Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Colorado Technical University

  • Colorado Technical University Reviews

    Ranking: #57
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA-HLC), The Higher Learning Commission

3.0
113 Reviews
5 26 
4 29 
3 16 
2 14 
1 28 
0 0 

Colorado Technical University Reviews:

CTU MSM Rocks!

Masters of Science in Management - August 28, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have found the teachers, carrier services, and Library very helpful and knowledgeable. I am also excited about having the Doctorate advantage program that gives me a head start on my Doctorate which I will be completing at the school. I do see some negative comments about people not getting jobs and I’m not sure I would blame the University. I have seen some of the below average work from some of the students and I can see why some don’t have jobs. I have found the grading to be fair and equivalent to graduate level work at other schools. Your degree is what you make of it. I would like to see better books in the programs but the Librarians were extremely helpful when I spoke to them and helped with the research, and the same with the career services. I am looking forward to starting my Doctorate.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Just for information

Masters of Science in Management - November 22, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from CTU Online program Spring of 2014. This my personal experience from them, I started my job as a temporary employee. While attending school I used the knowledge learned to acquire a full time position. Utilizing the skills learned I move from a regular employee to lead and now to assistant division manager. I know from my interviews upper management has stated we see you applying the knowledge that you have learned in school. Suffice to say you will get out of it what you put into it. I read those boring online books and took my assignments seriously. It is hard to imagine that anyone who takes education seriously not think this online school is challenging. I hope my story helps someone who really wants to succeed in life.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful

Not A Great School for Many Reasons

Masters of Science in Management - September 13, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

After attending this school for over four years, it became evident that CTU instructors give EVERYONE A's whether they deserve them or not. I worked hard for my grades, but over the years as I spoke to other students I discovered that they all had 4.0 GPAs but could not cite, spell, use proper English, or even knew how to use the CTU library! I quit even trying and still received straight A's. Once I left the school and started attending a REAL college, I was shocked at the difference. Now I am forced to use proper APA, proper English, cite according to the APA Publication Manual (I had never even heard of this book before leaving CTU), and I am given the grade according to my work. Another problem I had with CTU was their horrible Financial Aid Department. Not only did the staff have no idea of what they were doing, CTU stopped giving students any idea of how much their stipends would be, when they would receive them, or correct information on the total student loan debt. I was shocked when I left school and discovered that the amount listed on my student aid page was about HALF of what I actually owed! FA often did not give me my stipends and I had to continually call, only to receive totally incorrect information. You are forced to call every single month just in case CTU "forgot" to give you your stipend. They continually made mistakes, and at one point I was forced to pay a "loan" that the school says I owed because they said they overpaid me. I never did receive proof, and was forced to pay the amount or drop out before graduating. I wish now I had done exactly that. At one point, FA did not request the correct amount from the Dept of Education, and with two weeks to graduation, I was asked to pay an additional $1,000 CASH with no job. I spent a lot of time on the phone to them and was emotionally drained before it was corrected. The school I am attending now told me exactly how much I would receive (per class no less) and exactly when. I receive emails when the money is received from Dept of Education, and when it is available. NO guessing or mistakes!! CTU held on to my money (and making money from it I bet in the form of interest) for far too long, and seldom posted stipends within six weeks or more from when they received it. I still wonder how much of my money they mistakenly kept. If you are serious about your education, I would try another school and compare it to CTU to give you an idea of what each one offers. And I would be careful of your degree, because if CTU keeps giving graduate and undergraduate degrees with students on the Deans List just for showing up, it may no longer be worth the paper it is printed on.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Most people go to school for the wrong reasons.

Masters of Science in Management - May 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

