Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Colorado Technical University

  • Colorado Technical University Reviews

    Ranking: #57
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA-HLC), The Higher Learning Commission

3.0
113 Reviews
5 26 
4 29 
3 16 
2 14 
1 28 
0 0 

Colorado Technical University Reviews:

CTU Online Review

BSBA-IT - June 23, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Hello, Im attending CTU, I have my ups and downs with this college. But coming from ITT-Tech well we can say i have had a lot of ups and downs. The reason i choosed this school was because it was like one of the only schools to accept my credits from ITT. The classes can be fun, if you joinm the live chats and talk to your teacher and classmates. I really dont read the books they offer. I feel like the classes are not even base off the books. Every class is 5 1/2 weeks long. Teachers, there all different and i have some i like and some i dont. Mostly the reason why I dont like some of the teachers is because they dont want to help you when you have problems. Its a online class, so its not i can grab my things and jump to colorado to get help. But for the most part, most of the teachers works with you and helps you get credit. If they see you on the right path and headed to the right place, they will help you get there. Degree part of this comment. DEGREES are nothing really when it comes to finding a job. Yea people like to work in there field of study. well they probably not a lot of people. A degree just tells the interview you can start something and finsih it. It cost a lot of money, and by the time i graduate from this school, i will be so broke, I will be paying my student loans off tell im dead. I already owe 47,000 dollars. that was attending a 2 year program at ITT-tech and now but not finished CTU. Even tho we are online, we use lot of technology, lot more than ITT and that was hands on. Programming classes has been fun, sql server class hated it, couldnt get the program to work and took me to take the class twice before anything happen. I would say the best thing this program and school, has tought me. Is that you got to GO OUT and FIND THE WORK, the teacher is not going to tell you. RESEARCH and more RESEARCH, GOOGLE IS YOUR FRIEND!!!!!!!!! I seen where a lot of people was like the teachers want help and they just read books on the live chats, bull shit.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Read the review by Mikepettinato; I agree with him 100%

BSBA-IT - October 19, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I you read the review by Mikepettinato he essentially sums up the entire experience at CTU Online. I have spent the last 3+ years there finishing my BSBA in IT and I am just finishing. Honestly I only went to the school originally to get that piece of worthless paper nothing more. While I found a few great instructors most of them are horrible teachers. Many of the teachers are PH D level who seem to think they are better than the rest of us and never really teach or offer help. Like Mike said in his review they simply read a script and rarely respond to email. Some of the foreign national teachers, while being PH D's, communicate and speak horribly and really make the classes difficult. I am not at all trying to be racist here they simply speak very poorly and this will frustrate anyone paying big money for an education. Many of these teachers hold outside jobs so perhaps that is why their teaching ability is incredibly poor. Having a PH D really means nothing more than having someone over scrutinize you because they spent the last 6 or so years going through agony and want to hand that down to you. As Mike also said the discussion boards are completely useless and a waste of time. All you will be doing is cranking out paper after paper after paper and the monotony will kill you as it did me. Student interaction is weak at best and it seems that many students have a very low writing and grammar level. I'm not sure why that is but it becomes clear after a few classes. The group projects, which they enacted in 2012, are the saddest attempt yet at getting online students working together. It is so pathetically laughable that I cringe whenever an instructor mentions a group project in the class. The live chats are also a joke. As I mentioned instructors read off their mandatory 1 hour script to meet their quota and that's about it. Asking questions and extending their hour usually gets you pushed off to "please email me" and the typical runaround. I'm not sure what these instructors make but my guess is that it's not enough or it's way too much. I'd hate to think we pay these PH D idiots that have no teaching ability big money because they have the piece of paper. Honestly the whole college system really is a joke but that's a whole other story. Lastly, CTU is a business and their tactics are completely marketing oriented. They are pushy and want to get you started right away with little information. Can you blame them? No but honestly if you were all about students this process would be a lot different. The money machine that is CTU also keeps upping tuition costs every year. Where is that money going? You begin to wonder after a while. Most of the college is run by call centers too. Another testament to the money machine mentality. As noted in other posts here that financial aid is definitely pushy and will purposely misinform you in order to keep the money flowing. Don't let them bully you if you do go here and demand whatever it is that you need and never listen to their b.s. about how you are putting a big dent in your education. Again more scripting here. An additional note is books. Everything is ebook based and they are only accessible via Words of Wisdom's website. I cannot stand electronic books and these things are so locked down you cannot export them to anything like a kindle or ebook reader and you are on your own if you want the physical copy. Be prepared to spend more money. In closing if I could do it over again I would steer far, far away from CTU. The greed that is hidden below the surface and extremely subpar learning environment is nothing short of dismal. I will give CTU one gold star however. The fact that they do live chats is the biggest thing they do that many other schools never did. This may be changing but it is what drove me here in the first place. Regardless they have so much work to do to improve that it is futile to consider attending here. My advice is to do your research and only seek CTU as a last resort. If you want to actually learn there are institutions out there that actually know how to teach. Your local community college will give you a higher quality education than the CTU money machine.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Gateway to Greatness for me!!!

