Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Capella University

  • Ranking: #39
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: NCA

3.4
285 Reviews
5 112 
4 59 
3 24 
2 39 
1 51 
0 0 

Capella University Reviews:

UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU ARE GETTING

PhD Organization & Management/Leadership - August 20, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

All of you who are giving positive reviews of this institution and the type of degree it is conferring, do not understand comparatively what you could have received. If you had gone to an accredited, high-end Ph.D. program, you would better understand how unfounded is your confidence in Capella. You will not be hired at my university unless education has just fallen apart (which I believe is close).

Was this review helpful?

7 of 27 people found the following review helpful

My Journey

PhD Organization & Management/Leadership - April 19, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My journey has been great and I've learned a great deal alone the way. One thing Capella has given me as a learner is the confidence to move forward in my career as a professional. Choosing Capella was the best decision I made to continue my educational journey.

Was this review helpful?

Challenging and Rewarding

PhD Organization & Management/Leadership - April 19, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently a PhD Learner in the School of Business and Technology, Business Management (Leadership Emphasis) in the last quarter of my first year. The work is real, the expectations are high, and the reward for your efforts is the internal change that you make happen. 100% of what you get out of this program, and others like it, depends on what you put into it. With that being said, the professors I have had up to this point have been tremendous guides with a true passion for teaching adult students. To them you are not just a student, you are a potential future peer in the academic world. The transformation from graduate student to PhD is long and challenging; the path to PhD is not for everyone and, as the zen hot dog vendor told his customer, "Change must come from within." So far, though, I am enjoying the transformation. Why not come join me?

Was this review helpful?

Capella University = SCAM! THIEVES! Its CEO will be next @ Congressional hearing

PhD Organization & Management/Leadership - October 31, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

What's the wording I see on here, "teachers"? Really? CAPELLA UNIVERSITY is next on the government's chopping block! CAPELLA, its faculty & administration are CROOKS, and no better than University of Phoenix, Clinton's university, Devry, ANY of the for-profit so-called "universities". All its "leaders", "faculty", CEOs, administration - you name 'em need to appear in front of congress, fined and imprisoned! From a former Capella University PhD “learner” scammed by a crappy curriculum and a "school" that stole $130,000 in Federal School Loans and of course -- the infamous Wells Fargo Bank. Imagine! Capella University = SCAM DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME -OR- YOUR MONEY AT CAPELLA UNIVERSITY!!!!!!TRUST ME!!!!!! I KNOW!!!! I earned 2 masters degrees at brick/mortar school in Miami, Florida - without problems, making excellent grades, and having tremendous academic support from the faculty - even the dean. At Capella - you will not receive any support or communication - UNLESS YOU OWE THEM MONEY. In fact, the even enroll you in the next, upcoming quarter when you haven't even completed 6 weeks of your present Capella course. After EIGHT years of earning my Ph.D. at Capella, I was constantly mislead, communication/answers to my questions and concerns would take WEEKS for the academic advisor and my mentor. My mentor all of a sudden "disappeared", then I was assigned another mentor - having to practically START ALL OVER my dissertation phase/requirements! Capella then later introduced the SMR (Scientific Merit Review) - a new process to students, event though they (students) wear near completion of the dissertation phase or half-way there. The SMR phase was brutal - taking nearly TWO years to complete (PASS!), It did "pass" with 3 faculty members, but low a behold - they too disappeared and I had to START ALL OVER!!!! The new faculty advisor denied ("failed") my PhD proposal - even though I had "passed" and was already preparing for DATA COLLECTION and already in the writing phases of Chapter 4 & 5. Chapters 1, 2 & 3 were approved, written & completed. But - when this SMR was introduced, conveniently and to serve the financial interest (gain) of Capella, I was told I had to go backwards and re-write Chapter 1, 2 & 3. Well at this point, I already had my Ph.D. proposal approved, my research topic, data methods, etc - ALL APPROVED. In fact, I already collected all of my data and was in the data analysis phase - which positioned me to be near completion of my Ph.D. within a projected six (6) months. Again - another setback. Then, it GETS BETTER (or I should say [much] WORSE!). My THIRD assigned mentor up and quit mid-class, leaving me and many other doctoral learners stranded. I was ready to complete my Ph.D. but my third mentor and Capella faculty/administration led me on and were trying to penalize ME for this "professor" (if that's what I would call anyone associated being an educator at this university), told me I was late to re-enroll in my current class. This made no sense!!! Why did I have to re-enroll in a course that was actively ongoing and in week 6?!? Obviously this was for finances and to adhere to what I am assuming some sort of educational, legal standard. I was assigned ANOTHER mentor who had NO CLUE above my dissertation's topic, nor where I was (NEAR COMPLETION) of my Ph.D. ALL MY WORK WAS DONE! ALL MY DATA COLLECTION! ALL MY DATA ANALYSIS! I WAS DONE! Done with my paper and done with this university - a school that STOLE over $90,000 from me in government-assisted student $. Every quarter I was harassed for $4,200 in tuition! IN FACT, when I first enrolled with Capella to earn my Ph.D. ( ~ mid-2000s), Capella students did not have to pay $4,200/quarter. I believe the tuition once in the dissertation phase was ~ $1,200. They switch rules on you, leave you in the dark. Change rules of the game as they see fit; in fact, in the beginning of its doctoral education, the “university” didn’t even provide a graduate student’s handbook. The “university” misleads & lies. The only time you will get a response is if you owe them money! And, many occurrences transpired where I posed urgent questions regarding my dissertation – only to receive a vague response, and on many occasions, even having me wait an entire quarter for a response, while in the meantime I am “on hold”, paying $4,200 waiting. This university is NOT WORTH $4,200/quarter! AT ALL! Even if they were just issuing Ph.D.s without your having to complete ANY work - CAPELLA UNIVERSITY IS NOT WORTH YOUR TIME OR YOUR MONEY. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY HERE! THEY ARE A SCAM! Stay away! FILE YOUR COMPLAINT AGAINST CAPELLA UNIVERSITY (on this website, type in “Capella Education” in the required search field in their “complaint section”: http://shareholdersfoundation.com Also, file with the BBB @: https://www.bbb.org/minnesota/business-reviews/schools-academic-colleges-and-universities/capella-university-in-minneapolis-mn-11003265/reviews-and-complaints University of Phoenix students get relief from student loans following federal government investigation: http://aidingstudents.com/student-loans/breaking-news-university-of-phoenix-students-get-relief-from-student-loans-following-federal-government-investigation/ University of Phoenix owner gets out as 50,500 students flee: http://money.cnn.com/2016/02/08/pf/college/university-of-phoenix-online-sold/

