Ashworth College : High school diploma Reviews

Hornsix1 (In Progress) on August 22, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Computer marks your CORRECT exam answers WRONG! I have home schooled 2 of our sons through high school using American School. They raised their rates. So we switched to Ashworth for son #3. Bad move! He has been complaining all along that many of the questions in the study guides and exams are not to be found in the textbook readings. I confirmed this. We had to google to find some answers! My BIGGEST complaint though, I feel is a very SERIOUS one!! After son completes exams in the Exam Book, I log on to his account with Ashworth and he reads off his answers and I enter them. Several times now he has had answers marked WRONG and we both checked them and found there is no way they are wrong!! So I called Ashworth's Student Services and was told they would connect me to an Academic Adviser and she would make the adjustments. Was told "They do it all the time"... um, ok.... So sure enough the "Adviser" found both of my son's answers were marked incorrectly and she "gave him credit for both. That makes his new grade a 96." I replied, "Uh, he had only 2 answers wrong and you gave him credit for both. Doesn't that make his new grade a 100?". "oh, ya, sorry, 100". So as a parent, I not only have to double-check the computer but the Academic Adviser as well? So, I asked this "adviser" how my son could be giving correct answers yet having them marked wrong. She said "its a computer glitch". Ok "So how can I have confidence that ANY of his exams are being graded accurately?" She replies, "It's a computer glitch. It happens. That's why we advise students to review their answers after completing exams." So, the educational institution is allowed to essentially be "dumber" than the student? It's up to the STUDENT to correct the school system that you paid tuition to attend????? My last child will be starting high school in 2015. I WILL NOT be enrolling her in Ashworth!!

Mckenziebyrns (In Progress) on July 31, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Psh, I love this school! I am a 17 year old who just graduated a year EARLY thanks to Ashworth! I don't know what people are talking about. I've never had a problem with support, tests, materials, or the teachers! I love how I can stay at my own pace. Tests are super easy as long as you actually study and whatnot. Also, I LOVE the activities they have you do online. Every time I call up there, the people are super friendly and easy to talk to. Coming from a girl who couldn't stand the high school atmosphere, this is the school to choose when looking for the right, affordable, online schooling option! (:

B.poturnak (Graduate) on May 28, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
No need for a GED! No need for having to study for a GED test when you can finish high school online! I never thought this was possible until I began to google courses for GED prep and stumbled upon online HS. You take the classes instead of having to prep for a dumb test which takes the same amount of time. And you can say you graduated High School :)

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 29, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
bad service When I first started off it was great. A few months later they started slacking on everything. It's hard for me to get help from customer service. Then I believe the teachers aren't giving me the grades I deserve which is very frustrating. Even when you email the teachers or ask them for help they don't get back in touch with you so my fiance helps me. The only reason I'm putting up with it is because I need my diploma, it's affordable and I know karma will come back on them.

Justinegrayson (In Progress) on May 25, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Didnt work for us I wanted to home school my daughter for high school, she had always been a very bright good student and this felt like the right fit for us. When calling to sign up for the program they answer the phone in seconds. When calling for teacher support or questions it took up to an hour to be answered then they would just take a message. Useless! There was never a teacher to talk to as was promised in the sales pitch. After a year and a half we gave up on Ashworth. My daughter had to go back to public school after I had already spent well over $2500 on this waste, she had to go back with very little credit from our time working on this program. Then they never sent the rest of the text books that were already paid for. It is a HUGE disappointment and such a waste of money. I hope you google ALL sites for reviews and BBB complaints among others. I thought I had done enough research before making this big purchase. They may or may not be good at other online programs but for high school diploma it is all talk and no action. Please be warned and lead your child in another direction.

