Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Colorado Technical University

  • Colorado Technical University Reviews

    Ranking: #57
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA-HLC), The Higher Learning Commission

3.0
113 Reviews
5 26 
4 29 
3 16 
2 14 
1 28 
0 0 

Colorado Technical University Reviews:

CTU Online - Second time online learning experience

BSBA - May 24, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm only in my second semester, but as a learner who has struggled with online platforms in the past, I am finding Colorado Technical University Online to be a blessing to me and my pace. I love the one on one with the professors, the camaraderie and connections with peers and the patience achieved through the online platform. I have 13 Fast Track courses that will allow me to graduate early as long as I pass them and my success coach gives me peace of mind in keeping me up to date and making sure I am comfortable with the process. I highly recommend CTU for advanced learning!!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Those crying foul want free money so, beware the lamentations.

BSBA - January 20, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in 2010 with a BSBA concentration in Project Management. I was earning ~65k a year at the time as a service technician. I used the degree and my past experience (military 9 years) to secure a new position that I would not have been qualified for without my degree. My income increased 23%. Three years later I was fortunate to have another opportunity to move to a booming biotech and become the energy manager for the company. Again my degree was cited as a prerequisite and the degree I earned at CTU was accepted without any issue. My income increased again by 12.5%. My income has increased significantly since then. I am now enrolled in New York Institute of Technology in their Energy Management MS program. I was accepted into the Environmental Science & Engineering program at Harvard and determined that the cost was too high. They accepted my CTU degree as a proper prerequisite. The success or lack there of regarding those who are complaining or calling this college a scam is not on CTU. It rests squarely on the shoulders of those who are complaining. If you read their complaints closely you will see common indicators such as: "my professors didn't or wouldn't _________(insert excuse here), or I didn't complete because _________(insert excuse), or CTU promised me THEY would get me a job but THEY failed me (of course it has nothing to do with your interviewing skills, unwillingness to relocate, lack of experience in your field, etc.). Is CTU Ohio State or Notre Dame or Princeton or MIT? Uh, no and anyone who thinks that a CTU degree should have the weight of a large/super-well respected household institution is an idiot. Is the degree meaningful and will it meet the requirements of most HR departments? Absolutely. My advice to you who are reading is turn a deaf ear to the whiners or if you are one, stop whining. It's a you problem not a CTU problem. An objective look in the mirror will do wonders for your future.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Medium Quality, High Cost, Worthless Degree

BSBA - June 27, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my BSBA in June 2012. CTU is a low to medium quality school. I say low because many professors practically give you the answer when pressed. This as you know will not benefit any student. Medium because there are several professors that will not give you an easy pass. I can proudly say that I truly earned my degree. I researched, studied, and read all assignments and submitted college level work. A professor for my Business Law class actually believed I was a practicing attorney, how I don't know. I'm mean here I am earning my bachelor's and he's thinking I'm an attorney. Go figure. The school cost is outrageous for the quality of instructors and the value of the degree earned. While I can appreciate the work they put into the Virtual Campus and hiring 'some' quality instructors, they have A LOT of room for improvement. Although I feel I truly accomplished something earning my degree, it's what employers think that really matters. And sadly, for the time being, employers will not take you serious if you earned a degree from a mediocre school like CTU or even UOP or any other for-profit, highly advertised school which has recently seen legal problems with stiffing students for their financial aid. Not to mention hounding students until they sign-up and are able to squeeze as much FA from them. Don't misinterpret my comments. A lot can be learned if you truly apply yourself but at this point in time, a CTU degree is not really respected when all of these items are put together. A student would be better off going to another more reputable school that employers are likely to respect much more.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 19 people found the following review helpful

CTU - you get out of it what you put into it- a great school

BSBA - March 19, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CTU is an awesome school. I have been attending since the middle of 2010. I received my Associate of Science and am now wrapping up classes to get my Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice on 5-15-12. This is not a cake-walk. You have to put a lot of work into getting a good grade. I have a 3.95 GPA and have worked very hard to get it. Believe me, this is not a diploma mill! ALL of my instructors work in the field they taught, and all were great at giving feedback, help, and answered emailed questions within 24 hours. Their Criminal Justice programs are top-notch!

Was this review helpful?

