Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

DeVry University

  • DeVry University Reviews

    Ranking: #74
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association

2.7
140 Reviews
5 22 
4 36 
3 13 
2 25 
1 44 
0 0 

DeVry University Reviews:

DeVry Dishonest Dirty Debt School

Computer Information Systems - April 7, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I describe DeVry as Dishonest, Dirty, and, Debt.... I attended DeVry from 2014-2017 Dishonest: Outdated education and course software programs from 2010-2013 with textbooks decade old and charged as if they are ground breaking information Convinience of different time zone instructors and students with different work schedules and availability issues Education is practically like blog posting or commenting like this review as form of assignment... really??? A elementary kid can do this and pass this college... if you can call this a college with ???? straight face Google search answer key to class work and exams... it's that easy... they don't change the curriculum for many years... Academic/Financial/Career Advisors are a SICK JOKE - they make mistakes on your account of registering false classes and adding on false charges, they are little devils causing havoc to your life mentally and financially Dirty: Countless of Lawsuits/Investigations- bribe its way out of trouble to our Uncle Sam I Been unemployed after graduation for many months and the so called job placement or career services cut ties with you after 6 months after graduation and during the time they 6 months is once a week updates on how is your job search going? Really that is all you can do for me... Cheated thousands of of American citizens and veterans Debt: I racked up 39 grand in loans still needs to be paid off and paid close to triple that amount for a piece of worthless paper

Was this review helpful?

12 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Worst Fake College/University I ever graduated from

Computer Information Systems - October 19, 2016
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I attended this fake school from 2013-2016 and graduated with a bachelors degree in CIS, still they delayed giving my diploma yet and waiting till next month to get it after calling them 4-5 times to get the problem solved and I hope will get my diploma through the mail by mid November for their second time promise. I finished my last courses with excitement and only to get pissed when they mess things up for me. The honest truth the technology was outdated and we were using outdated software 3-5 years behind and Textbooks were maybe decades old in e book form which can be sold in amazon for less than half the price they sold through us in our classes. The course work was so easy you could find all the answer keys online and they teach the same curriculum garbage from past 5-10 years without ever changing it for new classes, so cheating was easy and education is non-existent. This school faced a ton of ongoing lawsuits and issues with department of education/ federal trade regulations over job placement statistics. In normal college your assigned a specific advisor or few you could know by name. In DeVry university a student can have fun playing the lottery with millions of advisors that open your file and try to solve your problem without ever really caring about your future or interest. I called them many times and they sound like you are talking to random sales people talking about an inneffective product or product issues. This is not a school or education talk. I gone through mental and financial problems with this school. My parents paid 74 grand in tuition and other costs already to them and left with 29,000 in Great Lake loans and federal Perkins loan of 5000 with 6% interest for a garbage degree that is low to no value in the real world use. If you value your future and invest for great quality education go to a state, private, or even community college. Never go to a for profit school like DeVry. You will end up like me and other people that down voted this fake school.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful

DeVry is a great school.

Computer Information Systems - December 9, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I worked hard and I am graduating with honors. It's hard but I applied myself 100%. I am in the process of finding the JOB. I will tell you I've had no issues from employers knowing where I am coming from. I've had interviews with IBM and other big corporations. What I am disappointed in is our career center. Not really much of help, I've left messages for the director and she has not yet replied or responded to my calls. Everyone else was very helpful. My only complaint is the director. They are a national accredited school and are transferable credits I hate to see all the negative post,out its like anywhere you have to apply yourself to succeed.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful

You still have to earn your degree

Computer Information Systems - January 25, 2015
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I started taking online courses in 2013 and I made sure to keep focused on graduating. I don't know about transferring and my future career outlook but I can honestly say that I'm having no problems so far. If anybody is not feeling like they are getting help with their classes then they are just lazy. Devry allow students to help each other as long as you open your mouth. You can't expect to get help if you don't ask. And that means asking more than just your teacher. If I really needed help, I could ask other classmates or even go to the devry group on facebook. That simple. I think that some people get frustrated and give up too soon. I get frustrated sometimes but I think to myself "a degree shouldn't come easy." Then I refocus and MAN UP! The only thing that I sometimes worry about is finding a job in my field when I graduate but I think you have to use your own skills in doing that and not just giving out your resume with a devry degree on it. I probably got 2 more years and with my program of Computer Info Systems and I'm already looking for entry level jobs near me. So it is important to prepare yourself ahead of time. Get over it. No one ever said it will be easy.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful

