Organizational Management

Level: Bachelor
Language: English

(98 reviews)


Description

Improve your understanding of how organizations function and develop effective skills in management and leadership when you pursue your Bachelor of Arts in Organizational Management (BAOM) degree. As someone with full-time work experience, you're interested to learn more about defining and understanding strategic planning, financial management, law and marketing, and other areas in order to become an organizational leader who must be knowledgeable in order to be effective. Degree Focus In the Organizational Management program, you will examine the human side of managing organizations, allowing for skill development in communication, group behavior, decision-making, human resource management, and ethics. Career Opportunities After graduation, you will be prepared for a career as a leader of organizations. You may choose to enter one of the areas of business or industry for which your emphasis on organizational management has prepared you, to start your own businesses, or to pursue careers with local, state, or federal government. You may also seek a career in any of the following industries: Sales Retail Small business management Government Non-profit organizations


Get More Information About the Organizational Management Program


Recent Reviews

Horror Show
September 2, 2015
My Degree from this school is no longer even recognized in my state. All that money for a useless degree which is essentially toilet paper. This school boasts about its excellent education degrees. Not one education degree is N.C.A.T.E accredited or recognized by the Department of Education. None of them lead to certification either. Total waste of time and money. RUN DO NOT JUST WALK. Keep googling there are some good schools out there.

Glad I got my degree
May 25, 2015
One of the best decisions I ever made was deciding 8 years ago to get my college degree. For those that believe that an online education is easy, think again! You don't have professors holding your hand. You have deadlines to meet, multiple assignments at once, lots of research, just like you would have on a job! I completed an Associate's, Bachelor's and Master's degree from Ashford. There are weekly discussions, papers, and tests (mostly ...

Great Experience
October 17, 2014
I attended Ashford for three years and finished my BA. It was a wonderful experience. I had no issues with Financial Department, with admissions, nothing. I never had a teacher not respond, only had one that didn't respond in a timely manner and had only two instructors that I felt were 'jerks', but was able to get through the courses with good grades. I attended a Public University for online classes and my feeling of ...

Ashford University has a really good business program
October 6, 2012
I recently graduated from Ashford University in the Spring of 2012. Through working some insane hours as a truck driver, and studing hard over 20 hours perweek, I managed to achieve a 4.0 GPA. In addition, I earned Summa Cum Laude honors, and was entered in the Golden Key Internationl Honour Society,Alpha Sigma Lambda Chapters at Ashford. (I say this in a humbling way because I had to work my tail off the achieve these ...

Admissions are Like Hungry Sharks
September 11, 2012
Did I mention admissions folks are like sharks? I applied to a few schools at the same time to make sure they give me all information required, instead of just asking questions and get b.s. answers. That was a mistake. Admissions lady called me every chance she could. In the end I just said forget it and enrolled in another university. My problem was that the reviews told me admissions were like that, and they ...

Ashford Online
August 31, 2012
Ashford University was the best decision that I have ever made. Although, I have only been attending this institution for a few months, they have proven themselves to be one of the best online institutions you can attend. The professors are great and will get back with you ASAP whenever you have a problem, or if you just need some advice on the best route to take on getting your assignment completed. I have attended ...

Some clarity for those searching here
July 3, 2012
I've been a student here for years now and I'm finishing up shortly. I've read a lot of these poor reviews and honestly it seems like a bunch of BS. How is Regional Accredidation crap? Most of your local universities have the same thing!!! My credits didn't all transfer? Maybe that's because you changed your major in Junior College 5 times and your pottery classes don't count towards a Psychology Degree! Why didn't they tell ...

Read all 98 Organizational Management reviews

You can help by Writing a review


Get More Information

Looking for more information about the Organizational Management program? Simply complete this information request form and their admissions office will contact you to answer any questions you may have.


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

Old Comments

Dec. 19, 2011, 4:45 a.m.
0 votes/
Don't do it! They are under investigation for shady business practices. Also, they just added a class to my schedule when I am 3 classes away from my BA. 
Oct. 21, 2010, 7:13 p.m.
0 votes/
Okay all, here we go. I am just starting the process finding the right school for me. So far Ashford University has most of my attention and after reading people's input, I may go ahead and start my education here. I want to start this as my journal to all that may follow. 

I have been out of school for over 20 years and am counting on this university to push where I need to be pushed and guidance where I needed to be guided. I promise you I will not be a stellar student by any means of the word but what I am is determined to succeed. I am in the medical field but have found I have no other options but to get my BS to continue my corporate climb. So, if you are like me and questioning if you can do this without fail, because you think the people that are going to college are brainiacs, think again. I promise you I am as basic as they come. 

