Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

Columbia Southern University

  • Columbia Southern University Reviews

    Ranking: #9
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: Distance Education and Training Council (DETC)

4.3
242 Reviews
5 155 
4 60 
3 10 
2 6 
1 11 
0 0 

Columbia Southern University Reviews:

MBA-Project Management

MBA/E-Business - September 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have one more class left to complete for my MBA in Project Management at CSU. This school has everything I was looking for, accredited, affordable, and my preferred degree of study. This school is not a walk in the park, however there are some classes that are easier than others. Occasionally, there will be a course that takes almost 2x as long as a previous course. This is due to the instructors and level of difficulty of the material. The school provides a lot of assistance, if needed, and constantly checks up on you through emails and phone calls to make sure everything is going well. All in all, this school has served me well. It is a GREAT investment. You could pay over $40,000 for a graduate degree at a traditional school, or $12,000 at CSU. The level of education you receive is equivalent to what YOU PUT IN, like most schools. I don't like hearing people gripe about how this school didn't afford them the opportunity to learn. The textbooks are TOP-NOTCH business books, most retailing for over $100 (which you get FREE). So if you can't learn from having a great text book and decent teachers that is your fault. I landed a job paying $50k a year with this school on my resume FYI, and I'M NOT EVEN FINISHED WITH THE PROGRAM YET. Don't buy into the hype that you must sell your soul in student loans for a good graduate degree.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Served My Needs

MBA/E-Business - April 25, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

When I entered the program I did so thinking they would soon be a fully accredited school. That did not happen in the four years it took me to finish. That was disappointing. I know, from experience, that this MBA degree is not as difficult as in a traditional campus situation and I am not saying I did not learn anything because I learned a lot. It was a long time desire to get my MBA as I had stopped and started due to relocations. Being online was very nice and I truly enjoyed taking the courses so I am satisfied with the results. Their technology was very good. I did find that the credentials of some of the teachers were not truly qualified for the subject but since most everything was electronic I had little, if any, interactions with any of the teachers. I got the most out of the research papers.

Was this review helpful?

Not Happy

MBA/E-Business - March 14, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I was all hyped on accreditation but the credits don't transfer. I just wanted to get a headstart on my MBA but now I wasted two classes and am out thousands. Other schools don't respect DECT and won't take it.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

MBA

MBA/E-Business - October 2, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I did my MBA in Human Resource Management in 2006 with Columbia Southern University and I should say that I had a very good experience. I received prompt responses and support from my professors. Also, I liked the online library and discussion boards that CSU provided, which helped me with my research papers.

Was this review helpful?

MBA/Finance

MBA/E-Business - September 14, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am currently enrolled in the CSU MBA Program witn a concentration in finance. Please allow to to begin by saying that this program is exceptional not only for online colleges but for all colleges. I have attended all tradtional institutions in the past and none of them stand up to this organization. The material is current and presented in such a way that allows for one to maximize the learning process. Additionally, one can take advantage of the opportunity to proceed at their own pace which is very time efficient. Those who continue to doubt the quality of online education should take the time to examine CSU, they will be impressed.

Was this review helpful?

Professional Institution of Higher Learning

MBA/E-Business - September 4, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a MBA graduate from Columbia Southern University (CSU) in 2006. I would say that CSU is a truly professional institution of higher learning and that my experience with it was simply wonderful. The courses taught are current and relevant with knowledge gained therewith readily applicable to my profession. Furthermore, through the independently rigorous mode of instruction adopted by CSU in delivering all courses, it challenges, exhorts, and thereby causes to develop the students’ mental capabilities to the fullest that thus ensure that aptitudes in learning and problem solving becomes a lifetime process and does not just stop upon graduation. I have no hesitation to recommend CSU to anyone who has an interest and is serious in pursuing a higher education. David Tan Regalia & Associates Singapore

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding

MBA/E-Business - August 19, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have just recently graduated from CSU with my MBA. As a result, I have had numerous colleges invite me to teach for them. I am an adjunct instructor for 2 colleges here close to home, and I teach all over the State of PA for the Pennsylvania Chief's of Police in the Executive Management Programs. I have also designed programs in Executive Management that have been used throughout Pennsylvania. Recently, assigned as a member of the International Chiefs of Police Association Training Committee, I get to travel across the US approving executive course work taught to ALL chiefs of police in this country. Its because of CSU! Four 4 years I busted my hump and working with some of the best professors I ever had to deal with in my career. My bachelors degree is from a normal brick and morter college, and it was a lot easier than the MBA I received from CSU. CSU was professional, the materials that I learned were top rated, and I will always give CSU the credit that it so rightly deserves. I will match my MBA knowledge up with any of the Ivy League Universities, and come out on top. Thanks CSU! Rich G.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Experience

MBA/E-Business - August 6, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I recently completed my MBA (with a finance concentration) through Columbia Southern University and attended their commencement ceremony in June 2007. Having completed a B.S. through another leading online university and my A.A. from a "traditional" classroom setting, I can easily say Columbia Southern University was superior in quality, flexibility and value. The support staff and professors were very accessible and helpful. I never had connectivity problems (which was a HUGE issue with another university I attended). Reaching a "warm body" at Columbia Southern University was also painless (something people really need to consider when choosing an online program). The textbooks were current and offered relevant, up-to-date case studies of real-world companies. The coursework was challenging - you will certainly have to devote a lot of time and energy to complete it, however the flexibility makes it very do-able. This program is not recommended for someone that lacks self-discipline or tends to procrastinate! Finally, I was very impressed with the commencement ceremony - they truly put forth a quality program that dignified our accomplishment. The university itself is located in a quaint beach town that made for an awesome family vacation to boot. My highest recommendation!

Was this review helpful?

MBA Program

MBA/E-Business - July 11, 2007
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would have to say it was a very good school, I was able to use my union benefits for schooling. The course work was intense at times but the very good. I would suggest the School to anyone.

Was this review helpful?

Columbia Southern MBA/E-Business

MBA/E-Business - August 8, 2006
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Generally, the experience I had with the institution was excellent particularly the student support by professors and the Student Services Department. They were quick to respond to queries and ready to assist in all my course related needs. The Student Services staff were courteous in their responses to my messages (via email). Books are/were up-to-date and relevant. The cost (per credit) is/was reasonable. As to its utility, I've landed a new job (a year after graduation) on the strength of this MBA degree. The pay is 3 times my previous pay check and at a senior post. The degree has been verified (and been approved) by the United Arab Emirates Ministry of Labor as a pre-requisite to issuing a new Work Permit for the new job. Excellent institution for working professionals. I was sure I was not enrolling to Harvard/Stanford/Wharton/etc., I was rather certain I was enrolling to a legitimate and peer-reviewed school via its accreditation.

Was this review helpful?

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with Columbia Southern University in any way.