because I have a lot of responsibilities and a life.  I am fortunate to be able to attend Ashford and gain a lot of useful knowledge pertinent to my career.  When I graduate I plan to work in public service.  My husband is in the military.  We both agreed a career for the government would be the best option for me. So far at Ashford I have a 4.0.  I have been inducted into Golden Key, and made Dean's List every semester.  I put countless hours and effort into my schoolwork though.  The post I read about not even reading a book and making all A's is bogus.  The course materials are the same quality as if you were at any other school.  The tests are not extremely hard, but I have had some that were moderately hard that required rereading text several times to get the answer.  I am meticulous about my papers.  I follow all guidelines by the instructor and I mean each instructor as preferences change with the course as well as APA format and I also use the writing center every time.  If you think you will just get A's doing nothing, you are sadly mistaken.  Your classes will challenge you to incorporate your real life experience with the material from the course.  I have learned a lot at Ashford.  Sure the staff changes frequently, but I am content with my progress towards my degree.  I have a year left and I will start my MBA hopefully at Ashford as well.  Do not be fooled by people who are sour on this school because of their mistakes. I have found the financial department meticulous when it comes to my aid and I had several contributing sources.  Never had a problem ever.  Just don't start this school thinking it is a joke or a joke of a degree.  Ashford is accredited regionally which is all that matters when you go for your job interviews after you graduate.  I think some posters on here work for U of Phoenix or other online universities and are only trying to drive up their enrollment numbers! 
Feb. 1, 2011, 2:30 p.m.
0 votes/
I am currently enrolled in  Ashford's online program and I am completely and utterly unhappy with the quality of the program. In three classes I have done three assignments on procrastination/time management and three assignments on my decision to attend college. Discussion post topics are mostly irrelevant and focus too much on self reflection. Discussion posts are filled with the life histories of every miserable person there. If you want expensive group therapy this is the place for you!
Jan. 30, 2011, 11:51 p.m.
+1 vote/
Jazzy, this school gives out As. They tell their professors in not so many words that you are an adult learner, and if you do any work at all, give an A. Unfortunately the open enrollment of this school (a purely profit business decision) forces them to make this policy, because any buffoon can be enrolled at Ashford. If they didn't have the A for work policy, 90% of the Ashford students would of flunked out or dropped out. The business side has tainted the education. Bottom line, there is no educational value to Ashford.
March 13, 2011, 12:28 a.m.
-1 vote/
Crap, I am a 3.8 student I took a Anthropology class in September. I am re-taking it again because the instructor was a jerk. She flunked me because of my reports. Everything was completed and correct. She was just a flat jerk. Everyone in the class is re-taking Anthropology or has re-taken the class. It is dependent upon the instructor on whether you pass or fail not the school.
Jan. 28, 2011, 12:09 a.m.
0 votes/
I am going into my 4th course at Ashford and I am very pleased with the experience so far.  Many of the negative comments revolve around financial aid.  As long as your classes are being paid for, and you're not being asked for money by the school, then what's the problem?
Jan. 22, 2011, 10:15 a.m.
+1 vote/
Hello!

I recently graduated from Ashford in November 2010 with a Communications Studies degree and was very shocked to learn that I would not be graduating Summa cum laude, which I earned, because I was 7 credits short of their erroneous number (55) credit cut-off point.Instead I get a "With Distinction" honor.

I was wondering if anyone has a problem with the way some schools issue latin honors. Especially when it comes to online students. Ashford's policy is cut and dry. Through research, I have found out that the top online schools have made provisions (for Latin honors) so online students who work hard but do not have the required 55 credits still have an opportunity to receive these high honors instead of "With Distinction". I do not even understand what that means.

In my case, I received 48 credits from Ashford. My lowest percentile was 93% and my highest was 100%. In essence, 16 classes, straight A's. Someone please explain to me how I am not graduating Summa Cum Laude?

Maybe most online students are in school for 2 years or more, but there are some who are not, but attended for at least a year which means approximately 30 credits. I feel that they should receive the same honors because they did the work! 

The school only requires a 3.9 for Summa cum laude and I made a strong 4.0. That alone should be the exception. They could also do as other schools and split it up. A certain G.P.A. for 55 credits and a higher G.P.A. for qualification if you have less than the prescribed credits or like some schools who just require 30 credits across the board. Either way these are better and fairer solutions than the status quo. 

As an alumnist now, I am going to campaign against this policy. They will probably not change my degree but maybel I can help others.

As it stand now, my family and friends who have been with me through it all are just not going to understand this. How do you go from the top 2% of your graduating class to some generic term? 