I loved DeVry

Computer Information Systems - September 21, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I finished DeVry in 2003, I went on to also complete the MBA program at Keller Graduate School. Having these degrees has enabled me to enter the grants writing field at a major university and earn a very comfortable salary at my age. You have to make the degree work for you. No university anywhere at least that I know of is going to hand you a job and say show up on Monday. I made this degree work for me. I highly recommend DeVry and Keller. The faculty and staff were very friendly. Even now when I call needs transcripts the service is very promot and courteous.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 20 people found the following review helpful

if you are a vet do not go to devry

Computer Information Systems - June 30, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a vet with 9/11 bill that completed my degree last year. This school was useless when it came to anyone wirh military benefits. The one person that they did have to certify my classes constantly messed it up and it would take calling a dean multiple times to fix it. They also certified classes that were not covered by my benifits and told me I owed them money. This could have been easily fixed if they would have not certified my next set of classes when I ran out of funding for that quarter. After fighting them to fix their mistake for 6 months, theysent the 10, 000 dollar bill to collections without trying to fix the problem they created. If you are a vet, or anyone for that matter, do not go to this iinstitution. They are bound to cause more problems for you than they are worth. Hope this helps someone.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 26 people found the following review helpful

Don't Do It

Computer Information Systems - April 3, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated in 2004 with a BS in Computer Information Systems. I sent my resume to a local company, and an HR Specialist called me back. The ad was for an entry level job, and had asked for two years previous experience. He asked if I had that. I said no, but I had this fabulous degree from DeVry, and we did actually set up a website as a class project in our senior year. He said they'd asked for two years experience, but had been flooded with responses, and the person eventually hired would have five to seven years of experience at a supervisory level. I couldn't even get a job on a help desk. I think a few people in my class found jobs, but by and large, entry level programming, which is what this degree prepared you for, has been outsourced to India, Russia, China, Poland and Romania. DeVry knew that was the trend years before I enrolled, and they lied to me and hundreds of others. We're all $50K-$60K in debt from student loans, and I think DeVry should have to pay it.

Was this review helpful?

15 of 27 people found the following review helpful

This school is a fraud

Computer Information Systems - February 23, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

