California Coast University Reviews

Sort By

Most Helpful
Newest

Bachelor Programs:
B.S. - Management (8)
BSBA (14)

Masters Programs:
MBA (19)
MS Psychology (7)

Doctoral Programs:
Education Administration (1)
Engineering (Management) (2)


To link to this page:

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 8, 2014 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Fantastic place to get your education Coming from overseas and working full time, I have nothing but great things to say about the BSc Psychology major program. With my limited time allocation for school I will graduate next year. If you are self motivated, a quick study and you make an effort to connect with faculty, you will thrive and succeed. The classes here are just as complex as the top traditional university I attended in Australia. I fully recommend CCU.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 26, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great School I graduated from CCU in 2011 with a Bachelor of Science in Psychology. My experience with this university was very positive. All their courses were very challenging. After I graduated, I decided to continue my studies and I started looking into some RA schools. All of the RA online schools that I looked into accepted my degree from CCU.I just had to choose which one I wanted to attend. After a lot of thought, I decided to enroll again into CCU. It works perfect for me. I start my MBA in Human Resource Management in January and I am very excited. I am very confident that I made the right choice. As a graduate from CCU and now a student again, I highly recommend this school to anyone that wishes to obtain an accredited and legit degree.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Phlwdrd (Graduate) on September 19, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
My CCU Experience was gratifying I am a Phoenix and I am a CCU graduate with an MBA in Healthcare Management. As a full time working adult with a family and home to maintain, CCU was a carefully researched and thought out decision for me. I completed my BS from the University of Phoenix and contemplated returning for my MBA until I discovered this "gem" called California Coast University in Santa Ana California. The entire matriculation process was seamless and handled with courtesy and respect from the registrar to the CCU Alumni lending library. I concur with those posts that independent study is challenging and the most rewarding experience I've had to date. I used Chapter 33 VA GI Bill benefits to attain my BS, MBA, and most of my MA in Organizational Leadership from CCU. The bottom line is that you get the most bang for the buck from CCU. My wife is completing her BS early next year as well, and I have recommended CCU to people at the office who will be students in the near future! Thanks again, CCU for making education attainable and affordable for working adults.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on August 24, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Adequate accreditation I am currently enrolled. The "self-paced" aspect is great. Married with two children and a full-time job. The accreditation is just fine. Anyone worried about an employer not honoring CCU's accreditation should check with the prospective employer. The corporations I have checked with are completely supportive of CCU's degrees. Complete your higher education ALL at CCU if you are concerned about another school not accepting credits. The other schools are not going to pay your bills, the corporations you work for will. Once again, be more concerned whether or not an employer will accept CCU, not wheter another school will. Philosophy is philosophy, whether you learn about it at CCU or at Harvard, it's still philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Hotdogvol (In Progress) on April 14, 2013 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Truth I received my bs degree in psychology. The only thing I don't like is universities do not acknowledge your degree. The government does and a few smaller community college's but over all don't plan on getting a four year degree and going to another college to get your masters, "It aint happening. I can't knock open book testing, that is done at all major colleges. The good thing is it is cheap. If they ever do get fully accredited I will consider pursuing my masters degree online. BTW, my niece is an MD (UCLA) my son fulltime college instructor(possible chair of dept), my middle son MBA, youngest MS elem. education , a 5th grade teacher, and wife an RN.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on December 14, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
California Coast delivers I completed my MBA in 1999. I worked very hard and the grading was very tough but fair. I was challenged by the comments given to me by the raters. All colleges, whether regional or national are really no better than the other. What truly makes the difference is the couse content and the student's efforts. If the materials, texts, and syllabi are sound, so is the educational experience. The resulting outcomes measured from the combination of this measurement is what truly signifies if any college has done a service or not. In my humble opinion, California Coast Delivered. It isn't a cake walk and believe me, there are plenty of regionally a credited universities that are allot less comprehensive. In summary, this institution has earned it's right to confer degrees and I was a controller for a world wide company and ran the US financial operations. When it came time to interview candidates, only your ability and experience was all that mattered.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