What are your thoughts?
Jan. 19, 2011, 7:17 p.m.
+1 vote/
I received my masters degree from Ashford in November, 2010 and it was a very rewarding experience.  The professors are highly qualified, well attentive and will not let you get away with just posting anything. Like any school there are some good points and some bad points but my overall educational experience was great.  I highly recommend this school
Jan. 18, 2011, 8:10 p.m.
0 votes/
I have to agree with a lot of the comments made here, but if you are someone like me who really can't go back to a traditional campus, Ashford is a pretty good alternative.  I've found a couple of people at the University who really seem to care about me and my goals and have found that I am really learning a lot in my classes.  I also use Student Portal Buddy to get additional help with my assignments which has made a huge difference for me personally.
Jan. 15, 2011, 3:24 p.m.
+1 vote/
Getting A's at ashford is the normal. If you didn't get an A that means you didn't turn anything in. It's such a corrupt educational system. The business side has tainted it.
Jan. 9, 2011, 3:39 p.m.
0 votes/
I enrolled in Ashford because the advisor was outstanding. His attention to detail was awesome and he really cared. I got moved to another advisor who was equally as good. I loved the Ashford experience. Recently, I got moved to another advisor who was not very detail oriented. I dropped a class, but it took him 10 days to get me out; now I am in "default" because thay want me to pay for the class. The biggest issue is that this school is so insulated, I cannot get through the switchboard to escalate my concerns. They only forward my call to the same person who has not returned my calls for 2 months.
I did love Ashford; now I am in a credit battle because of thier mistake. They would rather send me to collections than get 2 more years of tuition out of me. I am currently looking for another school.
Dec. 29, 2010, 3:11 a.m.
0 votes/
For those of you who are complaining about the Technology fee that you did not know about it and that you didn't know it was non-refundable then it is your fault for not fully researching something before you sign on for it. It is all over thier website. 
Dec. 28, 2010, 9:02 p.m.
+1 vote/
My experience was fairly good up until graduation.  First, they fail to remind you that there is a fee and forms to submit to "request" to graduate. It's written in the catalog that I read two years ago when I began with Ashford...
 
Then, they put your status on hold until they get the fee, yet they FORGET TO TAKE IT OFF after you've paid it. I was told that it would take 6-8 weeks to get my certificate ten weeks ago.  I just called and found out about the hold they forgot to remove (see above).  Now I get to wait another 6 to 8 weeks for my certificate.  Pathetic!!!   Follow-through people...  Follow-through...  
Dec. 28, 2010, 2:11 a.m.
+1 vote/
My experience at Ashford was so much better than the stories I read here. I was a student that transfered in 90 credits and was there for a year and one month. My advisor was the greatest! She called me after every class to congratulate me for obtaining an A. I graduated with distinction (honors). I worked my behind off for it! when I would make honor roll she would call me and sing a quirky congratulatory song on my voicemail. I really liked her a lot. I will agree the financial aid reps are inept! IT's almost impossible to get an answer out of them. I grew tired so everytime I needed something from Financial Aid, I would call the office of the University President. I would complain and refuse to give up the line until I received the help I needed. After that happening a few times, my financial aid rep was VERY responsive. I graduated with my B.A. in Social Science with a concentration in Education. I immediately started my Masters at another distance university to obtain my Masters in Education with a teaching certificate. The quality of the education was excellent, BUT the support office departments are TERRIBLE! My advisor has a thousand students, I spoke to him once, the day I started. Finanical aid seems to be a nightmare at every college/university!!!! I am so glad I have not had issues and I needed to speak to them. I called once. When they didn't respond, I called the office of the President to complain AND demand action. My financial aid person checks in with me regularly now. I began as a traditional student, now I am all for distance learning. It's new and challenging, but I really like it. 
Dec. 23, 2010, 9:13 p.m.
0 votes/
I was on here to see the kinds of jobs that students are getting after they graduate, but I see that there are some people who are just not sure what they want to do.  Alterior motives, working angles, and blaming others for past mistakes are all signs of childishness.  If you find a better school then be thankful for your experience at Ashford and move on.  Yes, the school has less money, but for those of us who are really trying and want to graduate, it's an excellent school.  The inappropriate comments are just that.  Just pick your self up, get your emotions together and move on.  Maybe to those who are pregnant the negative comments are understandable because of the over abundance of hormones, otherwise, move on. Enrollment advisors are the equvalent of a mentor. Financial advisors always get back to me.  Just like getting hired for a job, some people are just impossible to please and get along with.  However, when you realize that it's so important to consider and focus on what you can offer rather than what you can receive then you will be much more satisfied.  Try it!  I know what I am talking about. If you could have gone to another school, then you would have, in my opinion.
Dec. 22, 2010, 3:59 a.m.
-1 vote/
I took a class with them, and would rate it a zero. Nothing but bad things to say, the financial advisors are scammers. I went to another online school.
Dec. 19, 2010, 2:15 p.m.
0 votes/
I am going to take online classes with Ashford within the next 6 months and would like to know from the experience of other former as well as current students in an online format environment; on a scale of 0-5 with 5 being the best, do you recommend it? 

To all graduates; are you employed in a field you desired as a direct result of Ashford U.? 0 = NO, 1 = will be, 2 = YES.      