I just want other that follow to know that if I can do it and succeed I promise you that you can do it too. So stay tuned to see that I make it.....! I won't give up without a fight... I am looking at get my degree in Organizational Management so if you have any personal question as I continue, feel from to e-mail me at SuperK1069@hotmail.com. Make sure you put in the header, something about Ashford or I will just delete it without looking.

Remember, We only fail when we don't try....
Aug. 19, 2010, 2:05 p.m.
+1 vote/
I am finishing my degree in Organizational Management.  I have been very impressed with the academic rigour of the program.  I have been managing and supervising for the past six years, and the content I have learned over the past year with Ashford has helped me almost immediately!  I believe that those who are not finding Ashford a good fit probably do not have the discipline to engage with the instructors, their classmates, or the required reading.  For the record, I would spend approximately two hours every night on reading and coursework, and around six to eight hours on a weekend working on papers.
May 15, 2010, 5:35 a.m.
+1 vote/
I am a current student at Ashford and I can tell you the classes are great, the text books are intriguing and if your lucky enough to have classmates that put forth the effort it really enhances your learning that much more. Here are three things I like
1) Enrollment advisors notify you weekly when assignments are do to make sure you've turned in your work
2)Degree progress report will show you everything your scheduled for to get your degree, course by course, so it's easy to set your goal...they do it for you
3) Although the classes are challenging, I've found that because I can view the entire courses weekly assignments I can spend any free time getting ahead, it usually takes me a couple of hours on my Sunday to do a weeks worth of work, and some work for the next week
This is a great school!
March 24, 2010, 2:05 a.m.
0 votes/
I completed my Bachelor of Arts in Organizational Management this past February with a 3.97 GPA.  I have enjoyed the program enough to immediately begin working on my MA in Organizational Management.  I truly feel that you get out of the online classroom what you put into it.  I have tead the comments about hidden fees, and holding stipend checks, all I can say to this is read the contract before you sign folks.  Yes, there is a technology fee of $990. This is the case at almost any online school, Ashford is upfront about this and does not hide the fee in tuition like many other online schools.  The release of stipend money, this is a newer requirement of the Stafford loan, and is NOT unique to Ashford.  Again, I can not stress enough the quality of education Ashford has provided me.  If you want to learn, and are willing to work hard you will succeed.  As I stated earlier, you get out of your education from Ashford what you put into it.
March 18, 2010, 1:35 a.m.
0 votes/
Im here to tell you Ashford is the best online University . I did my research on college accredititations before attending Ashford University and they are a top notch university. All this crap about this crap about money and classes being not as hard is bs. Ashford is just like any other school they want money. You must remember people they have accredititations like your major universities. If the classes was any easier they would not have been granted accredititations. Ashford is a good school. If you don't believe me check them out for yourself.
Feb. 1, 2010, 6:55 p.m.
0 votes/
In my third class and I love it! Highly recommend to anyone with a full time job!
Aug. 15, 2009, 2:12 p.m.
0 votes/
My experience with Ashford has been excellent.  Coming from a traditional in-seat experience at Broward College in Broward County, Florida, I feel that my knowledge from the curriculum at Ashford has definitely widened my scope.  The professor's posed challenging questions and excellent feedback within the Blackboard forums.  Get ready to do a lot of writing in pure APA format!  Yes, you will have to be responsible for making contact with both your academic advisor and your financial aid advisor on a regular basis in order to fulfill the tasks you hope to achieve at Ashford, but that would be at any college in which you take initiative.  I am currently in the final two courses (yes you can take two courses concurrently) of my Bachelor's of Organizational Mangagement and find that any college I am hoping to attend for my Master's in Public Administration have stated they will transfer the entire degree towards their MPA.  That is of course, if I choose not to continue on with Ashford's MPA in October.  Ultimately I only required eleven courses with Ashford in order to obtain my BAOM, so I was able to complete that task starting in January of 2009 and ending in September, 2009.  Be sure to as about the PLA program (Prior Learning Assessment) as I was able to eliminate 23 elective credits by submitting a one page Credit Rational paper and $30 per credit.  I don't think you can complete your BA at ANY other college in eight to nine months!  As a Deputy Sheriff it will provide me an opportunity to advance within my career and my employer is not concerned with Ashford's 'credibility' because they have heard from many different agencies that they are excellent!  As far as the cost, it is more reasonable than other 'main brand' online colleges and their books are easily found used (a lower cost) through an online book forum.  On a scale from one to ten, I would give Ashford, its professors and its administrative staff a ten! Good luck in your endeavors.
May 14, 2009, 12:14 a.m.
0 votes/
I am about to graduate Ashford University, and while it is truly a legitimate brick and mortar school with a long history of academics, the online courses just do not provide the width and breadth of a great education.  So, while I'll proudly display my "goatskin" on my wall, I'll know there is still much to learn.  I chock this up as a by-product of Ashford' accelerated five week online program.  Realistically, there are only so many hours in a day, and its frankly impossible to thoroughly cover all the material in a mere five weeks.

