Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

DeVry University

  • DeVry University Reviews

    Ranking: #74
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association

2.7
140 Reviews
5 22 
4 36 
3 13 
2 25 
1 44 
0 0 

DeVry University Reviews:

Theft of GI Bill as well as taking advantage of Veterans.

MBA - August 17, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended DeVry University during my active duty. I graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in 2013. I now attend Keller Graduate School of Management for my MBA. I have had nothing but problems. I have already filed a complaint to VA as well as spoke to numerous Finance personnel and a Team Leader. I was told numerous times different conflicting information. I have also filed a complaint with Consumer Affairs as well as the Department of Education Office of Inspector General. Let me explain my situation and how I feel I have been discriminated against as a Disabled Veteran of the United States Air Force. First the school charged me for a class I should have never had to take. I attended 2 classes in March 2014. The Econ class I, which I completed and passed. The statistics class I got overwhelmed in and withdrew to take later. I was sent a notification by VA in May of 2014 that the Economics class was a transfer credit and I had to pay it back. Well Keller failed to mention to me that I got transfer credit for it so they sent me letters of debt and I contacted the VA and Keller. It took me until October 2014 to get this debt resolved. If I had not fought this issue I would have had to pay your school double for a class that I took based on incorrect information from Keller. Keller ended up taking credit for it and using Yellow Ribbon and some other grant to pay the money back to VA. Which is wrong and they should have paid it. The second issue is that I was being charged for the Statistics class by Keller despite VA already paying the bill. I know this because if VA had taken the charge back I would have owed for BAH which I have not. I finally got that issue sorted out after filing a complaint with the VA GI Bill compliance Team and they sent the complaint to Devry. Why you would get to investigate your own complaint is a very big question. The biggest issue I have had is that I received a D+ in 1 class a C+ in another and the rest are high A's and B's. It was because of these grades I apparently dropped to below a 3.0 GPA. Here in lies the discrimination. Why I am being held to a different standard than other students. Why do I have to maintain a different GPA because of my financial aid? Not to mention why I am being punished for something that I did not fail nor get an incomplete. The punishment does not fit the crime. Apparently schools have the right to cancel a Veterans GI Bill if you drop below a 3.0. Since November 2014 because I got a low grade in one class I have had to use Federal Loans to pay for my school and I am out my BAH and GI Bill completely. Keller said that I had a 2.99 and they placed me on Academic Probation. I have since November 2014 got nothing less than a B+ but that is not good enough. I have to stay on academic probation until the end of August. At that point I do not get back paid for anything and in order to get the rest of my hard earned GI Bill I have to attend another college. I feel like VA has put too much control in the For Profit Schools where they control part of my financial outcome. I have been put in massive debt and been stolen benefits from all due to 1 minor mistake which I have corrected. I feel like I have been misled, stolen from, discriminated against and taken advantage of due to having a full ride to school by the GI Bill. However it seems it is more work for a school to use the VA so they do anything they can to get a student to use federal loans which allow them to perform less work and still make money. I feel I have been deprived of my hard earned benefits and stolen from and put in massive debt for no reason. VA has washed their hands of my issues because according to them Universities have the right to do this. How does Keller and or any other For Profit School have the right to control somebody else's benefits and money when all they are doing is taken advantage of the system. Nobody is monitoring them because they all benefit from it. I want nothing more than the money and benefits that I earned being an Honorable Disabled Veteran. I attended college like I was supposed to so what gives Keller the right to suspend my money and then turn around and charge me long term debt and loans. I know I am not the only one that Keller and or DeVry have taken advantage of. Three strikes of taking advantage of me and if I had not been aware of the situation I would have paid money back to a school that already benefited from payment and profits. The only right to this wrong is for you to authorize Keller to Back Certify my classes that I have been deprived of all because of 1 minor mistake which still allows me to graduate. The rule of a 3.0 GPA is discriminating against Veterans and people that have benefits instead of having to use federal loans. I simply want the money that I earned defending this country no more, no less. I do not want to have to be in school for another year so that I can get something that is not going to benefit me but make profits for a University. I graduate from Keller Graduate School of Management in 2 classes. I work full time and support my family. I should not have to return to school in order to get my earned benefits which has been stolen from me. Devry university has abused their power over a Veterans finances and hard earned benefits. Why do they get to control my benefits which I earned by defending our Freedom. I worked hard for those benefits so why does a For Profit school get to control it.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Great school if you have a corporate sponsor...