Ahall1000 (In Progress) on May 5, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
You all are wrong about Ashworth! It's not as bad as you say... I enrolled my Daughter in James Madison High School because she has been Home schooled since she was in the second grade. I wanted her to have a High School Diploma just in case in the future she wants to go to College she will have a Diploma that is recognized as legitimate. She has received nothing less than a "B" for her Final grades and she has basically completed all her Subjects within a year! I feel that she will be able to go on and achieve anything she wants in her Life! My only issue with Ashworth is the fact that they won't allow you to receive more than 2 Subjects at a time and if you owe a payment they won't ship out any new Subject's until your balance is paid up to date but, you know if I wanted to ensure I received my money I probably wouldn't ship out more books either until the bill was paid up to date! Overall, it has been a really good experience for all of us! The Halls

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 1, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Ashworth High School new learning system is not good. When I first signed up, I was doing great and all of sudden they changed the learning system around 2012. Now my grades are bad and I have to read a boring textbook online with know videos. I use to learn from some of there lessons in the past , but now Im not learning anything. This school use to have good lessons and now they dont care to teach anymore. Dont sign up up to this school unless you dont mind reading boring textbooks online. They uses to have fun quzzies and videos to help you learn and now its read and take exam and fail!

Conniebrannen (In Progress) on March 19, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Asworth High School The school used to have a far superior curriculum with interesting videos, interactive practice and teacher feedback. Now they are obviously cutting corners as all they offer is an online textbook and some very poorly written tests. No feedback and no help studying the very boring text. But the worse part is that although they changed the curriculum and have tests full of errors, they will not give a refund. So this family learned our lesson the hard way...don't EVER pay in full to get a paltry discount because you will regret it. This school is a farce and I do NOT recommend it to anyone!

Anonymous (Graduate) on October 5, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
highschool diploma stay away from this school please they lied to me i was doing my high school diploma they told me if i fails one subject i would still graduate they lied i failed one subject and couldn't get my diploma they charge me to do it over. i did it over got my diploma was quite happy until i went to sign up for college the school was not recognized anywhere please dont go to this school you will be disappointed as i was

Denchris25 (In Progress) on August 1, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great School Let me say that Ashworth College is a great Schoool. I completed my Career Diploma in Forensic Science in June 2011 and I have already been transferred to the Forensic Lab of the Police Force here in Jamaica. I am also finishing my first semester of my A.Sc in Security Management and its going very well so far. The DETC accreditation is very much recognized here in Jamaica so I intend to do my B.Sc in Criminal Justice with them. As for Masters it will definitely be at a Regional Accredited School (American Military University)... Great School.. I would recommend it to someone who is look for an affordable, accredited and self paced online studies.

Anonymous (Graduate) on July 12, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good School I graduated from Ashworth High School in 2009. When I first enrolled, it was under the name James Madison High. The name change did not disturb my studies. Experience-wise, the school allowed me to finish my HS diploma and I was moving around frequently. They are regionally accredited and I am currently in college. My only complaint is, "wheres the teachers"? "Self Paced" seems to mean, do your own research. I enjoyed it, but I would have liked some help.

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 30, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Beyond Frustrated Where to even start. Ok firstly, I was sixteen when I originally became a student of James Madison Highschool, now Ashworth. I decided to take homeschool due to alot of personal traumas leading to my poor performance in highshcool. My mother decided on the school and against my better judgement enrolled me into JMHS and paid the down payment (i had to pay the additional 700 of the 900 they were asking just to earn a diploma). Now I can say at that time I had no problems receiving any materials and my assignments were graded properly, etc. So I finish all of my information, send in my last assignment, double check with the school to make sure I had nothing else I needed to send in. Everything is complete and I should receive my diploma in the mail within 30 days, at least that is what im told. Not the case. I moved out of state around two weeks after completing my work. I ended up doing alot of traveling as well and assumed my parents would hold on to my diploma while I was out of the country. Well now im back in the states and had to provide my diploma to get into college. Long story short my parents never received it!! I have now been on the phone with this company numerous times (if I can even get through) They told me I was missing 4 assignments. Luckly I saved all of my graded assignments and have faxed and emailed copies of these supposed never received assignments to the school with no result. At this point i cant even log into my student account on their website. Its now telling me I dont even exist!!! As most of you I have had the same problems with getting someone on the phone and with their customer service. At this time all im getting is unreturned phone calls and automated emails whenever I email them. I have hired an attorney and I am currently working to have this school shut down by the BBB. What a waste of my time and almost $1000. Dont waste your time or your money!!!!!!

You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Ashworth College