BSBA-IT - March 31, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started my journey with CTUO back in 2004. I had taken a few classes with Columbia Southern University when I found it it was not a regionally accredited school. I contacted CTUO based on some advice I had received from the Captain I was working for at the time. He went to school at CTUO when he was enlisted and after completing his degree he applied for his commission. If the Air Force accepts a degree from CTUO for officers to be commissioned then it must be a good school. I contaced an advisor and she had me have all of my transcripts sent in and to my surprise they accepted many of the courses and life experience credits I sent in. I was in the Air Force before and had 3 different career fields. I ended up only needing 20 classes to complete my degree program. I expected the classes to be easy but they were not. Columbia Southern had multiple choice tests that were open book. CTUO classes are project based learning and you must complete 10-12 assignments per course. These can be anything from papers to Powerpoint projects. Of course if you are taking 2 courses per term, which most people do, you are going to be knocking out 20-24 assignments in a 5 week period. I went TDY to another location during my 5th and 6th classes and even though I sent an email to my advisor explaining I needed to drop the courses they kept me enrolled. After 4 months I went back and found out they had given me failing grades in those courses for 3 straight terms and I had been dismissed from school. I was disgusted and decided to just quit. Last year (May 2012) during my review my boss asked me how close I was to completing a degree and I explained what had happened. He told me to just email them and fix it. He then told me they were looking at me for a promotion but the job they had in mind required me to have a degree. So, I called my advisor and explained the situation. She said she would try to fix the situation. About a week later I recieved an email saying I was going to be allowed back into the program and I actually only needed to take 14 more classes. So I go back into the program. Here I sit, a little over a month away from graduation, thinking about what to do next. I recieved the promotion my boss told me about because of the progress I have made in the past year. They know I will be graduating in May and decided to promote me early. I have decided that I will continue my education and begin the MBA program as soon as I finish the BSBA. I believe people think they are going to be given a degree for only a small amount of work and this is not the case. I have busted my butt over the last year to get this program finished and I am proud to say I did it at CTUO. It was the best option for me and I got a promotion and a 20% raise out of it. Even though I had a bad experience at first I won't allow that to determine what I think about CTU. It has been a gateway to greatness for me!!! Roy G

Was this review helpful?

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Disappointed

BSBA-IT - October 11, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I feel really bad reading all these absolutely horrible reviews. I am going on my second year at CTU and I find it very rewarding. Do not misunderstand me, I have had my fair share of pain. However that is with ANY university you attend. I have been to a brick and mortar college as well and honestly it is what you make it. If you want to complain and make things miserable for yourself you WILL fail. I have even had occasions where my instructor gave me someone elses "F" when I actually had an "A" on assignments. I did not rant or rave I simply emailed them and asked them to look over my assignment once more and was given the proper grade. I have had many ups and downs at CTUO but that does not make it a horrible school. I am disappointed that so many people are having a hard time there. I have had a rough time but it's been more good than bad in my experience. If you want to make it at CTUO you have to put in the effort. Earning your degree is a long bumpy road. If there were no challenges you would wonder if it was even worth getting a degree. I am sorry to hear about the disheartened here, but you have to find a way to turn your negative into a positive or you will never get ahead. No matter what school you go to if you have a bad attitude the bad experience cloud will follow you.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 20 people found the following review helpful

this is school, not Job placement

BSBA-IT - August 14, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been at CTU for about 6 months. I already have a job and am working to make myself more marketable. Yes, the material is rushed. That's the point, I am working on knocking out a BSIT in 2 years! You're paying for the expedited schedule, and ability to attend live/recorded classes. Don't go to ANY school thinking just because you graduate that you'll get a job. That's not how the world works ;)

Was this review helpful?

15 of 22 people found the following review helpful

Run...go somewhere else..

BSBA-IT - April 25, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Go elsewhere. I attended CTU online and graduated Magna Cum Laude with a BSBA in IT. While attending this school for a year and a half, I don't think I ever read the books. The courses are crammed into 51/2 weeks (as opposed to 12) and every subject has at least one group project where you have that one person who doesn't do anything or surprisingly shows up at the last minute to do the bare minimum and expect full credit. The professors are a joke too...I had several who never bother attending their own live chat sessions and would constantly reschedule. For the amount of money your paying for your education, you should be getting the most out of it, not learning the bare minimum and having to "google" every subject to learn about it. The last straw was that I was enrolled for my Masters degree in software engineering and one week before the class was to start, the admissions counselor calls me to tell me that I needed to take advance math courses and that I couldn't attend the software engineering program. Ughhh...do yourself a favor and find an online university that actually takes the time to teach the students. I found one where the online course is the same as what the traditional students take in the same time frame. I'm learning more now than what I ever did from this place.

