Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Columbia Southern University

  • Columbia Southern University Reviews

    Ranking: #9
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Distance Education and Training Council (DETC)

4.3
242 Reviews
5 155 
4 60 
3 10 
2 6 
1 11 
0 0 

Columbia Southern University Reviews:

Amazing online school

Occupational Safety & Health - January 25, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have to say that in the beginning, I was very skeptical about Columbia Southern University (CSU). After having been in the military for over twenty years, and obtained prior degrees from other schools I was not sure. My deployments while in, made it next to impossible until I had time.This school has been a terrific fit and will continue to do so. Very highly accredited professors (especially the fire safety and construction safety) prof's. These professors sit the boards for the CSP. Extremely knowledgeable and take right from OSHA standard. This makes learning true to the point of first hand knowledge. Very impressed by the professionalism they show us as students. If we make a mistake they hammer us to learn and it is not easy. The learning capability that I have gained thus far from this school is truly amazing and humbling. The school is and has prepared me for the challenges of the future and beyond. More to come in the Masters programs and beyond. Thanks CSU!!!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

MS in OSH with Enviro. Mng. Concentration

Occupational Safety & Health - January 11, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I don't see any current reviews for the MS-OSH/EM degree so I thought I'd offer up my experience. I'm an Active Duty Soldier who works full-time with all of the other Army related time sucking tasks. I'm not breaking rocks, but I am actually working 50+ a week, have three kids, and an hour roundtrip commute to work. Through 27 hours of coursework I have found the majority of the professors (all with Ph.D.s) to be both knowledgeable and fair, and the classes have been challenging with a significant amount of critical thinking and analysis. A majority of the classes require a legitimate 8-10 hours of work per week, which generally consists of A LOT of reading and 4-6 essay questions which require 200 word minimum responses...if you want a C. The average appropriate response is really closer to 800-900 words or the equivalent of a three to four page paper. Some classes require the occasional power point presentation which I believe is stupid for an online class where there is no audience, and especially because 12-15 slides can take longer and not validate your understanding of a topic as well as a five page paper. I've had one professor in one class that was absolutely terrible at providing useful feedback and I'm quite certain he gave me a blind B on an assignment because he was too lazy to read it. I challenged the grade and the support from my advisor and student resolution was equally as terrible. I was told to just challenge the final overall grade and none of my specific concerns were addressed. I went into a four hour ten essay question proctored final exam not having any clue how this guy grades. Pretty bad feeling after ten weeks. I got something like a 90.2% in the class so I rehashed everything in the GoArmyEd and CSU course critique and left it at that. If you've made it this far, a.) challenging, not a diploma mill, b.) a lot or reading and writing, c.) one masters level class is considered fulltime for a reason, some will keep you very very busy.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful

Amazing school and highly respected with employers

Occupational Safety & Health - August 23, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Amazing school and highly respected with employers. I got my dream job thank to the Masters Degree offered by this great school. It took me three long years of hard work and lots of assignments but it was totally worth the effort. The tuition fee was very low in comparison to the similar programs but the courses and instructors were high quality. I totally recommend them for any EHS/ OHS courses or degrees.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Great School, Real Value, Real Accredidation

