Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Capella University

  • Ranking: #39
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: NCA

3.4
285 Reviews
5 112 
4 59 
3 24 
2 39 
1 51 
0 0 

Capella University Reviews:

Capella MBA

MBA - April 26, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The MBA program offered by Capella is one of unique value and quality. It provides learners the opportunity to grow in the idea of business, the idea of the supply chain & the idea of making a conscious difference in today's and the future of our economy. What I have learned is a priceless authentication of information that has helped my growth as an entrepreneur and will help develop the minds of future businessmen and women.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Decision was obvious

MBA - April 18, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Courses for MBA program exceed programming from other schools. Flexpath program aligns with business objectives to receive competent graduate-level performance. Each paper prepared takes a firm position about a topic, supported by relevant and timely printed resources. Professors' comments and mentoring of each paper prepares you to apply the concepts in life upon completion of each paper. The competency you develop will last many years into the future; you cannot ask for more value from a university. Tuition is affordable, facilitating payoff within 12-24 months.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Education

MBA - March 15, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've seen several bad reviews, and I must admit I'm a bit surprised. I earned both my BS and MBA with Capella, and am now enrolled in my Doctorate of Business Administration. The professors have been top notch, especially in the graduate and post graduate courses. Even more, they are usually well rounded in a career that helps bring a touch of the real world to the material. I've referred several students because I believe the quality of the education is quite high. That being said, it's a lot of work. If you're not willing to put in a lot of time, and really work, you won't make it through. If you lack self-motivation or need the face-to-face interaction of a traditional school, the Capella environment may not work for you. However, they have excellent support staff that have always been available when I needed them. I couldn't be happier with my choice to attend Capella.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 23 people found the following review helpful

FLEXPATH MBA - EXCELLENT!

MBA - February 22, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The FlexPath MBA program is for those who have a desire to put practical business knowledge to the test to see how it applies in an "MBA World". This program is designed in a self-paced format that allows you to excel based on your own capabilities. There are no timed courses; books to read; or, participatory events. It's just you and your work, evaluated independent of others. The beauty is the cost of the program is in your control based on what you can accomplish in a quarter. If you are excellent at accounting, then get it done quickly so you can spend time in areas that may not be your strength. I highly recommend this program for someone who is driven, disciplined and takes initiative. Every course is a set of problems that must be solved, very similar to the real world.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 24 people found the following review helpful

Self Directed Learning and Success

MBA - December 10, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Any online degree program can be unfairly scrutinized and criticized by anyone. this program challenged every ounce of brain I had and I put the effort in to get the A's I received. The most important and life changing part is the knowledge derived from this program. It is not the letters that have changed my life but what I have learned about the world and myself. I am proficient in business and have been promoted not because of this degree but because of knowledge intelligence and applicability. I am a proud 2015 Capella University Graduate and this is my second masters. I attended an institution prior to this that did not challenge me intellectually as Capella. You get in what you put in, and you can used everything learned to not only grow professionally, but personally.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 23 people found the following review helpful

For Profit, not for education

MBA - February 11, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was a learner at Capella in the MBA program. I took three classes and passed all (with As.) Now some people applaud my "As," but I tell everyone that EVERY STUDENT probably gets As. They are the easiest classes to complete and I feel I learned very little in the 3 classes I completed. When completing my last final paper, I barely put much gusto in it because I knew I’d still get an A. And to prove it, I did it without much work. Sure enough – I received an A. I have transferred to a more distinguished - REAL - school since then that I know will critique and grade appropriately. On another note, I also had issues with their financial aid department. On my third class, soon after the class was finished (and already paid for), I received a bill that I owed $1080. Because I receive partial education reimbursement from my employer, apparently now I owed them. It was never very clear why… even after I asked why this had never happened before. But that isn’t why I left. I left because I was embarrassed to call Capella my school when all they care about is money, not the quality of my education. I almost WISHED to get a B or even a C on an assignment just to have some real assessment of my work. Some people have said that maybe I’m just smarter than I think, but it is not the case in anyway. I have read reviews and have seen others bragging about their 4.0 status, but I should tell them now – don’t be proud. If Capella had a Honor’s system, every student would be on it. I work with two very intelligent men who are at two of the best brick-n-mortar schools in MN and they work incredibly hard to receive their As or even pass the class - up all night and studying every day. Capella doesn’t require this - it is maybe 5 hours a week working on assignments. But if you want an easy education – Capella is the school for you. I certainly was not proud to call Capella my school and I’m so happy I transferred out. If you want online, maybe University of Phoenix would be a better idea. But from now on, every person I talk to about schools will hear about my opinion of Capella. It is an embarrassment to higher education. Some good things about Capella: I don't blame the professors for the grading criteria. I have a feeling this is an institution thing. The Online Library - resources - is very impressive. To find academic resources was very easy and had a large inventory. I liked their iGuide as well. Technology was more than par.