-Thanks   
Nov. 17, 2010, 1:44 a.m.
0 votes/
Does anyone gets jobs after graduating from Ashford?
Nov. 11, 2010, 9:59 p.m.
0 votes/
Bottom line... did a degree from Ashford help you land a good paying job in your field of study? All they kept telling me a BA may open many doors for you, so will a key.
Straight up, yea or nay, were future employers impressed with your Ashford degee?
Jan. 21, 2011, 4:34 p.m.
+1 vote/
I have recieves jobs at a major bank and Morgan Stanley smith Barney with a degree from Ashford. It's not necessarily important where you go for school, but if you go to school. Relatively speaking ofcourse. I mean I'm talking about the average person here...
Jan. 21, 2011, 4:34 p.m.
0 votes/
I have recieves jobs at a major bank and Morgan Stanley smith Barney with a degree from Ashford. It's not necessarily important where you go for school, but if you go to school. Relatively speaking ofcourse. I mean I'm talking about the average person here...
Nov. 10, 2010, 8:02 p.m.
0 votes/
I just completed my first course at Ashford, and although I can't fully judge my experience with the school yet - I can say "so far, so good".  The class structure is organized and easy to acclimate to.  My first instructor was very responsive.  Everything comes with detailed instructions.  If you can follow directions, the online format is easy to get used to.


When my enrollment advisor called for the first time, he explained the school in detail for nearly an hour and answered every question I had.  It's his job to get prospective students enrolled ASAP, so I wasn't turned off by what some may consider an over-eager approach.  Most people who've been out of school for several years are naturally apprehensive about returning.  It's easy to interpret an enrollment advisor as being pushy - when really they are just trying to help you take that big step.  They get paid for signing you up - that's their job.  Don't hold it against them.  


The financial aid process is not difficult if you can, again- follow directions.  You're only concern should be if your education will be covered - not how much extra money you might get to pocket from your award amount.  


As for people who say Ashford is a "diploma mill", or "not a real school", etc. may not realize that many of us work full time and/or have families to take care of.  We don't have time to attend a physical school.  And if any of you actually spent any length of time in a professional environment, you'd know most employers don't care where you went to school (or even what your degree is in many cases) as long as you have one.  My buddy works for a very well known company and would rather hire a graduate of a no-name school rather than a Stanford graduate - because of the entitlement attitude that comes along with them.  You'd be shocked what really goes through many employers minds when they look at resumes.
Nov. 10, 2010, 6:40 a.m.
0 votes/
it seems like a good school to me, i am currently talking to my advisor, but after reading all these negative comments im not too sure about ashford anymore. i gave him all my info already... do you think its too late?
Nov. 7, 2010, 4:57 a.m.
+2 votes/
Don't go there.  I worked there and I know what I'm talking about.
Nov. 6, 2010, 8:20 p.m.
0 votes/
I am currently looking into enrolling in Ashford's online program for an MA in Organizational Management (Emphasis in global management). Does anyone have any experience with this MA program? Thanks
Nov. 6, 2010, 5:30 p.m.
0 votes/
Shari, I also went to Kaplan and have transferred to Ashford University.  You failed to mention that yes, books are not included at Ashford like Kaplan, but kaplan costs $24,000.00 more than Ashford!  And it's not even a real university!  Ashford at least has a campus, and I would much rather pay $50 a class for books, than $24,000.00 for free books.  do the math, girlie, you'll see you got ripped off.
Nov. 6, 2010, 1:51 a.m.
0 votes/
has anyone taking english language learner studies? how is that? i am goin to start this month? some advice
Nov. 3, 2010, 2:54 a.m.
0 votes/
I requested information from this school after seeing an ad on Facebook. Less than 24 hours later I received 8 phones calls the first of which was at 6:30 in the morning PST. The person who called obviously didn't care about what time zone I was in. I am a Corrections Officer and received call after call at work. One person left a message and said to just call them back if I had questions and even said they emailed me information. Not even 2 hours went by and ANOTHER call AT WORK. Totally put off. No thank you. Again today, after telling a person yesterday to let me think about it and I would call back...I HAD 7 MISSED CALLS. This is bordering on PHONE HARASSMENT.
Oct. 25, 2010, 7:44 a.m.
0 votes/
Nida sorry I attended Miami Dade College and now I attend Barry University. Oooops....sorry I guess you don't know anything about traditional schools. All you know are crappy, worthless, bull crap schools. Before you try to talk smack get on my level.
Oct. 24, 2010, 7:12 p.m.
0 votes/
Have any one found out that you could not tranfer you credit from Ashford University to any others college? When you received your degree that it was honor at any other college or at your jobs at reasonable to moved up within the organization. There is question about this matter concerning this issues.
Oct. 24, 2010, 4:07 a.m.
0 votes/
This scummy school has started sprouting off of highways like UOP. Another venture capitalists wet dream.
Oct. 15, 2010, 11:19 p.m.
+1 vote/
Awwh Alayna that's all you could come up with.  No wonder you hated college so much.  You couldn't text your way through.
Oct. 15, 2010, 3 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am currently enrolled in my 12th online course at Ashford, as a Business Administration major.  I have had a great experience so far, and after reading a lot of these negative comments I question the validity of most of them.

I am receiving employer reimbursement for my classes and books, so I do not have to deal with financial aid.  As far as books, I always order the e-book version, which is about half the price of the text, and do not have to pay shipping cost, or wait for the book to arrive in the mail.  Once I buy the e-book, it downloads immediately to my computer and works the same way as a text.

