Baker College Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest

Bachelor Programs:
Bachelor of Computer Science (16)
BBA Management (8)

Masters Programs:
Master of Business Administration (3)


To link to this page:

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 24, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
his is the place if you want to be disrespected... I started this school a month ago because it was close to home. I had planned on going for a few semesters and then transferring to an accredited university. Guess what they don't tell you? You credits mean nothing! You cannot transfer without wasting all that time and money for no reason. I have 2 racist instructors who are not professors, nor even seem intelligent enough to teach! They spend the time talking about themselves or yelling at students. I am middle aged and have been ridiculed and harassed for weeks! No one will help me. The Dean is a joke. I pay almost $100 each class to be subjected to a nightmare. Do not send your kids or go to this joke. And the 97% employed? Prove it! Their job fair consisted of only Lowes, Where you can make minimum wage. Really?
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 14, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Out with the efficient In with the junk I've been attending the campus classes for almost two years now trying to complete my Bachelors in Information Technology and Security. About half way through my degree my fellow BITS students and I noticed that many of our classes were being phased out. Not in the sense of being removed from the curriculum - no. In the sense that they are FORCING us to go online to complete these classes. Many classes that require HEAVY hands on methods so that you can fully understand how parts work and how you will deal with certain programs are now shoved onto you in online format along with an overpriced book that resales for next to nothing if your lucky. Those same classes are then slowly removed from campus so you can't try and squeeze in there. All online classes are designed in the same concept of "attendance" is posting normally two times a day, five times a week to discussion boards where most of your fellow students give you little to nothing to actually "Discuss." A typical discussion goes: [A]: here is an article I found [B]: I found this interesting [C]: I too found this interesting [D]: I have to agree with [B], x is definitely the correct thing. And if you happen to find some way to inject something meaningful into that conversation it is up to the instructors discretion if your post means anything or not. You could meet the two post for five days and still get no points if the instructor didn't "FEEL" like your message contributed in any way to the discussion. While the campus classes you could have done everything and more that the online offers minus the mirage of "flexibility" of course but you actually have people and an instructor who are willing to have an intelligible talk with you on something if need be and if you run into problems you don't have to communicate via email and hope they get back to you before the deadline. Yet, they still charge the same for tuition so you get less for more, yay~
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Tedandbarb6 (In Progress) on July 2, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Depends on the person I just completed my second year at Baker. So far I have been pretty middle of the road with the college. I attended OTG classes at other colleges and with my schedule, working parent, I believe Baker Online is a better choice for me. I did have a misconception that online would somehow be easier. The posting can be difficult and I understand the frustration of APA. To be clear the frustration usually comes form APA in regards to the posting requirements. I have not been given credit on a few post because I didn't cite even though the information I posted was general knowledge. The math classes are the toughest but most of the instructors are good about keeping them going. They may seem like general obvious questions but if you post they are pretty good about giving credit. Be prepared to teach yourself and utilize outside sources for help with learning. I have an outside tutor for my math classes and in general the web has great resources for help with other classes. It is not easy and I have had pretty good luck with instructors. Grading is about 50/50 being early or on time with return grades. I have never had an instructor be late except with final grades. Some of the one star post I agree with but online schooling is for a certain type of person. I am already a professional in a field for 15 years so the degree is just for a boost to management. The Classes are 6 weeks long and it is usually over before it began. Very fast paced and there is a lot of information to digest. Mids and finals are pretty tough, maybe a little tougher then the OTG classes as I remember but that may just be because the OTG finals were many years ago and these ones come every 3 weeks. Do or don't it's not easy or for everybody so good luck either way.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 2, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Thin meatless gruel of a program I enrolled in the BSME program a few years ago after beginning a program in Florida and being forced to transfer back home to Michigan for financial reasons. I had no desire at the age of 30 to recommit myself to yet another traditional institution because I had been to too many and just wanted to get my BSME over with. So I found Baker in Flint that offered the same critical ABET accredited program as I had been in and I transferred to Flint to finish. Here is where the garbage starts. I went to my first class and I believe there were 5-6 students. The head of the program had a Masters not a PHD. The classes were very unstructured and the level of academic rigor on the subjects I was studying was significantly less than I was used to. The tests were easy. Funny almost. And I eventually would find that in my core classes maybe half of the time would be instructional and the rest would be just shootin the stuff some days. I was so mortified and disgusted with Baker that I transferred the next semester in what would be my final transfer to SVSU where I did graduate. The problem with baker is that I would argue that a lot of your peers are not competitive, the instructors are lazy, the program is too protracted and sliced up to extract maximum cash from students, the classes often DO NOT transfer to a traditional institution, the location is very unpleasant, etc. If you have to go to Baker than good luck to you but you would be far better off at a local public school or even a community college which at least will maintain a traditional academic atmosphere with transferrable courses and articulation agreements.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 8, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
diploma mill It's a diploma mill. I know my work is shabby but I get A's. The teachers don't want bad reviews so they pass everybody. If they do something you don't like, you can go straight to the top and complain and get what you want.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 14, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Online Program Clearly some of the people posting were not in the online program, others speak of not for working parents, APA style, grading system, 5 out of 7 day posts. I believe these people are just complainers. How hard is it to have 2 posts and you get to pick which 5 days you post on and also you have until 12 midnight to do so. You can post at work, at lunch, at the restaurant ANYWHERE!!!! How is the grading system unfair when the instructor gives you a syllabus and advises you of the grading system and how EVERYTHING is weighted. APA style, if you have windows you select the writing style and it will format everything for you, cite, etc. Bakers online is so simple, like other smart, logical, people your posted great things, if you do the work you will not have any problems. I work, I am a parent, people stop complaining because you lacked the effort and dedication. Maybe online classes are not for you!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 13, 2014