19 of 31 people found the following review helpful

Will give you no credit for prior education/experience or certifications

BSBA - March 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

As I was researching schools for a graduate degree in Information Systems Security I came across CTU online. I was told by the recruiter at CTU that I would receive credit for prior learning, and experience. The classes looked interesting and the online school was tied to a brick and mortar school. In addition it was an NSA Center of Excellence. So I believed the recruiter and came on board with CTU. I had my graduate transcripts from George Washington University sent to CTU only to learn they could not give me any credit for them because they were 5 years old. Then they told me to write up descriptions for my certifications. If the descriptions matched to some of the course material, I could get credit for those courses. Since I knew several of my certifications would map to the course material, I gladly wrote up the descriptions. I have the following certifications: CISM OCSP CNSS 4015 CNSS 4012 CNSS 4011 NSA IAM FQ Navy Validator After I pulled together those descriptions and sent them, I was told they can't give me credit for any of them because I am at the Graduate level and they only give credit for professional certifications at the undergraduate level (funny how Western Governors seems to have no problem with this)! Then they told me to send my resume and a write up of my experience and references. Determined to get credit for the many years of work and study I have in the field of information security, I put that package together only to then hear again, I can't get credit for any of that at the graduate level - they only do that at the undergraduate level! For CTU, it was clearly about the money. Had I known CTU would give me no credit for anything I'd done, I would not have gone to CTU. So, to make a long story short, they lied . In the mean time, I took the Operating Systems security class, which was taught by someone who barely had an understanding of information security. Since he had no clue about OS security all he taught was security policy and management. Next came network security, and that was taught by an instructor I had for systems engineering. He knew systems engineering but was out of his element with network security. It was painful to watch him stumble through it! Then there was an instructor who's slides and English looked like it came from a 12th grader. Obviously I was too far in to get out. So, I stuck it out. In my very last class, they tortured us again with these ridiculous group assignments (have you ever tried to work in a group with people who are all full time employed, living in different time zones? It doesn't work out too well). There were four of us in the group. One person dropped out. The instructor then told the rest of us in an email that we had to make up the missing student's work! So, not only do I not get credit for work and experience and certifications, but I also get to now do work that some other student was supposed to do! That was jut adding insult to injury! I called student advising and complained and I was told it is the instructor's discretion. How can this be? If CTU is going to play money hard ball with students, then we are definitely customers and need to be treated equally. To me that means if someone in another group writes one paper and has a shot at the same grade, I should not be asked to write two for the same grade! In addition, given that I am a Navy Veteran and have been working and leading teams for the pat 13 years, I think I've had my fair share of experience in terms of picking up the slack for someone else. CTU does not need to try to teach me that lesson either. So, in all – if this ends up being the case that the only way I can maintain my GPA is by taking on another student's work, then the complaint may end up being a bit more than just a complaint. It is bad enough that I was lied to during the recruiting effort. But to not get credit for prior learning as promised only to then be saddled with doing another student's work is really adding insult to injury.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Top Dollar Low Quality

BSBA - March 5, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a summa cum laude graduate of CTU online. I also have an accounting degree from Indiana University (brick and mortar). The quality of instructor was absolutely unacceptable. In fact in three different courses the instructor attended the first class and never during the duration of the class appeared again. Never!! Assignments were completed, submitted and finally in the last week of the course graded. Many of my classmates, myself included, filed formal complaints with CTU to no avail - or reduction in tuition - or an offer to take the class with an instructor that might hopefully show up! CTU cares about one thing - shoving the student thru the program and getting their money. In yet another instance the instructor ceased to teach a class in diversity when we asked for information that related to workplace diversity for other than African Americans. The instructor would simply sign in to the classroom, give the assignment submission deadline and sign out of the classroom. Again our complaints to CTU fell on deaf ears. Both complaints were escalated to the level of Wallace Pond - CEO of CTU at the time - with absolutely no response from CTU. I would assess that 20% of my instructors were very knowledgeable in their field and excellent in terms of their ability to communicate and respond effectively. I agree with other posts that the quality of education at CTU received is largely dependent on the effort put into it but unfortunately I think I paid and for a quality education and received a second rate correspondence school degree. By the way, I am very gainfully employed thanks in large part to my degree from Indiana University.

Was this review helpful?

