Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Capella University

  • Ranking: #39
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: NCA

3.4
285 Reviews
5 112 
4 59 
3 24 
2 39 
1 51 
0 0 

Capella University Reviews:

Stay Away from Capella

PhD Organization & Management/General Business - January 4, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

During recruitment process Capella was deceptive and I was given misleading information. In effect I was bambozzled. I found that Capella was Fraudulent and Engaged in Deceptive and Questionable Marketing Practices. For example, I was told that Capella had a solid support system in place to help get me through the program and a network of companies that Capella worked with to assist students with getting through their research. Once I reached the point of writing my dissertation, I found out that Capella had no affiliations with any company for me to work with during the dissertation process. Now after my constant complaints about their non responsive and incompetent staff members I am a victim of their retaliation. After receiving approval from the IRB I had a senior staff member asking me to re-write large portions of my dissertation. Now I have to ask myself, how can I get committee approval (3 PhD's), SMR (approved methodology) and IRB approval only now to be asked to do re-writes of chapters that have already been approved. Once you get IRB approval you are not suppose to go back and change anything. This is another example of Capella stringing along its students that will add to cost overruns and additional student loans going in their pockets. Capella want to take your money, run up cost and want you to keep your mouth shut while they do it. Stay far away.

Was this review helpful?

47 of 56 people found the following review helpful

...well, it's better than UoP...

PhD Organization & Management/General Business - September 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This "school" continues to confuse and astound me. I can't believe the horrible, rude, condescending, disconnected "professors" that Capella has chosen to "facilitate" their courses. In the PhD program, I have seen clear plagiarism, and it was met with praise from the professor, I have seen students be put down in completely unconstructive ways, and have shifted my thinking from "it's too expensive to withdrawal and start somewhere else" to "I would sell a kidney to get out". The school doesn't care, you are a bank account to them. The advising team is a JOKE. A team of 5 people monitoring an email box so you get totally disconnected and contradictory instructions and advice. And above all, it is EXPENSIVE. I took two courses my first term, so I have to argue with those who say otherwise, and every term after. Still, it sucks. It's expensive, and the quality is poor. These wanna be professors are just rude. Be prepared to be in a class with idiots who can't spell or put a sentence together, let alone grasp the context of a discussion post- but they'll still get through since they're paying. It's annoying, frustrating, and degrading. If I had to do it again- I'd suck it up and go to the university nearby and figure out the commute, etc. The flexibility is great, but I didn't want a PhD for the hell of it- I wanted to learn. That hasn't happened here.

Was this review helpful?

35 of 49 people found the following review helpful

A Dream Come True

PhD Organization & Management/General Business - October 1, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a Capella learner and an ambassador for the school. I am enrolled in their program for the degree of Master of business administration an ambassador for their programs and their standards are very high, I have aways enjoyed my learning. I can honestly say that although I am almost finished with their Master of Business Administration degree, I have had a wonderful experience. The professors are awesome. The professors are very committed to the success of their students. I am not just saying the commitment of the professors is great. It really is great. I had a professor who challenged me to improve my business writing skills by critiquing my papers and giving me "lessons" in graduate level mechanics. I had another professor who conferred with me over the phone and very generously helped me with the writing skills with respect to the citation process and even gave me a link to several books and a writing lab. Capella is a pioneer in the field of online education I have done several in-depth studies in my Master of Business Administration career at Capella this far, one of s=which is on Capella Education, the organization that owns and operates Capella University. I can say with confidence that although Capella University is online and the programs are project based, they are accredited and their accreditation standards are under annual review. Capella University is an excellent school that caters to the adult working professionals with a busy home and working life. I come from a family of school teachers, college and university professors and business professionals. I am very familiar with the quality of education and the need for quality education in today's world. Capella University is proud to display their degree and career outcomes. In their oxide to display these outcomes, they allow learners the opportunity to post comments about their experiences in programs. I have never attended a school where I have had so much fun learning while working so hard at the same time.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 24 people found the following review helpful

Excellent choice for an upper level educational experience

PhD Organization & Management/General Business - May 24, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in my second term with Capella University and am enrolled in the Organization and Managment PhD program. I have also completed Track 1 Colloquium and my overall experience thus far has been exceptional. In the past, I have always attended the traditional "brick & mortar" universities, however, I can state without a doubt the online learning environment adds so much more value and flexibility to the educational experience. I highly recommend Capella to anyone who is seeking to advance themselves forward in their careers or life in general.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Buyer Beware

PhD Organization & Management/General Business - October 25, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Buyer beware! This school is all about the money. If you're taking the time to read through reviews of Capella (hopefully before you enroll), you'll likely see many that say Capella is a scam. I'm hear to tell you, from my first-hand point of view, those reviews are true. If you enroll in a PhD program, here's what you're going to encounter. First, in whichever quarter you decide to begin, Capella will only allow you to take 1 class that first quarter. Still, Capella will charge you the full amount, generally around $4,500. Once the class starts you'll be asked to perform very remedial exercises that you probably never even encountered as an undergraduate: activities like assessing your learning style or picking 2 or 3 learning styles from a book written by a Capella insider that you think will help you. (Honestly, if you've made it to the PhD level, do you really need to assess your learning style at this point?) Then the real fun begins. Tons of mindless busy work, condescending instructors who provide vague feedback but are quick to give you a poor grade with little reasoning, poor communication from faculty and staff, etc. And, here's the kicker, when you finally realize you may have made a mistake with Capella and want to withdraw, good luck finding someone who will call you back. If you're lucky enough to find withdrawal forms yourself online, go ahead and fill one out. Just be prepared to receive a bill for the full amount of the quarter if you withdraw after the first week of class, regardless of you have financial aid or are a self-payer. That's right, Capella will bill you for the ENTIRE cost of the quarter even if you've only completed 3 weeks of class. On the positive side, Capella's online classroom is pretty easy to navigate.