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
A Fine School While several others have written very poor reviews of Baker here, this school is a fine school and while not everyone will benefit from it since it is 100% online, it is worthy of a truly objective review instead of the ranting of spoiled students wanting to be hand fed the material by an instructor. I have been a student at Baker Online for 3 plus years and have had several instructors and most of them are good in what they do. It is not the instructor's job to hold a college student's hand to walk them through assignments and if you can't cut the high paced environment and want to take your time getting a degree, then do NOT attend Baker Online. It is EXPECTED that you will work hard to earn your degree and while it may be true about the outages of Blackboard, most of the time this is not the staff's fault and instead a different problem that is usually solved by the student installing the proper software (browser version) to enable things to work. A great school and a great place to learn!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Mg_inc (In Progress) on August 21, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Trying to think of something good to say Oh yeah, it's relatively cheap. Can't think of anything else positive. The "professors" seem very unhappy and that is reflected in their hostile attitudes. There is very little support. There is indeed a strange fixation on the number forum posts you do, quite odd. I'm looking for another school.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Tommysimper (In Progress) on June 10, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
An honest description of my experience. Score: Overall 2. After one and a half years, I have a laundry list of issues and not much good to say about Baker College, however, I will post the good towards the end. Materials: Books are typical college level text. There are no lectures and about half of the instructors I have had will offer the textbook's accompanying power-point slides. All classes rely solely on the textbooks. Assigned chapters to read each week and assignments consist of the textbooks end-of-chapter exercises or questions. Teachers: 1. Just one instructor I have had thus far actually seemed knowledgeable of the curricula. Very few instructors post grades on time and few reply to emails before two or three days. Institution: 2. No one is ever in their office and leaving messages rarely works. I am a 3.8 GPA student who was very concerned about one grade in a class I took 4 months ago. Backboard system (which is where all work and communication goes through for Online students) has a extremely low up-rate and students receive several Blackboard outage emails each week. I had to determine the best time of the day to log-in because of a two, sometimes three, minute delay while submitting answers on quizzes and test. The delay caused for over ten hours recorded of wasted time staring at the screen waiting for Backboard during the first five weeks of the course. I spent a considerable amount of time just trying to convey my experience with the colleges officials and nothing seemed to come out of it. The college is completely non-responsive to any complaints and for that I scored them a 2. Support: 1. See previous. Value: 5 This is one of the few good things to score of my experience with Baker College. Technology: 1. I know of much better technology than that of which Baker College administers. The college cannot even seem to keep there email system up. All video resources used by all instructors (which are far few and in-between)seemed filmed thirty years ago. Mainly just the math courses have used videos as part of the curricula. The Oral Communication course requires video uploaded and the system used to upload and review is utterly junk. As a tech guy, I can say with certainty, Baker has not much pride in their use and administration of technology. They must save a fortune in this area. I did much research before deciding on Baker, however, I regret my decision much. I just transferred to a local University mostly to take advantage of class lectures and the benefits of having a instructor that participates in the learning process. Baker College seems almost like a Degree mill in that you are given a textbook, expected to teach yourself entirely from just the book, and take erroneous tests and quizzes to prove your understanding of the material. I can buy the textbooks for half the price Baker sells them for and teach myself for much less money. The $800.00 per class is entirely for the four credits on paper. I have received an A in courses which I did not feel comfortable with the material whatsoever and received a B in courses which I already understood every bit of the material before talking the class. The Baker system is very much flawed and there are many holes in it. I took three programming classes which covered the exact same material. Therefore, I paid $2900.00 to learn conditional statements and loops. I could not image being ready for the job market after graduating from the Computer Science program at Baker. If you are looking for a easy degree which mostly consist of posting whatever to a discussion board twice five days a week for each course, than Baker is for you. Other programs may involve a much better curricula than the C, so please do not consider my post if not seeking a CS degree. The overall experience and service should apply to all. Recap: the good-an degree mill. Easy degree, but not for those who actually want to get a job after college.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