Was this review helpful?

43 of 52 people found the following review helpful

For profit, not for education

MBA - October 28, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm towards the end of an MBA program. I had a couple of good professors, involved in class discussions. Most of them though just grade and have limited involvement. Most claim to be super accessible and give you their cell phone. If you call be ready to give them the course# because they have no idea who you are. They are grading a bunch of courses at the same time while also working on their main job. You are pretty much on your own. If you can handle it, some courses have good textbooks that you can study on your own and work on papers. I ran though into a couple courses without textbooks, just a few irrelevant articles, and zero involvement from the instructor. Paying $2,000 to get nothing in return is grand theft. What do you expect though, it's a for-profit university. They never said they were for-education. Once you're in they get you cornered, you pay till the end just to get the diploma hoping that it will not be worthless.

Was this review helpful?

34 of 38 people found the following review helpful

Great experience, every bit as good as my "traditional" campus experience!

MBA - November 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I particularly enjoy participating in the classroom discussions. I reveive individual and relevant feedback from my professor and classmates! Just like any school, some professors are more or less involved than others. It is their class to teach! The required readings are spot on and the writing assignments require research and thought. I will be exceedingly proud of my Capella MBA once I earn it.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Pleased with Capella

MBA - April 29, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As someone who is two classes from graduation with an MBA with a focus in IT Management, I can honestly say that this university is a good one. I first want to say that school is not meant to be hard. There will be "busy work" at any university. I can say with confidence that I have not had a bad experience. I received my bachelor's at a "traditional" university and I have pros and cons about that place as well. Not every professor will be great, you will see cons about the place you choose. My company helped me choose Capella. I am the first person to go to an online university at my company. I am the "test machine" for them :) They are VERY satisfied with the course content. It has NOT been easy to pass these courses. I have had to write a lot of papers and research a lot to help me get through these courses. THIS IS NORMAL. If it's hard for you, that's a good thing! This is an accredited university that our US government uses for their departments that is affiliated with Harvard University. I cannot imagine another university out there that is better than this. I am not affiliated with Capella in any way. Take this for what it's worth. I don't see any problems that some of these people who are bad mouthing the university are claiming. I am a hard working student who would easily recommend this university. Yes, their technology is second to none...but everyone is coming to that. Choose Capella because you see that it's the best for you. Take these comments with a grain of salt...yes, even mine.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 32 people found the following review helpful

Great if you want a high priced correspondence school...

MBA - October 13, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Nothing more than read the materials and answer questions in short paragraph form of small subsets of information (just to see if you read the material). Write a paper based on material and experience... Not impressed. Teachers are uninvoled and uninterested in helping you or seeing you succeed. They are looking for an easy paycheck at the expense of your education. I would not recommend this school for anyone! Beware, you get what you pay for, and the quality of the education will be revealed the first time you are asked to demonstrate your education.

Was this review helpful?

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful

Satisfied

MBA - November 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After reading a number of reviews, I feel it is fair to give everyone an actual idea of what they might be getting themselves into. Heads up, if you are not willing to go the extra mile do not take an online class. I completed my BS at a University where I got the classroom experience. In my opinion it is more difficult in an online environment because face it people, you have to teach yourself and make time to teach yourself. Yes there are tons of readings per week, yes there are discussions and replies you have to do, yes there are 15 page papers you have write. Reading through the reviews about how "I'm too busy to complete the requirements, this is a bad school blah blah" are all excuses by the individual. IF you pursue a degree you should know it's not going to be a cake walk, you will actually have to put some effort forth. Personally, I find this education to be more fulfilling then the classroom experience I had. Every teacher I had always got back to me immediately on any questions and actually helped when I needed it. I have 3 classes left and have found this school to be worth the time. Make the decision based on how busy your life is, because I'm here to tell you, you will have to put some time into your degree plan.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 16 people found the following review helpful

So far so good however........