The technology fee (was $990 for me a year ago) was mentioned by my advisor prior to me enrolling.  Again, since my fees, tuition, books, etc are reimbursed by my company it really didn't affect my decision to enroll.

Lastly, in my 12 courses so far I have had only 1 instructor who was difficult to work with.  This particular instructor didn't help much if you had a question, and was borderline rude at times concerning student feedback in the discussion posts.  Is this unusual?  I don't think so.  I am sure every university in the world has an instructor or two who is difficult for their students.  I was lucky to get a B- in that course and just moved on and have had many more wonderful instructors so I know that one was just a bad apple in the bunch.
Oct. 13, 2010, 5:06 a.m.
0 votes/
Nida STFU
Oct. 30, 2010, 2:53 a.m.
0 votes/
I read a comment up there about the Technology Fees and book costs and it made me aggrivated, not at the author, but at the school. I can't believe how much the so-called Technology Fee has gone up since I signed up for this school about 6 months ago. Also, I think it's crap that your books are not included as well. When I attended Kaplan, my books were included. I only left there because their classes required you to go to a one hour seminar each week and I couldn't go because they are one EST and, at the time, I was on PST. Also, their classes are two for 10 weeks instead of one every 5 weeks. I think I made a huge mistake because Kaplan also only charges that Technology Fee per class, not all of it up front like Ashford.
Oct. 30, 2010, 2:46 a.m.
0 votes/
I just recently stopped attending Ashford and have to say I am so pissed at that school. My Enrollment Advisor was nice but forgot to mention that the $990 Technology Fee you are charged in the beginning is NON-REFUNDABLE even if you've only taken 4 classes. So basically I paid this fee for nothing. I think they owe me most of that back but they do not feel the same. I tried to file a complaint with the BBB about other issues and wouldn't you know it, they are not members! Also, when I was attending this school, my financial advisor was crappy and never returned emails or phone calls. It's just annoying. I left Kaplan University for this one because I prefered their program but now I'm thinking it was a really bad idea. DON'T GO TO ASHFORD!!!!
Oct. 9, 2010, 4:35 p.m.
0 votes/
This is for the people who complained about oweing money because of a mistake at Ashford or with FAFSA:

You are an adult, it is your responsibility to keep track of how much money you owe, how much money you have and what your limit is.  Do not blame someone else for your stupidity.
Oct. 9, 2010, 4:25 p.m.
+3 votes/
I read through a lot of the negative comments and I have to say a few things.  First: Financial aid is not granted to every one. Secondly: The concept of on-line classes means that you will be doing a lot of the work yourself.  If you wanted a babysitter you should have went to a traditional classroom setting.  Third:  These people (academic adivsors) are not your parents, they do not have time to call you everyday and ask "how are you doing?".  This can be said for both on-line classes and traditional classrooms.  In fact, when you go to the academic advisor on campus, they do not fix your problem like Johnny on the Spot, they make you wait for an answer.  Sometimes this can take weeks.  Laslty: This is a college, not a trade school, elementary school or day care.  You are an adult and as such they expect you to be able to take care of some of your problems, follow directions, read an agreement and accomplish your own work without someone breathing down your neck.  So please, if you want a babysitter or your mom, if you want someone to cuddle you and hold your hand every step of the way, if you refuse to take responsiblity for yourself...  DO NOT attend college.  DO NOT attend an on-line college.
Oct. 5, 2010, 7:09 p.m.
0 votes/
What a joke this school is,   Rude staff.  I am so glad to be away from this so called online school.  
Do not believe anything you are told or read about them being helpful.  This school only takes your money and destroys your dreams.  You are told to take certain classes  once signed up you find out you do not need the class and the one you need is full so you have to pay for something you do not need or want.  So called professors will not respond to your questions until after the weeks assignment is due and submitted and marked wrong.  Administration does not want to talk to anyone.  A real shame.
Just a warning   be very careful read EVERYTHING before you sign up for anything here.
Oct. 4, 2010, 2:56 a.m.
-1 vote/
$1290.00 Technology Fee????!!!! I must also pay for my books out of pocket!!! So, what is the technology fee for if the books are not supplied online? I have just finished my 1st class and I am withdrawing. I am going to pray they do not come up with any other bogos charges to my account!!!! If you dont ask, they won't tell!!! DO NOT GOT TO THIS SCHOOL!!!!
Oct. 1, 2010, 7:40 p.m.
0 votes/
Beware! The people are a bunch of crooks! They steal your financial aid money and use it on things they are not allowed to. I think that the staff may even be pocketing some of the money and pretending it is for charges. I honestly did not have a good experience at this school. the academic advisors were mean and pushy and arrogant. I must have dealt with over 12 different advoisors over the course of two years there. It was a waste of time and money all together. Do not, I repeat DO NOT waste your time here if you are a financial aid student. By the time that I would have graduated they had me owing $100,000 in student loans. I really would not want anyone else to have to deal with these crroks! Spend your time and money elsewhere! They even charge you for classes that you did not complete and sneaky ways that they do things will make you so mad at them. Pick an other school!
Jan. 19, 2011, 8:35 a.m.
0 votes/
100k on student loans? How many degrees did you get, 4?  My financial doesn't even total over 30k for three years of school...I dont get where your logic in finances come from.
Sept. 27, 2010, 7:45 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am finishing up my 2nd class at Ashford and I am very satisfied. I almost changed my mind after reading all the bad reviews, but thank goodness I decided to enroll. An online degree is the only option for me at this stage in my life and Ashford was the perfect choice. I needed the security of a school which also has a physical campus, like Ashford and I needed a Communications program. My 2 classes have gone very well and I am doing well in them. Classes are not easy and the instructors so far have been very hands on where communication and feedback are concerned. I feel I am receiving a great education at Ashford.
I hear alot of bad reviews about financial aid as well. I can only assume that whatever problems went on in the past, Ashford has fixed because my financial aid went through without issue. My first semester is paid for and I received my stipend check at the end of my 7th week enrolled. Be prepared to pay for the books for your 2nd class out of pocket, but my stipend check came in time for me to pay for books for my 3rd and 4th class!
I Love Ashford!
Sept. 25, 2010, 7:39 a.m.
0 votes/
Do NOT attend this school. I am only 2 classes away from my Bachelors degree and had to take a leave of absence because I cannot stand dealing with the faculty. The enrollment counselor lied to me, the financial aid adviser either ignores when I want help or lead me astray. The teachers do not use current editions of the text and I got a bad grade because I used the newest edition of the text. WORST decision I made in a long time was trusting my education to these people.
Sept. 23, 2010, 11:23 p.m.
0 votes/
This school is desparate and is only after your money. First of all they are pandering to people who are already in an unfavorable situation. Their add popped up when I was applying for disability benefits, ie. housing, food stamps for my brother. I thought this might be something helpful and inquired about the school.  They emailed me which I ALL I really wanted but they won't stop at that.  They won't stop calling even after I told them atleast 10 times to STOP calling!!!! They are harassing me!  My brother doesn't live with me and I explained why I inquired.  I initiated the contact and it is my right to END it!  They are totally insane.  They have SEVERAL horrible reviews.  DO NOT use this school!  They are scam artists! I am about to file a police report against them for harassment.
Sept. 22, 2010, 9:26 p.m.
0 votes/
Hello All,