Occupational Safety & Health - March 24, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been enrolled in the BS Occupational Safety and Health since 2008 (yes, 2008), and it has taken me this long because I am older, work full time, lead a family, and balance real coursework. However, as of March 23, 2016, I completed my audit to be conferred an interim A.S. degree the same field on March 31, 2016. I am proud of this accomplishment as I really worked had an earned it! And I couldn't have done it without the support of the CSU faculty, staff, and learning resources along the way. For those leery (or critical) of this university, let me share some key facts. 1. CSU is a private, for profit institution. If you are looking for them to "give" you something other than quality resources, then you are in society's growing majority, so just move along. Earn what you get and consider it an investment in yourself. 2. CSU is nationally accredited. So what. National accreditation is through the Department of Education and DETC, and is not automatically granted. CSU had to go through a rigorous process to earn their accreditation, and still, they are frequently audited to ensure they maintain high standards. Furthermore, if CSU decided to pursue regional accreditation they could, and would be successful. No need; CSU already has regional accreditation through another PRIVATE, for PROFIT university they own - www.waldorf.edu (North Central Association of Colleges and Schools)...and guess what? The course work at Waldorf is virtually identical to CSU. In fact, when CSU purchased Waldorf, they transferred their distance leaning programs over AND CSU credit is fully transferrable to Waldorf. So, if RA is really that important to you, go to CSU to complete most of your coursework for a lower cost, then transfer to Waldorf to complete your degree. You'll be paying for RA and validation of the same coursework you get at CSU. You should also consider that CSU was one of the early pioneers in distance learning. Now, we see all of the RA laggers trying to get on the band wagon. CSU is miles ahead. 3. CSU has real professors. When you see the professor profiles, they are virtually all B.A./B.S./Masters, and PhD degreed from RA brick and mortar institutions. One of the primary reasons I chose CSU it that I saw that one of the faculty also happened to be one of the most brilliant CIHs that I used to work for! He was a hard-a** to work for, so I knew he was the real deal. He was no easier in the course. 4. CSU degrees are accepted by the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP) as meeting the educational requirements to sit for the ASP and CSP exams. For those that don't know, BCSP is the most prestigious safety and health credentialing organization in the WORLD. It is the certification that virtually every practitioner strives for, and every employer looking to hire a safety professional wants. There are fewer that a handful of schools like CSU that BSCP recognizes. Reason 2 for selecting CSU as my school of choice. Personally, I don't care if naysayers choose CSU or not. The facts above are real facts. I'm proud of the degree I earned, and know the value of it. IF you are intent on a degree from an RA institution, then congradulations. Go get your degree You'll work hard and complete hard coursework, no doubt. Meanwhile, I'll take my 24 years of career experience and walk into my boss's office at the world's biggest heavy equipment company with my worthless degree and walk out with a minimum of 5% salary increase, while you'll be standing in the entry level line with a RA degree hoping to make a salary high enough to pay your student loans.

Was this review helpful?

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful

My journey

Occupational Safety & Health - June 12, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

My experience was / is both enlightening and challenging . I would not have it any other way . I have worked Lon NGO and hard for this degree and it as been worth every tear I have shed. Nothing in life comes free or easy . If you want to get out of degree program the effort you put into it . Columbia Southern is the place for you !!!

Was this review helpful?

5 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Much harder than brick and morter university

Occupational Safety & Health - April 22, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am almost done with my undergraduate degree in Occupational Safety and Health and I have to say it has been a lot of work. Prior to CSU I completed 18 credit hours at another regionally accredited college and let me tell you, it was nothing compared to CSU. This school is going to be one of the premier online universities in the near future.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful

CSP Qualifications

Occupational Safety & Health - April 8, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I love receiving my B.S. Degree from CSU, the only down fall is that its does not meet the requirements to qualify for the Certified Safety Professional board's Graduate Safety Practioner designation. Had CSU met the requirements, or standards, the ASP would have been exempt prior to taking the CSP exam. Oh well I still have my B.S.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 12 people found the following review helpful

Earned, not given.

Occupational Safety & Health - October 19, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Look, if you're on the fence about attending CSU like I was while researching the school, know that this is not an easy degree or a scam. You will be challenged, mentally engaged, and rewarded in kind for your work in class. To claim that it's a scam because the unit quizzes are all open book..well, so are the tests for ASQ professional certifications. It doesn't mean that the questions on either test are all based on simple recall ability. The two essay questions on some of the quizzes will leave you scrambling for relevant sources to use outside of the textbook. The test questions will force one to think critically about the question being asked. The use of simple recall ability, or the back of the book answers, will not help you to pass. You will have to actually read and understand the course material. Harsh I know, but it's ok. You can do it. To believe those previous posts that claim completion of a class in one day or a week is just outright ridiculous. If you have nothing to do and have zero responsibilities then maybe, just maybe, a class can be completed in two to three weeks. If you can complete an entire class in a day then maybe you should consider attending MIT, not CSU and possibly dare to venture outside your mom's basement more regularly. Bottom line, I think this school is great. The staff is almost over-supportive and the course expectations are clearly laid out for you. It meets my needs perfectly. If you can't or won't do the work however, do not think that you will just "get" a degree, CSU will make you earn it.