MBA - December 11, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from DeVry University in 2010 with a BSTM. I went on to complete a Master of Project Management from DeVry's Keller Graduate School. They paid for my tuition........ Keller's MPM program is recognized by PMI (This is a very BIG deal. Most traditional universities cannot say this). Keller's MBA program, which I am getting ready to start, is accredited by ACBSP. DeVry also owns the Becker Review (a nationally recognized, top rated CPA exam review program). After completing my MPM I studied and passed the PMP exam, the first time!!!!! Soon thereafter I interviewed for a position and now am working as an IT project manager. With that said, DeVry is not for everyone. At first, I attempted to go to a traditional university but was treated, by the admissions department, like a second class citizen. They made me feel as if I should be lucky to go to them. Last I recall, it's my money and I am the customer. Anyway, after several similar experiences I decided to go to school online. After researching several schools and reading many of these posts, I settled on DeVry anyway. If you are like me, a full time dad and husband and full time employee, with limited time, then a school like DeVry may be an option. Before my master's I was making in the low 70K range. After receiving my MPM, PMP, and a promotion, I am at about 90K; not a bad pay hike in just over a year. Remember, my company paid for it. So, here's a fact: Schools with AASCB accreditation will only accept transfer credits from similarly accredited schools. (These are many of the progressive; they're right and your wrong schools that I mentioned in the previous paragraph). DeVry’s credits are transferable at any of the 1000's of schools that hold ACBSP or regional accreditation. Oh yes, and with any school, you only get to transfer but so many credits; especially at the graduate level!!! DeVry is pricey and for profit. Yes I said it, for profit. That's not a nasty word. Just about everyone you buy something from is for profit. Many of the traditional, non-profit colleges cost way more than DeVry and many cost less. Again, I agree that DeVry is pricey. I have many peers who have gone the traditional route, with multiple graduate degrees, and are sitting right next to.....me; a DeVry graduate. Do your due diligence and don't put too much weight on the negative posts. I haven't heard many of these disgruntled bloggers say how successful they are now because they went to a traditional school as opposed to a non-traditional school. I have, though, heard many DeVry graduates speak about their successes. Get your company to pay for it. If they are not willing to, then, maybe you should think about getting your foot in the door of a company that does. It really isn't that hard to get an entry level position in a company willing to pay for your education. I say entry level because if you already had a $75k a year job, you probably would have had all of this squared away already. I took a $10k pay cut to get into the fortune 500 company, so I am speaking from experience. Final point! Anyone who is successful in life will let you know school matters; but unless you are going to an Ivy League school, the 2nd tier schools are pretty much the same. If you notice many of these negative bloggers have poor grammar skills and even less in the way they articulate their message. YOU CAN MAKE EXCUSES OR YOU CAN MAKE IT HAPPEN!!!!! I've chosen the latter... Good Luck

Was this review helpful?

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful

Dont Go Here...Spend Time Researching Somewhere Else

MBA - September 24, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The courses are good and you will work for you grade! The thing is ...its not valued education. They let anyone in for their MBA program. Which isnt valued or respected. How can it be when there are people out there saying on social media how they dont have to study for finals or midterms for an MBA program and then can say they are throwing a party come and join?!?!?! WTF!! One of their graduates said they were graduating "suma cum loddie" from the program...and got 40 likes from that...utter statement of ignorance. No respect from the program nor the degree. I know for a fact... that person that made that comment has not worked a day in their life at the age of 38!!! So you tell me?? And now they are enrolled at ...Capella for a PH.D....... A waste of time and money because the branding is not their because of nonsense like the above stated. No real PH.D program will take you with a Keller MBA.. you will have to backtrack.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Business Administration