DeVry is a fraud. I spent 2 and a half years in that school and cost me about $40,000 with help of government of $30,000. They teach you the basics really slowly and it's really easy. But when it gets to the more advance materials, they weren't very good at it. They just confused the heck of out of you. First off, they divided into 3 semesters in a year (obviously one of the reason is that they want to make more money, and I don't think they care about how fast you graduate). When I started my major on game programming, they made me take Introduction to Game and Simulation, which is history about games and the type of genre of games..... I hope you already feel a little bit odd about that. And it took them 3 semesters to teach me 80% of the basics of C++. There are so many things that they didn't teach me about C++ such as linked list, vector, recursive, namespace, exception, and some other details that is needed to program Direct X. On my second semester into the game simulation major, they made me introduction to linux, and most of the time the teacher asked us to copy and paste codes. Although he tried to explain some of the stuff but it's quite confusing (I am not sure why yet, but I'll find out in the future). And they only taught me the very basics of linux and I didn't even learn much from it because most of the time the teacher just asked us to copy and paste codes. And as on the third semester, they made us take how to design games. It's not as useful as you think. The teacher mostly taught us the very basic of how to use 3D studio max, which is creating a cube, sphere, cylinder, etc. Absolutely nothing useful. I don't even fully know how to use the software. I only know a little bit portion of it. And sometimes the teacher would give us bullshit like draw a character and describe its characteristic and present it to the class.... Fourth semester begins, and I took physics, and the teacher didn't explain anything. I don't know what the symbols mean, and I don't know why the formulas the way it is. I know some physics now and I know exactly why I don't understand. First off, they didn't teach us trigonometry, which are stuff like sin(x), cos(x), tan(x), etc. and it's essential to understand motions. What they seem to be doing is just having me to memorize those formulas. I need to learn calculus as well if I want to understand the rate of change in distance (velocity), and rate of change in velocity (acceleration). Well... the school didn't provide any of those courses to support physics and the teacher suck as hell. And further semesters down... they made me take simulation programming, which sounds pretty good right? The teacher gave us one assignment for the entire semester! And that assignment can take me as little as few hours to do. The assignment was that a person pushes a button, and the elevator comes down, elevator door opens, and the person walks in, and then lift the person up, and second person pushes the button again, samething happens. And it's not even in graphics, there are no physics in evolve and absolutely no math either. It's all text. And it's in dos mode. Just made a bunch of functions and write some bullshit texts. I'll say it'll take me 6 hours at the most. But I am suspecting a lot less than that. It might take me 6 hours because the teacher made the assignment to be done in a more complicated way than it supposed to be. And for the next semester, I had Direct x9 programming. The teacher had us copy and paste codes the entire semester with no lectures. Absolutely no lecture. Every assignment was just to copy and paste the codes from one chapter and run it, and if it works, then e-mail it to the teacher. I learned absolutely almost nothing from it. I could have just literally copy and paste codes from the CD that the book gave us. But I tend to type it out anyways and see if I can figure out what the codes do. That's their teaching method, copy and paste, run it and see what it does.... Also, every time I tried to ask the teacher for details about something, he seems to be avoiding me. And one time I asked him if I am be able to do something in Direct X9 and he said no. And after I left DeVry and tried to figure out Direct X9 on my own, and I found out that I can do that thing that I asked the teacher about where he said no I can't do it. That means he doesn't know. Why the hell is teaching if he isn't fully knowledgeable about Direct X9?? And all the English classes and are bunch of bullshit. They don't grade grammars, sentence structures, essay structures, etc. If you write anything that's relevant to the topic, you have 90% of getting an "A". Also for other classes such as psychology class, speech class and project management class are also bullshit. In psychology class, you learn stuff like placebo effect (giving a person fake pills and made them think it'll them feel better), the hierarchy of needs... I don't remember much from it... but why the hell are we learning those? And we had to take 2 semesters of psychology bullshit. And as for project management class... we learn terms like.. mile stone... something something something scope... it's so useless, I didn't even bother to remember them... and the teacher gave us one project for the entire semester, which is to think of a project but don't implement it. We just write out the details of the project, such as how much it'll cost, what materials we need, what are the difficulties... one project for the entire semester??? And through out the semester, the teacher had been teaching us vocabularies?? And for speech class... the teacher is just made up some random bullshit that is out of life experience... such as saying stuff that isn't in the topic to extend your speech. Like if you are supposed to talk about insurance and you transitioned it into talking about the children. Again, this school is a fraud! Do not apply!

Was this review helpful?

17 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Class Action Law Suit

Computer Information Systems - September 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Like a number of people who have posted on this site and many others I agree that DeVry was the biggest mistake of my life. The recruiter said it would take only two years to get the degree (did not say if you go full time and I worked full time). Said they would transfer credits (they didn't even though they were from accredited schools and programs that I had to retake with DeVry). Said they used up to date information used in business (programs were outdated). Said they would provide a quality education to take you and help your earning potential (the degree gave me nothing but huge debt). Said their placement program could work with you to find you gainful employment (they possibly could place me in a job, but for an annual salary less than what I was making...who would want to take a pay cut?). DeVry provided no support and their accelerated class schedule was a joke. Do you know anyone who can work full time and learn a new computer language in six weeks online? Even with computer languages that are not currently being used in business? I have contacted an attorney in California who does class action law suits and said that if there is enough interest generated we possibly have a case. Contact me if you are interested I will not post the name of the firm on this site. Also file complaints with the association that accredits DeVry (http://www.ncahlc.org/) and the Illinois Attorney General (www.Illinois.AttorneyGeneral.gov). The more complaints that they receive the more WE have a chance of stopping them from doing this and possibly get our money back! Any person who works at DeVry who reads this....WE ARE COMING FOR YOU! Michael (theoliversca@msn.com)

Was this review helpful?