19 of 23 people found the following review helpful

CTU Experience

BSBA - February 7, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CTU is a good option for the mature student but is not for a student just beginning their college experience. If you are self motivated and have the focus to stay on schedule then you will do well. The cost of tuition is not competitive unless you already have most core classes done and you go there based on the fact you can graduate quickly. I completed about 5 semesters worth of classes in 17 months which is what I needed to make it into the graduate program at a local brick and mortar university. The coursework wasn't excessive and was comparable with the state university I began with.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Medical Billing and Coding

BSBA - January 24, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If any one writes a great review for Colorado Technical University has to work here. Every one of my classmated including myself felt like we were lied to from the beining and do not feel we got a very good eduacation. I will admit I had a bout 3 instructors who where awesome but the rest good luck. Not only did they not answer there email but did not teach anything in class. As for coding, my first instructor who taught me the ICD-9 coding was one of the most incredible teachers and with out her giving me a good foundation in the beginning I would never learned how to code and from there it got worse. Honestly myself and another student figured out how to code the CPT and HCPCS and how to assign the DRG and the APC's so we started having Sype session to help our classmates out. This college is a JOKE and now I have to pay for teaching myself. I am now enrolled in some AHIMA classes just so I can pass my cerification exams. I graduted with highest honors but big deal I have to pay for teaching myself and it really upsets me greatly And they also signed me up for a bachelors degree and also tried to get me to sign into one of the classes. If I would have I would have been stuck with about 30,000 more in fees. Please do not attend this place you will not learn a thing and a majority of the instructors ignore you or do not know what they are talking about. As proof that the instructors are bogus A friend of mine and I had in a coding assignment with totally different answers and we both got a 100% or a A and a What a great job you did, keep up the good work Go figure this place is bogus So I am taking 3 months off of work so I "TEACH' myself from real books from AHIMA so I can get a job working a coder in which I totally love I just wish CTU would have live up to there promise IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING GOING TO THIS COLLEGE PLEASE LOOK ELSE WHERE SO YOU CAN GET THE EDUCATION YOU DESERVE You can also email me at geniaginevan@gmail.com and the best in your college hunt There really are some great ones out there just so your research

Was this review helpful?

15 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Bad Financial Experience

BSBA - October 17, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Originally starting out this school offered everything that i needed to complete my BS. After 4 classes I realized that the institution was not receiveing payments for my classes. When I started to make arrangements to take care of the tutition the schools finance department was very rude and did not care to really assist me. I was dealling with different people each time I called. To me the school is all about the money and not your education. Long story short for a great academic experience always pay on time. There is so much more but not enough time.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Inflated costs, not accredited

BSBA - October 8, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Worst thing ever! I cannot finish, I'm left with 40k in debt. They forced me to make monthly payments towards the debt while attending. They are not accredited and you cannot transfer out, because they are not accredited. No one will accept their so called courses. I should have been smarter and just attended a community colleges online classes for 1/8th the cost. Rip OFF!!!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 23 people found the following review helpful