JNelsonMBA (Graduate) on October 20, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
If you are bith self diciplined and motivated, this is a great program at a low cost. As a graduate of California Coast University's MBA program, I can contest that it was a very positive and rewarding experience to continue my education with CCU and I have only found it to be a positive experience. From correspondence with faculty, coursework curriculum and use of the various resources provided to me, I personally received a quality education that not only met my needs but exceeded my expectations. For anyone choosing to consider continuing their education through a online University format, one must have a desire to succeed, be self motivated and well disciplined in order to not only complete your program of study, but also to get the most benefits from the coursework and curriculum. I would strongly recommend to consider California Coast University.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on October 5, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Graduate Oct 3 2012 Psychology This program met all my needs. This program is great for working adults who want to finish what they started. I found the Study Guides very helpful!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 8, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MA IN ORGANIZATIONAL LEADERSHIP This is a wonderful program that I am glad I enrolled in. I received my Bachelors from another DETC college (Ashworth College) and I have found that DETC degrees are just as credible as the any regional college. My experience with California Coast has been great, I am getting ready for my thesis now and I would like to say THANK YOU CALIFORNIA COAST UNIVERSITY.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 30, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
could inprove I keep reading reviews here about the terrific support. I beg to differ. If you have questions or needs clarification regarding the subject matter there is NO one to ask. Sure you can write to your professor, if you find out who they are. But I have never received an answer to my questions. Am I frustrated? You bet
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 8, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Received Certification in two states for addiction counselor I received my Master of Science in Psychology and did a capstone of addictions studies. With the completion of a clinical through another university, I have achieved certification as a masters level substance abuse counselor initially in two states, and now have reciprocity to all fifty. I learned a ton and it paid off in my career.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on March 24, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent for my needs Excellent for my needs as I can still work full time and study at my own pace at home.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 4, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Best Available For My Situation - Update Jerry 1986 PhD Engineering Management - Twice retired, but working again full time. Since my previous review 7 November 2010, I learned from a California State Government source that state approval of degree programs at California Coast University is continuing under a new agency, replacing an agency that was phased out. The university has also added a link for state approval on its web site. It is important for students from foreign countries where state approval is the standard of legitimacy. Recent accreditation is a benefit to students. Some critics have attempted to make a distinction between new accredited degrees and previous state approved degrees. There is no real merit to such claims. Most of the famous older universities operated under state approvals before the regional accrediting associations were created. There has never been any discounting of the earlier degrees. My PhD is accepted by my employer and co-workers, many of whom have traditional graduate degrees. The same was true with my previous employers, but probably not at traditional universities in the United States. I do confidential work and am strongly restricted about what I can publish, but did manage to get a patent and a few publications in my career.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Rainia1234 (Graduate) on February 23, 2012 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
OMG REALLY!!!!!! OMG Really I can not believe this what so ever. Today I tuened in my last final I ma done. Thank you Jesus!!!!! I really like this school there was no pressure it was at my own pace. I worked hard and fast to get this degree to better my life and get a better paying job. I would recommend this school to any and everyone who is dedicated to a better future. Thanks CCU
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

(Graduate) on February 16, 2012

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Health Care Administration, B.S. I researched online schools in detail and even called the Education Board in Washington to inquire about California Coast Degrees and legimacy. After being reassured, I enrolled to finish my degree that I previously started. I worked my but off and really used the study guides and bought my books and learned. I found a local college that proctored my exams. I learned a lot, wrote a lot of papers, and always called the school when I had questions. I liked that professors graded my essays and I was thankful for the feedback. My employer paid for my costs and it was well worth it. I did have to get a tutor to help me with Finance, however.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on October 5, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
great program of business management California Coast University is just as other University. You can work hard and get yourself some great and useful education, or you can not. I worked very hard, and I finished with 4.0 GPA and got into the honors program. Now I have several jobs to choose from!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Jeff-harmon (In Progress) on August 22, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Outstanding program for a middle aged adult I completed my first degree back in the late 80’s and early 90’s from what I believed was an accredited university program, only to find out years later their accreditation didn’t amount to anything. After finding out my degree was useless I decided to start over. I found CCU to be the perfect fit for my needs and requirements. It was both challenging and rewarding and it really fit my schedule and life style. Having to write four essays per course really helped my build my writing skills. CCU may not be for everyone, but for a middle aged adult looking to finish their degree it’s hard to beat!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on August 5, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent MBA Program! Finished the MBA program back in 2009 and I have to tell you that it was challenging & taught me plenty despite the self-learning approach. It's really how much time & effort you put into the program that truly determines your success & value of the program given the self-paced & self-learning approach. For those who can handle distance learning, their programs are well-designed and in the end helped me land a decent job afterwards!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Joewill68 (In Progress) on June 18, 2011 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Current Ed.D. Student I have been very pleased with CCU's doctoral program. The courses are challenging, yet doable. I'm a school principal in Georgia. Georgia changed their rules on doctoral programs, and CCU's docotral program is approved for an L-7 educator certificate, as long as you are accepted and register by July 15, 2011. I highly recommend California Coast University.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

