Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Capella University

  • Ranking: #39
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: NCA

3.4
285 Reviews
5 112 
4 59 
3 24 
2 39 
1 51 
0 0 

Capella University Reviews:

Very inconsistent in feedbAck about dissertation and during comp exams

Ph.D. in Education in Postsecondary and Adult Ed. - September 16, 2018
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The student feedback during the development of the dissertation and during the comp exam process is extremely inconsistent between facility. For example, when submitting the DRP, in one residency students are given compliments on their work and told by one faculty member that the content meets all the required criteria. The next residency, a different faculty member says it is incorrect and needs to be rewritten to a different recommendation. By the third residency, another faculty member goes on to report that the second recommendation was incorrect and the student should have kept the work as it was initially submitted in the first residency. Then along comes the comp exams. The same inconsistency in feedback and grading occurs. There are three readers that review and grad the comp exam base upon their own interpretation of the content. One reader will give a very high grade in all sections, one will give similar feedback and recommendations and the third will report that none of the required criteria is met. If all three readers do not pass students on the comp exam, students are required to have the exam revised in 10 days. Again, the readers provide inconsistent feedback. The initial two readers grade the paper low due to the changes and the third grades it high according to the revisions the student made under the recommendations of that faculty member. The student is then required to redo the comp exam in another session with three different readers interpreting the content. This process is a set up for failure. In addition, there is a faculty assigned to students in the course room section of the comp exams and provides answers to questions about the guidelines of the comp exams if they are unclear to the student. The answers to questions again do not align either the readers. The student is given feedback that is initiated into the comp exams only to be told it is incorrect by those reading the exam. The initial course room content throughout the PhD program itself is reliable and consistent, but the residencies and comp exam aspect is terrible. Students work through several years of classroom material to get to the level of the program that should be considered an accomplishment; when in fact it becomes a nightmare of inconsistency among faculty. Unfortunately the level of inconsistency during the residencies and comp portion of the program is something that ruines the experience of the Phd program and I would NOT recommend it to learners that are truly in a program for learning, guidance and consistency in feedback for personal and professional development.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Shameful Capella University

Ph.D. in Education in Postsecondary and Adult Ed. - October 10, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Here's what you need to know about Capella University: I worked on my Ph.D. from 2008 to 2010. It was an arduous process with little support provided. Once I completed it, there was NO career support provided, NONE. Then I applied for adjunct online teaching positions with Capella from 2010 to 2017, at least twice per year, and each time I was told they wouldn't hire me because I was a graduate. Yet they would gladly hire someone with NO experience to teach online doctoral classes, especially if you are female and of color. This year I applied for an online teaching position with Capella, titled Education, Postsecondary Adult Education. My doctorate: Postsecondary Adult Education. What was Capella's response? They would not move forward with my application, even though I have 12+ years online teaching experience. This is a shameful practice and one I have come to expect from Capella University. Dr. J

Was this review helpful?

6 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Capella University: A Great University That Challenges Its Learners

Ph.D. in Education in Postsecondary and Adult Ed. - July 18, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was already a little apprehensive about beginning the doctoral process, and making the decision to complete my studies online added to that feeling. After being enrolled at Capella University for one quarter, my comfort level and respect for online learning grew. The faculty and staff were always available and helpful, and the colloquiums were simply outstanding. Through the colloquiums, I met individuals that I am still in contact with to this day. Commencement...Capella University really celebrates their graduates. I would not trade my Capella experience for the world!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

My Ph.D. Experience was everything I wanted

Ph.D. in Education in Postsecondary and Adult Ed. - June 1, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I loved my experience at Capella!! Most of the professors seemed to really care if I understood the concepts. Most posed thought-provoking questions. Since I was already a professor and knew my areas of interest, I was able to tailor every project and paper to what I was curious about. My dissertation research was directly tied into a topic I am passionate about, and the findings are applicable to my college and raised my profile at work. It was a lot of work though, and I'm glad it's over!!!!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 26 people found the following review helpful