For those who give negative feedback, you've never been to a real school obviously. You are paying for an education. It's up to you to READ the books and to get that education. I have an AAS in Aviation Sciences from Utah Valley State Univeristy. AS in Graphic Design, BA in Animation from Westwood Technical College. Then came to CTU after a few bad Experiences with Uni of Ph, and Full Sail Uni. I decided to complete a few classes for the AAS in Criminal Justice, Just completed the BA in Homeland Security and Emergency Management Feb2011, now working on my Masters and will Gladly use this school to get my Doctorates. Ive been to many schools attended on campus and online for most. CTU is BY FAR the best school for what they have. If you don't like the learning on your own format, do not even think about going to college. This isn't high school, they won't hold your hand through your classes. They do answer emails. There are 2 classes a week. I've NEVER had a professor miss more than 2 classes in a 5.5 week session. Wed discussion boards are due, Sundays peer responses to those discussions are due. Then Monday Individual projects are due. You don't do crap for homework, so those who complain that this is too much can literally go fall off a cliff. I remember having 2,000 word essays due each day in high school for a basic Lit class. Plus is had 8 other classes to do at the same time. CTU is a great school, take it for the right purposes. Each of their classes are technical courses. Which means you have a class and you learn A LOT if you decided to READ the BOOKS and materials.!!! you know when you work at simple jobs like Home depot for 3 years, they want you to take a class to become a manager or a supervisor. That 1 basic class brings you up that much because it's a technical class. EVERY CLASS YOU WILL TAKE AT CTU. IS A TECHNICAL CLASS. there are a few basic courses that are common sense, but if you chose not to learn from the materials, you are cheating yourself out of your money. After my BA degree I opened up my Own Federal Agency. I'm a CEO at 23. I'd say THANK YOU to CTU for the classes I took there helped me understand the aspects of homeland security and allowed me to do this. Maybe in the future you all will see my Inducted into the Department of Justice like I am trying to do now. If any of you have issues that are keeping you from applying at CTU feel free to email me. I'll be happy to answer any questions as a Student. I do not work for CTU and Would tell anyone to take CTU's General education and transfer. If you want to stick with them with their programs.. do it.! dabeleg13@gmail.com

Was this review helpful?

38 of 48 people found the following review helpful

MSM-CJ Certificates

Masters of Science in Management - April 10, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My student adviser assured me that I would earn professional certificates as I earned my degree.Four different certificates within my chosen program were described to me; and it was explained that these were simply part of the program - no additional cost in tuition. When I questioned the school about where and when my certificates would be obtained, I was informed that online students are not able to earn such certificates. This was extremely disappointing and angering; part of my decision to attend CTU was based on these certificates in addition to my degree.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Buyer Beware

Masters of Science in Management - June 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I contacted CTU in June 2010 to inquire about possibly transferring from my current school, to CTU's Master Program in Finance. While I can't comment on the actual course work, I will state the enrollment experience was very similar to purchasing life insurance or a used car- VERY high pressure sales push from my enrollment counselor. My enrollment counselor was completely uninterested in what was in my best interest, and was way more interested in just getting me enrolled in the school ASAP so they can start billing tuition fees. Instead of listening to what I my goals were, he repeatedly tried to get me to start a month earlier than I had originally wanted to. Then he proceeded to call me every day for two weeks trying to get me to change my FASA and dis-enroll from my current school, but I refused to do so. I didn't trust this guy and wanted to make sure I still had my current school to fall back on if my credits didn't transfer. So while I was waiting to here back about my credits, I got a surprise e-mail from the school saying I've had books on the way. Surprise! Now keep in mind, at that point in time I hadn't filled out a FASA, gone to orientation, or dis-enrolled from my previous school yet, but I had books in the mail for a class that turned out to be the same class I was trying to transfer. Unbelievable... When it came time to get an answer on my transcripts, he he gave me the same line everyone else is complaining about- that the transfers department couldn't take my classes, and that it would be same with any other school. Whatever!!! I'm going to keep shopping around, if what he says is true, I'll just stay with the school I'm already at. But I'm willing to bet he's wrong. I'm pretty sure someone out there is more than willing to take my loan money. To be fair, the actual classes might be awesome. So if you're starting fresh and not worried about transfering credits, this school might be good choice. And if you're in a hurry, they'll have you going in less than a month. My name is Josh Martin, and I'm a real person. I still have all of my original e-mails from my enrollment advisor, and I can be reached at joshy327@gmail.com if anyone would like more info regarding this review.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful

excellent education

Masters of Science in Management - May 2, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I pursued the MSM in project management with CTU (this was a successful experiment). Online programs are challenging for both students and instructors; just as not every student can succeed in the virtual environment, not every instructor can teach in one for that matter. The curriculum was amazing, the technology of the course was superior, and my knowledge gained in the project management field surpassed that of project managers above me in my job field. The 18 month time consuming program is backed by the Project Management Institute. I sacrificed 18 months and I worked hard extremely, and attained a 4.0 while I watched other fine student misinterpret the requirement only to attain a 3.5 GPA. The instructors worked with my remote and isolated location from Hawaii, the lacking infrastructure that impeded my virtual progress, earth quakes, long work schedule, and travel. My peer group consisted of all high caliber students (unlike Phoenix), the instructors were intelligent and helpful (besides one who was a novice obviously), and the scenario based curriculum was a fine approach. Both schools would have been rather costly for me had it not been for the G.I. Bill. I am a civilian bomb technician and a nationally certified quality auditor (CQA). My job is to scrutinize written standards and move only when requirement is clear and concise as well as communicate clarity and requirement to the workforce. The biggest challenge of the online format is the team project. I understood clearly the requirement of each assignment, and if I did not, I would contact the instructor to tighten all the loose ends. My obvious understanding of each assignment allowed me to progress effortlessly with a 4.0 and focus all my time on researching the many aspects above the assignment’s requirement. Other students tainted the requirement with opinions, bias, or trivial bouts of laziness, and did not embrace all the available resources such as instructor chats and emails, the syllabus, or school materials. These students would argue the requirement and waste precious time playing email tag trying to sway other team members to join forces like on the show Survivor. I would tell them I have a 4.0, pump the brakes and listen to the requirement. I only ever had two team members with egos that were too inflated to see clearly. I was not boasting my grade more than applying it as unarguable proof of understanding. These students were difficult partners. Thus concludes the challenges of the online format. You will not go wrong pursuing an MSM in Project Management with CTU if that is your goal. I have launched myself far above my work peers in both certified education and knowledge attained by this program.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Challenging and Very Worthwhile by Chad Eymard