Anonymous (Graduate) on January 10, 2011

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Positive Experience and Quality Education at CCU I researched, applied and completed my degree with CCU due to a tough travel schedule and limited options. The university was recommended by my employer. Self discipline was required and when help was needed, support was always there. Overall, I feel the quality of education received was equal to what I could have received in any other program for less costs. Thank you to the staff for your support.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on November 7, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Best Available For My Situation Jerry 1986 PhD Engineering Management - Twice retired, but still working part time. The CCU program gave me the information I needed to succeed in the job I was doing in large corporations at that time. Sometimes the degree helps to get a new job. Other times it doesn’t. It always helps on the job to move into a closer contact with the top management where they care more about abilities than a document approved by a non profit organization. I do fast paced and highly confidential technical auditing to prevent factories from being closed by faulty reports from the financial computers. My average result is to find 11% discrepancy in the gross revenue of systems that have been certified by licensed financial auditors from accredited programs. There is a gaping hole in American education from accredited universities for technical auditing in factories. CCU has helped to fill a gap in the past, but that part of the program is being lost in the improvements at CCU for compliance with the accrediting process. It is sad to see the Engineering Management program being phased out, because the unique mix of skills is not available else where. In addition to CCU degrees I have a number of professional licenses, honors, awards, and other college degrees from accredited colleges. The CCU degrees are helpful as a part of the lifetime learning, but I would be reluctant to depend on them as the only achievement in higher education. At CCU it is also sad to see the state approval being phased out, because that was the deciding factor in choosing CCU. Much of my work is in foreign countries where state approval is the only recognized legitimacy. Non profit accrediting is treated as a joke in foreign countries, except maybe for the most famous American universities, where legitimacy is presumed to exist. DETC accreditation is a plus, especially with it’s expansion into PhD programs. CCU is not for everyone. It woks best in established careers where the employer is supportive of the continuing education. A CCU degree is not as portable in USA as regionally accredited degrees. That’s one reason employers like it.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Joewill68 (In Progress) on October 27, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Doctoral Program in Educational Administration I have an associates, bachelors, and masters from RA universities. I was enrolled in a doctoral program at an RA university. However, I switched to California Coast University, because they are alot more affordable. I am a high school principal, my primary concern was would I receive the doctoral pay increase when I completed the degree. Once I received the letter from the GA Professional Standards Commission, stating that I would receive doctoral level pay when I complete my Ed.D. in 2012, then I enrolled in CCU. I have just finished my first course, and there was absolutely nothing "easy" about the course. I look forward to completing my Ed.D. at California Coast University!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 24, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
psychology This program met all my needs! Very good value! This experience was better than any other college experience I have had.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Mcalmond (Graduate) on May 19, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent Business Program! CCU is not for students who wish to be coddled and pushed along by their professors. You must have your own motivation to write the essays, complete the exams, and move on through the program until successful completion. If you need a lot of hand-holding, this is not for you. For those of us who like the flexibility of this kind of education and are self disciplined enough to complete it, it is the best BSBA you can get. As with all education, you get out of it what you put into it. I highly recommend California Coast University to any adult who has a strong desire to complete their education. It is a wonderful university and nationally accredited.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Mcalmond (Graduate) on May 19, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
An MBA Is What You Make It As with all education, what you get out of any graduate program is what you put into it. CCU gives you incredible flexibility to work on the program in your own time without the pressure of deadlines. This has been perfect for my professional career. I have tried other programs that were too rigid and made it difficult to stay on track if something came up. I put a lot of work and effort into this degree and have been proud to have it on my resume.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on April 24, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Low Blow THIS ACCREDITED BODY IS NOT ACCEPTED AT ANY OREGON UNIVERSITY. BEWARD!!!! I was very excited about the self-pace degree programs offered at California Coast. I have had a wonderful experience and have learned a lot from my B.S. degree program in Psychology.. until now. I decided to attend a local university to obtain my master's degree in social work. Unbeknownst to me, the accreditation isn't accepted at ANY OREGON UNIVERSITY. I look back and should've done more research. I guess you get what you pay for. Better to pay more and get more quality education. Also, the essays I submitted for sub-par. They didn't even look at them! No comments were given on them so I started writing them without any research and I still passed!