30 of 35 people found the following review helpful

No problems

Computer Information Systems - September 13, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am not sure why everyone seems to be negative about it. First it is a fully accredited university (the same as Ohio State and Michigan State and recognized by the U.S D.O.E). I have had no problems and recieved excellent support. As for posts about tuition change, well it will change depending on the course, the materials needed, and the credits taken in a given semester and this goes for all schools. Secondly I am not sure why people are saying they were duped into loans, before I could even take the loan with my fafsa to get maximum credits in a semester I had to go through a series of loan entrance educational quizes from Fafsa itself. Then they explained about the loans how they work and wanted to make sure I actually needed and wanted, explaining that if I took less credits (still within fafsa limit) I wouldnt need the loan, so I am not sure where people are getting pushed into loans. I also have had no problems with the teachers, they all get back to me within a day if not sooner. So all in all I am enjoying my experience here.

Was this review helpful?

9 of 14 people found the following review helpful

No issues with DeVry

Computer Information Systems - May 17, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I generally don't understand when I see horrible reviews of DeVry. I guess everyone has their own situation. I have been an undergrad student at DeVry for the last 2 years. I am a former US Marine and current member of the Illinois National Guard. So maybe I have a different perspective. But I am a professional working adult who also has National Guard responsibilities. I simply do not have the time to go to a traditional school and sit down in a class room several times a week. I go to class online. I have most of my tuition paid for by the military, so I probably can't speak to some of the tuition issues people say they have experienced. That said, I have had zero issues with DeVry. I have had zero issues with student finance, academic advising, or any other department. Online learning is no-less of an education that anything else. I am so tired of hearing people bash DeVry and online learning and all of these other things. The bottom line is, if you put in the work, you will receive an education. I am not going to apologize to anyone or make excuses for my choice of schools. I picked a school that fits into my life. After I left active duty, that is when I decided to to go to college. At that point, I was 36 years old. Quitting my job or working part-time and sitting in a class room all day just wasn't feasible. You will get an education if you put the work in. I know many people who screwed around in college, a traditional college, and received their degree. They will tell you they partied and did just enough to graduate and didn't learn a whole lot. You can do the same thing at DeVry. You can do just enough to get your degree or you can do the work and get an education. I am getting an education. I have a 3.45 GPA and I am proud of that because I am putting in the work. I am sorry to the people who have had tuition problems. But to blindly advise people to run from DeVry because you had a problem is irresponsible. This is a quality school who is regionally accredited. This is not the University of Phoenix. Do the work, get educated, and go out in this world and succeed.

Was this review helpful?

36 of 46 people found the following review helpful

Class action law suite wanted!

Computer Information Systems - May 3, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I want my money back! Realistically I want DeVry to pay back the loans they manipulated me into taking out and lied to me to agree to. I wish I would never have heard the name DeVry and would agree to a class action law suite if given the chance. All I want is the loan that was supposed to cover my education to get my degree paid off. Nothing more. They need to stop pressuring students and lying to them. I couldn't believe how hopeful I was before I started and how crushed I was when the classes I needed were never available and the prices went up. I was half way through and then I could no longer go. How is that even legal? It's like the housing market scheme all over again! DeVry should be shut down and made to pay the loans off that they coerced students into taking out!

Was this review helpful?

53 of 74 people found the following review helpful

High priced education and a very disappointing service

Computer Information Systems - February 23, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I would not recommend this University for a higher education if it was free, much less the $60k plus that I am paying out of pocket to receive worse support, education and service than a community college where the degree expenses are 1/3 of the price DeVry charges. I am currently attending the San Antonio location. My experience here in just the first 2 months have been; the advisors cannot advise you beyond what you could read and find out for yourself, the teachers do not get back to you in a timely manner, everyone's schedule seems to be too busy to really address any of your issues, and if you don't stay on top of the staff the ball gets dropped and you are left with disappointment. Don't expect any kind of knowledgeable information, professional treatment, or superior service in comparison to a community college. A colleague is attending this same San Antonio location, on a fully paid tuition from the military and has decided to spend the money elsewhere because of the same experiences. When I go to a $100 plus a plate restaurant i expect premium service, not the same type of service I might get at McDonalds, and to be honest...this is the only expectations DeVry has left me with..... High prices for poor quality service. Save your money and go to a more accredited college or university.