Was this review helpful?

35 of 47 people found the following review helpful

Capella University = SCAM

PhD Organization & Management/Leadership - June 5, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME -OR- YOUR MONEY AT CAPELLA UNIVERSITY!!!!!!TRUST ME!!!!!! I KNOW!!!! I earned 2 masters degrees at brick/mortar school in Miami, Florida - without problems, making excellent grades, and having tremendous academic support from the faculty - even the dean. At Capella - you will not receive any support or communication - UNLESS YOU OWE THEM MONEY. In fact, the even enroll you in the next, upcoming quarter when you haven't even completed 6 weeks of your present Capella course. After EIGHT years of earning my Ph.D. at Capella, I was constantly mislead, communication/answers to my questions and concerns would take WEEKS for the academic advisor (MICHAEL) and my mentor (DR. STIKA). My mentor all of a sudden "disappeared", then I was assigned another mentor - having to practically START ALL OVER my dissertation phase/requirements! Capella then later introduced the SMR (Scientific Merit Review) - a new process to students, event though they (students) wear near completion of the dissertation phase or half-way there. The SMR phase was brutal - taking nearly TWO years to complete (PASS!), It did "pass" with 3 faculty members, but low a behold - they too disappeared and I had to START ALL OVER!!!! The new faculty advisor (Dr. Disch) denied ("failed") my PhD proposal - even though I had "passed" and was already preparing for DATA COLLECTION and already in the writing phases of Chapter 4 & 5. Chapters 1, 2 & 3 were approved, written & completed. But - when this SMR was introduced, conveniently and to serve the financial interest (gain) of Capella, I was told I had to go backwards and re-write Chapter 1, 2 & 3. Well at this point, I already had my Ph.D. proposal approved, my research topic, data methods, etc - ALL APPROVED. In fact, I already collected all of my data and was in the data analysis phase - which positioned me to be near completion of my Ph.D. within a projected six (6) months. Again - another setback. Then, it GETS BETTER (or I should say [much] WORSE!). Dr. Antunez (my THIRD assigned mentor) up and quit mid-class, leaving me and many other doctoral learners stranded. I was ready to complete my Ph.D. but Dr. Antunez and Capella faculty/administration led me on and were trying to penalize ME for this "professor" (if that's what I would call anyone associated being an educator at this university), told me I was late to re-enroll in my current class. This made no sense!!! Why did I have to re-enroll in a course that was actively ongoing and in week 6?!? Obviously this was for finances and to adhere to what I am assuming some sort of educational, legal standard. I was assigned ANOTHER mentor who had NO CLUE above my dissertation's topic, nor where I was (NEAR COMPLETION) of my Ph.D. ALL MY WORK WAS DONE! ALL MY DATA COLLECTION! ALL MY DATA ANALYSIS! I WAS DONE! Done with my paper and done with this university - a school that STOLE over $90,000 from me in government-assisted student $. Every quarter I was harassed for $4,200 in tuition! IN FACT, when I first enrolled with Capella to earn my Ph.D. ( ~ mid-2000s), Capella students did not have to pay $4,200/quarter. I believe the tuition once in the dissertation phase was ~ $1,200. They switch rules on you, leave you in the dark. Change rules of the game as they see fit; in fact, in the beginning of its doctoral education, the “university” didn’t even provide a graduate student’s handbook. The “university” misleads & lies. The only time you will get a response is if you owe them money! And, many occurrences transpired where I posed urgent questions regarding my dissertation – only to receive a vague response, and on many occasions, even having me wait an entire quarter for a response, while in the meantime I am “on hold”, paying $4,200 waiting. This university is NOT WORTH $4,200/quarter! AT ALL! Even if they were just issuing Ph.D.s without your having to complete ANY work - CAPELLA UNIVERSITY IS NOT WORTH YOUR TIME OR YOUR MONEY. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY HERE! THEY ARE A SCAM! Stay away!