The Research Plan (SMR) is a scam

Ph.D. in Education in Postsecondary and Adult Ed. - August 8, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When I enrolled in Capella's PhD program in 2009 the program consisted of the coursework, comps exam, CITI training, IRB, and the dissertation. Half way through my studies they added an additional requirement, the Research Plan(RP), although it was called the Scientific Merit Review (SMR) at the time. They instituted the RP under the guise that it will help learners finish their dissertations quicker with less rewrites. Now understand that Capella is a for-profit University, and because of this fact they have to create ways to maximize their profits. In my opinion, the addition of RP approval prior to the IRB and dissertation phases was designed to do just that. The RP has effectively added an additional 18 months on to my program. They continually send your RP back to you for rewrites without effectively explaining to you wants wrong with it. I think this is Capella's way of stringing you along in an attempt to drain every bit of tuition money out of you that they can. I have come this far only to be disappointed in Capella in the end.

Was this review helpful?

44 of 50 people found the following review helpful

Personal Accountability

Ph.D. in Education in Postsecondary and Adult Ed. - May 21, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Every college is as good as the students. You get as much out of it as you put in. I have maintained a 4.0 throughout my college career from AA to PhD. I love the grad instructors, the classes are applicable to teaching (especially online), and I have learned as much as I allowed myself to learn. If you are a serious college student and professional, you will do well at Capella University. If you want to skate through college for a diploma without learning a darn thing, you are better off at a diploma mill. The college provided many rewards for meeting certain milestones. I am proud to be a Capella learner! The responsibility is squarely on your shoulders.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 40 people found the following review helpful

Ed.D. Doctor of Education

Ph.D. in Education in Postsecondary and Adult Ed. - April 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Only a few classes left before I finish my degree. Spent a year researching programs before applying to Capella. I work for a college, so I know quality when I see it, and this program is a quality program.

Was this review helpful?

24 of 42 people found the following review helpful

three semesters in...

Ph.D. in Education in Postsecondary and Adult Ed. - November 16, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I realized from the faculty's comments during the first course that she had not ever actually read my papers. I brushed it off as a bad instructor. You find them everywhere, right? Then the next quarter same thing. I realized that the faculty basically award the grade based on phrasing within the document that matches the ruberic they are using. I tested this theory and scored better with a 50 word document than when I wrote expansively. Expensive and not really worth that much.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 24 people found the following review helpful

it is what you make it

Ph.D. in Education in Postsecondary and Adult Ed. - May 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my PhD in October 2009. It took me four years from start to finish, while working full time teaching at the college level (2 years for coursework and comps, two years to write my dissertation). People looking for an easy way out should not consider Capella - it is a high quality school, and can work well for someone who is organized, motivated and self directed (and being able to write well helps). I was hesitant to go on line for my doctorate, having a BS, an MEd, and MS from traditional schools. But after researching programs for a few years, I chose Capella for a number of reasons that worked for me. Sure, there were frustrations along the way, as there are in any major endeavor, but in the grand scheme of things they were minor and I was always able to work things out. At this level, no one gives you anything - it is what you make it.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 10 people found the following review helpful

A satisfying experience

Ph.D. in Education in Postsecondary and Adult Ed. - April 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated with a PhD in Education and have since landed a tenure-track position; I had a rigorous and satisfying experience at Capella, where some of my instructors guided and mentored me so that my academic experience paid off in terms of publication and networking; the result, I got the job!

Was this review helpful?

A great opportunity

Ph.D. in Education in Postsecondary and Adult Ed. - December 27, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am enrolled and finish course work this summer. I have had some fabulous instructors, and a few that were mediocre at best (you find this everywhere). Instructors I have met at residencies have been absolutely AMAZING. The comraderie, the knowledge, and support make me feel like I made an excellent decision although I struggled as I did not want to get a "cookie cutter" degree at a diploma mill. However, there are people like me who have the ability, the drive, and the will, but do not have the program availability, the time, nor the money to devote 5-10 years earning a degree. I am a single mother of four young children and this university has given me the chance to earn the degree I have dreamed about. I love the fact that my peers who learn with me are from all walks of life, from countries all over the world, and my learning experiences have been far richer because of the students with whom I learn. I think Capella is doing great things and I am happy to be a part of it.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Capella University in any way.