11 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Natesjunk (In Progress) on April 27, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
The truth about Baker College Online I just have to say, after reading all the complaints on this forum; I can understand why these people are saying that Baker College Online is so horrible. It is because they are not meant for online schooling; some people just lack the self-discipline to teach themselves--which is basically what online schooling consists of. "Online" does not mean "less work," (unless you are attending a diploma-mill school) you should actually expect to spend more time on your studies if you are completing your degree online vs. a brick and mortar setting because, for the most part, you are teaching yourself. However, one benefit is being able to complete your work at any time of the day. In addition, you can do this work in the comfort of your own home instead of having to drive to a campus and sit through boring lectures. For anyone looking into information on Baker College, I can provide you with a solid review of what you can expect. First off, you have to participate in active discussion on their forums with meaningful posts at least 5 out of 7 days a week. This participation is a majority of your grade, which in turn, many people may call it ridiculous; however, how many brick and mortar schools let you show up whenever you want and turn in your work at your leisure? In addition, to reference one of the complainer’s posts on this form, Baker is indeed very strict on their APA formatting. I believe that this person said, “Too bad it is utterly useless,” and that he could have “completed his work in a couple hours if he did not have to cite the source.” Now let us think logically, is there any college that does not make you cite the source of your work? If you do not, it is called plagiarism, which is against the law! In regards to the instructors, I admit that some of them do not seem like the most respected professors that one may expect from a college. However, I have witnessed their students first hand and what they have to deal with on a daily basis. The idiocy of said students often makes my head hurt when trying to participate in mandatory class discussions. These are the same students that are failed from the class and then go complain about it to anyone that will listen to their sob-story. To address the statements about Baker being a “diploma mill,” obviously these people have not attended DeVry Online, or University of Phoenix. I only say this because these sub-par students would have their degree handed to them because they made their payments on time, instead of being failed because of their lack of effort. Baker is a regionally accredited college with the Higher Learning Commission, as well as, the largest Private Not-For-Profit brick and mortar College in Michigan. I could rant about the inaccuracy of these people’s complaints for hours. However, I must sum this up by saying that Baker College Online is not for anyone. Moreover, it is also more expensive than your local community college. Nonetheless, if you are willing to put forth the 110% effort to obtain your degree online, you will not find any problems from this college. As with anything in life, you must strive to achieve excellence, if not you will not make it regardless of what legitimate college you attend. If this is the case, then you are better off paying four times the tuition to get your degree handed to you by University of Phoenix so that you can hang it on your wall and let it collect dust while employers laugh in your face.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Pre4122 (Graduate) on April 1, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Associates of business in graphic communications I completed my associate degree in business at Baker in Clinton Township, with a concentration in graphic communications. In my final year, they changed the program title to Digital Media and Design. The worst part is that the teacher I had for MOST of my graphic classes, didn't even know how to use the software. Isn't that what digital media means? People have written reviews saying the cost was low for this college. $1800 for 2 classes is NOT cheap. Macomb charges about half of that. Now for the REAL problem...APA! They should just change the name of the school to Baker College School of APA! Seriously, I learned a ton about APA, in EVERY class. In fact, I know it better than a lot of my instructors do. Too bad it is utterly useless. I would have rather walked out of college with that much knowledge about the subject of my degree. The demands of citing sources in a format you will NEVER use anywhere else in your life, far overshadow the actual content of the course. I have seriously spent days writing papers that could have been completed in a couple of hours because I spent more time trying to find and cite sources. The tests online are copy and pasted, not written by the instructor, so I have had far too many instances where I got a question wrong because it was misleading. Let me give you an example. I just took a test in Geography and the question asked which country had the most compact territorial shape. That week we were talking about South America, so I found it odd that Panama was listed as one of the multiple choice answers, since it is in Central America. The correct answer, according to the instructor, was Uraguay. If the question had said, "Which one of these countries is in South America AND has the smallest territorial shape?" I would have chosen Uraguay. However, since we had just learned abour Central America the week before, I figured it was a trick question because Panama isn't even hal the size of Uraguay. Needless to say, I got it wrong and she will not buge on it. Look it up, CLEARLY Panama is smaller, but you can't ask questions about a test online when your in the middle of taking the test that is due that day. Chances are, you won't get a response before you need to post it anyways. This happens all the time! Shouldn't the instructor write their own tests based on what they actually taught you? Don't even get me started on the books either! I just bought my psychology book for $191! I immediatly looked up how much they would buy it back for...$56!!! For a non-profit school, they sure are screwing you over on the cost of books. I would love to see them offer books on loan instead of putting giant tv's in the lobby that serve no purpose to anyone, or having a pond full of fish in the lobby. Honestly, I would love to drop out and go to a different college but the credits DO NOT TRANSFER. I feel like I got robbed going here. I can't seem to find ANY jobs in graphics, so I have started my bachelors in health care administration in hopes that I might find something there. Shameful really, isn't it? I am seriously considering talking to my councelor about switching over to teaching, because obviously you do not need a quality degree to teach online classes here at Baker. I am guessing that those 98% that are employed, work AT Baker. The school is a joke really, and I would be happy to argue with anyone who feels differently.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 26, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Medical Insurance Program I have been a stay at home mom for several years, and I have been trying to get back into the work force, but because of economy and my years of not working I was not able to obtain a job. I graduated from the Baker college Medical Insurance Program where I learned medical billing and coding. The teachers were mixed as far as abilities. One was really horrible and disorganized. She would teach one thing and give a test on some thing else. She was hard to predict and wasted a lot of time. She let students talk for hours with no lecture going on at all or anything. However, I liked her personality. My biggest complaint about Baker is that they are the same as a used car salesman or anyone who would try to sell you something. The admission counselor told me everyone got a job through the externship. This was the main reason I signed up. I was so looking forward to the externship, and thought I would learn a ton of stuff. It turned out to be the WORST part of the program. All they did was give me repetitive work that nobody wanted to do. I learned very little. Supervisors would actually get mad at externs who asked too many questions and disrupted their day. Baker needed to find better places for these externships or not require it...because it was useless. 2 months working full time, driving kind of far, wasting gas. I worked for free tied to a computer. Oh, and they treated you like second class too. So...99% of students did not get a job with their externships and it was only a matter of luck if you ended up with a supervisor who actually cared. I had a 3.9 GPA when I graduated. 2 years later no job in the medical field. I've had some temp jobs and I'm still looking. I have decided to give up on billing and coding. They played up the program like a sales person promising me a job that didn't happen. I resent that college and the people there. They left out a lot of details. I also passed a coding certification test the first time. This was of no help either. Another big detail they never mentioned to maintain your coding certification you have to earn 36 CEU's per 2 years. It's impossible to get them all cheaply and becomes laborsome when you don't have a job in the field. Another problem was their classes are 10 weeks long and they try to cram a lot of information into it. I am the type of person that I can study and ace tests. It doesn't mean that info stays in long term memory when having to learn everything so fast. So my advice is...don't let Baker fool you. They can't get you a job. The truth is everyone is going into medical and they don't need any more. If you already have a degree, taking some brush up classes would be a better idea than going through a full program. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 26, 2013