Was this review helpful?

35 of 45 people found the following review helpful

Great University

PhD Organization & Management/Leadership - December 20, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Greetings, Thanks Capella University! Being graduate one would say my review would normally be biased. I agree, but in this instance, it is not. I completed the PhD, OM-Leadership; and was so satisfied, I returned and completed Post Bacc-HRM, Post Bacc-MNA; Post Bacc-CJ, and Post Masters-College Education. The only thing that I was reserved on was the APA effort; but in the end, it was one of my strongest points. As a matter of fact, any and all of my writings are distinctly noticeable as having "style". Capella is not responsible for that, but the insistence of the professors surely played an integral role! Returning to school after 21 years of absence, the flexibility of attendance put Capella in that special category of schools - though expensive. But as a previous learner said, if you are looking for an easy way out, Capella is not the place to go; look elsewhere! Regards, Edward E. Smith, PhD

Was this review helpful?

22 of 35 people found the following review helpful

Don't choose Capella for your education

PhD Organization & Management/Leadership - October 5, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Capella's delivery of online classes is very poor. Assignments and materials are left over from previous classes. After paying a huge amount of tuition they don't even bother to upload current versions of templates we have to use. All their templates are in Word 97 - 03 because they're too lazy to update their materials. Today I was greeted by a video of the dean who was terminated 4 years ago. Sloppy, sloppy, sloppy delivery of online education. DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL. I'm a doctoral learner taking comps. What a waste of my time and money.

Was this review helpful?

44 of 63 people found the following review helpful

Good school

PhD Organization & Management/Leadership - April 12, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

A good school overall and I would recommend this program to anyone. I do teach at a traditional B&M campus and I the degree has helped secure a tenure track spot.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Good Program

PhD Organization & Management/Leadership - December 14, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been with this school for one year and I am happy with the rigors of the program thus far. Most of the student and teacher interaction is valuable. Those that do cast a negative shadow on the program likely have not been a part of the program or one like it. I have a Bachelor degree from University of Wisconsin-Madison and an MBA from the University of Minnesota (both Tier I schools) and I am, at this point, to family oriented to pursue a B&M version of the Ph.D. However, from discussions with friends and evaluating the criteria, I assure you, the program is much the same as it would be at either of these two schools.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Pleased with my choice!