Ashford College is a legitimate college and offers great one-to one instructors, however the only problem I had was that the advisors changed very often,  at times it was easy to get lost in the shuffle. For instance, I had cancer, before  I went into the Hospital, I was told by my advisors and the financial aid office that I could suspend my financial aid  until I return back to my classes , Highly frustrating, and it was not handled properly.  I was going through  life threatening issues that was very stressful. That did not help it was sort of a pass the buck treatment.
I feel that the advisors are a little in-experienced to handle mature adult situations which could severely impact our future.
I would say just to Be aware & careful about the advisor changes , especially when they do not address issues in a timely manner which affect the student's professional education outcome ie. grade point average and the misunderstanding of the unclear procedural policy practices within the College.
Otherwise the school to me was the best and the meaningful learning experience was great.
One more thing Blackboard had serious issues, I had a 4.0 and was taking a course and when I took my test where answers were lost due to a crash and my score was lowered right before graduation,w which resulted in a refusal of repeating the test to keep my high scores. I was told by my advisors that employers do not care about the grade point average. Wrong some do look at this , especially if you are continuing on to receive scholarships for Grad School. This was not the case , it effected my  scholarship eligibility rate. Otherwise,  they are a great college providing these other issues can be rectified.
I was recently called by another masters of education advisor asking me to return there, offering an Alumni  grant , but they fail to point out that it was only for a few classes but made it sound like  since your were a successful Alumni it was a grant that would pay for all your education classes.
I still have questions about returning there because of these issues that I have experienced!


Respectfully,

c;
Sept. 16, 2010, 3:53 a.m.
0 votes/
I recognize people love this school because it gives out A's like water. You could turn in your daughter's 1st grade paper and swing an A-. Piss poor.
Jan. 19, 2011, 8:39 a.m.
0 votes/
Not true. I worked VERY hard for my A's here at Ashford and A's are not guaranteed.  You dont do the work = poor grades.  The teachers are very picky about the work you submit and I have never gotten a perfect 100% in a class.  Revise your thinking.
Sept. 8, 2010, 6:28 p.m.
+2 votes/
When I decided to go back to school, I checked into several schools and felt that I had made a quality decision; I could not have been more wrong.  I would avoid going to this school, just as others on here have commented they are very deceptive, this is probably  not illegal but it is definitely unethical.  I had student loans and I was told about a month prior to graduation that I everything was paid and all I had to do was complete the classes I had left.  As soon as I graduate, I get an email stating that I owe them money.  I called and finally spoke with someone who would answer some questions, a difficult thing to get done at this school, I was told that my academic advisor provided bad advice by advising me to re-declare my major (which I questioned at the time and was not told that it cost money to do so) and the school messed up and sent me too much money.  I was told that they would check into fixing the problem and would be contacted back.  I had to call them every time and when I began to press them on why it was taking so long; I was told that if I did not pay I would be turned into collections.  All they were doing was stringing me along until they could turn it over to collections they had no intention of helping me out.  The lady who left me a message claimed she did not know what I was talking about.  I ask for proof and continually am told that I have to check the finance tab in the student portal.  It does not give any information about why I owe money.  I paid the money because I do not want my credit destroyed but I have contacted the Better Business Bureau and an attorney.  I would avoid this school!!!!
Sept. 5, 2010, 4:29 a.m.
0 votes/
I've been a student of Ashford University for over a year and a half. My experience has been nothing but wonderful throughout the entire time. I am going for my Bachelor's in Health Care Administration. My advisor's and instructors have been nothing but helpful and do everything they can to work with you. If someone has a negative experience with Ashford, then it is only because they failed to communicate with the University. I highly recommend Ashford.
Sept. 3, 2010, 9:57 p.m.
0 votes/
I am currently six classes from graduating with my BA in Psychology at Ashford and I LOVE IT!  It has been the best school experience I have ever had.  I have never had any issues wth instructors, financial aid staff, or advisors if anything they have been more than helpful.  The classes are great, the schedule is convenient, and everything is well organized and easy to follow.  