Was this review helpful?

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful

A Great Choice

Occupational Safety & Health - September 5, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am so glad I choose this University. I am a new student here in the Occupational Safety and Health Master's Program. I procrastinated for a very long time trying to decide if this was the best program for me, at my age. I also was a little concerned about accreditation.My research proved me that there was no need to be. I am absolutely impressed with Columbia Southern University. Its challenging, but they lay it all out for you to easily understand the material. There's a lot of reading but that's expected. I am so impressed with this school so far. I will keep you all posted on my journey here at CSU.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Just Completed My Bachelor In Occ Safety and Health

Occupational Safety & Health - May 17, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I love this education. It has completely changed my world view and helped my communication skills. The classes were tough, but the support from the staff is so well organized that is almost feels seamless. I already have a job, but when the economy tanked I realized I needed an education to further myself and protect my family. This is one of the schools recognized by the BCSP, so you can sit for the ASP/CSP after you complete your degree. I just received my letter to sit for the ASP, so everything is completely legit with this education and its acceptance in the workplace.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Best school for Military Members!

Occupational Safety & Health - February 13, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you have every found yourself in a college course and you had no time to complete an assignment by the deadline or if you have been in a class that you wish you could complete faster than the set time, CSU is for you. They are the most military “schedule” friendly school I have ever attended. CSU requires mil members to enroll in their “term” class which is synonymous with “self-pace”. You still have to complete the course within the given timeline but they include extra week(s) in the schedule to make up assignments that you could not complete. The course are complete and engaging. They provide the appropriate level of difficulty fitting of a college level course. The best part is if your deployed or in a remote area away from a “testing center” you can have an approved supervisor or higher ranking (mil or civilian) proctor your exams. So there is no reason that you cannot complete a class and finish your degree. In the current military we have, civilian education is where the cuts will be made. Finish your degree, get promoted and continue your successful career. Huge added bonus… you never pay for your books… they are included in the cost of the class. Good luck, stay motivated and finish your degree!

Was this review helpful?

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Do your homework when considering a college

Occupational Safety & Health - December 6, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Before you consider any college, take the following into consideration. 1. Regional Accrediation. It's the gold standard hands down 2. Do credit courses at the college transfer to other institutions? 3. If it's a masters program, most legitimate programs require a 3.0 undergrad, GMAT or GRE exam,and a thesis or comprehensive exam to graduate. DONT SELL YOURSELF SHORT. 4.Cost per credit. Some colleges that have lowered standards such as lowered GPA's, and life skills credit to eliminate course work have an extremely high cost per credit. I know a co worker who paid more per credit for a bachelors program than I paid for a masters program. 5. If it's a for profit college, go somewhere else.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 23 people found the following review helpful

20 years of safety experience

Occupational Safety & Health - November 27, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

OK so I took advantage of the military tuition assistance (Army Reserves) and transferred my 60 AA units from a CA community college plus another 12 from another brick and mortar and got some credits for OSHA certificate courses and my E7 course work credits and had to take 12 more classes for 36 more units. I have worked as a civilian in the OCC Health and Safety field for close to 20 years so of course I finally needed the parchment to move forward. Take this college for what it is. It is challenging for some and not so much for others. For those that complain about open book or easy course work lets take a look at real life. So when I run across a toxic substance issue at work where do I turn? Reference materials like MSDS files, chemical dat sheets, online resources. HMMM Open book. We bring in a new material that requires the use of PPE so what do I do? reference the MSDS and manufacturers recommendations and purchase the correct PPE by what? Looking up selection guides and chemical resistance guides for gloves etc etc.. HMMM again open book. Spills? How do you handle them? Fires well OK training involved and muscle memory of using extinguishers but storage of materials. AH reference OSHA guidelines as well as state and local requirements. I am a bit older than some and remember not using a calculator in math classes. Now my 10th grader uses one in calculus that is like a computer. Do we not allow accountants to use software programs? The world has changed. If you know where to find the answer you will go far in business. Knowing it is great. Understanding it is necessary but without the ability to reference and communicate an employee is useless. My advice to any student looking for a degree is yes you get what you pay for but you only get as much as you put into it. The material they use for their Safety degrees are up to date, relevant and have all the information you will need to understand to be a good safety representative. Only experience can make you great in this arena so start with the class work.