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
They are a complete joke i would be really warry of going to this school. Please do your research everyone Im telling you from experience. I currently go to this school and im already plotting on how to get out! What really killed me about them is their grading. Its like they grade howevery they want to, some assignments I did great work but I got very little credit. Im not saying im smartest but man they are very stubborn and they dont care if your 1 point from passing, THEY WILL FAIL YOU. And the 2 substantive posts a day are a joke as well! They will not give you full credit for anything. This school might not be bad for everyone but i just urge you to do your research on this school and what it offers.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 25, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good School for Michigan Students I thought the degree was half decent and they have good professors. A potential problem is that they are basically unknown in other parts of the country and employers tend to rather higher candidates from colleges that they know. I also realize some employers have issues with online learning even though 90% of colleges have online offerings including some of the top computer science colleges in the country. I have had a difficult time getting a job with my degree from here and also have a master's degree from a Midwest public college as well. You may be better off attending a local college. It is unfortunate I am from a state withe the second highest student debt load in the nation and Baker is very affordable. Maybe sometimes it is just better to get an associates from a community college and stop there.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Nickiscool91 (Graduate) on December 24, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
This school really prepared me I loved my experience at Baker. I liked how most of our assignments were actually relevant to what I would be doing in the real world. I was handing in several computer programs a week per class when I was taking classes in programming languages such as C++, Java, and Visual Basic.NET. The books were very up to date as well. The program I was in taught me how to program in several languages, create websites that were interactive, database programming, using and securing web servers, and using and securing database servers. I like how the assignments were mostly hands on. I worked very hard for my degree and feel it gave me a head start when it came to experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 5, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Baker Degree not worth anything... This college is quickly spiraling downhill. The students they are producing for the most part don't know crap about their degree. This is mainly because they aren't hiring teachers that know what they are talking about, so how can they teach the students anything. They are simply giving the students good grades to pass them so they can move onto to something that will confuse them more. I had a class where the teacher didn't even have an associate degree and was teaching a 200 level I.T. class!!! To top things off even more the Port Huron campus offers a bachelors in IT and security but no longer actually offers the courses on their campus (in the third year and I'm now screwed). And to make things even better the Port Huron campus just hired an IT Department chair that's not even certified to teach the material he was hired to teach. Bottom Line: Don't go to baker. They will suck out your time and money. Their credits are like confederate money, just because you have lots of it doesn't mean that it's worth anything. A Baker degree will simply give you a bad reputation. Baker Credits will not transfer to any other College of University.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 12, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
School Sucks This is nothing but a diploma mill school. They expect you to post to discussion at least 4 times a day on 5 different days. As if you dont have a life and it revolves around them. The teachers are very rude and have no education or qualifications to be teaching the courses. I have experience many online schools and this one has to be the worse of them all.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 6, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Nothing but a diploma mill Baker college online is nothing more than a diploma mill. They seem to have no standards as far as teachers. Some are good but most are not. The student support there is horrible. Don't even waste your time with trying to call. Nobody is ever in their office. A lot of the classes have nothing to do with the actual degree area. My wife had a class that the teacher quit and they had no teacher for almost 4 weeks. No help, no refund, and no explanation as to why their was no teacher. The apprenticeship program is a huge waste of time. They help with nothing. Their are no set rules for anything in the classes. Each teacher dictates what goes on. Complain to the dean is a waste of time (if you can even get through on the phone). All in all, Baker online college is a huge waste of time and money. They do not care about their students. DO a search online and you will see hundreds of bad reviews about the school from former students.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