Was this review helpful?

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Excellent

PhD Organization & Management/General Business - September 13, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I chose the Capella PhD for their excellent customer service. From day one throught to graduation, my support was excllent. The quality of the professors is high, you can see their CV listed online. I had professors from Harvard, Yale, etc. I wish they were accredited by AACSB. The structure of the courses is excllent I learned more there than my previous 2 degrees combined. I am now a full time teacher at a four year University.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Lots of hard work but worth it.

PhD Organization & Management/General Business - November 28, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Capella has made many improvements in the past four years. I have learned a lot. Most of the classes are hard. I learned a lot about the research process and have published several papers since I started the Capella degree. Once Capella earns AACSB designation, there is no stopping it. I received 11 offers at colleges and universities and I haven't graduated yet.

Was this review helpful?

Online PHD

PhD Organization & Management/General Business - May 19, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I did undergraduate work online with the University of Maryland for my BS and MS. I started my PhD work a few years ago with Capella. I'm just going into my dissertation phase. Overall the program started off a little unformatted but for the last year or two I have seen a dramatic increase in quality, especially being that most of the class work is now focused of scholarly journals, research studies and book readings. The formatted writeup and understanding for each lesson objective has improved as well and keeps the readers in sync with where they should be when going through the course. It's definitely working out to be one of the best programs. It would be nice to incorporate webinars as well.

Was this review helpful?

Poor Teaching Quality and Poor Student Support

PhD Organization & Management/General Business - December 13, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Capella will ask you to take OM8004 during the first quarter you are admitted. That course is probably designed to pay for the commissions of the enrollment advisors as it charges a flat fee of over $4,000 per quarter. Give yourself a break by going to other schools that charges by credit hours. Since I started with Capella, I received little to no support from their "academic advisors", many of whom do no even have a Ph.D. themselves. Their job is to make sure you continue to enroll and pay the quarterly dues. In terms of quality of their faculty members, few can be called decent, most of them consider online teaching as an extra income source. Course assignments are mostly busy work to keep you busy with a lot of nonsense assignments. Weekly discussions are waste of time if your classmates are a bunch of morons. Overall, don't waste your hard earned money with this Capella.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Not worth it

PhD Organization & Management/General Business - October 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm almost done with all my coursework toward a Ph.D. degree at Capella. Compared to other online schools, Capella's web site is well structured, but that's the best you can get out of the school. Few of the instructors at Capella are great, and most of them are losers who cannot find a job anywhere else except doing online teaching at many other online schools. They don't even call themselves "professors", but course producers or classroom facilitators. Most of them did not any values to my learning process. I feel I've been in a Ph.D. program doing mostly MBA-level coursework. If you are serious about getting a Ph.D., go somewhere else that would help you build up solid research skills.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Great School!

PhD Organization & Management/General Business - September 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My Ph.D. was conferred June, 2007, and I must say the process to complete was as strenuous as it was satisfying. This is no diploma mill - one must earn the degree. My paper has been accepted for presentation at the IABE Conference next month in Las Vegas, and for publishing in the International Journal of Business Research. Double-blind peer reviewed and accepted without modification. I also enjoyed the professional help of my Ph.D. committee as we progressed through the work. I have no regrets in choosing Capella, and recommend it heartily to others.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 7 people found the following review helpful

A Great Phd Journey

PhD Organization & Management/General Business - September 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Capella University should be praised for its standards of excellence, quality of teaching professionals, and commitment to learner support. I have over thirty years of professional experience in business, received my bachelors and masters at standard universities at night while working, and became a Phd at Capella. Make no mistake; Capella expects high standards of learner involvement, but nothing worth pursuing should be easy. In fact, online education is more challenging and required hard work. I am appalled when I see critiques of the university because someone failed; maybe they weren't ready for the challenge? I am proud to be associated with a university with such high standards, quality of teaching professionals, and most learners who wanted to work dilligently for their degrees. At Capella you become a Phd, you don't just get a Phd!

Was this review helpful?

1 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Excellent university-Best choice for you

PhD Organization & Management/General Business - September 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This experience was beyond my greatest expectations. It was so invigorating to attend Colloquia and to meet with my peers and professors. I think the best part was realizing how much the professors all really enjoy each other's company and how well they work together. Re: some of these reviews, if someone makes it to comps and fails to perform, yes they will not make it through. Those of us who have worked very hard for this degree do not wish to see it diminished by the university passing people who can't do the work required. I found everyone, in every dept across the board, to be sincerely helpful and wanting to help me succeed. I'm sorry for those who weren't able to meet the standards set by the university. I, however, feel confident that I am among equals with my fellow alumni.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Capella University in any way.