Was this review helpful?

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful

Some folks that go to "college" are not educated

Occupational Safety & Health - September 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Wow reading the post by Mr. "Be careful" above implored me to review my new school and it's accreditation. I too am in the Occupational Health and Safety program. So far it's been GREAT, and the coursework is no harder or easier than my B&M counter part education. To clarify any misinformation about national accreditation (NA) allow me to respond this way. First, NA is accepted 110% by the U.S. Government, and the U.S. military, local and county governments, as well as 1000's of civilian employers. One can become a military officer with an NA degree - simple. Can one transfer NA credits to an RA school, yes. It is a as easy as transferring RA to RA credits of course not, why because it's different accreditation. What I can tell you is some RA schools are seeking both NA and RA accreditation to accept a larger student population ( Thomas Edison State College, Excelsior College name a few and they take BOTH RA and NA credits without question). Saying NA is a "buyer beware" situation is like saying U.S. institutions do not accept credits from overseas universities. Let me say that they absolutely do, AFTER a transcript/course evaluation is performed. Which consequently they do with NA credits for transfer to an RA institutions. I hate to be the bearer of bad new but not all RA credits transfer to RA schools - that is a fact. So in short, do your homework before you tell folks that NA (DETC) is anything but credible accreditation because it 110% is. As for my experience here: So far the instructors and the classes are great, the structure and materials work well with my assignments. And they treat veterans like myself outstanding. Do not choose or reject this school based on what some "don't know" about the types of accreditation out there, AND most importantly what they mean. Because what I can tell you is most folks that post on this subject have no idea what they are talking about. You just see a lot of "I've heard", "I have been told by" and so on. Do yourself a favor and see if NA accreditation fits your plans. I chose NA not because it's NA but because A) my two other degrees are RA accredited, B) this school has the program I NEED to the letter, and C) The U.S. Government accepts it 110% for my position. Any questions?

Was this review helpful?

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful

CSU does not hand out a degree

Occupational Safety & Health - July 31, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been impressed but alarmed at all the research you must do. I love it because I have learned more being required so much research and I know it will help me in my career. I will say you must be able to effectively manage time and be committed. I look forward to being with them til I earn the MS. The instructors have been so helpful and their student services are second to none

Was this review helpful?

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Just look at how many satisfied students

Occupational Safety & Health - June 30, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CSU should be teaching other schools how to run a college. The customer service is routinely phenomenal, the coursework challenging and at a pace that makes sense. I work my butt off and guess what? I actually master the material. When I get out of CSU I will be an effective leader in my chosen field with the competence and knowledge to run circles around other grads at other schools. Cocky? I think not. It's confidence. If you are reading this and on the fence, just look at the myriad of positive responses. CSU has PROVEN to be superior in so many way. Good luck to everyone.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Chiefrock

Occupational Safety & Health - July 25, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just completed my Masters Degree in Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) from Columbia Southern University (CSU) July class of 2011. I started in September of 2009 and it took roughly twenty-two months to complete my degree. I have enjoyed my experience here at CSU. The Staff and Professors were very helpful on helping me complete my educational goals. The experience was very challenging and at the same time rewarding. If you are like me and really don't have the time to go to a traditional university with a classroom environment, then CSU might be the school for you to attend. I know that there are skeptics out there who say that CSU is not a good school, but I challenge you to explore it for yourself. I encourage you to do your own research when choosing a college or university to attend whether classroom or online. For me, CSU has done everything that it said it would do for me and I am truly grateful. With this OSH Masters Degree from CSU, I am truly looking forward to the challenges that lie ahead for me. Thank you CSU for enriching my educational life. V/r Chiefrock Class of 2011

Was this review helpful?