16 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 4, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Offering advanced degrees in Forum Posting and APA Formatting If you want to learn Obsessive Forum Posting and Advanced Concepts in APA Formatting then this is the place for you. Focus on actual course subject matter is secondary. Only good thing about this place is its CHEAPNESS.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Shane.swayney (In Progress) on May 20, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
2 years in to CS degree and still love it. Before I started using Baker College's online classes I was at a on campus collage finishing my computer science bachelors. Due to proximity challenges I decided to look into finding a college that provided my classes all online. I narrowed it down to Baker Collage. I wanted to make sure it was legit. So, I compared the classes I would take at my campus college with baker online classes. Then, just to be clear, I compared bakers coarse work to devry, ITT and U of Phoenix. Baker's classes where on par with other solid collages. I was happy it wasn't like devry or ITT tech. So far I really like it. It has been 2 years. It is not for slackers or people who want an easy way out. You have to be organized, dedicated and be willing to study/research independently more often. Most of the professors I have had have been great. About one out of ten teachers are poor communicators though. However, I have had few that have been incredible. My current C# teacher is awesome, voted Microsoft's mvp programmer like 7 years in a row, worked on the development of C# and has games he has worked on in Xbox live. He is all over the discussion boards and is massively helpful. As I said, online course work is not for everyone. I've seen other students struggle with it and blame it on the school or the whole online medium of study. Then, they go on message boards and trash talk the school when they didn't get the result they wanted. So, that is why I wanted to write a quick review. The college is great and their online course work is great too. It is not easy, nor is the online medium for everyone. For students who know the difference, can put in the effort and are truly inspired to dig deeper into their field of study, Baker Collage Online is a great school.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on May 12, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent Program I have just completed the first year of the MBA program and am very happy with their program. I have read all the complaints here about how it is such an inconvenience to have to participate 5 out of 7 days as well as how intense the workload is. Well it is not meant to be a free ride, this is college and no one said it would be easy. For people who think this program is too hard, I would recommend that you look into on-ground classes instead of trying to work online. Online classes require dedication and committment far beyond that of on-ground classes. That being said, if you have the dedication and committment required to be successful in an online environment, Baker is the college you will want to attend.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Pamiepoohtwo (Graduate) on March 23, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent College I had a wonderful experience at Baker College. After attending one major university and having one bad experience after another, I decided to take on Baker. I enjoyed all of my classes including my online classes. I have had my best college experiences with Baker.I have met new friends and became acquinted with many faculty and staff, all have provided support throughout my experience there. Nothing goes without some conflict and there were just a few bumps. I received an AAS, BBA and an MBA from Baker. In total, I have had 3 bad instructors but I did not let them get in the way of all of the wonderful experiences that I had with the good instructors. I believe that Baker has great technology compared to some of the other colleges I have attended. The staff is professional and my fellow students were very friendly and down to earth. I learned a great deal of information and I don't regret ever attending. I always recommend Baker to family and friends. I Love Baker!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