MBA - August 18, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Some of the instructors have been very involved in the classroom and then there are a few that have not. Some instructors provide critical but helpful feedback and then there are some instructors that simply provide a grade.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Proud of my Capella MBA

MBA - March 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Education was superior to the highly regarded 'brick and mortar' school I went to for my Bachelor's. Professors were top notch and all had relevant experience. Courses were as challenging as you make them. Grading was relatively easy, although being a proficient writer helped. A lot of writing and discussions and it got 'old' after 10 courses, let alone 16. They only negative is explaining Capella every time someone asks were I got my MBA. Sometimes there is a perception about online schools that does not resonate well with most people. Many will question the validity, especially since 95% have never heard of Capella. At the end of the day, though, it is an accredited school and an MBA so who cares.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 9 people found the following review helpful

shady

MBA - February 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Shady school. Heavy recruiting. Education average. Regional accreditation is under scrutiny.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Capella was the right choice for me

MBA - January 5, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in the process of completing my MBA in Marketing and hands down, Capella was the best choice for me, as a fulltime working mom. My employer is very supportive of me purusing my degree and I was very impressed of how many Fortune 500 companies support and even reimburse tuition for their employees that attend Capella. I received my BS from a "traditional" brick and mortar school from a VERY reputable institution and can say I am just as proud to get my MBA from Capella. Good luck to all that pursue their dreams! AD/MBA Graduate, Spring 2010

Was this review helpful?

1 of 7 people found the following review helpful

You get what you put into it

MBA - August 8, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I think online schools should have much more media-rich content. Much of the work at Capella was reading textbook material, interacting with my classmates in newsgroup-like threaded discussions, and weekly projects. Traditional brick-and-mortar colleges provide textbooks, some class interaction, and weekly projects. You also get a lecture from the instructor. Capella provides a written lecture in PDF format every week; some courses have a video. In the MBA programs I was able to take advantage of their MBA Coaching service at no additional cost. Over the course of my degree program I met with my coach quarterly to discuss my professional & personal goals. For this service, I give Capella a gold star. The Career Center team was also excellent. They were responsive and knowledgeable. They provided seminars on how to use social networking tools in the job hunt, interviewing skills, and a few other topics. The Career Center also helped to map out a personalized career search strategy with me. Much better than my counselors from the brick-and-mortar schools I have attended. I have attended a few online courses from other colleges. In my time at Capella, I never had a day of system downtime. In my experience, they manage their technology operations well. They are accredited and sponsored by some major employers. I learned about their corporate alliances program because my employer was one of them - which gave me a tuition discount! During my time there I also built a number of valuable professional relationships with staff and classmates. I keep in frequent contact with about a dozen people. We help each other solve business problems in the real-world. Whether it is Marketing, Finance, or Human Resources, I know someone who is an expert in their field & willing to help me out because we attended Capella together. If I choose to go for my Doctorate degree, I would definitely choose Capella again. But with all these positive remarks, I have to say that the degree is only as good as the effort you put into it. If you go above-and-beyond, use all the resources that Capella offers, go out of the way to form relationships with your classmates, and study hard then you will get a lot of value from attending Capella.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Don't do it!

MBA - July 10, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

There are some fine instructors here, but there are also a lot of poor ones and a few that are truly a danger to society. The school knows about these bad ones but does nothing despite multiple calls, emails, and conference calls with the General Counsel. This place is cheap, but you get what you pay for. Don't do it

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Long Island University

MBA - December 22, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Before attending Capella I was attending Long Island University MBA program (stopped because I moved). LIU was a joke compared to Capella. Capella is more work, more intense and much harder. I also graduated from Cornell University.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Education

MBA - August 8, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I don't understand some of these reviews that say Capella was easy. I completed an MBA degree in Marketing a few months ago, all online, and I can tell you it was NOT easy! This is no diploma mill. I chose Capella because it is accredited and it does have a physical campus. In fact, a few people who were in some of my classes were also day students. The courses were at a rigorous pace, 6 weeks long. Although a few times I took a session off for a vacation. The classes are small, I think the most people in one of my classes was about 23, and you have constant communication with the instructor and the other students. In fact, discussions among students is required. Assignments were given on a weekly basis and grades were given very fast, usually within a day or two. I feel I received a really good education and was able to use a lot of it in my career. LK

Was this review helpful?

Learning Capella style

MBA - April 17, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am in the process of earning my MBA from Capella University and am very impressed with the program! Even though textbooks are used, real life experiences are applied to each class. Not only do you learn online but you also have the opportunity to learn more about the organziation you work for. You have to work hard to earn that A in class. I feel that I'm getting a good quality education. I sincerely believe that the folks leaving bad reviews of Capella have not tried hard enough and are disgruntled students who haven't made the grade. I just don't see anything wrong with Capella. The professors I have had so far have been very helpful and my advisor and other staff members I have contacted so far have been very nice and supportive.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Capella University in any way.