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Great school, great experience

Occupational Safety & Health - July 9, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Just completed my BSIT from CSU, it has opened a lot of doors for me. It was challenging but entirely doable if you apply yourself and don't give up. This type of school is for self-starters and self-motivators, they will not hold your hand like at a traditional school. You have to earn it, but at the end you get a respected degree.

Was this review helpful?

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

You take away what you put into it!

Occupational Safety & Health - July 7, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When I started my degree process, I had a tough time deciding how I would want to go about the next phase of my life…attend a B&M school full-time and hold a job that wasn’t too demanding, or try an online school where I can have the time to not only attend school full-time, but continue working as an Occupational Safety and Health Specialist with the Air Force. I decided on the online school and after a couple of months of searching and making phone calls inquiring about course work and credit transfer applicability, I went with CSU and since then haven’t looked back. The big selling point for this school was the acceptance of CSU’s Occupational Safety and Health (OS&H) degree by the Board of Certified Safety Professionals who oversee many different certifications, the primary one being the CSP (Certified Safety Professional). After completion of my B.S. in OS&H, I did go on to earn my CSP designation as well as the RPIH (Registered Professional Industrial Hygienist) designation which is offered by the Association of Professional Industrial Hygienists, and am now serving as an OS&H Manager for the military. Is this school for everyone…no it’s not and I implore folks to do an adequate amount of research for any school you attend. I can say that CSU has definitely fulfilled what I wanted it to do with regards to the OS&H degree. I would recommend anyone attend this school for their degree in OS&H if you have a tight schedule…but I cannot speak for any other degree.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Program

Occupational Safety & Health - May 4, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have completed my Associates degree in Occupational Safety and Health and am nearly done with my B.S. in OSH as well. This school took all of my military training credits, my professional licenses, certificates, and I was able to transfer all credits from a previous college. I would and have recommended this school to friends and family. I need a flexible schedule as a working adult and parent, CSUfits my needs.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

CSU's OSH Degree Plan is awesome

Occupational Safety & Health - February 12, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

National vs regional accreditation? They are both accredited. 1. The BCSP or Board of Certified Safety Professionals, which offers the coveted CSP designation in the field of Safety recognizes this online education program. If your school makes the list then I'm glad, cause you've got more to work for for your CSP. 2. The Army and Dept of Defense recognize this school...universities and colleges must be accredited in order for Tuition Assistance to be allocated. 3. CSU is rather inexpensive and allows you to complete at your pace. Being in the Army and sometimes in Iraq, I can still work on my degree no matter where I'm at. 4. Not a diploma mill, I assure you, you will work for your degree here, it just isn't handed out. 5. Great staff and customer service can be found here at CSU.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful

CSU BS in HRM

Occupational Safety & Health - December 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finshed my BS in Human Resource Management with CSU in 2009 Cum Laude. It was a great program to go through. I have had extensive conversations with other HR professionals within my local SHRM group. I have never felt "second tier" because is not regionally accredited. I am returning to CSU for my BS in Occupational Safety & Health. After doing alot of research and talking to other safety professionals I have concluded they dont care about the accreditation of the school but if the "professional organization" such as the BCSP accepts your education. CSU was a great experience before and I am sure it will be this time as well.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Do your own objective research....