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on April 21, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Beats traditional colleges by light years I shopped around for traditional universities and colleges and the regionally accredited ones would not accept this credit or other and then added on lab fees etc., to an already inflated price plus time to travel and hours in the seat did not appeal to me. I found CCU to offer a flexible schedule plus DETC acknowledgement and I was sold, and it turned out to be a high quality experience and yes, it esceeded my highest expectations. The Teachers were a phone call away and grading and material arrived quickly and without a problem. To say I would do it again is more than a idle comment, I have pursued a second degree with CCU and it is as enjoyable as the first.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on February 25, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MS PSYCHOLOGY REVIEW I HAVE TO AGREE WITH THE DEC 9 2009 MS PSYCH STUDENT POST THAT STAFF / INSTRUCTOR FEEDBACK WAS MINIMUL. THE COURSE INFORMATION DID NOT ALWAYS AGREE WITH COURSE TESTING MEASUREMENTS ACCURACY, MISSPELLING OF WORDS AND GRMMATICAL ERRORS WERE SOMEWHAT COMMON, SOMETIMES THE TEXT INFORMATION WAS COMPLETELY OUT OF SINK WITH SOME OF THE TESTING MATERIALS. SOME COURSE DESIGN WAS EXCELLENT, OTHERS WERE OBVIOUSLY MARGINAL AND SEEMINGLY PUT TOGETHER WITHOUT SOME FINAL REVIEW OVERSIGHT FOR QUALITY AND EFFECTIVENESS. OVERALL MY EXPERIENCE WAS VERY GOOD, I AM COMPETENT TO ARTICULATE MY VARIOUS BEHAVIORAL SCIENCE LEARNING AREAS WITH OTHERS WITH MASTERS DEGREES FROM OTHER NATIONAL AND REGIONALLY ACCREDITED INSTITUTIONS. THE COST IS AFFORDABLE HOWEVER IF I HAD IT TO DO OVER I WOULD OPT FOR ONE OF CALIFORNIA SOUTHERNS PRACTICUM / INTERNSHIP MS / MA DEGREES IN MFT OR ADDICTIONS COUNSELING; NOW LOOKING AT BOTH CALIFORNIA COAST AND CALIFORNIA SOUTHERNS DOCTORAL PROGRAMS.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 16, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Accredited and Self Study Accredited by DETC, which is recognized by CHEA. However, if you are pursuing a masters, do your research. More and more regionally accredited schools are accepting degrees from nationally accredited schools, but some still won't. Anyhow, CCU is a fine, afforded institution of higher learning. I've been in sales for 20 years and just needed that BS to top of my credentials. This was it. Thanks CCU!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on January 13, 2010 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great Experience Went back to school after 20 years and just finishing up my BS in Business at CCU. CCU has been nothing but great in my pursuit of my degree. Since I travel for work, the luxury of studying at your own pace and the feeling of a sense of accomplishment after each course is fantastic. Plus, CCU is accredited by the DETC, which is recognized by CHEA , USDE, and many regional schools are now accepting degrees from nationally accredited institutions, in the event you pursue a Masters. You can't ask for anything more!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 29, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Pretty good Pretty good program. You get out of it what you put in to it. The design forces you to do some research and learn it that way. The credits seem to be transferrable to many RA colleges.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 9, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not what I thought it would be I am about to complete the MS Psychology program. While independent studying isn't bad, I am disappointed with staff feedback, poor course designs (misspellings, possible incongruence with actually correct answers and content of literature), lack of timely information that this degree cannot be used for BOP/BBS registration, and staff support/academic advising. A private school ought to offer more. They are, however, quick to charge your credit/debit card. To assist the student and provide according feedback in the same, fast manner would be desirable. The department chair/dean is a joke! Thankfully I am almost done.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 8, 2009 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great School and Program! I just began the MBA program and so far the experience has been great. I have never had to wait more than a few hours for answers to emailed questions; test grades have been done in a day or 2 at the most and everyone at the school is extremely responsive. The coursework is thorough - you have to read the entire book and write 4 essays for each course. I've learned a lot so far and because it is self-paced, I will earn my MBA in under a year! Great program - I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 27, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Common Sense CCU was a cost effective and fully RA transferable. Texas and national counseling state boards have recognized my transcript from CCU. "Beware the man doth protest too much" WS; these people simply wish they had not spent so much on their educational goals. Remember that presentation is everything when it comes to selling your accomplishments. If you are a type A personality, you should be able to sell any (DE or RA) education to others no matter where you went to school!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on April 29, 2009

