Online Degree Reviews Logo

Unbiased Online Degree Reviews Since 2006

DeVry University

  • DeVry University Reviews

    Ranking: #74
    Non-Profit: Yes
    Country: USA
    Website
    Accreditation: North Central Association

2.7
140 Reviews
5 22 
4 36 
3 13 
2 25 
1 44 
0 0 

DeVry University Reviews:

Great flexibility and quality for adult learners

Health Information Technology - March 20, 2017
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I received my BSHA from Devry Jacksonville and recently completed my MBA. From day one I worked very hard and had great instructors! This institution is like many others YOU GET WHAT YOU PUT INTO IT! No school online or brick and mortar are going to give away a degree. They are regionally accredited which is the most important item in itself! I have read many of the reviews and i think had the students exercised their voices and filled out the end of course surveys or spoke with the campus dean, the results may have been different. Schools like Devry are in business because of the flexibility of class start times and many brick and mortar schools will not issue Veterans any credit for military service. Additionally some of those other schools were not even set up to take the GI Bill and gladly advised me to retake course i already had taken!Education is like every other product in the market.. buyer beware! Finally those that gave bad reviews... Why stay at a school for 2-3 years if you're unhappy?

Was this review helpful?

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Not as bad as you think

Health Information Technology - September 14, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been seeing a lot of bad reviews lately regarding loans, financial aid, and whether a job will even consider a DeVry degree. Well let me tell you that I thoroughly enjoyed going to this school. I tried a few schools and this was by far my favorite. I was able to complete my program in two years and had an easy time using the online classes. I never had a problem getting in touch with financial aid or any other department. And if I had to leave a message, they called me back that same day. I finally got a job at the local hospital and I was picked among many candidates. But overall, this school was quite good. I don't understand why some people are so angry.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 18 people found the following review helpful

Money Driven Only!!!@

Health Information Technology - May 6, 2014
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I've been attending DeVry University for over 2 1/2 years and was only 12 credit hours away from a degree in Health Information Technology before I was dismissed on academic probation because I failed a HIT class. I thought I was imaging things or I thought it was only me that was having a problem with this particular instructor. Low and behind, once I was dismissed, I attempted to transfer to another university and have my credit go along with me. To my surprise, the majority of the classes completed at Devry University did not own enough credit hours to transfer and therfore; two different well known universities failed to accept no more than 29 credit hours out of the 52 hours that I had completed at Devry. Also, I was extremely shocked to learn that not only did I fail that particular teacher's class but over 50% of the class failed this course also. This professor was uncaring was wasn't concerned whether the students best interest was at heart. I contacted the student advisory committee on numerous occasions complaining about the lack of help that I was receiving from this teacher and was told that they didn't have anything to do with that and that I should keep e-mailing here until she contacted me. Since I had the good sense to recognize that this instructor was only money driven, I reached out to my fellow students by postings each week and by that time, it was too late; I had failed the course. I reapply that Devry in January, 2014 and was accepted back again. I only asked for one course per session for the first six months of my reentering since I wanted to bring my GPA average back up to part and was under the assumption that the advisor had me listed for only one class. Low and behind, 4 days before class began, I checked my student portal and found that the advisor had entrolled me in two classes. I immediately called DeVry and attempted to have one class taken off of my schedule because I was re=entering on academic probation. I was told that I had waited too late to ask for that class to be dropped and if I dropped the other clasa at that point I would be responsible for paying for the class. In essence, DeVry already knew that I wouldn't be able to keep up my GPA average. All they were interested in was the $9800 that they would receive for those classes. OUt of 4 classes from January to April 31st, I passed all three and needless to say, this same uncaring professor flunked me again, which got me permanently dismissed again. I feel that my wishes was not respected when I asked for only 1 class per session and was given a full schedule enough though I was still on academic probation. I knew it won't do any good, but I wrote the Department of Higher Education and explained to them what happened and also told them that my wishes was not respected and that DeVry advisor did what she wanted to do with my schedule without consulting me. I feel that any GOOD ADVISOR would have the insight to recognize the fact that if a student is returning on academic probation that they is only to receive a limited amount of hours until they are brought back to good standing. Now, I owe $48,500 in student loans with no degree to show for it and can't transfer to any other university to complete my degree because I don't have any more student loans remaining to do so!!!! PLEASE!!!! PLEASE!!!! LISTEN UP!!!! DEVRY IS A RIPOFF AND IS ONLY MONEY HUNGER!!!! DON'T ATTEND!!!!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 24 people found the following review helpful

HORRIBLE

Health Information Technology - November 12, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

They lied to me about the program I was going to be in. Then once I finished my first quarter they said I owed them $600 to start the next quarter and I should have had it paid for. They charged me for more then I needed and used that against me. They won't work with you at all if you owe money. You can not make payments to them at all.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Over the top in price...