Not everyone is cut out to be an on-line student, it takes alot of self-discipline and the ability to learn in an unstructured environment with limited assistance.  

To all of those who have made complaints that they did not respond fast enough or not at all my suggestion would be for you to go to a campus program where the instructor is there on hand to assist you at your convenience.  I had a previous experience with a campus college and hated it.  The best part about on-line college is the ability to know what the class requires ahead of time and being able to make my school work schedule fit in with my everyday life.  If I need to be at a softball game I can plan things around it.

This is a great school, and for a university degree you really can't beat the prices.  I love the people, I love the experience and I am thankful for everything they have done for me because without them I would not be graduating in May.
Sept. 2, 2010, 9:38 a.m.
0 votes/
Hi Everyone. I often read on these review boards problems and complaints about Ashford. I want to share my story in hopes to show it's not bad for everyone?

I recently graduated through their online program with a BA in communications.  I had one instructor out of 14 over the course of a year and a half who seemed to be half-witted.  Other than that guy (at the end of each class is a course survey), I have enjoyed all of my instructors, their feedback, class discussions, and the material was very interesting to learn.  

I topped out in the 15% of my class with a GPA of 4.0.  I have an impressive portfolio of all my final papers, and now have enrolled in their MAOM program for my graduate degree.  Perhaps I lucked out with my advisors, and perhaps I happened to fill out my FAFSA perfect because my pells and scholarships have come through fine with plenty of loan funds exceeding to send back to Sallie Mae, dropping my loan amount after graduation.

The online program, its advisors, and staff are located in San Diego, CA, while the Brick and Mortar college itself is located in Clinton, Iowa.  

My instructors have been from all over America, and teach up to 5 classes a week at various online colleges and brick/mortar schools.  

My experience has been a positive one, however, I do believe this school and the online program is not for everyone. It is writing intensive, and it is imperative you read through the college catalog to understand about withdrawing from school and its consequences.  My advisors have been wonderful, knowledgeable, and timely.

Otherwise, I would not be furthering my education in the Master's program.

I wish you well to find the right school for you.  I have enjoyed Ashford to finish 84/120 credits I transferred, and I look forward to hanging my MAOM next to my BA degree.
Aug. 31, 2010, 3:53 p.m.
0 votes/
@ Sherri, Maybe you need to find another FA Advisor, because mine is Awesome. Every last one of them that I have had has been great, and I think I have had about 4 in the past year. They hold your money in the 30/70 way because you told them to. All you had to do was decline their plan. I did the same thing when I first started, but when they gave us the option to change it....I Did!! And if you have been there for two years now, then you had that same option and still chose to let them hold on to your money. That sounds like a personal problem, not Ashford. I have been with them for only one year and I have gotten four disbursements. If you include when I started then I have received six (30/70 rule). So to all you people who are complaining about FA, well, all I can say is that next time you should read. If you are not getting any extra money for books then you did not do like majority of us did and asked for the maximum amount.
So as I have stated before...Ashford is a great school to attend. It is not as easy as everyone thinks it is. You can't have any excuses because the teachers don't want to hear that crap. No one is going to hold your hand and make you do the work. Graduating is totally up to you. I have really enjoyed my time here at Ashford University and look forward to graduating in May with my BA in Healthcare Administration. I might just go on for my Master’s Degree, but I will take two months off in between. The only break we get from school is the two weeks Christmas break, so the two months that I take off will be very much needed and deserved.
Aug. 27, 2010, 4:59 a.m.
0 votes/
WOW!Is all i can say at this point. I sure just looked this school up anlong w Phoenix Online. The guy I spoke with was so eager for me to fill out an app right after just talking to him for 30 min... I told him i cant just do that so quick,there is no rush. He said What other questions did I  have? I said none, I just need time to think and do my own research. I mean gesh! This is not for free, heck yea i need time to look the school up, and verify things! Did he think I was a fool? When I asked him did the degree I was looking at have a concentration, he did not even give me a clear answer, just said lemme look, I dnt think it does, no I dont think so...let me look, no it does not...OK,. THAT ASNSWER DNT WORK FOR ME!I have went to campuses and the admin reps are not as pushy! I think im going to work something out and go to a campus! Ga State where I'M at... their reps don't pressue me! They just say come in when you are ready!
Aug. 26, 2010, 5:40 p.m.
+1 vote/
The reason Ashford University is regionally accredited is because they bought out a struggling private Catholic college, in turn, buying the accreditation and "1908" history. LOL

That is how all the "Diploma Mill" for profit universities get their start.