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great for Working Adults I have already attained my MS in Clinical Psy. from CCU and am starting my MBA/Human Resource Management. I have had no bad experiences with the university, and I have learned a lot. With any degree you get what you put into it. I graduated with my BS as a 22 year old baseball playing party boy. I have joined the military and have used my government benefits to attain these two graduate degrees. They are recognized by the Department of Education and will increase my salaried compensation ten fold. If you are a working adult that wants to attain higher education, get to CCU. Great school!
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on December 20, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent I have found the MS Psychology program to be both challenging and rewarding. The texts are generally well written and I often find myself reading on and forgetting about the assignments! Customer service gets an A+, something that I've found lacking in my previous regionally accredited education. I think the one thing that sets CCU apart from other graduate distance education is the complete lack of semesters and deadlines (minimum requirement of two courses completed in a year), which has made my experience more relaxed and truly at my own pace. It is priceless to me, as it perfectly accommodates my work schedule and family time.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on November 18, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Excellent School for the Professional I attended both traditional and distance learning universities over the years. California Coast rates very high in their content and methods over many of the so called top universities and definitely better than any community college I attended. I agree other on here that say you get what you put into it. This is true with all schools. Dollar for dollar I would gladly match my M.B.A. degree from California Coast against anyones. I trained professionals with degrees from the regionally accredited UC and Cal State systems who didn't learn half what I learned at California Coast. California Coast University is an undiscovered gem with quality programs for the working professional. The materials were well-designed by professional educators with the right stuff. Although they have DETC accreditation, California Coast should apply for regional accreditation as I am sure they would obtain it easily.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on November 11, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
What you make of it As with anything, you get out of this school what you put into it. If you want to learn and dig into the subject, they provide the tools to do so. If you just want to get through the class, you can do that as well. The textbooks and support materials are very good and very interesting if you take the time to read them. The syllabi are well designed. Yes, you can probably get by with a lousy essay exam but if you want to try, they can be quite chalenging. Yes, there are problems with not being regionally accredited but have you looked into the cost of University of Phoenix? Overall a great value for a good education.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on September 21, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MS - Psychology Customer Service is lacking and their policies are ridiculous. Definitely not worth the money for a non RA degree.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 19, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
A++++ CCU has great student support, great customer service, and represented a great value. My degree is accredited and my credits were easy to transfer. But most importantly, I learned a lot! This degree has made me a more effective professional.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 12, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great School The curriculum really challenges you to work hard. You will have to do a lot of reading and writing. I highly recommend CCU to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 12, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
my CCU degree got me into graduate school I will be starting a Masters at American Public University in the next few months. My CCU degree was vital in helping me to reach my goal of getting into graduate school. I highly recommend CCU to anyone contemplating returning to school. My CCU diploma has been widely accepted in the private sector and as a requirement for graduate school.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Patm (In Progress) on June 11, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Stay away from CCU I am current student who hopes to be a past student very soon. Their tests are a joke. Word for word taken from the text book. I sent in 3 very bad essays just to get it done. I had my daughter who has 3 degrees from UAA here in Alaska look at them and she said they were pretty bad. I passed. Not only did I pass I got good remarks back. No challenge what so ever. Very boring. If you want a challenging program go elsewhere. I will be going to Bellevue next fall.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 11, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Great school Great experience! I just finished my degree in business administration and am very pleased with the school. The enrollment process was smooth and straight forward; I was able to transfer 60 credits from prior schools. Typically, the school sends two courses at a time, which include study guides that lay out the learning objectives. The textbooks are the student responsibility; I got mine through Amazon and hal.com (eBay). I found the materials to be challenging and engaging. I studied around 18 hours a week and was able to finish each course in about 6 to 8 weeks. The open book test modality required me to sharpen my critical thinking skills and reinforced the learning by applying concepts to given situations. Essentially, it became imperative to study the textbook from cover to cover to enable me to come up with the correct answers both for the unit and the final exams. The main difference with my prior college experience, which by the way was at B&M institutions, was that at the traditional schools the professors would test you only on selected sections of the textbook and on their lectures. At CCU, I had to read the entire textbook. At the end of each course, the school requires a comprehensive essay. As a student you select 3 questions out of a list of about 5 or 6 choices and develop a paper, which must adhere to strict guidelines (e.g. format, APA or MLA, number of wods, etc). I always received great feed back (although sometimes very critical) on my papers, and feel that my writing skills have improved greatly. Overall, CCU is a great choice for someone looking to finishing a degree. Of course, one must understand that this is nontraditional education, perfect for the working adult. Not really geared for the traditional student.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on June 10, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
There are better options Failed to provide essentials, lack of integrity. Bully sales tactics with pressure for enrollment without your permission. It was decided to work with a known evil.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on June 8, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Not a good education The testing at this school is a joke. The tests are all open book and untimed. They are straight out of the unit guide so you can look it up & write it down no problem. You don't really learn anything. The degree isn't AACSB and none of my credits could transfer so I was stuck finishing it. I don't even think I was in contact with real professors. I would get my tests graded and on the essay portion would get no feedback and straight As. If I had a serious question about the work you could forget about getting a timely answer. All they cared about was taking my credit card and sending me As. This is just a piece of paper, not an education.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Lblackburn (Graduate) on May 30, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
highly recommended The MBA program @ CalCoast U is contemporary and relevent. Faculty and staff are great to work with and are highly professional. Total experience was enjoyable. High marks all around. Affordable and self-paced. Nationally Accredited and recognized by the DOD & VA for military personnel and G I veteran's benefits. CCU was a perfect fit for me. Larry B., USMC Vet., Texas, USA.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 29, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Good School CCU offers excellent degree programs and challenging curriculums especially for busy professionals with hectic schedule. Yes, I was able to get the job I wanted with my degree from CCU.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on March 1, 2008 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
CCU Experience As a graduate of CCU, I found the learning materials to be well-structured, up-to-date, and relevant. Their student services staffs are exceptionally excellent and always very helpful and responsive. I have attended both online and campus schools and frankly I must say I've learned more from online courses, period. Sitt,
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