Health Information Technology - August 22, 2013
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am annoyed with this school. I decided to leave Devry. I only took 3 math classes.. Mind you it was algebra 1.... I received a bill from the loan center 6,000......I was floored. Can you imagine paying that for 3 classes that weren't in the core classes....So I am not happy.............I am not done with this........wow

Was this review helpful?

12 of 21 people found the following review helpful

Okay School :)

Health Information Technology - December 26, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Devry is a okay school. I have been attending Devry online since 2009. I will be graduating in May of 2013 I was suppose to graduate this year but took a much needed break when I was pregnant and after I had my son and I got a little behind. I am going to school for Health Information Technology and plan to do Medical Coding when I graduate. I pray I'm not one of those people venting about not finding a job after graduation but I have confidence I will find a good paying medical coding position after I graduate. The only thing I didn't like at Devry is that the finacial aid department waited till I was almost done with school to tell me I reached my aggregate limit and my financial aid was running out. When they told me this "silly me" never knew that someones financial aid could actually run out before finishing school. So unfortunately I have to pay for some of my classes out of pocket with my tax money coming up not a whole whole lot but enough. I only have 5 more classes and I will be doing my praticum in May 2013 and getting prepared to take my RHIT exam. Other than that I like Devry amd the classes are pretty challenging and you can fail if you don't have self-discpline.

Was this review helpful?

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful

TOO EXPENSIVE/ ADVISORY AND FINANCE GIVE POOR SERVICE

Health Information Technology - December 15, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

Started 2010 classes were expensive could only take 1 class per quarter. Advisor enrolled me in a class twice, would not withdraw, had to take twice. Asked me to sign pass agreement voucher, did and pass the class. Received a huge bill, learned the voucher was revoked and they wanted 1005.00 in payment. I had enrolled in a new school held transcripts hostage. Requested payment plan, told me the school had not withdrawn me check back, two days later sent bill with an amount to pay without a written agreement. NOT COOL.

Was this review helpful?

8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

DeVry is a good school, you get out of it what you put into it!

Health Information Technology - October 20, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I am a DeVry graduate from the HIT program. I have to say that I have had NONE of the problems that other people list and when I read those reviews I tend to think that those people must be very uneducated. How can you not know how much school will cost? You are given many many documents about your financial aide and loans. It is not rocket science. Get a calculator and figure it out. You weren't lied to, you just didn't read or pay attention. With that said, I found the classes to be challenging and worthwhile. There were many instances where I had to do things such as interview people already in the field for assignments. This truly forced me to get out and network with people. When you work at it a bit, you will find that people are often happy to help out. The classes also pertained to what I want to do. I learned so much. The downsides are, classes go fast, really fast. 8 weeks is a short amount of time to cram it all in so you have to be dedicated. The classes are not as easy as you think and you have to write a ton of papers and do research. Some of the instructors could be better. Since it is on-line, you are relying on their feedback to your discussions and some of the instructors respond a lot less than others. This was my major complaint. However, I found that if you asked for a phone call from the instructor, they were happy to do so and take the time out to answer your questions. They are also working hard to give students better options when it comes to e-books or paper books. This has been ongoing and I have seen many changes. I can now download books to my kindle. Use of technology also could have been better. The school utilized some on-line options for learning. I found their coding program needed a lot of enhancement and I did actually go into detail about that at the end of my course. After each course you can take a survey and I always do that, especially if I have an issue. For the coding class, someone from DeVry actually called me to discuss further because they were very interested in what I had to say. Value, well, college is expensive and I would have been better off money wise going with a state school. However, I was never lied to and deceived in any way. I was told exactly how much this would cost, how much my financial aide would cover and how much loans I would have. I have a degree now and I am getting ready to take my RHIT prep course with DeVry which is part of their program. They also pay for you to take the exam if you pass the practice test after the prep course. Overall, it is a great school and like I said before, you get out of it what you put into it so if you don't want to word hard,go to a cracker jack school, you will be much happier. Oh and I almost forgot, if you are interested in HIT, be careful which school you choose, it has to be accredited with CAHIM so you are eligible to take your certification test upon graduation.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 18 people found the following review helpful

They don't honor Financial arrangements..and are very rude

Health Information Technology - June 28, 2012
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I ran into a spat of bad luck when I lost my job and then my partner lost the job. I tried to make financial arrangements and they were not co-operative. I have had an arrangement to make my final payoff tomorrow and even received a confirming e-mail from Devry. Today I received a phone call and the financial lady essentially me a liar and told me that I never received an e-mail. She said she would put me in collections if I don't pay today. I tried to talk nicely to her, but she was rude and wouldn't listen. I got into my e-mail and sent her a copy of the email I received. DON'T GO TO DEVRY if you think you might have a chance of losing a job. They are money-grubbing and mean about it.