Nonetheless, if you are a mid-career professional, fully entrenched in a profession, and need the degree to complete the resume, the five-week semesters make for a fast-paced program.  While it is a weakness from an academic standpoint, for those of you like me who simply needed to "git r done" Ashford is a good choice, and probably much better than most online programs.  Being selected as both the US Army and Air Force Letter of Instruction school is a feather in their cap as well.
May 6, 2009, 5:30 a.m.
0 votes/
I stumbled on this site looking for a trade school for my son.  I am in my last week of course work for my degree and this has been a great experience.  I wish I had started many years ago.  Contrary to what was written before, you can transfer up to 99 credit hours - I did.  I had to complete 13 classes for my degree because this was a change from my prior experience in college. I thought the price was very reasonable.  Teachers were great.  I had very helpful admissions, financial, and academic advisors.  There is a lot of writing for these classes, so if you don't like to write papers, this may not be the appropriate school for you. I have enjoyed the interaction I have had with students from all over the world, especially those in the military.
April 24, 2009, 10:30 p.m.
0 votes/
I just stumbled on this forum. I have been going to Ashford for a while now and have finished 18 hours. This school is very convenient, especially for military! I don't know how other colleges are, but it seems that Ashford is almost too easy. Everything is open book, and grading is very lenient. It is not very hard to get an A, which is nice, and you get out of the classes what you are willing to put in. Like others have said, teachers vary. I have had great ones, and at times feel I am being tought by "blackboard" alone. I have had nothing but great experiences with administration folks also, by the way. All said, I would give Ashford 4 our of 5 stars.
April 16, 2009, 4:08 a.m.
0 votes/
I am contemplating going to Ashford and doing Organizational Managrment with a emphasis in psychology. I am just woried about job oppurtunities if I do obtain a degree.
Feb. 2, 2009, 1:48 p.m.
0 votes/
I am finishing my degree this month. I have loved Ashford. It is consistent. I had no problem with financial aid. I only had one teacher that I did not like but they took care of it and got a new teacher half way thru the class.

I would recommend the school to anyone who wants to work at getting their degree without leaving the comforts of their home.
Nov. 30, 2008, 4:03 p.m.
0 votes/
I am finishing my degree this weekend and came across this page while doing research for my final paper. The courses have been soild and provided,  current and relevant information that I can transfer into my real world work. I have been very pleased over all with my experience. The school is regionally accredited, unlike some other online schools, happens to be a real brick and mortar school with a history and is not a degree mill. While some may be unhappy with the cost, I can say they are far less than other online programs.
Nov. 11, 2008, 12:51 a.m.
0 votes/
Tomorrow my wife and I are start our 5th class with Ashford.  It's been a lot of work--5 week courses are intense, but very much worth it.  We've enjoy everything that Ashford has to offer EXCEPT we've had a hard time getting scheduled with same professor.  That is the only negative thing that I can say about Ashford.
May 30, 2008, 11:25 p.m.
0 votes/
Well, my wife and I have just enrolled with Ashford.  We are both in the Air Force, and they seem to cater to us a bit more than most other schools.  We both left Wayland Babptist University for different reasons, and I look forward to the challenge that Ashford seems known to deliver...more to come as we continue on our journey to complete our degrees.
May 15, 2008, 1:34 p.m.
0 votes/
Got my MA! This is a great university. Challenging course work, but a great school.
March 26, 2008, 11:32 p.m.
+1 vote/
My wife is 2 courses from her Org Mgmnt degree (4.0 GPA) in June.  Today she was told that the records dept performed an audit of her courses and 'OOPS', noticed that she needed yet another course to graduate (funny, they did an audit last July and she had only 7 courses left.. and, btw, that'll be another $1000 + books).  Worse, 'he' was happy they caught it - talk about your positive spin...  This is the 4th major administrative 'whoops' and all at my wife's expense.  Professors were excellent, for the exception of one, but the administration (to the top) are money mongers that exploit their dictatorial leverage - no student recourse for their incompetence - they are judge and jury.   Students beware.  Professors 4.5 Stars / Administration 0.5 [They hired some great professors, but keep plenty of aspirin on-hand as this administrative will keep the headaches coming.]
Feb. 20, 2008, 1:32 a.m.
+1 vote/
I am two weeks away from finishing my degree.  I thought Ashford was a great school.  I am completing a BS in Org Management with a concentration in Education.  It was challenging but books and starting was easy.  If you want to get your degree, and are organized enough to work from home you can get you degree.  I also noticed that Ashford was ranked in the fourth tier.  I don't think I saw any other online schools on the list.  I have noticed people fall from classes.  Many want a walk in the park and a degree certificate.  If you want it get.  I did.  5 stars to Ashford.

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Ashford University in any way.