MBA - July 17, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been a student at Devry (part time )for the last three years. I am not discourage to provide my info , as I feel very dissapointed with the level of service and lack of professionalism with the whole administration starting with the success coaches to the very top. I have made alot of adjustments to my personal lie to acquire a degree needless to say all the goverment loans to pursue my education. This past year has been the worst experience i tried to contact all sources I had a terrible on line English Instructor I couldn't get any cooperation from any of the deans even the university Director .The financial Aid office was getting loans disburssed without my knowledhe and approval.If any one is reading this BE CAREFUL!!! You are in it for a HUGE Surprise .I know dwell and regret for making this University my first choice. Try not to follow my errors.

Was this review helpful?

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Relevent Education

MBA - April 19, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm a month away from earning my third degree from DeVry University(MBA,MNCM, MPM). The course material is relevent and respected by employers who value results. I work full time and the flexibility of the schedule has allowed me to raise a family, run a business, and work full-time. By no means is it an easy school. You get out of it what you put in it. It's expensive so if you are paying out of your pocket, you may want to look at public options if money is an issue. The support system does suck. I've been associated with this school since 2001 and the support system still sucks. They now have Academic Coaches/Advisors that essentially serve as salesman to enocurage students to keep taking classes. They serve very little purpose and don't know what they are doing. Overall, my education has resulted in a $90,000K/yr job, a profitable real estate business, and practical portfolio of business and technologgy skills.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful

Quality Institution But Expensive

MBA - January 26, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have two degrees from DeVry University's Keller Graduate School of Management and I'm about to complete my third degree. I currently hold an MBA and a Master's in Network & Communications Management. I will have my Master's in Project Management in a couple of months. Keller is a quality school. The school has provided me with a business and technology foundation that has allowed me to advance my career. The education is relevent to my career. With that being said, every school isn't right for everyone. I would not go to this school if I had to take out a loan or wasn't already working in my career field. My employer pays my tuition. I work for a large telecommunications company that values the education Keller provides. Some employers may have a bad perception of the school and not provide this support. I read one post where a guy owes $40,000 in student loans. Although I value my Keller education, I would not pay for this myself or take out a loan to do it. Let finances and career aspirations be the guide for your school choice. This school works for me but I'm not saying it works for everyone.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Financial Aid department SUCKS!!!

MBA - August 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a veteran using the Post 911/GI bill. Up until around October of last year, everything was fine. Now, something is messed up every session with my tuition. Keller/DeVry constantly bills the VA late and then keeps my student loan to pay my tuition. Once the VA pays DeVry, they hang on to the money for a week or two before they issue me the refund. July 2012 session, DeVry didn't bill the VA for almost a month after classes started. Once the VA paid on Aug 10th, it left a credit balance of $2,378 on my account which should have been refunded to me. Instead, DeVry posted next sessions tuition to my account. Those classes don't start for three weeks!! I called the office and they said there is nothing they can do about it. Really? They made us register early otherwise we would not even be registered yet and now they are keeping more of our money. I now realize DeVry is owned by stockholders which means they want to make as much money as possible. If there were only 1,000 vets who go to DeVry accross the country (I know there are more) at $2,378 a class, they are holding $2,378,000 of our money for over a month. They are making interest on it. At only 5% that is an extra $118,900 they are making on us because they are holding our money instead of giving to us. I am being charged interest on that money and I am not even getting to use it!! DeVry/Keller is a crooked school that doesn't care about their students, only making money. I was going for a second degree, but I will not waste my time or money any longer on this school. I hope they realize people have a choice about where they go to school and they also have the ability to tell other people about the crap that goes on in the finance department. SO WRONG. DONT GOT HERE!!!

Was this review helpful?