PhD Organization & Management/Leadership - October 6, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As with most things in life, you get out of the experience what you put into it. For the almost 3 years that I have been working on my degree, I know I am putting IN a tremendous amount AND I am certaining getting BACK, both from an educational experience. I also believe that the attitude with which you approach your journey makes a big difference. As one of the other posts mentioned, and it is often repeated at Colloquia, you are becoming a PhD - it is not a piece of paper I am given. At this point I have completed my coursework, passed my comps, and I am almost ready to submit my dissertation proposal. The overall experience that I have had has been a very positive one. As I read through the other reviews I find it quite interesting. On one end are individuals claiming Capella is a "diploma mill" and to watch out because the university will fail you for no apparent reason. It sounds as if it is being done TO you. As another learner indicated, if YOU are not able to perform at the required level, then I am pleased to hear that the university will not allow students to continue. I have worked exceptionally hard to reach this point in my studies and as others have said, I feel that I am EARNING my degree. In my program, many of the learners at Capella are adults who have extensive experience in the business world. I am also at the point in my accademic and professional career that I would not expect an educational institution to hold my hand every step of the way. If I need additional support, I need to stand up and ask for it. When I have done so, I have immediately be assisted. In looking back at the other educational institutions that I went to, I find Capella a refreshing change. Some posts mentioned Capella's focus on money - I hate to break it to you, but this is a business. I'm not sure many institutions that aren't concerned about money? Is the degree I am persuing a good "value"? I can not compare the cost at Capella to other schools, but I imagine that they are quite comparable. The personal and professional satisfaction and opportunities that I am capitalizing on are absolutely worth it! In life you always have choices. I believe that I made the right choice in selecting Capella.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Indolents need not apply

PhD Organization & Management/Leadership - September 28, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am ABD in the School of Business and Technology, but am in the data analysis phase now and I hope to be completed with my dissertation by Thanksgiving. After earning an MBA at the Eller College of Management (a nationally ranked business school) at the University of Arizona, I freely admit that I was a little concerned about the value of an online PhD. However, working full-time and teaching part-time at the University level did not leave time to attend a traditional brick&mortar institution. I did a lot of research into different online programs and evaluated Capella as the best of the lot (I used Saaty's (1980) Analytic Hierarchy Process to do this evaluation, so I am confident in the validity of my procedures). Although expensive, the cost of the program is comparable to other institutions. While I would have liked for the SOBT to hold the AASCB accreditation, that was not a kill-point for me, as I was unable to locate any online school (in 2004) that had that accreditation. The Capella staff was very helpful in the enrollment process and transferred in the maximum 48 credit hours from my MBA program, which helped me immensely. Once enrolled in the program, I found that, the instructors were always available to me, and the rigor is definitely there. As one of the previous reviewers phrased it, you get out of any program what you put into it. I spent 20-25 hours a week throughout my coursework and maintained a 4.00 GPA in the program. I feel that I earned those marks and did not feel that they were given to me. I would not classify Capella as a diploma mill by any stretch of the imagination and feel that the argument above that addressed the attrition rate belies this charge. Diploma mills do not reject anyone. I believe the disgruntled reviewers above failed to achieve their goals because they were not fully committed to the rigor required by any credible PhD program. I found the program difficult, but feasible, given good time management skills. The comps process is all about completing a very difficult task in a timed manner. I felt that the Leadership program prepared me adequately for this challenge and I got through it on the expedited plan in 8 weeks. If certain people feel that they were unfairly weeded out at the comps stage, perhaps they should examine their own culpability and lack of commmitment to producing a quality product under strenuous conditions. My dissertation is taking longer than I orginally projected, but that is due to work and other life pressures that interfered with my educational schedule rather than any lack on the part of Capella itself. The staff, my mentor, and my committee have been very supportive during my dissertation. In fact, other instructors, who are not on my committee, gave freely of their own time to help me locate a suitable study organization. I can't say enough about the value of that support and I hope to carry that model into my own doctoral praxis.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Greatly disappointed

PhD Organization & Management/Leadership - September 21, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started with much enthusiasm at Capella. I did considerable research about on-line degrees. My wife, who has a PhD from Columbia cautioned against my undertaking the PhD program, but I pursued it anyway. I found it to be a disaster in the set up. I found the administrative organization and the focus on money obscuring the educational experience. Furthermore, the evaluation of my Master's degree credits was unbelievable in that less than half of my credits were transferred, and I graduated from Boston University. At work, the school was not recognized. I would strong urge people to avoid this school. Perhaps there are some on-line schools that are focused on education.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Capella Ph.D. Programs

PhD Organization & Management/Leadership - August 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Overall, the program is okay. They lack AACSB accreditation and if you are looking at pysch, they lack APA accreditation (which is even worse than lacking AACSB accreditation). The instructors are generally okay, the materials are good, and the use of technology is good. Honestly though, what you take away is improved writing skills and materials. You could purchase the materials at a bookstore and the courses are to expensive to walk away with improved writing skills alone. I think Capella is average and once more B&M schools decide to go online with at least 75% of a business Ph.D., Capella is likely in big trouble. I have heard rumblings of Strayer buying out Capella, so that may be in the works.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Capella University in any way.