Masters of Science in Management - January 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Hello All!! I completed my BSBA at CTU Online after doing 2 years of coursework at a traditional school, and then went on to earn my MSM-IT from CTU Online in 2007. Personally, I found that CTU provided an excellent opportunity for higher education. The programs are aggressive, and the courses are fast-paced and intense. There are no 'tests' like I had in the traditional university where you have to bubble in multiple choice answers on a scantron; grades are earned through task and research project types of assignments. As far as insructors go, some were exceptionally challenging, and others were at worst mediocre - similar variation as the traditional type of school really. Completing my degrees online took copious amounts of energy and determination because I was steeped with course-work all the while holding a full time job; but it was well worth the effort. I partially attribute my recent promotion to manager of north america datacenters for a large international building materials company to my attainment of my Master's degree; without the degree I do not believe that the door of opportunity would have been opened to me for the promotion. I highly recommend CTU Online!

Was this review helpful?

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Information Security

Masters of Science in Management - November 18, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended CTU Online and received a MSM in Information Systems Security. I was hired within 2 months after obtaining my degree by government in whom I am still working for. CTU Online professors are no different than the state university that I had attended for my under-grad; some would pass anyone as long as they did their work, and others looked for quality. Those that looked for quality, tended to have the highest amount of students dropping out, because they just could not cut it. I had one classmate start an opening sentence with "Because" in a group project I was in, obviously a big mistake and we all paid for it with a C+ for a group project. Some of the professors were very challenging and required several resources from trusted sites as well as from the actual textbooks. Most of them accepted online resources as long as they were from reputable sites. I would recommend CTU Online to anyone interested in some of their online programs, but be aware, this university is best known for Project Management, which is a major plus; especially if you end up dealing with huge projects. As for those who bash this university, you really need to do your homework. If my degree allowed me to earn a position within 2 months after graduation, then they must have done the right thing. Believe it or not the training in my degree program fit in perfectly with the job I was hired into and served in for over a year and five months, before moving into a higher paying position with better opportunities for advancement.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

CTU Student

Masters of Science in Management - November 26, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have recently graduated from CTU with a B.S in Software Engineering. It was one of the hardest things I've ever done. The school does challenge you and you better believe you have to earn a degree here. CTU has a great virtual campus and you can tell they put their money into it. It really is a great learning enviornment. You don't have to pay extra for books as that is already included in your tuition. And, you also know when your books are going to arrive because their communication is excellent. Finally, this is a very good school. So much so that I've decided to stay and get my Masters here. Online education is what you make of it and I usually find those who don't succeed at online learning lack focus and dedication.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful

MSM - Information Technology

Masters of Science in Management - November 13, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just received my final grade this morning for my last class. I am in the military and found that online learning fits my schedule. The work load was right on target. The classes were designed as if I were part of a company and performing the work for the given employer with each scenario. This made learning more interesting. CTU does a great job with the delivery of the classes through the use of their technology. Most of my instructors provided great feedback whether good or bad to the quality of work I submitted. This was valuable insight on how I could have done things better or more efficiently. Throughout this whole program, I was encouraged to research harder and deeper to defend my reasoning. I can assure everyone I had to work hard for this degree. Turning in assignments was not a joke. I was expected by every one of my instructors to find reliable sources such as peer reviewed sources to back up any of my research claims. Most of my assignments included up to 15 to 20 citations. The school provides a very good library to conduct research. Another positive aspect of this school is the certificates I earned in four grouped subject areas of my studies. The cost of the school may seem high. What masters program doesn't have a high price? Instructors have to get paid and the school has to make money. Based on the scale given for rating, an 8 is still a good value. Education is an investment into my future. When I retire from the Air Force in two years, I feel I now have the necessary tools that will help me get the job I will be searching for.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Colorado Technical University in any way.