Occupational Safety & Health - May 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

To all of those students who posted negative reviews about accreditation, please review your facts; CSU is a great school and I have been to several. Regional is not better than National, it is just different. When you compare the two types of accreditation it is like comparing apples and oranges; no, the credits do not transfer easily because the accreditation is different. National accreditation is recognized by The Dept of Education, i.e. legitimate. If you start with National accreditation then you need to stick with it and complete the degree. If you plan on going to the graduate level then you need to know what school and grad degree you want to take well before hand, I am talking 2 to 3 years not a few weeks before your undergraduate studies are complete. It is called 'prior planning'. That lends to the idea of knowing what you want before you sign up. You have to do your own research and shop for a college the same way you do clothes, know your goals and the correct way to get there BEFORE you even start. As far as career moves, no employer on the planet will refuse you a job based on the fact that your degree is Nationally accredited rather than Regional and anyone that tells you that is either not educated on the facts, got burned because they did not understand the difference between the types of accreditation and tried to transfer, or is just condescending and pretentious. Finally, PLEASE understand that degree accreditation is more important than the colleges accreditation. For instance, CSUs OS&H degree program is accredited by the premier agency in the Safety field; if your degree program itself is not accredited by them you will not be able to sit for the ASP or CSP certification, even if your college is regionally accredited. Those two certifications are paramount to progression in the Safety and Health field. Now, please do not even take my word for it and do your own research. I am going to do my BS and MS with CSU, get my ASP and then CSP certification, which will position me for the job I am aiming for with the DOD or OSHA and I will be successful National accreditation and all. Thanks

Was this review helpful?

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful

CSU is a diamond in the rough!

Occupational Safety & Health - April 26, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed my BS with CSU in 2008, and shortly thereafter I returned for my MS in Occupational Safety & Health. Why? Several reasons. 1. The quality of the instructors. Yes, I have had some that were better than others, but almost all of the my professors have been both knowledgeable and responsive. Whenever I have had questions or issues they have always been there with the answer. 2. Support from Student Services has been nothing short of AWESOME! The staff are engaged and friendly, and help is only a phone call away. In the rare instance where a SS rep was not able to provide instant resolution to an administrative issue, I received a phone call after hours to tell me that they would have an answer for me in the morning. 3. The curriculum is current and relevant. I have been able to make significant contributions to my company's safety program because of my education at CSU. In fact, I have been in contact with several of my former professors after graduation and they were more than willing to advise me on real-world issues in my workplace! 4. The open-enrollment program is unrivaled by any other school out there today. Not everyone has a 9-5 job with a fixed schedule, and those of us in unconventional careers really benefit from the asynchronous nature of CSU's program. Military and public safety folks especially will benefit from CSU's rolling enrollment. 5. The NA vs RA accreditation is blown out of proportion. Yes, there are organizations and institutions that look down upon an NA school, but it is up to the INDIVIDUAL to do their homework and determine if an NA school will meet their needs. My personal experience has been that employers care a great deal more about what a job candidate brings to the table as opposed to where they went to college! CSU has been a very positive experience for me, and I would recommend it for anyone in public safety who has the desire to succeed.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

be careful

Occupational Safety & Health - April 14, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would recommend being very careful with the reason you choose this school. I took 3 courses and stopped due to the national rather than regional accreditng. If you don't plan on getting additional degrees elsewhere or don't plan on making any career moves then this might be the school for you. BUT there are actually employers and schools alike that won't transfer credits from this school and won't recognize degrees from nationally accredited schools. Yes it's cheap but make sure you are aware of the pitfalls. If you want to use a degree from this school for future opportunities you might be very disappointed.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Health & Safety MS degree

Occupational Safety & Health - April 17, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Very challenging course, good interaction with different professors, clear expectations to grow, made responsible for content of real life and learning models application, and overall a very flexible course for serious working students seeking to better themselves. I would recommend the school to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Will a CSU degree be recognized by others?

Occupational Safety & Health - January 13, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Many ask the question if the CSU degree will be accepted by today's employer. I am currently employed by the largest privately held organization in the world, which employees approximately 160,000 employees. It is difficult to rate accreditations and internet perceptions. What I can rate is that, my employer, which is a global multi industry leader, recognizes the value of this university and chooses to pay for it. Another beneficial method to see just who accepts or acknowleges this university is to go to: http://www.columbiasouthern.edu/alliances/learningpartners/list/ to view a full list of learning parteners.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Good, Quality Program