Was this review helpful?

24 of 31 people found the following review helpful

Don't Do It!

Computer Information Systems - February 3, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Devry is an OK school if you are going as a citizen and only through one program. Because I am a veteran, Devry was for some reason unable to properly bill the VA for my GI Bill. Also, because I had taken 2 online courses and one at the school itself, the devry billing department was incapable of properly billing the VA for this also. I have not attended Devry in several months and to this date they have not resolved the problem and they continue to send me bills for debts (which should be sent to the VA) which Devry created in the first place. Because they initially over-credited my course credits to the VA, and then filed SEVEN ammendments in 1 month, there were a number of changes made to my credit hour reports. The school and the online courses are used as two seperate programs and in return, they continued ammending each others credit calculations, thus resulting in a final ammendment that is still 3 credits off from what I actually took. It is quite a disaster. I reccomend NOT going to Devry if you are a verteran or interested in taking a class online and at the school unless you want to spend more time on the phone trying to fix their errors than actually doing homework.

Was this review helpful?

25 of 30 people found the following review helpful

Devry University

Computer Information Systems - January 30, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Devry University is definitely not for slackers. I will recommend this school to active duty military because the rates are kept lower than the rates of other students (mine was $250/credit) and the schedule is favorable. It is also possible to mix TA and GI Bill for tuition and you probably qualify for Pell Grants. Finance-wise i get refunds. Back to the slacker talk. The workload is crippling - get ready for 5 hours a day workload, especially for engineering courses. My professors are also experienced Ph.d holders in their respective fields.

Was this review helpful?

20 of 25 people found the following review helpful

Decent School

Computer Information Systems - December 23, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I think overall you need to know what you’re getting. I went in knowing this was a for-profit school, and in the end I am in $40,000 in debt. I will be paying that off for 20 years, but was it worth it? In the end yes it was. I do have not enough free time to hit a campus and go to school, and this worked out for me. Will my resume be passed up compared to a person who went to a state college? For now, maybe. The key to DeVry is you need to get your foot in the door at an entry level job in your field. If you expect to get a good job after you graduate, you are in a load of trouble. My academic advisors were always there for me, along with the financial aid department. People complain about getting bad student services, but for over 2 years I never experienced this. The teachers all work on a curriculum that was set up by the course architect, so all they do is grade, and answer questions. So overall the teachers were not the best, but then again I felt sometimes I really did have a teacher that was qualified, and sometimes I felt a teacher should not be working there. Overall I say if you can afford the time to go to a physical campus, go to a community college for two years than transfer to a state or private school of your choice. I would not recommend this school for a physical campus. You can get cheaper and better education elsewhere. I do however recommend this school for online. If you simply do not have the time, go to this school. How I made this money hungry school work for me: I got a job in online lottery business, at entry level. My job paid for $10,000 of my school, and now doors are opening as we speak. The point is, I have put in over 2 years at my current job, and now my degree will be finished in February, and my company doesn’t care that my degree says DeVry on it, they care that I took the time to get my degree, and they know I have the experience. If I do for some reason get laid off or something worse, I now have the experience and a degree, and some outside resources to get another job. I cannot stress enough about you getting an entry level job in your field or something related before you enroll in this school. If you can land that, your degree will carry some weight, no matter what it says on it.

Was this review helpful?

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful

DeVry University : Computer Information Systems Reviews

Computer Information Systems - June 13, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

You have to work really hard to fail. Otherwise, they would do anything to let you pass. I was there couple of years ago for three classes. In my SQL class, one guy couldn't show up more than 3rd of the course. He came back on the last day to drop the class and the teacher pulled him out of the class to talk. When they came back he stayed to finish the last day and he told me that the teacher would give him a "C" to pass. I had experienced other weird events too, but this was the best one. So, you need to work really to hard to fail in DeVry.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Don't waste your money or time with these people.

Computer Information Systems - April 27, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

This school is a joke and they are not honest at all. I lost so much money attending this school. With gas, tuition, and application fees it was outrageous. I figured it would be amazing to get my Bachelor's in around 3 years but after one semester tuition went up, I didn't receive a refund but eventually even if I would have it wasn't nearly close to the quote I received via e-mail from the department of education. These people should be shut down completely along with all of the types of schools. They are scams and it's just more economical to go to a community college. Heck an actual University is cheaper than this school.