CTU on line the worst educational experience of my life

BSBA - September 10, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Wow so many bad things to say about my experience at CTU. I realized after six months of attending CTU on-line that is a scam. These people should be ashamed of themselves for wasting tax payer money. I have found a newspaper article that anyone planning on attending any of these ridiculous on-line schools like CTU, ITT Tech, Westwood College or university of Phoenix, ECT... should read. It is titled In Hard Times Lured into Trade School and Debt. By: Peter S. Goodman. The New York Times, March 15, 2010. This article explains exactly what these types of phony schools are up to. I found CTU On-Line to be a miserable experience. The on-line class environment is a joke. All the instructors do is read you a book over the internet. Listening to the instructors just read you a book over the Internet was intolerable and boring. The instructors would never answer any questions, saying that they had to finish reading the required material in these live chats ("class sessions"). The assignments that some of the instructors posted were stolen from other schools internet sites word for word. I found this out by googling the key words of assignments and found the exact same words for assignments on other schools web sites. The instructors say you can e-mail them for help "since you can’t ask questions during the live chats”, but good luck getting a timely response. Most live on-line chat sessions I attended at this "school" had very few participants; maybe three out of forty people participated on average. The chats are recorded but that's even more intolerable and boring than listening to the live sessions. The instructors would have you grade and comment on other student’s papers. This was a joke because most of the papers sucked and I didn’t want to be the one to tell these people they had no clue what they were writing about. Most of the student responses would only be a few sentences like, nice work on your paper I found it interesting. This really was not helpful at all and a complete waste of time. The instructor’s comments for grades were basically the same, consisting of only a few sentences that really didn’t help me learn anything at all or correct my mistakes or clear up any confusing material. Most of the time the instructors would use the cop out that you can find everything you need on the internet, what a joke. They (CTU) have this thing called group assignments were you team up with others from all over the country to do assignments together. This never worked because of different schedules and time zones. I was the only one most of the time that would even try to get the group to work together. It never did go very well though. The APA style writing they push on you was a joke too. Every instructor had different interpretations of what APA was and nobody I talked to or even myself ever had much luck writing "correct" APA format. I was getting A's and helping other students out with programming concepts and Java code writing. If you attend this school you had better love sitting in front of the computer forever. The college algebra class came and myself and allot of other students were struggling and trying to find help, but there was none. I was spending 30 hours a week doing all these things and feeling like I was wasting my time and money. I learned more about computers from my own studies than the classes provided. Most students in my classes were so lost that I spent most of my time trying to help them make sense of the garbage the school was presenting. I really think that you should choose a school carefully and ones that advertise on the TV or radio usually aren't very good. I got out after $9000.00 in total charges after like six months and six worthless classes. I would have been better off investing that money in any other way rather than trying CTU. The admissions people are quite the sales talkers. They called me constantly for two weeks straight to get me to pay the $50 application fee and start my FASFA papers so they could get paid as soon as possible. What a joke that school will pass anyone through the courses so they can collect the easy money their stealing from government loans. I think people should attend a class room based school with hands on training. That's really the only realistic way to go. Who wants a bunch of Internet trained cops, engineers or doctors working with them, I know I wouldn’t. I would advise you to ask the HR department of a place you would like to work were they have their employees trained and go to those classes. I have taken company sponsored classes that got me certificates that increased my pay and value to the companies I was working for. Hope this helps and good luck in your search for a school I believe this school will accept anyone for their programs just to collect the easy money from the government loans they are stealing from. The fifty dollar application fee is just feel good tactic. Anyone who applies to this school will be accepted. Seriously DONT ATTEND THIS SCHOOL, YOU WILL JUST END UP IN BIG TIME DEBT WITH NO SKILLS TO PAY THE BILLS. Now I’m so mad because I was a MORON for believing this "school" was going to improve my education and job options. DONT GET SUCKERED IN LIKE I DID, I KNOW I WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER OFF INVESTING THAT MONEY IN ANY OTHER WAY. My E-mail is tipton.chad@yahoo.com and if you want more explanation of what I experienced I would be happy to save you from the worst (AND MOST COSTLY) decision of your life, attending Colorado Technical University On-line. The grade I would give CTU on-line is 50% or an F.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 19 people found the following review helpful

RIP OFF

BSBA - September 1, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This is possibly the worst idea I have ever had. They basically lied about how much my tuition was going to be and how long I would be enrolled for. My tuition is some 4000 dollars each term and I was told it should be more than 2000 or so on the initial interview. Most of my financial aid and loans go into paying this and I am left with basically nothing. Besides my qualms with their financial aid department not answering the phone most of the time the Instructors are absolutely TERRIBLE. I often have to turn to researching the internet and learning what to do over the Instructors teaching because they are horrible and don't seem to care at all. I can't believe this institution is in business and get's away with ripping people off like this. AVOID.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 21 people found the following review helpful

High Pressure Beware!

BSBA - June 30, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CTU is a very high pressure group of sales people. Right from my first contact inquiring about online college in Feb.- I was overwhelmed with lengthy phone calls, emails, told "I need you to "log-on" Go here, click there, fill this out, complete this, etc. If I didn't respond right away or said I want to hold off, they'd pass me off to the next person up the line for further convincing. Classes were to start mid-May. A month prior I tried to back out; I was very hesitant and concerned about cost. I did not qualify for a loan or grant. Pushed again and assured I'd have zero out of pocket cost, they moved forward. I was told I could withdraw at any time up to and within the first 7 days of class (disclaimer omitted). By May I was deeply involved in a family situation consuming my time and money. I was stressed and just wanted to withdraw and couldn't get the point across that I had reconsidered and just needed to hold off. Overall I tried three times telling three different advisors, the last attempt was 4 days before the "deadline" by email and voice mail, which wasn't received. Yet again pressured and now on day 8 of the first session ..."give it a chance, everyone is nervous at first" and "I've worked so hard for you" to "Just log in and I'll help you complete your assignments - I can even do it for you" and so on. Still trying not to be rude and after being pushed - I did agree to log in and do assignment 1. I had literally only posted one introductory message about myself, even then saying I wasn't feeling ready (got an A and more coaxing). Beware...a month after I finally got the advisor to understand I wanted out and was done - all of a sudden the collections dept.calls and rudely tries collecting several hundred dollars, due immediately, but with no prior notice. I learned the hard way that somewhere in those tasks and forms they had me "checking off" online, apparently I signed off on something that said I’d be charged each time I "log-on" to the students website. No wonder every call was all about "can you go online"? You'll want to have serious control with this group. Don't cave, be prepared, and of course, read the fine print!