Occupational Safety & Health - September 23, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I chose to go to CSU because it was one of the few schools that offered the exact programs I wanted to degree in at a price I could afford. At first, I was very skeptical of a strictly online degree. It seemed "phony" to me.....like a diploma mill. However, finding a program in safety AND having the convenience of staying home with my kids during the day and working nights was a bit difficult especially since I lived in North Dakota which had ZERO colleges with safety programs in the immediate area! I researched the accreditation, read reviews, did more research, spoke with the active duty education office (which is very strict for tuition assistance purposes) and everything looked good (you also can't beat FREE, BRAND NEW TEXTBOOKS!!!!!) While I technically wasn't paying my own money (used GI Bill), I didn't want to waste it on something that would be of no use to me. However, after taking my first set of classes, I realized it was money well spent. The instructors were there to help and I actually learned something. I thought since it was open book, I would ace every class. I found it to be harder because of this. I found I couldn't "wing it" like I thought I would be able to. I actually had to read the text and study. When I progressed into my core and major courses, I felt even better about the program because I was learning things I already recognized as fact. I already knew about OSHA and industrial hygiene monitoring and the courses re-enforced what I already knew and taught me things that I didn't, particularly with accident investigation and ergonomics. Another reason it turned out to be a great choice is my ultimate goal was to become a Certified Safety Professional. BCSP recognizes CSU and I can use my degree as my educational requirement when I begin the CSP application process. There is no way a well known, industry leading organization like BCSP would accept a "diploma mill". My only complaint thus far has been the wait time for the graduation audit to be complete to receive my diploma. For GI Bill purposes, I can't begin my MS program until I have completed my current program. The wait is also holding up my CSP application as well.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

CSU is simply OUTSTANDING!

Occupational Safety & Health - March 22, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I returned to college after a long hiatus, and researched my choices for distance education very carefully. Out of the many colleges to choose from I kept coming back to Columbia Southern University for several compelling reasons: 1. Flexibility. The open-enrollment system and no mandatory "chat" sessions was a major consideration. You enroll in a class when YOU are ready, and you have up to 10 weeks to complete it. For those of us in public safety and others with equally demanding schedules, this is a huge benefit. 2. Quality. CSU's faculty members are top-notch professionals in their fields. Many are working professionals themselves and practice what they preach, rather than simply teaching from the text. The coursework incorporates scenarios from real-life situations and encourages the student to use their experiences in their course assignments. 3. Value. I challenge you to find another online university that provides as much "bang for your buck" as Columbia Southern University does for it's students. Both the undergraduate and graduate tuition rates are reasonable, and if your employer becomes a "learning partner" with CSU there is an additional 10% discount. All textbooks are included in the tuition when you choose the "per course" enrollment option and there are no hidden "fees." One of my lifelong goals has been to complete my college education and Columbia Southern University gave me the opportunity to do so without putting either my professional or family lives on hold. Enthusiasm must really be contagious, because four of my co-workers are now affiliated with Columbia Southern University and several more are considering it. I can tell you that after my undergraduate experience at CSU I really haven’t looked at many other graduate programs. I will be back at CSU in the fall for my masters degree.

Was this review helpful?

BS Degree In Human Resource Management

Occupational Safety & Health - February 13, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just completed my BS degree in Human resource Management at Columbia Southern University. I must say that with my Marine Corps job and the Great opportunity that CSU gave me to complete my degree while serving the country. I would highly reccomend anyone to get thier online degree from this great college. I am currently enrolled in my Masters Degree in Project Management.

Was this review helpful?