Was this review helpful?

10 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Money hungry scamers

Computer Information Systems - March 23, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a disabled veteran studing engineering at Alabama A&M.While persuing my degree my vetran vocational rehab counsler suggested I check out completing my degree online and told me to investagate several online colleges, which I did. Now for those of you who dont know anything about vetarans vocational rehab, it's a program that helps disabled veterans retrain so they can reinter the work force. My veteran counsler told me to find a school and then let him know about the programs that would best fit my educational needs. Devry seemed to have what I needed so I contacted there admissions department and explained my situation as well as made it abundently clear that my tuition, books and supplies would be paid by the veterans vocrehab and that any program I was intersted in would have to be approved by Vocational rehab. The admissions officer said that they deal with veterans all the time and that that would be no problem.Iinformed him that I would just have submit my credits for evaluation to see if there program would be in my degree plan so that the V.A. could approve my enrollment, he agreed.After my evaluation was completed the V.A. said that the program that Devry had was to far out of my degree plan and that they could not approve my attending Devry. I then informed the admissions officer at Devry of The V.A. dicission. They told that it was ok that tey understood. I did'nt think anything more about it untill recently when I found a 1000.00 bill on my credit report from devry university. Now folks I never took one class not one book not anything and they have messed up my credit and stuck me with a bogus 1000.oo bill. Even if I had attended this scam of school they were supposed to bill the V.A/ not me. Wat ever you do dont get mixed up with this so called college they are just a money hungry scam.My veteran vocational rehab counsler can varafy every word is true.

Was this review helpful?

14 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Worst, most expensive, decision of my life

Computer Information Systems - February 19, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

The degree is totally not worth it. I went to DeVry New York from 2005 to 2007. For the price of the degree, they are not giving you anything that a far cheaper institution is not giving. The problem is not with the quality of education (for the most part). The school has some knowledgeable professors that do a solid job. About half way through the degree and about $25,000 in debt, in addition to state and pell grants I finally wised up and decided to transfer to a state college that offers online courses. To finish up the degree, taking about the same amount of credits I took at DeVry, it cost me about 75% less. It's a good thing I left DeVry when I did or I would be in debt $50,000 instead of $30,000 (of which DeVry is responsible for $25,000, which still sucks). I wouldn't recommend anybody waste there money at DeVry. There is absolutely no reason to spend that type of money for a mediocre education. At one time maybe they had the convenience of providing online classes, but there are countless better options now for that convenience. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!

Was this review helpful?

11 of 17 people found the following review helpful

Why I hate Devry

Computer Information Systems - January 6, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I actually have a conversation from my academic advisor, who was really nice, but it should explain everything quite nicely. If you are interested just contact me. You can go to http://www.linkedin.com/pub/jeremy-eck/12/418/959 Basically, I don't recommend going to this "Univeristy" at all because they hire students to do all the work at no low cost and the students (like they should be) are more focused on other things. The school doesn't do anything when you complain about issues of any kind. And you NEED to know this. They will not tell you this. DO NOT SPEND YOUR REFUND CHECKS. Send them back to the school immediatly as a credit or you will not even be able to afford to graduate with student loans, they cap at just under 60k from the government and then your on your own. Do you think Devry cares? I called and they said my account was on hold, I could not pursue my degree until I satisfied their debt. They had no options, no cares, and I'm starting to wish I just got A+ and NET+ certified and just left it at that. I highly recommend thinking about that. Almost no company says they REQUIRE a 4 year degree to get your foot in the door. After that your already in.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 21 people found the following review helpful

No

Computer Information Systems - October 3, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Don’t go to Devry. I am an actual graduate and will try my very best to keep everyone from going there. They are not a goog school at all. You won’t learn half as much as if you went to a state university. I had a Dean teach one of my classes and it was the worst experience of my life. He didn’t know s***. I graduated and never got a job. They claim that they have a 90% placement rate but it includes anyone that is working even if it’s not in their field. If you work at Mcdonalds you are part of the 90%. Hooray!! That’s what they don’t tell you. Biggest mistake of my life. My career services advisor never helped me either. She created a resume for me that was immediately changed when I went to a temp place. Never heard from her again even after sending several e-mails. Took all the money they could get and cut ties.