Watch Frontline's College Inc and all will be explained.

You will graduate with a useless diploma and tons of federal debt. Did you know that you can never escape Federal loan debt. They will garnish your wages, your Federal tax returns and you are not eligible for social security.

Guess who loves Ashford's parent company Bridgepoint Inc?

Wall Street!

All that yummy federal loan money to play with.

Bridgepoint/Ashford spends more on advertising d than on their education department.

BEWARE

Google Frontline's College Inc and Watch the program. It will turn your stomach.
Aug. 24, 2010, 10:02 p.m.
+1 vote/
Former Saint Telemarketer,
Your right on!

Also it's funny how the 'academic advisors' make more than the professors.....
Aug. 24, 2010, 6:08 a.m.
+1 vote/
Ashford is no different than any other online university.  Which is exactly why Congress is looking into them all.  This is a for profit money grab that is taking advantage of people who really don't know any better. 

This so called university has 3000 employees, 1600 of which are telemarketers (their names are listed for you when you choose your representative on their application!!!!).  These poor schmucks have been hired to get you to take out student loans. Each one of these "phone monkey's" are dialing to the drum of the CEO Andrew Clark who will one day be forced to testify in front of Congress for his intentional raping of the American tax payer.  If you don't believe me, ask yourself what other "Dean/CEO" of an American University pays himself 20 million dollars per year.

So if you want to go there, go!  But don't cry 12 months from now when you have 15k in loans and your credits aren't worth anything.  The only people who should attend this university are the same ones who had their homes repossessed because they felt cheated by their lender and didn't do any research at all. 

Online universities are the new subprime lending cheats.  It's the same formula.  Make false promises:  Qualifying is easy, don't worry about the loans that's 4 years from now, why wouldn't you do this everyone knows house ownership/college degrees always make money.  Sounds familiar doesn't it.

And guess what, these criminals are taking advantage of tax payers money to feed these lies, to line their own pockets.  My only hope is that Obama won't bail out all of you retards again!  

Here's the deal, you want to go to college, go.  But go to a real one.  College isn't supposed to be easy, it's supposed to be hard!, its supposed to be a sacrifice!  It's this process that changes your mind forever and creates a college graduate out of you.  

You can't get this tranformation by logging on twice a week and replying to two of your fellow classmates.  The only ones who will tell you that is what college is all about is either an alumni from one of these retarded schools or is getting paid to get you to go to one.  (Which buy the way is one of the main reasons schools like Ashford face losing their accreditation which will will really make paying back those loans tons of fun.....)