Was this review helpful?

19 of 23 people found the following review helpful

BSBA - Project Management

BSBA - February 26, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

It's funny how some people have sought to downgrade CTU's program and delivery methods. I've attended both state and local colleges and as a working adult, the CTU program has allowed me to finish my education (2 months to go). I have found it to be totally legitimate - as evidenced by the many evenings and weekends I've spent hunched over my keyboard working on assignments. I would do this again and would recommend the BSBA to anyone interested in online schooling. I will admit that a few of the courses could use a little work but overall, I've had some very good instructors and have learned much over the past 28 months.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Great Choice for the Employed

BSBA - September 6, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My name is Richard Thomas. I have a promising career as a software analyst for a major software development company and I am also a former U.S. Marine (89-93) and Soldier(95-03). Coloardo Technical University Online has been a great school for me because it fits in to my very busy schedule where I balance a full time job, my family life as a husband and father of 5, and school. My job requires me to travel almost every month and CTU Online allows me to carry the school with me. I've never had a problem getting my assignments in on time but the Professors are very understanding (within reason) on turning in late assignments. I have taken several correspondence courses and online college courses while serving in the military and I have to say that CTU is by far the best that I have been associated with. Their live chats are like sitting in a brick and mortar classroom and the Professors are very helpful. The use of tutors and their learning labs also are very helpful in learning the information. I have always had good, positive communication with the professors as well. Small group assignments help the students learn the skills necessary to work as a team in the "real world". The level of instruction is also top notch. There have only been one or two classes that I felt I was not challenged. Most of the classes are very useful and geared towards work related skills rather than just useless book knowledge that so many schools teach. On the negative side, the University is a business and they have used a lot of pressure sales tactics to get me to commit to classes and programs that I did not want to take. My advise is to stick to your guns and make sure you are taking what you want to take. It may take longer to get setup, but it is your education not theirs. The financial aide department is also very frustrating at times. However, so are most other schools financial aide departments. My Niece is enrolled at the University of Florida and she is equally frustrtated with their financial aide department. The important thing to remember is that all schools are in the business to make money. They have to be in order to stay in business. Regardless of whether you attend CTU or not, keep that in mind. You will have times you are very dissapointed and you will have times that you are extrememly happy at any school, or in life for that matter. For me CTU fits exactly what I needed. I earned my Associates degree in March of 2010 and am currently enrolled in the B.S.B.A. program and I am very happy with the school. CTU provides great instruction with relavant information and I can take it with me where ever I go. Although there are times when I get frustrtated, I am over all extrememly happy with this institution.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Choice!

BSBA - May 18, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CTU was a great choice for me to earn my BSBA with a Concentration in Marketing. I am a month away from graduating and I have already applied the knowledge and skills I have learned in my current work. CTU enabled me to develop better marketing plans and focus on strategic marketing techniques. Although it was not easy getting mostly A's, I managed to maintain my GPA at above 3.8. CTU will help any professional who is serious about obtaining their degree, but under time constraints to travel to a location with a quality education they can immediately use to impact their work. Having my degree is a great feeling of accomplishment!

Was this review helpful?

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Scam

BSBA - July 22, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school ripped me off, they won't give me my transcript so I can move on. All I have is a debt worth more than a brand new car. I can't go anywhere and finsih out, I only need 26 more hours to my Bachlors and can't get it due to CTU! Thanks alot!!! I'm stuck and fear I have no where to go but beauty school? If I can even get into that. Get out while YOU CAN!!!!!!SCAM SCAM SCAM!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?

8 of 12 people found the following review helpful

CTU=BAD

BSBA - May 26, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is a joke...My wife attended this school and has nothing to show for it, But a $12,000 Debt for my family, Thanks alot CTU. This school is not even reconized as an accredited school in Medical Billing. Get out why you can. Anyone who knows how to report this school e-mail me @ area51scd@yahoo.com We are contacting a lawyer right now on this sitution.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful

DON'T!