Was this review helpful?

16 of 21 people found the following review helpful

I think DeVry is a great school.

Computer Information Systems - August 29, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I have been a DeVry online student for two years now and I have completed 20 some classes and what I have to say is that this is a great program. The learning environment over all is very good. Financial aide and academic advising were always there when I needed them. Most of the professor were actual professionals in the industry and were of high academic standing. Don’t be fooled that it’s some kind of joy ride the courses are challenging especially if you’re working full time as well. I would recommend DeVry to anyone looking to further their education and think that the reason most of the people who have left negative feedback here did so simply because they couldn’t hack it.

Was this review helpful?

12 of 17 people found the following review helpful

DeVry Alumni Office: Act like Pompus, Elitist Jerk

Computer Information Systems - February 22, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I graduated with a Computer Information Degree in the 90's. I would not recommend DeVry to anyone. I tried to get their help during the years of IT recession -- also known as the dot.com crash -- and the alumni office was completely worthless. They behaved like condesending jerks. Their Unix program stinks. In fact, it was only one class on some kind of Unix emulation system. It wasn't even real Unix. If I'd graduated with an emphasis in Unix (rather than COBOL) I would have had a much greater chance finding employment.

Was this review helpful?

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Avoid Like Plague

Computer Information Systems - August 23, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They had a great learning model, but abandoned it for 8 week sessions all of which are half online, the in class portion of which is usually led by a teacher who knows you cannot learn anything of real depth or value in 8-weeks and so they talk about their life outside of school. This school, Keller included, is a waste of money. They charge as much (if not more) than some REAL, excellent colleges, and they are basically Phoenix Online with some onsite assistance. The staff couldn't care less about you, and in Keller your final grade is 40% comprised of the final exam (some of which only have 5-10 questions, others with over 50), and most of the time you haven't even scratched the material as they keep sucking money from your pockets. Beyond that, they have the most inefficienct Financial Aid department, rude staff members, and if you really question the teachers you realize they do not even understand the topics they are teaching. Having to teach your teacher is a pain in the ass.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

DON'T GO TO DEVRY

Computer Information Systems - July 7, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

THEY LIE TO YOU AT EVERY LEVEL PERIOD!!! I HAVE BEEN A STUDENT AT DEVRY FOR 3 YEARS, AND I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT TROUBLE WITH THEM. THEIR FINANCIAL AID DEPARTMENT IS SO REDICULOUS THAT IT IS PRACTICALLY NON EXISTANT! THEIR ADVISORY TEAM IS A JOKE! THEY GIVE YOU NO ADVISE UNLESS...YOU DO SOMETHING UNKNOWINGLY WRONG; THEN THEY ARE RIGHT THERE TO LET YOU KNOW AND MAKE YOU SUFFER. I HAVE WORKED MY BUTT OFF THE WHOLE TIME THRU NUMEROUS OBSTICLES AND HAVE GAINED NOTHING FROM THEM IN THE HELP DEPARTMENT!! I AM DONE WITH THEM. FROM WHAT I HAVE BEEN TOLD ALMOST EVERYONE HAS A HARD TIME GETTING WORK WITH A DEGREE FROM THERE BECAUSE MOST EMPLOYERS THINK THE SCHOOL IS A "JOKE"!!

Was this review helpful?

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Honest review

Computer Information Systems - April 21, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I just finished my first 2 classes and I just cancel my enrollment. I took critical thinking and problem solving and was a complete joke. You don't learn anything and I still have some questions about the Professors accreditation. The assigments and discussions are very high school and to easy to be true. In my fantastic computer class I learn that you have to do your own research to learn any program. The final test was anything but what we discuss on class. I do have to say that the student advisor was fantastic and she did help me in every way posible to have a good experience. I think I call almost everyday and she was there for every question I had. I do not recommend this university because I found it to easy and you probably will end up with a degree that everyone will laugh at .

Was this review helpful?