Excellent University

Occupational Safety & Health - December 4, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

CSU is an excellent university with high ethical and academic standards, highly-skilled professors who have the work skills to back their class knowledge, and the most outstanding customer service and support of any institution or business I have had the pleasure to experience. (I regularly interface with many companies per day). You are truly treated as a valued customer at CSU, not as a child in "school". Classes are very challenging, more so than in traditional classroom programs, and are well organized. I researched 10 other online programs before choosing CSU. CSU wins hands-down with 10-week flexible classes, free books (yes, free!), well-accepted DETC accreditation, and excellent, timely support. They cater to the returning adult learner with clearly organized class instructions, fast instructor callbacks, great online library resources, only $250/credit for graduate classes, payment plan options, etc. The 10-week courses start when you sign up for them, anytime. You may finish the classes early if you are able. I have reasearched to also find that employers do not look down upon CSU online degrees. The transfer rate of DETC accredited universities' credits to traditional universities is said to be about 70%. I would not be able to commit to full time traditional college classes. This is a great option for the working person.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Keeping People Safe Through Knowledge

Occupational Safety & Health - October 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The information for which I have studied is critical to the safety of others. The Occupational Safety & Health Engineering program has provided me with the data and knowledge to make informed decisions regarding the safety of others. In these troubled times, CSU has demonstrated a committment to providing quality academic studies and support to it's students

Was this review helpful?

Able to pursue my calling, my career

Occupational Safety & Health - October 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I had to quit school at Auburn University due to personal reasons a few years ago. I was working two jobs to support my family and could not go to school and take classes full time. Becuase of the online format, I was able to finish my degree, I was able to pursue my calling, my career in Safety. I am very fortune it to be able to help others and have recommended this school to others as well that are currently enrolled at CSU.

Was this review helpful?

PhD

Occupational Safety & Health - October 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I rec'd a PHD at CSU for occupational safety and health although it is no longer offered.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

OSH Degree Online - outstanding

Occupational Safety & Health - August 19, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed 90% of my degree with CSU and enjoyed every bit of it! The flexibility of schedules, the courses and the associated workload is second to none! The professors are very knowledgeable and always available to assist when needed. I would still be attending CSU for my Masters if they had a program for Emergency Management (my chosen degree concentration). CSU was recommended to me by my supervisor who also completed his BS and Masters at CSU and my recommendation to my brother and sister have resulted in their pursuit of a degree from CSU.

Was this review helpful?

Outstanding MS OSH/EM

Occupational Safety & Health - July 17, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm a proud graduate of CSU’s MS OSH/EM program. CSU not only exceeded my expectations in online education, it provided me with a challenging and valuable program that clearly exceeded the quality I found in the traditional college I previously attended. I would recommend this program to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

OS&H/EM - great program

Occupational Safety & Health - July 17, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I completed the M.S. OSH/EM program in about 3 years. I feel that I received top-notch instruction and that the education I received increased my credibility and marketability. I am an environmental consultant and an officer in the military reserve. My recent promotion in both occupations is due in part to my completion of this degree. The typical CSU student is already a working professional who doesn't have the ability to sit in a traditional classroom because of his/her work schedule. That being said, this type of student is going to be more experienced and disciplined than a traditional student. I found my fellow classmates to be knowledgeable, articulate and always willing to help each other out. Most of my professors were working in the field they taught, so they were able to relay current information, not the information they learned 30 years ago. CSU is a great institution with a lot of proud students and alumni. That pride is well justified.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Strongly Recommended

Occupational Safety & Health - July 11, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Columbia Southern University makes very good use of available technology to deliver top-notch courses to their students. This is accomplished through Blackboard software, discussion boards, the use of video lectures, and software plug-ins. I have attended one other DETC institution and strongly feel that CSU offers vastly superior value. The amount of coursework can be staggering at first but, as you continue through your degree, you realize that you are becoming far better versed in the subject matter than your non-CSU peers. Thus, the quality of the education is far superior while the cost remains reasonable. I have and will continue to reccomend CSU to peers.

Was this review helpful?

Great MS Program

Occupational Safety & Health - July 11, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Very good accredited program. I have learned a great deal with CSU and their professors. Highly qualified teaching staff and very student friendly. Even those of us that are Baby-Boomers! CSU is a great learning institution.

Was this review helpful?

Great value

Occupational Safety & Health - July 11, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am working on my final class for my bachelor's degree. Compared to some highly respected traditional schools that I have attended, I can honestly say that I have had to do more work here. The information learned has been very beneficial to my career. Overall a great value.

Was this review helpful?


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Columbia Southern University in any way.