JNelson467 (Graduate) on October 14, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
Outstanding Distance Education I thoroughly enjoyed my experience with CCU and found both the curriculum and the staff to be outstanding. If a distance learning degree that is recognized by the CHEA and US Dept of Education through DETC accreditation will meet your needs, I would highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (Graduate) on October 7, 2007

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
CCU a Great education Very Good experience at CCU they exceeded my expectations on education and I used utilize it everyday.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Aviatorpepe (In Progress) on September 6, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
BSBA All my expectations have been met. CCU has delivered a balance between cost, value, and quality. The program is set up to provide minimum down time; customer service is impeccable, and the courses are up-to-date and relevant. Pepe
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Curt9691 (In Progress) on January 29, 2007 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
MBA The MBA Program at CCU is outstanding. I have taken graduate level courses at several other schools, at both Regionally Accredited and Nationally Accredited institutions, and I can honestly report that CCU is at least on par with the RA coursework, and far superior to the NA coursework that I’ve taken. The average MBA coursework consists of a Study Guide and Textbook(s). The Study Guide is provided by the school and is included with tuition (no extra charge). These Guides are organized in such a way that you receive a complete syllabus for each course along with instructional materials, which guide students chapter by chapter through the corresponding textbook. Each Study Guide contains an overview and summary of each textbook chapter, along with a listing of important keywords with definitions and self-tests on key points. Each of those items is referenced back to the specific learning objectives for the chapter, which allow the student to easily understand concepts or theories presented in that particular chapter. Study Guides contain 4 "Unit Test" equally spaced throughout the instructional materials, a brief writing assignment and the Final Examination. Textbooks can be rented from the school or purchased elsewhere. The administrators, faculty, instructors and staff are made up of some very fine people, and they are all only an e-mail or phone call away. And they are always happy to hear from perspective, current, and former students. What truly sets CCU apart from most other universities is their unabated commitment to the individual student and to student services in general. I can't say enough about how much this school has done for me, and the many other students I met through CCU. But please don’t take my word for it, call them for yourself and you will soon experience what separates CCU from the rest. Curt
Was this review helpful? Yes - No

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Anonymous (In Progress) on October 28, 2006 (email verified)

Materials: Teachers:
Institution: Support:
Value: Technology:
CCU Great Customer Service.
Was this review helpful? Yes - No


You can help by Writing a review

Learn More about California Coast University