Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

California Coast University

  • California Coast University Reviews

    Ranking: #15
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: DETC

4.0
63 Reviews
5 30 
4 19 
3 7 
2 2 
1 5 
0 0 

California Coast University Reviews:

Fantastic place to get your education

BSBA - March 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Coming from overseas and working full time, I have nothing but great things to say about the BSc Psychology major program. With my limited time allocation for school I will graduate next year. If you are self motivated, a quick study and you make an effort to connect with faculty, you will thrive and succeed. The classes here are just as complex as the top traditional university I attended in Australia. I fully recommend CCU.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Adequate accreditation

BSBA - August 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled. The "self-paced" aspect is great. Married with two children and a full-time job. The accreditation is just fine. Anyone worried about an employer not honoring CCU's accreditation should check with the prospective employer. The corporations I have checked with are completely supportive of CCU's degrees. Complete your higher education ALL at CCU if you are concerned about another school not accepting credits. The other schools are not going to pay your bills, the corporations you work for will. Once again, be more concerned whether or not an employer will accept CCU, not wheter another school will. Philosophy is philosophy, whether you learn about it at CCU or at Harvard, it's still philosophy.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Graduate Oct 3 2012 Psychology

BSBA - October 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This program met all my needs. This program is great for working adults who want to finish what they started. I found the Study Guides very helpful!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding program for a middle aged adult

BSBA - August 22, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my first degree back in the late 80’s and early 90’s from what I believed was an accredited university program, only to find out years later their accreditation didn’t amount to anything. After finding out my degree was useless I decided to start over. I found CCU to be the perfect fit for my needs and requirements. It was both challenging and rewarding and it really fit my schedule and life style. Having to write four essays per course really helped my build my writing skills. CCU may not be for everyone, but for a middle aged adult looking to finish their degree it’s hard to beat!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful

psychology

BSBA - June 24, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This program met all my needs! Very good value! This experience was better than any other college experience I have had.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Business Program!

BSBA - May 19, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CCU is not for students who wish to be coddled and pushed along by their professors. You must have your own motivation to write the essays, complete the exams, and move on through the program until successful completion. If you need a lot of hand-holding, this is not for you. For those of us who like the flexibility of this kind of education and are self disciplined enough to complete it, it is the best BSBA you can get. As with all education, you get out of it what you put into it. I highly recommend California Coast University to any adult who has a strong desire to complete their education. It is a wonderful university and nationally accredited.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Low Blow

BSBA - April 24, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

THIS ACCREDITED BODY IS NOT ACCEPTED AT ANY OREGON UNIVERSITY. BEWARD!!!! I was very excited about the self-pace degree programs offered at California Coast. I have had a wonderful experience and have learned a lot from my B.S. degree program in Psychology.. until now. I decided to attend a local university to obtain my master's degree in social work. Unbeknownst to me, the accreditation isn't accepted at ANY OREGON UNIVERSITY. I look back and should've done more research. I guess you get what you pay for. Better to pay more and get more quality education. Also, the essays I submitted for sub-par. They didn't even look at them! No comments were given on them so I started writing them without any research and I still passed!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience

BSBA - January 13, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Went back to school after 20 years and just finishing up my BS in Business at CCU. CCU has been nothing but great in my pursuit of my degree. Since I travel for work, the luxury of studying at your own pace and the feeling of a sense of accomplishment after each course is fantastic. Plus, CCU is accredited by the DETC, which is recognized by CHEA , USDE, and many regional schools are now accepting degrees from nationally accredited institutions, in the event you pursue a Masters. You can't ask for anything more!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

What you make of it

BSBA - November 11, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As with anything, you get out of this school what you put into it. If you want to learn and dig into the subject, they provide the tools to do so. If you just want to get through the class, you can do that as well. The textbooks and support materials are very good and very interesting if you take the time to read them. The syllabi are well designed. Yes, you can probably get by with a lousy essay exam but if you want to try, they can be quite chalenging. Yes, there are problems with not being regionally accredited but have you looked into the cost of University of Phoenix? Overall a great value for a good education.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great School

BSBA - June 12, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The curriculum really challenges you to work hard. You will have to do a lot of reading and writing. I highly recommend CCU to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great school

BSBA - June 11, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Great experience! I just finished my degree in business administration and am very pleased with the school. The enrollment process was smooth and straight forward; I was able to transfer 60 credits from prior schools. Typically, the school sends two courses at a time, which include study guides that lay out the learning objectives. The textbooks are the student responsibility; I got mine through Amazon and hal.com (eBay). I found the materials to be challenging and engaging. I studied around 18 hours a week and was able to finish each course in about 6 to 8 weeks. The open book test modality required me to sharpen my critical thinking skills and reinforced the learning by applying concepts to given situations. Essentially, it became imperative to study the textbook from cover to cover to enable me to come up with the correct answers both for the unit and the final exams. The main difference with my prior college experience, which by the way was at B&M institutions, was that at the traditional schools the professors would test you only on selected sections of the textbook and on their lectures. At CCU, I had to read the entire textbook. At the end of each course, the school requires a comprehensive essay. As a student you select 3 questions out of a list of about 5 or 6 choices and develop a paper, which must adhere to strict guidelines (e.g. format, APA or MLA, number of wods, etc). I always received great feed back (although sometimes very critical) on my papers, and feel that my writing skills have improved greatly. Overall, CCU is a great choice for someone looking to finishing a degree. Of course, one must understand that this is nontraditional education, perfect for the working adult. Not really geared for the traditional student.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

There are better options

BSBA - June 10, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Failed to provide essentials, lack of integrity. Bully sales tactics with pressure for enrollment without your permission. It was decided to work with a known evil.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Good School

BSBA - March 29, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CCU offers excellent degree programs and challenging curriculums especially for busy professionals with hectic schedule. Yes, I was able to get the job I wanted with my degree from CCU.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

BSBA

BSBA - September 6, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

All my expectations have been met. CCU has delivered a balance between cost, value, and quality. The program is set up to provide minimum down time; customer service is impeccable, and the courses are up-to-date and relevant. Pepe

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with California Coast University in any way.