Was this review helpful?

41 of 48 people found the following review helpful

Scary Experience turned Perfect!

BSBA-IT - January 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I begin attending CTU in 2010 I pursued an Associate's Degree in Business Administration. I graduated September 2011. I am currently working on my Bachelor's in Health Administration. Since, I am already employed, I cannot say that having this degree has helped me with obtaining employment. It did help me get a $2.50 raise!!! The one thing I will say is, that I believe once you know how a program operates, you know how to deal with the people involved. In my associates program I had a baby and had to repeat two of my classes, while I was out I received a student stipend, Once I was aware that I would have to repeat my classes I asked financial aid did I have enough student loans and pell grant to cover my classes, I was told yes, but upon beginning to complete the classes I noticed that I had a balance of $2100. Its a long story and eventually it all worked out, but the lesson for this story would be, when speaking with financial aid write down everything. So another situation happened recently and because I wrote everything down, I was not in the dark and knew exactly what was going on in regards to my account. So best wishes to anyone who decides to attend the school. I give them a overally 9 because no one is perfect, but they are pretty close.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful

CTU has a great program BSBA-IT

BSBA-IT - November 1, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have attended " Brick and Mortar" school, I pursued B.S.E.E @ The George Washington University. I did not finish due to family commitments ( maintained 3.65 GPA) and other demands. However, I was just as well challenged by CTU's program as I was with GWU. In fact I found that the discipline needed to complete the work was arduous but yet fulfilling. I have used some part of my education on a daily basis. I highly recommend CTU to any student for which the flexibility is a necessity. My career has benefited greatly form the degree. I repeat the program all over again. - CTU Grad ( Cum Laude GPA 3.69)

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Look elsewhere

BSBA-IT - August 11, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Do not attend this school if you want a job. I want to know what their actual percentage of people that get hired with their degrees are. I spent $20,000 at this school and all I got was a pretty piece of paper! I have been laid off for almost two years. I graduated in May of 2010 and I have had no calls for interviews. I am actually looking into spending more money on a real school so I can actually get a job! Look elsewhere. It is too expensive and it is not worth it. If I had a job, yes it would be worth it but the degree you get is not recognized by employers.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 19 people found the following review helpful

BSBA-IT Degree Completed

BSBA-IT - March 1, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended CTU for a year and a half, graduating in 2008 with a BSBA-IT degree. I had attended one other on-line degree University two years before starting this one, and had been completly unimpressed, so I was very thorough in checking this one out. My initial classes proved irksome, mostly because I was unfamiliar with the procedures and the two initial professors were a wrong choice for new students: non-communicative, poor people skills. After that, however, I became more familiar with the medium and impressed with the quality of the instructors. The level of support is very good - many resources to choose from. Immediately upon graduation I received a healthy wage increase at my place of business, where I am a Director of I.T. Overall, this can be a good experience, but as with anything else, you get out of it what you are willing to put in.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

CTU was a good choice for me

BSBA-IT - June 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CTU was an excellent choice for me. I found the material challenging and the staff well prepared to teach. Studying online is not for everyone because one has to be very dedicated and disciplined. They are accredited and really prepare you for the business world. I graduate next year with a BSBA-IT, but even when I got my Associates of Scienc, I got a job earning $38,900.00 which is not a fortune, but with just an Associates Degree, I think that it is a very good start, plus it got my foot in the door of a very good company. No school is perfect; there are Harvard MBA holders that are unemployed. If you are dedicated, disciplined and focused, it will work for you too.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Think Again if you want a company to hire you.

BSBA-IT - May 11, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I fell for the scam and was sucked into this school. Right after I finished my degree I wanted to get an IT job and several fortune 500 companies told me straight out that this school isn't well respected and good look getting an IT Job. At this point i figured I would go to my local university to get a graduate degree and well my credits would not transfer. If you want your resume to stay out of the garbage when you send it in don't apply or go here. Their sister school recently had some legal problems almost loosing their accreditation and was cited for unethical business practices. I would be very weary because I have to start over again with my school and it looks like they maybe next.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Excellent

BSBA-IT - November 15, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For Mr. Beware, I'll advise you that I do not work for CTU and if you had trouble with admissions then clearly you had difficulties understanding the process. My experience so far is admissions went smooth, yeah the counselor called often to make sure I was completing my admissions tasks. I'm now 50 credits in and I am enjoying my learning experience. The material for classes is superior and the curriculum is challenging, yet fun. I would recommend this school to anyone, even the brick and mortars because CTU is a brick and mortar school offering online degree programs.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Challenging

BSBA-IT - November 8, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CTU has a very rigorous program. I liked the challenges that were thrown my way at this school. I've excelled to the best of my ability. However, I do think that they're very expensive. What college isn't now a days, though?

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Colorado Technical University in any way.