14 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 22, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
No real world staff A large number of Baker's instructors focus solely on APA formatting and not real world implementation of skills taught. Baker's administration endorses this. Test materials and online quizzes are typically littered with errors. Do research on the institution. While they advertise a 98% employment rate for graduates, they have one of the lowest graduation rates. There are better schools for less money.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 5, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Don't even bother with this college Overall I can't even begin to describe how terrible the entire system at Baker is. The people in charge have no idea what they're doing and it is an intense pain in the ass when you have a question and the dozen or so people you call to get help from have no idea what's going on. I had fun teachers. Fun being a word I use when I enjoy the classes but don't learn anything. The teachers themselves weren't bad but they never seemed to have applied for the job that they wound up teaching. Because of this a lot of the classes I had wound up being directly out of the book because the teacher knew next to nothing about the course. I took a computer course so you can imagine how nice it is to use a book that is 6 years old. That may not seem like much to an english major but considering they release a NEW book every 6 months to a year it gets to be a pain in the ass when I had to take a windows class in 2010 and the book was started out teaching you how to upgrade your windows 2000 It was bad.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Nightwind19 (In Progress) on January 16, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Needs more work in Gaming Software Development The Game Software Development program is poorly put together and does need a lot of work. It would help if the college hired qualified Gaming Development instructors.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

11 of 16 people found the following review helpful

Msshelleyb (In Progress) on November 16, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I adore Baker College I've been attending Baker College for 2 years and in 2 semesters I will have my Bachelor Degree in Health Services Administration. This institution has been great. They have answered all of my questions and I've learned a tremendous amount of information. I was a transfer student from Davenport University and the classes here are very similar in size and intensity without the additional costs. Most of my classes have been online and I absolutely love them. They are great for individuals that are willing to buckle down and stay on task. If you take responsibility for your education and manage your time well you too can be successful in these types of classes. As in any other facility, your grades will NOT be given to you. You’re expected to do the work and in order to obtain the grade. I love the fact that as soon as the classes start you are given a list of all the assignment due dates. This allows you the opportunity to prepare your schedule so that you're not missing homework. They also post all of the assignments and due dates at the beginning of the week so that you can once again be aware of the assignments that are due and when they are expected. Being able to sign in anywhere and complete the required participation is also a plus. This is a good school and as long as you are not expecting the administrative staff and the teachers to carry you throughout the entire process you will do fine.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

16 of 28 people found the following review helpful

Jfrican201 (In Progress) on October 1, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
I was wrong I thought I made the right decision on transfering from my community college to baker college online, but now I see I made the wrong move. I used to read online reviews on how people were unsatisfied as well as satisfied so I was confused and decided to give it a try. In the beginning, it was going great and I have a 3.5 gpa and made the deans list. I didn't mind the massive amount of homework or the so called "posting at least twice a day for attendence". I come to realize the teachers are completely unfair. First of all I had a 3.5 gpa all on my own. Baker college online teachers DON'T teach. You are required to read your book, do your homework, and answer discussion questions. Second (not all) some instructors do not even respond to your emails. Instructors can decide to fail you if they want to for no reason. Sucking up to them doesn't work. I emailed him and he never responded why I recieved a 0 for participation when I have participated more than once everyday. Sooner or later this school will find a way to screw you over. And that they did to me. Never going to an online school again. All my Accounting classes I have completed aren't even transferable to my community college; Go figure. If you want to go to baker online go right ahead no one's stopping you. This is my personal experience and maybe it can knock some sense to some of you.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