Was this review helpful?

13 of 20 people found the following review helpful

Pretty good school

Health Information Technology - November 10, 2011
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

I'll try to make this fairly easy to understand. First let me say I'm in my mid 20s, with 2 kids, and don't have the ability for "normal college." I didn't complete my Devry online degree, I stopped after half a year. The reason was not because of the school, it was because of the cost. I realized my 15 credits cost me over $9500. That is NOT an exaggeration. It was expensive and I knew I could find somewhere less expensive yet as educationally effective. My issue was there wasn't a major there I really wanted to do, so for me it felt like a waste of money. I just wanted a degree in something "suitable" but when I realized how much I was spending it just didn't seem worth $80 grand for a job I knew I wouldn't be totally satisfied with. As for the school itself, I found my personal student adviser VERY helpful. Always called when she said she would and always gave me reassurance if I needed it. Always made sure she asked me how I was doing and how things were going, and giving me advice how to make things flow more easily. As for my teachers, most of them were good. The thing about Devry classrooms is that its very group and forum oriented. You HAVE to talk in your classes forum at least a certain amount of times every week. Which is good because people ask questions and there's always a student in there who may know something you didn't. And the teacher is always in there answering questions. They do not avoid you or leave you hanging. If you tell them you need help, they help you or they find a student who already knows to assist you. Its nice because the forums for your class provide a lot of information and you can have discussions or debates on different things, and the more you do, the better your grade. Some of the teachers are far more hands on than others, out of my 5 (if I remember correctly) classes that I took, only one teacher grinded my nerves, but they were still efficient in their teaching. Most of my teachers were very nice and outgoing though. As for what I learned, I learned what I needed to. They tell you what your assignment it, what you need to do, what you need to do it, and where you can find it. They pretty much give you all the information you need, you just have to take the initiate to read. And yes...there is quite a bit of reading. Obviously, not everything is easy! I mean it wouldn't be school if it was all simple stuff you already knew. There were courses I flew through with A's. And one (my business class) I made a C in...it was just for me to remember all the details there were...especially since I am not interested in business classes to begin with. But the teacher did know what he was talking about, without a doubt! And the materials you need are always readily available...so you never have to be without your books. The only thing that I am not the most fond of, besides the cost, was the group work. I am a bit of a perfectionist, and prefer to do things myself. I don't like working in groups because I hate relying on some other persons work, especially since I feel I could have done it better(in most subjects anyways). So I have a tendency to feel disappointed in the people I work with because sometimes they don't want to take your advice on their share...which is fair enough, its their share. However, its a group effort. I've paid the price for this though because group projects are graded not only partially on your own work but also on GROUP WORK. So if someone else does their work inefficiently, a portion of your grade will suffer for it. It has happened to me when someone did not want to take my advice, did their work at the last minute, and did it poorly. So group work was a big issue for me. Most people are okay to work with, but there is always THAT person that can drag you down. Overall, it was a fine experience. I say its too expensive, however if they have a major you KNOW is right for you, without a doubt, then money shouldn't matter! The school itself is actually really good. The entire staff that I've worked with are VERY friendly. But that's all my experience!

Was this review helpful?

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful

DO NOT GO TO DEVRY

Health Information Technology - September 18, 2010
  • Materials:

  • Teachers:

  • Institution:

  • Support:

  • Value:

  • Use of Technology:

What a crock!!! Devry University is the most despicable school I have ever seen or even been to!I was going to school online to get a degree in Health Information Technology and I got nothing from it! First of all the Dept. Of Admissions lied to me! They told me that I would only have to pay a TOTAL of $6,000.00 for the program. THIS IS NOT TRUE; the degree costs $28,000.00. I was billed $12,250.00 for only 5 classes. Let me say this again that is $12,250.00 for 5 classes!!! I could have gone to the University of Arizona for that price (which is an excellent school!!)There is no way for me to get out of paying for the loans and I am stuck with some lousy classes that I took back when I was in junior high. Their classes were so easy it was unbelievable. I couldn't believe that there was a school out there that would charge this much for the same classes that I took in junior high school. I even tried getting into some harder classes by "testing" out of them and they said that me test scores were low, even though I checked my answers and they were all right! I made sure to write them down while I was taking the test. Whatever you do, do not waste your money on this piece of crap school. Go to a Community college if you can't afford it! You will get a lot more schooling at your community college than you will at Devry! BEWARE!!

Was this review helpful?

14 of 19 people found the following review helpful


Post a Public Comment:

Do not re-post articles, webpages or anything you didn't write yourself.

comments powered by Disqus

OnlineDegreeReviews.org is not affiliated with DeVry University in any way.