So take my advice if you're thinking about going, don't.  And if you are going tranfer out while your credits are still worth something.
Aug. 24, 2010, 1:06 a.m.
0 votes/
I just graduated with my BA in Early Childhood Ed. from Ashford! Years ago I tried going to a traditional college and it just did not work out. I actually started with Ashford in 2006 and just finished. My advisor was the same person all 4 years and called me, emailed me, and got me through some tough times! I remember wanting to quit and Brittany Davis was awesome, cheering me on!  I am currently applying everything I learned in a large (250 children) Child Development Center as an assistant director. You have to be self motivated but the professors were always available. I only had 2 professors in all 4 years that I wouldn't recommend. The rest were all full of guidance and motivation. I believe you get what you put into it. It wasn't easy but now I am grateful for everything I learned since I love what I do. I also used financial aid and never had any issues.  They remind you each award period of what to do and if I ever had questions, I would receive an answer back promptly. Also, you can order books from anywhere by just logging in to your class and getting the book information, you do NOT have to go through the bookstore. I only did that a couple times.  I averaged $60-$85 a month on books which was quite reasonable. I've recommended friends and plan to go back for my Masters in a few months.
Aug. 23, 2010, 9:52 p.m.
0 votes/
Ashford seemed like a good idea at the time, but I have since had my doubts. Many in-fact, one of the problems is financial- they do not want to release my excess funds to me. They have re-done my loans under another name-without asking, or notifying me. The system experiences multiple errors on a regular basis, and apparently when you call to talk to someone about this, they all feel obligated to tell you how smart they are. So my little master degree weilding operators, if that is the job you have because you went to Asford-answering phones, you can have your accredited university. Now, the professors are a whole other ball park- I have come to the conclusion that they either employ people that have personality disorders, and don't know their rear from a hole in the ground; then again maybe they can't handle the student load (of 10-18 a class), or when it is all said and done..........you'll love this, maybe they have multiple people posing as one professor so they can't keep what they tell the students straight. My personal issues with Ashford aside, from an unbiased stand point (as possible) I would say I am smart, but the classes seem easy for the most part. The work load is not heavy for a full time student, this is very unusual. I have many questions that have as of yet to be answered at Ashford. Should I personally continue to encounter issue after issue I will transfer to the University my Mother works at, and I know is legitamate. In conclusion, Asford is not what one would qualify as a Well rounded University to attend.
Aug. 23, 2010, 7:42 p.m.
0 votes/
Ashford University has alot of issues.  I have been a student there for almost 2yrs now.  They have a rule where they keep the students money then disburse it to you as they see fit.  And you have to bite the expense of your books awaiting them to disburse the money you are awarded thru a pell grant or the money you will have to pay back from your student loans.  I found out that they trick you by putting that lil note about it in your enrollment forms.  However by requesting your money be sent to you after tuition is deducted within 14days of it going into your acct you can supposably get your money.  But that is not true either as they have come up with excuse after excuse to continue to keep mine. I get 4 deposits per year and have went an entire year with only 1 disbursement.  So basically they are using student money and giving it to you when they have it.  Be very weary!
Jan. 19, 2011, 8:56 a.m.
0 votes/
Once again, a clueless Ashford student.  I also requested that my excess funds in student loans and grants be sent to me within 14 days of disbursement and guess what?  They come SOONER than 14 days! It is your job as an adult to escalate the issue if you feel you are being treated unfairly.  I have never had a financial problem with Ashford.  Also, Ashford is very military friendly.  Since I'm a vet, I get reduced tuition, NO technology fee, free books...etc.  Just food for thought. Ashford does not trick anyone. They are not allowed to keep money if you email the stipends department and you get a response email from them saying your request is being processed.  It seems like you are not being that proactive and I suggest you get on your job and do so!
Aug. 18, 2010, 1:01 a.m.
+1 vote/
Ashford is the worst school! The faculty are less-than-qualified and don't ever seem to know what it is that they are doing. Ashford should be shut down immediately due to incompetence on the faculties part.
Aug. 16, 2010, 9:04 p.m.
0 votes/
I just don't understand what the problem is. I have been with Ashford since January of 2009 and so far all have gone well. My financial aid is sent on time, every time. If I have a stipend it always arrives 14 days after my FA is posted to my account. If you want the whole stipend disbursed to you then you should not accept the 30/70 rule when you sign your paperwork. That’s just my opinion. 
As far as the course work goes, well lets’ just say that it’s not that easy, and if you apply yourself, it’s not that hard. I have found myself struggling in some classes, and had to wonder what I got myself into. If you apply yourself you will get a good education. As someone stated before, “you can leave this school feeling like you have learned nothing.” But that is with any school. You get out what you put into your education.
Aug. 14, 2010, 2:20 a.m.
+1 vote/
I started attending Ashford in Oct of this year.. When I first start researching schools I put in for some info about the Social and Criminal Justice degree.. The calls never stopped after I put my phone number in.. Nathan the counsler wouldnt take no for an answer so finally I gave in and said Id attend this school. The financial aid department is awful and the trying to do this online is crazy.. I just dropped out this month after putting myself in so much debt for this "University". You cant even buy your books with the finicial aid that you are awarded.. The books are about 100 if not more and you can only get the Ashford Edition so theres no buying them on some other website. They also sent my loans back to the lenders so now I owe the school alot of money just because I decided to swich schools.. The teachers really arnt that fantastic either.. You'd figure paying 1130 for each class that you would get some quality education.. I would NOT reqremend this school to ANYONE!! Its honestly a bunch of bull s..t!!
Aug. 11, 2010, 4:09 p.m.
+1 vote/
PLEASE DO NOT GO TO THIS UNIVERSITY!!!! Ashford University is a horrible excuse for an educational institution. They truly only care about your money. I took six classes there, made the Dean's list, and still had so many issues in that brief time, I have almost completely lost any remaining faith in the entire education system in this country. If you are not an expert at Ashford's policies and procedures and financial aid, you will not be able to function at this "university". I was not able to get a hold of my academic or financial advisor ONCE over the phone in the time that I was there, a HUGE downfall given that they specialize in distance education. Worse yet, often I could not even get anyone to respond to my email correspondence. They removed me from a class, IN THE MIDDLE OF A CLASS, and erased all of the coursework that I completed due to an issue with my financial aid (caused by Ashford) that I had no knowledge about. After ending my enrollment at Ashford due to the disrespect and disregard for my education that I was shown while there, they sent me an email with a 15 day notice that yet another balance appeared on my account without my knowledge, and I still could not get anyone on the phone to straighten it out. Once they have you in their grasp, they will not let you go! I am still fighting with this University today, and I will take every opportunity for the rest of my life to help any other upstanding students from having to go through an ordeal like mine. PLEASE DO NOT GO TO THIS UNIVERSITY!!!!
Aug. 4, 2010, 11:52 a.m.
+2 votes/
I took two classes from Ashford and was incredibly disappointed.  It seemed too good to be true and it was.  The "professors" were terrible, the assignments were boring, and I didn't learn anything.  They are a for-profit school and it shows, once they have your money they forget you exist.  However, as soon as you disenroll they somehow remember your phone number to try to get you to take more classes.
I learned my lesson, no more for-profit schools.