(Graduate) on September 11, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Baker College Online I am a recent graduate of Baker College Online. I enjoyed being student at Baker College. I obtained my Associated Degree in 2008 and my Bachelors in 2011. My degree will open doors for me to full fill my long-term goal of becoming a kindergarten teacher and advancing when new career opportunities become available at my current employer. Go Baker! I must comment on the student who thought posting 2 substantial posts (5) days out of seven. This is standard and the norm at most universities.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Johnmac81 (In Progress) on August 18, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Highly challenging and rewarding I am coming to the end of my first year with Baker and I cannot speak highly enough of the system. It is very intense and effort driven so if you are looking for an easy way to get a degree, do not go to Baker. I have read other students reviews and I agree, 5 out of 7 days you must post 2 quality posts to the board and sometimes it is difficult. It is not impossible and requires just a few moments out of each day if you know the material and yes, some instructors like a couple of paragraphs but what is the issue with that if you have read the material. And for those of you stating that not all instructors facilitate the posting process, that is ridiculous. You will have questions yourself, your classmates will have questions. By either asking a question and/or answering a question on course material, your making a substantial post. Bottom line is, it is a credible college providing high intensity workload in order to facilitate you not having to commute to campus every other day. It is no secret that online education requires great amounts of self discipline and dedication and those who lack these traits should definitely look for an easier school to attend. Just because you cannot commit yourself to the workload or maybe you give up to easily, does not mean you should try to discredit this college. Other students including me are paying hard earned dollars to get a degree and people who complain and pass the blame like this are trying to take away the good name of the college while not acknowledging their own issues. Bottomline, I researched many online schools before deciding on Baker and I have yet to regret the decision.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Donovanpratt (In Progress) on July 20, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
BBA in Finance I am in my second year at Baker College Online. I feel that the classes are very demanding which requires the student to be self-motivated and willing to actually do work. I see some complaints of previous students, and if working through a problem or challenge in any life event is going to make you quit, then maybe college is not for you. From my experience, I get more feedback and interaction from students and instructors than in a traditional classroom with the flexibility of an online classroom. The material can be tough, but reading the book and participating in class is necessary to learn the material. Baker College Online is not a diploma mill, it is actually a college. You will have to do work to EARN your degree.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on July 9, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not For Working Adults While Baker advertises itself as a great online program for working adults, it is anything but. Their log in requirements alone negate a "flexible" school environment. In any class, students are required to log in and post to a discussion board 5 of 7 days out of the week. Some instructors require more postings than others, and some require nearly full-page essays per posting. Few instructors help facilitate any discussion, and some actually hinder students from obtaining participation points. There is no school-wide consistency regarding discussion board participation, and it is left up to the individual instructors to determine what qualifies as "substantive" enough to receive points. Most classes also have assignments due throughout the week, instead of at the very end of the week, forcing students to meet arbitrary deadlines throughout the course, and again, definitely not allowing the flexibility they claim in their advertising. The school's bookstore is questionable. More often than not, students are provided with wrong ISBN numbers for textbooks, and Baker rarely has used textbooks available for purchase. Whether this is a ploy to force students to purchase new textbooks through Baker, or an honest mistake (time after time) on the part of the bookstore, it is very frustrating when trying to find a cheaper alternative for textbooks. Since Baker doesn't provide extra class (or instructor) information until the day before a class begins, students either have to order through the bookstore, or wait until after the class has started to receive textbooks. With the arbitrary deadlines I mentioned above, this could be dangerous in regards to losing assignment or participation points, since most instructors rely very heavily on textbooks. Baker uses "quarters" instead of semesters. This makes transferring any credit earned here extremely difficult. For any written assignments, Baker requires APA format. It is not difficult to follow, but there are instructors more concerned about format rather than content, and will fail a whole assignment over one formatting error. Instructor quality is hit-or-miss. Some are very educated, helpful and knowledgeable about their classes. Others are overbearing, narcissistic and downright hostile towards students. I am a straight-A student; I am aware of the challenges (and benefits) that go along with online learning. After an instructor whose workload was beyond excessive, was impossible to please (20+ students dropped that class by the time it was over), trying to communicate with her to no avail, and finally sending a 5-page letter to the dean that was basically ignored, I decided to find another school to finish my degree, where I am currently enrolled and very pleased with.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