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful

DeVry University is a decent educational institution

MBA - August 24, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from ECPI with a degree in Telecommunications Technology. I transfered to New England Institute of Technology earned a degree in Electronics Engineering Tech and I also graduated from DeVry University with a degree in Technical Management. I'm now finishing up my Masters in Telecommunications Engineering from Rochester Institute of Technology. I have read so many negative post about DeVry and ECPI. As I mention earlier I was successful at both these schools and they were very challenging. It seems to me most of you did not apply yourselves or stayed up on your financial responsibilities at the these schools. You are adults not children, things are not just taken care of for you. It is your responsibility to keep up on everything when attending school. Not just class assignments but the financial aspects of it too. None of these negative post hold weight you cannot discredit any of these schools for your irresponsibility. I enjoyed every minute of these educational institution and what they provided to me. I attend classes and did well at each one of them. So when I see these negative post and misleading information that the school is not regionally accredited shows me why you failed or struggled!

Was this review helpful?

20 of 24 people found the following review helpful

DeVry

MBA - November 30, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated from DeVry with a BS in electronic engineering technology and an MBA from keller. I was going to DeVry while working full time as a Techniian. After recieving my bachelors degree I moved to an engineering role. This was not easy because of the technolgy degree and my choice of school. I was told this by my manangement. I did and do have the skills necessary to perform my job, so DeVry provide necessary tools to be successful once I got the opportunity, but this is where the problem lyes. Some one has to give you the opportunity to prove yourself, and this may prove to be a difficult task depending on the industry.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

DeVry is Unethical

MBA - November 28, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

DeVry is an expensive school. I am paying cash, $2,000 a month or more. Teachers are generally good, but I had one who tried to teach leadership when she had no concept of what it was. Their major problems are IT and support. Their IT system is an antiquated hodgepodge of legacy computers and outdated systems. Hence, one department does not know what another is doing. But their major problem is that they send Emails which appear to have been sent from a certain party but were not. This is duplicitous, unethical, and impersonating. They completely screwed up my account. I was sent an Email demanding the wrong amount of money or I could not register. It also said I had agreed to pay up front, which I hadn't. I didn't know who sent it becaus ethe sender masqueraded themselves as my Student Support Advisor. I became upset at her unnecessarily because I intially thought she had sent it. Bottom line: DeVry has a serious problem with ethical behavior. They teach it but they don't do it. I really do not wish to pay $2,000 a month for this, but I have so many classes accumulated I may not be able to switch schools. If this sort of thing does not bother you, the academics are not bad. But I expect anyone I deal with to practice what they preach.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Pleased with DeVry/Keller

MBA - September 2, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have graduated from DeVry with an undergrad in Technical Management and an MBA. I will say that missing up your class attendance between online and on campus is the way to go if your schedule allows it. You can't really compare DeVry to an tradionals university. They are for profit, but they are also seeking a different type of student. One that wants to complete their degree without giving up on a full-time job, and complete their degree in a timely manner. DeVry is not for everyone. The courses move quickly and it take displine to complete the online course. Most of the course material and instructors were great. I made it a point to complete the mathmatical course work on-campus.

Was this review helpful?

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Comprehensive and Flexible MBA

MBA - January 8, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I travel extensively for work, and because of that I knew that I would need an online MBA program. I looked at various reviews for several institutions, looked at the program design, and also looked at the online interface (DeVry & Keller use the eCollege web interface that is much nicer (IMO) than Blackboard). After narrowing it down to two universities, I spoke with a few grads from each, looked at graduation rates, and also looked at the distribution of grades (didn't want a program where everyone received 'A's). One of the things I really liked about the Keller MBA program was the variety of concentrations, the solid core curriculum, and elective courses that I could use to tailor the program in a way that provided the greatest interest and value to me. The program was solid, and all of the instructors / professors were knowledgeable and helpful. I found the online courses to be much more challenging than traditional course. Instead of having immediate direct interaction with others in your class, you needed to research online posts and provide support for your statements and assertions. It really forced you to learn more about a subject. The downside was that if you had problems with something you also did not get immediate feedback, so you might spend more time on a subject than you planned. But, that is likely true for most online programs. I work with many MBAs - many from traditional universities with good reputations. I can hold my own when we discuss finance, economics, strategy, and other MBA-like topics. It has also helped be perform better in my job (management), although I can't say that it has helped me earn a higher salary. But, all-in-all I am very satisfied with the quality of the education received.

Was this review helpful?

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with DeVry University in any way.