Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

California Coast University

  • California Coast University Reviews

    Ranking: #15
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: DETC

4.0
63 Reviews
5 30 
4 19 
3 7 
2 2 
1 5 
0 0 

California Coast University Reviews:

CCU alumni

MS Psychology - May 30, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just completed my BS in psychology and say I really highly recommend CCU.I received lots of support from the student services dept. to the nice sweet Liberian .I am proud to say I couldn't of done it with without the complete faculty supporting and motivating me through the whole way.. However, some of the course I had to take we're hard and challenging along life situation challenges during my schooling at CCU.I have have small negative comment , some of the textbook for courses in the degree plan can be revised. I was very frustrated at times when the textbook s did not coincide with the course.i do highly recommend CCU although,the courses are tuff, it's not a fly by school as some other commenters have stated, but very educationally. I do agree with some of the alumni s of CCU, it's challenging ,but rewarding at the end. I wish everyone good luck starting their career path with CCU.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Truth

MS Psychology - April 14, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my bs degree in psychology. The only thing I don't like is universities do not acknowledge your degree. The government does and a few smaller community college's but over all don't plan on getting a four year degree and going to another college to get your masters, "It aint happening. I can't knock open book testing, that is done at all major colleges. The good thing is it is cheap. If they ever do get fully accredited I will consider pursuing my masters degree online. BTW, my niece is an MD (UCLA) my son fulltime college instructor(possible chair of dept), my middle son MBA, youngest MS elem. education , a 5th grade teacher, and wife an RN.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Received Certification in two states for addiction counselor

MS Psychology - August 8, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my Master of Science in Psychology and did a capstone of addictions studies. With the completion of a clinical through another university, I have achieved certification as a masters level substance abuse counselor initially in two states, and now have reciprocity to all fifty. I learned a ton and it paid off in my career.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Beats traditional colleges by light years

MS Psychology - April 21, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I shopped around for traditional universities and colleges and the regionally accredited ones would not accept this credit or other and then added on lab fees etc., to an already inflated price plus time to travel and hours in the seat did not appeal to me. I found CCU to offer a flexible schedule plus DETC acknowledgement and I was sold, and it turned out to be a high quality experience and yes, it esceeded my highest expectations. The Teachers were a phone call away and grading and material arrived quickly and without a problem. To say I would do it again is more than a idle comment, I have pursued a second degree with CCU and it is as enjoyable as the first.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

MS PSYCHOLOGY REVIEW

MS Psychology - February 25, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I HAVE TO AGREE WITH THE DEC 9 2009 MS PSYCH STUDENT POST THAT STAFF / INSTRUCTOR FEEDBACK WAS MINIMUL. THE COURSE INFORMATION DID NOT ALWAYS AGREE WITH COURSE TESTING MEASUREMENTS ACCURACY, MISSPELLING OF WORDS AND GRMMATICAL ERRORS WERE SOMEWHAT COMMON, SOMETIMES THE TEXT INFORMATION WAS COMPLETELY OUT OF SINK WITH SOME OF THE TESTING MATERIALS. SOME COURSE DESIGN WAS EXCELLENT, OTHERS WERE OBVIOUSLY MARGINAL AND SEEMINGLY PUT TOGETHER WITHOUT SOME FINAL REVIEW OVERSIGHT FOR QUALITY AND EFFECTIVENESS. OVERALL MY EXPERIENCE WAS VERY GOOD, I AM COMPETENT TO ARTICULATE MY VARIOUS BEHAVIORAL SCIENCE LEARNING AREAS WITH OTHERS WITH MASTERS DEGREES FROM OTHER NATIONAL AND REGIONALLY ACCREDITED INSTITUTIONS. THE COST IS AFFORDABLE HOWEVER IF I HAD IT TO DO OVER I WOULD OPT FOR ONE OF CALIFORNIA SOUTHERNS PRACTICUM / INTERNSHIP MS / MA DEGREES IN MFT OR ADDICTIONS COUNSELING; NOW LOOKING AT BOTH CALIFORNIA COAST AND CALIFORNIA SOUTHERNS DOCTORAL PROGRAMS.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Not what I thought it would be

MS Psychology - December 9, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am about to complete the MS Psychology program. While independent studying isn't bad, I am disappointed with staff feedback, poor course designs (misspellings, possible incongruence with actually correct answers and content of literature), lack of timely information that this degree cannot be used for BOP/BBS registration, and staff support/academic advising. A private school ought to offer more. They are, however, quick to charge your credit/debit card. To assist the student and provide according feedback in the same, fast manner would be desirable. The department chair/dean is a joke! Thankfully I am almost done.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Common Sense

MS Psychology - June 27, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CCU was a cost effective and fully RA transferable. Texas and national counseling state boards have recognized my transcript from CCU. "Beware the man doth protest too much" WS; these people simply wish they had not spent so much on their educational goals. Remember that presentation is everything when it comes to selling your accomplishments. If you are a type A personality, you should be able to sell any (DE or RA) education to others no matter where you went to school!

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Excellent

MS Psychology - December 20, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have found the MS Psychology program to be both challenging and rewarding. The texts are generally well written and I often find myself reading on and forgetting about the assignments! Customer service gets an A+, something that I've found lacking in my previous regionally accredited education. I think the one thing that sets CCU apart from other graduate distance education is the complete lack of semesters and deadlines (minimum requirement of two courses completed in a year), which has made my experience more relaxed and truly at my own pace. It is priceless to me, as it perfectly accommodates my work schedule and family time.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with California Coast University in any way.