12 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 19, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Stay Away While I have nor problem with the intensity or the quantity of work for their online classes. When I first looked for information on this school there was not a lot out there to go on. I wish there was. It would have saved me a lot of grief. But I didn't like that there was no interaction whatsoever between the professors and students when it came to discussion questions. There is no meaningful exchange of ideas, there is no way to know if you are on track until after everything has been graded. Their administration is a joke - particularly financial aid. Beware if you are in the grad program that your first class is not covered by aid [it is not even considered a full class and yet it is mandatory] and they will send all monies back to the originator forcing you to carry a balance that you are personally responsible for. This will also cause any other loans in deferment to come due during the class and they won't be placed in deferment until you are in the second "full time" class. Their platforms are supposed to be compatible with a variety of computers, but beware - professors will require software for certain classes that are only compatible with PC's. So if you are on a MAC or Linux you are out of luck. If you need assistance. Good luck. You will get passed around 4-5 times to people who are clueless and have no problem saying that they are clueless and can't help you. Not only that, but you get the privilege of having people be mean, rude, and disrespectful when you are in need of help. So think twice, three times, before thinking of going to this school. They are even being sued: http://dockets.justia.com/docket/court-miedce/case_no-5:2008cv13061/case_id-231972/ I don't know the particulars, but research before you get involved with any school. Truly better safe than sorry. And I am sorry I ever dealt with these people.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on February 23, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Bad Experience I was previously a student at Baker College Online. I left because, I grew frustrated with Baker College's unrealistic and insensitive method of delivery. Students were required to submit 2 'substantive posts' 5 to 6 days a week. This was analogous to a traditional student going to the same class 5 to 6 days a week and actively participating each day. To compound this burden, I found that few of the instructors actively facilitated discussion. Sometimes I was relegated to a form of discussion board trivia or simply paraphrasing relevant text. Imagine how difficult the 10 to 12 posts per week were when taking courses such as algebra or accounting. The lack of instructor facilitation did not prevent them from deducting participation points for missing a daily post, or for the post not being 'substantive' enough. One instructor (with a bachelor's degree) made up for his lack of credentials by grading extra hard, which means that even if I had 13 weekly posts, a few just weren't 'substantive' enough. It gets worse. Since Baker College is in Michigan, they are on Eastern Standard Time; which means that their students across the world are also on Eastern Standard Time. I was in Washington, which meant that I had to do all of my participation by 9 pm. That was never less than 24 posts; 36 when I took three classes. Those posts were in addition to all of the assignments which were also due by 9 pm. Due by 9pm, 12 EST, meant that exclusively. There were few instructors that allowed late work. I just didn't understand that at all. Were there instructors waiting until midnight to grade papers? When I brought this to the attention of a dean and a professor, they both said something to the effect of 'although east coast students have more time at the end of their day, you have more time at the beginning of yours.' I countered that, just like them, I wake up when it is dark, go to work, and get off at 5 pm. The difference is that east coast students have 7 hours to eat dinner with their families, perform course work, and perform other activities. I had 4! They were also quite insulting with the amount of transfer credits awarded for military training. They gave me a whopping 8 credits. By contrast, my new school gave me 32! I was going to tough it out for one more semester to get my associates degree, but then it hit me; I had 88 credits and still needed 5 more classes for an associates! The worst part about their technology was that none of it was intertwined. For class, I had to log into Blackboard. To register, I had to log into the Solar System. To use my email, I had to log into Baker Webmail. The school library, which you can only get to through the Solar System still required an additional login!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 10, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Horrible I do not even know where to begin with this school. First of all, if you ever need help to use their Blackboard system, then you better hope one of your fellow students are kind enough to walk you through because the support team won't help you and the teachers themselves do not even know how to work it properly. Grades are never posted in a timely fashion and it maybe by the end of the second seminar that you see your grades for the first one. If you do not understand what you are reading then don't expect that the teacher will either. I have had two teacher claiming to have PH.Ds and knew less than the students did about the material. Also, if you don't agree with the teacher on a particular topic like euthanasia or Native American heritage then plan on getting C's for the rest of the quarter because you are wrong they are right and that is that. Financial Aid is only done by one person so good luck on getting a call back for that. The business office staff may get back with you next week if you are lucky after calling them five times to get through. Seriously, Baker is a waste of time. There teachers are incredible messes and you are not getting a worth while education there.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Mike.gourley (Graduate) on April 8, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MBA Superlative asynchronous adult learning environment and presentation.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about Baker College