Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Capella University

  • Ranking: #39
    For-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: NCA

3.4
285 Reviews
5 112 
4 59 
3 24 
2 39 
1 51 
0 0 

Capella University Reviews:

Happy Doctoral Student

Counseling Education - April 19, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Capella has restored by faith in believing I am able to succeed. No matter the journey or the task, instructors are valuable to my learning abilities. I have been able to go beyond my expectations and continue to climb the latter. Capella University has set the bar high for my Counseling Education specialization. I truly believe I am better at processing information, writing, and research due to my time at Capella.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Prior PhD learner

Counseling Education - October 14, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm unhappy that I chose an institution that when it comes down to passing vs not-passing the comprehensive, you only get two attempts and then you are basically KICKED out of the program. Why only two attempts? Why not mandatory remedial classes after the 2nd attempt? Money wasted and transferred to a program that is not wanted. Will not refer anyone :(

Was this review helpful?

23 of 44 people found the following review helpful

Only for perfect lives

Counseling Education - August 7, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Capella is excellent if you have a perfect life. If you live a real life where things happen, you are up the creek. Despite the fact that their website promises to work with students in life emergencies, they do not. They have set policy and they do not bend no matter what. I had a death in the family the last week of my second internship. I asked for additional time. I was told I had until the next quarter to turn things in. Instead, when I was turning things in, the instructor had written a different date and given me an unsatisfactory. Said I had to repeat the quarter. Personally, this is a money issue in my opinion. I had excellent grades. I had already completed more than 1000 hrs of internship. I had excellent remarks from my onsite supervisor. Even my faculty adviser could not understand why the instructor was doing this. It all comes down to he said/she said and the student is never believed. They just don't care.

Was this review helpful?

22 of 30 people found the following review helpful

As good as it gets

Counseling Education - May 7, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The best school I have attended and that includes Northeastern University and BU. Attentive instructors, up to date courses, great feed back. I suggest that for those who gave this school a bad rating that it was way to difficult for them to graduate from.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 29 people found the following review helpful

Dont waste yor time

Counseling Education - June 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Go to real school before you waste your time and money with a business that cares nothing about your success. I have been at Capella for 3 and I wish every day that I did not chose this school. Beware and find a school where if you need to go there you can.

Was this review helpful?

27 of 35 people found the following review helpful

Excellent education

Counseling Education - August 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am presently writing my dissertation in my field of human services and am continuing to find the process fulfilling and expanding. My experience with the professors at Capella has been positive in most instances. Capella utilizes faculty from other colleges as adjunct teachers. I have had professors from Catholic U., U of PA, Berkley, etc., in addition to faculty specific to Capella. I am very satisfied and have grown a great deal from my time here.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Love Capella!

Counseling Education - October 5, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been with Capella for 5 years. I have had a wonderful experience with all my courses and with every professor. I love to work independently so online courses are for me. Whenever I needed help there was always a friendly and knowledgeable person ready to step in. I feel that I have literally "grown up" with Capella. The scholar practitioner model is perfect because I'm not just an "egghead" with lots of knowledge. I have knowledge and can apply it in my everyday life. I am just about down with my dissertation and will soon have my PhD. It's been a great journey.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Red Flag Warning

Counseling Education - January 8, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

BEWARE - This university does not have their act together to provide a valuable PhD program. They have a system of minimal connection between people and expectations. I will tell everyone I come into contact with that a PhD program needs to be one where you can interact with your dissertation committee. My mentor gives little or no consideration of me. My 80 page dissertation proposal cost me 20,000 in tuition. That is The cost of my dissertation proposal was 20,000. That is $250 per page. NOT worth it and not a value. Briefly, the program is designed to suck the money out of you and they could care less about you as an individual. Run Run Run Away

Was this review helpful?

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Capella University in any way.