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Only did one week term

Computer Information Systems - April 16, 2009
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I only did one 8 week term with them and I was not very impressed. They have weak points and strong points. The weak points are that they are a for profit institution. So their main goal is to make money. Also they are supposed to be a technical institure but they have had problems with their own website for a couple of weeks and it is really annoying because I can not look at my bill, and my classes that I am registered for. It is funny to me that they are Devry, but can not even keep their own website running correctly. They are too expensive for an online institution. We are talking 500+ dollars per credit hour, if you are active duty military or your spouse is you will get a discount. I think it is then 280 per credit hour, but still expensive, my gi bill barely covers it. So don't expect to live off of the gi bill too much with them. Also I had to take a required class called critical thinking/learning, it is the biggest waste of money ever. You don't learn anything and I just found myself getting more and more aggrevated at the class because I had wasted a month's worth of gi bill benifits. The other class I am taking, economics, is pretty challenging. If the rest of the classes are this way I would expect it to be a challengeing program. So don't expect a degree for a fee. I found that the test do not really correspond to the material in the textbooks, so I did poorly on the midterm(I am dreading the final). For the positive side, the support is great. Especially if you are a veteran and will be using the gi bill. They pretty much take care of everything for you. There was never a problem that they could not handle. Student finance was very easy to work with and I have not had any problems with them. The two main reasons I am leaving Devry are the cos( I just got an email that tuition is going up in june) and the other reason is more of a personal thing, I am no longer interested in the program I am taking. But they do offer a variety of technical programs and you can't beat the flexibility of an online class.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 8 people found the following review helpful

really good

Computer Information Systems - June 24, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

i really dindt like this school well a bit their academic advising team needs more trainig

Was this review helpful?

Great Technology in IT Programs

Computer Information Systems - June 7, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'm due to graduate with my BS in Network Management after the Fall B term of 08. I must say that the online labs and technology are cutting edge. The router networks and simulated labs are great! I'm saying this because I have been in the IT field for 12 years and haven't seen it taught this well. The course materials are from Cisco Press, Microsoft and other leading technical written publications. Most of the books I used for courseware are now in my library of technical references at work and are completely updated and relevant. I'm not a big fan of discussions if the instructor isn't demanding excellence. You normally post 3 times a week per discussion and normally there are two discussions; so at least 6 post per week. You will normally have a midterm and final per course. Out of the 15+ classes I have completed with them, only one course didn't meet my expectations. I made an A but thought the instructor was subpar. One bad experience hasn't ruined my experience though. All classes I have taken have had professors who had degrees in the field they were teaching, which has probably been a small miracle for me to this point. The graduation requirements were a little cloudy at first but this was due to me not reading the course catalog and some small print. The price of attending works well for military students since tuition is $250 a credit hour which is the limit that service members receive. I do however recommend that you attend your core lower division classes at a community college since this is where the foundation of your college degree is built upon and tuition is usually cheaper and you have an instructor in the class with you. As with all colleges that have an online program, you must be able to communicate effectively with the school, pay your tuition on time, and make sure your books are ordered and paid for. You must be aware of rules they regulate the school by! They are a business. If you can’t communicate effectively through email and phone and do follow-ups from time to time then attend elsewhere before you feel the need to post negatively about this college. Be aware DeVry offers 8 week courses and 2 courses per session is considered full time. This means you will take around 4 classes per semester, which is full time at most schools. My overall experience is two thumbs up! As with most degree’s you will need a little experience and some technical or professional certifications and license to land the job you are looking for. DeVry also has campuses you can attend if you prefer this method or is more convenient for you.

Was this review helpful?

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Good, but not the optimal choice

Computer Information Systems - February 6, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I took 5 online classes at DeVry, and they were more rigorous than being in the actual classroom. If you're a slacker, don't take their online program, because the professors and the e-college system is not as flexible as being in the traditional setting. While it's possible to get a decent education from their online program, I would prefer to elect for the traditional in class coursework, rather than the online component. In some cases, it would be a good idea to mix in a few online classes with some in-class lectures, especially those of a highly technical nature.

Was this review helpful?

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful

I must give credit where credit is due.

Computer Information Systems - January 26, 2008
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

If you do the work and get high grades, you will get your dream job. If I had to do it all over again I would. My $50,000 investment is paying off!

Was this review helpful?

9 of 14 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with DeVry University in any way.