BSBA - May 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After 4 months they still had not received & evaluated all of my transcripts. I was always pushed off to someone else and became their problem - even though I paid inflated tuition rates for CTU to handle all of this administrative stuff for me. While instructors were good and material was relevant, the ADMINISTRATION side of this school was horrible...I "fought" with them nearly every day to get my admissions information completed. I just couldn't keep fighting with them for the duration of degree completion...so I dropped out.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Buyer Beware

BSBA - April 25, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

At first I thought Colorado Technical University Online was a great school. It appears that my rash judgment was incorrect. I was working on my Associates Degree, two courses away from graduation with a GPA of 3.21. I was dismissed from the university for a slow rate of progress. I never heard of such a thing. Aren't adult education programs supposed to be geared for working people to get their degree at their own pace? Well, that is what I have always been told. So if you are planning on going to CTU, read the policy manual. It might help you decide if you are doing the right thing by selecting CTU!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Do Not Waste Your Money Or Your Time

BSBA - March 29, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is terrible, you can rarely get in contact with an academic advisor and block communication with higher authorities such as the academic dean and chancellor. So if you have a problem don't expect to get any help instead of email the "dean" you are actually talking to someone in student advising who is pretending to be the dean! Also, there idea of a curriculum is writing everything in APA format. There are no test at all, just writing writing and more writing! Don't waste you time, Don't waste you money!

Was this review helpful?

6 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Best decision I made

BSBA - February 24, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was introduced to CTU online by a co-worker. She expressed how pleased she was with the university and I was looking for an online university. I wasn't sure this would be the right school for me because I had not previously even heard of this school. Reluctantly, I gave CTU a call and was greeted by a very informative advisor. I decided to give CTU a try and it has been one of my best decisions. The university delivered everything it promised. I was told I would graduate in 15 months because I already had my associate degree. I liked the virtual campus and found most of the assisgments and professors engaging. The convenience of completing all the coursework online was wonderful and CTU took out all the guesswork. They had my curriculum in place and would mail course materials for each upcoming term. I have attended traditional universities and found CTU to be better than a tradition school. The learning environment was challenging and comprehensive. I have recommended this school to other people (my friend is now attending) and so far they, too, are impressed. I graduated Cum Laude in December 2007, yep, 15 months after I enrolled. My overall experience with the school was a very good one.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

I'm a better person now!

BSBA - November 12, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CTU has been an excellent experience for me. I can honestly say, I'm a better person now. CTU has taught me self discipline, responsibility, and organization, something I don't feel I would have gotten from some Joe-Smo school. I think it's really ridiculous that people come on a review board to post arguments back and forth. Everyone gets caught up in technicalities and personally I think it's pretty immature. Not everyone is going to have a delightful experience, and those who expect perfection from any school, have pretty unrealistic expectations. I've been with CTU for about 2 years now. They are affordable, and their staff have real-life experience and are as qualified as it gets. Don't get me wrong, you'll get a bad apple from time to time, and it's frustrating, but that goes back to the less than realistic expectations of perfection. I would recommend this school to ANYONE.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Great Experience

BSBA - September 30, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The BSBA program at CTU online was not an easy one, but it was beneficial. I learned more than what I needed to advance my career. Most of the instructors worked in the field they were teaching so they could bring real world knowledge to supplement the texts. Also, the research resources offered give you enough information to complete any project you would be assigned. I received a great education from CTU Online.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Beware

BSBA - September 19, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was very interested in CTU because each class is only 6 weeks long. I went through a month-long admissions process where the admissions advisors were calling me every day to make sure all of the paperwork was on track. They are good with follow up. I wasn't going to commit until my transcripts had been reviewed so I would know which classes I had already taken would be applied toward my degree. During the first week of class, it still was not determined which classes would be transferrable. The admissions advisor kept pushing me to "log onto classes" which of course would have automatically committed me to pay for the first 2 classes when I wasn't even sure if I was going to attend there. Each time I had a discussion with Admissions about this, it was clear they didn't care what my personal goals were, all they cared about is getting that money. Financial aid told me to NOT sign or accept any student loans until I was sure I was attending. Admissions told me I had to sign them, they kept callling me every day. At the end, when they finally reviewed my transcripts, and mind you, at a normal school 16 of the classes I had already taken would have been transferrable. At CTU, they didn't not accept ANY OF THEM toward the Bachelor's degree. One week later, I was enrolled in another school which ACCEPTED ALL OF THEM. And the new school is also regionally accredited, so don't believe them when they tell you that's the reason. I was told by the CTU director of who knows what that NONE OF MY CREDITS WOULD BE TRANSFERRABLE AT OTHER UNIVERSITIES EITHER. They want every dollar of that $30,000 for the bachelors degree and the Admissions Advisors will be DISHONEST to try to force you to enroll. My experience with CTU was a gross waste of time and bordered unethical. And probably most of the people on this board that are writing all of the positive reviews are working for CTU.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 13 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Colorado Technical University in any way.